Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 11, 2013
    78
    Spark, however, is the best of the lot when it comes to attempting to grok the burn and the burners.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Sep 9, 2013
    75
    Parts of “Spark” can seem like an ad for Burning Man, but the film digs deep enough into the pressures and challenges facing its organizers and attendees to be a worthy exploration of a unique phenomenon, even for those who wouldn’t be caught dead wearing just glitter and a thong in 110 degree heat.
  3. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Aug 22, 2013
    70
    It’s a compelling topic, even if directors Steve Brown and Jessie Deeter don’t dig deeply into the cultural and psychological significance of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Aug 15, 2013
    70
    Since we can’t all attend Burning Man, we can be thankful for “Spark,” which is probably the next best thing.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Aug 16, 2013
    60
    For such a hippie-ish wingding originally designed to discourage the buying and selling of anything, "Spark" has decidedly bought into its subject and has no qualms hawking it to moviegoers.
  6. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Aug 13, 2013
    60
    As an official history, Spark shines adequate light; I just wish it had spent a little more time on the shadows.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 22, 2013
    40
    The doc proves more concerned with promotion than analysis or inquiry, thereby making it a disingenuous non-fiction portrait: an inhibited look at an uninhibited event.
  8. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 13, 2013
    40
    "Spark” remains a lovingly made and shot tease, designed to ensure that what really happens at Burning Man stays at Burning Man.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Usen
    Aug 11, 2013
    38
    The doc doesn't take the time to examine why Burning Man inspires such a level of fanaticism, overshadowing human interest with a gluttony of B roll.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    This is the WORST movie we ever saw! We want our 2hrs of time and 5.99 refunded and the memory taken out of our heads!!! The story suckedThis is the WORST movie we ever saw! We want our 2hrs of time and 5.99 refunded and the memory taken out of our heads!!! The story sucked donkey Dix, terrible story telling, amateur editing, a 4yr old on you tube could kick butt on this 'film'. Honestly, our 7lb dog's turds are more entertaining. Makes people Embarrassed to be burners!

    Spark team should go back back to making lattes and selling jeans at the gap. Could have saved the spent on making this movie to buy Larry Harvey new teeth and English lessons!
    Full Review »