Speciesism: The Movie

  • Studio:
  • Release Date:
Speciesism: The Movie Image
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Modern farms are struggling to keep a secret. Most of the animals used for food in the United States are raised in giant, bizarre factories, hidden deep in remote areas of the countryside. Speciesism: The Movie director Mark Devries set out to investigate. The documentary takes viewers on aModern farms are struggling to keep a secret. Most of the animals used for food in the United States are raised in giant, bizarre factories, hidden deep in remote areas of the countryside. Speciesism: The Movie director Mark Devries set out to investigate. The documentary takes viewers on a sometimes funny, sometimes frightening adventure, crawling through the bushes that hide these factories, flying in airplanes above their toxic manure lagoons, and coming face-to-face with their owners.

    But this is just the beginning. In 1975, a young writer published a book arguing that no justifications exist for considering humans more important than members of other species. It slowly began to gain attention. Today, a quickly growing number of prominent individuals and political activists are adopting its conclusions. They have termed the assumption of human superiority speciesism.

    And, as a result, they rank these animal factories among the greatest evils in our history. Speciesism: The Movie brings viewers face-to-face with the leaders of this developing movement, and, for the first time ever on film, fully examines the purpose of what they are setting out to do.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The wholly amateurish doc offers much that has been explored more effectively elsewhere; though it makes a few fresh points as it gets into its second half.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Nov 7, 2013
    30
    The film is more polarizing than persuasive.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Nov 14, 2013
    30
    A painfully gauche, galumphing attack on factory farming, meat eating, animal experimentation and human supremacy.
  4. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Nov 12, 2013
    30
    Ultimately, Devries seems to want to impress viewers with his anger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 8, 2014
    10
    Quite possibly the best documentary I've ever seen. It starts out slow
    and eases you into the situation, then throws you for a loop with
    Quite possibly the best documentary I've ever seen. It starts out slow
    and eases you into the situation, then throws you for a loop with
    extremely insightful commentary and information to make you think.

    I wish I could have seen this movie years ago, as it most certainly
    would have kick-started my move to a more compassionate lifestyle.

    It's nice to see a film like this take the high road in approaching the
    subject from a philosophical vantage point rather than the typical
    shock factor approach.

    I think (and hope) it has the potential for opening up the much needed
    conversation about animal rights and ethics in general.
    Collapse

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.