User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 375
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChaseW
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I really do not understand the critics on this one. So many critics refer to the jaded nature of the film, when it appears, they are in fact the jaded ones. I was dragged to this movie by my 3 boys, aged 7, 5, & 4. They all loved it and never have they all sat through a 2 hour long movie without once becoming bored. I went in expected what the critics said, and was completely surprised I really do not understand the critics on this one. So many critics refer to the jaded nature of the film, when it appears, they are in fact the jaded ones. I was dragged to this movie by my 3 boys, aged 7, 5, & 4. They all loved it and never have they all sat through a 2 hour long movie without once becoming bored. I went in expected what the critics said, and was completely surprised and blown away by the movie's entertainment and quality. It wasn't until after I saw the movie that I checked out my own local paper, The Dallas Morning News, which awarded this movie an A. This movie was top notch, and I highly recommend everyone to ignore the critics on this one. Expand
  2. MarekS.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Like all progressive movies, Speed Racer has very bad reviews and critic. Maybe because it´s critic of capitalistic system of America directed by two brothers for major studio. Speed Racer is played anime or manga, with over-playng actors and narrative complexity - flashbacks with flashfords, change of point of view in one race! Little editing, maximum use of 36O° place Like all progressive movies, Speed Racer has very bad reviews and critic. Maybe because it´s critic of capitalistic system of America directed by two brothers for major studio. Speed Racer is played anime or manga, with over-playng actors and narrative complexity - flashbacks with flashfords, change of point of view in one race! Little editing, maximum use of 36O° place orientation and combination of 2D and 3D. It´s masterpiece! Expand
  3. MattB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Speed Racer is visually groundbreaking and yet still hits all the right buttons emotionally...very good movie!
  4. PaulS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent family fare. Great message. A winner.
  5. MichaelD.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Not sure what movie the 'critics' saw but this was a great story which brought to life the cartoon while improving the visuals and offering pure heros in a difficult environment. Shockingly, even my wife liked it!
  6. JoselC.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent adaptation of the original series. In fact, it not only draws from the original but improves upon it, featuring amazing car combat scenes and some of the most exhilarating racing visuals ever done. It takes the best from the original and condenses it into a modern, hyper-real action flick that's like nothing else Hollywood has ever done. My biggest concern was This is an excellent adaptation of the original series. In fact, it not only draws from the original but improves upon it, featuring amazing car combat scenes and some of the most exhilarating racing visuals ever done. It takes the best from the original and condenses it into a modern, hyper-real action flick that's like nothing else Hollywood has ever done. My biggest concern was the length of the movie, but I was relieved to find out that there's hardly any filler dialogue in this movie: there are plenty of action sequences, and the races take a good portion of the movie. It's crammed with the stuff that matters. There's a plot in there too; a seemingly thin veil that pulls all the action sequences together. What surprised me is that it not only treats the source material respectfully, but it adds just enough to give it a new, engaging twist. Yes, you know the hero probably triumphs: the fun part lies in watching how the good guys manage to win. Don't go watch it expecting a live-action movie: look at it as a psychedelic racing animé that's fun for everyone, and certainly out of the ordinary. Expand
  7. JustinM.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    The best movie I've seen in a while. It was like an orgasm in my eyes.
  8. KeithJ.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    I loved it, great story, funny, and best of all the racing was crazy.
  9. MattR.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    LOVED THIS MOVIE. CRITICS SUCK! This is a movie with truly great writing and a great new style of computer graphics and live action combined. I realize that you have to suspend your disbelief and buy into the storyline to appreciate it. There were some great monologues in that movie done beautifully cinematographic-ally and acting wise.
  10. MatiasL.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie! Wachowski brothers really know how to take risks to produce the best entertainment movies ever seen !!
  11. AlanP.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Great graphics and action. Best so far in 2008. Worth watching, don't listen to people who don't know squat.
  12. FrancisW.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    The Wachowski brothers see the world with laser eyes, they are able to cut through all the bullSh** and question the driving force of this world, which is MONEY. This movie is about breaking chains and beating down the MAN, it has a pro family, anti capitalist message that many critics and corporations obviously did not want a younger audience observing. I am 21, i thought it was an The Wachowski brothers see the world with laser eyes, they are able to cut through all the bullSh** and question the driving force of this world, which is MONEY. This movie is about breaking chains and beating down the MAN, it has a pro family, anti capitalist message that many critics and corporations obviously did not want a younger audience observing. I am 21, i thought it was an amazing movie with an amazing message, backed by visuals never before conceived by filmmakers. dont let the slander campaign led by the Wall Street Journal fool you, this movie was made for the people, not the man. Expand
  13. BenC.
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    I went in thinking "Well everyone hated this but I might still enjoying it." I came out thinking "WHY DOES EVERYONE HATE THIS?" I can't really describe what it was that I really liked about this, as a whole it just came across really well. Entertaining, genuinely funny and family friendly (GASP!). The World needs more films like this.
  14. VincentA.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    Speed Racer is a movie about who owns who. Before you see this picture, read all those scathing pile-on critical reviews. The, do yourself a favor and watch this very hip movie. You'll be glad to have seen it on the big screen. If you're an old fart and your yarbles haven't shriveled up, remember eating three bowls of sugar cereal and watching the early-morning cartoon, and Speed Racer is a movie about who owns who. Before you see this picture, read all those scathing pile-on critical reviews. The, do yourself a favor and watch this very hip movie. You'll be glad to have seen it on the big screen. If you're an old fart and your yarbles haven't shriveled up, remember eating three bowls of sugar cereal and watching the early-morning cartoon, and then running around the yard singing the addictive theme song. 'Cause it just nails that. When it's over, think of the Wonder that is Hollywood Distribution. And who owns who. Expand
  15. DaveN
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    It's more than a year after this movie was released. Few even knew there was a Speed Racer movie it seems, and even fewer cared to see it. I was one of those people and oh boy, am I ever sorry. A trailer means NOTHING for this type of movie. While one their own, certain scenes might appear unwatchable and the dialogue too sappy for most, as a whole this movie has escalated to the top It's more than a year after this movie was released. Few even knew there was a Speed Racer movie it seems, and even fewer cared to see it. I was one of those people and oh boy, am I ever sorry. A trailer means NOTHING for this type of movie. While one their own, certain scenes might appear unwatchable and the dialogue too sappy for most, as a whole this movie has escalated to the top of my list of favorite movies in the past couple years. I can't get it out of my head. The shmaltz, the eye-ravaging colours, the exhilarating soundtrack, the heart pounding races, and the comic genius --- When you become obsessed with everything related to a movie, you know it was something special. If you're gut tells you to avoid this movie, it's probably just gas. Expand
  16. Hugh
    May 7, 2008
    9
    A gas! Beaufiul, manic and just a wee bit too long.
  17. andyandy
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This movie was unbelievable. the attention to detail was uncanny and the story was done very well. It took the original anime and really transformed it.
  18. TylerD.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    Considering the source material for the movie, I don't think the Wachowski's could have crafted a better film. I was prepared for the worst, and came out of the film with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face since...well...I don't remember. I normally follow the general critical consensus when deciding what movies to see, but I noticed that there is a definite divide Considering the source material for the movie, I don't think the Wachowski's could have crafted a better film. I was prepared for the worst, and came out of the film with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face since...well...I don't remember. I normally follow the general critical consensus when deciding what movies to see, but I noticed that there is a definite divide between the critical consensus and the moviegoer's consensus on this movie. It's not deep, meaningful, moving, or thought-provoking. It's not an angsty re-envisioning of the story. It does EXACTLY what the original Speed Racer anime set out to do, and that is mindlessly entertain you. On that note, I haven't seen a movie as mindlessly entertaining in Speed Racer in years. Don't listen to the critics. I think they're waiting for the second coming, when Speed Racer already lapped them at 750 kilometers per hour. Expand
  19. Joseph
    May 22, 2008
    10
    this movie was amazing. Its inspirational, the message is great, the storyline and characters are awesome... Its like one of my favorite movies now. The style they did it in was absolutely amazing too.
  20. May 18, 2011
    10
    It's a (master)piece of art. Futurist art: cars, speed, 'intuition' (Bergson)...
    And it could be a perfect 'prequel' of 'The Matrix' trilogy: from the problem of Choice... to the problem of Motivation...
  21. StephenK
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I've been a huge fan of the Speed Racer series ever since I was a little kid and I am almost certain that that is why I absolutely loved this film. The movie knows that it is an homage to the anime that's why it doesn't mind throwing a few conventions out the window in spite of a few people not getting it. The cast fits almost perfectly, the races are really well done. I've been a huge fan of the Speed Racer series ever since I was a little kid and I am almost certain that that is why I absolutely loved this film. The movie knows that it is an homage to the anime that's why it doesn't mind throwing a few conventions out the window in spite of a few people not getting it. The cast fits almost perfectly, the races are really well done. Everything fits a live representation of the anime. However, I believe that the creators knew that their target audience would be fans of the series who hadn't really watched the show since they were 10 or 12 and didn't change that target throwing in lot's of kid-friendly plot and slapstick humor. Overall though, the only thing missing out of the show was a speed crank up for the dialog. Expand
  22. D.C.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    A fun ride what eles did you expect!!!!!!!!
  23. ShivianB.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    SO GAUDY!!!
  24. AnthonyS.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Flat out amazing. All the reviewers that said it was stupid and childish are too stuck up to realize its not a serious movie. All it sets out to do is create creative and lovable characters and dynamic and pulse pounding action. The final ten minutes are literally breath taking and I think it finishes better than most movies I have seen lately. It creates lavish environments and over the Flat out amazing. All the reviewers that said it was stupid and childish are too stuck up to realize its not a serious movie. All it sets out to do is create creative and lovable characters and dynamic and pulse pounding action. The final ten minutes are literally breath taking and I think it finishes better than most movies I have seen lately. It creates lavish environments and over the top action to make one of the Wachowski brothers best films. Expand
  25. AlexanderS.
    May 13, 2008
    9
    Speed Racer. The film is full of heart, vivid imagination and some of the most exciting action sequences I've seen in years. It presents a visual onslaught as unique as it is unrelenting. How the Wachowski's convinced studio execs to get this movie made I will never know but I commend them for making this film, and this is coming from someone who wasn't particularly a fan Speed Racer. The film is full of heart, vivid imagination and some of the most exciting action sequences I've seen in years. It presents a visual onslaught as unique as it is unrelenting. How the Wachowski's convinced studio execs to get this movie made I will never know but I commend them for making this film, and this is coming from someone who wasn't particularly a fan of the Brothers last 2 films. The story and characters are literally straight out of the original cartoon, thanks to the excellent cast. Of course, the visual effects are in a league of their own and the Wachowski's show that they understand not only the source material but the anime medium as well. This is as faithful an adaptation as you could expect, you can tell that this is a film made by people who truly appreciate what they are adapting. This film will apeal to kids, it will appeal to long time fans of the original series, and it will appeal to adults who still haven't completely buried that kid deep down inside of them. Without a doubt the most unique movie you will see this summer. Please go out and see this film as it merits for audiences to experience it and make up their own mind about it. Expand
  26. DavidM.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    I am starting to think that critics are using their emotions when they write about any movie. I saw the other day at tvguide a massive negative critic about speed racer that shock me, because she wasn
  27. JimP
    May 10, 2008
    10
    The critics do not know what they are talking about. This is a great movie and lots of fun. You don't have to be a product of the 70's to like this film. I took my whole family and the general consensus was "Totally Awesome" and "Wonderful". It has everything you would put into a "Speed Racer Movie" and more. I remember the critics said the same type of crap when they reviewed The critics do not know what they are talking about. This is a great movie and lots of fun. You don't have to be a product of the 70's to like this film. I took my whole family and the general consensus was "Totally Awesome" and "Wonderful". It has everything you would put into a "Speed Racer Movie" and more. I remember the critics said the same type of crap when they reviewed Star Wars, and we all know how well that series did. I hope the Wachowski's make a sequel to this Masterpiece. "Go Speed Go" Expand
  28. LamL.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I have not seen this movie yet!!! I watched the original cartoon on reruns as a teenager in the 80s, and loved it. I was dressed as Speed Racer this past Haloween, walking around the Las Vegas strip with my wife and son. I can't wait to see the movie!!! It's not that movie critics are arthouse or whatever. Art poses the question to the audience of placing creativity and I have not seen this movie yet!!! I watched the original cartoon on reruns as a teenager in the 80s, and loved it. I was dressed as Speed Racer this past Haloween, walking around the Las Vegas strip with my wife and son. I can't wait to see the movie!!! It's not that movie critics are arthouse or whatever. Art poses the question to the audience of placing creativity and wonderment in things that have happened. Just as I am doing in this critique of the critics. Like the general criticism of formulaic movies, a reviewer's review can be not art. Expand
  29. AsherV.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    The writing in this movie is at worst redundant and, at best, ridiculous. But that's really not what it's about. It's all about the amazing spectacle and the absurdity of how over-the-top it is. If you go into this movie expecting to take something serious away from it, you are going to be sorely disappointed.
  30. Camille
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I have a difficult time comprehending how someone could hate this movie so much. If you want to see a serious, deep, or meaningful film, you don't go and watch a movie based on the cheesiest, corniest cartoon that has ever entered pop culture. This movie is visually breathtaking and a wholly entertaining piece of film; by far the most exciting film I've seen all year.
  31. ChrisL.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    The critics will pan this, but most of those critics probably didn't like the cartoon (or perhaps, based on the few reviews I've read, they've never even watched it). The movie is very true to the spirit of the cartoon -- it's got shallow intrigue, crazy races with crazy obstacles and impossible physics, tommy guns, Chim Chim and Spridle saving the day, and staccato The critics will pan this, but most of those critics probably didn't like the cartoon (or perhaps, based on the few reviews I've read, they've never even watched it). The movie is very true to the spirit of the cartoon -- it's got shallow intrigue, crazy races with crazy obstacles and impossible physics, tommy guns, Chim Chim and Spridle saving the day, and staccato dialog. There was no attempt to modernize the characters or make them edgy or "extreme." There was no darkening of the mood or story. This is a fun movie with a light, goofy spirit -- much like, I don't know -- THE CARTOON IT WAS BASED ON. If you appreciated the cartoon as much as I did, you'll more than likely enjoy the hell out of this. If you're looking for "The English Patient," then don't go to see a movie based on a cartoon. Critics may pan this, but it will stand the test of time and I guarantee, if nothing else, it will be a cult classic. Expand
  32. AhmedA.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    It might be kiddish, it might be something out of this world, but anyone who has lived in the 70s and saw the anime when he was still a kid, will love to see something he used to watch on a Tube Tv. The Wachowskis Brothers outdid themselves in this new Masterpiece.
  33. RolandB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    I thought with the exception of a few lengthy monologues this film was perfect! It went beyond fulfilling its own purpose and created an amazing movie going experience.
  34. AaronC.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing. I loved it. No reason not to. AMAZING movie to bring your kids to. Great values, fun ride. I do not understand why people hated it.
  35. BrentB.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I find it a little discouraging that the 'professional' movie critics are too bedazzled and too stubborn to see a breakthrough when it smacks them in the face. Speed Racer is new... It is fantastic... It is a PG film that is a spectacle and a wonderful example of a new generation... Just because it moves too quickly for the critics to keep up doesn't mean that the target I find it a little discouraging that the 'professional' movie critics are too bedazzled and too stubborn to see a breakthrough when it smacks them in the face. Speed Racer is new... It is fantastic... It is a PG film that is a spectacle and a wonderful example of a new generation... Just because it moves too quickly for the critics to keep up doesn't mean that the target market (kids) won't get a better understanding... Expand
  36. ChrisG.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    I'm genuinely sorry to see such low reviews by the critics for this movie. I would hope that most people who are familiar with the Speed Racer series would be able to appreciate that this is one of the sincerest, most carefully done, and true to the original big screen adaptations of a cartoon / comic book series that has been done in the past few years. The casting for each of the I'm genuinely sorry to see such low reviews by the critics for this movie. I would hope that most people who are familiar with the Speed Racer series would be able to appreciate that this is one of the sincerest, most carefully done, and true to the original big screen adaptations of a cartoon / comic book series that has been done in the past few years. The casting for each of the roles (Trixie, Racer X, John Goodman as Speed's Father) is near perfect, quite authentic, and definitely amusing. I don't see what more you could ask for from a movie adaptation of Speed Racer: perhaps the critics would appreciate something more heavy-handed and less tongue-in-cheek. Expand
  37. GarrettW.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely shameful that the critics have killed this beautiful film. These brothers have made history with this cinematic marvel. On what backwards planet would somebody rate this movie low? Are you expecting a Brokeback Mountain or a La Vien Rose? I have great taste in film ranging from Murials wedding to Fay Grim. Take my word for it. All though this is a movie that would This is absolutely shameful that the critics have killed this beautiful film. These brothers have made history with this cinematic marvel. On what backwards planet would somebody rate this movie low? Are you expecting a Brokeback Mountain or a La Vien Rose? I have great taste in film ranging from Murials wedding to Fay Grim. Take my word for it. All though this is a movie that would entertain anybody with a soul, this is a kids movie. It should be rated as a kids movie. in fact... no. This is not a kids movie. Its a movie for anyone who appreciates perfection. I cant say enough about this wonderful film. It is solidified imagination. Perfection. Expand
  38. DrewT.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Pure fun and whimsy, backed by technological excellence. This movie had amazing production design, incredible color processing and effects, a wild melange of influences from Japanese/American/European culture, and terrific cartoony performances from the actors. And on top of all that, it's full of things a boy can't help but love - stuff blowing up at a thousand miles an hour. Pure fun and whimsy, backed by technological excellence. This movie had amazing production design, incredible color processing and effects, a wild melange of influences from Japanese/American/European culture, and terrific cartoony performances from the actors. And on top of all that, it's full of things a boy can't help but love - stuff blowing up at a thousand miles an hour. The critics just didn't get it; don't let that stop you. Expand
  39. OssianB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Aside from one single joke at the end of the movie, this is one lovable film. It's not recommended for people who don't like childish movies, or children who likes childish movies. It's somewhere in between, and I guess that's why critics don't like it. They don't get it, but if it hits the right spot, and it does to many people still, It's a film that Aside from one single joke at the end of the movie, this is one lovable film. It's not recommended for people who don't like childish movies, or children who likes childish movies. It's somewhere in between, and I guess that's why critics don't like it. They don't get it, but if it hits the right spot, and it does to many people still, It's a film that will go down into history as a classic. Expand
  40. ErickYep
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    People don't have heart anymore... This movie was anything else but inspiring. This is the movie of the Summer... Only thing that can bring this piece of art down is Dark Knight... and they are both WB movies! (Take that 20th Century Fox!).
  41. DannyH
    May 3, 2009
    9
    To preface this review, while I have time upon time watched the Speed Racer anime, I was never a religious fan of the series. However, this was a genuinely enjoyable family movie. It had some pretty funny comedy, fight scenes that you wouldn't expect to be this good, car races (of course), and big explosions. And who doesn't enjoy all that? The characters were instantly likeable To preface this review, while I have time upon time watched the Speed Racer anime, I was never a religious fan of the series. However, this was a genuinely enjoyable family movie. It had some pretty funny comedy, fight scenes that you wouldn't expect to be this good, car races (of course), and big explosions. And who doesn't enjoy all that? The characters were instantly likeable and the flashbacks, while kitchy, were both fun to watch and gave insight into the lives of the characters. For a movie that seems all flash at first glance, there is a LOT of substance. But, there is still flash, for better or for worse. The environments look beautiful but in the first and final races, the colors tend to blend together, even on a decent sized HD TV. So, the colors may hurt your eyes a bit. The only other problem I had was that the track races themselves were kind of boring. However, with the flashbacks and banter overtop the speeding cars, they still managed to be entertaining. In short, if you have kids, are a kid, or are a kid at heart, watch this movie. You'll be glad that you did. If you yell at the youngsters to get off your lawn, this may not be for you. Expand
  42. MBarrow
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    One of the best movies of the year, right along side The Dark Knight and Wall-E. Full of some wonderful action, spot-on acting, fitting dialogue and a neat story to bring it all together. May be too fast and colorful for those raised on black and white television but a real treat for anyone else. Pure family entertainment at its best.
  43. equality7-2521
    May 11, 2008
    9
    As a children's movie, it gets a grade A. As entertainment for adults who know HOW to watch a movie, how to suspend disbelief, and appreciate art in all mediums and genres, it gets a grade B. Going into this movie, I was aware of the mixed reviews from reputable critics. But it's sad that many of them already have preconceived notions of how movies should BE. They want As a children's movie, it gets a grade A. As entertainment for adults who know HOW to watch a movie, how to suspend disbelief, and appreciate art in all mediums and genres, it gets a grade B. Going into this movie, I was aware of the mixed reviews from reputable critics. But it's sad that many of them already have preconceived notions of how movies should BE. They want conventional and linear storytelling (although they whine about formulaic scripts and lack of imagination), they want Syriana meets Le Mans? Who the F knows what they want. All I know is that I went in knowing this was a Wachowski Brothers flick. And from the unimpressive trailers, I knew what to expect visually - which definitely took me a while to get used to. I EXPECTED some extremely EXPERIMENTAL filmmaking. And it was definitely that. The races definitely aren't as good as McQueen in Bullitt. or the Pod Race in Star Wars Phantom Menace. or the mega monster crane scene in Terminator III. etc etc. But in spite of that, there is a swelling heart at the core of this movie. If you can't appreciate that, I feel sad for you. This isn't mere eye-candy or escapism. It took me about 40 minutes or so to get myself fully immersed, but it won me over. Pretty cool. I recommend this for people who care... And know what an imagination is. BTW, Racer X is almost as cool as Christian Bales' Batman. Expand
  44. StivB
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This film was a fantastic rush. It was fun, heart warming and involving. Its the most entertaining I have seen in years. After the movie was over I walked out of the theatre satisfied. It did it's job. Like many here, I'm really questioning the criteria for judging this film by the major media. It was refreshing, innovative and I'll be seeing it again.
  45. ChristopherF.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    I could sit down and pretend that stringing together multisyllabic adjectives that just happen to wreck into a noun constitutes a professional opinion or I could just tell you it's a fun movie provided you're not over the age of 40 and write film reviews for a living.
  46. WinonaN.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    It took everything that made the cartoon so fun - even the camp and the cheesiness and the ridiculous names and low frame-rate fighting that amounted to a series of poses and crazy Japanese flavor, and amplified it all to heroic proportion. The *only* thing I didn't like was the kid who played Young Speed - but holy crap, the rest of this movie was spectacular.
  47. KristinP.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Most definitely one of the most free thinking and audacious movies I've ever seen. I got the feeling that the Wachowskis wanted a visual marvel and by all counts they achieved it and set the mark for what I hope is an entirely new range of what it means to be a popcorn flick. If you're looking for something with substance other then to be the movie it is, then I think Most definitely one of the most free thinking and audacious movies I've ever seen. I got the feeling that the Wachowskis wanted a visual marvel and by all counts they achieved it and set the mark for what I hope is an entirely new range of what it means to be a popcorn flick. If you're looking for something with substance other then to be the movie it is, then I think you'll find by other's negative reviews you're not going to find anything in this movie. If on the other hand you want two hours of visually shattering, heart pounding, hold onto the seat of your pants thrills, then I can't think of any movie I'd point you to before this one. Expand
  48. RobB.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    A very fun movie that is easy to get lost in. One of my favorite movies of the year. I have seen some reviews criticize the movie for being targeted to a limited audience. I found it to be the opposite; it has a genuine appeal to most non-jaded people looking for something less 'serious' but still engading. It is a shame that the critics ignore how fun or exhilarating a movie is A very fun movie that is easy to get lost in. One of my favorite movies of the year. I have seen some reviews criticize the movie for being targeted to a limited audience. I found it to be the opposite; it has a genuine appeal to most non-jaded people looking for something less 'serious' but still engading. It is a shame that the critics ignore how fun or exhilarating a movie is if the style is unconventional. Expand
  49. KitF.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Easily everything it should be. If the narrative or story was stronger, it wouldn't be Speed Racer anymore. It is by far the closest representation of a licensed-property-made-movie since Batman Begins. It uses the most subliminal mix of color and sound to evoke emotion, leaving behind the speedy exposition of the original show. Some of the humor is hit-or-miss, hitting as often as Easily everything it should be. If the narrative or story was stronger, it wouldn't be Speed Racer anymore. It is by far the closest representation of a licensed-property-made-movie since Batman Begins. It uses the most subliminal mix of color and sound to evoke emotion, leaving behind the speedy exposition of the original show. Some of the humor is hit-or-miss, hitting as often as it misses, but the action is absolutely enthralling. This is definitely not a movie to be missed in theaters, and is going to make a spectacular Blu-ray. Collapse
  50. ScottD.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    What the critics are obviously and blatantly ignoring is the amount of heart and imagination in this movie. Sure, the acting isn't very good and there are some kiddy elements to it. But the action, visuals, and most of all the aforementioned heart and imagination inherent in it makes it a refreshing thing to see on the big screen. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  51. ChuckC.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Solid Gold. The best movie I have seen this year. Having just seen Iron Man the week before I would have to say that this was better.
  52. BobT.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    This film is sad proof of how little critics seem to be in touch with viewers. Most of the critiques I have read have gone on and on about how the movie is just to long. It's sad that they don't even have the attention span to even give the film a chance. I would recommend that anyone going to this movie to go to it with an open mind and take it in for yourself and form your own This film is sad proof of how little critics seem to be in touch with viewers. Most of the critiques I have read have gone on and on about how the movie is just to long. It's sad that they don't even have the attention span to even give the film a chance. I would recommend that anyone going to this movie to go to it with an open mind and take it in for yourself and form your own judgement. Personally I loved the visual package and the story pulled me in a lot further then most family type films seem capable of. Expand
  53. StephenW
    May 13, 2008
    9
    I can count on one hand the last time a movie had me laughing out loud in a theater. This movie had me laughing throughout. If you're a video gamer and liked the original series as a kid, get ready for an amazing gift of a movie. For people who don't play the cutting edge video games, I don't think they'll have advanced enough visual training to handle this film. This I can count on one hand the last time a movie had me laughing out loud in a theater. This movie had me laughing throughout. If you're a video gamer and liked the original series as a kid, get ready for an amazing gift of a movie. For people who don't play the cutting edge video games, I don't think they'll have advanced enough visual training to handle this film. This film is for the young of mind and young at heart. The critics are way off base. Expand
  54. HarlanK.
    May 14, 2008
    9
    This movie is dazzling. It is so bight and saturated that the real world will look incredibly dull and gray after you step out of the theatre. It really does overwhelm the senses and provides enough stimulation to power a medium sized city. Seriously, if you want to see just how extreme film making can be, see this movie. And of course the story is weak, it's based on a cartoon ffs. This movie is dazzling. It is so bight and saturated that the real world will look incredibly dull and gray after you step out of the theatre. It really does overwhelm the senses and provides enough stimulation to power a medium sized city. Seriously, if you want to see just how extreme film making can be, see this movie. And of course the story is weak, it's based on a cartoon ffs. You have to suspend disbelief of this movie won't be able to work it's magic. And if you're lucky enough to live near an IMAX theater that is showing this, you've GOT to go. It's brilliant. Expand
  55. JosephA.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I wasn't a fan of any previous Speed Racer cartoons, but this flick grabbed me from the very start and would not let go until the final credit roll. The movie was a joy to watch, plenty of heart pounding suspense, humor, drama, I am just amazed with the superb job that was done. I had relatively high expectations going in and they were blown away. Even my gf who is typically into I wasn't a fan of any previous Speed Racer cartoons, but this flick grabbed me from the very start and would not let go until the final credit roll. The movie was a joy to watch, plenty of heart pounding suspense, humor, drama, I am just amazed with the superb job that was done. I had relatively high expectations going in and they were blown away. Even my gf who is typically into chick flicks enjoyed the movie. Expand
  56. ChandraP.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    The racing sequences give you an adrenaline rush. it is a fun ride. go watch it.
  57. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Do not understand why this film has been criticized so badly ... In general it is good to spend a very good time. This movie has special effects very acceptable. I recommend it.
  58. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This movie is Number 9 on my Top Ten and the only reason it is not in the Number One spot is that my tastes skew much darker--but this is just a testament to how great Speed really is. That it can warm my heart so and make me say it is my 9th best-loved film of all time, over all the movies I love--including Avatar at Number 10--is plenty of evidence of its greatness alone. None of theThis movie is Number 9 on my Top Ten and the only reason it is not in the Number One spot is that my tastes skew much darker--but this is just a testament to how great Speed really is. That it can warm my heart so and make me say it is my 9th best-loved film of all time, over all the movies I love--including Avatar at Number 10--is plenty of evidence of its greatness alone. None of the reasons trolls come up with to explain why this movie bombed make sense--EVERYTHING about this movie rocks! Most of all, what makes this movie great--more than the visuals and excitement--is the SUPERB writing and acting. Even people who like it will say, "Don't go to this movie expecting good writing and plot." Well, I couldn't disagree more. If you have any appreciation for good writing and a deep, satisfying story then you owe it to yourself to see this grand masterpiece! Expand
  59. BrandonDuckett
    May 18, 2008
    10
    I felt like a kid again. I'm a playful 21 year old, but I haven't "felt" like a kid in a long time. This movie is a wormhole to childhood.
  60. DeaconR.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best visual effects movies I have seen EVER. If you were a fan of the old show or a fan of crazy over the top special effects master pieces you owe it to yourself to see this movie. Nothing like I expected it to be and for that it made the whole experience more enjoyable.
  61. JohnK.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    amazing movie. such an incredible adaptation to such a corny anime. Amazing movie! a must SEE !!!
  62. AndresH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this movie has such bad reviews. It's an awesome adaptation of the cartoon and it has incredible effects. There was not a lot to do with the story and still it is interesting. I'm giving it a 10 out of 10.
  63. LoJ.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    This film will be remembered for to be the precursor of a new movie style. has accion, comedy, little drama and more more fun, I can't belive the note of metacritic, but I know than in fewyeras many people talk about it.
  64. ManuelV.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    This is going to be a difficult pill to swallow for many. The young and the young at heart will be able to suspend disbelief and enjoy the visually stunning stylistic direction of the Wachowski's.
  65. ArisT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    I believe some people are taking this movie WAY too seriously. It's based on an anime and it should be celebrated for being a wonderful homage. Based on the traliers alone I feel the Wachowski brothers have a winner in their hands :)
  66. AntonD.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I think the movie was great. There was a lot of talking at some of the points. But the action makes up for it. When there was non-stop action, it kept going and going until I thought the movie was over.... but it keeps going for another hour. I enjoyed this movie a lot, I give props to the Wachowski's.
  67. BradleyH.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Who are these people reviewing movies? I mean why would we listen to anyone we did not know telling us what is cool or not. Speed Racer was off the hook and Mr. Wachowski will definitely be wearing a dress to the Oscars this year with Susan Sarandon on his arm , nominated for best supporting actress...right?
  68. JackG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Fantastic movie. In fact, I saw it for my second time today because I kept bugging my friends about it. True, Speed does have its boring parts, but when it's good, it's GOOD. It's just so ridiculous, so over-the-top, it's hard not to love it.
  69. ChrisV.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    I grew up watching the cartoons and this movie captured the feel of them perfectly. The way the family interacted was exactly as I expected especially Pops and Spridle. The only actor that was a little off was Hirsch, he needed to be a little more emotional when he gets angry. Even Inspector Detector and Cruncher Block were done extremely well. Maybe the filmmakers put in a few too many I grew up watching the cartoons and this movie captured the feel of them perfectly. The way the family interacted was exactly as I expected especially Pops and Spridle. The only actor that was a little off was Hirsch, he needed to be a little more emotional when he gets angry. Even Inspector Detector and Cruncher Block were done extremely well. Maybe the filmmakers put in a few too many wild stunts and maybe they followed the cartoon format too closely for the critics, who it seems didn't watch a single one of the cartoons in preparation for reviewing this film, but not for me. I loved it, if you're a fan of the cartoon and you haven't seen this yet then GO NOW!!! GO SPEED RACER GO!! Expand
  70. HAYD
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    Very Good, I liked the cartoon and I love races and videogames, maybe that is why I liked it. However, I think I've never seen something like this before. the -1 is for some very large dialogues.
  71. AndrewR.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why all these mega critics where so appalled by the effects, because they were definently in the commercials leading up to the movie release so if they disliked them there they should not have went at all. The plot has been attacked over and over, because it is a simple plot with an inspiring message. Nothing to complicated so far. It was a kids movie and i knew I don't understand why all these mega critics where so appalled by the effects, because they were definently in the commercials leading up to the movie release so if they disliked them there they should not have went at all. The plot has been attacked over and over, because it is a simple plot with an inspiring message. Nothing to complicated so far. It was a kids movie and i knew this when i entered the theater and i was pleased to the extent of loving this movie more than The Dark Night. The effects were tremendous and they had my eyes bleeding......in total admiration...it was something new and fresh and something i have not seen before and that's why i love it. The makers of this film took a risk in this extravagant style and it was all worth it. This has been the only movie to truly wow me this summer, and i am not an avid reader of speed racer or any manga. I have not even seen the cartoon before, but what i have seen thus far is something i loved to watch. If some high paid movie critics didn't love it. No problem for me its not my fault they are to selfrightous to sit down and enjoy a great movie with a simple inspiring plot married to the greates visuals i have seen yet....yes.....even better than The Dark Knight. Expand
  72. Kira
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Ok so i saw this movie when it came out and then looked at these reviews and i am frankly disappointed. Miles C. is not giveing this movie a fair rating at all. This movie was meant for kids and for adults who like this show as a kid. First no one has given a good reason for this being a bad movie but I can think of many good reasons. The animation and CG is great and the racetrack during Ok so i saw this movie when it came out and then looked at these reviews and i am frankly disappointed. Miles C. is not giveing this movie a fair rating at all. This movie was meant for kids and for adults who like this show as a kid. First no one has given a good reason for this being a bad movie but I can think of many good reasons. The animation and CG is great and the racetrack during the Grand Prix is very creative and colorful. Oh and this is movie based on an ANIME so yea dont expect it to be the most amazing movie in the world. They simulated the old Mach 5 well with its old gadgets, the storyline was find i dont think it is bad i mean ok so its cliche like the grand prix is rigged yadda but speed is out there to try to prove it wrong and show royalton who's boss. THERE IS A STORYLINE! (although not the best they could have thought of) the end where trixie is kissed by speed is also great where the flashes become hearts, the whole face moving an turning thing going to a new scene it creative but a little overdone but still well done, and yes the whole town is cartooney because...hmmm...well THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE CARTOONEY!!! But all in all this was a great movie and all those out there that rant on it, think of some good reasons and then you will have an argument with something behind it. O yea and some parts were way kiddish the whole like royalton tour with the dirvers being tested and chim chim and the other little kid....idk his name in royalton just cruising but once again this movie is to entertain children as well adults so they had to put some kiddish things in it. Expand
  73. TimV.e
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is non-stop fun. Don't take it too seriously! All the critics seem to hate it. I thought it was excellent.
  74. DylanM.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    In 30 years, Speed Racer will be looked upon as Blade Runner is now.
  75. ColinC
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Pure fun. I had a smile on my face the whole time. I'd never watched the cartoon and didn't actually expect much from this movie, other than cool visuals. Boy, was I surprised. The story really pulled me in. And the action of the racing kept me on the edge of my seat. As for the story, it even managed to bring a tear to my wife's eye. (Who really didn't want to watch Pure fun. I had a smile on my face the whole time. I'd never watched the cartoon and didn't actually expect much from this movie, other than cool visuals. Boy, was I surprised. The story really pulled me in. And the action of the racing kept me on the edge of my seat. As for the story, it even managed to bring a tear to my wife's eye. (Who really didn't want to watch it. I had to promise her that if she didn't like it, we'd stop after 20 minutes. When it was over, she thanked me for bringing it home.) Yes, it's campy and has it's tongue firmly in cheek, but it's also sincere, sweet and kick-ass rocking. Expand
  76. MZelenz
    May 11, 2008
    10
    A good move for the family, brothers, kids in general. Unless your a real girlie-girl.
  77. JohnS.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This was a great--yes, that's right--a great movie. Satisfaction is about how well experiences mesh with expectations. If, as a kid, you loved the original cartoons, you'll love this movie. Even if you aren't familiar with the original cartoons but have the capacity to be entertained and excited, you'll love this movie. The only explanation for not loving it is to This was a great--yes, that's right--a great movie. Satisfaction is about how well experiences mesh with expectations. If, as a kid, you loved the original cartoons, you'll love this movie. Even if you aren't familiar with the original cartoons but have the capacity to be entertained and excited, you'll love this movie. The only explanation for not loving it is to expect something of it that a Speed Racer movie could not--and should not--be. Speed Racer was always about speed and excitement, family, outlandish settings and triumph over (yes, ridiculous) odds. This movie scores on all fronts. I will forever owe the Wachoski's a debt (well, after the Matrix movies, maybe we'll just call it even!). Expand
  78. KevinB.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    From the echoes of the anime during the short but sweet opening marquis graphic, into the wonderful juxtaposition of a flash-back and the feeling we all get when behind the wheel sometimes, wondering into a dream-like state and for two hours that's just what I felt like I was doing. Trying to fit the one of the most popular animes ever into a consice and fabulously written script From the echoes of the anime during the short but sweet opening marquis graphic, into the wonderful juxtaposition of a flash-back and the feeling we all get when behind the wheel sometimes, wondering into a dream-like state and for two hours that's just what I felt like I was doing. Trying to fit the one of the most popular animes ever into a consice and fabulously written script (based on the source material) may not be something that will win oscars but it will win fans. Throughout I was transported to a place of future fantasy as one was in Back to the Future Part Two, or Blade Runner, and I held on with my eyes being tossed all over, mouth agape wondering what other tributes would be thrown in to give the fans something more to take from this colorful film. While some agree the monkey may have taken more scenes than necessary, The Wachoski's had a vision overall. Considering the original Japanese cartoon was considered extremely violent, who on western shores would consider seeing such a film with so many different moods and themes. The scene of Royalton's expose was tense, but the monkey was a perfect to break it. I truly enjoyed this wild ride into the future world of racing and I hope to back in a few years. But with the critics shooting down artistic licenses left and right, the directors may become dejected. Just remember, this is not Atonement or There will be blood, it is a cartoon adaptation so what would you expect from a cartoon? Expand
  79. BlairS.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Very much loved the movie. Most enjoyable movie I've seen in ages. However it is not the best. There are bits which are a bit childish and wont appeal to adults. Likewise, there is alot of complex dialogue that wouldnt appeal to kids. This is a movie for fans, or forgiving people. The reviews on it are being harsh, only because its being reasonably faithful to the series.
  80. AndrewF
    May 12, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie It really hit me in the part of my mind that is 7 yrs old still. and I hate that the critics are so wrapped up in art house bores to know that they are seeing fun entertainment with a lot of heart and imagination. My guess is people will be talking about this movie in the future under the category of cult films. I can't wait to go see a again with my nephew.
  81. MikeS.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    F-zero GX meets speed racer meets acid. what more could you ask for.
  82. DennyZ
    May 12, 2008
    9
    I'm very, very picky about movies, but I had an absolute blast at "Speed Racer" and I'm not ashamed to say so. The movie never snickers, condescends, or mocks its story or characters. I loved the over the top visual style. The story had a lot of heart as well, it brought a tear to my eye on more than one occasion, to my great and pleasant surprise. The critics missed the mark on I'm very, very picky about movies, but I had an absolute blast at "Speed Racer" and I'm not ashamed to say so. The movie never snickers, condescends, or mocks its story or characters. I loved the over the top visual style. The story had a lot of heart as well, it brought a tear to my eye on more than one occasion, to my great and pleasant surprise. The critics missed the mark on this one, and I'm glad to see so many MC users give the film the praise I think it richly deserves. Absolutely top notch and dead spot-on casting all the way around as well. I found it hard to resist a movie made with so much obvious love, affection, and visual creativity. "Speed Racer" is a misunderstood minor masterpiece, in my ever so humble opinion. Expand
  83. LiR.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    A visual feast that's not anywhere near as bad as haters will have you believe. Just don't go expecting the deepest plot around and just go see it to have fun and you'll definitely enjoy it all. Fast cars exploding... constantly! What more do people need?
  84. SadieT
    May 12, 2008
    10
    My family loved this movie. I think it has been unjustly criticized--it's a movie about a cartoon racer, it's not trying to be "Schindler's List" people! Just relax and enjoy it for what it is--a thrilling and beautiful ride!
  85. DemetriosS.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Great entertainment........as a Speed Racer fan since I was 10 years old, I could not have asked for anything more....except maybe even more scenes with the mach 5. When Speed get knocked over the cliff and then comes back up on the other side of the mountain.......WOW!
  86. JayF.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Stunning, gorgeous, exciting, thrilling, the funnest time I've had at the movies in 5 years. Yes, the plot is thin, but the emotional moments pack a punch. Like the mom says, my breath was taken away. It's that good. If you don't take it seriously, it insinuates itself to be taken with eventually a lot of heart and a whole hundred tons of dazzle.
  87. HughS.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    I don't know whose dog the Wachowski's killed to piss off all the reviewers.
  88. AlbertoC.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    Incredibly entertaining movie despite the surprising low reviews. What the critics don't realize is that this is a stylized film that is like an anime come to life. BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY EVER!!!! GO WACHOWSKI BROS!!!
  89. JimmyS
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Look at the critics score then look at the user votes score, the audience obviously loves this film. That's because it is true to the original cartoon, has a great story, and eye popping special effects. The story is like the cartoon was...fairly simple and a little silly, and funny. What else would you expect from a movie like this anyway? Go watch this movie on the big screen, Look at the critics score then look at the user votes score, the audience obviously loves this film. That's because it is true to the original cartoon, has a great story, and eye popping special effects. The story is like the cartoon was...fairly simple and a little silly, and funny. What else would you expect from a movie like this anyway? Go watch this movie on the big screen, it's terrific fun! Expand
  90. CharlesE.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I went with my family, little kid and beautiful wife had a great time... overall people at the room where laughing and having a great time.... in mexico people have great fondeness for the old japanese cartoons that were so popular, culturally speaking japanese productions have been always so welcomed here in mexico I think is going to do great overseas usa, critics are really stupid, excuse me.
  91. ludd_gang
    May 21, 2008
    10
    I grew up on this show, now my kid is watching the DVD's. The movie hits it dead on, is vastly entertaining and awesomely colored visuals. Nice message about the importance of family. Lots of fun. The critics are too cool for school.
  92. JamesM.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    it was the coolest movie ever but with iron man i would say speed racer
  93. GrantE.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    If you know what you're getting, there's no way you'll be disappointed. The critics just went in blindly, hence idiotic reviews.
  94. TaiC.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    A bold and entirely successful endeavor to capture both the charm and spirit of a beloved franchise. It breaks all the rules of cinema in favor of creating an experience that turns suspension of disbelief into solid gold. This film ought not be compared - or reviewed - along the lines of conventional cinema. It really doesn't seem to be intended that way. I don't think many A bold and entirely successful endeavor to capture both the charm and spirit of a beloved franchise. It breaks all the rules of cinema in favor of creating an experience that turns suspension of disbelief into solid gold. This film ought not be compared - or reviewed - along the lines of conventional cinema. It really doesn't seem to be intended that way. I don't think many other directors could reproduce what the Wachowski's have accomplished with Speed Racer. Like it or hate it, it is a unique and powerful picture. Expand
  95. BenVDP
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I went with my girlfriend not expecting a whole lot but in the end the movie won me over with it's style and heart. It wont be everyone cups of tea but give it chance. It will make you feel like a kid by the end of it. Critics will never get this movie because I think most of them lost there child like innocence years ago.
  96. GeoffH.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    Best CG since Transformers. Most artistic, entertaining and accessible movie so far this decade. The Wachowski brothers do not disappoint.
  97. OllieA.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    I'm an avid movie goer, and teach media arts, so I have a tendency to pick movies apart. I'm not sure what the critics were expecting, but I thought it was great fun, and the visuals were super slick. would have given it a 9.5.
  98. DanH.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    This is one of the most innovative movies I have ever seen, but it is also a great family movie.
  99. JW
    May 9, 2008
    10
    I saw the movie last night, and I don't see why so many critics are down on it. It was over the top, graphically, in acting style, in what happened, and in several other ways. But that was the point. It was a beautiful movie artistically, and the characters were very amusing in their absurdity.
  100. NickJ.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    Fantastic movie for what it was. I came in expecting another Iron Man-esque retro cartoon hero turned modern, but was pleasantly to find it stuck to its' roots. The action was nothing short of incredible, and the overall atmosphere and storyline were great as well. Watch it with an open mind, and you will undoubtedly love this movie.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    75
    This is not a film occurring in an alternate or imaginary reality; rather, it is a film of NO reality, that is, a picture that changes the rules of its universe strictly according to its creators' whims.
  2. Unlike a Pixar cartoon that embraces as wide an audience as possible, Speed Racer proudly denies entry into its ultra-bright world to all but gamers, fanboys and anime enthusiasts. Story and character are tossed aside to focus obsessively on PG-rated action and milk-guzzling heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Aimed squarely at family audiences, the Wachowski Brothers' return behind the camera for the first time since the "Matrix" trilogy is a blur of video action painting and very loud sounds notable solely for its technical wizardry. In every other respect, it's pure cotton candy -- entirely non-nutritious but too sweet and pretty for young people to resist.