Speed

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 249

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TonyR.
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    the best of the "speed" movies. Sandra Bullock was hot and so was Keanu Reeves' acting.
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I think this movie is excellent!! Thiis movie is a movie full of sense of oppressinons.
    Keanu Reeves is very cool above all.I think that is the best movie in the ''Speed'' series.
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. Acting was great. Kea eu reeves did a really good job. Score is intense. Adds to the intensity. Story is great. In the bus scenes seeing the action, mayhem, intensity happening it's just great. Overall, this is an amazing action film that you should see. It'll keep you on the edge of your seat. Highly recomended.
  4. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Possibly one of the best movies ever, and im a tough grader when it comes to movies and tv shows. There is añways something happening it has everything action,romance, adventure, even a little comical every now and then.
  5. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Speed 1994 é uma obra-prima super original,Jan De Bont escreve e dirige essa obra-prima de ação.
    Keanu Reeves está incrível,Dennis Hopper é assustadoramente incrível,Sandra Bullock é fenomenal e gostosa e sexy. Cenas impressionantes sequências de ação devastadora.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Combine tense, suspenseful action, a spot-on script, an immensely talented lead, a psychopathic villain, and a bomb on a bus......... and you get Speed.
  7. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Speed is one of the most underrated thrillers ever. Reeves, Hopper, Bullock and Daniels give brilliant
    performances. There is also enough pumping suspense for any film buff. Every second of the movie
    is classic and intriguing, A+.
  8. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    Brilliant story, fast paced action and incredible performances from Bullock, Reeves and Hopper. Speed is a bulls-eye of an action movie that will take your breath away.
  9. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    An awesome, terrific popcorn thriller and a pure adrenaline rush. Speed is definitely one hell of a ride, and the greatest ride of a lifetime. It's fast paced, mysterious and suspenseful, full of nonstop action and adventure, tense, taut and energetic, leaving you fastening your seat belt tight and hanging on to your seats (literally!) from start to finish. The movie is divided into threeAn awesome, terrific popcorn thriller and a pure adrenaline rush. Speed is definitely one hell of a ride, and the greatest ride of a lifetime. It's fast paced, mysterious and suspenseful, full of nonstop action and adventure, tense, taut and energetic, leaving you fastening your seat belt tight and hanging on to your seats (literally!) from start to finish. The movie is divided into three sections, the falling express elevator with 13 business executives, then a Santa Monica city bus with 19 passengers and finally, a subway train with only three people, the hero, villain and victim. Director Jan de Bont uses every form of transportation and has Dennis Hopper rig it with explosives, pushing its velocity to its maximum limits. First, you speed up an elevator, then you speed up a city bus over 50 MPH and you have to keep it moving across the downtown city streets and rush hour traffic. The bus literally speeds through LA, swerves, accelerates, jumps and flies! (Like the Magic School Bus) before finally ending up at LAX circling the runway. The bus scene lasts over 50 minutes and becomes the main highlight of the movie, similar to how de Bont substantially expands on Annie's character as she rises in rank from an ordinary bus passenger to Jack's sidekick and love interest. The action, thrill and excitement never stops even when the boobytrapped bus is out of the picture. When the subway train accelerates to full speed and derail on the street, because it goes much faster than a bus. Overall, this is one of the best action film I've seen since the summer of 1994, making it true summer fun. It's the pure definition of an action film. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    Great performances from Sandra Bullock and Dennis Hopper. Some things were unrealistic but that is a typical thing for an action movie like this one. Also, at the time the story was very original. A must see for action movie fans.
  11. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    Speed is best action thriller since Die Hard. It has elements that need actual action sequence, the tension is on the peak. There is no scene extra scene for the purpose of extra action. It's intense, perfect and cool.
  12. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    As Speed develops a great performance, the nonstop action begins to happen at any moment during the movie. Just enjoy the movie and as much say, it's better than its successor, Cruise Control.
  13. [anonymous]
    May 29, 2006
    8
    This movie gets down to business right away. After the first disarnament, it's a non-stop battle to keep the bus at speed, and the thrills never stop until Dennis Hopper finally bites the dust.
  14. JamesH
    Oct 19, 2006
    8
    Great film, love watching it. Just a well made movie.
  15. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    Some outrageous moments aside (see jumping bus across the bridge) this is a damn good adventure film, with an original idea and a Hopper good enough to hold the whole film.
  16. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Speed is by no means visionary, but it is a very well constructed, and tense action film. It's entertaining pretty much the whole way through, which really isn't as common an aspect with action movies as you'd think it would be. The film was more exciting and had more surprises than I expected it would, so I'm giving it a high recommendation for anyone looking for a well oiled thrillSpeed is by no means visionary, but it is a very well constructed, and tense action film. It's entertaining pretty much the whole way through, which really isn't as common an aspect with action movies as you'd think it would be. The film was more exciting and had more surprises than I expected it would, so I'm giving it a high recommendation for anyone looking for a well oiled thrill ride. There is one problem however that I couldn't ignore. Keanu Reeves gives a wooden and extremely unconvincing performance. I'd expect that from him, but he's still shockingly un-nuanced in his role here. He was way better in the Matrix. Other than that, Speed is a fast paced and extremely fun movie. Expand
  17. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    Although Keanu Reeves showed us 3 years before this that he can portray an "action hero" in Point Break, i think that "Speed" showed us his adult grown up style of acting in this flick. This film is a very entertaining ride and Sandra Bullock steals the show i every scene she' s in with her comedic presence. The late Denis Hopper and Jeff Daniels also give a great perfromances
  18. Sep 12, 2015
    8
    Awesome thriller, thanks to the stunning performances of Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock and Dennis Hopper, energetic direction from Jan de Bont, and a script original enough to carry the movie.

    Final Score: 8/10
  19. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    If you're looking for action movie heaven, try Speed, a crackling blend of suspense and fun that gives you the rush of a runaway roller coaster. It's morning-drive time in Los Angeles as a bus packed with passengers heads for the freeway. In a hide-out filled with surveillance gadgetry, mad bomber Howard Payne (Dennis Hopper going full-tilt bug **** as only he can) phones SWAT cop JackIf you're looking for action movie heaven, try Speed, a crackling blend of suspense and fun that gives you the rush of a runaway roller coaster. It's morning-drive time in Los Angeles as a bus packed with passengers heads for the freeway. In a hide-out filled with surveillance gadgetry, mad bomber Howard Payne (Dennis Hopper going full-tilt bug **** as only he can) phones SWAT cop Jack Traven (Keanu Reeves) with a perverse pop quiz: "There's a bomb on the bus. Once the bus goes 50 miles per hour, the bomb is armed. If it drops below 50, the bus blows up. Whaddya do, Jack?"

    What the bomber wants to do is get Jack to fork over $3.7 million. But Jack is a bit of a loose cannon himself — his partner, Harry (Jeff Daniels), describes him as "deeply nuts." What Jack wants to do is hop on the bus, disarm the bomb, then find this psycho and whup his extortionist ass. Guess who gets his wish? Hollywood cynics have tagged Speed as Die Hard on a bus. Fair enough. Originality isn't the film's strong suit; execution is. Under Siege was prematurely dissed as Die Hard on a submarine until Andrew Davis showed what a gifted director could do with a formula plot.

    First-time director Jan De Bont performs similar marvels with Speed. De Bont, the acclaimed cinematographer who took his camera under the ocean in The Hunt for Red October and up Sharon Stone's skirt in Basic Instinct, also shot the original Die Hard. He's learned firsthand how to grab an audience. And though the script by newcomer Graham Yost lacks the solid character base of last summer's Fugitive and In the Line of Fire, the acting is as kinetic as the action.

    Reeves is a major surprise; he cuts a sturdy figure far removed from the malebimbo act that made him a star in Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure and proved ruinous to his so-called serious performances in Dracula and Much Ado About Nothing. Reeves' hard of body/soft of head image gets tweaked in Speed when the bomber tells Jack: "Don't attempt to grow a brain." But Reeves has the last laugh by delivering a vigorous, no-bull performance that suggests we'll be able to hear his name in the future without silently mouthing the word dude.

    While Reeves and Hopper play a battle of wits, Sandra Bullock nearly drives off with the picture. As Annie, a passenger whom Jack puts behind the wheel when the bus driver is shot, the smart and sassy Bullock is a knockout. She makes us believe the impossible things Annie is doing and, better, makes us care. Bullock's roles in Demolition Man, Wrestling Ernest Hemingway and The Thing Called Love would have made her a star already if the films were less dreary. Speed is a spiffier vehicle, and it's a pleasure to watch her ride this baby home. Jack picks Annie to drive because she's had her license revoked for speeding. She's more exhilarated than scared keeping the bus hurtling along even when it means flooring the gas pedal to clear a 50-foot gap in the freeway or taking a detour into city traffic that becomes a nerve-rattling demolition derby.

    The stunts, including Jack's leaping onto the bus from a moving car and his trying to dismantle the bomb while dangling near wheels that could squish him into road kill, will have you ducking in your seat. If the bus doesn't get you, there's the elevator crash that opens the film and the subway chase that closes it.

    Still, the fireworks wouldn't count for much if the hardware overwhelmed the humanity. Speed cinches its spot as the thrill ride of summer by providing characters to hiss at and root for. Jack and Annie actually manage to strike up a convincing romance even at hyperspeed and without taking their eyes off the road. It's an impressive feat enhanced by the film's knack — shared with The Fugitive — for serving up two hours of pure pow without gratuitous gore. Action flicks are usually written off as a debased genre, unless, of course, they work. And Speed works like a charm. It's a reminder of how much movie escapism can still stir us when it's dished out with this kind of dazzle. Pass the popcorn.
    Expand
  20. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    The movie is good with great action sequences to Ooh and Aah with, but "Speed" is (in the end) a summer blockbuster you enjoy with your friends eating popcorn and drinking stuff.
  21. May 25, 2014
    7
    Its been some time since i last watched this movie and even to this day i still really like the movie. I dont understand why people dont like the movie sure it may have a few plot holes and some iffy acting here and there but its nothing that serious for the most part every movie does. keanu Reeves was good but i have seen better from him and his acting wasnt as bad as people seem toIts been some time since i last watched this movie and even to this day i still really like the movie. I dont understand why people dont like the movie sure it may have a few plot holes and some iffy acting here and there but its nothing that serious for the most part every movie does. keanu Reeves was good but i have seen better from him and his acting wasnt as bad as people seem to think. I love Sandra Bullock and she did a great job in the movie i thought but to be honest i didnt think the movie needed the romance between Keanu and her. Jeff Daniels was great but it sucks that he dies in the movie Dennis Hopper as the villain was great because he is the kind of villain that you end up liking in the end. The action was decent but the most over the top thing was the bus jump that was just ridiculous.

    Overall i give it a 7.0
    Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    Speed kills.
    A very entertaining action film with a simple plot and little to no character development. In this case, story wasn't needed all that much as suspense was the formula for its substance.
  23. Nov 9, 2014
    5
    This could be the most overrated film I have ever seen. People make it out to be a classic, personally I don't see it. That is not to say it's a bad film, because it isn't bad, it's just not very good. There is little to no tension in most of the scenes, and I was really excited going into to this, having read the rave reviews, but I was disappointed.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 67
    In a film like this, timing is everything, and everyone from the stunt coordinators to the crew-at-large seems to have gotten it right the first time.
  2. 100
    We've seen this done before, but seldom so well, or at such a high pitch of energy.
  3. 88
    It's an ingenious premise that first-time director Jan De Bont has turned into a tremendously well-executed motion picture.