thinkfilm | Release Date: April 30, 2003
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DavetheWaveJan 30, 2004
A terrific little movie. I'm amazed that a film about the National Spelling Bee could grip me for 97 minutes. It's definitely worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Aug 6, 2004
Very good, but not great. I was particularly taken by the tall girl from New Mexico who's parents only spoke Spanish. Since I saw it on DVD, I wish we had had an explanation of the decision-making process as to why the three contestants Very good, but not great. I was particularly taken by the tall girl from New Mexico who's parents only spoke Spanish. Since I saw it on DVD, I wish we had had an explanation of the decision-making process as to why the three contestants who were left out of the movie were left out, as opposed to the ones who stayed in. I thought 2 of the 3 who were omitted actually would have been more compelling than the boy who lived on the farm and shot archery with his brother. And, while it is not politically correct to say, some of the kids shown in that spelling bee were incredible geeks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.May 1, 2003
One of the most well-made and entertaining documentaries I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogerG.May 3, 2003
It began as a movie about a spelling bee, and became a movie about America. Who thought a movie about a spelling bee could be enthralling?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanR.May 9, 2003
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jul 26, 2003
I was spellbound by this movie. Didn't blink at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Sep 8, 2003
Obviously, Michelle P. didn't get it...she should go rent Star Wars: Attack of the Drones for the 3rd time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherJ.Mar 20, 2007
A documentary that exposes the lifestyles of the nerdy and almost-famous spelling bee contest. The kids are fascinating and the parents are what you'd expect them to be: strange.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyW.May 20, 2003
Brillantly edited, paced, and compelling. A documentary with drama and suspense - this is a fine piece of work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulD.Jun 26, 2003
Compellingly involving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jul 15, 2003
"Spellbound" won't lose anything if you choose to see it on home video or cable in terms of visual impact. The reason to see this doc at your local theater is to be part of a rooting section. You'll hear genuine laughter, a "Spellbound" won't lose anything if you choose to see it on home video or cable in terms of visual impact. The reason to see this doc at your local theater is to be part of a rooting section. You'll hear genuine laughter, a smattering of claps, and when a child misses, a chorus of gasps. "Spellbound" is not a passive moviegoing experience. It's not the best movie of 2003, but it might be the most fun. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickJun 19, 2004
Infectiously full of life and drama. The Documentarians at the heart of this film capture a seemingly boring topic in such a way that it feels more like another Christopher Guest romp than a true story. But that's just the fun, as we Infectiously full of life and drama. The Documentarians at the heart of this film capture a seemingly boring topic in such a way that it feels more like another Christopher Guest romp than a true story. But that's just the fun, as we are shown the personalities of 8 Spelling Bee hopefuls and led into their borderline pathological worlds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinE.Mar 7, 2005
I expected a bit more based on the high praise of the reviews when it was released. A closer look at what shared geek-ology unites these children (and their parents) would have added interest. In the end, it was a mildly engaging, I expected a bit more based on the high praise of the reviews when it was released. A closer look at what shared geek-ology unites these children (and their parents) would have added interest. In the end, it was a mildly engaging, straight-forward documentary, nothing really new. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lolawonderlyJan 22, 2012
This movie completely changed my outlook on life. I was 7 when I first saw it in theaters, and I was completely blown away. I was very impressionable, as so many 7 year olds are, and for the first month or so after I watched it, I had itThis movie completely changed my outlook on life. I was 7 when I first saw it in theaters, and I was completely blown away. I was very impressionable, as so many 7 year olds are, and for the first month or so after I watched it, I had it decided that I too, was going to be a spelling bee kid. Obviously I didn't really stick with my plans of being a nationally ranked speller, but, a year ago, when I watched the movie again, I realized the impact this film had on me had just about nothing to do with spelling. Spellbound provides revealing insight on being the best, regardless of what hobby, sport, or subject you're trying to excel at. Surprisingly compelling, Spellbound ranks near the top of my list as far as documentaries go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews