Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2004
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1145 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
990
Mixed:
83
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MoviebuffreviewJan 21, 2011
Spider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 isSpider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 is a movie you truly have to see to believe, it is the master of comic book movies along with The Dark Knight. Even if you are not a Spider-Man fan, SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
25 of 27 users found this helpful252
All this user's reviews
9
Tall_But_ShortJul 20, 2012
Spider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). TheSpider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary Jane is a forceful character in this movie though and by that, I mean, we are forced to like her as a character. She wasn't nearly as charming as Emma Stone was in The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) but this still is and will be, at least for a while i believe, the first movie which pops into my head when I think of "Spider-Man." Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
Chris_DKJul 8, 2012
The perfect sequel and the best Spider-Man movie that has ever been made. The movie is just excellent and Alfred Molina is the greatest Spider-Man villain of all as he plays Doctor Octopus.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
a great follow-up to Spiderman
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
lovemusicMay 12, 2011
i loved this movie from start to finish. it captured spider man in his fullest. this was almost like the comic book. it was great. this movie was incredible. the train scene was unbelievable. this was way better than spider man 3.i loved this movie from start to finish. it captured spider man in his fullest. this was almost like the comic book. it was great. this movie was incredible. the train scene was unbelievable. this was way better than spider man 3. its the best spider man movie. near perfect Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewerMan44Jul 3, 2011
Spider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's aSpider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's a beautiful love story. Wonderously acted, funny, witty, smart, it hits all the right notes. There are scenes in this movie that just make you smile with pure joy like, "I can't believe they did that!" but oh they do, from Spider-man losing grip on his powers, to losing friends and gaining enemies, to accepting the fact that he shouldn't be the web slinger any longer (*hint" the "rain drops keep fallin' on my head" sequence was perfection). Everything about Spider-man 2 shows a flawed character trying to live his own life. Toby Maguire's Peter Parker is a character we can all relate to. Whether he's struggling with old demons from the past, working with love all the while dealing with criminals on a daily basis, trying to make his own life by going to school and working, and dealing with, quite possibly, the most legendary and sinister Spider-man villain of all time. Anytime you think you've got it hard take a step into this man's life and you'll witness hard. The movie is sad, joyful, funny, loving, and full of life! It feels like a movie actually touched by human hands. It seems Sam Raimi's main focus was character development, an excellent story, excellent perfomances, and character. All which are nailed all too perfectly. But this does not take away from the action, which is beautifully shot, fantastically created, and perfectly executed. The action in this flick will keep you on the edge of your seat and keep you chearing, it's a modern epic, and what a sure super hero film should be all about. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
BeKApr 19, 2012
After a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve theAfter a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve the non-sequel version. Spider-Man 2 is definitely not in that category. Even though I was really impressed about Spider-Man back in 2002, when it broke all records, Spider-Man 2 raise up to its level and in some areas even surpassed it. I'm not going to give you any spoilers on the movie, not really my style. But I will say this, the story line, the characters raise up to their full potential. It's not just action followed by more action, its something more, it impresses in every area of movies. Breathtaking moments, action packed fights, great development in the story, everything to make you see at least once...So, hope you enjoyed :) my personal opinion on 2004's Spider-Man 2. (10/10) Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 2, 2013
Sequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they neverSequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they never really come up as strong, but this is not the case whatsoever with Spider-Man 2, a film which gets everything right, it has a real story, an emotional journey of self-esteem and the tests that face relationships and friendship when people are clouded by uncontrollable rage.
Tobey Maguire puts in much more personal performance in his second outing as the now conflicted web slinger, unable to juggle his crime fighting alter-ego and his attempt at an ordinary life of college and living alone. We see a world around him that doesn’t appreciate the pizza delivery man and the one behind the mask, branded an outlaw as Spider-Man and a slacking student as Peter Parker, his hard life reflects is superpowers too, which begin to fade in and out as his troubles worsen. The film is a dark and personal story which is such a triumph as the film goes along, we have another villain in the form of Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), a genius scientist who is attempting to create free energy, but a disastrous accident sends the man insane, now pursuing the person he sees responsible, Spider-Man.The film cleverly explores each avenue of problematic issues with having a dual lifestyle.
Peter sees everyone he loves drifting away from him, we see a touching performance from Rosemary Harris playing Aunt May, a stubborn woman who fends for herself, and we see a different side to the woman when Peter reveals the truth about the tragic death of Uncle Ben in the first film, the continuity continues to flow throughout the film, calling back previous plots helps stay involved. We also have one of the most visually spectacular films to date, with various scenes including stopping a train, catapulting from one building to the next and a very explosive finale that hits the right buttons each and every turn, with excellent scenes that leave you in awe, that is sure to leave everyone satisfied.
One of the best sequels ever made, and certainly one of the best superhero films to date, it is hard-hitting, personal, beautiful and very character-driven that it works as both an action epic and a dramatic story, the superhero film that has always been desired.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
Aside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fanAside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fan you'll love this movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
jos95Sep 17, 2011
This is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatestThis is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are the best superhero sequels of all time. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Nov 10, 2011
Spider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection bySpider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a great popcorn film with some thrilling set pieces (especially the segments involving the train). It isn't timeless (I don't know a superhero movie that is) but its great, really great. Peter Parkers journey seems realistic in its progression (given the whole radioactive spider of it all) with the relationships between the characters being the main draw of the film despite the brilliant action. The dynamic between Peter and Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) or Peter and his aunt are engaging with the latter bringing some serious emotions out that had been stored up since the first film. Its a great next step in a story I think will only get better.........oh wait its Eddie Brock. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
The best way to describe this Spider-Man: More action and more fleshed-out characters. Doc Ock was a great choice for the villain and Tobey Maguire is great here.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
The most humane and one of the best superhero movies to ever be made. The movie succeeds to be a well-made character story on the personal trials of a superhero, laced with remarkable action sequences.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
This film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty ofThis film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty of good humor, and brings a fan favorite villain to life in an exciting fashion. Not only is Spider-Man 2 the perfect superhero movie, but it's also the set standard on how a great movie should be made in the first place. This also happens to be my favorite superhero movie, and one of my favorite movies of all time, with an entertainment value for ages to come. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 20, 2013
Rarely does a sequel come along that it better than the already-great first movie, with more action and a better story. But screw movie logic, Spider-Man 2 does it anyway.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
epicdude12302Apr 9, 2014
This was a great movie and my second favorite Marvel movie next to Iron Man! This was the only Marvel movie I've ever seen where I've actually liked the ending! I can't say anymore than that without spoiling something so Nuff' said!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesDec 28, 2014
What can be said about "Spider-Man 2" that hasn't been said yet? Well, opss! It has already been said: It's the best Spider-Man movie to date. Everything from the deeply emotional relationship between Peter and Aunt May to the mind-blowingWhat can be said about "Spider-Man 2" that hasn't been said yet? Well, opss! It has already been said: It's the best Spider-Man movie to date. Everything from the deeply emotional relationship between Peter and Aunt May to the mind-blowing action is a delight watching. Full review soon.

:D
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
black04031965May 27, 2014
Easily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfectEasily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfect acting, and action scenes that will rock your socks make this the greatest super-hero ever made, and the greatest superhero movie that will ever be made. Except for maybe X-Men: Days of Future Past, which blows this movie right out of the water. Seriously, go see X-Men: Days of Future Past. It is literally a perfect movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerNov 8, 2014
One of the best superhero movies ever and the best Spider-Man movies ever,with one of the best villains ever: Otto Octavius alias Doctor Octopus.An epic movie.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story.
Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
Sort of on par with the first but for different reasons.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 3, 2014
While Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable inWhile Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around and the presentation is well done as well. The villain could have been better integrated into the film but as it is its down ok and everything else is really good. Additionally, the villain is much better. Overall, this is a really good film. Fans of the first one should definitely check it out as they are going to be in for a good time as the film is another great installment in the franchise. Nonfans of the first one should check out two, especially if you thought the first one lacked any substance. This is one of the best superhero films to come out of Marvel (even ten years later) and is definitely worth your time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
aznassassinJun 14, 2013
Emotionally and cinematically brilliant that surpasses the original in everyway and even the rebooted Garfield-Spidey. One of my favourite superhero films of all time alongside Dark Knight Rises, Iron Man 3 and The Avengers.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
anshimanJan 12, 2013
'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my bucket of tears with the aid of the serene, harmonious strokes of strings that penetrate your very soul. This film is an uplifting, powerful and masterfully crafted one; it provides the comic-book fantasies that satisfy your inner child while coating it in a honeysuckle layer of themes that encourage good deeds to be done. It is a story of a man discovering himself, dealing with inner turbulence and confusion - a story that defines all of us and our struggles in ethically complicated situations. Raimi undoubtedly shows appreciation for rich character texture that elevate the impact of each character's respective catharsis through the course of the storyline, yet leaving one to remain disturbed to overall create a bitter-sweet after-taste and a slightly open ending. Put simply, 'Spider-Man 2' is an absolute delight that improves on the original and goes down as one of the best sequels of all-time, with The Empire Strikes Back, The Dark Knight, Superman II and The Godfather 2. 'With great power comes great responsibility' Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jul 1, 2013
A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of theA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
gameguardian21Mar 10, 2016
A sequel that turns out to be better than the first, spider man 2 is more emotional, conflicted, and tells us how that spider man struggles with his powers.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorMar 21, 2016
Spiderman 2 is fast, action-packed and as full of heart as the first, continuing perfectly with its predecessor, with his great plot, awesome story-telling and unforgettable characters to make this film a fantastic sequel.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
After SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed toAfter SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed to be tiring of the typecasting linked to the part, wasn’t going to return to play Spider-Man, and Jake Gyllenhaal was actually waiting in the wings in case he called it quits. Of course, a huge paycheck lured Tobey back to the part, and the result was a film that was universally acclaimed by audiences, fans, and critics alike.
Eight years later, how does SPIDER-MAN 2 hold up? Extremely well, and it stands as one of the top-tier superhero movies to ever hit the big-screen, comparing favorably with the later IRON-MAN, and even THE AVENGERS, although I’d put it a notch below BATMAN BEGINS/ THE DARK KNIGHT, and the great, unsung- X-MEN: FIRST CLASS (not to mention X2).

The reason the film works as well as it does is mostly due to director Sam Raimi’s continued focus on Peter Parker’s inner turmoil. Working from a great script by Alvin Sargent (among others), SPIDER-MAN 2 opens with Parker, now a few years into being SPIDER-MAN, having brushed off his best friend Harry (due to his lingering guilt over his part in his father Norman/Green Goblin’s death, and the fact that Harry flies into a near-homicidal rage every time he hears the name Spider-Man), and avoided Mary-Jane. Now, Peter’s living in a disgusting one-room flat, eking out a meager living as a pizza delivery boy, while continuing his studies. Once he learns Mary-Jane is now engaged to J. Jonah Jameson’s pretty boy son, he goes off the rails- eventually quitting his superhero duties altogether, to pursue Mary-Jane.

Of course, this is called SPIDER-MAN 2, and not PETER PARKER 2, so before long he dons his tights once again to fight the iconic Doc Ock, an unfortunate scientist who, after an accident, has metal arms molded to his back- and quickly goes nuts. Raimi balances the spectacle (with the climactic train sequence being a standout) and the darker, more emotional parts of the film beautifully, although- if one looks, the seeds of SPIDER-MAN 3’s idiocy are planted here, with a too jokey montage set to “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head” demonstrating Parker’s new-found freedom (complete with a freeze-frame we all thought was funny in 2004, but now suggests exactly the route we’d be going down a few years hence).

Maguire, despite almost quitting the part, gives a solid performance, although I feel that his dedication to the part was already wearing thin by this, with his physique noticeably less impressive than it was in the first film, and the trend towards self-parody already taking hold. Still, he’s good enough that nobody who saw this in its initial release had any complaints.

Following Willem Dafoe is no easy task, but Alfred Molina is up to it with his nuanced, tragic performance as Doc Ock. Even more sympathetic than Norman Osborn, Ock starts off as a nice-enough guy, but inadvertently causing his wife’s demise (not to mention getting giant robotic arms welded to his back) - he goes a little “funny in the head”. It all comes together in a nicely tragic conclusion.

No Chad Kroger this time, and the pop rock takes a back-seat to Danny Elfman’s score- which plays very much like a retread of the first film. That said, numerous reports suggest that Elfman and Raimi had a major falling out over the project, and Elfman, who used to be Raimi’s go-to guy has never worked with him again. Rumor has it large chunks of his score were dropped and replaced. A sad end to a great collaboration- as Elfman’s score to DARKMAN (not to mention his theme for ARMY OF DARKNESS) is brilliant.

SPIDER-MAN 2 didn’t quite measure up to the first film financially, but it did almost as well, grossing $373 million domestically, and another $375 million internationally, for another mammoth worldwide total of $783 million. It also fared much better than the first film critically, and for a time was considered the finest superhero film ever made.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Taking nearly every element of the first film and elevating it, "Spider-Man 2" is everything a sequel should be and more.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SpiderPlayerMay 17, 2015
Great movie, great and interesting history, the relationship between Peter Parker and Mary Jane is good, good action scenes, the film shows the problems and responsibilities of Peter Parker, shows that it is not a super invincible hero.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLAug 6, 2015
La mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece unLa mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta y oscura sin dudarlo, pero sobre todo, ofrece un mensaje único y conmovedor. Ah, olvide mencionar que esta película tiene una de las mejores secuencias de acción que eh visto en mucho tiempo, la escena de Spider-Man VS Doctor Octopus en el tren es épica, brillante y emocionante.

Repito: Es la mejor película de Super Héroes que eh visto en mucho tiempo, si hacemos un TOP, detrás de Spider-Man 2 le sigue Iron Man y Ant Man
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JohnKristoferDec 22, 2014
From Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be aFrom Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing with villains.Spider-Man 2 is well written and well directed but sometimes it's goofy but the goofiness of the movie make it more appealing unlike the sequel of the new reboot that looks like a video game.Spider-Man 2 is the best spider-man movie so far. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
emiliomiceli31Aug 8, 2015
el hombre araña 2 es un 100% maravilla aun mejor que su procesedor y una de las majores peliculas de marvel comics basadas en spiderman junto a su precuela
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NatT96Aug 19, 2015
This is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality isThis is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realistic situations that just always pushed the limits of his possibilities.This film made him one of my favorite super heroes, I wish they used this same type of creativity in the new films. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ReelViews94Mar 23, 2016
The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguablyThe pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting their sights higher the second time around and mostly hitting the mark, director Sam Raimi, producers Laura Ziskin and Avi Arad & Co., rather than equating bigger with better, have conscientiously applied themselves to improving all aspects of the franchise. Conspicuously, the action sequences are more exciting, the visual effects — particularly Spider-Man’s swings through the canyons of Manhattan — are far more natural and compelling and even Danny Elfman’s score is improved.

Most importantly, however, the script provides a depth and dramatic balance quite rare in this sort of fare. Alvin Sargent, a distinguished vet screenwriter best known for such estimable character-driven fare as “Paper Moon,” “Julia,” “Ordinary People” and “Unfaithful,” did uncredited rewrites on the first “Spider-Man.” Here, working from a story devised by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Michael Chabon, he makes at least five characters into tortured souls with momentous decisions to make and places them all in a narrative frame within which the related elements are adroitly proportioned. Result is an object lesson in how, even for this sort of fare, the script can very much be the thing.

Unlike the last round of “Batman” films, which got sillier with each installment, “Spider-Man” is on the upswing, an impression fostered even by the opening credits, which resemble the comicbook style of those in the original but incorporate arresting renderings of key scenes to recapitulate the first picture’s story.

At the outset, Spider-Man is on a sort of hiatus, taking a back seat to the bumbling efforts of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) to juggle his studies at Columbia with part-time gigs taking pictures for the tabloid Daily Bugle and delivering pizzas on a strict schedule, which even Spidey’s best web-swinging can’t manage successfully.

Opening section quickly pulls the viewer close to Peter by sympathetically and amusingly detailing the difficulties of his struggle to make ends meet in a tough city. He’s constantly reminded of his inexpressible feelings for Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), whose face on a perfume campaign is plastered all over the city and who’s enjoying success onstage in a revival of “The Importance of Being Earnest.”

Driven by a deep need to succeed where his father Norman failed, and still tormented over his death, Harry Osborn (James Franco) has invested heavily in the research of scientific genius Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), who believes he’s on the verge of creating a source of perpetual energy through sustained fusion. As the altruistic Octavius tells the admiring Peter, who intends to write his thesis on him, this breakthrough will put “the power of the sun in the palm of my hand.”

But just as Norman Osborn’s experiment turned him into a demented villain, so does Octavius’; in front of numerous onlookers, his electrical gizmos bust a gut and his four enormous metal “activators” turn into murderous tentacles of staggering speed and strength, and capable of transporting the creature soon to be dubbed Dr. Octopus, or Doc Ock, up and down walls with ease.

At the story’s precise midway point, Peter tosses his Spider-Man costume in the trash.

A light-hearted interlude, cheekily accompanied by “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head,” illustrates the more balanced and happier young man Peter is able to become without the specter of Spider-Man constantly hovering over him; he hopes his fresh approach to life will win Mary Jane over before it’s too late, and in the bargain confesses to Aunt May his guilt for his part in the death of Uncle Ben (Cliff Robertson, seen in one quasi-dream sequence).

The new emotional levels and increased opportunities provided by the script give the actors a chance to stretch, and they all respond, none more than Maguire. Running the gamut from heroic knight to heartbroken suitor, thesp is a constant delight, his lightness of touch providing many grace notes to what was already a lively characterization.

Dunst gets more screentime than before and fleshes out the damsel-in-distress aspects of her part with a nice portrait of a young woman trying to figure out where her future lies. With Aunt May finally, after two years of mourning, trying to move on, Harris has much more to do and does it with her customary excellence, and Franco pushes Harry into an unanticipated dark realm.

Molina’s initial geniality morphs into a determined but unmaniacal evil, although the lack of a specific focus for his destructiveness makes Doc Ock's real purpose a bit fuzzy.

A great follow-up to Spider-Man!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AmieeJul 1, 2004
Great movie. If you are looking for just another action no character development movie this is not for you. This is actually a film not just a movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RachelK.Jul 21, 2004
Better than the original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RosB.Jul 2, 2004
This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great though, very spidery. 2) The movie is over-lit. It looks plasticky and that sucks. I wish it had more grit. It sometimes looks like a magazine shoot. 3) Maguire could have had some one-liners, his character seems constantly stressed out. How about some levity? 4)I wanted more at the end! But that's a good thing. Hopefully number 3 will involve outer space and venom (that would be cool). See this movie though, it's pretty fun all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LewisB.May 3, 2007
Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with characters that matter? The comedy works, the emotion works, the action works. Everything Raimi tries comes off. The set pieces are particularly astounding, ranging from an out of control crane to Spidey's numerous battles with the meaty villains on show. Like others, I think this is by far the best of the three (though I loved the first two as well). It's a modern-day classic, an enrapturing fantasy that exhibits all that's best in modern movie making. An experience not to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeD.May 3, 2007
This film is a masterpiece. If you don't believe it, ask these critics and IMDB fans alike. The division is what creates brilliance. Heck, there was even division among Bobby and Babel, and even among Queen. This film is certainly This film is a masterpiece. If you don't believe it, ask these critics and IMDB fans alike. The division is what creates brilliance. Heck, there was even division among Bobby and Babel, and even among Queen. This film is certainly better than the first two (with Babel being like "Crash" the lite version), and is on a par with Queen. This film is a masterpiece. Just go ask IMDB fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
IlzeS.Dec 18, 2004
Pretty movie, But I liked part one much better than this one.Tobby McGuire& Kirsten Dunst was so great. Will be expecting new part!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RyanF.Jun 30, 2004
It's an entertaining flick. Great action sequences and touchy dramatic scenes. The story is intact and consistent. However, the performances of the actors are still a little shaky and there are loads of continuity problems. BUT, It's an entertaining flick. Great action sequences and touchy dramatic scenes. The story is intact and consistent. However, the performances of the actors are still a little shaky and there are loads of continuity problems. BUT, it's still an entertaining film that is worth your money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ZulumE.Aug 27, 2004
It has alot of aciton but the first movie was better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
Still the greatest Spider-Man movie to date. Filled with great action, heart, emotion and a complex story that really does make you feel for Peter. The movie does suffer from poor dialogue between MJ and Peter. This movie has one of theStill the greatest Spider-Man movie to date. Filled with great action, heart, emotion and a complex story that really does make you feel for Peter. The movie does suffer from poor dialogue between MJ and Peter. This movie has one of the greatest action sequences in a comic book movie, the Train sequence. 8.5/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Tranquilbez22Apr 7, 2012
This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3 didn't do to well. Could JK Simmons please reprise his role in the new Spiderman movies? He was born to play the part. This movie is one for the ages, A masterpiece! Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 25, 2011
Head and shoulders above the first one. It's character-driven and much more interesting emotionally plus there's more realistic dialogue and a cooler villain
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 7, 2012
Greatest comic book movie ever. While a considerable improvement over the first in all areas, the choice of Alfred Molina as villain Doc Ock was beyond brilliant. A total joy to watch over and over.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Jun 26, 2011
A splendid sequel to the already excellent first movie (by the way, I don't see how this movie was significantly better than the first. All three Spider-Man movies are equally awesome).
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
This Spider-Man, new and improved, hits all the right notes, has a perfect, bracing pace, and brings great new ideas to the screen. Surely when it was made, it was the best superhero movie ever. The Dark Knight now holds that position.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others.This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others. It was a enthralling story about true heroism to the point of oneâ Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJun 9, 2012
Many consider this as the best super hero film of all time. But I feel that it is inferior to the first Spider-Man. It has a slow mid point; joke sequences went a little bit too long. But it has one of the best super hero fight of all time.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JullTheAmazingOct 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 es un gran film de acción y aventura, de los que dan gusto poder ver. He quedado maravillado y espero que así halla sido también para todos los espectadores. Una película que no solo marca una época dorada en el superhéroe, sino que también logra ser el mejor film del género de todos los tiempos, superando incluso a The Dark Knight. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppJul 16, 2013
Spider man cada vez escalando mas hacia un buen futuro................................................................................................
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
RobobobAug 5, 2016
One of the best Superhero movies ever made. A movie with depth and feeling that shows us the human side of being super-human. The things a hero might need to sacrifice to live their double life. Complete with one of the best and fullyOne of the best Superhero movies ever made. A movie with depth and feeling that shows us the human side of being super-human. The things a hero might need to sacrifice to live their double life. Complete with one of the best and fully fleshed out villains that is so rare in most comic book movies. A must see for any comic book movie fan. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
Perfect. Nothing more to say.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
With Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis forWith Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis for the hero and the fight scenes between the two make for some excellent action sequences. Highly recommended. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 12, 2013
A far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yetA far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yet again. I don't know anyone who would want to be with such an annoying person. Anyway, I enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Spider man 2" is decent. There is a lot to see but less to think or develop. Better to watch with your friends for pure joy, laughing at the corny dialogue and 'ooh-aah'ing at the impressive action sequences.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2 one of the best comic book movies ever? no but it does hold a place for one of the best comic book movie fight scenes ever....the train sequence Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of theA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JamailS.Jul 2, 2004
Amazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definitionAmazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the time superheroes are portrayed as strong and can never be broken by psychological troubles. here we see a superhero who is confused, still the hero in him reigned. "I will never die a monster" Dr. Octavius said and not his villain side for it was a realization that no matter how good or bad a person or someone is, always the greater "good" reigns. thumbs-up to the actors and everybody involve in these movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenM.Jul 20, 2004
Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the special effects, there's actually some character development! Isn't it great when Hollywood does that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceH.Jul 3, 2004
The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually don't in action movies). The acting is excellent (esp. from Tobey Maguire, who just gets better and better) and Sam Raimi's direction is terse, well-paced, and inventive while staying true to the mythic & comic qualities without going overboard into psychic mumbojumbo & pretentiouness (are you reading this Ang Lee?). Since we actually care about these characters and become so personally involved with them throughout, that when the action scenes come around they almost seem a distraction to the much more captivating story of Mary Jane & Peter's relationship, which actually feels real and not fake like most comic book moves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerronKOct 3, 2004
A wonderful sequel to the first Spider-man film! This film is emotionally affecting, visually stunning and is an artistic achievement in the super hero genre. Maguire and Dunst both give enthralling performances. One of the top films of 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZacharyW.Jun 30, 2004
The movie was very good. There was too much talk, and not enough action scenes. I give it an A-.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertA.Jun 30, 2004
^_^ fantastic! ^_^ inspirational ^_^ I thank them for making it! ^_^
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HeirloomJun 30, 2004
There is a good balance between the action, special effects scene and the small, intimate, emotional moments that delve deeper into the characters. highly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChickenM.Jul 10, 2004
Crazy awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkhilK.Jul 3, 2004
An incredible movie! You have to see it. It is one of those movies that will blow your mind no matter how high your expectations are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QuietJul 5, 2004
Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies planned out). If they are close to as good as this... wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonicaT.Jul 5, 2004
Cool, good special effects, perfect and talented cast, good storyline, good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
a.k.aMattT.Jul 7, 2004
This ia a supurb sequel this movie has to offer.the movie has a blend of excellent corougraph action scenes, romance and comical events. Overall this movie is a money worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephB.Jul 7, 2004
~Spiderman was wickedly Awesome! but I think it does come as close as the first one. Though I think people say it was better , I say the Original is always the one and only.(R.I.P.)+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Jul 30, 2006
amazing from start to finish. spider-man is without a doubt the best comic character to be translated to the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Anthonyl.Aug 10, 2006
I just caught this movie on hbo again the other day and damn do i love this movie. it really does have everything mixed into one movie. it captures the spirit of the comic book perfectly, while also translating to mainstream audiences. i canI just caught this movie on hbo again the other day and damn do i love this movie. it really does have everything mixed into one movie. it captures the spirit of the comic book perfectly, while also translating to mainstream audiences. i can not wait for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinF.Jun 30, 2004
This movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at timesThis movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at times beautiful, and you really feel like this is all happening, you can sympathize with the characters in a way that you wouldnt think possible. i would recommend this movie to anyone, because it goes beyond just being a comic book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyM.Jun 30, 2004
Spider-Man 2 was fantastic!!! It has everything: humor, romance, excellent action scenes, and great special effects. Even if you are not a comic book fan, you will love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelG.Jun 30, 2004
Excellent film. Much better than the first film. The first part of the film is funny and sad at the same time. Raimi really makes you feel how hard it is to be Peter Parker/Spider-Man. The mid point drags a little bit but the action is top Excellent film. Much better than the first film. The first part of the film is funny and sad at the same time. Raimi really makes you feel how hard it is to be Peter Parker/Spider-Man. The mid point drags a little bit but the action is top notch-especially the train sequence. Excellent, one of the top films of 2004 (so far) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJun 30, 2004
Stupendous. Better than the original. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronS.Jun 30, 2004
Excellent Movie, Better acting, Better Special effects and it was just down right great! I really really hope that Spiderman 3 is going to be good as this one. I think this one is better than the first! Go see this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxwellS.Jun 30, 2004
Amazing. So great to see a fun comic book action movie with such complex and real characters instead of focusing on one character with a bunch of supporting cardboard cutouts. Look forward to the third one very, very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilT.Jun 30, 2004
It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get very sciency. I loved the scene where Doc Oct throws the bags of money at spidy.... its really goofy and unrealistic if u think about it, but i liked it anyways... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BoyWonderJun 30, 2004
An absolute MUST SEE for anyone. You dont have to be a dedicated spiderman comic fan to truly appreciate this masterpiece of cinematic engineering :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanM.Jun 30, 2004
This movie is so good it made me want to crap my pants. It totally blew my mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickG.Jun 30, 2004
This is one of those rare films of the comic book genre that I would actually recommend to people who have never read comics. Spider Man 2 picks up where the last one left off and the character development is better here than in the previous This is one of those rare films of the comic book genre that I would actually recommend to people who have never read comics. Spider Man 2 picks up where the last one left off and the character development is better here than in the previous film. This one has more laughs than the first one and it's not just laughter at JK Simmons playing J Johan Jameson. Great Summer entertainment. Go see it and enjoy yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnieP.Jun 30, 2004
Not just a great super hero movie, but simply a great movie. Characters you care about in a story that take you all over the place emotionally. CGI is unreal and the acting is as good as anything you'll see this year. I doubt I'll Not just a great super hero movie, but simply a great movie. Characters you care about in a story that take you all over the place emotionally. CGI is unreal and the acting is as good as anything you'll see this year. I doubt I'll see anything this good for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 1, 2004
This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City looks gritty and authentic this time around. Best of all, this movie succeeds where every previous superhero movie fails: It makes the out-of-costume hero believable and watchable. More than half of the movie is Peter Parker, and the audience doesn't mind since he's a three-dimensional sad-sack sort of guy you want to root for. There are good surprises and many moments you shouldn't read in a review. But let me say that this is what a big budget summer film should be -- exciting, heroic, involving, and funny. This is truly my childhood hero translated to the screen with style, energy, and depth. In fact, it triumphs so much in all of these aspects that you never notice there isn't much of a plot at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Jul 1, 2004
Absolutely first rate. Starts out a bit slow but picks up steam quickly. The only negative is the operating room scene which reminds one of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (may be too intense for small children,) but other than that, Spidey Absolutely first rate. Starts out a bit slow but picks up steam quickly. The only negative is the operating room scene which reminds one of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (may be too intense for small children,) but other than that, Spidey really delivers. Better than the original. Should do $100,000,000 the first weekend as the theaters were packed with a new showing every thirty minutes. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisJul 1, 2004
Possibly the best comic book movie I've ever seen. Yes, I enjoyed much more than the first 2 Batmans, and the first two Supermans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 10, 2004
Incredible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StarfoxJul 1, 2004
Fantastic. Easily the best comic book / super hero movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryW.Jul 19, 2004
What an awesome movie! Easily the best of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RSJul 2, 2004
This movie is awsome. Packed with action, drama, super-hero action, this movie is a MUST-SEE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
O.W.Jul 28, 2004
Truly the best movie uv the year. its action packed and exciig through the whole movie. in my top ten mos fav movies uv all time. its truly amazing. if i could i would rate it 15/10. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Jul 2, 2004
If you liked the first movie at all, you'll definatley like this one as well. Sam Raimi and crew did not pussyfoot around with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamR.Jul 29, 2004
This movie is truely amazing, and it is worth seeing. This is the best and my most anticipated MARVEL production to date. It is a great action film and it also has a good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferK.Jul 2, 2004
The action was so awesome. I was so drawn into the emotional issues. Spiderman was funnier in this movie than in the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcW.Jul 2, 2004
The finest movie of the year and quite possibly, the most touching love story I have ever seen on the silver screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with spiderman 2. i will do my best to review the film AS IS, and not as a folow up to the great first spiderman film. it's wild!...phew!. yes, now that i said it lets gut it's insides. tobey is a good spider, quite good casting. i would have prefered a taller, skinnier spiderman, but he does pretty well even though he is not very elegant looking. his success comes from his humble looks and voice, he always sounds like either he doesn't give a damn about life or he just woke up, pick one. pick two if you wanna trick me. doctor octavious is played very well by molina, it's fantasy films like these that handle "attitude" very well. like han solo in star wars...look at star wars with no han solo (new ones)....see my point? as for mary jane, she could have been alot worldly, rather than a generic american chick who talks about wedings and boyfriends and looking for a man to comlete her constantly. sam raimi does a great job, this guy...people were bashing him even before the release of spiderman 1, they said he had no clue and no control over the ambitious project....he shows us not only he has control, but he can dance around it in classy fashion. the story dips down ever so often and demands more action, there are too many "where have you been?" and "who am i" kind of un-answerable idiotic questioneres handed out in the cast that gets in the nerves and eyes. you are spiderman 2, does that make you feel better? the fella who plays harry, green goblin's heir is a pretty good actor, i am glad we are gona see him more in the next one. he might give us more of that "attitude"we are in need of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenZ.Jul 3, 2004
This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, but the ones with peter parker where we see him going through his day to day struggles being a super-hero. This movie combines different elements which are rarely so effective in a film: witty humor, exciting action, and some truly effective, emotion drenched drama. So... if this movie is so great, then why a 9 and not a 10? Well... there is one flaw that still ate at me while i watched this movie. This concerns the way spider-man, as a character, is animated throughout the majority of the movie. While it didn't bother me so much as the first film, (the effects were greatly improved for this sequal) I still think it would have been much more effective to take the extra time and preperation to incorporate more human-like spiderman stunts into the mix, you gotta admit that spiderman outfit looks cool as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LumiereJul 3, 2004
This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you didn't you should give this a chance because it is a better film then the first one. In this one everything doesn't go Spider-man's way. He does terrible in school, loses his superpowers and almost loses Mary Jane for good. Then he decides to quit being Spider-Man for awhile and to make his life with Mary Jane back to normal. He finally goes and sees her opera performance and things look a bit better for spider-man. In this one the main villian is Dr. Octopus. He is the mad scientist gone wild as the arms gain control of him and he gives Spider-Man hell. Tobey Mcguire (Peter Parker) and Kirsten Dunst (Mary Jane Watson) do an excellent job acting and their characters are very believable. Other notable characters are Rosemarry Harris and Harry Osbourne (who should be a big part in the 3rd movie) The Action in this movie is a great bonus to an already excellent piece of work. As I said, I came out of the theater at 12:20 AM. happy last night knowing I had seen the best big budget movie of the year so far. What is a shame though is here in Lake Jackson, TX we really only have one good theater. This theater has 10 screens but some films even as big as Fahrenheit 911 don't get shown here. I have to drive to Houston in order to see any limited release movies also which is not conveniant. I also recommend the soundtrack to this film as well. It may not have a song that stands out as much as Chad Kroeger's Hero did on the first Spider-Man but overall this is still a good soundtrack. My picks from the soundtrack are Dashboard Confessional - Vindicated and Jet - Hold On. I like the Maroon 5 song its just that it doesn't go with the movie really. Rating: A Soundtrack Rating: 4/5 Stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful