Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2004
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1145 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
990
Mixed:
83
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JeffVFeb 14, 2008
The greatest comic book film of all time...so far. This one had it all. It had wonderful writing that dealt with angst,ambition, loss, love, and redemption and it did so with heart as well as a dash of humor. It had well written characters The greatest comic book film of all time...so far. This one had it all. It had wonderful writing that dealt with angst,ambition, loss, love, and redemption and it did so with heart as well as a dash of humor. It had well written characters that were multi-faceted and it had a talented cast to bring these charcters to life. It's action sequences(the train fight was incredible!!!)that were intense and entertaining, but never overshadowed the characters. Good stuff indeed!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobR.Nov 24, 2007
An incredible work of art. Much improved from the first Spider-man, this movie is possibly the best super hero film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomKMay 4, 2007
This movie is the best comic book adaptation, and is much better than spider man 1. It was a funnier, has more emotion and heart, great story, and a fantastic action with amazing CGI on doc oc. Spiderman 1 was more of an intro, but spiderman This movie is the best comic book adaptation, and is much better than spider man 1. It was a funnier, has more emotion and heart, great story, and a fantastic action with amazing CGI on doc oc. Spiderman 1 was more of an intro, but spiderman 2 displayed the wrenching consequences that comes along with having all this power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeD.May 3, 2007
This film is a masterpiece. If you don't believe it, ask these critics and IMDB fans alike. The division is what creates brilliance. Heck, there was even division among Bobby and Babel, and even among Queen. This film is certainly This film is a masterpiece. If you don't believe it, ask these critics and IMDB fans alike. The division is what creates brilliance. Heck, there was even division among Bobby and Babel, and even among Queen. This film is certainly better than the first two (with Babel being like "Crash" the lite version), and is on a par with Queen. This film is a masterpiece. Just go ask IMDB fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LewisB.May 3, 2007
Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with characters that matter? The comedy works, the emotion works, the action works. Everything Raimi tries comes off. The set pieces are particularly astounding, ranging from an out of control crane to Spidey's numerous battles with the meaty villains on show. Like others, I think this is by far the best of the three (though I loved the first two as well). It's a modern-day classic, an enrapturing fantasy that exhibits all that's best in modern movie making. An experience not to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Apr 10, 2007
The best comic book movie ever made. No...no....let me rephrase that. This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Absolutely powerful and just plain fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnsonG.Mar 5, 2007
Lighten up people. Its not hard to love this movie unless you have absolutely no ability of knowing good entertainment when u see it. Tobey Maguire is great as Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst Lovely as MJ, Alfred Molina an outstanding classic Lighten up people. Its not hard to love this movie unless you have absolutely no ability of knowing good entertainment when u see it. Tobey Maguire is great as Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst Lovely as MJ, Alfred Molina an outstanding classic machined villain as Dr. Octavious turned Docock. Every member of the cast is superb in their big or small roles, Sam Raimi the director seems very sure of the script and his directing and makes every scene worth watching. Add to that a good story, fabulous, marvelous special effects and visual sequences, an outstanding, fully suitable score, sound effects beyond your wildest dreams , a red-blue spidey Spandex otfit, a chuuby guys in a brown coat with four mecha-arms...well how can you not like it??? So, either you are a fan of the comics, like superhero movies, or not, you really have to enjoy this movie. SO DONT MISS IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaydenFeb 14, 2007
A very strong, intelligent and emotional movie. Most likely one of the greatest movies ever. Anonymous needs to seek therapy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RirenJan 31, 2007
Quite possibly the best superhero movie of all time. You have all the high-powered action scenes, a great sense of humor, and ritual symbolism that would even get Joseph Campbell's mind stirring. It's long, but well-paced, and Quite possibly the best superhero movie of all time. You have all the high-powered action scenes, a great sense of humor, and ritual symbolism that would even get Joseph Campbell's mind stirring. It's long, but well-paced, and never forgets its sense of humility. By the end, Spider-Man's world is ripe for further installments, and anyone who ever walked through a toy aisle or played recess will want to see them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
anneonymousSep 29, 2006
This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. The special effects were spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JBAug 11, 2006
Great acting from Raimi and the rest of the cast (except Dunst). [***SPOILERS***] Unfortunately the lines were terrible as between Parker and Mary Jane, and the 'happy-go-lucky' scene with Parker after 'losing' his powers Great acting from Raimi and the rest of the cast (except Dunst). [***SPOILERS***] Unfortunately the lines were terrible as between Parker and Mary Jane, and the 'happy-go-lucky' scene with Parker after 'losing' his powers is an inappropriate splash of camp in what has been a serious, if light hearted, adaptation endeavor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Anthonyl.Aug 10, 2006
I just caught this movie on hbo again the other day and damn do i love this movie. it really does have everything mixed into one movie. it captures the spirit of the comic book perfectly, while also translating to mainstream audiences. i canI just caught this movie on hbo again the other day and damn do i love this movie. it really does have everything mixed into one movie. it captures the spirit of the comic book perfectly, while also translating to mainstream audiences. i can not wait for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Jul 30, 2006
amazing from start to finish. spider-man is without a doubt the best comic character to be translated to the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Joeg.Jul 16, 2006
Without a doubt the best comic book movie of all time. this movie had it all. and it is easy to see that frank r. and the realness are the same exact person trying to bring the score down, because of some asinine hatred of this movie, so i amWithout a doubt the best comic book movie of all time. this movie had it all. and it is easy to see that frank r. and the realness are the same exact person trying to bring the score down, because of some asinine hatred of this movie, so i am here to rectify that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayE.Mar 27, 2006
There are plenty of superhero movies that provide gratuitous action--action with no cost or reason. This movie takes the time to look at its characters, develop them, raise the stakes for them, thus giving the action reason. Then we care if There are plenty of superhero movies that provide gratuitous action--action with no cost or reason. This movie takes the time to look at its characters, develop them, raise the stakes for them, thus giving the action reason. Then we care if Aunt May is taken hostage, or whether Doc will win that fight. Yes, this means less action. Gasp! But with more riding on it, it is a lot more satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamaalR.Dec 15, 2005
Oh My God. I see all of you neigh-sayers complaining about this movie. Some of you go as far as to say that it is nothing like the comic. Trust me, anyone who reads the comics or even follow it slightly will tell you that this is what you Oh My God. I see all of you neigh-sayers complaining about this movie. Some of you go as far as to say that it is nothing like the comic. Trust me, anyone who reads the comics or even follow it slightly will tell you that this is what you will and should get from the movie. It "is" EXACTLY LIKE THE COMIC. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterOct 27, 2005
Hey Anonymous, "go get em tiger" is Mary Jane's catch phrase from the comic, so it's pretty easy to defend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickJul 23, 2005
Dramtic, Romantic, and Action-Packed. This is the tragic story of Peter Parker and his duties as spiderman. It has powerful dialouge and is one of the best movies you can find!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterParkerJun 12, 2005
It was the best movie I have ever seen about myself! Hope Doc Ock was dead in my life just like way it did in the end of the movie! By the way, Tobey is great as me, but I am sure a bit taller and more wisecracking!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MehdiT.Jun 11, 2005
The best superhero movie ever. The plot is engaging, the acting is so good, and the effects are much more convincing than the first one. I can't wait to see Spidey 3!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sam+Pat:NowpartnersincriticsMay 15, 2005
This is one of the most excellent, entertainig, and awesome film of all time. The acting is great, the plot is very good and one of the top 5 films ever/ now to my friend pat's opinion. I'd give it a 9, it was pretty dang good. This is one of the most excellent, entertainig, and awesome film of all time. The acting is great, the plot is very good and one of the top 5 films ever/ now to my friend pat's opinion. I'd give it a 9, it was pretty dang good. Overall, it will get a 9.5 since Sam gave it a 10 and pat gave it a 9, but do to mathmatical rounding, we must put a 10 on the score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasM.Mar 26, 2005
Those who hate this movie are idiots, this is the best comic book movie since Superman if not the greatest Superhero movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jan 29, 2005
Esta muy bine para passar el rato. Es entretenida. pero hay escenas que sobran.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alaneJan 15, 2005
Wish all the superhero movies could be this good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
armandosJan 15, 2005
Better than the first movie-better villan-it seemed that the director was straining too hard to establish the love story- however the special effects were excellent and the occasional humor was welcomed-no one wants a superhero movie to be Better than the first movie-better villan-it seemed that the director was straining too hard to establish the love story- however the special effects were excellent and the occasional humor was welcomed-no one wants a superhero movie to be too serious!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
crit-i-kalJan 11, 2005
Forget the rest of the movie. The train scene is, hand's down, the most intense action sequence ever burned to celluloid. If you haven't seen it yet (unlikely) you need to see it just for that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerN.Jan 9, 2005
By far the best marvel picture to date. It puts the original to shame with its superb special effects. You WILL love this movie, believe me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IlzeS.Dec 18, 2004
Pretty movie, But I liked part one much better than this one.Tobby McGuire& Kirsten Dunst was so great. Will be expecting new part!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
melissameDec 12, 2004
An instant Classic! What a wonderful movie! One that doens't take itself too seriously, yet delivers in a serious way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregT.Dec 6, 2004
This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very decent quasi-nerd who is a true hero at heart and every woman's ideal - a cute young dude with muscles and morals and loads of sensitivity. What more do ya want in a Superhero? Eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerronKOct 3, 2004
A wonderful sequel to the first Spider-man film! This film is emotionally affecting, visually stunning and is an artistic achievement in the super hero genre. Maguire and Dunst both give enthralling performances. One of the top films of 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottH.Sep 29, 2004
Spider-Man 2 one word AMAZING this was the best the fighting the web shooting was so cool it was a great way to end the summer AMAZING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveSep 22, 2004
This is the only movie I have ever scene that has an extended action scene involving a senior citizen. That alone was worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethR.Sep 17, 2004
This film shows the progression of the relationship between Peter and MJ very well. If you look at the expression on MJ's face in the last scene, she is not too thrilled that Peter is risking his life every time he puts on the red and This film shows the progression of the relationship between Peter and MJ very well. If you look at the expression on MJ's face in the last scene, she is not too thrilled that Peter is risking his life every time he puts on the red and blue. This theme folows the comics. Their relationship floundered several times because of Sipdey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DragonKnightofFinalFantasySep 7, 2004
Great flick well written story, great action, Doc Ock rocks, everything is perfect except when Spidey loses his powers cuz he doesn' t want them blah blah blah. Anyway great flick go watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SungusAug 31, 2004
If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but also building on that. It appears that this series is able to stay seemless over time, unlike Batman, which just became too bad to watch. Hopefully, the cast will continue to do these for a few more flicks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarieW.Aug 28, 2004
If I could I'd give this movie a 20!! It's one of the movies both guys and girls can watch together and still enjoy!! P.S. For the person who rated it a 0 should stick to Gigli and Crossroads if they're going to give the If I could I'd give this movie a 20!! It's one of the movies both guys and girls can watch together and still enjoy!! P.S. For the person who rated it a 0 should stick to Gigli and Crossroads if they're going to give the biggest grossing movie of this year that rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZulumE.Aug 27, 2004
It has alot of aciton but the first movie was better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DrewH.Aug 26, 2004
An excellent movie. I would say better than the first, the villain is much cooler than the old green goblin and the effects are amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ParthM.Aug 16, 2004
It was the greatest movie in all of history. no better movie than this. I don't read bad reviews for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ParthM.Aug 16, 2004
It was the greatest movie in all of history. no better movie than this. I don't read bad reviews for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LexeH.Aug 10, 2004
Over-all great movie. Really well written, a definite award winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonB.Aug 8, 2004
Spider-Man 2 was the best super-hero movie I've ever seen! Tobey Maguire was very good. I like Doc Ock. The story is very well written. Very good action scenes, and good romance. It's an Academy Award Winner for sure. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianW.Aug 7, 2004
Definitely a top notch hollywood product. I found myself caring more about what was happening with Peter Parker, than what villan Spider Man was hanging from a web somewhere. You become truly attatched to the struggle he faces. Balancing his Definitely a top notch hollywood product. I found myself caring more about what was happening with Peter Parker, than what villan Spider Man was hanging from a web somewhere. You become truly attatched to the struggle he faces. Balancing his life's responsibility, with the responsibility of being a superhero. A high-wire act to say the least. Some actually touching moments at the end, seamless special effects, GREAT MOVIE? Could Spidey become the first superhero film to be nominated come Oscar time? I think so. When all is said and done, I have to say my favorite line in the movie is "Hi". If you've seen it you know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GauravHirlekarAug 7, 2004
It is an ultimate movie worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
A.T.Aug 5, 2004
This was a good movie, and probably better than the first one. Great, creative action sequences, good plot, good characters. My main objection to this movie is that the second act is pretty slow and weak. We get not one, not two, not three, This was a good movie, and probably better than the first one. Great, creative action sequences, good plot, good characters. My main objection to this movie is that the second act is pretty slow and weak. We get not one, not two, not three, but four purely expository set pieces (the uncle Ben dream, the long Aunt may speech, the voice-over monologue, and the Doctor's speech). If you want me to know what Pete is struggling with, then show me, don't tell me. And for the love of god, don't tell me four times. Frankly, given the very high praise it's gotten, I was a little disappointed with this picture. But that was just due to my high expectations. It's a good movie, go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WongitAug 1, 2004
I knew that this was going to be the best movie i would see this summer, or even this year. I was tottaly right. Great story, a marvelous cast, great special effects. I enjoyed this movie because you really feel for Peter Parker, you really I knew that this was going to be the best movie i would see this summer, or even this year. I was tottaly right. Great story, a marvelous cast, great special effects. I enjoyed this movie because you really feel for Peter Parker, you really get to see how being Spiderman really effects the poor guys life. I am around his age and i could really relate to him. By far the best superhero movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheElusivePossomJul 31, 2004
This film basically lived up to my pretty high expectations of a sequal to the original Spider-Man: amazing action that bettered the first, and a commendable attempt to inject some tongue-in-cheek comedy. Some parts of it were unavoidably This film basically lived up to my pretty high expectations of a sequal to the original Spider-Man: amazing action that bettered the first, and a commendable attempt to inject some tongue-in-cheek comedy. Some parts of it were unavoidably predictable ("Here's the cheap that makes sure I don't turn into a psycho-killer...hope it doesn't get smashed"), but the film does leave a suggestion of a sequal - Will Hobgoblin be the next to plight Spidey? We'll know come 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with spiderman 2. i will do my best to review the film AS IS, and not as a folow up to the great first spiderman film. it's wild!...phew!. yes, now that i said it lets gut it's insides. tobey is a good spider, quite good casting. i would have prefered a taller, skinnier spiderman, but he does pretty well even though he is not very elegant looking. his success comes from his humble looks and voice, he always sounds like either he doesn't give a damn about life or he just woke up, pick one. pick two if you wanna trick me. doctor octavious is played very well by molina, it's fantasy films like these that handle "attitude" very well. like han solo in star wars...look at star wars with no han solo (new ones)....see my point? as for mary jane, she could have been alot worldly, rather than a generic american chick who talks about wedings and boyfriends and looking for a man to comlete her constantly. sam raimi does a great job, this guy...people were bashing him even before the release of spiderman 1, they said he had no clue and no control over the ambitious project....he shows us not only he has control, but he can dance around it in classy fashion. the story dips down ever so often and demands more action, there are too many "where have you been?" and "who am i" kind of un-answerable idiotic questioneres handed out in the cast that gets in the nerves and eyes. you are spiderman 2, does that make you feel better? the fella who plays harry, green goblin's heir is a pretty good actor, i am glad we are gona see him more in the next one. he might give us more of that "attitude"we are in need of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamR.Jul 29, 2004
This movie is truely amazing, and it is worth seeing. This is the best and my most anticipated MARVEL production to date. It is a great action film and it also has a good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
O.W.Jul 28, 2004
Truly the best movie uv the year. its action packed and exciig through the whole movie. in my top ten mos fav movies uv all time. its truly amazing. if i could i would rate it 15/10. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulP.Jul 23, 2004
A fun movie, but not as good as the first (I disagree with most others on this, it seems). Sam Raimi is obviously getting far more in touch with his b-horror roots, as displayed by an excessive amount of close up scream-shots and unnecessary A fun movie, but not as good as the first (I disagree with most others on this, it seems). Sam Raimi is obviously getting far more in touch with his b-horror roots, as displayed by an excessive amount of close up scream-shots and unnecessary gore. However, kudos to Alfred Molina for giving much more depth to a villain than Willem Dafoe's campy Green Goblin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisP.Jul 22, 2004
Excellent. Enjoyed Spidey 2 even more than the first movie. Kudos to Sam Raimi for ensuring the Spiderman franchise recieves the quality treatment it deserves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachelK.Jul 21, 2004
Better than the original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IbnJ.Jul 21, 2004
It was a wonderful movie. Action-packed, emotionally-charged...there was one scene where Spidey actually touched my heart and made me want to cry. Encore!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenM.Jul 20, 2004
Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the special effects, there's actually some character development! Isn't it great when Hollywood does that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryW.Jul 19, 2004
What an awesome movie! Easily the best of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickDJul 19, 2004
Best comic book movie I have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarrenM.Jul 18, 2004
A major improvement on the first movie. Some slow moments, solid acting, great action. Not perfect, but worth admission price.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJ.Jul 16, 2004
The best superhero movie ever, hands down. Spider Man 2 is filled with action, intrigue, and incredible special effects. This movie is a visual treat, from the way Spider Man moves magestically, swinging from building to building. And the The best superhero movie ever, hands down. Spider Man 2 is filled with action, intrigue, and incredible special effects. This movie is a visual treat, from the way Spider Man moves magestically, swinging from building to building. And the storys no flop either, definetly exciting enough to keep the young people entertained, and deep enough to keep the older folks pleased as well. Do yourself a favour and see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredCJul 12, 2004
Ecellent movie, best of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Jul 11, 2004
Is it the best comic book superhero movie of all time? Maybe, maybe not. The original was pretty terrific, and then there's Superman II, Tim Burton's first Batman...but if you comparte Spidey 2 with the entertaining-but-forgettable Is it the best comic book superhero movie of all time? Maybe, maybe not. The original was pretty terrific, and then there's Superman II, Tim Burton's first Batman...but if you comparte Spidey 2 with the entertaining-but-forgettable X-Mens, the utterly mediocre Daredevil or the dreadful Punisher, this comes off amazingly well. I actually thought that some of the CGI here was LESS impressive than in the first, especially in a sequence involving police helicopters near the end. Also, for a screenplay written by ahighly respected Oscar winner (Ordinary People's Alvin Sargent), there are surprising holes: for the plot to work, a central character has to go for days (weeks?) unaware that Spidey's out of commission, and wouldn't a play by Oscar Wilde have an intermission? These nitpicks aside, I have great respect for an action movie that loves its characters as much as its action sequences (but don't worry; the latter seem to wreck as many cars as H. B. Halicki and Hal Needham did in both their careers combined!) A highlight is a loving but confrontational scene between Peter Parker and Aunt May; is it possible that the old gal knows more than she's supposed to? The fact that Spidey 2 repeatedly (and gleefully) breaks a cardinal superhero rule (which never made much sense anyway) is only one indication of its eagerness to twist or transform every major character relationship from the first one, making this a challenging and dynamic drama as well as a terrific popcorn movie. Kudos to Sargent and the cast, but especially to director Sam Raimi, who, given the task of bringing an incredibly beloved character to the screen, really takes Uncle Ben's advice to heart: "With great power comes great responsibility". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottC.Jul 11, 2004
The most spiritual film I've seen since Magnolia. I think it's an excellent film all around, but I do wonder if it might not possibly connect with most people. It reminds me of Ang Lee's Hulk, because of how it uses the The most spiritual film I've seen since Magnolia. I think it's an excellent film all around, but I do wonder if it might not possibly connect with most people. It reminds me of Ang Lee's Hulk, because of how it uses the superhero motif to explore the psychology of a person caught between what he wants to do and what he is able to do (Lee's Hulk doesn't do that, but does use the Hulk metaphorically to deal with issues of rage and repression). But, I found it better than Lee's poetic film if only because I think it does not go so far in that direction that it loses its feet, which are always connected firmly in the Marvel universe. The villain, played by Alfred Molina, is well played. The story of Dr. Octopus is essentially a modernized retelling of Dr. Frankenstein. One thing that I found interesting about Spiderman was in comparing Raimi's Spiderman to Burton's Batman. Both have experienced traumatic events from their childhoods which have made them superheros: Bruce Wayne, the murder of his parents which he witnessed as a child, and Peter Parker, the murder of his uncle, for which he feels responsibility. The manner in which each man was involved in that trauma seems to have made a real difference in each man's specific worldview and identity. Spiderman feels guilt over his uncle's death, and as a result, it animates him morally to sacrifice all that is precious to him to stop it from happening. It is not so much Parker trying to exorcise his past, as it is Parker being driven by his uncle's dying words - "with great power comes great responsibility." But Burton's Batman is different. He is not responsible for his parents' death. He was 8 years old when the tragedy happened, and nothing he could've done differently would've changed their fate at a random gunman's bullet. What drives Batman is the desire for justice - which I think to everyone close to Bruce Wayne at times looks more like revenge than justice. It is for these reasons that I think we see Spiderman treating his enemies differently than Batman usually does. Spiderman consistently sees the humanity in his enemies. He knows that the moral weight of our choices determine who we are, and that that is both liberating, as well as a burden. But it is for that reason that he seeks to see the humanity in his enemies, even while fighting them. We would never see Batman speaking to Joker in the same way Parker is with Dr. Octopus in the closing moments of the third act. It is, in fact, Parker's willingness to remind Octavius of his beliefs about science as a servant and not as a road towards divinity that redeems this man, making him human again. For this and much more, I found the worldview of Spiderman 2 to be the most, there is no other word, Christian as well as psychologically sophisticated of all the superhero comic book movies to date. It is also a love story that I think should be placed in proximity to many of the great love stories of Hollywood history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Jul 10, 2004
It was great. Lots of little humorous touches. The action scenes, when there is action, are great. The first one sucked so bad -give this one a chance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyC.Jul 10, 2004
This movie is astonishing. Quite simply, ala 'Simpsons': "Best comic book movie ever."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 10, 2004
Incredible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChickenM.Jul 10, 2004
Crazy awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Jul 8, 2004
Absolutely amazing. Even better than the first and a happy ending too. Dont hesitate. Go see it right now. (its playing every half hour at most theaters so you shouldn't have trouble finding a convenient showtime)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobinF.Jul 8, 2004
Great movie with an Interesting villian!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeakaScorpJul 8, 2004
Such an awesome movie. no words to say, im speechless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuthorxJul 7, 2004
I can aggree with those who think this is more of a soap opera, but the plot was close to the comics, the fights were awesome and the rest was well done. 9 out of 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephB.Jul 7, 2004
~Spiderman was wickedly Awesome! but I think it does come as close as the first one. Though I think people say it was better , I say the Original is always the one and only.(R.I.P.)+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
a.k.aMattT.Jul 7, 2004
This ia a supurb sequel this movie has to offer.the movie has a blend of excellent corougraph action scenes, romance and comical events. Overall this movie is a money worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QuietJul 5, 2004
Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies planned out). If they are close to as good as this... wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaM.Jul 5, 2004
It?s rare that a sequel outshines its predecessor, but this one does. By far the best movie I?ve seen all year. The elevator seen was classic! Aside from the shameless setup of Spidy-3 at the end, this movie definitely earned every bit of a It?s rare that a sequel outshines its predecessor, but this one does. By far the best movie I?ve seen all year. The elevator seen was classic! Aside from the shameless setup of Spidy-3 at the end, this movie definitely earned every bit of a 10+. At least we know who the next villian will be (as if there were ever a doubt)... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonicaT.Jul 5, 2004
Cool, good special effects, perfect and talented cast, good storyline, good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaerA.Jul 4, 2004
I agree with Roger Ebert. This is the best superhero movie ever. Spider Man 2 is better than the original, funnier and did I say it was better than the original?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeW.Jul 4, 2004
I almost agree with the person who said they'd rate this a '20'. I'd give it a '15'. I am a long time spidey fan, who was one of the few who was disappointed with spidey '1'. glad tobey came back as I almost agree with the person who said they'd rate this a '20'. I'd give it a '15'. I am a long time spidey fan, who was one of the few who was disappointed with spidey '1'. glad tobey came back as spidey. molina as doc ock was great! my only complaint is: lose harry osborn or get some one new to play him...otherwise it woulda gotten a '20'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldN.Jul 3, 2004
OMFG!! If I could give a 20 to this movie, I would!! This is by far the greatest movie I've ever seen. The Special effects are totally believable and the story line is supreme. This movie will gp down in history as one of the most OMFG!! If I could give a 20 to this movie, I would!! This is by far the greatest movie I've ever seen. The Special effects are totally believable and the story line is supreme. This movie will gp down in history as one of the most triumphant action movie. It is not possible for there to be a better movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EliotR.Jul 3, 2004
Strong performances all around. Great movie. A much better film than the first. Less action, more plot. Good work Spidey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottAKASokaarJul 3, 2004
Ok I consider my self one of those people that does not get hyped over how good a film looks, but Spiderman was one of my most anticipated films ever, having gone to see the first one so many times I lost count and I can honestly say my Ok I consider my self one of those people that does not get hyped over how good a film looks, but Spiderman was one of my most anticipated films ever, having gone to see the first one so many times I lost count and I can honestly say my score has nothing to do with how much I was anticipating it, the film truely rocks. Ok I do not know where to begin but i shall try at the beggining, I must say that I will not mention any of the major points in the film. I personaly liked the way the film begins with a nice little series of tableaux to descibe pretty much the entire script and these are done as an artistic drawn screen shot from the previous film and it explains what happened in the first film for those that had not seen it (yeah i know what rock were they living under but it works well). It then jumps right into the film with parker late for work. The film looks at the strugle between leading an everyday life and leading a life of presure for a superhero, the problems like always having to rescue a person in distress but also the problems of hatred from the people he is trying to save due to bad press. NYC is split into those that love him and those that hate him (kind of like marmite). The film is fast pased to so your not waiting 30 minuets to catch your first glimpse of spiderman. The plot of the story is well written in my oppinion, having never read a spiderman comic in my entire life I can tell you it was enjoyable to watch, however the film does bring in some things that happens to spiderman in the cartoon which pretty much copies the comics i am told. The film has many morals hidden in with the script like finding your way when your lost, the value of being truthful ect and these are sensed on a subconscious level. The film has been given the PG certificate which i think in another film they would not have done this, yes the film contains no blood, but the violence if pretty frequent. I sense they decided on the PG rating because of the frowns about the first film being 12 but whatever. I am not saying that the film should be higher rated but I just thought I would point out there is quiet alot of violence in there. and on that note the fighting is absolutley brilliant it leaves you on the edge of your seat anticipating what could possibly happen next. and it all looks very realistic, I mean as realistic as fist fighting with someone while falling to your death looks anyway. the film also has mind blowing special effects they have made spidermans acrobatics and motions while flying through the air looks so beautiful. and the ending i find interesting too, i left the cinema with a feeling that there is going to be a third film because of the scene where harry realises was at first sight a sequel begging ending but after thinking about it you realise it is not sequel begging it leaves the door open to a sequel because the closure comes from the "go get 'em tiger" scene i ?Know that is a little cryptic but once you have seen the film you will understand what i mean (i hope i have not given anything away to the hardcore spidey fans) so on to my final thought on the film. It is a perfect balance between action and drama and perfectly portrays how it must be to lead a double life and have to give up your dreams for the good of others, amazing visual and sound effects make this an all around perfect film. Sokaar gives it a huge 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricY.Jul 3, 2004
I loved it. I was going to give it a 9, but the cameo by Bruce Campbell earned the movie extra credit. The action sequences were awesome, the cinematography is great, the acting is outstanding as well. It was all I expected and more--even a I loved it. I was going to give it a 9, but the cameo by Bruce Campbell earned the movie extra credit. The action sequences were awesome, the cinematography is great, the acting is outstanding as well. It was all I expected and more--even a safe movie for kids, which is all too uncommon today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenZ.Jul 3, 2004
This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, but the ones with peter parker where we see him going through his day to day struggles being a super-hero. This movie combines different elements which are rarely so effective in a film: witty humor, exciting action, and some truly effective, emotion drenched drama. So... if this movie is so great, then why a 9 and not a 10? Well... there is one flaw that still ate at me while i watched this movie. This concerns the way spider-man, as a character, is animated throughout the majority of the movie. While it didn't bother me so much as the first film, (the effects were greatly improved for this sequal) I still think it would have been much more effective to take the extra time and preperation to incorporate more human-like spiderman stunts into the mix, you gotta admit that spiderman outfit looks cool as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LumiereJul 3, 2004
This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you didn't you should give this a chance because it is a better film then the first one. In this one everything doesn't go Spider-man's way. He does terrible in school, loses his superpowers and almost loses Mary Jane for good. Then he decides to quit being Spider-Man for awhile and to make his life with Mary Jane back to normal. He finally goes and sees her opera performance and things look a bit better for spider-man. In this one the main villian is Dr. Octopus. He is the mad scientist gone wild as the arms gain control of him and he gives Spider-Man hell. Tobey Mcguire (Peter Parker) and Kirsten Dunst (Mary Jane Watson) do an excellent job acting and their characters are very believable. Other notable characters are Rosemarry Harris and Harry Osbourne (who should be a big part in the 3rd movie) The Action in this movie is a great bonus to an already excellent piece of work. As I said, I came out of the theater at 12:20 AM. happy last night knowing I had seen the best big budget movie of the year so far. What is a shame though is here in Lake Jackson, TX we really only have one good theater. This theater has 10 screens but some films even as big as Fahrenheit 911 don't get shown here. I have to drive to Houston in order to see any limited release movies also which is not conveniant. I also recommend the soundtrack to this film as well. It may not have a song that stands out as much as Chad Kroeger's Hero did on the first Spider-Man but overall this is still a good soundtrack. My picks from the soundtrack are Dashboard Confessional - Vindicated and Jet - Hold On. I like the Maroon 5 song its just that it doesn't go with the movie really. Rating: A Soundtrack Rating: 4/5 Stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkhilK.Jul 3, 2004
An incredible movie! You have to see it. It is one of those movies that will blow your mind no matter how high your expectations are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceH.Jul 3, 2004
The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually don't in action movies). The acting is excellent (esp. from Tobey Maguire, who just gets better and better) and Sam Raimi's direction is terse, well-paced, and inventive while staying true to the mythic & comic qualities without going overboard into psychic mumbojumbo & pretentiouness (are you reading this Ang Lee?). Since we actually care about these characters and become so personally involved with them throughout, that when the action scenes come around they almost seem a distraction to the much more captivating story of Mary Jane & Peter's relationship, which actually feels real and not fake like most comic book moves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JuggadoreP.R.Jul 2, 2004
Alright, the cool thing about this movie is that, as opposed to most other superhero movies, the hero's powers are dependant on the strength of the man. The movie more focused on a man with a second life as a superhero than the other Alright, the cool thing about this movie is that, as opposed to most other superhero movies, the hero's powers are dependant on the strength of the man. The movie more focused on a man with a second life as a superhero than the other way around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RosB.Jul 2, 2004
This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great though, very spidery. 2) The movie is over-lit. It looks plasticky and that sucks. I wish it had more grit. It sometimes looks like a magazine shoot. 3) Maguire could have had some one-liners, his character seems constantly stressed out. How about some levity? 4)I wanted more at the end! But that's a good thing. Hopefully number 3 will involve outer space and venom (that would be cool). See this movie though, it's pretty fun all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarcW.Jul 2, 2004
The finest movie of the year and quite possibly, the most touching love story I have ever seen on the silver screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferK.Jul 2, 2004
The action was so awesome. I was so drawn into the emotional issues. Spiderman was funnier in this movie than in the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Jul 2, 2004
If you liked the first movie at all, you'll definatley like this one as well. Sam Raimi and crew did not pussyfoot around with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamailS.Jul 2, 2004
Amazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definitionAmazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the time superheroes are portrayed as strong and can never be broken by psychological troubles. here we see a superhero who is confused, still the hero in him reigned. "I will never die a monster" Dr. Octavius said and not his villain side for it was a realization that no matter how good or bad a person or someone is, always the greater "good" reigns. thumbs-up to the actors and everybody involve in these movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RSJul 2, 2004
This movie is awsome. Packed with action, drama, super-hero action, this movie is a MUST-SEE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jul 1, 2004
"Spider Man II" isn't brain-dead like the other summer blockbusters, that's for sure. Sam Raimi must've got some flak from the studio, by including "R_____ ____ ______ __ __ ___d"(I won't ruin the surprise) in the "Spider Man II" isn't brain-dead like the other summer blockbusters, that's for sure. Sam Raimi must've got some flak from the studio, by including "R_____ ____ ______ __ __ ___d"(I won't ruin the surprise) in the soundtrack, rather than some lame alternative rock track. Because it's from a classic movie, and "Spider Man II" is a child of "Jaws" and "Star Wars", the scene works as an apology to the death of the personal film, because Raimi, I think, takes a real chance by going for a relaxed tone in the scene that accompanies the Bacharach classic. Also, this song evokes independent film, because one of the leads from the film, in which the song is from, founded a major film festival that screens independent films. My point being, the scene that follows Spider Man's retirement looks more at home in a small movie than a big one. That's the real pleasure of "Spider Man II", it's not all bombast. There's even an allusion to "Rebel Without a Cause", as there was another James Dean reference, "East of Eden", in the original "Spider Man". One of the built-in jokes of the "Spider Man" films is that James Franco is playing James Dean. "Spider Man II", as well as "Hellboy", erases "the horror, the horror" of "Daredevil", and "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigS.Jul 1, 2004
This is the best super hero movie ever made! It's got it all...action, heart, laughs, thrills, intelligence & a hero everyone can identify with!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJul 1, 2004
Cool movie, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrystalJul 1, 2004
Ohhhh My GOD this is the best movie I have seen all summer I didnt think that it was going to be this good all the actors characters had their 15 secs. of fame and was worth the buget!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 1, 2004
This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City looks gritty and authentic this time around. Best of all, this movie succeeds where every previous superhero movie fails: It makes the out-of-costume hero believable and watchable. More than half of the movie is Peter Parker, and the audience doesn't mind since he's a three-dimensional sad-sack sort of guy you want to root for. There are good surprises and many moments you shouldn't read in a review. But let me say that this is what a big budget summer film should be -- exciting, heroic, involving, and funny. This is truly my childhood hero translated to the screen with style, energy, and depth. In fact, it triumphs so much in all of these aspects that you never notice there isn't much of a plot at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottJul 1, 2004
An excellent film! The best comic book film ever made! I don't even know where to begin! Funny though how the metascore was a 85 and then the single salon article brought it down to an 82.... a little skeptical, but the movie is An excellent film! The best comic book film ever made! I don't even know where to begin! Funny though how the metascore was a 85 and then the single salon article brought it down to an 82.... a little skeptical, but the movie is incredible nonetheless. It's a remarkable achievement!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StarfoxJul 1, 2004
Fantastic. Easily the best comic book / super hero movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful