Spider-Man 2

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 917 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 917

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a sequel come along that it better than the already-great first movie, with more action and a better story. But screw movie logic, Spider-Man 2 does it anyway.
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Aside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fan you'll love this movie.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Taking nearly every element of the first film and elevating it, "Spider-Man 2" is everything a sequel should be and more.
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    "Spider man 2" is decent. There is a lot to see but less to think or develop. Better to watch with your friends for pure joy, laughing at the corny dialogue and 'ooh-aah'ing at the impressive action sequences.
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This Spider-Man, new and improved, hits all the right notes, has a perfect, bracing pace, and brings great new ideas to the screen. Surely when it was made, it was the best superhero movie ever. The Dark Knight now holds that position.
  6. Jan 22, 2016
    8
    While Spider-Man being the best of the franchise, this second runner-up still has its visual details from the first movie and bought us the chillness back.
  7. May 11, 2012
    10
    The best way to describe this Spider-Man: More action and more fleshed-out characters. Doc Ock was a great choice for the villain and Tobey Maguire is great here.
  8. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    a great follow-up to Spiderman
  9. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 is way much better than the first because there is more action and more suspense.Octopus is my favourite villain in spider-man and what is wrong with him is that he dies at the end. Expand
  10. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    A deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic and conveys some emotion, which few action movies do. The acting, specifically the complexity of Alfred Molina, is natural and doesn't come off asA deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic and conveys some emotion, which few action movies do. The acting, specifically the complexity of Alfred Molina, is natural and doesn't come off as blatantly campy. The effects are cool, the direction is spot on. Hardly anything to complain about. Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2015
    8
    Spider - Man 2 was a film in which shoulder a good script and a good performance from our favorite players , the rise , fall and revival of our arachnid superhero.
  12. May 3, 2014
    8
    While Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around andWhile Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around and the presentation is well done as well. The villain could have been better integrated into the film but as it is its down ok and everything else is really good. Additionally, the villain is much better. Overall, this is a really good film. Fans of the first one should definitely check it out as they are going to be in for a good time as the film is another great installment in the franchise. Nonfans of the first one should check out two, especially if you thought the first one lacked any substance. This is one of the best superhero films to come out of Marvel (even ten years later) and is definitely worth your time. Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Sequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they never really come up as strong, but this is not the case whatsoever with Spider-Man 2, a film which gets everything right, it has a real story, an emotionalSequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they never really come up as strong, but this is not the case whatsoever with Spider-Man 2, a film which gets everything right, it has a real story, an emotional journey of self-esteem and the tests that face relationships and friendship when people are clouded by uncontrollable rage.
    Tobey Maguire puts in much more personal performance in his second outing as the now conflicted web slinger, unable to juggle his crime fighting alter-ego and his attempt at an ordinary life of college and living alone. We see a world around him that doesn’t appreciate the pizza delivery man and the one behind the mask, branded an outlaw as Spider-Man and a slacking student as Peter Parker, his hard life reflects is superpowers too, which begin to fade in and out as his troubles worsen. The film is a dark and personal story which is such a triumph as the film goes along, we have another villain in the form of Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), a genius scientist who is attempting to create free energy, but a disastrous accident sends the man insane, now pursuing the person he sees responsible, Spider-Man.The film cleverly explores each avenue of problematic issues with having a dual lifestyle.
    Peter sees everyone he loves drifting away from him, we see a touching performance from Rosemary Harris playing Aunt May, a stubborn woman who fends for herself, and we see a different side to the woman when Peter reveals the truth about the tragic death of Uncle Ben in the first film, the continuity continues to flow throughout the film, calling back previous plots helps stay involved. We also have one of the most visually spectacular films to date, with various scenes including stopping a train, catapulting from one building to the next and a very explosive finale that hits the right buttons each and every turn, with excellent scenes that leave you in awe, that is sure to leave everyone satisfied.
    One of the best sequels ever made, and certainly one of the best superhero films to date, it is hard-hitting, personal, beautiful and very character-driven that it works as both an action epic and a dramatic story, the superhero film that has always been desired.
    Expand
  14. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Far superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from the comics and cartoon series, but that really was just a minor quip. The movie really does a great job at showing Parker's struggle to be both Peter ParkerFar superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from the comics and cartoon series, but that really was just a minor quip. The movie really does a great job at showing Parker's struggle to be both Peter Parker and Spider-man, granted it's really tamed down from the comics but considering there is a limited amount of screen time they do a decent job of it. Overall: Probably the best Spider-Man movie in the franchise so far. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    What can be said about "Spider-Man 2" that hasn't been said yet? Well, opss! It has already been said: It's the best Spider-Man movie to date. Everything from the deeply emotional relationship between Peter and Aunt May to the mind-blowing action is a delight watching. Full review soon.

    :D
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Spider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a greatSpider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a great popcorn film with some thrilling set pieces (especially the segments involving the train). It isn't timeless (I don't know a superhero movie that is) but its great, really great. Peter Parkers journey seems realistic in its progression (given the whole radioactive spider of it all) with the relationships between the characters being the main draw of the film despite the brilliant action. The dynamic between Peter and Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) or Peter and his aunt are engaging with the latter bringing some serious emotions out that had been stored up since the first film. Its a great next step in a story I think will only get better.........oh wait its Eddie Brock. Expand
  17. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The best Spider-Man film released and one of the greatest superhero movies of all time. The emotion oozes and the tension rises in this sequel. Alfred Molina is perfect as Doc Ock.
  18. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    It may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrast by the writer(s). The new villain, Doc Oc, is way better than The Green Goblin could ever hope to achieve. He's a struggling soul just as Spider-Man,It may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrast by the writer(s). The new villain, Doc Oc, is way better than The Green Goblin could ever hope to achieve. He's a struggling soul just as Spider-Man, only his has been focused on better achieving what he failed to do, as is Spider-Man's - saving the world after the death of his uncle.

    The scripth here is great. The acting once again, very well done, Simmon's character is wonderful. The music is basically the same from the first, a misstep by the composer Danny Elfman. Overall, this is a great sequel and could very well exist had the first not been made.
    Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Whoa, I didn't expect "Spider-Man 2" to not only be better than the first film, but by quite a lot. This film is emotionally satisfying, has excellent action scenes, and great acting. If you are a fan of the first movie, you must check out this exciting sequel.
  20. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I thinkA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film Expand
  21. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Spider-man 2 doesn't excite.
    Just a continuation of the average Peter Parker with the same powers, the same problems, and the same girl that he can't seem to get. Spider-man 2 plays out an unrealistic villain with cheesy dialogue and no real spectacular elements.
  22. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
    Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
    Sort of on par with the
    Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
    Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
    Sort of on par with the first but for different reasons.
    Expand
  23. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    Pretty much the same as I felt about the previous film. I didnt like the acting much but the action was good and it was entertaining for the most part. It could get rather dull though and that did take away from it.
  24. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    With Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis for the hero and the fight scenes between the two make for some excellent action sequences. Highly recommended.
  25. Apr 22, 2015
    8
    The 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrific follow-up illustrates how a sequel can build and expand on its predecessor rather than simply cannibalizing it.

    Simultaneously funnier, darker, and more
    The 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrific follow-up illustrates how a sequel can build and expand on its predecessor rather than simply cannibalizing it.

    Simultaneously funnier, darker, and more emotional than its forebear, Spider-Man 2 opens with its web-slinging protagonist (Tobey Maguire, deftly balancing action and angst) at a low ebb. Tired of his indecisiveness, his would-be girlfriend Kirsten Dunst has moved on to a less conflicted suitor. Maguire's gig as a freelance photographer is constantly in danger, while professor Dylan Baker views him as brilliant but lazy, little realizing that Maguire's extracurricular activities involve more than the usual bong-huffing and channel-surfing.

    Cracking under the strain of his thankless job rescuing a regularly imperiled New York that still views him with suspicion, and dismayed by a sudden reduction in his web-slinging abilities, Maguire decides to retire his Spider-Man ensemble and pursue the simple pleasures that come with not having to save the world. His resolve is tested, however, when Alfred Molina dramatically transforms from an endearingly dorky scientist to super-villain Dr. Octopus, a malevolent, David Cronenberg-esque fusion of man and machine with sinister mechanical arms that have an evil will all their own.

    Raimi and his screenwriters—including two-time Academy Award winner Alvin Sargent and novelist Michael Chabon—use their characters' superhuman powers to amplify the issues and concerns of a human story. Spider-Man 2 wrestles with conflicts between power and responsibility, but the filmmakers smartly counter heavy drama with goofy comedy, mining a rich vein of humor in the juxtaposition of the mundane and the superheroic. Maguire and Molina excel at opposite ends of the moral spectrum, but the film is stolen once again by J.K. Simmons as Maguire's belligerent, relentlessly self-serving motormouth of a boss, whose office is a loving oasis of retro screwball comedy, anachronistic hairstyles and all.

    Molina's tormented man-machine is a stunning technical and creative achievement, a terrifying monster who moves with the sinister shudder of an impending earthquake and fights a mostly losing battle with his own mind and body. His weirdly expressive mechanical arms alone have more personality than most human movie characters, but Molina's performance ensures that the man doesn't get lost in the machinery. In that sense, he's a bit like Spider-Man 2 itself: a blockbuster with tremendous emotional resonance, a special-effects extravaganza with soul.
    Expand
  26. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Melhorou muito em relação ao seu ótimo primeiro filme.
  27. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    A splendid sequel to the already excellent first movie (by the way, I don't see how this movie was significantly better than the first. All three Spider-Man movies are equally awesome).
  28. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Many consider this as the best super hero film of all time. But I feel that it is inferior to the first Spider-Man. It has a slow mid point; joke sequences went a little bit too long. But it has one of the best super hero fight of all time.
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    A far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yet again. I don't know anyone who would want to be with such an annoying person. Anyway, I enjoyed it.
  30. Aug 6, 2015
    10
    La mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta yLa mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta y oscura sin dudarlo, pero sobre todo, ofrece un mensaje único y conmovedor. Ah, olvide mencionar que esta película tiene una de las mejores secuencias de acción que eh visto en mucho tiempo, la escena de Spider-Man VS Doctor Octopus en el tren es épica, brillante y emocionante.

    Repito: Es la mejor película de Super Héroes que eh visto en mucho tiempo, si hacemos un TOP, detrás de Spider-Man 2 le sigue Iron Man y Ant Man
    Expand
  31. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    Spiderman 2 is my favourite comic book film mainly because the performances are top notch the story is intriguing the action is exhilarating the characters are very well fleshed out ugh I love this movie!!!.
  32. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. Nothing more to say.
  33. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Spider man cada vez escalando mas hacia un buen futuro................................................................................................
  34. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    In the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhuman crime fighter. The entertaining adventure escalates and Spider-Man's life becomes even more complicated when he confronts a new nemesis, the brilliantIn the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhuman crime fighter. The entertaining adventure escalates and Spider-Man's life becomes even more complicated when he confronts a new nemesis, the brilliant Otto Octavius, (Molina) who has been reincarnated as the maniacal and multi-tentacled "Doc Ock." Expand
  35. Apr 6, 2015
    8
    spider-man 2 I though is better then the first film. I think the villain was way better then the last villain we had in spider man 1. even merry Jane Watson plays a better part in this film.
  36. May 12, 2011
    10
    i loved this movie from start to finish. it captured spider man in his fullest. this was almost like the comic book. it was great. this movie was incredible. the train scene was unbelievable. this was way better than spider man 3. its the best spider man movie. near perfect
  37. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    WHAT I LIKED: A film that's overall an improvement over it's predecessor, 'Spider Man 2' has much more character and relationship development that makes the film appear more realistic, you can empathise more with Peter in this film too, and the special effects and action are well improved over the first. The villain is also feels more dangerous and less bizzare and comical as the GreenWHAT I LIKED: A film that's overall an improvement over it's predecessor, 'Spider Man 2' has much more character and relationship development that makes the film appear more realistic, you can empathise more with Peter in this film too, and the special effects and action are well improved over the first. The villain is also feels more dangerous and less bizzare and comical as the Green Goblin did in the first.
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's still very cheesy and cliched, and it's not excatly the most interesting of plots. It also lacks character arcs and sub-stories that could make it more layered.
    VERDICT: A successful sequel to say the least, this is much improved over the first thanks to it's new focus on emotional elemtns and character relationships.
    Expand
  38. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    This is the best of the Spider-Man movies. Along with riding a lot of the success of the first film, Spider-Man 2 upgrades the series with great effects, a more human villain, emotional renaissance and humor.
  39. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty of good humor, and brings a fan favorite villain to life in an exciting fashion. Not only is Spider-Man 2 the perfect superhero movie, but it's also theThis film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty of good humor, and brings a fan favorite villain to life in an exciting fashion. Not only is Spider-Man 2 the perfect superhero movie, but it's also the set standard on how a great movie should be made in the first place. This also happens to be my favorite superhero movie, and one of my favorite movies of all time, with an entertainment value for ages to come. Expand
  40. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Greatest comic book movie ever. While a considerable improvement over the first in all areas, the choice of Alfred Molina as villain Doc Ock was beyond brilliant. A total joy to watch over and over.
  41. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Spider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 is a movie you truly have to see to believe, it is the master of comic book movies along with The Dark Knight. Even if you are not a Spider-Man fan, SEESpider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 is a movie you truly have to see to believe, it is the master of comic book movies along with The Dark Knight. Even if you are not a Spider-Man fan, SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
  42. Jan 24, 2015
    7
    Although it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, the burden of being a superhero, how it's not exactly the dream job. There are thousands of children around the world who turn off their lights at night, shutAlthough it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, the burden of being a superhero, how it's not exactly the dream job. There are thousands of children around the world who turn off their lights at night, shut their eyes and pray for superpowers. Sam Rami's Spiderman 2 tries to point out that perhaps one should think twice. "With great power comes great responsibility". A superhero has to make sacrifices and give up the things he wants most, even his dreams. The film builds this idea wonderfully till the ending where they completely throw everything out of the window so as to make way for the sappy, hollywood manufactured ending. But despite the infuriating puppy dog happy ending forced into the film, it's still Marvel's best film to date. Expand
  43. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    This is a perfect comic book movie, plus a sequel. I had high expectations since I saw the first Spiderman movie. And I got to say, it really met up to my expectations. If you weren't a fan of the Spiderman comics, or the original shows and whatnot, this can change your mind.
  44. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    From Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing withFrom Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing with villains.Spider-Man 2 is well written and well directed but sometimes it's goofy but the goofiness of the movie make it more appealing unlike the sequel of the new reboot that looks like a video game.Spider-Man 2 is the best spider-man movie so far. Expand
  45. Oct 8, 2015
    9
    The second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flick from beginning to end and has a lot of heart. I much prefer the extended cut(Spider-Man 2.1) since it extends the already brilliant action scenes andThe second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flick from beginning to end and has a lot of heart. I much prefer the extended cut(Spider-Man 2.1) since it extends the already brilliant action scenes and gives some more moments to the supporting characters. It may be over ten-years-old, but it's still the best Spider-Man movie. It's probably in my Top 10 All Time Favorite Films, it just leaves you with such a satisfying feel at the end, which kind of makes Spider-Man 3 all the more disappointing... Expand
  46. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    Without a doubt, this movie improves upon the original with a better and more understandable villain in the form of Doc Ock. It's definitely another must-see film directed by Sam Raimi.
  47. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Head and shoulders above the first one. It's character-driven and much more interesting emotionally plus there's more realistic dialogue and a cooler villain
  48. May 16, 2015
    10
    After 11 years, it still hasn't lost its luster. Spider-Man 2 is quite possibly the greatest adaption of Spider-Man ever made in the cinemas. Spider-Man transcended the boundaries of most modern comic book movies of at the time, here we see a vary conflicted hero behind the mask with actual emotion and reason instead of cookie cutter crap we see in comic book movies. Taking place 2 yearsAfter 11 years, it still hasn't lost its luster. Spider-Man 2 is quite possibly the greatest adaption of Spider-Man ever made in the cinemas. Spider-Man transcended the boundaries of most modern comic book movies of at the time, here we see a vary conflicted hero behind the mask with actual emotion and reason instead of cookie cutter crap we see in comic book movies. Taking place 2 years after the first one, we see Spider-Man/Peter Parker going to school full time, while working 3 jobs to pay off his rent, and he is a hero always on call whenever the radio calls. Not to mention, we see the emotional toll that has been taken on him, his only surviving family member, his Aunt May. We also see Norman Osborns death take a toll on Harry Osborne while MJ is suffering from conflicting emotions and feelings herself. There is so much good about Spider-Man 2, it was hands down one of best movie of the series. Expand
  49. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my bucket of tears with the aid of the serene, harmonious strokes of strings that penetrate your very soul. This film is an uplifting, powerful and masterfully crafted one; it provides the comic-book fantasies that satisfy your inner child while coating it in a honeysuckle layer of themes that encourage good deeds to be done. It is a story of a man discovering himself, dealing with inner turbulence and confusion - a story that defines all of us and our struggles in ethically complicated situations. Raimi undoubtedly shows appreciation for rich character texture that elevate the impact of each character's respective catharsis through the course of the storyline, yet leaving one to remain disturbed to overall create a bitter-sweet after-taste and a slightly open ending. Put simply, 'Spider-Man 2' is an absolute delight that improves on the original and goes down as one of the best sequels of all-time, with The Empire Strikes Back, The Dark Knight, Superman II and The Godfather 2. 'With great power comes great responsibility' Expand
  50. May 4, 2014
    8
    Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2 one of the best comic book movies ever? no but it does hold a place for one of the best comic book movie fight scenes ever....the train sequence
  51. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    This is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are theThis is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are the best superhero sequels of all time. Collapse
  52. May 17, 2015
    10
    Great movie, great and interesting history, the relationship between Peter Parker and Mary Jane is good, good action scenes, the film shows the problems and responsibilities of Peter Parker, shows that it is not a super invincible hero.
  53. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3 didn't do to well. Could JK Simmons please reprise his role in the new Spiderman movies? He was born to play the part. This movie is one for the ages,This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3 didn't do to well. Could JK Simmons please reprise his role in the new Spiderman movies? He was born to play the part. This movie is one for the ages, A masterpiece! Expand
  54. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    The most humane and one of the best superhero movies to ever be made. The movie succeeds to be a well-made character story on the personal trials of a superhero, laced with remarkable action sequences.
  55. May 2, 2015
    8
    Such a fun movie! I love Spider-Man 2! so much of it! especially that memorable train fight between Spidey and Doc Ock arguably one of the greatest action sequences of all time
  56. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others. It was a enthralling story about true heroism to the point of oneâ
  57. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Spider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary JaneSpider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary Jane is a forceful character in this movie though and by that, I mean, we are forced to like her as a character. She wasn't nearly as charming as Emma Stone was in The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) but this still is and will be, at least for a while i believe, the first movie which pops into my head when I think of "Spider-Man." Expand
  58. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    Superheroes Anonymous

    Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection with plastic envelopes and to this day they remain in pristine condition. What's truly tragic about being a Batman is that, despite Nolan's recent
    Superheroes Anonymous

    Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection with plastic envelopes and to this day they remain in pristine condition.

    What's truly tragic about being a Batman is that, despite Nolan's recent attempts (and questionable sincerity), the best Batman movie hasn't been made yet. As far as we know, with Batman's fate resting with Warner Bros, David Goyer, Zak Snider and Ben Affleck, the best Batman movie will not be possible for another decade or two, maybe three. I await thee Dark Knight.

    Again to my cousin's good fortune, the best movie about Spider-man has been established for quite some time. In fact, as a benchmark, it is arguably the best comic-book super-hero movie ever made. I didn't much love Sam Raimi's first Spider-man, and wished my mother could have disposed of his last entry, but Spider-man 2 was, and is, the ultimate movie adaptation from comic-books to the movie screen.

    I was living in Shanghai in the summer of 2004 where I had to commute 3 hours on a hot and dizzy day to see it in English, and was fully rewarded for the effort. I was thrust into a imaginary super-hero world far more pleasing than anything I could remember since childhood. The 3 hour commute back home seemed like a breeze because Spider-man 2 awoke the wonder-struck boy inside me. It reminded me of a happy youth I forgot I had. It felt like Spidey was on the subway with me and would protect me from any harm. And he was just a boy himself! Batman? Who's that?

    For a super-hero story, nearly everything is perfect in this movie. Doc Ock couldn't have been better. He looked exactly the way he did, at the height of Stan Lee's eminence, in the brightly coloured panels fighting Spiderman in 1968. And sounded just like I imagined he would. Peter and Mary Jane were in their element and their friendship and romantic undertaking actually mattered. The story and action played out the way a comic book should. It was both intimate and fantastic. Trippy, wonderful and scary. It was like growing up all over again. The climax was a bit too flashy, loud and over-the-top at that time, but by today's standards, when compared to climactic train-wrecks in Man of Steel, Iron Man 3 and the Avengers, it's perfectly splendid.

    We are now being helplessly bombarded with comic book movies attacking us from every direction, all of them trying to out-do each other, jumping one shark after another. Every marginal superhero from Dr Strange to Shazam is being dusted off and hurled onto the big screen for our insatiable happy-childhood-appeasing appetite. The Marvel of Disney is launching at us one theme-park roller-coaster ride after another. Sony, with their Amazing Spider-man abominations, has completely lost it. Fox's X-Men and Fantastic Four proliferations hit the wall long ago. And DC, under the reigns of Warner Bros, has transfigured into its own worst enemy. A wretched mutation not even the Joker finds amusing.

    Turns out Sam Raimi's Spiderman 2 is the gold standard by which all comic-book movies, certainly those of the super-hero variety, are and, evidently, will be set. Lucky cousin.
    Expand
  59. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Emotionally and cinematically brilliant that surpasses the original in everyway and even the rebooted Garfield-Spidey. One of my favourite superhero films of all time alongside Dark Knight Rises, Iron Man 3 and The Avengers.
  60. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    This is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realisticThis is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realistic situations that just always pushed the limits of his possibilities.This film made him one of my favorite super heroes, I wish they used this same type of creativity in the new films. Expand
  61. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    One of the best superhero movies ever and the best Spider-Man movies ever,with one of the best villains ever: Otto Octavius alias Doctor Octopus.An epic movie.
  62. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's one character more important or better than Spider-Man himself, that's Peter Parker. You get to know Peter's feelings and personal troubles so well that by theThis may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's one character more important or better than Spider-Man himself, that's Peter Parker. You get to know Peter's feelings and personal troubles so well that by the end of the film you end up caring not only for him, but also for his family, friends and acquaintances. And that is the definition of a perfect movie. Expand
  63. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    This is a great movie. The story is great and the action sequences are awesome. Alfred Molina was great as Doc Ock and James Franco nailed it again as Harry Osborn. As a big Spidey fan, I have to say that this movie is better than the first one.
  64. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    el hombre araña 2 es un 100% maravilla aun mejor que su procesedor y una de las majores peliculas de marvel comics basadas en spiderman junto a su precuela
  65. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Let me start by saying that this is NOT the best spider-man movie. While good, I don't think that tobey maguire was good as spider-man(same for kirsten dunst, who played MJ). James Franco was good, awesome subway acton sequence, and whoever played J. Jonah Jameson was excellent. This movie was good, but nothing more than good.
  66. May 23, 2014
    9
    This film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the best Spider-Man villain, Doctor Octopus, who is wonderfully portrayed in this picture. Maguire is the perfect Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst does a top job as MaryThis film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the best Spider-Man villain, Doctor Octopus, who is wonderfully portrayed in this picture. Maguire is the perfect Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst does a top job as Mary Jane. My only real criticism of this film is that a lot of the dialogue is rather weak, and a large amount of the extras are rather unrealistically sterile. But all of this makes for an outstanding superhero film, and one that I would be happy to come back to time and time again. Expand
  67. Nov 8, 2015
    7
    Sam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leads him to having inner conflict on whether or not he should remain as Spider-Man or if he should just stay as Peter Parker. We as he audience alreadySam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leads him to having inner conflict on whether or not he should remain as Spider-Man or if he should just stay as Peter Parker. We as he audience already know that he is going to stay as Spider-Man it's still cool to watch Peter's evolution. Now the biggest complaint that most people have about his movie is that it is to cheesy and they're right it is cheesy, but all that does is had to charm of the film. Then there's the villain, Doctor Octopus, who is a scientist who went mad after accidentally killing his beloved. Now he is equipped with 4 electronic arms and has plan that could destroy all of New York. This villain is perfect considering that he was a man that wanted to do great things but failed and now has gone mad. Another good part to this movie is the Aunt May who serves a bigger purpose in this movie than last even getting in a few blows on the villain. The only thing missing is that typical Spider-Man charm, with charming banter and wit-full comebacks. In conclusion if you liked the first movie than you'll love this one. Expand
  68. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    my question is how did spider-man 2 score better than the first instalment. Spider-man 2 is 50 times worse than the first spider-man movie the story is worse,the acting is 100 times worse and toby maquire is acts more and more like a baboon and is acting still sucks.How people liked this movie is mind boggling.one word to describe the movie "Terrible".Once again this is one of the worstmy question is how did spider-man 2 score better than the first instalment. Spider-man 2 is 50 times worse than the first spider-man movie the story is worse,the acting is 100 times worse and toby maquire is acts more and more like a baboon and is acting still sucks.How people liked this movie is mind boggling.one word to describe the movie "Terrible".Once again this is one of the worst movie sequels in the history of sequels. Expand
  69. May 3, 2014
    10
    This movie was perfect, Alfred Molina was fantastic as Doc Occ, the relationship between Harry and Peter was good, everything in this movie was awesome. The fact that people prefer the newer movies simply because Andrew Garfield is more handsome is so freaking stupid?!! Tobey Maguire nail it with his acting in this movie!
  70. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    I love the first two entries of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man movie adaptions! They make me feel all giddy inside! I always loved Tobey Maguire as Spidey! Spider-man 2 is a improvement from the first with even more memorable action sequences and CGI! Spider-Man 1&2 are by far some of the best superhero films of all time.
  71. Jan 26, 2015
    8
    [Portuguese] Decaiu em comparação com o primeiro filme mas continuou bem legal de se ver, vi várias vezes, mas esse Homem-Aranha já estava começando a me incomodar devido ao seu jeito chorão.
  72. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The perfect sequel and the best Spider-Man movie that has ever been made. The movie is just excellent and Alfred Molina is the greatest Spider-Man villain of all as he plays Doctor Octopus.
  73. BeK
    Apr 19, 2012
    10
    After a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve the non-sequel version. Spider-Man 2 is definitely not in that category. Even though I was really impressed about Spider-Man back in 2002, when it brokeAfter a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve the non-sequel version. Spider-Man 2 is definitely not in that category. Even though I was really impressed about Spider-Man back in 2002, when it broke all records, Spider-Man 2 raise up to its level and in some areas even surpassed it. I'm not going to give you any spoilers on the movie, not really my style. But I will say this, the story line, the characters raise up to their full potential. It's not just action followed by more action, its something more, it impresses in every area of movies. Breathtaking moments, action packed fights, great development in the story, everything to make you see at least once...So, hope you enjoyed :) my personal opinion on 2004's Spider-Man 2. (10/10) Expand
  74. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Spider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's a beautiful love story. Wonderously acted, funny, witty, smart, it hits all the right notes. There are scenes in this movie that just make you smileSpider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's a beautiful love story. Wonderously acted, funny, witty, smart, it hits all the right notes. There are scenes in this movie that just make you smile with pure joy like, "I can't believe they did that!" but oh they do, from Spider-man losing grip on his powers, to losing friends and gaining enemies, to accepting the fact that he shouldn't be the web slinger any longer (*hint" the "rain drops keep fallin' on my head" sequence was perfection). Everything about Spider-man 2 shows a flawed character trying to live his own life. Toby Maguire's Peter Parker is a character we can all relate to. Whether he's struggling with old demons from the past, working with love all the while dealing with criminals on a daily basis, trying to make his own life by going to school and working, and dealing with, quite possibly, the most legendary and sinister Spider-man villain of all time. Anytime you think you've got it hard take a step into this man's life and you'll witness hard. The movie is sad, joyful, funny, loving, and full of life! It feels like a movie actually touched by human hands. It seems Sam Raimi's main focus was character development, an excellent story, excellent perfomances, and character. All which are nailed all too perfectly. But this does not take away from the action, which is beautifully shot, fantastically created, and perfectly executed. The action in this flick will keep you on the edge of your seat and keep you chearing, it's a modern epic, and what a sure super hero film should be all about. Expand
  75. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Spider-Man 2 is one of the best superhero movies I've ever seen, and in my opinion, better than the first movie due to great special effects, a great story, and Alfred Molina's performance as Doc Ock.
  76. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    Spider-Man 2 has a good villain but Raimi thinks he can fit such emotional drama with a little love story that the movie would've been fine without. Doc Oct was a great villain who was played perfectly and who could have stole the show, if not for Kirsten Dunst and her stupid part.
  77. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 es un gran film de acción y aventura, de los que dan gusto poder ver. He quedado maravillado y espero que así halla sido también para todos los espectadores. Una película que no solo marca una época dorada en el superhéroe, sino que también logra ser el mejor film del género de todos los tiempos, superando incluso a The Dark Knight. Expand
  78. Jun 3, 2014
    3
    After the very good spider-man (2002), this sequel makes no sense, Peter is a loser who never does anything scientific as in the comic and has no charisma. The only good thing is Alfred Molina.
  79. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    The follow up to Sam Raimi's 2002 "spider-Man" lived up to the hype and didn't disappoint. This is the best Spidey film to date and one of the top 5 superhero movies of all time. The new villain this time is Doc Ock played by Alfred Molina and boy did he turn in a masterful performance. I couldn't see anyone else play this role better. Great film. A must watch.
  80. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    This is the best Spider-Man movie I've ever seen. It takes what the made original Spider-Man movie great and improves on it. Love the music as well as the fighting this is my favorite Super hero film out of them all.
  81. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This was a great movie and my second favorite Marvel movie next to Iron Man! This was the only Marvel movie I've ever seen where I've actually liked the ending! I can't say anymore than that without spoiling something so Nuff' said!
  82. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Soy un gran fan de Spider-Man, y esta película me parece una obra de arte. Buena historia, buena acción y buenos efectos especiales. Sin duda, Spider-Man 2 es la mejor película de Spider-Man de todas y una de las mejores películas de superhéroes de todos los tiempos.
  83. May 27, 2014
    10
    Easily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfect acting, and action scenes that will rock your socks make this the greatest super-hero ever made, and the greatest superhero movie that will ever beEasily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfect acting, and action scenes that will rock your socks make this the greatest super-hero ever made, and the greatest superhero movie that will ever be made. Except for maybe X-Men: Days of Future Past, which blows this movie right out of the water. Seriously, go see X-Men: Days of Future Past. It is literally a perfect movie. Expand
  84. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a Spider-Man fan (or just love super hero movies) and haven't watched the movie, (or if you haven't seen it in a long while) than I strongly recommend10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a Spider-Man fan (or just love super hero movies) and haven't watched the movie, (or if you haven't seen it in a long while) than I strongly recommend getting the film. Expand
  85. JamailS.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Amazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the timeAmazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the time superheroes are portrayed as strong and can never be broken by psychological troubles. here we see a superhero who is confused, still the hero in him reigned. "I will never die a monster" Dr. Octavius said and not his villain side for it was a realization that no matter how good or bad a person or someone is, always the greater "good" reigns. thumbs-up to the actors and everybody involve in these movie. Expand
  86. KenM.
    Jul 20, 2004
    9
    Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the special effects, there's actually some character development! Isn't it great when Hollywood does that?
  87. VinceH.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually don't in action movies). The acting is excellent (esp. from Tobey Maguire, who just gets better and better) and Sam Raimi's direction is terse, well-paced, and inventive while staying true to the mythic & comic qualities without going overboard into psychic mumbojumbo & pretentiouness (are you reading this Ang Lee?). Since we actually care about these characters and become so personally involved with them throughout, that when the action scenes come around they almost seem a distraction to the much more captivating story of Mary Jane & Peter's relationship, which actually feels real and not fake like most comic book moves. Expand
  88. LiamS.
    Jul 9, 2004
    6
    This movie has good elements and awful elements. The good: Alfred Molina. He is a wonderful villain in every respect as Doc Ock. Leaps and bounds (if you pardon the expression) better than Willem Dafoe from the first film. Molina saves the picture - he is a complex character, tortured and noble at the same time. A wonderful performance. The bad: the horrible, forced interplay between Mary This movie has good elements and awful elements. The good: Alfred Molina. He is a wonderful villain in every respect as Doc Ock. Leaps and bounds (if you pardon the expression) better than Willem Dafoe from the first film. Molina saves the picture - he is a complex character, tortured and noble at the same time. A wonderful performance. The bad: the horrible, forced interplay between Mary Jane and Peter. The lines are terrible and the actors (Dunst and Maguire) need brain transplants. The lines were ridiculous and unbelievable. In this respect, I agree with some of the other reviewers on this subject. I realize that the romantic subplot is necessary to ensnare the teen girls who see this film, but seriously now. At least the storyline needs to be realistic. (And don't even get me started on the ugly performance given by James Franco. James: go to acting school. Please!) Expand
  89. PeterP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    6
    Anyone who's read the comics for years: remember the infamous (and tedious) issues that began with the cover showing Peter in the background walking away from a garbage can in the foreground, containing the last thing you'd ever think he'd throw out? THAT'S the subplot that has fans complaining about the flick and professional critics raving. Just as that months-long Anyone who's read the comics for years: remember the infamous (and tedious) issues that began with the cover showing Peter in the background walking away from a garbage can in the foreground, containing the last thing you'd ever think he'd throw out? THAT'S the subplot that has fans complaining about the flick and professional critics raving. Just as that months-long drama was tedious in the books, so is the second act of the film. BUT everyone involved in the movie did exceptionally well, and once the action finally kicks in again, it's worth the price of admission... it's just tough to get through the middle and early final third of the film without glancing at your watch at least once. I'd say New York Magazine and ReelViews' critiques hit the nail right on the head. Expand
  90. GerronK
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    A wonderful sequel to the first Spider-man film! This film is emotionally affecting, visually stunning and is an artistic achievement in the super hero genre. Maguire and Dunst both give enthralling performances. One of the top films of 2004.
  91. ZacharyW.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    The movie was very good. There was too much talk, and not enough action scenes. I give it an A-.
  92. MattP.
    Jun 30, 2004
    2
    Tedious and repetitive, CGI that makes the building-to-building leaps look like a bad videogame, lousy acting, lazy and uninspired direction of non-action scenes. Saved by an Evil Dead homage.
  93. RobertA.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    ^_^ fantastic! ^_^ inspirational ^_^ I thank them for making it! ^_^
  94. Heirloom
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    There is a good balance between the action, special effects scene and the small, intimate, emotional moments that delve deeper into the characters. highly entertaining.
  95. ChickenM.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    Crazy awesome.
  96. Amiee
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    Great movie. If you are looking for just another action no character development movie this is not for you. This is actually a film not just a movie.
  97. RachelK.
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    Better than the original.
  98. JeffR
    Jul 2, 2004
    6
    Wow, everyone seems to have loved this one - i personally thought it was pretty mediocre, as i wasnt really all that excited through much of it and they could have cut a half hour off it, namely out of the mushy lovey dovey staring-at-each-other-with -puppy-dog-eyes scenes. i dont hate romance, but it felt forced at times and i go to spider man movies to have fun and see webslinging, notWow, everyone seems to have loved this one - i personally thought it was pretty mediocre, as i wasnt really all that excited through much of it and they could have cut a half hour off it, namely out of the mushy lovey dovey staring-at-each-other-with -puppy-dog-eyes scenes. i dont hate romance, but it felt forced at times and i go to spider man movies to have fun and see webslinging, not to stare into kirsten dunst's eyes for an hour at a time (i'm not even going to go into how bad she was for the part, and how unattractive she really is in this movie, since it's really an issue with the first flick that has carried over). the action was good when it came, and doc ock was a pretty good villain even if the whole two-personalities-in-one-head thing was already done in the last movie. the last 45 minutes really earned this one 3 of the points i gave it, but it was disappointing that it took soooo long to find it's groove. Expand
  99. AkhilK.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    An incredible movie! You have to see it. It is one of those movies that will blow your mind no matter how high your expectations are.
  100. Quiet
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies planned out). If they are close to as good as this... wow.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Raimi doesn't make the mistake of over-thinking the flimsy psychology of the genre. All this conflicted-hero stuff isn't meant to be profound; instead, it's there for the same reason as everything else -- to give the action (the interior action in this case) a healthy shot of pop energy.
  2. Spider-Man 2 succeeds in pretty much the same way "Superman II" did -- only more so.
  3. This movie, directed with precision and an appreciation for (relatively) rich character texture by Sam Raimi, remembers all the fine elements of the original film (and the comic book story). It reprises them perfectly, including wonderfully choreographed, skyscraper-hanging fights.