Spider-Man 2

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1086 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 22, 2016
    8
    While Spider-Man being the best of the franchise, this second runner-up still has its visual details from the first movie and bought us the chillness back.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a sequel come along that it better than the already-great first movie, with more action and a better story. But screw movie logic, Spider-Man 2 does it anyway.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Aside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fan you'll love this movie.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Taking nearly every element of the first film and elevating it, "Spider-Man 2" is everything a sequel should be and more.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    "Spider man 2" is decent. There is a lot to see but less to think or develop. Better to watch with your friends for pure joy, laughing at the corny dialogue and 'ooh-aah'ing at the impressive action sequences.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This Spider-Man, new and improved, hits all the right notes, has a perfect, bracing pace, and brings great new ideas to the screen. Surely when it was made, it was the best superhero movie ever. The Dark Knight now holds that position.
  7. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 is way much better than the first because there is more action and more suspense.Octopus is my favourite villain in spider-man and what is wrong with him is that he dies at the end. Expand
  8. May 11, 2012
    10
    The best way to describe this Spider-Man: More action and more fleshed-out characters. Doc Ock was a great choice for the villain and Tobey Maguire is great here.
  9. Dec 5, 2015
    8
    Spider - Man 2 was a film in which shoulder a good script and a good performance from our favorite players , the rise , fall and revival of our arachnid superhero.
  10. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The best Spider-Man film released and one of the greatest superhero movies of all time. The emotion oozes and the tension rises in this sequel. Alfred Molina is perfect as Doc Ock.
  11. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    A deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic and conveys some emotion, which few action movies do. The acting, specifically the complexity of Alfred Molina, is natural and doesn't come off asA deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic and conveys some emotion, which few action movies do. The acting, specifically the complexity of Alfred Molina, is natural and doesn't come off as blatantly campy. The effects are cool, the direction is spot on. Hardly anything to complain about. Expand
  12. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    a great follow-up to Spiderman
  13. May 3, 2014
    8
    While Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around andWhile Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around and the presentation is well done as well. The villain could have been better integrated into the film but as it is its down ok and everything else is really good. Additionally, the villain is much better. Overall, this is a really good film. Fans of the first one should definitely check it out as they are going to be in for a good time as the film is another great installment in the franchise. Nonfans of the first one should check out two, especially if you thought the first one lacked any substance. This is one of the best superhero films to come out of Marvel (even ten years later) and is definitely worth your time. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Sequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they never really come up as strong, but this is not the case whatsoever with Spider-Man 2, a film which gets everything right, it has a real story, an emotionalSequels are always common ground for big franchise and surprise hits in the film world, but they don’t always succeed, actors may not want to return, drastic changes are often made which hampers the success of the original and they never really come up as strong, but this is not the case whatsoever with Spider-Man 2, a film which gets everything right, it has a real story, an emotional journey of self-esteem and the tests that face relationships and friendship when people are clouded by uncontrollable rage.
    Tobey Maguire puts in much more personal performance in his second outing as the now conflicted web slinger, unable to juggle his crime fighting alter-ego and his attempt at an ordinary life of college and living alone. We see a world around him that doesn’t appreciate the pizza delivery man and the one behind the mask, branded an outlaw as Spider-Man and a slacking student as Peter Parker, his hard life reflects is superpowers too, which begin to fade in and out as his troubles worsen. The film is a dark and personal story which is such a triumph as the film goes along, we have another villain in the form of Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), a genius scientist who is attempting to create free energy, but a disastrous accident sends the man insane, now pursuing the person he sees responsible, Spider-Man.The film cleverly explores each avenue of problematic issues with having a dual lifestyle.
    Peter sees everyone he loves drifting away from him, we see a touching performance from Rosemary Harris playing Aunt May, a stubborn woman who fends for herself, and we see a different side to the woman when Peter reveals the truth about the tragic death of Uncle Ben in the first film, the continuity continues to flow throughout the film, calling back previous plots helps stay involved. We also have one of the most visually spectacular films to date, with various scenes including stopping a train, catapulting from one building to the next and a very explosive finale that hits the right buttons each and every turn, with excellent scenes that leave you in awe, that is sure to leave everyone satisfied.
    One of the best sequels ever made, and certainly one of the best superhero films to date, it is hard-hitting, personal, beautiful and very character-driven that it works as both an action epic and a dramatic story, the superhero film that has always been desired.
    Expand
  15. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Far superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from the comics and cartoon series, but that really was just a minor quip. The movie really does a great job at showing Parker's struggle to be both Peter ParkerFar superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from the comics and cartoon series, but that really was just a minor quip. The movie really does a great job at showing Parker's struggle to be both Peter Parker and Spider-man, granted it's really tamed down from the comics but considering there is a limited amount of screen time they do a decent job of it. Overall: Probably the best Spider-Man movie in the franchise so far. Expand
  16. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    It may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrast by the writer(s). The new villain, Doc Oc, is way better than The Green Goblin could ever hope to achieve. He's a struggling soul just as Spider-Man,It may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrast by the writer(s). The new villain, Doc Oc, is way better than The Green Goblin could ever hope to achieve. He's a struggling soul just as Spider-Man, only his has been focused on better achieving what he failed to do, as is Spider-Man's - saving the world after the death of his uncle.

    The scripth here is great. The acting once again, very well done, Simmon's character is wonderful. The music is basically the same from the first, a misstep by the composer Danny Elfman. Overall, this is a great sequel and could very well exist had the first not been made.
    Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    What can be said about "Spider-Man 2" that hasn't been said yet? Well, opss! It has already been said: It's the best Spider-Man movie to date. Everything from the deeply emotional relationship between Peter and Aunt May to the mind-blowing action is a delight watching. Full review soon.

    :D
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Spider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a greatSpider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a great popcorn film with some thrilling set pieces (especially the segments involving the train). It isn't timeless (I don't know a superhero movie that is) but its great, really great. Peter Parkers journey seems realistic in its progression (given the whole radioactive spider of it all) with the relationships between the characters being the main draw of the film despite the brilliant action. The dynamic between Peter and Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) or Peter and his aunt are engaging with the latter bringing some serious emotions out that had been stored up since the first film. Its a great next step in a story I think will only get better.........oh wait its Eddie Brock. Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Whoa, I didn't expect "Spider-Man 2" to not only be better than the first film, but by quite a lot. This film is emotionally satisfying, has excellent action scenes, and great acting. If you are a fan of the first movie, you must check out this exciting sequel.
  20. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I thinkA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film Expand
  21. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Spider-man 2 doesn't excite.
    Just a continuation of the average Peter Parker with the same powers, the same problems, and the same girl that he can't seem to get. Spider-man 2 plays out an unrealistic villain with cheesy dialogue and no real spectacular elements.
  22. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I thinkA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film. Expand
  23. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    With Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis for the hero and the fight scenes between the two make for some excellent action sequences. Highly recommended.
  24. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
    Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
    Sort of on par with the
    Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
    Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
    Sort of on par with the first but for different reasons.
    Expand
  25. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    Pretty much the same as I felt about the previous film. I didnt like the acting much but the action was good and it was entertaining for the most part. It could get rather dull though and that did take away from it.
  26. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    Spiderman 2 is fast, action-packed and as full of heart as the first, continuing perfectly with its predecessor, with his great plot, awesome story-telling and unforgettable characters to make this film a fantastic sequel.
  27. Apr 22, 2015
    8
    The 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrific follow-up illustrates how a sequel can build and expand on its predecessor rather than simply cannibalizing it.

    Simultaneously funnier, darker, and more
    The 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrific follow-up illustrates how a sequel can build and expand on its predecessor rather than simply cannibalizing it.

    Simultaneously funnier, darker, and more emotional than its forebear, Spider-Man 2 opens with its web-slinging protagonist (Tobey Maguire, deftly balancing action and angst) at a low ebb. Tired of his indecisiveness, his would-be girlfriend Kirsten Dunst has moved on to a less conflicted suitor. Maguire's gig as a freelance photographer is constantly in danger, while professor Dylan Baker views him as brilliant but lazy, little realizing that Maguire's extracurricular activities involve more than the usual bong-huffing and channel-surfing.

    Cracking under the strain of his thankless job rescuing a regularly imperiled New York that still views him with suspicion, and dismayed by a sudden reduction in his web-slinging abilities, Maguire decides to retire his Spider-Man ensemble and pursue the simple pleasures that come with not having to save the world. His resolve is tested, however, when Alfred Molina dramatically transforms from an endearingly dorky scientist to super-villain Dr. Octopus, a malevolent, David Cronenberg-esque fusion of man and machine with sinister mechanical arms that have an evil will all their own.

    Raimi and his screenwriters—including two-time Academy Award winner Alvin Sargent and novelist Michael Chabon—use their characters' superhuman powers to amplify the issues and concerns of a human story. Spider-Man 2 wrestles with conflicts between power and responsibility, but the filmmakers smartly counter heavy drama with goofy comedy, mining a rich vein of humor in the juxtaposition of the mundane and the superheroic. Maguire and Molina excel at opposite ends of the moral spectrum, but the film is stolen once again by J.K. Simmons as Maguire's belligerent, relentlessly self-serving motormouth of a boss, whose office is a loving oasis of retro screwball comedy, anachronistic hairstyles and all.

    Molina's tormented man-machine is a stunning technical and creative achievement, a terrifying monster who moves with the sinister shudder of an impending earthquake and fights a mostly losing battle with his own mind and body. His weirdly expressive mechanical arms alone have more personality than most human movie characters, but Molina's performance ensures that the man doesn't get lost in the machinery. In that sense, he's a bit like Spider-Man 2 itself: a blockbuster with tremendous emotional resonance, a special-effects extravaganza with soul.
    Expand
  28. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Melhorou muito em relação ao seu ótimo primeiro filme.
  29. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Many consider this as the best super hero film of all time. But I feel that it is inferior to the first Spider-Man. It has a slow mid point; joke sequences went a little bit too long. But it has one of the best super hero fight of all time.
  30. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    A splendid sequel to the already excellent first movie (by the way, I don't see how this movie was significantly better than the first. All three Spider-Man movies are equally awesome).
  31. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    A far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yet again. I don't know anyone who would want to be with such an annoying person. Anyway, I enjoyed it.
  32. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    A sequel that turns out to be better than the first, spider man 2 is more emotional, conflicted, and tells us how that spider man struggles with his powers.
  33. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    Spiderman 2 is my favourite comic book film mainly because the performances are top notch the story is intriguing the action is exhilarating the characters are very well fleshed out ugh I love this movie!!!.
  34. Aug 6, 2015
    10
    La mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta yLa mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta y oscura sin dudarlo, pero sobre todo, ofrece un mensaje único y conmovedor. Ah, olvide mencionar que esta película tiene una de las mejores secuencias de acción que eh visto en mucho tiempo, la escena de Spider-Man VS Doctor Octopus en el tren es épica, brillante y emocionante.

    Repito: Es la mejor película de Super Héroes que eh visto en mucho tiempo, si hacemos un TOP, detrás de Spider-Man 2 le sigue Iron Man y Ant Man
    Expand
  35. May 5, 2016
    9
    Doc Oc is the best Spidey villain in the comics and the best in the movies.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-4d3-Spider-Man-2-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  36. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. Nothing more to say.
  37. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    WHAT I LIKED: A film that's overall an improvement over it's predecessor, 'Spider Man 2' has much more character and relationship development that makes the film appear more realistic, you can empathise more with Peter in this film too, and the special effects and action are well improved over the first. The villain is also feels more dangerous and less bizzare and comical as the GreenWHAT I LIKED: A film that's overall an improvement over it's predecessor, 'Spider Man 2' has much more character and relationship development that makes the film appear more realistic, you can empathise more with Peter in this film too, and the special effects and action are well improved over the first. The villain is also feels more dangerous and less bizzare and comical as the Green Goblin did in the first.
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's still very cheesy and cliched, and it's not excatly the most interesting of plots. It also lacks character arcs and sub-stories that could make it more layered.
    VERDICT: A successful sequel to say the least, this is much improved over the first thanks to it's new focus on emotional elemtns and character relationships.
    Expand
  38. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Spider man cada vez escalando mas hacia un buen futuro................................................................................................
  39. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    In the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhuman crime fighter. The entertaining adventure escalates and Spider-Man's life becomes even more complicated when he confronts a new nemesis, the brilliantIn the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhuman crime fighter. The entertaining adventure escalates and Spider-Man's life becomes even more complicated when he confronts a new nemesis, the brilliant Otto Octavius, (Molina) who has been reincarnated as the maniacal and multi-tentacled "Doc Ock." Expand
  40. Apr 6, 2015
    8
    spider-man 2 I though is better then the first film. I think the villain was way better then the last villain we had in spider man 1. even merry Jane Watson plays a better part in this film.
  41. May 12, 2011
    10
    i loved this movie from start to finish. it captured spider man in his fullest. this was almost like the comic book. it was great. this movie was incredible. the train scene was unbelievable. this was way better than spider man 3. its the best spider man movie. near perfect
  42. Jul 20, 2016
    10
    One of the best super hero movies ever made. The first movie was great, but somehow this movie is better in every way possible. A better villain, better action, better choreography, and more emotional story make this the ultimate viewing of your friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man.
  43. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    This is the best of the Spider-Man movies. Along with riding a lot of the success of the first film, Spider-Man 2 upgrades the series with great effects, a more human villain, emotional renaissance and humor.
  44. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    From Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing withFrom Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing with villains.Spider-Man 2 is well written and well directed but sometimes it's goofy but the goofiness of the movie make it more appealing unlike the sequel of the new reboot that looks like a video game.Spider-Man 2 is the best spider-man movie so far. Expand
  45. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty of good humor, and brings a fan favorite villain to life in an exciting fashion. Not only is Spider-Man 2 the perfect superhero movie, but it's also theThis film goes far beyond just a superhero movie, in fact, it can be called a movie treasure. Spider-Man 2 improves tremendously over its predecessor with a storyline that immerses the audience on a deep emotional level, supplies plenty of good humor, and brings a fan favorite villain to life in an exciting fashion. Not only is Spider-Man 2 the perfect superhero movie, but it's also the set standard on how a great movie should be made in the first place. This also happens to be my favorite superhero movie, and one of my favorite movies of all time, with an entertainment value for ages to come. Expand
  46. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Spider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 is a movie you truly have to see to believe, it is the master of comic book movies along with The Dark Knight. Even if you are not a Spider-Man fan, SEESpider-Man 2 may be called a comic book movie, but is so much more than that. The film improves the action thanks to a larger budget, has awesome acting and characters, and an excellent script which has a heart and entertains. Spider-Man 2 is a movie you truly have to see to believe, it is the master of comic book movies along with The Dark Knight. Even if you are not a Spider-Man fan, SEE THIS MOVIE! Expand
  47. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    While this the first one had a light tone and an emphasis on fun, this movie was able to surpass the first one in quality and enjoyment while having a much darker and serious tone. The cast still does a fantastic job and Dr. Octopus is the best Marvel villain to date. His character is incredibly well developed, emotionally resonant and interesting. The story is very coherent, thrilling andWhile this the first one had a light tone and an emphasis on fun, this movie was able to surpass the first one in quality and enjoyment while having a much darker and serious tone. The cast still does a fantastic job and Dr. Octopus is the best Marvel villain to date. His character is incredibly well developed, emotionally resonant and interesting. The story is very coherent, thrilling and heartfelt. This movie is a superhero film masterpiece. Every single aspect of this movie, every beat, every character, every action scene, every CG effect and every story arc is perfectly on point and how it should be. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this film, a gloriously smart blockbuster by Sam Raimi. The best Marvel movie ever. Expand
  48. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Greatest comic book movie ever. While a considerable improvement over the first in all areas, the choice of Alfred Molina as villain Doc Ock was beyond brilliant. A total joy to watch over and over.
  49. May 16, 2015
    10
    After 11 years, it still hasn't lost its luster. Spider-Man 2 is quite possibly the greatest adaption of Spider-Man ever made in the cinemas. Spider-Man transcended the boundaries of most modern comic book movies of at the time, here we see a vary conflicted hero behind the mask with actual emotion and reason instead of cookie cutter crap we see in comic book movies. Taking place 2 yearsAfter 11 years, it still hasn't lost its luster. Spider-Man 2 is quite possibly the greatest adaption of Spider-Man ever made in the cinemas. Spider-Man transcended the boundaries of most modern comic book movies of at the time, here we see a vary conflicted hero behind the mask with actual emotion and reason instead of cookie cutter crap we see in comic book movies. Taking place 2 years after the first one, we see Spider-Man/Peter Parker going to school full time, while working 3 jobs to pay off his rent, and he is a hero always on call whenever the radio calls. Not to mention, we see the emotional toll that has been taken on him, his only surviving family member, his Aunt May. We also see Norman Osborns death take a toll on Harry Osborne while MJ is suffering from conflicting emotions and feelings herself. There is so much good about Spider-Man 2, it was hands down one of best movie of the series. Expand
  50. Jan 24, 2015
    7
    Although it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, the burden of being a superhero, how it's not exactly the dream job. There are thousands of children around the world who turn off their lights at night, shutAlthough it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, the burden of being a superhero, how it's not exactly the dream job. There are thousands of children around the world who turn off their lights at night, shut their eyes and pray for superpowers. Sam Rami's Spiderman 2 tries to point out that perhaps one should think twice. "With great power comes great responsibility". A superhero has to make sacrifices and give up the things he wants most, even his dreams. The film builds this idea wonderfully till the ending where they completely throw everything out of the window so as to make way for the sappy, hollywood manufactured ending. But despite the infuriating puppy dog happy ending forced into the film, it's still Marvel's best film to date. Expand
  51. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    This is a perfect comic book movie, plus a sequel. I had high expectations since I saw the first Spiderman movie. And I got to say, it really met up to my expectations. If you weren't a fan of the Spiderman comics, or the original shows and whatnot, this can change your mind.
  52. Oct 8, 2015
    9
    The second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flick from beginning to end and has a lot of heart. I much prefer the extended cut(Spider-Man 2.1) since it extends the already brilliant action scenes andThe second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flick from beginning to end and has a lot of heart. I much prefer the extended cut(Spider-Man 2.1) since it extends the already brilliant action scenes and gives some more moments to the supporting characters. It may be over ten-years-old, but it's still the best Spider-Man movie. It's probably in my Top 10 All Time Favorite Films, it just leaves you with such a satisfying feel at the end, which kind of makes Spider-Man 3 all the more disappointing... Expand
  53. Mar 20, 2016
    9
    After SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed to be tiring of the typecasting linked to the part, wasn’t going to return to play Spider-Man, and Jake Gyllenhaal was actually waiting in the wings inAfter SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed to be tiring of the typecasting linked to the part, wasn’t going to return to play Spider-Man, and Jake Gyllenhaal was actually waiting in the wings in case he called it quits. Of course, a huge paycheck lured Tobey back to the part, and the result was a film that was universally acclaimed by audiences, fans, and critics alike.
    Eight years later, how does SPIDER-MAN 2 hold up? Extremely well, and it stands as one of the top-tier superhero movies to ever hit the big-screen, comparing favorably with the later IRON-MAN, and even THE AVENGERS, although I’d put it a notch below BATMAN BEGINS/ THE DARK KNIGHT, and the great, unsung- X-MEN: FIRST CLASS (not to mention X2).

    The reason the film works as well as it does is mostly due to director Sam Raimi’s continued focus on Peter Parker’s inner turmoil. Working from a great script by Alvin Sargent (among others), SPIDER-MAN 2 opens with Parker, now a few years into being SPIDER-MAN, having brushed off his best friend Harry (due to his lingering guilt over his part in his father Norman/Green Goblin’s death, and the fact that Harry flies into a near-homicidal rage every time he hears the name Spider-Man), and avoided Mary-Jane. Now, Peter’s living in a disgusting one-room flat, eking out a meager living as a pizza delivery boy, while continuing his studies. Once he learns Mary-Jane is now engaged to J. Jonah Jameson’s pretty boy son, he goes off the rails- eventually quitting his superhero duties altogether, to pursue Mary-Jane.

    Of course, this is called SPIDER-MAN 2, and not PETER PARKER 2, so before long he dons his tights once again to fight the iconic Doc Ock, an unfortunate scientist who, after an accident, has metal arms molded to his back- and quickly goes nuts. Raimi balances the spectacle (with the climactic train sequence being a standout) and the darker, more emotional parts of the film beautifully, although- if one looks, the seeds of SPIDER-MAN 3’s idiocy are planted here, with a too jokey montage set to “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head” demonstrating Parker’s new-found freedom (complete with a freeze-frame we all thought was funny in 2004, but now suggests exactly the route we’d be going down a few years hence).

    Maguire, despite almost quitting the part, gives a solid performance, although I feel that his dedication to the part was already wearing thin by this, with his physique noticeably less impressive than it was in the first film, and the trend towards self-parody already taking hold. Still, he’s good enough that nobody who saw this in its initial release had any complaints.

    Following Willem Dafoe is no easy task, but Alfred Molina is up to it with his nuanced, tragic performance as Doc Ock. Even more sympathetic than Norman Osborn, Ock starts off as a nice-enough guy, but inadvertently causing his wife’s demise (not to mention getting giant robotic arms welded to his back) - he goes a little “funny in the head”. It all comes together in a nicely tragic conclusion.

    No Chad Kroger this time, and the pop rock takes a back-seat to Danny Elfman’s score- which plays very much like a retread of the first film. That said, numerous reports suggest that Elfman and Raimi had a major falling out over the project, and Elfman, who used to be Raimi’s go-to guy has never worked with him again. Rumor has it large chunks of his score were dropped and replaced. A sad end to a great collaboration- as Elfman’s score to DARKMAN (not to mention his theme for ARMY OF DARKNESS) is brilliant.

    SPIDER-MAN 2 didn’t quite measure up to the first film financially, but it did almost as well, grossing $373 million domestically, and another $375 million internationally, for another mammoth worldwide total of $783 million. It also fared much better than the first film critically, and for a time was considered the finest superhero film ever made.
    Expand
  54. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    Without a doubt, this movie improves upon the original with a better and more understandable villain in the form of Doc Ock. It's definitely another must-see film directed by Sam Raimi.
  55. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

    In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting
    The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

    In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting their sights higher the second time around and mostly hitting the mark, director Sam Raimi, producers Laura Ziskin and Avi Arad & Co., rather than equating bigger with better, have conscientiously applied themselves to improving all aspects of the franchise. Conspicuously, the action sequences are more exciting, the visual effects — particularly Spider-Man’s swings through the canyons of Manhattan — are far more natural and compelling and even Danny Elfman’s score is improved.

    Most importantly, however, the script provides a depth and dramatic balance quite rare in this sort of fare. Alvin Sargent, a distinguished vet screenwriter best known for such estimable character-driven fare as “Paper Moon,” “Julia,” “Ordinary People” and “Unfaithful,” did uncredited rewrites on the first “Spider-Man.” Here, working from a story devised by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Michael Chabon, he makes at least five characters into tortured souls with momentous decisions to make and places them all in a narrative frame within which the related elements are adroitly proportioned. Result is an object lesson in how, even for this sort of fare, the script can very much be the thing.

    Unlike the last round of “Batman” films, which got sillier with each installment, “Spider-Man” is on the upswing, an impression fostered even by the opening credits, which resemble the comicbook style of those in the original but incorporate arresting renderings of key scenes to recapitulate the first picture’s story.

    At the outset, Spider-Man is on a sort of hiatus, taking a back seat to the bumbling efforts of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) to juggle his studies at Columbia with part-time gigs taking pictures for the tabloid Daily Bugle and delivering pizzas on a strict schedule, which even Spidey’s best web-swinging can’t manage successfully.

    Opening section quickly pulls the viewer close to Peter by sympathetically and amusingly detailing the difficulties of his struggle to make ends meet in a tough city. He’s constantly reminded of his inexpressible feelings for Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), whose face on a perfume campaign is plastered all over the city and who’s enjoying success onstage in a revival of “The Importance of Being Earnest.”

    Driven by a deep need to succeed where his father Norman failed, and still tormented over his death, Harry Osborn (James Franco) has invested heavily in the research of scientific genius Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), who believes he’s on the verge of creating a source of perpetual energy through sustained fusion. As the altruistic Octavius tells the admiring Peter, who intends to write his thesis on him, this breakthrough will put “the power of the sun in the palm of my hand.”

    But just as Norman Osborn’s experiment turned him into a demented villain, so does Octavius’; in front of numerous onlookers, his electrical gizmos bust a gut and his four enormous metal “activators” turn into murderous tentacles of staggering speed and strength, and capable of transporting the creature soon to be dubbed Dr. Octopus, or Doc Ock, up and down walls with ease.

    At the story’s precise midway point, Peter tosses his Spider-Man costume in the trash.

    A light-hearted interlude, cheekily accompanied by “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head,” illustrates the more balanced and happier young man Peter is able to become without the specter of Spider-Man constantly hovering over him; he hopes his fresh approach to life will win Mary Jane over before it’s too late, and in the bargain confesses to Aunt May his guilt for his part in the death of Uncle Ben (Cliff Robertson, seen in one quasi-dream sequence).

    The new emotional levels and increased opportunities provided by the script give the actors a chance to stretch, and they all respond, none more than Maguire. Running the gamut from heroic knight to heartbroken suitor, thesp is a constant delight, his lightness of touch providing many grace notes to what was already a lively characterization.

    Dunst gets more screentime than before and fleshes out the damsel-in-distress aspects of her part with a nice portrait of a young woman trying to figure out where her future lies. With Aunt May finally, after two years of mourning, trying to move on, Harris has much more to do and does it with her customary excellence, and Franco pushes Harry into an unanticipated dark realm.

    Molina’s initial geniality morphs into a determined but unmaniacal evil, although the lack of a specific focus for his destructiveness makes Doc Ock's real purpose a bit fuzzy.

    A great follow-up to Spider-Man!
    Expand
  56. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Head and shoulders above the first one. It's character-driven and much more interesting emotionally plus there's more realistic dialogue and a cooler villain
  57. May 31, 2016
    8
    Still the greatest Spider-Man movie to date. Filled with great action, heart, emotion and a complex story that really does make you feel for Peter. The movie does suffer from poor dialogue between MJ and Peter. This movie has one of the greatest action sequences in a comic book movie, the Train sequence. 8.5/10
  58. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my bucket of tears with the aid of the serene, harmonious strokes of strings that penetrate your very soul. This film is an uplifting, powerful and masterfully crafted one; it provides the comic-book fantasies that satisfy your inner child while coating it in a honeysuckle layer of themes that encourage good deeds to be done. It is a story of a man discovering himself, dealing with inner turbulence and confusion - a story that defines all of us and our struggles in ethically complicated situations. Raimi undoubtedly shows appreciation for rich character texture that elevate the impact of each character's respective catharsis through the course of the storyline, yet leaving one to remain disturbed to overall create a bitter-sweet after-taste and a slightly open ending. Put simply, 'Spider-Man 2' is an absolute delight that improves on the original and goes down as one of the best sequels of all-time, with The Empire Strikes Back, The Dark Knight, Superman II and The Godfather 2. 'With great power comes great responsibility' Expand
  59. May 4, 2014
    8
    Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2 one of the best comic book movies ever? no but it does hold a place for one of the best comic book movie fight scenes ever....the train sequence
  60. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    This is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are theThis is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are the best superhero sequels of all time. Expand
  61. May 17, 2015
    10
    Great movie, great and interesting history, the relationship between Peter Parker and Mary Jane is good, good action scenes, the film shows the problems and responsibilities of Peter Parker, shows that it is not a super invincible hero.
  62. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3 didn't do to well. Could JK Simmons please reprise his role in the new Spiderman movies? He was born to play the part. This movie is one for the ages,This movie is Amazing, Best Superhero movie of the last ten years, even better than the Dark Knight, Superb acting, mezmerizing effects and moments that'll last a life time, Sam Raimi has created a Cinematic masterpiece. Too Bad Spiderman 3 didn't do to well. Could JK Simmons please reprise his role in the new Spiderman movies? He was born to play the part. This movie is one for the ages, A masterpiece! Expand
  63. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    The most humane and one of the best superhero movies to ever be made. The movie succeeds to be a well-made character story on the personal trials of a superhero, laced with remarkable action sequences.
  64. May 2, 2015
    8
    Such a fun movie! I love Spider-Man 2! so much of it! especially that memorable train fight between Spidey and Doc Ock arguably one of the greatest action sequences of all time
  65. Mar 23, 2016
    9
    The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

    In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting
    The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

    In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting their sights higher the second time around and mostly hitting the mark, director Sam Raimi, producers Laura Ziskin and Avi Arad & Co., rather than equating bigger with better, have conscientiously applied themselves to improving all aspects of the franchise. Conspicuously, the action sequences are more exciting, the visual effects — particularly Spider-Man’s swings through the canyons of Manhattan — are far more natural and compelling and even Danny Elfman’s score is improved.

    Most importantly, however, the script provides a depth and dramatic balance quite rare in this sort of fare. Alvin Sargent, a distinguished vet screenwriter best known for such estimable character-driven fare as “Paper Moon,” “Julia,” “Ordinary People” and “Unfaithful,” did uncredited rewrites on the first “Spider-Man.” Here, working from a story devised by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Michael Chabon, he makes at least five characters into tortured souls with momentous decisions to make and places them all in a narrative frame within which the related elements are adroitly proportioned. Result is an object lesson in how, even for this sort of fare, the script can very much be the thing.

    Unlike the last round of “Batman” films, which got sillier with each installment, “Spider-Man” is on the upswing, an impression fostered even by the opening credits, which resemble the comicbook style of those in the original but incorporate arresting renderings of key scenes to recapitulate the first picture’s story.

    At the outset, Spider-Man is on a sort of hiatus, taking a back seat to the bumbling efforts of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) to juggle his studies at Columbia with part-time gigs taking pictures for the tabloid Daily Bugle and delivering pizzas on a strict schedule, which even Spidey’s best web-swinging can’t manage successfully.

    Opening section quickly pulls the viewer close to Peter by sympathetically and amusingly detailing the difficulties of his struggle to make ends meet in a tough city. He’s constantly reminded of his inexpressible feelings for Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), whose face on a perfume campaign is plastered all over the city and who’s enjoying success onstage in a revival of “The Importance of Being Earnest.”

    Driven by a deep need to succeed where his father Norman failed, and still tormented over his death, Harry Osborn (James Franco) has invested heavily in the research of scientific genius Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), who believes he’s on the verge of creating a source of perpetual energy through sustained fusion. As the altruistic Octavius tells the admiring Peter, who intends to write his thesis on him, this breakthrough will put “the power of the sun in the palm of my hand.”

    But just as Norman Osborn’s experiment turned him into a demented villain, so does Octavius’; in front of numerous onlookers, his electrical gizmos bust a gut and his four enormous metal “activators” turn into murderous tentacles of staggering speed and strength, and capable of transporting the creature soon to be dubbed Dr. Octopus, or Doc Ock, up and down walls with ease.

    At the story’s precise midway point, Peter tosses his Spider-Man costume in the trash.

    A light-hearted interlude, cheekily accompanied by “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head,” illustrates the more balanced and happier young man Peter is able to become without the specter of Spider-Man constantly hovering over him; he hopes his fresh approach to life will win Mary Jane over before it’s too late, and in the bargain confesses to Aunt May his guilt for his part in the death of Uncle Ben (Cliff Robertson, seen in one quasi-dream sequence).

    The new emotional levels and increased opportunities provided by the script give the actors a chance to stretch, and they all respond, none more than Maguire. Running the gamut from heroic knight to heartbroken suitor, thesp is a constant delight, his lightness of touch providing many grace notes to what was already a lively characterization.

    Dunst gets more screentime than before and fleshes out the damsel-in-distress aspects of her part with a nice portrait of a young woman trying to figure out where her future lies. With Aunt May finally, after two years of mourning, trying to move on, Harris has much more to do and does it with her customary excellence, and Franco pushes Harry into an unanticipated dark realm.

    Molina’s initial geniality morphs into a determined but unmaniacal evil, although the lack of a specific focus for his destructiveness makes Doc Ock's real purpose a bit fuzzy.

    A great follow-up to Spider-Man!
    Expand
  66. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others. It was a enthralling story about true heroism to the point of oneâ
  67. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    Spider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary JaneSpider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary Jane is a forceful character in this movie though and by that, I mean, we are forced to like her as a character. She wasn't nearly as charming as Emma Stone was in The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) but this still is and will be, at least for a while i believe, the first movie which pops into my head when I think of "Spider-Man." Expand
  68. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    One of the best superhero movies ever and the best Spider-Man movies ever,with one of the best villains ever: Otto Octavius alias Doctor Octopus.An epic movie.
  69. May 29, 2016
    9
    One of my favourite superhero movies of all time since Captain America triology
    This changed everything and made it a great drama with great characters and a good story
    This is the best Spiderman movie ever made, without doubts
  70. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    Superheroes Anonymous

    Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection with plastic envelopes and to this day they remain in pristine condition. What's truly tragic about being a Batman is that, despite Nolan's recent
    Superheroes Anonymous

    Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection with plastic envelopes and to this day they remain in pristine condition.

    What's truly tragic about being a Batman is that, despite Nolan's recent attempts (and questionable sincerity), the best Batman movie hasn't been made yet. As far as we know, with Batman's fate resting with Warner Bros, David Goyer, Zak Snider and Ben Affleck, the best Batman movie will not be possible for another decade or two, maybe three. I await thee Dark Knight.

    Again to my cousin's good fortune, the best movie about Spider-man has been established for quite some time. In fact, as a benchmark, it is arguably the best comic-book super-hero movie ever made. I didn't much love Sam Raimi's first Spider-man, and wished my mother could have disposed of his last entry, but Spider-man 2 was, and is, the ultimate movie adaptation from comic-books to the movie screen.

    I was living in Shanghai in the summer of 2004 where I had to commute 3 hours on a hot and dizzy day to see it in English, and was fully rewarded for the effort. I was thrust into a imaginary super-hero world far more pleasing than anything I could remember since childhood. The 3 hour commute back home seemed like a breeze because Spider-man 2 awoke the wonder-struck boy inside me. It reminded me of a happy youth I forgot I had. It felt like Spidey was on the subway with me and would protect me from any harm. And he was just a boy himself! Batman? Who's that?

    For a super-hero story, nearly everything is perfect in this movie. Doc Ock couldn't have been better. He looked exactly the way he did, at the height of Stan Lee's eminence, in the brightly coloured panels fighting Spiderman in 1968. And sounded just like I imagined he would. Peter and Mary Jane were in their element and their friendship and romantic undertaking actually mattered. The story and action played out the way a comic book should. It was both intimate and fantastic. Trippy, wonderful and scary. It was like growing up all over again. The climax was a bit too flashy, loud and over-the-top at that time, but by today's standards, when compared to climactic train-wrecks in Man of Steel, Iron Man 3 and the Avengers, it's perfectly splendid.

    We are now being helplessly bombarded with comic book movies attacking us from every direction, all of them trying to out-do each other, jumping one shark after another. Every marginal superhero from Dr Strange to Shazam is being dusted off and hurled onto the big screen for our insatiable happy-childhood-appeasing appetite. The Marvel of Disney is launching at us one theme-park roller-coaster ride after another. Sony, with their Amazing Spider-man abominations, has completely lost it. Fox's X-Men and Fantastic Four proliferations hit the wall long ago. And DC, under the reigns of Warner Bros, has transfigured into its own worst enemy. A wretched mutation not even the Joker finds amusing.

    Turns out Sam Raimi's Spiderman 2 is the gold standard by which all comic-book movies, certainly those of the super-hero variety, are and, evidently, will be set. Lucky cousin.
    Expand
  71. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's one character more important or better than Spider-Man himself, that's Peter Parker. You get to know Peter's feelings and personal troubles so well that by theThis may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's one character more important or better than Spider-Man himself, that's Peter Parker. You get to know Peter's feelings and personal troubles so well that by the end of the film you end up caring not only for him, but also for his family, friends and acquaintances. And that is the definition of a perfect movie. Expand
  72. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    This is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realisticThis is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realistic situations that just always pushed the limits of his possibilities.This film made him one of my favorite super heroes, I wish they used this same type of creativity in the new films. Expand
  73. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Emotionally and cinematically brilliant that surpasses the original in everyway and even the rebooted Garfield-Spidey. One of my favourite superhero films of all time alongside Dark Knight Rises, Iron Man 3 and The Avengers.
  74. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    This is a great movie. The story is great and the action sequences are awesome. Alfred Molina was great as Doc Ock and James Franco nailed it again as Harry Osborn. As a big Spidey fan, I have to say that this movie is better than the first one.
  75. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    el hombre araña 2 es un 100% maravilla aun mejor que su procesedor y una de las majores peliculas de marvel comics basadas en spiderman junto a su precuela
  76. Aug 5, 2016
    10
    One of the best Superhero movies ever made. A movie with depth and feeling that shows us the human side of being super-human. The things a hero might need to sacrifice to live their double life. Complete with one of the best and fully fleshed out villains that is so rare in most comic book movies. A must see for any comic book movie fan.
  77. Nov 8, 2015
    7
    Sam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leads him to having inner conflict on whether or not he should remain as Spider-Man or if he should just stay as Peter Parker. We as he audience alreadySam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leads him to having inner conflict on whether or not he should remain as Spider-Man or if he should just stay as Peter Parker. We as he audience already know that he is going to stay as Spider-Man it's still cool to watch Peter's evolution. Now the biggest complaint that most people have about his movie is that it is to cheesy and they're right it is cheesy, but all that does is had to charm of the film. Then there's the villain, Doctor Octopus, who is a scientist who went mad after accidentally killing his beloved. Now he is equipped with 4 electronic arms and has plan that could destroy all of New York. This villain is perfect considering that he was a man that wanted to do great things but failed and now has gone mad. Another good part to this movie is the Aunt May who serves a bigger purpose in this movie than last even getting in a few blows on the villain. The only thing missing is that typical Spider-Man charm, with charming banter and wit-full comebacks. In conclusion if you liked the first movie than you'll love this one. Expand
  78. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    The best adaptation of Spider-Man to ever appear on film and it's easily one of the greatest non MCU films to come out, Tobey Maguire is incredible in this role and you genuinely feel sorry for the guy as he gets bad luck after bad luck and the rest of the cast especially James Franco and J.K Simmons completely own there roles. The story is incredible and shows the struggle that Spider-ManThe best adaptation of Spider-Man to ever appear on film and it's easily one of the greatest non MCU films to come out, Tobey Maguire is incredible in this role and you genuinely feel sorry for the guy as he gets bad luck after bad luck and the rest of the cast especially James Franco and J.K Simmons completely own there roles. The story is incredible and shows the struggle that Spider-Man goes through every day trying to balance being a superhero and a student/photographer but he meets a scientist called Otto Octavius played by Alfred Molina (who is amazing in this film) and he is trying to emulate the power of the sun to give unlimited power to everyone in the city. But when the experiment goes wrong and kills his wife and his metal arms that he created to try and contain the miniature sun gets permanently attached to him, and the A.I takes over him and drives him insane and thus the story continues and I won't spoil the movie if you haven't seen it and if you haven't check it out. Expand
  79. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Let me start by saying that this is NOT the best spider-man movie. While good, I don't think that tobey maguire was good as spider-man(same for kirsten dunst, who played MJ). James Franco was good, awesome subway acton sequence, and whoever played J. Jonah Jameson was excellent. This movie was good, but nothing more than good.
  80. May 23, 2014
    9
    This film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the best Spider-Man villain, Doctor Octopus, who is wonderfully portrayed in this picture. Maguire is the perfect Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst does a top job as MaryThis film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the best Spider-Man villain, Doctor Octopus, who is wonderfully portrayed in this picture. Maguire is the perfect Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst does a top job as Mary Jane. My only real criticism of this film is that a lot of the dialogue is rather weak, and a large amount of the extras are rather unrealistically sterile. But all of this makes for an outstanding superhero film, and one that I would be happy to come back to time and time again. Expand
  81. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    my question is how did spider-man 2 score better than the first instalment. Spider-man 2 is 50 times worse than the first spider-man movie the story is worse,the acting is 100 times worse and toby maquire is acts more and more like a baboon and is acting still sucks.How people liked this movie is mind boggling.one word to describe the movie "Terrible".Once again this is one of the worstmy question is how did spider-man 2 score better than the first instalment. Spider-man 2 is 50 times worse than the first spider-man movie the story is worse,the acting is 100 times worse and toby maquire is acts more and more like a baboon and is acting still sucks.How people liked this movie is mind boggling.one word to describe the movie "Terrible".Once again this is one of the worst movie sequels in the history of sequels. Expand
  82. May 3, 2014
    10
    This movie was perfect, Alfred Molina was fantastic as Doc Occ, the relationship between Harry and Peter was good, everything in this movie was awesome. The fact that people prefer the newer movies simply because Andrew Garfield is more handsome is so freaking stupid?!! Tobey Maguire nail it with his acting in this movie!
  83. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    I love the first two entries of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man movie adaptions! They make me feel all giddy inside! I always loved Tobey Maguire as Spidey! Spider-man 2 is a improvement from the first with even more memorable action sequences and CGI! Spider-Man 1&2 are by far some of the best superhero films of all time.
  84. Jan 26, 2015
    8
    [Portuguese] Decaiu em comparação com o primeiro filme mas continuou bem legal de se ver, vi várias vezes, mas esse Homem-Aranha já estava começando a me incomodar devido ao seu jeito chorão.
  85. Jun 28, 2016
    10
    So not only was the game for this title amazing, so was the film. Absolutely loved it. The cast were brilliant and each played vital roles. They portrayed very real, rollercoaster emotions through a great script. Sadness, happiness or just comedy, the film had it all. Alfred Molina as a villain was particularly spectacular.

    All these wonderful characteristics combined with the
    So not only was the game for this title amazing, so was the film. Absolutely loved it. The cast were brilliant and each played vital roles. They portrayed very real, rollercoaster emotions through a great script. Sadness, happiness or just comedy, the film had it all. Alfred Molina as a villain was particularly spectacular.

    All these wonderful characteristics combined with the sensational action sequences and fantastic musical scoring, made the whole media perhaps one of the most memorable super hero films I've ever seen. Simply amazing.

    I'd go as far as to say this will be considered and looked back as a classic for the super hero comic book genre in film.
    Expand
  86. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The perfect sequel and the best Spider-Man movie that has ever been made. The movie is just excellent and Alfred Molina is the greatest Spider-Man villain of all as he plays Doctor Octopus.
  87. BeK
    Apr 19, 2012
    10
    After a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve the non-sequel version. Spider-Man 2 is definitely not in that category. Even though I was really impressed about Spider-Man back in 2002, when it brokeAfter a long break, from writing reviews for movies, I've decided to start out with Spider-Man 2. Spider-Man 2, the best in the series. I've just finished seeing it, for like the 3rd time. There are not a lot of movie sequel that improve the non-sequel version. Spider-Man 2 is definitely not in that category. Even though I was really impressed about Spider-Man back in 2002, when it broke all records, Spider-Man 2 raise up to its level and in some areas even surpassed it. I'm not going to give you any spoilers on the movie, not really my style. But I will say this, the story line, the characters raise up to their full potential. It's not just action followed by more action, its something more, it impresses in every area of movies. Breathtaking moments, action packed fights, great development in the story, everything to make you see at least once...So, hope you enjoyed :) my personal opinion on 2004's Spider-Man 2. (10/10) Expand
  88. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Spider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's a beautiful love story. Wonderously acted, funny, witty, smart, it hits all the right notes. There are scenes in this movie that just make you smileSpider-man 2 is the perfect comic book movie, quite possibly the best ever made up until this time. It's a movie with character, love, and life, and prior to what you might think it's not really a movie about killing bad guys at all...it's a beautiful love story. Wonderously acted, funny, witty, smart, it hits all the right notes. There are scenes in this movie that just make you smile with pure joy like, "I can't believe they did that!" but oh they do, from Spider-man losing grip on his powers, to losing friends and gaining enemies, to accepting the fact that he shouldn't be the web slinger any longer (*hint" the "rain drops keep fallin' on my head" sequence was perfection). Everything about Spider-man 2 shows a flawed character trying to live his own life. Toby Maguire's Peter Parker is a character we can all relate to. Whether he's struggling with old demons from the past, working with love all the while dealing with criminals on a daily basis, trying to make his own life by going to school and working, and dealing with, quite possibly, the most legendary and sinister Spider-man villain of all time. Anytime you think you've got it hard take a step into this man's life and you'll witness hard. The movie is sad, joyful, funny, loving, and full of life! It feels like a movie actually touched by human hands. It seems Sam Raimi's main focus was character development, an excellent story, excellent perfomances, and character. All which are nailed all too perfectly. But this does not take away from the action, which is beautifully shot, fantastically created, and perfectly executed. The action in this flick will keep you on the edge of your seat and keep you chearing, it's a modern epic, and what a sure super hero film should be all about. Expand
  89. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Spider-Man 2 is one of the best superhero movies I've ever seen, and in my opinion, better than the first movie due to great special effects, a great story, and Alfred Molina's performance as Doc Ock.
  90. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    Spider-Man 2 has a good villain but Raimi thinks he can fit such emotional drama with a little love story that the movie would've been fine without. Doc Oct was a great villain who was played perfectly and who could have stole the show, if not for Kirsten Dunst and her stupid part.
  91. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 es un gran film de acción y aventura, de los que dan gusto poder ver. He quedado maravillado y espero que así halla sido también para todos los espectadores. Una película que no solo marca una época dorada en el superhéroe, sino que también logra ser el mejor film del género de todos los tiempos, superando incluso a The Dark Knight. Expand
  92. Jun 3, 2014
    3
    After the very good spider-man (2002), this sequel makes no sense, Peter is a loser who never does anything scientific as in the comic and has no charisma. The only good thing is Alfred Molina.
  93. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    The follow up to Sam Raimi's 2002 "spider-Man" lived up to the hype and didn't disappoint. This is the best Spidey film to date and one of the top 5 superhero movies of all time. The new villain this time is Doc Ock played by Alfred Molina and boy did he turn in a masterful performance. I couldn't see anyone else play this role better. Great film. A must watch.
  94. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    This is the best Spider-Man movie I've ever seen. It takes what the made original Spider-Man movie great and improves on it. Love the music as well as the fighting this is my favorite Super hero film out of them all.
  95. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This was a great movie and my second favorite Marvel movie next to Iron Man! This was the only Marvel movie I've ever seen where I've actually liked the ending! I can't say anymore than that without spoiling something so Nuff' said!
  96. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    Spider-Man 2 gives you everything that an action sci-fiction movie should give.If you wanna see the best action scenes of 2004 (or maybe the best of all) with a very strong and touching story,so Spider-Man 2 is your film.
  97. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Soy un gran fan de Spider-Man, y esta película me parece una obra de arte. Buena historia, buena acción y buenos efectos especiales. Sin duda, Spider-Man 2 es la mejor película de Spider-Man de todas y una de las mejores películas de superhéroes de todos los tiempos.
  98. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    Really Good Movie, improves on the original, Dock Ock is a really good villain and is the best villain in the Spider-Man Trilogy. Sam Raimai has written a masterpiece that will be remembered for years to come
  99. May 27, 2014
    10
    Easily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfect acting, and action scenes that will rock your socks make this the greatest super-hero ever made, and the greatest superhero movie that will ever beEasily the greatest Spider-Man movie ever created in the history of ever. Seriously, go see this movie. Everything about this movie is absolutely perfect, I cannot imagine a greater superhero movie. A combination of an all-star cast, perfect acting, and action scenes that will rock your socks make this the greatest super-hero ever made, and the greatest superhero movie that will ever be made. Except for maybe X-Men: Days of Future Past, which blows this movie right out of the water. Seriously, go see X-Men: Days of Future Past. It is literally a perfect movie. Expand
  100. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a Spider-Man fan (or just love super hero movies) and haven't watched the movie, (or if you haven't seen it in a long while) than I strongly recommend10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a Spider-Man fan (or just love super hero movies) and haven't watched the movie, (or if you haven't seen it in a long while) than I strongly recommend getting the film. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Raimi doesn't make the mistake of over-thinking the flimsy psychology of the genre. All this conflicted-hero stuff isn't meant to be profound; instead, it's there for the same reason as everything else -- to give the action (the interior action in this case) a healthy shot of pop energy.
  2. Spider-Man 2 succeeds in pretty much the same way "Superman II" did -- only more so.
  3. This movie, directed with precision and an appreciation for (relatively) rich character texture by Sam Raimi, remembers all the fine elements of the original film (and the comic book story). It reprises them perfectly, including wonderfully choreographed, skyscraper-hanging fights.