Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2004
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1085 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
967
Mixed:
65
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
OfficialNov 11, 2013
Whoa, I didn't expect "Spider-Man 2" to not only be better than the first film, but by quite a lot. This film is emotionally satisfying, has excellent action scenes, and great acting. If you are a fan of the first movie, you must check outWhoa, I didn't expect "Spider-Man 2" to not only be better than the first film, but by quite a lot. This film is emotionally satisfying, has excellent action scenes, and great acting. If you are a fan of the first movie, you must check out this exciting sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Melhorou muito em relação ao seu ótimo primeiro filme.Melhorou muito em relação ao seu ótimo primeiro filme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
Far superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from theFar superior to the first film. The movie does a really good job at showing Parker's relationship with Octavius that is similar to the comics. Alfred Molina is just fantastic as Dr Octopus, a real shame he didn't have his accent from the comics and cartoon series, but that really was just a minor quip. The movie really does a great job at showing Parker's struggle to be both Peter Parker and Spider-man, granted it's really tamed down from the comics but considering there is a limited amount of screen time they do a decent job of it. Overall: Probably the best Spider-Man movie in the franchise so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jul 1, 2013
A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of theA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
christhebeast42Apr 21, 2013
Let me start by saying that this is NOT the best spider-man movie. While good, I don't think that tobey maguire was good as spider-man(same for kirsten dunst, who played MJ). James Franco was good, awesome subway acton sequence, and whoeverLet me start by saying that this is NOT the best spider-man movie. While good, I don't think that tobey maguire was good as spider-man(same for kirsten dunst, who played MJ). James Franco was good, awesome subway acton sequence, and whoever played J. Jonah Jameson was excellent. This movie was good, but nothing more than good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppJul 16, 2013
Spider man cada vez escalando mas hacia un buen futuro................................................................................................
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This is a perfect comic book movie, plus a sequel. I had high expectations since I saw the first Spiderman movie. And I got to say, it really met up to my expectations. If you weren't a fan of the Spiderman comics, or the original shows andThis is a perfect comic book movie, plus a sequel. I had high expectations since I saw the first Spiderman movie. And I got to say, it really met up to my expectations. If you weren't a fan of the Spiderman comics, or the original shows and whatnot, this can change your mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BronsonApr 28, 2014
The follow up to Sam Raimi's 2002 "spider-Man" lived up to the hype and didn't disappoint. This is the best Spidey film to date and one of the top 5 superhero movies of all time. The new villain this time is Doc Ock played by Alfred MolinaThe follow up to Sam Raimi's 2002 "spider-Man" lived up to the hype and didn't disappoint. This is the best Spidey film to date and one of the top 5 superhero movies of all time. The new villain this time is Doc Ock played by Alfred Molina and boy did he turn in a masterful performance. I couldn't see anyone else play this role better. Great film. A must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2Overhyped? absoultetly. but still alot of fun! with an incrdible score, as the whole trilogy has, Raimi kicks it up a notch for this sequel. while still being campy Spider-Man 2 brings in more drama that does get over the top. Spider-Man 2 one of the best comic book movies ever? no but it does hold a place for one of the best comic book movie fight scenes ever....the train sequence Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JohnKristoferDec 22, 2014
From Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be aFrom Great Power Comes With Great Responsibility! Is the moral of the movie.Peter Parker is struggling with his normal life and his powers,this movie is not just a superhero flick but also give us the sense of how hard is it to be a superhero,in normal life you'll be facing many problems like love life,friends,Jobs and many More if being a superhero well you will be dealing with villains.Spider-Man 2 is well written and well directed but sometimes it's goofy but the goofiness of the movie make it more appealing unlike the sequel of the new reboot that looks like a video game.Spider-Man 2 is the best spider-man movie so far. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
banda89Jul 16, 2017
While this movie its indeed the best of ALL of spider man's movies, it's not my favorite. Doc Oc is amazing with Alfred Molina's as the guy behind the tentacles. He brings emotion and anger to his character... something Tobey never could withWhile this movie its indeed the best of ALL of spider man's movies, it's not my favorite. Doc Oc is amazing with Alfred Molina's as the guy behind the tentacles. He brings emotion and anger to his character... something Tobey never could with his.
Honestly this movie is this good because of Alfred Molina.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BernolsvenJan 26, 2015
[Portuguese] Decaiu em comparação com o primeiro filme mas continuou bem legal de se ver, vi várias vezes, mas esse Homem-Aranha já estava começando a me incomodar devido ao seu jeito chorão.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeApr 6, 2015
spider-man 2 I though is better then the first film. I think the villain was way better then the last villain we had in spider man 1. even merry Jane Watson plays a better part in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 22, 2015
The 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrificThe 2002 box-office smash Spider-Man didn't just warrant a sequel; it demanded one. Sam Raimi's superhero epic was a textbook example of how to bring a beloved comic book to the big screen with its spirit intact, just as its terrific follow-up illustrates how a sequel can build and expand on its predecessor rather than simply cannibalizing it.

Simultaneously funnier, darker, and more emotional than its forebear, Spider-Man 2 opens with its web-slinging protagonist (Tobey Maguire, deftly balancing action and angst) at a low ebb. Tired of his indecisiveness, his would-be girlfriend Kirsten Dunst has moved on to a less conflicted suitor. Maguire's gig as a freelance photographer is constantly in danger, while professor Dylan Baker views him as brilliant but lazy, little realizing that Maguire's extracurricular activities involve more than the usual bong-huffing and channel-surfing.

Cracking under the strain of his thankless job rescuing a regularly imperiled New York that still views him with suspicion, and dismayed by a sudden reduction in his web-slinging abilities, Maguire decides to retire his Spider-Man ensemble and pursue the simple pleasures that come with not having to save the world. His resolve is tested, however, when Alfred Molina dramatically transforms from an endearingly dorky scientist to super-villain Dr. Octopus, a malevolent, David Cronenberg-esque fusion of man and machine with sinister mechanical arms that have an evil will all their own.

Raimi and his screenwriters—including two-time Academy Award winner Alvin Sargent and novelist Michael Chabon—use their characters' superhuman powers to amplify the issues and concerns of a human story. Spider-Man 2 wrestles with conflicts between power and responsibility, but the filmmakers smartly counter heavy drama with goofy comedy, mining a rich vein of humor in the juxtaposition of the mundane and the superheroic. Maguire and Molina excel at opposite ends of the moral spectrum, but the film is stolen once again by J.K. Simmons as Maguire's belligerent, relentlessly self-serving motormouth of a boss, whose office is a loving oasis of retro screwball comedy, anachronistic hairstyles and all.

Molina's tormented man-machine is a stunning technical and creative achievement, a terrifying monster who moves with the sinister shudder of an impending earthquake and fights a mostly losing battle with his own mind and body. His weirdly expressive mechanical arms alone have more personality than most human movie characters, but Molina's performance ensures that the man doesn't get lost in the machinery. In that sense, he's a bit like Spider-Man 2 itself: a blockbuster with tremendous emotional resonance, a special-effects extravaganza with soul.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
waronassermanMay 2, 2015
Such a fun movie! I love Spider-Man 2! so much of it! especially that memorable train fight between Spidey and Doc Ock arguably one of the greatest action sequences of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Spider - Man 2 was a film in which shoulder a good script and a good performance from our favorite players , the rise , fall and revival of our arachnid superhero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
I go back and forth between this or the first film being the best Spider-Man movie. But with the train sequence, I might say this film. It has less action, but you are invested in Peter's life. You feel for him every step of the way and allI go back and forth between this or the first film being the best Spider-Man movie. But with the train sequence, I might say this film. It has less action, but you are invested in Peter's life. You feel for him every step of the way and all of the problems put on his personal life only makes you route for him more and cheer whenever he shows up to save the day. When this movie has exciting moments, it is some of the best scenes in any comic book movie. But I do have to take off points for the MJ always being in danger way of doing a finale. It gets old. Plus some of the dialogue is cheesy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
A great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of theA great sequel that follows on closely after the events of the first film. It's just as fast-paced and entertaining, and with the majority of the main players back for round two any fans of the first film will enjoy this one. Any of the Spider-Man films are certainly one of my favourites when it comes to Superhero movies, and this is no exception as its nothing but a joy to watch. I think the third and final chapter in this trilogy fell a little, but the sequel is a quality Action film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 22, 2016
While Spider-Man being the best of the franchise, this second runner-up still has its visual details from the first movie and bought us the chillness back.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
Still the greatest Spider-Man movie to date. Filled with great action, heart, emotion and a complex story that really does make you feel for Peter. The movie does suffer from poor dialogue between MJ and Peter. This movie has one of theStill the greatest Spider-Man movie to date. Filled with great action, heart, emotion and a complex story that really does make you feel for Peter. The movie does suffer from poor dialogue between MJ and Peter. This movie has one of the greatest action sequences in a comic book movie, the Train sequence. 8.5/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EricRomJul 4, 2016
Well wow. It's kind of really late but I watched it over TV and couldn't wait to share my views.
Firstly, Toby is my spiderman forever and that's not changing. I remember reading this review http://bit.ly/29smOqf that describes the movie in
Well wow. It's kind of really late but I watched it over TV and couldn't wait to share my views.
Firstly, Toby is my spiderman forever and that's not changing. I remember reading this review http://bit.ly/29smOqf that describes the movie in an apt way.

I give it a 8 (2 less cause I didn't like mary jane)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JBAug 11, 2006
Great acting from Raimi and the rest of the cast (except Dunst). [***SPOILERS***] Unfortunately the lines were terrible as between Parker and Mary Jane, and the 'happy-go-lucky' scene with Parker after 'losing' his powers Great acting from Raimi and the rest of the cast (except Dunst). [***SPOILERS***] Unfortunately the lines were terrible as between Parker and Mary Jane, and the 'happy-go-lucky' scene with Parker after 'losing' his powers is an inappropriate splash of camp in what has been a serious, if light hearted, adaptation endeavor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Spider man 2" is decent. There is a lot to see but less to think or develop. Better to watch with your friends for pure joy, laughing at the corny dialogue and 'ooh-aah'ing at the impressive action sequences.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeApr 19, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spider-man 2 is way much better than the first because there is more action and more suspense.Octopus is my favourite villain in spider-man and what is wrong with him is that he dies at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkashVijayJan 24, 2015
Although it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, theAlthough it's far from perfect, Spiderman 2 is precisely the sort of film that I'm always impressed by. It leaps beyond it's origins and deals with something different and unconventional. It talks about- the burden of responsibility, the burden of being a superhero, how it's not exactly the dream job. There are thousands of children around the world who turn off their lights at night, shut their eyes and pray for superpowers. Sam Rami's Spiderman 2 tries to point out that perhaps one should think twice. "With great power comes great responsibility". A superhero has to make sacrifices and give up the things he wants most, even his dreams. The film builds this idea wonderfully till the ending where they completely throw everything out of the window so as to make way for the sappy, hollywood manufactured ending. But despite the infuriating puppy dog happy ending forced into the film, it's still Marvel's best film to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
darkbloodshed13Nov 8, 2015
Sam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leadsSam Raimi has once again impressed me whit cinematic style. Spider-Man 2 starts a few years after the first one. we see that ever since taking on the mantle of Spider-Man Peter Parker's life has become a disorganized and depressing this leads him to having inner conflict on whether or not he should remain as Spider-Man or if he should just stay as Peter Parker. We as he audience already know that he is going to stay as Spider-Man it's still cool to watch Peter's evolution. Now the biggest complaint that most people have about his movie is that it is to cheesy and they're right it is cheesy, but all that does is had to charm of the film. Then there's the villain, Doctor Octopus, who is a scientist who went mad after accidentally killing his beloved. Now he is equipped with 4 electronic arms and has plan that could destroy all of New York. This villain is perfect considering that he was a man that wanted to do great things but failed and now has gone mad. Another good part to this movie is the Aunt May who serves a bigger purpose in this movie than last even getting in a few blows on the villain. The only thing missing is that typical Spider-Man charm, with charming banter and wit-full comebacks. In conclusion if you liked the first movie than you'll love this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
When a failed nuclear fusion experiment results in an explosion that kills his wife, Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina) is transformed into Dr. Octopus, a cyborg with deadly metal tentacles. Doc Ock blames Spider-Man (Tobey Maguire) for theWhen a failed nuclear fusion experiment results in an explosion that kills his wife, Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina) is transformed into Dr. Octopus, a cyborg with deadly metal tentacles. Doc Ock blames Spider-Man (Tobey Maguire) for the accident and seeks revenge. Meanwhile, Spidey's alter ego, Peter Parker, faces fading powers and self-doubt. Complicating matters are his best friend's (James Franco) hatred for Spider-Man and his true love's (Kirsten Dunst) sudden engagement to another man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews