Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2004
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
979
Mixed:
82
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnMasterLAug 6, 2015
La mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece unLa mejor película de Super Héroes de todos los tiempos. Spider-Man 2 es mejor que su antecesora en todos los aspectos, los efectos especiales son increíbles, las actuaciones siguen siendo excelentes y sobre todo, Alfred Molina ofrece un excelente villano y de lejos uno de los mejores vistos en cine. La historia de esta segunda parte es asombrosa, divertida y dramática a la vez , violenta y oscura sin dudarlo, pero sobre todo, ofrece un mensaje único y conmovedor. Ah, olvide mencionar que esta película tiene una de las mejores secuencias de acción que eh visto en mucho tiempo, la escena de Spider-Man VS Doctor Octopus en el tren es épica, brillante y emocionante.

Repito: Es la mejor película de Super Héroes que eh visto en mucho tiempo, si hacemos un TOP, detrás de Spider-Man 2 le sigue Iron Man y Ant Man
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerNov 8, 2014
One of the best superhero movies ever and the best Spider-Man movies ever,with one of the best villains ever: Otto Octavius alias Doctor Octopus.An epic movie.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Sonic45XNov 26, 2014
10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a10 years later and it's still one of the best if not the best Spider-Man movie ever and in my opinion the best super hero movie. it has great action, a great story, a great cast of characters and great music to top it all off. If your a Spider-Man fan (or just love super hero movies) and haven't watched the movie, (or if you haven't seen it in a long while) than I strongly recommend getting the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WamblyHadesNov 12, 2014
Soy un gran fan de Spider-Man, y esta película me parece una obra de arte. Buena historia, buena acción y buenos efectos especiales. Sin duda, Spider-Man 2 es la mejor película de Spider-Man de todas y una de las mejores películas deSoy un gran fan de Spider-Man, y esta película me parece una obra de arte. Buena historia, buena acción y buenos efectos especiales. Sin duda, Spider-Man 2 es la mejor película de Spider-Man de todas y una de las mejores películas de superhéroes de todos los tiempos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
Without a doubt, this movie improves upon the original with a better and more understandable villain in the form of Doc Ock. It's definitely another must-see film directed by Sam Raimi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
emiliomiceli31Aug 8, 2015
el hombre araña 2 es un 100% maravilla aun mejor que su procesedor y una de las majores peliculas de marvel comics basadas en spiderman junto a su precuela
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
UltimateBubFeb 1, 2015
This may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's oneThis may be a very personal opinion, but I think "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero film ever made, so far. It's slightly superior to the original on every way. Also, Doctor Octopus as a villain, he's the best. And, if there's one character more important or better than Spider-Man himself, that's Peter Parker. You get to know Peter's feelings and personal troubles so well that by the end of the film you end up caring not only for him, but also for his family, friends and acquaintances. And that is the definition of a perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerApr 17, 2016
While this the first one had a light tone and an emphasis on fun, this movie was able to surpass the first one in quality and enjoyment while having a much darker and serious tone. The cast still does a fantastic job and Dr. Octopus is theWhile this the first one had a light tone and an emphasis on fun, this movie was able to surpass the first one in quality and enjoyment while having a much darker and serious tone. The cast still does a fantastic job and Dr. Octopus is the best Marvel villain to date. His character is incredibly well developed, emotionally resonant and interesting. The story is very coherent, thrilling and heartfelt. This movie is a superhero film masterpiece. Every single aspect of this movie, every beat, every character, every action scene, every CG effect and every story arc is perfectly on point and how it should be. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this film, a gloriously smart blockbuster by Sam Raimi. The best Marvel movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Jul 18, 2015
Spiderman 2 is my favourite comic book film mainly because the performances are top notch the story is intriguing the action is exhilarating the characters are very well fleshed out ugh I love this movie!!!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NatT96Aug 19, 2015
This is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality isThis is obviously one of the most memorable movie during my childhood. I watch both 2 and 2.1 and the plot was just so damn good, it gave you extreme pulse racing visuals that really let you see through his eyes, Spider Man's personality is one anyone can literally become apart of. The action scenes are actually very realistic, I enjoyed that the producers actually put Peter in realistic situations that just always pushed the limits of his possibilities.This film made him one of my favorite super heroes, I wish they used this same type of creativity in the new films. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Jefferygamer200Oct 13, 2015
This is the best Spider-Man movie I've ever seen. It takes what the made original Spider-Man movie great and improves on it. Love the music as well as the fighting this is my favorite Super hero film out of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
perkjlJan 4, 2016
I love the first two entries of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man movie adaptions! They make me feel all giddy inside! I always loved Tobey Maguire as Spidey! Spider-man 2 is a improvement from the first with even more memorable action sequences andI love the first two entries of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man movie adaptions! They make me feel all giddy inside! I always loved Tobey Maguire as Spidey! Spider-man 2 is a improvement from the first with even more memorable action sequences and CGI! Spider-Man 1&2 are by far some of the best superhero films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Farzan003Jan 11, 2016
Spider-Man 2 gives you everything that an action sci-fiction movie should give.If you wanna see the best action scenes of 2004 (or maybe the best of all) with a very strong and touching story,so Spider-Man 2 is your film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BlancheJun 28, 2016
So not only was the game for this title amazing, so was the film. Absolutely loved it. The cast were brilliant and each played vital roles. They portrayed very real, rollercoaster emotions through a great script. Sadness, happiness or justSo not only was the game for this title amazing, so was the film. Absolutely loved it. The cast were brilliant and each played vital roles. They portrayed very real, rollercoaster emotions through a great script. Sadness, happiness or just comedy, the film had it all. Alfred Molina as a villain was particularly spectacular.

All these wonderful characteristics combined with the sensational action sequences and fantastic musical scoring, made the whole media perhaps one of the most memorable super hero films I've ever seen. Simply amazing.

I'd go as far as to say this will be considered and looked back as a classic for the super hero comic book genre in film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
s10721314Jul 19, 2016
Really Good Movie, improves on the original, Dock Ock is a really good villain and is the best villain in the Spider-Man Trilogy. Sam Raimai has written a masterpiece that will be remembered for years to come
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
One of the best super hero movies ever made. The first movie was great, but somehow this movie is better in every way possible. A better villain, better action, better choreography, and more emotional story make this the ultimate viewing ofOne of the best super hero movies ever made. The first movie was great, but somehow this movie is better in every way possible. A better villain, better action, better choreography, and more emotional story make this the ultimate viewing of your friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KenM.Jul 20, 2004
Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the special effects, there's actually some character development! Isn't it great when Hollywood does that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceH.Jul 3, 2004
The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually don't in action movies). The acting is excellent (esp. from Tobey Maguire, who just gets better and better) and Sam Raimi's direction is terse, well-paced, and inventive while staying true to the mythic & comic qualities without going overboard into psychic mumbojumbo & pretentiouness (are you reading this Ang Lee?). Since we actually care about these characters and become so personally involved with them throughout, that when the action scenes come around they almost seem a distraction to the much more captivating story of Mary Jane & Peter's relationship, which actually feels real and not fake like most comic book moves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZacharyW.Jun 30, 2004
The movie was very good. There was too much talk, and not enough action scenes. I give it an A-.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HeirloomJun 30, 2004
There is a good balance between the action, special effects scene and the small, intimate, emotional moments that delve deeper into the characters. highly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachelK.Jul 21, 2004
Better than the original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
a.k.aMattT.Jul 7, 2004
This ia a supurb sequel this movie has to offer.the movie has a blend of excellent corougraph action scenes, romance and comical events. Overall this movie is a money worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephB.Jul 7, 2004
~Spiderman was wickedly Awesome! but I think it does come as close as the first one. Though I think people say it was better , I say the Original is always the one and only.(R.I.P.)+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinF.Jun 30, 2004
This movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at timesThis movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at times beautiful, and you really feel like this is all happening, you can sympathize with the characters in a way that you wouldnt think possible. i would recommend this movie to anyone, because it goes beyond just being a comic book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilT.Jun 30, 2004
It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get very sciency. I loved the scene where Doc Oct throws the bags of money at spidy.... its really goofy and unrealistic if u think about it, but i liked it anyways... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 1, 2004
This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City looks gritty and authentic this time around. Best of all, this movie succeeds where every previous superhero movie fails: It makes the out-of-costume hero believable and watchable. More than half of the movie is Peter Parker, and the audience doesn't mind since he's a three-dimensional sad-sack sort of guy you want to root for. There are good surprises and many moments you shouldn't read in a review. But let me say that this is what a big budget summer film should be -- exciting, heroic, involving, and funny. This is truly my childhood hero translated to the screen with style, energy, and depth. In fact, it triumphs so much in all of these aspects that you never notice there isn't much of a plot at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisJul 1, 2004
Possibly the best comic book movie I've ever seen. Yes, I enjoyed much more than the first 2 Batmans, and the first two Supermans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 10, 2004
Incredible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RSJul 2, 2004
This movie is awsome. Packed with action, drama, super-hero action, this movie is a MUST-SEE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcW.Jul 2, 2004
The finest movie of the year and quite possibly, the most touching love story I have ever seen on the silver screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with spiderman 2. i will do my best to review the film AS IS, and not as a folow up to the great first spiderman film. it's wild!...phew!. yes, now that i said it lets gut it's insides. tobey is a good spider, quite good casting. i would have prefered a taller, skinnier spiderman, but he does pretty well even though he is not very elegant looking. his success comes from his humble looks and voice, he always sounds like either he doesn't give a damn about life or he just woke up, pick one. pick two if you wanna trick me. doctor octavious is played very well by molina, it's fantasy films like these that handle "attitude" very well. like han solo in star wars...look at star wars with no han solo (new ones)....see my point? as for mary jane, she could have been alot worldly, rather than a generic american chick who talks about wedings and boyfriends and looking for a man to comlete her constantly. sam raimi does a great job, this guy...people were bashing him even before the release of spiderman 1, they said he had no clue and no control over the ambitious project....he shows us not only he has control, but he can dance around it in classy fashion. the story dips down ever so often and demands more action, there are too many "where have you been?" and "who am i" kind of un-answerable idiotic questioneres handed out in the cast that gets in the nerves and eyes. you are spiderman 2, does that make you feel better? the fella who plays harry, green goblin's heir is a pretty good actor, i am glad we are gona see him more in the next one. he might give us more of that "attitude"we are in need of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenZ.Jul 3, 2004
This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, but the ones with peter parker where we see him going through his day to day struggles being a super-hero. This movie combines different elements which are rarely so effective in a film: witty humor, exciting action, and some truly effective, emotion drenched drama. So... if this movie is so great, then why a 9 and not a 10? Well... there is one flaw that still ate at me while i watched this movie. This concerns the way spider-man, as a character, is animated throughout the majority of the movie. While it didn't bother me so much as the first film, (the effects were greatly improved for this sequal) I still think it would have been much more effective to take the extra time and preperation to incorporate more human-like spiderman stunts into the mix, you gotta admit that spiderman outfit looks cool as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuthorxJul 7, 2004
I can aggree with those who think this is more of a soap opera, but the plot was close to the comics, the fights were awesome and the rest was well done. 9 out of 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobinF.Jul 8, 2004
Great movie with an Interesting villian!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LexeH.Aug 10, 2004
Over-all great movie. Really well written, a definite award winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SungusAug 31, 2004
If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but also building on that. It appears that this series is able to stay seemless over time, unlike Batman, which just became too bad to watch. Hopefully, the cast will continue to do these for a few more flicks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveOMay 7, 2008
It was a good movie. Not a classic like the original and not atrocious like its successor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimmyWJun 13, 2008
Great action movie but it showed tremendous emotion. Great story, great movie, end of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanS.Feb 26, 2009
Having re-watched this recently--and perhaps this partially a nostalgic bias--this is undoubtedly the greatest comic book film ever made. Hands down. Just the sheer level of enjoyment that it evokes, without sacrificing intelligence, acting, Having re-watched this recently--and perhaps this partially a nostalgic bias--this is undoubtedly the greatest comic book film ever made. Hands down. Just the sheer level of enjoyment that it evokes, without sacrificing intelligence, acting, direction, any of that--it's literally one of the few movies that contains the pure entertainment that has been lost more and more since the golden days of adventure back in the 70s. The Dark Knight had it's own post-humous/intense hype awe factor, but in terms of how many times you can just sit back and watch the film, while being consistently entertained--the only film that comes close is Iron Man. But nothing holds a candle to Spidey 2.Nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JStoneJun 30, 2004
Mcgowan needs to realize the Daredevil was the worst super hero movie made in the past decade, its only competitor being The Punisher. Please hesitate from bringing down an outstanding movie deserves a 90 or above, by randomly throwing in a Mcgowan needs to realize the Daredevil was the worst super hero movie made in the past decade, its only competitor being The Punisher. Please hesitate from bringing down an outstanding movie deserves a 90 or above, by randomly throwing in a '0'. Spiderman 2 almost surpasses Spiderman, much like Shrek 2 was to Shrek. Must see of '04. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AzriJun 30, 2004
This movie full of emotion and action as grown up student want to make right decision eventhough he his SPIDERMAN.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJun 30, 2004
This was an excellent movie. A must see on the big screen for sure! Good balance between dialog and action scenes. Supporting cast was great. Maguire as Spiderman is awesome. If you liked the first one you'll like this one even more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Jul 10, 2004
It was great. Lots of little humorous touches. The action scenes, when there is action, are great. The first one sucked so bad -give this one a chance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredCJul 12, 2004
Ecellent movie, best of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJ.Jul 16, 2004
The best superhero movie ever, hands down. Spider Man 2 is filled with action, intrigue, and incredible special effects. This movie is a visual treat, from the way Spider Man moves magestically, swinging from building to building. And the The best superhero movie ever, hands down. Spider Man 2 is filled with action, intrigue, and incredible special effects. This movie is a visual treat, from the way Spider Man moves magestically, swinging from building to building. And the storys no flop either, definetly exciting enough to keep the young people entertained, and deep enough to keep the older folks pleased as well. Do yourself a favour and see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheElusivePossomJul 31, 2004
This film basically lived up to my pretty high expectations of a sequal to the original Spider-Man: amazing action that bettered the first, and a commendable attempt to inject some tongue-in-cheek comedy. Some parts of it were unavoidably This film basically lived up to my pretty high expectations of a sequal to the original Spider-Man: amazing action that bettered the first, and a commendable attempt to inject some tongue-in-cheek comedy. Some parts of it were unavoidably predictable ("Here's the cheap that makes sure I don't turn into a psycho-killer...hope it doesn't get smashed"), but the film does leave a suggestion of a sequal - Will Hobgoblin be the next to plight Spidey? We'll know come 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alaneJan 15, 2005
Wish all the superhero movies could be this good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomKMay 4, 2007
This movie is the best comic book adaptation, and is much better than spider man 1. It was a funnier, has more emotion and heart, great story, and a fantastic action with amazing CGI on doc oc. Spiderman 1 was more of an intro, but spiderman This movie is the best comic book adaptation, and is much better than spider man 1. It was a funnier, has more emotion and heart, great story, and a fantastic action with amazing CGI on doc oc. Spiderman 1 was more of an intro, but spiderman 2 displayed the wrenching consequences that comes along with having all this power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisP.Jul 22, 2004
Excellent. Enjoyed Spidey 2 even more than the first movie. Kudos to Sam Raimi for ensuring the Spiderman franchise recieves the quality treatment it deserves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewH.Aug 26, 2004
An excellent movie. I would say better than the first, the villain is much cooler than the old green goblin and the effects are amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobR.Nov 24, 2007
An incredible work of art. Much improved from the first Spider-man, this movie is possibly the best super hero film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
a great follow-up to Spiderman
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
Aside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fanAside from some drama and the fact that they made Doctor Octopus look lame this was an awesome movie, great special effects, awesome action, and great humor made this one of the best comic book based movies I've seen, if your a Spider-Man fan you'll love this movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others.This took the fun and energy of the first film and multiplied it by awesome. It had a great story of personal conflict over whether to be happy in your personal life or possibly using the gifts you have to sacrifice that life to save others. It was a enthralling story about true heroism to the point of oneâ Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 25, 2011
Head and shoulders above the first one. It's character-driven and much more interesting emotionally plus there's more realistic dialogue and a cooler villain
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
jos95Sep 17, 2011
This is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatestThis is even better than the original! The acting is still up to scratch, the visual effects are much improved and it has a deep emotional focus that never goes insipid at any point. Alfred Molina as Doc Ock HAS to be one of the greatest villains of all time. It's less cheesy than the first, but that doesn't mean it's not cheesy at all. Still, nonetheless, this and The Dark Knight are the best superhero sequels of all time. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Nov 10, 2011
Spider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection bySpider-Man 2 and Sam Raimi take the video game approach to sequels and I say this in the best possible way. All he really does is take what he did so well in the first one and build on it, with a snazzy new villain (played to perfection by Alfred Molina), subtle progression of the main characters and overall a story that is about as fun (if not more so) as the first film. Its a great popcorn film with some thrilling set pieces (especially the segments involving the train). It isn't timeless (I don't know a superhero movie that is) but its great, really great. Peter Parkers journey seems realistic in its progression (given the whole radioactive spider of it all) with the relationships between the characters being the main draw of the film despite the brilliant action. The dynamic between Peter and Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) or Peter and his aunt are engaging with the latter bringing some serious emotions out that had been stored up since the first film. Its a great next step in a story I think will only get better.........oh wait its Eddie Brock. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
aznassassinJun 14, 2013
Emotionally and cinematically brilliant that surpasses the original in everyway and even the rebooted Garfield-Spidey. One of my favourite superhero films of all time alongside Dark Knight Rises, Iron Man 3 and The Avengers.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Tall_But_ShortJul 20, 2012
Spider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). TheSpider-Man 2 is some of the most fun I have had during a movie. It is much more than a comic book movie and the character development in this movie is just great. I cared much more for the characters in this movie than Spider-Man (2002). The action sequences are brilliant in this movie, especially the train battle between our friendly-neighborhood Spider-Man and Doctor Octopus. Mary Jane is a forceful character in this movie though and by that, I mean, we are forced to like her as a character. She wasn't nearly as charming as Emma Stone was in The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) but this still is and will be, at least for a while i believe, the first movie which pops into my head when I think of "Spider-Man." Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
anshimanJan 12, 2013
'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking'Spider-Man 2' is sweet and innocent, with Raimi's portrayal of honest human emotion bringing the warm, throbbing heart to this film that makes it so beloved. The pulchitrudinous dialogue drips with humble tears and emotional depth, provoking audiences to ponder on fundamental morality through the deliverance of messages that transcend the human race. Danny Elfman's score contributes to my bucket of tears with the aid of the serene, harmonious strokes of strings that penetrate your very soul. This film is an uplifting, powerful and masterfully crafted one; it provides the comic-book fantasies that satisfy your inner child while coating it in a honeysuckle layer of themes that encourage good deeds to be done. It is a story of a man discovering himself, dealing with inner turbulence and confusion - a story that defines all of us and our struggles in ethically complicated situations. Raimi undoubtedly shows appreciation for rich character texture that elevate the impact of each character's respective catharsis through the course of the storyline, yet leaving one to remain disturbed to overall create a bitter-sweet after-taste and a slightly open ending. Put simply, 'Spider-Man 2' is an absolute delight that improves on the original and goes down as one of the best sequels of all-time, with The Empire Strikes Back, The Dark Knight, Superman II and The Godfather 2. 'With great power comes great responsibility' Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
This is the best of the Spider-Man movies. Along with riding a lot of the success of the first film, Spider-Man 2 upgrades the series with great effects, a more human villain, emotional renaissance and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
The most humane and one of the best superhero movies to ever be made. The movie succeeds to be a well-made character story on the personal trials of a superhero, laced with remarkable action sequences.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
This Spider-Man, new and improved, hits all the right notes, has a perfect, bracing pace, and brings great new ideas to the screen. Surely when it was made, it was the best superhero movie ever. The Dark Knight now holds that position.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Taking nearly every element of the first film and elevating it, "Spider-Man 2" is everything a sequel should be and more.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 12, 2013
A far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yetA far superior film than the first one. The villain here is more intriguing and purposeful. Spider-man himself goes through some ups and downs. The fight scenes were cooler and riveting. MJ serves the purpose of 'damsel in distress' yet again. I don't know anyone who would want to be with such an annoying person. Anyway, I enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MemburgMay 23, 2014
This film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the bestThis film is, without a doubt, the definitive cinematic Spider-Man experience, for people who are into all genres and of all ages. It has excellent over-the-top superhero action, pee-your-pants humour, and best of all, by far the best Spider-Man villain, Doctor Octopus, who is wonderfully portrayed in this picture. Maguire is the perfect Peter Parker, Kirsten Dunst does a top job as Mary Jane. My only real criticism of this film is that a lot of the dialogue is rather weak, and a large amount of the extras are rather unrealistically sterile. But all of this makes for an outstanding superhero film, and one that I would be happy to come back to time and time again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MalevolentJun 13, 2013
This is a great movie. The story is great and the action sequences are awesome. Alfred Molina was great as Doc Ock and James Franco nailed it again as Harry Osborn. As a big Spidey fan, I have to say that this movie is better than the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
12hilbkeJul 3, 2013
Spider-Man 2 is one of the best superhero movies I've ever seen, and in my opinion, better than the first movie due to great special effects, a great story, and Alfred Molina's performance as Doc Ock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJul 29, 2014
A deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic andA deeper movie than the first, not just about the cool action sequences, but about life, love, loss, and grief. The sequel outshines the original movie, which focused on the beginning, while in 'Spider Man 2', the pathos is more pragmatic and conveys some emotion, which few action movies do. The acting, specifically the complexity of Alfred Molina, is natural and doesn't come off as blatantly campy. The effects are cool, the direction is spot on. Hardly anything to complain about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyOct 8, 2015
The second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flickThe second film could be a runner-up for my favorite comicbook movie. The first one was campy, but this film I'd argue is legitimately good. It is goofy, but remember that it's a COMICBOOK movie, so it can pass. It's an entertaining flick from beginning to end and has a lot of heart. I much prefer the extended cut(Spider-Man 2.1) since it extends the already brilliant action scenes and gives some more moments to the supporting characters. It may be over ten-years-old, but it's still the best Spider-Man movie. It's probably in my Top 10 All Time Favorite Films, it just leaves you with such a satisfying feel at the end, which kind of makes Spider-Man 3 all the more disappointing... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksDec 2, 2013
The best Spider-Man film released and one of the greatest superhero movies of all time. The emotion oozes and the tension rises in this sequel. Alfred Molina is perfect as Doc Ock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
borderlinefilmsFeb 4, 2015
Superheroes Anonymous

Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection
Superheroes Anonymous

Tragically I am a Batman. An obsessive Caped Crusader comic-book collector until 1972 when my evil mother tossed the entire bunch in the garbage. My cousin was Spider-man. His noble mother preserved his collection with plastic envelopes and to this day they remain in pristine condition.

What's truly tragic about being a Batman is that, despite Nolan's recent attempts (and questionable sincerity), the best Batman movie hasn't been made yet. As far as we know, with Batman's fate resting with Warner Bros, David Goyer, Zak Snider and Ben Affleck, the best Batman movie will not be possible for another decade or two, maybe three. I await thee Dark Knight.

Again to my cousin's good fortune, the best movie about Spider-man has been established for quite some time. In fact, as a benchmark, it is arguably the best comic-book super-hero movie ever made. I didn't much love Sam Raimi's first Spider-man, and wished my mother could have disposed of his last entry, but Spider-man 2 was, and is, the ultimate movie adaptation from comic-books to the movie screen.

I was living in Shanghai in the summer of 2004 where I had to commute 3 hours on a hot and dizzy day to see it in English, and was fully rewarded for the effort. I was thrust into a imaginary super-hero world far more pleasing than anything I could remember since childhood. The 3 hour commute back home seemed like a breeze because Spider-man 2 awoke the wonder-struck boy inside me. It reminded me of a happy youth I forgot I had. It felt like Spidey was on the subway with me and would protect me from any harm. And he was just a boy himself! Batman? Who's that?

For a super-hero story, nearly everything is perfect in this movie. Doc Ock couldn't have been better. He looked exactly the way he did, at the height of Stan Lee's eminence, in the brightly coloured panels fighting Spiderman in 1968. And sounded just like I imagined he would. Peter and Mary Jane were in their element and their friendship and romantic undertaking actually mattered. The story and action played out the way a comic book should. It was both intimate and fantastic. Trippy, wonderful and scary. It was like growing up all over again. The climax was a bit too flashy, loud and over-the-top at that time, but by today's standards, when compared to climactic train-wrecks in Man of Steel, Iron Man 3 and the Avengers, it's perfectly splendid.

We are now being helplessly bombarded with comic book movies attacking us from every direction, all of them trying to out-do each other, jumping one shark after another. Every marginal superhero from Dr Strange to Shazam is being dusted off and hurled onto the big screen for our insatiable happy-childhood-appeasing appetite. The Marvel of Disney is launching at us one theme-park roller-coaster ride after another. Sony, with their Amazing Spider-man abominations, has completely lost it. Fox's X-Men and Fantastic Four proliferations hit the wall long ago. And DC, under the reigns of Warner Bros, has transfigured into its own worst enemy. A wretched mutation not even the Joker finds amusing.

Turns out Sam Raimi's Spiderman 2 is the gold standard by which all comic-book movies, certainly those of the super-hero variety, are and, evidently, will be set. Lucky cousin.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 22, 2014
In the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhumanIn the second installment in the Spider-Man series, based on the classic Marvel Comics hero, Tobey Maguire returns as the mild-mannered Peter Parker, who is juggling the delicate balance of his dual life as a college student and a superhuman crime fighter. The entertaining adventure escalates and Spider-Man's life becomes even more complicated when he confronts a new nemesis, the brilliant Otto Octavius, (Molina) who has been reincarnated as the maniacal and multi-tentacled "Doc Ock." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
It may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrastIt may take a while for the action to start up in Spider-Man 2, but when it does, it's great. This sequel deals on the inner turmoil our protagonist must face not only as Spider-Man, but as an adult living in the real world - a nice contrast by the writer(s). The new villain, Doc Oc, is way better than The Green Goblin could ever hope to achieve. He's a struggling soul just as Spider-Man, only his has been focused on better achieving what he failed to do, as is Spider-Man's - saving the world after the death of his uncle.

The scripth here is great. The acting once again, very well done, Simmon's character is wonderful. The music is basically the same from the first, a misstep by the composer Danny Elfman. Overall, this is a great sequel and could very well exist had the first not been made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gameguardian21Mar 10, 2016
A sequel that turns out to be better than the first, spider man 2 is more emotional, conflicted, and tells us how that spider man struggles with his powers.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
AgentVenom117Feb 21, 2016
The best adaptation of Spider-Man to ever appear on film and it's easily one of the greatest non MCU films to come out, Tobey Maguire is incredible in this role and you genuinely feel sorry for the guy as he gets bad luck after bad luck andThe best adaptation of Spider-Man to ever appear on film and it's easily one of the greatest non MCU films to come out, Tobey Maguire is incredible in this role and you genuinely feel sorry for the guy as he gets bad luck after bad luck and the rest of the cast especially James Franco and J.K Simmons completely own there roles. The story is incredible and shows the struggle that Spider-Man goes through every day trying to balance being a superhero and a student/photographer but he meets a scientist called Otto Octavius played by Alfred Molina (who is amazing in this film) and he is trying to emulate the power of the sun to give unlimited power to everyone in the city. But when the experiment goes wrong and kills his wife and his metal arms that he created to try and contain the miniature sun gets permanently attached to him, and the A.I takes over him and drives him insane and thus the story continues and I won't spoil the movie if you haven't seen it and if you haven't check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorMar 21, 2016
Spiderman 2 is fast, action-packed and as full of heart as the first, continuing perfectly with its predecessor, with his great plot, awesome story-telling and unforgettable characters to make this film a fantastic sequel.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
After SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed toAfter SPIDER-MAN hit theaters in the summer of 2002, and raked in over $800 million worldwide, a sequel was a no-brainer, and only two years later, SPIDER-MAN 2 hit theaters. At one point, it looked like Tobey Maguire, who already seemed to be tiring of the typecasting linked to the part, wasn’t going to return to play Spider-Man, and Jake Gyllenhaal was actually waiting in the wings in case he called it quits. Of course, a huge paycheck lured Tobey back to the part, and the result was a film that was universally acclaimed by audiences, fans, and critics alike.
Eight years later, how does SPIDER-MAN 2 hold up? Extremely well, and it stands as one of the top-tier superhero movies to ever hit the big-screen, comparing favorably with the later IRON-MAN, and even THE AVENGERS, although I’d put it a notch below BATMAN BEGINS/ THE DARK KNIGHT, and the great, unsung- X-MEN: FIRST CLASS (not to mention X2).

The reason the film works as well as it does is mostly due to director Sam Raimi’s continued focus on Peter Parker’s inner turmoil. Working from a great script by Alvin Sargent (among others), SPIDER-MAN 2 opens with Parker, now a few years into being SPIDER-MAN, having brushed off his best friend Harry (due to his lingering guilt over his part in his father Norman/Green Goblin’s death, and the fact that Harry flies into a near-homicidal rage every time he hears the name Spider-Man), and avoided Mary-Jane. Now, Peter’s living in a disgusting one-room flat, eking out a meager living as a pizza delivery boy, while continuing his studies. Once he learns Mary-Jane is now engaged to J. Jonah Jameson’s pretty boy son, he goes off the rails- eventually quitting his superhero duties altogether, to pursue Mary-Jane.

Of course, this is called SPIDER-MAN 2, and not PETER PARKER 2, so before long he dons his tights once again to fight the iconic Doc Ock, an unfortunate scientist who, after an accident, has metal arms molded to his back- and quickly goes nuts. Raimi balances the spectacle (with the climactic train sequence being a standout) and the darker, more emotional parts of the film beautifully, although- if one looks, the seeds of SPIDER-MAN 3’s idiocy are planted here, with a too jokey montage set to “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head” demonstrating Parker’s new-found freedom (complete with a freeze-frame we all thought was funny in 2004, but now suggests exactly the route we’d be going down a few years hence).

Maguire, despite almost quitting the part, gives a solid performance, although I feel that his dedication to the part was already wearing thin by this, with his physique noticeably less impressive than it was in the first film, and the trend towards self-parody already taking hold. Still, he’s good enough that nobody who saw this in its initial release had any complaints.

Following Willem Dafoe is no easy task, but Alfred Molina is up to it with his nuanced, tragic performance as Doc Ock. Even more sympathetic than Norman Osborn, Ock starts off as a nice-enough guy, but inadvertently causing his wife’s demise (not to mention getting giant robotic arms welded to his back) - he goes a little “funny in the head”. It all comes together in a nicely tragic conclusion.

No Chad Kroger this time, and the pop rock takes a back-seat to Danny Elfman’s score- which plays very much like a retread of the first film. That said, numerous reports suggest that Elfman and Raimi had a major falling out over the project, and Elfman, who used to be Raimi’s go-to guy has never worked with him again. Rumor has it large chunks of his score were dropped and replaced. A sad end to a great collaboration- as Elfman’s score to DARKMAN (not to mention his theme for ARMY OF DARKNESS) is brilliant.

SPIDER-MAN 2 didn’t quite measure up to the first film financially, but it did almost as well, grossing $373 million domestically, and another $375 million internationally, for another mammoth worldwide total of $783 million. It also fared much better than the first film critically, and for a time was considered the finest superhero film ever made.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ReelViews94Mar 23, 2016
The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguablyThe pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting their sights higher the second time around and mostly hitting the mark, director Sam Raimi, producers Laura Ziskin and Avi Arad & Co., rather than equating bigger with better, have conscientiously applied themselves to improving all aspects of the franchise. Conspicuously, the action sequences are more exciting, the visual effects — particularly Spider-Man’s swings through the canyons of Manhattan — are far more natural and compelling and even Danny Elfman’s score is improved.

Most importantly, however, the script provides a depth and dramatic balance quite rare in this sort of fare. Alvin Sargent, a distinguished vet screenwriter best known for such estimable character-driven fare as “Paper Moon,” “Julia,” “Ordinary People” and “Unfaithful,” did uncredited rewrites on the first “Spider-Man.” Here, working from a story devised by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Michael Chabon, he makes at least five characters into tortured souls with momentous decisions to make and places them all in a narrative frame within which the related elements are adroitly proportioned. Result is an object lesson in how, even for this sort of fare, the script can very much be the thing.

Unlike the last round of “Batman” films, which got sillier with each installment, “Spider-Man” is on the upswing, an impression fostered even by the opening credits, which resemble the comicbook style of those in the original but incorporate arresting renderings of key scenes to recapitulate the first picture’s story.

At the outset, Spider-Man is on a sort of hiatus, taking a back seat to the bumbling efforts of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) to juggle his studies at Columbia with part-time gigs taking pictures for the tabloid Daily Bugle and delivering pizzas on a strict schedule, which even Spidey’s best web-swinging can’t manage successfully.

Opening section quickly pulls the viewer close to Peter by sympathetically and amusingly detailing the difficulties of his struggle to make ends meet in a tough city. He’s constantly reminded of his inexpressible feelings for Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), whose face on a perfume campaign is plastered all over the city and who’s enjoying success onstage in a revival of “The Importance of Being Earnest.”

Driven by a deep need to succeed where his father Norman failed, and still tormented over his death, Harry Osborn (James Franco) has invested heavily in the research of scientific genius Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), who believes he’s on the verge of creating a source of perpetual energy through sustained fusion. As the altruistic Octavius tells the admiring Peter, who intends to write his thesis on him, this breakthrough will put “the power of the sun in the palm of my hand.”

But just as Norman Osborn’s experiment turned him into a demented villain, so does Octavius’; in front of numerous onlookers, his electrical gizmos bust a gut and his four enormous metal “activators” turn into murderous tentacles of staggering speed and strength, and capable of transporting the creature soon to be dubbed Dr. Octopus, or Doc Ock, up and down walls with ease.

At the story’s precise midway point, Peter tosses his Spider-Man costume in the trash.

A light-hearted interlude, cheekily accompanied by “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head,” illustrates the more balanced and happier young man Peter is able to become without the specter of Spider-Man constantly hovering over him; he hopes his fresh approach to life will win Mary Jane over before it’s too late, and in the bargain confesses to Aunt May his guilt for his part in the death of Uncle Ben (Cliff Robertson, seen in one quasi-dream sequence).

The new emotional levels and increased opportunities provided by the script give the actors a chance to stretch, and they all respond, none more than Maguire. Running the gamut from heroic knight to heartbroken suitor, thesp is a constant delight, his lightness of touch providing many grace notes to what was already a lively characterization.

Dunst gets more screentime than before and fleshes out the damsel-in-distress aspects of her part with a nice portrait of a young woman trying to figure out where her future lies. With Aunt May finally, after two years of mourning, trying to move on, Harris has much more to do and does it with her customary excellence, and Franco pushes Harry into an unanticipated dark realm.

Molina’s initial geniality morphs into a determined but unmaniacal evil, although the lack of a specific focus for his destructiveness makes Doc Ock's real purpose a bit fuzzy.

A great follow-up to Spider-Man!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
The pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguablyThe pleasure is doubled in “Spider-Man 2.” Crackerjack entertainment from start to finish, this rousing yarn about a reluctant superhero and his equally conflicted friends and enemies improves in every way on its predecessor and is arguably about as good a live-action picture as anyone’s ever made using comicbook characters.

In one of those occasional examples of sequelmakers setting their sights higher the second time around and mostly hitting the mark, director Sam Raimi, producers Laura Ziskin and Avi Arad & Co., rather than equating bigger with better, have conscientiously applied themselves to improving all aspects of the franchise. Conspicuously, the action sequences are more exciting, the visual effects — particularly Spider-Man’s swings through the canyons of Manhattan — are far more natural and compelling and even Danny Elfman’s score is improved.

Most importantly, however, the script provides a depth and dramatic balance quite rare in this sort of fare. Alvin Sargent, a distinguished vet screenwriter best known for such estimable character-driven fare as “Paper Moon,” “Julia,” “Ordinary People” and “Unfaithful,” did uncredited rewrites on the first “Spider-Man.” Here, working from a story devised by Alfred Gough, Miles Millar and Michael Chabon, he makes at least five characters into tortured souls with momentous decisions to make and places them all in a narrative frame within which the related elements are adroitly proportioned. Result is an object lesson in how, even for this sort of fare, the script can very much be the thing.

Unlike the last round of “Batman” films, which got sillier with each installment, “Spider-Man” is on the upswing, an impression fostered even by the opening credits, which resemble the comicbook style of those in the original but incorporate arresting renderings of key scenes to recapitulate the first picture’s story.

At the outset, Spider-Man is on a sort of hiatus, taking a back seat to the bumbling efforts of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) to juggle his studies at Columbia with part-time gigs taking pictures for the tabloid Daily Bugle and delivering pizzas on a strict schedule, which even Spidey’s best web-swinging can’t manage successfully.

Opening section quickly pulls the viewer close to Peter by sympathetically and amusingly detailing the difficulties of his struggle to make ends meet in a tough city. He’s constantly reminded of his inexpressible feelings for Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), whose face on a perfume campaign is plastered all over the city and who’s enjoying success onstage in a revival of “The Importance of Being Earnest.”

Driven by a deep need to succeed where his father Norman failed, and still tormented over his death, Harry Osborn (James Franco) has invested heavily in the research of scientific genius Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina), who believes he’s on the verge of creating a source of perpetual energy through sustained fusion. As the altruistic Octavius tells the admiring Peter, who intends to write his thesis on him, this breakthrough will put “the power of the sun in the palm of my hand.”

But just as Norman Osborn’s experiment turned him into a demented villain, so does Octavius’; in front of numerous onlookers, his electrical gizmos bust a gut and his four enormous metal “activators” turn into murderous tentacles of staggering speed and strength, and capable of transporting the creature soon to be dubbed Dr. Octopus, or Doc Ock, up and down walls with ease.

At the story’s precise midway point, Peter tosses his Spider-Man costume in the trash.

A light-hearted interlude, cheekily accompanied by “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head,” illustrates the more balanced and happier young man Peter is able to become without the specter of Spider-Man constantly hovering over him; he hopes his fresh approach to life will win Mary Jane over before it’s too late, and in the bargain confesses to Aunt May his guilt for his part in the death of Uncle Ben (Cliff Robertson, seen in one quasi-dream sequence).

The new emotional levels and increased opportunities provided by the script give the actors a chance to stretch, and they all respond, none more than Maguire. Running the gamut from heroic knight to heartbroken suitor, thesp is a constant delight, his lightness of touch providing many grace notes to what was already a lively characterization.

Dunst gets more screentime than before and fleshes out the damsel-in-distress aspects of her part with a nice portrait of a young woman trying to figure out where her future lies. With Aunt May finally, after two years of mourning, trying to move on, Harris has much more to do and does it with her customary excellence, and Franco pushes Harry into an unanticipated dark realm.

Molina’s initial geniality morphs into a determined but unmaniacal evil, although the lack of a specific focus for his destructiveness makes Doc Ock's real purpose a bit fuzzy.

A great follow-up to Spider-Man!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 5, 2016
Doc Oc is the best Spidey villain in the comics and the best in the movies.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-4d3-Spider-Man-2-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MordoReviewerMay 29, 2016
One of my favourite superhero movies of all time since Captain America triology
This changed everything and made it a great drama with great characters and a good story
This is the best Spiderman movie ever made, without doubts
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AmieeJul 1, 2004
Great movie. If you are looking for just another action no character development movie this is not for you. This is actually a film not just a movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RosB.Jul 2, 2004
This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great though, very spidery. 2) The movie is over-lit. It looks plasticky and that sucks. I wish it had more grit. It sometimes looks like a magazine shoot. 3) Maguire could have had some one-liners, his character seems constantly stressed out. How about some levity? 4)I wanted more at the end! But that's a good thing. Hopefully number 3 will involve outer space and venom (that would be cool). See this movie though, it's pretty fun all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EliotR.Jul 3, 2004
Strong performances all around. Great movie. A much better film than the first. Less action, more plot. Good work Spidey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IlzeS.Dec 18, 2004
Pretty movie, But I liked part one much better than this one.Tobby McGuire& Kirsten Dunst was so great. Will be expecting new part!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GregT.Dec 6, 2004
This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very decent quasi-nerd who is a true hero at heart and every woman's ideal - a cute young dude with muscles and morals and loads of sensitivity. What more do ya want in a Superhero? Eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RJJun 30, 2004
Exceptional action movie, one of the best I have seen in a while. While its not something like Raiders of the Lost Ark, it's certainly among the best comic book movies I have ever seen. For once, an action movie that is not braindead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanF.Jun 30, 2004
It's an entertaining flick. Great action sequences and touchy dramatic scenes. The story is intact and consistent. However, the performances of the actors are still a little shaky and there are loads of continuity problems. BUT, It's an entertaining flick. Great action sequences and touchy dramatic scenes. The story is intact and consistent. However, the performances of the actors are still a little shaky and there are loads of continuity problems. BUT, it's still an entertaining film that is worth your money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jul 1, 2004
"Spider Man II" isn't brain-dead like the other summer blockbusters, that's for sure. Sam Raimi must've got some flak from the studio, by including "R_____ ____ ______ __ __ ___d"(I won't ruin the surprise) in the "Spider Man II" isn't brain-dead like the other summer blockbusters, that's for sure. Sam Raimi must've got some flak from the studio, by including "R_____ ____ ______ __ __ ___d"(I won't ruin the surprise) in the soundtrack, rather than some lame alternative rock track. Because it's from a classic movie, and "Spider Man II" is a child of "Jaws" and "Star Wars", the scene works as an apology to the death of the personal film, because Raimi, I think, takes a real chance by going for a relaxed tone in the scene that accompanies the Bacharach classic. Also, this song evokes independent film, because one of the leads from the film, in which the song is from, founded a major film festival that screens independent films. My point being, the scene that follows Spider Man's retirement looks more at home in a small movie than a big one. That's the real pleasure of "Spider Man II", it's not all bombast. There's even an allusion to "Rebel Without a Cause", as there was another James Dean reference, "East of Eden", in the original "Spider Man". One of the built-in jokes of the "Spider Man" films is that James Franco is playing James Dean. "Spider Man II", as well as "Hellboy", erases "the horror, the horror" of "Daredevil", and "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JuggadoreP.R.Jul 2, 2004
Alright, the cool thing about this movie is that, as opposed to most other superhero movies, the hero's powers are dependant on the strength of the man. The movie more focused on a man with a second life as a superhero than the other Alright, the cool thing about this movie is that, as opposed to most other superhero movies, the hero's powers are dependant on the strength of the man. The movie more focused on a man with a second life as a superhero than the other way around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZulumE.Aug 27, 2004
It has alot of aciton but the first movie was better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jan 29, 2005
Esta muy bine para passar el rato. Es entretenida. pero hay escenas que sobran.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Jul 11, 2004
Is it the best comic book superhero movie of all time? Maybe, maybe not. The original was pretty terrific, and then there's Superman II, Tim Burton's first Batman...but if you comparte Spidey 2 with the entertaining-but-forgettable Is it the best comic book superhero movie of all time? Maybe, maybe not. The original was pretty terrific, and then there's Superman II, Tim Burton's first Batman...but if you comparte Spidey 2 with the entertaining-but-forgettable X-Mens, the utterly mediocre Daredevil or the dreadful Punisher, this comes off amazingly well. I actually thought that some of the CGI here was LESS impressive than in the first, especially in a sequence involving police helicopters near the end. Also, for a screenplay written by ahighly respected Oscar winner (Ordinary People's Alvin Sargent), there are surprising holes: for the plot to work, a central character has to go for days (weeks?) unaware that Spidey's out of commission, and wouldn't a play by Oscar Wilde have an intermission? These nitpicks aside, I have great respect for an action movie that loves its characters as much as its action sequences (but don't worry; the latter seem to wreck as many cars as H. B. Halicki and Hal Needham did in both their careers combined!) A highlight is a loving but confrontational scene between Peter Parker and Aunt May; is it possible that the old gal knows more than she's supposed to? The fact that Spidey 2 repeatedly (and gleefully) breaks a cardinal superhero rule (which never made much sense anyway) is only one indication of its eagerness to twist or transform every major character relationship from the first one, making this a challenging and dynamic drama as well as a terrific popcorn movie. Kudos to Sargent and the cast, but especially to director Sam Raimi, who, given the task of bringing an incredibly beloved character to the screen, really takes Uncle Ben's advice to heart: "With great power comes great responsibility". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
armandosJan 15, 2005
Better than the first movie-better villan-it seemed that the director was straining too hard to establish the love story- however the special effects were excellent and the occasional humor was welcomed-no one wants a superhero movie to be Better than the first movie-better villan-it seemed that the director was straining too hard to establish the love story- however the special effects were excellent and the occasional humor was welcomed-no one wants a superhero movie to be too serious!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
anneonymousSep 29, 2006
This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. The special effects were spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story.
Second Spidey film, man builds extra arms, get out of control, becomes evil, Spiderman loses his powers & his girl, can he get them back?
Bigger in everyway than the very entertaining first & maybe a bit too much CGI rather than story. However, still a very good watch. Tobey Maguire is perfect in the role as is the very under-rated J.K Simmons (I love him in Juno).
Sort of on par with the first but for different reasons.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 3, 2014
While Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable inWhile Spider-Man 2 is plagued by similar issues of the first one (primarily some cheesy dialogue and acting) this film is a significant improvement over the first one. It has the same likeable characters (with actors far more comfortable in their roles) and sense of the fun the first one has but also has much more meat. The story is far more interesting and engaging this time around and the presentation is well done as well. The villain could have been better integrated into the film but as it is its down ok and everything else is really good. Additionally, the villain is much better. Overall, this is a really good film. Fans of the first one should definitely check it out as they are going to be in for a good time as the film is another great installment in the franchise. Nonfans of the first one should check out two, especially if you thought the first one lacked any substance. This is one of the best superhero films to come out of Marvel (even ten years later) and is definitely worth your time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
With Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis forWith Parker continuing to struggle with the responsibility of being a superhero the Spider-Man sequel is as successful at combining action, comedy and character development as the first movie . Doctor Octopus also provides a great nemesis for the hero and the fight scenes between the two make for some excellent action sequences. Highly recommended. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJun 9, 2012
Many consider this as the best super hero film of all time. But I feel that it is inferior to the first Spider-Man. It has a slow mid point; joke sequences went a little bit too long. But it has one of the best super hero fight of all time.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews