User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 979 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    To be honest, I didn't what was so bad about this movie! I've heard complaints about Venom, too many villains, etc. Well, whatever! I don't care for any of that! As long as I'm entertained, that's all that matters for me!
  2. HaroonAwan
    May 19, 2007
    7
    Amazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the Black Suit? No, that only happened for about an hour... Fight Venom? Still no; that was for around 15 minutes... (Next time we should see more of the uberAmazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the Black Suit? No, that only happened for about an hour... Fight Venom? Still no; that was for around 15 minutes... (Next time we should see more of the uber villain) And what in tarnation did Maguire do to his hair half way through? Back to basics with the next one (if there will be) please. Expand
  3. KveldaV.
    May 22, 2007
    6
    I agree with what someone of this board said... this kind of movie should be done for he broad masses or for the fan base... sadly, i feel it doesn't satisfy any of them. As a movielover, i dont need corny and cheesy dialogues, or for the fx to overlap the stoyrline, or predictable plots (i really hate that the Sandman was the "killer" of Ben), or an overthrown of supervillains oneI agree with what someone of this board said... this kind of movie should be done for he broad masses or for the fan base... sadly, i feel it doesn't satisfy any of them. As a movielover, i dont need corny and cheesy dialogues, or for the fx to overlap the stoyrline, or predictable plots (i really hate that the Sandman was the "killer" of Ben), or an overthrown of supervillains one after the another, I appreciate and I'm thankful (as a movielover) for the popcorn kind of movie -as it allows me (is it all the profits come from the tickets or also from the snacks for a movie that lasts over two hours)-, i appreciate the sometimes well executed comedy (honestly, the scene of the dancin' is, as a lack of a better word, amusing), and some action. As a fan, I hated (as much as I like Haden and Grace) the casting for the villains... why don't you make a movie about spidey and venom, the brock's approach to aunt may and the battle in the beach? Venom is really really deep and funny and cinic (please, can anyone hire Todd Mc Farlane as a writer for the next film?)why don't you make a movie about the Harry's obsesion to tell the world who's Spidey, introducing Liz, Raxton and even, Norman jr.? the hatred, the complexity... Is it me or in the movie left a piece of the alien symbiote in Connor's lab? Expand
  4. SteveK.
    May 6, 2007
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people under the age of 18 liked it. So where do we begin? First off, as many have noted, there are too many villains. They all contriibute to the themes of[***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people under the age of 18 liked it. So where do we begin? First off, as many have noted, there are too many villains. They all contriibute to the themes of the movie but none are fully fleshed out. And I am sick of movies using predictable coincedences to move the plot along. [**SPOILERS***] Seriously, the one guy who happens to fall into a pit where scientists are changing the molecular properties of sand just happens to be the guy who killed Peter's uncle? And the one person on earth that happens to stumble upon the alien symbiote just happens to be Spider-Man? When Peter and MJ are fighting, Gwen Stacy just happens to be eating in the same restaurant? When Spider-Man gets the alien suit off, Eddie Brock just happens to be in the same church? You can not be serious! Most movies rely on one or two coincidences to move the plot along, but this is just absurd. The fights just seem to drag on as does this movie. Peter's dark side is portrayed so comically, it's laughable. Sand Man's power is so ill-defined that it is not clear at all what this guy can do. Overall, this movie is the biggest movie disappointment since Matrix Revolutions. It gets an A for special effects, and Venom is nicely done (for the whole 10 minutes he appears in this movie), but the movie is a mess. And did I mention how bad this film is? I know you're going to watch it anyways. But you were warned. Expand
  5. May 11, 2012
    8
    With this Spider-Man you have a story that is different from its predecessors. Now there are multiple villains. It may seem like a lot to handle in one film, but somehow the action and story work out in the end. This is the most tragic Spider-Man of them all.
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    Spider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that it works too hard with way too many villans. First of all, if your gonna go ahead with spidey 3 then keep in mind that,ll you either be blown away or damnSpider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that it works too hard with way too many villans. First of all, if your gonna go ahead with spidey 3 then keep in mind that,ll you either be blown away or damn right disappointed. Mixed reviews are everywhere on the internet so watch with an open mind. First of all the fight scenes are amazing! oh and there's action! Real action with mind blowing CGI. However though, the film spins a messy plot going to the next character and then to the next one. It's also to note that once spidey goes bad, the film even try's to be funny showing a dance scene with peter ( no! you read that right!) a dance scene! You may just be mad with laughter or myble you,ll come across the WTF factor. Either way though despite the films flaws, spider-man 3 has a darker tone and message then the other two films and also has the beatiful message of forgiveness and choices in the film which to me, was what i found to be the best part of the film. The film wraps the triogly up greatly and by doing so changes the wall clawers orgin story. A riskly move i know and some people thought wrong of this but i for one thought that it payed off as it makes peter grow up more with forgiveness in his heart rather then revenage. Something that are own hearts lack and need to be taught with as well. We always have a choice to do the right thing and its why that this film has the best theme in all of three spider-man films. Spider-man 3 may not live up to spider-man 2 which is a true fact but bear in mind though that it has more heart then spider-man 2 and message. that even the best of us need to learn. Venom was myble a pointless figure in the film but to be honest i just think that venom was a relection of what peter could of become and also what we could become if we live with revenage in our own hearts forever. Don't expect venom to great in the film, let alone be that much in the film either but Raimi didn't even want this guy in the film but instead used him to tell the next story of peter parker. Oh and there's also a death in the film as well, two deaths actualy ( one a villian by no surprise since this a spider-man film) and one is just another message as well. A message that shows even if we can redeem are are selfs from bad choices, we,ll stay have to pay for what we chose to dofor making the wrong choice's in life. To sum it all up, spider-man 3, depsite it's faults, is the best spider-man film with a heart and message. Despite not reaching the level of spider-man 2, the final film has bearth taking CGI and finsh's off the triogy on level. Say what you what about this film, love it or hate it, people say only fans who read the comics only know how this is a bad film. Well guass what? This is coming from a big spider-man who loves the comics and also loves this film as well! There's troll's every where on the internet who rip this film to shreds but i don't care. There's more postive then negative reviews on this site, user's put a more postive reviews here which has out-weighed the bad ones so i know that there's other people who think the same as i do. It's not a bad film but a damn good fllm in it's own light. Besides, despite that spider-man 4 may be cancelled, spider-man 3 wrapped the franise up greatly and it did a damn fine job to end one of the most loved super-hero series ever to come. Expand
  7. May 31, 2012
    9
    Spider-man 3 was an epic superhero adventure. Everyone will love this movie. With intense violence, a great plot, and Marvel's coolest superhero, you can't help but like Spider-man 3.
  8. rajatshukla
    May 3, 2007
    6
    i am one of the biggest spidey fans...saw the premier show on 2 may ... but the movie was not upto my expectations... a lot of money has been spent on special effects(there r bout 7 to 8 fights as there are 3 villans) but its all hooj paoch.. story line is not as good as spidey 1 and 2... ending has been extended.. i think it could have been made much better if concentration was on onlyi am one of the biggest spidey fans...saw the premier show on 2 may ... but the movie was not upto my expectations... a lot of money has been spent on special effects(there r bout 7 to 8 fights as there are 3 villans) but its all hooj paoch.. story line is not as good as spidey 1 and 2... ending has been extended.. i think it could have been made much better if concentration was on only main characters like black spidey and sandman... toby could be seen without his spidey mask in action and hary osborn character is cool as green goblin!! Expand
  9. NathanC.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping poignancy shows that it is a brilliant underrated film of the DECADE!!! Also, Tobey Maguire was brilliant when he started to go bad, because it shows that A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping poignancy shows that it is a brilliant underrated film of the DECADE!!! Also, Tobey Maguire was brilliant when he started to go bad, because it shows that people should take on moral responsibility and shouldn't hold grudges. Expand
  10. EricCotter
    May 10, 2007
    3
    Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they should be bad. All the characters are emotionally distant. The fight scenes are all right, but nothing like those in the previous movies. Clearly Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they should be bad. All the characters are emotionally distant. The fight scenes are all right, but nothing like those in the previous movies. Clearly wanted to take the Batman aproach and be more dark and sinister, but failed so bad. Sam Raimi can do better, but now he'll probably never get the chance to redeem himself with the series. There have been talks of going on without him, and now it's obvious why. Expand
  11. EncylopediaBrown
    May 4, 2007
    0
    This is what it looks like when a franchise turns a gun on itself.
  12. JackB
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with friends and loved ones from the start. His character is developing and more so in this film than the previous 2. I'm not a fan of the comics, so im I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with friends and loved ones from the start. His character is developing and more so in this film than the previous 2. I'm not a fan of the comics, so im not sure about the history etc and can understand some fans anger, however purely as someone new to the film/series, i enjoyed it overall. I enjoyed seeing something a bit different. What irritated me was the lack of explanation, what on earth was that evil black thing? SPOLIER - When Harry pinned Mary Jane up against the wall then she dumped Peter, what was actually said there? The film however does provide some answers. Combine a decent script with a mega budget, plenty of action and a good cast and you're set. A good film to watch on a Saturday night with the family or a few mates...or the girlfriend. Personally i watched it alone and that was fine too! Expand
  13. Apr 7, 2012
    7
    As much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception of Topher Grace, casting was spot on. It's a fun filled ride but it isn't as fun as the first two were. still it's a worthy addition to your movieAs much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception of Topher Grace, casting was spot on. It's a fun filled ride but it isn't as fun as the first two were. still it's a worthy addition to your movie collection, especially blu-ray. Expand
  14. Nov 7, 2010
    8
    wasn't as good as the first two movies, but its visuals were still great
  15. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    best one in the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    "Spider man 3" is very impressive and astounding; Sam Raimi manages to give the obvious fresh joy and humor from the previous sequels and even throws in more villains. The Result? Perfect.
  17. MaxMooney
    May 2, 2007
    3
    Definitely the weakest of the three (what is it with Marvel #3's? X-Men 3 reaked as well). The audience I was with seemed bored throughout and laughed only once. And that was the Jonah Jameson pill scene. Not a good sign. I say let's leave it alone at 3 and NOT suit up for any more.
  18. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2007
    10
    The goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out. The worst the goo does to Peter is turn him into a finger-snapping hipster recalling the Buddy Love character in The Nutty Professor (both the JerryThe goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out. The worst the goo does to Peter is turn him into a finger-snapping hipster recalling the Buddy Love character in The Nutty Professor (both the Jerry Lewis and Eddie Murphy versions). But Raimi knows we'll never buy Peter as a dick. So he uses the scene for comic effect -- babes laugh at his cool act -- and in the process liberates Maguire from the goody-goody goo that Peter wears like a second skin. The worst thing Peter does is use Gwen to make MJ jealous. And in a typical Raimi touch, the director finds time to show Gwen apologize to MJ for letting herself be a pawn in a man's game.

    Spider-Man 3 is full of Raimi nuances. But the attack dogs are out in force. They see the film's budget (a reported $250 million) and the huge box-office take of the first two installments ($1.6 billion) as evidence that the filmmakers are in it for the money. Now there's a shock. Internet wags point out that Raimi, from a conservative Michigan family of Polish Jews, contributed $900 to Dubya's reelection campaign in 2004. What's next? Did Raimi phone in votes for Sanjaya? The third chapter in the Spidey saga (a fourth is in the planning stages) is uneven, ungainly and frayed at the edges but there's lively mischief in it still. My guess is that when the summer blockbuster season finishes pummeling us with formula, Spider-Man 3 is going to look like one of the few that was touched by human hands.
    Expand
  19. ZahidI.
    May 6, 2007
    6
    Along with the corny lines, Harry's $2 costume, the flurry [and rushing] of story lines, one thing disturbed me more than anything else: the depiction of supposedly Spiderman's most feared supervillain, VENOM. First of all, Venom lasted about 15 MIN of the entire 140 min! They don't even refer to him once as "Venom" either! He says "I" instead of "We." And according to the Along with the corny lines, Harry's $2 costume, the flurry [and rushing] of story lines, one thing disturbed me more than anything else: the depiction of supposedly Spiderman's most feared supervillain, VENOM. First of all, Venom lasted about 15 MIN of the entire 140 min! They don't even refer to him once as "Venom" either! He says "I" instead of "We." And according to the 90s cartoon he's supposed to be large, muscular, intimidating. Topher Grace played him, and I guess the directors decided to stick to the Ultimate Spiderman idea. He did a decent job playing Brock. But they should've either dedicated the entire film to one of the villains like Venom, or saved Venom for a 4th Spiderman and introduce him at the end of 3. Venom is the true anti-Spiderman. All these villains and *plotlines* has the audience not caring about the gravity of evilness the villains possess. It makes them look like a joke to viewers. CGI and nice special effects won't save a movie. Once again, Venom's in and out in 15-20. A dude who's supposed to be a big bad bastard, the scariest supervillain. Sam Raimi/Avi Arad/the other directors missed key plotpoints and overlooked a ton of things. They should've thought this one through longer, they had 3 years to do it! Reminds me of how Jay-Z disappointed w/his new album since he didn't spend much time recording/perfecting it. Expand
  20. CallumHunter
    May 19, 2007
    8
    i really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in the film was. i think so many people thought less of it because they were expecting this uber gritty and dark film, but thats just not how the spidermani really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in the film was. i think so many people thought less of it because they were expecting this uber gritty and dark film, but thats just not how the spiderman films have ever worked. sure it was a little cheesy but i loved every secong of it Expand
  21. JohnWashington
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This film is a masterpiece. Just ask the critics and the IMDB fans. This division is what creates nothing short of brilliance. If you want, you can disagree with it. But no one can argue that this movie certainly is entertaining, and that it has a heart to it and is a gripping tale of bitter humanity.
  22. ChrisHerbst
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    Not as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngest to see this one. Venom and his screams would give him nightmares. Still the best, by far, superhero movies ever. This one is the 2nd best of the three.Not as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngest to see this one. Venom and his screams would give him nightmares. Still the best, by far, superhero movies ever. This one is the 2nd best of the three. If I were to think about it a few more days, I may even move it up a bit more. Expand
  23. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    I understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only real problem w/ the movie is how little screen time Venom got. Raimi should have moved him to the 4th movie and kept the Sandman as the main villain. I feelI understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only real problem w/ the movie is how little screen time Venom got. Raimi should have moved him to the 4th movie and kept the Sandman as the main villain. I feel the Venom saga deserves its own movie. In conclusion, this is a good movie with a few problems. Expand
  24. Aug 24, 2010
    5
    How can you screw up Venom? They made a pure mockery of his character and overall persona -- not to mention Spider-Man himself. There is nothing wrong with going through an emotional time, but the overall presentation of Peter's gradual change is cheesy and disturbing.
  25. TylerGreene
    May 7, 2007
    10
    I thought this movie was the best in the series. I loved every Spider Man movie and this one was my fave. I don't understand why everyone is downing it so much. I was just like the other Spider Man's. This movie had great action, great story, and great dialogue, i loved everything about this movie. It was funny but also serious. This movie pulled off everything. Easy 10.
  26. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    Compared to the other Spider Man movies, this is bad. The history isn't nice as the first movie's and it's way less enjoyable. The enemy: Venom, is the nicest thing of the movie...probably one of the only things nice in it.
  27. JohnSturdivant
    May 4, 2007
    10
    this was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was way better than 2 and a little better than 1 not that much. but ff2: rise of the silver surfer will be better. i know it. so im done. i love the film andthis was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was way better than 2 and a little better than 1 not that much. but ff2: rise of the silver surfer will be better. i know it. so im done. i love the film and sm2 was shit. Expand
  28. ChrisVillegas
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever, idont know why people despyes so much this movie, the story is soo cool, and the fight scenes, why do they say that is exagerated? is spiderman, not batman, i mean, come on, its a super hero story, or did you wanted to see another superman returns version? that really sucked!! give spidey a chance.
  29. Chrisbo
    May 6, 2007
    1
    , I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North America). I'm sad to say, I was let down by the third film.

    The biggest issue by far is the fact that there are FAR too many story lines going on at
    , I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North America). I'm sad to say, I was let down by the third film.

    The biggest issue by far is the fact that there are FAR too many story lines going on at once. The movie feels very bogged down and not nearly enough time is given for proper character development.

    In this movie, there is Spiderman, Mary Jane, Gwen Stacey, "New" Goblin Venom and Sandman. Each character is given the bare amount of time for development.

    I'm assuming that since most of the cast is non-committal to returning for a fourth movie, the filmmakers decided to throw as many stories into this movie in case it was the end. It really takes away from the movie as a whole.

    The other big issue I have is the very forced sense of humor the movie tries to take. From a very lame riff on John Travolta's walk from "Saturday night fever" to watching Peter Parker dance to jazz music, a lot of the humor feels like it's was written for a SNL sketch.

    There is a very poor ending involving Spiderman and Sandman that defies logic.

    I sincerely hope this is NOT the last Spiderman film, because if it is, it's certainly not the best way for the series to end. None of the magic and originality of the second film are here. I hope that a decision is made to do a fourth film and I hope if a fourth film is made, the filmmakers decide to go back to what made the second film so special.

    ** out of *****
    Expand
  30. eeganrac
    May 8, 2007
    2
    the movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke. the syboite (don't know how it is spelled) comes from a meteor, omfg this is 2007, not 1967! I liked the first spider-man, the second was justthe movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke. the syboite (don't know how it is spelled) comes from a meteor, omfg this is 2007, not 1967! I liked the first spider-man, the second was just stolen from superman II. i would advise anyone to just wait until this movie is on dvd, cause it is an abomination! Nothing like at the end of the movie having sandman, and spider-man crying, wtf! please do not make another spider-man movie. if you go and see this movie than you are part of the problem. Expand
  31. WaylandMcAwesome
    May 5, 2007
    2
    Spiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turned into a great trilogy. My dreams were shattered tonight. Mr. Raimi, I hope you are happy, because you have killed the dreams of little Wayland. ForSpiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turned into a great trilogy. My dreams were shattered tonight. Mr. Raimi, I hope you are happy, because you have killed the dreams of little Wayland. For your sake, I hope your next project is to invent a time machine, go back in time, and save little Wayland. Expand
  32. YoriD
    May 8, 2007
    5
    BLAAAAAH...went in expecting less after feedback from other people that saw it and it was still worse than i thought...too long...and too long for all the wrong reasons...WTF were those saturday night fever/gi joe/dirty dancing scenes doing in this movie...there was some horrible acting as well...disappointed to say the least...are you sure it was the same director?...i would have seen itBLAAAAAH...went in expecting less after feedback from other people that saw it and it was still worse than i thought...too long...and too long for all the wrong reasons...WTF were those saturday night fever/gi joe/dirty dancing scenes doing in this movie...there was some horrible acting as well...disappointed to say the least...are you sure it was the same director?...i would have seen it no matter what as i fell in love with everything in the previous ones...whoever edited this one should be slowly devoured by venom...or just forced to watch this over and over again til their sanity caves in... :(

    ps fx and action scenes deserve some recognition..only reason i didnt give it a -5
    Expand
  33. Jul 20, 2012
    6
    What the hell was this crap? Sam Raimi, after your masterpiece superhero film, Spider-Man 2 I expected so much more from you. Sure, the movie was funny in some points but the story was downright terrible. Venom had like three minutes of screen time and the Sandman was just lame. The dialogue was cheesy and there was nothing to go on. Spider-Man 3 was one of the biggest disappointments forWhat the hell was this crap? Sam Raimi, after your masterpiece superhero film, Spider-Man 2 I expected so much more from you. Sure, the movie was funny in some points but the story was downright terrible. Venom had like three minutes of screen time and the Sandman was just lame. The dialogue was cheesy and there was nothing to go on. Spider-Man 3 was one of the biggest disappointments for movie-goers and Spidey fans, both. Expand
  34. asoyke
    May 5, 2007
    3
    This was not a good movie. Shame on you Sam Raimi. You should change your name to Shlong Raimi, because that's how bad this movie was. Please don't cry about it. I got enough of that out of every single scene in the movie. Way to mess up a trilogy. Next time someone wants to pay you to direct a movie, please have them give my balls a call, because they could make a better movie.
  35. Mar 6, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Spider-Man movie yet, the stupid story and TERRIBLE plot twist with Sandman was RETARDED!!!! and they completely shafted Venom, even though it's so flawed I still got enjoyment out of this, this will sharply divide fans.
  36. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Seeing this for the first time in the cinema, I must admit I was impressed, but I also left the feeling with a problem that I couldn't quite put my finger on, and when I watched it again, an again, the problems threw themselves at me to the point where I felt so disappointed, I didn't hate Spider-Man 3, but after such a strong and excellent second outing for our hero, the third tried to goSeeing this for the first time in the cinema, I must admit I was impressed, but I also left the feeling with a problem that I couldn't quite put my finger on, and when I watched it again, an again, the problems threw themselves at me to the point where I felt so disappointed, I didn't hate Spider-Man 3, but after such a strong and excellent second outing for our hero, the third tried to go bigger and bigger to the point where they seemed to lose track of characters, plot lines and an overall sense of enjoyment.
    A relatively unknown and unexplained symbiote crash lands on earth, and this makes for some very interesting changes in the personality of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire), who continues to date the woman he loves, albeit with plenty of speed bumps along the way. Peter also has to deal with his estranged friend Harry, who now has a very ruthless side and his very own alter-ego, someone who causes problems for Spider-Man, but not alone. The film paves the way for not one, not two, but three villains. Just as can be imagined, it becomes messy and confusing with a bewildering and awkward love triangle, a very powerful villain who has a quick backstory and thats it, we have a villain in the form of Venom who could be touted as one of the most famous of foes, but the most underused and wrongly portrayed characters in film, rushed and overblown are a few choice words.
    Its just difficult to heighten any sense of character in these new foes, with a weak script which doesn't explore them with enough depth or gratifying belief that they could even contend with Doc Ock of the second film. They seem more like plot devices to move the story along, and Venom seemed to be used as a oh no, we forgot we had Venom shown earlier, stick him into that scene" type scenario. With this comes the vastly different main characters, who now seem like the kids they should have portrayed in the first film but are coming up late, with the lack of humour definitely apparent.
    But the action and visuals continue to come up top marks, with the birth of Sandman being a particularly impressive scene which one of the limited marvels of the film, some of the action sequences were excellent, many just seemed to help knock up the budget with no relevance at all to the story. There is certainly a different, darker and much more gritty attitude in the third and final instalment of the Sam Raimi/Tobey Maguire era, but it moves too fast and leaves too many characters out in the cold, adding up to a disappointing and ultimately messy affair.
    Expand
  37. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    Not bad, not good either. It has some really good scenes. It has some really bad scenes. Which genius thought it would be a great idea to cast Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Eddie Brock/Venom is meant to be the opposite to Parker both physically and mentally. Grace does do a good job at nailing Brock/Venom's mentality but he just does not look the part. Brock/Venom was meant to be muchNot bad, not good either. It has some really good scenes. It has some really bad scenes. Which genius thought it would be a great idea to cast Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Eddie Brock/Venom is meant to be the opposite to Parker both physically and mentally. Grace does do a good job at nailing Brock/Venom's mentality but he just does not look the part. Brock/Venom was meant to be much bigger. A body builder in comparison to Spider-Man. As to Emo-Peter I think pretty much everyone else has said what is need to be said about this. Thomas Haden Church on the other hand is perhaps the only saving grace of this movie. He was an excellent Sandman. In fact I could even go so far as to say his version is even superior to the one in the comics. Sandman was always just a side character, but Church really did give him some depth and reason. Overall: Spider-Man 3 as a whole isn't terrible but it has just got far, far too many ideas floating about that are just underdeveloped. As if Raimi was trying to please too many people at once. Expand
  38. Mar 3, 2011
    4
    When I saw the poster and trailer of this movie, I was excited to see this movie in theatres. But when I saw it, it wasn't what I expected. I think this was the goofiest Spiderman movie that I wish was fixed. My friends absolutly hated this movie and called it "The Worst Spiderman Movie EVER", it was out of control. I only met one person that actually LOVED this movie, I don't know whatWhen I saw the poster and trailer of this movie, I was excited to see this movie in theatres. But when I saw it, it wasn't what I expected. I think this was the goofiest Spiderman movie that I wish was fixed. My friends absolutly hated this movie and called it "The Worst Spiderman Movie EVER", it was out of control. I only met one person that actually LOVED this movie, I don't know what type of drugs he was taking during the movie. To me, I didn't like it either. The first problem, is that it had too many villians in 1 film (Goblin Jr., Sandman, Venom, and Dark Spiderman). Second, Venom was only on film for about 10 minutes, I have know idea how they can put my favorite villian in the last minutes of the film. Third, Emo Peter, he was just so goofy when he had that black suit, it made Spiderman look like a joke than a badass. Forth, the dance scene, this shouldn't have ever been put in a Spiderman movie at all. I think this was more of a spoof comic book movie, like "Batman and Robin". But others say, "This should not be part of the trilogy, it should't be called Spiderman 3". And suprisingly, I agree to that. If people liked this movie, thats fine. I didn't like it. Expand
  39. Feb 27, 2013
    2
    You can only assume that Raimi intended to make a comedy but changed his mind at the last minute. Peter Parker dances away his credibility and the potential for a sequel.
  40. Oct 17, 2012
    4
    A clunky, uneven, too villain-filled, disappointing conclusion to The Spiderman Trilogy. That's a shame because the movie looked amazing from all the theatrical shorts and tv trailers. What we got was an over-the-top Tobey Magurie going all emo on us and performing a ridiculous dance scene in a bar later on in the movie. Does that sound like what you'd expect from a movie that has Venom inA clunky, uneven, too villain-filled, disappointing conclusion to The Spiderman Trilogy. That's a shame because the movie looked amazing from all the theatrical shorts and tv trailers. What we got was an over-the-top Tobey Magurie going all emo on us and performing a ridiculous dance scene in a bar later on in the movie. Does that sound like what you'd expect from a movie that has Venom in it?!?!?!

    If it wasn't for the guy who played Eddie Brock, then the film would have been okay to watch. However, the "birth of The Sandman is just an amazing scene and the only memorable part of the movie for me.
    Expand
  41. EddieB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    The best comedic/action flick according to date, in the year of 2007. The theme of humanity and forgiveness is beautiful. Learn to love and stop hating from within.
  42. Chris
    May 12, 2007
    3
    This was a painful experience. They used every superhero cliche in the book. It was manipulative, ignorant, and just plain stupid. Every time I see a good review on here, I shudder, because it supports my belief that our culture is utterly brain dead. What a waste of film.
  43. Iamnotacritic
    May 4, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie more than any other spider-man movie or maybe even any other comic book movie or maybe even my children. kthx go see it i like spider-man.
  44. J
    May 11, 2007
    3
    This movie was... BAD. Atrocious dialogue. Good special effects. Terrible fight scenes in terms of scripted action - very mediocre. Blah.
  45. PaulDavies
    May 15, 2007
    1
    i didnt rate this movie number one cause i think i would be cool to be like yea its number 1. i think that anyone who liked this movie should should be hit over the head with a very heavy object and shunned in society aka eddie. but i think also that u might see some action if u ended up in the wrong movie but thats the only way. Ben ur right this movie sucked hard then paris hilton!
  46. DaveM
    May 15, 2007
    5
    I'm very disappointed, but at least I know why: too many villains (1 that finally isn't, he's just misunderstood.........), too many plot lines (useless was to involve Sandman in uncle Ben's death), not enough Venom, too much attempted comedy. What saves this movie is the special effects (10/10 for Sandman) but that's not enough seing how good the 2nd Spidey was....
  47. Enrique
    May 4, 2007
    0
    A big, resounding bomb!
  48. giancarlob
    May 18, 2007
    0
    this movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentally retarted.............. i thought that for being a sequel it sucked .......... if ur going to give spiderman the black suit the movie has to be dark............this movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentally retarted.............. i thought that for being a sequel it sucked .......... if ur going to give spiderman the black suit the movie has to be dark............ really dark not just kinda dark with a nerd thinking hes cool for one scene........... i hated this movie so much i just wana say it like 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times !!!!!!!! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! Expand
  49. phildougherty
    May 28, 2007
    0
    i feel bad for sam rammie and all of the actors.
    this movie was rushed the whole time, just to have mindless action, with to many characters. also i love how the black spiderman outfit is every where in advertisments but only 2 seconds in the movie. oh and one more thing sam rammie didnt even want to put venium in the movie!!!!
  50. Jan 29, 2011
    3
    i was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . he is my favorite comic book hero/villian . even when i heard topher grace was gona be eddie brock i still stayed positive . not like i have any thingi was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . he is my favorite comic book hero/villian . even when i heard topher grace was gona be eddie brock i still stayed positive . not like i have any thing against topher i like him in that 70s show but really!? topher grace .... as eddie brock ... yeeaaaah... not the right choice on that casting call. they just destroyed him in this film and after hearing rami's excuse of venom was to much of a 1 demensional charicter and not intresting enough to star as the villian just proved that rami was not the spider-man fan he said he was and had no buisness in hell touching this film. there was to much going on and not enough devolpment on really any thing and yes the dance seen with parker was rancid dog ass. the action was great but thats the only thing in this movie that was great. the plot of this should have started out with spider-man fighting scorpion in the first half of the film and gettin the black suite and needing it to beat him then focused on venom second half . then having spidy beating Venom and NOT for the love of god killing him and then bringing in Venom and Carnage tag teaming spider man in the next movie. that would have been awsome and i would have praised sam rami as a freekin genous and true spider-man fan . i wana say he's a giant douchebag... but he still mad Army of darkness which is a freekin awsome movie .so ill just call him a dumb ass for now. Expand
  51. Feb 19, 2011
    4
    Such a disappointing film after the incredible Spider-Man 2. Way too many storylines and way too many villains. The Sandman's storyline was intriguing, and I enjoyed watching James Franco's transformation, but they were buried among a handful of other plots. After this film I guess there was little chance of Raimi saving this franchise making a re-boot necessary. It's a shame because ISuch a disappointing film after the incredible Spider-Man 2. Way too many storylines and way too many villains. The Sandman's storyline was intriguing, and I enjoyed watching James Franco's transformation, but they were buried among a handful of other plots. After this film I guess there was little chance of Raimi saving this franchise making a re-boot necessary. It's a shame because I really enjoyed Tobey Maguire as Spider-Man and the first two films in the series were very promising. Expand
  52. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the worst of the bunch. The special effects and action scenes are absolutely fantastic in this movie, but that's about it's only redeeming feature. The love scenes throughout this movie just scream awkward and just had me wanting to skip over them. I really can't get over how wrong Kirsten Dunst was for the role of MJ, she doesn't even try to act like Mary Jane, she just gets thrown a couple of script lines that are what you might call Mary Jane Watson's catchphrases. Another problem with this movie, was that there were so many villains, that you didn't feel any emotional connection to any of them. I'll start with the Green Goblin (Harry Osborn), I think one word can describe the major screw-up here "snowboard" or "skateboard" what ever you think best describes his new glider. Seriously, what the hell were they thinking? He didn't even get given the awesome suit that the original Green Goblin had! Now Venom; probably my favourite Spider-man villain ever, he deserved so much more, he should have had a film dedicated to him and not had to share the movie with the Green Goblin AND the Sandman. I didn't have a problem with the actor playing Eddie Brock but his hatred toward's Spider-man just got brushed over and I felt like his hate towards him was irrational.
    If you look at this film on paper it should have been fantastic, but I just feel like something went terribly wrong after the last movie. I think with everything that got put into this one, the movie and it's characters got stretched very thin and it lost what the last two had. Thankgod spider-man is getting a reboot, it definitely needs it after this one.
    Expand
  53. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Just like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantastic story with much Oscar-worthy finesse (Sandman's creation, anyone?).

    One of my favourite movies and I hope The Amazing Spider-Man 2 can live up to
    Just like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantastic story with much Oscar-worthy finesse (Sandman's creation, anyone?).

    One of my favourite movies and I hope The Amazing Spider-Man 2 can live up to this amazing trilogy.
    Expand
  54. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    Disappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on to focus its sights on one thing. Additionally, the unnecessary cheese and goofiness made the story difficult to take seriously, making for a film thatDisappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on to focus its sights on one thing. Additionally, the unnecessary cheese and goofiness made the story difficult to take seriously, making for a film that equaled the death of a series. Expand
  55. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    Spider-Man 3's problems stem from its bloated and convoluted story. From multiple villains to love triangles to a symbiote-driven personality change, Spider-Man 3 tries to do in one movie what others would try to do in multiple. In choosing to tackle so much, this movie was destined to come up short. Having three villains in any movie, let alone a superhero movie, was always going toSpider-Man 3's problems stem from its bloated and convoluted story. From multiple villains to love triangles to a symbiote-driven personality change, Spider-Man 3 tries to do in one movie what others would try to do in multiple. In choosing to tackle so much, this movie was destined to come up short. Having three villains in any movie, let alone a superhero movie, was always going to result in at least one bad guy getting sidelined. This honor falls onto Venom, a character which Sam Raimi did not want to include and boy does it show. His screen time is short and he always has the air of being unnecessary and out of place. As for Sandman, though he is visually impressive, his entry into the back story feels shoehorned in and unnatural. Dialogue is hampered by occasionally poor acting and the stunting of character growth (Mary Jane is the biggest offender). There is a real lack of an emotional cor to this movie, with each actor appearing to be going through the motions. The exception is Tobey Maquire who seems to enjoy Peter's narcissistic and selfish persona. Action scenes are high quality, entertaining and well realized. The problem is that with a lack of a well-constructed story and genuine emotions, these scenes are often hollow. Expand
  56. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    oh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in my lifetime.And it is all thanks to spider-man.Can't believe they decided to actually make a third instalment they should not have never madeoh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in my lifetime.And it is all thanks to spider-man.Can't believe they decided to actually make a third instalment they should not have never made spider-man from the beginning they would have saved lots of money and would have saved us from utter bordem.Again this goes straight into the worst movies in history list. Expand
  57. Aug 25, 2011
    5
    A really big disappointment and a movie about half as good as Spider-Man 2. There are too many villains and the acting is a huge drop from the first two.
  58. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    lol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don't know if its just me but the ending brought me to near tears; lol a great movie definantly; I would recommend anyone to just go in, watch the movie,lol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don't know if its just me but the ending brought me to near tears; lol a great movie definantly; I would recommend anyone to just go in, watch the movie, and watch it on your own behalf; just because someone here said the movie was bad doesn't mean its bad; vice versa for good; lol

    the only problem I had with this movie was that venom didn't get enough spotlight; sandman got more attention than venom and venom didn't get enough development; also the guy who played venom didn't really fit the persona of what I pictured venom to be; I always pictured venom to be this big buff guy that bullied peter parker but this actor failed to pull off that image lol still I suppose I he did a decent job of being venom lol he did get the cockiness of venom down pretty well lol

    solid 8, great movie!
    Expand
  59. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Depois do 2° se perdeu literalmente.
  60. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    I wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they even tried to make us concerned that this might be the end of Spidey, but it looked so sappy I wanted him to die and be done with. There were a few goodI wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they even tried to make us concerned that this might be the end of Spidey, but it looked so sappy I wanted him to die and be done with. There were a few good scenes when Spidey turns dark, but nothing can really redeem this piece of garbage. Expand
  61. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    Se daño un poco la saga sin embargo tiene su encanto de Hombre araña que demuestra en la primera y segunda parte, De un modo Peter Parker saca su lado oscuro de una forma no muy chevere tal vez al ponerle mas accion se perdio el hombre araña que habia antes
  62. May 4, 2014
    3
    This is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. The acting is clunky, the story is so tangled (no pun intended) and character motivations are constantly questions. things happen by coincidence...good callThis is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. The acting is clunky, the story is so tangled (no pun intended) and character motivations are constantly questions. things happen by coincidence...good call sony to get rid of Spidey 4 and bring in the new ones. Expand
  63. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    סרט הספיידרמן הכי גורע שראינו, לא כדאי לראות. סרט שהרס לא מעט דמויות מהקומיקס של ספיידרמן. יש כמה סצינות שממש פדיחה בכלל לראות אותם. סרט שכל המעריצים של ספיידרמן התאכזבו ממנו, בעיקר בגלל שבו נהרסה הדמות של ונום
  64. TheLex
    May 4, 2007
    5
    Dissapointing. Bad dialogue. Bad Venom. Weak ending. What a waste of 280+ million.
  65. DanG.
    May 4, 2007
    5
    For one I just thought that the spider man movies were already garbage. The second one was full of cliches and I just couldn't imagine why they made a third... Karl I just want you to know that obviously you should not have gone to see a movie that no one should like regardless and no I havent and will never waste my time going to see trash like this. Thanks for the warning maybe you For one I just thought that the spider man movies were already garbage. The second one was full of cliches and I just couldn't imagine why they made a third... Karl I just want you to know that obviously you should not have gone to see a movie that no one should like regardless and no I havent and will never waste my time going to see trash like this. Thanks for the warning maybe you should heed your own advice... Expand
  66. BillS.
    May 4, 2007
    4
    1 and 2 are much much better. half of it doesnt make sense logically. the special effects have already been done in 1 and 2. but in 3 its over done. and the movie feels like 100 things jammed into 2 hours.
  67. Ethnee
    May 4, 2007
    3
    TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus the quiet and trite addition of "The Notebook" yes! It seems like they can never be satisfied. Spiderman 1&2 definately hit the spot, but 3...just TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus the quiet and trite addition of "The Notebook" yes! It seems like they can never be satisfied. Spiderman 1&2 definately hit the spot, but 3...just makes you wish it would have ended at 2! Expand
  68. PabloE.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Sandman was a brilliant and worthy character in the Spiderman movies, but all of the supervillains got shortchanged by being crammed in the allotted time slot. Still, all of them showed a human side that shows us that we as human beings can choose to be good or evil, to repent, and to do good things in our daily lives.
  69. PO.D
    May 5, 2007
    4
    Just walk away Sam, just walk away, and take the cast with you. Or Spider-man will soon turn into the walking dead. And someone lobotomize Avi Arad and Sony executives concerned for press ganging Venom into the movie. 1 villain and plot line too many. And the film isn't even fun, not even with the set-pieces. Sad, real sad. My spider-sense is clearly tingling for the franchise now. Just walk away Sam, just walk away, and take the cast with you. Or Spider-man will soon turn into the walking dead. And someone lobotomize Avi Arad and Sony executives concerned for press ganging Venom into the movie. 1 villain and plot line too many. And the film isn't even fun, not even with the set-pieces. Sad, real sad. My spider-sense is clearly tingling for the franchise now. Batman & Robin it ain't, but there's a faint whiff of X3 and further doom if this be the case. Expand
  70. SteveB.
    May 5, 2007
    6
    After the mansion fight scene between Peter and Harry I hoped it would be more like Burton's Batman instead of Schumacher's Batman. Regardless, it was a fair movie overall. I think that they had a chance to make it a better, grittier film, but with $300 million and change at risk they took the safer route.
  71. JoanG.
    May 5, 2007
    2
    Dreadful. Characters, plotlines, and completely different tones are mashed together incoherently. My audience laughed at parts that were supposed to be heartfelt, and squirmed at what was supposed to be funny. And I loved the first two movies. How did Sam Rami go so wrong?
  72. TomK.
    May 6, 2007
    8
    The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't explore the characters to the deep; but it's already done in the previous films, most of the characters are the same, so nothing would get you a The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't explore the characters to the deep; but it's already done in the previous films, most of the characters are the same, so nothing would get you a new information about the characters. The end of the movie turned down to be the weakest part of the movie, but when you remember the other parts of the movie you see how it was an excellent way to end this trilogy. Expand
  73. Lucasboyd
    May 6, 2007
    5
    First off, the only super-hero franchise to successfully pull off multiple heroes in one film (on the big screen) is X-Men. That said, I must admit I was not happy with this film; it's as if the writers realized something was "magical" in Spider-man 2 and decided to REALLY take it over the top. Corn-ball dialogue (even worse than Star Wars), confusing fight scenes, and even a "group First off, the only super-hero franchise to successfully pull off multiple heroes in one film (on the big screen) is X-Men. That said, I must admit I was not happy with this film; it's as if the writers realized something was "magical" in Spider-man 2 and decided to REALLY take it over the top. Corn-ball dialogue (even worse than Star Wars), confusing fight scenes, and even a "group hug" moment to emphasize "forgiveness" as the "central theme...gimme a break! I got all weepy-eyed at the end, not so much due to the overly dramatic and sappy final scenes, but because I paid over $60.00 bucks for my family and me to see this dreadfully mediocre film; I could have just opurchased a copy of "Command and Conquer" for the XBOX 360 and at least get some replay value, but I digress. This film is a rental! Expand
  74. MattS.
    May 9, 2007
    6
    I enjoyed this film, but ultimately, I found it a disappointment. It is, however, my son's favorite movie of all time, a position previously held by "Night at the Museum".
  75. KyleW.
    May 9, 2007
    2
    Not nearly enough action, dragged on too long with scenes full of dull sappy scenes. and the whole movie was ruined with the stupid display of peter parker trying to act cool and "badass".
  76. StuC.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Had a great time at this flick! Favorite movie of the year, and my favorite Spiderman movie. The action and effects can't be beat, and much more enjoyable to me than Shrek 3 or POTC 3. This one furthers the character plotlines established in the previous 2. Great time at the movies!
  77. JerkGuy
    Oct 2, 2007
    3
    Spiderman is my favorite of Marvel comic hero
  78. KirbyD.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    This movie was excellent on all counts: story, action, effects, development, and continuity with the other 2. These low scores are atrocious, people are being way to over critical. Sit back and enjoy 2.3 hour's of top notch entertainment.
  79. EddieM.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    First of all, the action in this movie was breathtaking, and second of all they took the comedy too far yes, but it was supposed to be funny, Sam Raimi did a phenomanal job with this movie and it does deserve alot more credit than it actually does. Ben Brown, im the sheriff in these parts.
  80. Jefframone
    May 10, 2007
    4
    WORST. SEQUEL. EVER. God this movie was long. Way too much going on. Tobey McGuire has got to be the worst actor since Ben Affleck to don a superhero costume. This was just a really pathetic attempt. I hope they don't make any more because it's just embarassing.
  81. ChristopherW.
    May 22, 2007
    3
    I've got many of the same criticisms of many fans and critics. The film is excessively uneven in tone, too cluttered with villians, uncomfortably silly at times, and the pacing annoyingly moves in fits and starts. Even the hugely expensive special effects seem uninvolving and lifeless. What's more, the script is weak and creates a rather unengaging and, at many times, downright I've got many of the same criticisms of many fans and critics. The film is excessively uneven in tone, too cluttered with villians, uncomfortably silly at times, and the pacing annoyingly moves in fits and starts. Even the hugely expensive special effects seem uninvolving and lifeless. What's more, the script is weak and creates a rather unengaging and, at many times, downright boring 2hr. 20min. misfire. Oh, did I mention the film is overlong. Yikes! Sam Raimi clearly has burnout. Too bad! Expand
  82. CharlieB.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Hell Yeah!! Everything I want in a Spider-Man movie. Chock full of action, humor, and pathos. Is it a perfect film? Maybe not. But it is a perfect COMIC BOOK MOVIE. As Harry Osborne says to the waitress, "It's Sooo GOOOD!"
  83. ChrisB.
    May 4, 2007
    3
    Spider-Man 3 should have been incredible. It should have been an epic wrap up to, what would have been, a great trilogy. However, it falls into the same pitfalls as "X3: The Last Stand." There are too many characters that are poorly developed and the performances, for the most part, were sub-par. The voice acting for Venom was awful and Sandman just was not that interesting of a villan. Spider-Man 3 should have been incredible. It should have been an epic wrap up to, what would have been, a great trilogy. However, it falls into the same pitfalls as "X3: The Last Stand." There are too many characters that are poorly developed and the performances, for the most part, were sub-par. The voice acting for Venom was awful and Sandman just was not that interesting of a villan. The showdown between Spider-Man and Harry was underwhelming and the action was just really corny. The dialogue left alot to be desired, particularly the chessey lines used by Peter Parker when he turns to the darkside. It was pure camp and a true testament to style over substance. No moment particularly thrilled me and the ending was an enourmous cop-out. Even if you are a die-hard fan of the serious, avoid this film. Just pretend it doesn't exist and go believe that some day there will be a competant director to take on Spider-Man; one who gives us the truly epic conclusion that we all wanted in this one. Expand
  84. CarsonK.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    I thought that the effects were amazing and the villains were tremendous. When everything is sort of o.k. and mellow for Peter the story is a little less interesting, but this is still my favorite spiderman movie.
  85. DoubtingThomas
    May 4, 2007
    2
    Completely disappointing. The only good parts are the ones that are unintentionally funny. Cliche-o-rama script, canned dialogue, contrived plot twists. Wouldn't have even been good as a comic book. Any action fantasy film starts out with a character as Broadway chanteuse - you know it's all downhill from there. Save the $10, and watch #1 or #2 again.
  86. AnnW.
    May 4, 2007
    3
    A very boring movie. The thin characters were totally overwhelmed by the desperately clever, but uninspiring special effects.
  87. JimD.
    May 4, 2007
    8
    If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't deny that fact. Expand
  88. JazzT.
    May 4, 2007
    5
    A massive disappointment. It's too long. It's too complicated. It's too corny. Half the time it doesn't even take its self seriously, and the acting (for the most part) was LAME. It's like everyone thought they were making a comic book on film instead of a deep, mature film. That said, the movie did have amazing special effects and a few great scenes. Though, I A massive disappointment. It's too long. It's too complicated. It's too corny. Half the time it doesn't even take its self seriously, and the acting (for the most part) was LAME. It's like everyone thought they were making a comic book on film instead of a deep, mature film. That said, the movie did have amazing special effects and a few great scenes. Though, I wish I had never seen this poorly done sequel, especially at a midnight release party. I'm afraid to go back and watch the near masterpiece Spider-Man 2 was, now knowing what lies in Spideys' future. Do your self a favor and rent this one on DVD. Though, if you absolutely have to see this one, leave your expectations for greatness at the door. Expand
  89. M.Lee
    May 4, 2007
    7
    It's not as bad a some make it out to be. There's nowhere as much character development as in 1 and 2. Why should there be? You've seen these characters for 5 hours on film already, why do you need that much more? There's a lot more action, and as a side-effect, too much CGI. I think this film has become a victim of too much hype, and too much footage already released It's not as bad a some make it out to be. There's nowhere as much character development as in 1 and 2. Why should there be? You've seen these characters for 5 hours on film already, why do you need that much more? There's a lot more action, and as a side-effect, too much CGI. I think this film has become a victim of too much hype, and too much footage already released in trailers and "sneak peeks". Venom looked AWESOME. Just wish he had more than just 30 mins or so. It's better than 2, not a good as 1. It's a film that you'll like more and more, the more you see it. There's too many smaller nuances that you miss in one viewing with all the action. The biggest flaw was not enough JK Simmons. He always steals the movie, and he just isn't in this one enough. Expand
  90. DanielH.
    May 4, 2007
    4
    Wow this was the most corny movie i have ever seen. It was like all the actors forgot how to act. I am mad i wasted 2 hours of my time to that horrible movie.
  91. JimD.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't deny that fact. Expand
  92. GaborA.
    May 5, 2007
    4
    Scoring this movie is actually fairly challenging. There's really no point in mentioning the first two cuz even though i didnt really like them they were at least attempts at decent movies. On the other hand SM3 can only really be compared to something along the lines of Daredevil. These are super hero movies that are so bad they are laughable. "Laughable" being the key word in that Scoring this movie is actually fairly challenging. There's really no point in mentioning the first two cuz even though i didnt really like them they were at least attempts at decent movies. On the other hand SM3 can only really be compared to something along the lines of Daredevil. These are super hero movies that are so bad they are laughable. "Laughable" being the key word in that sentence. I know its a common reviewers joke/hyperbole to say "I laughed when it was supposed to be dramatic," but theres absolutely no better way to describe this movie. I dont even know if i would recommend this movie to a friend considering it was mind bogglingly terrible yet i laughed twice as hard as i did during Hot Fuzz. Its like Raimi unintentionally almost made Evil Dead 3 instead of spider man. Expand
  93. AnsonG.
    May 5, 2007
    3
    This movie lost all the fun and interest about it.That's how they're ending the Spider-Man series? The acting is poor. The writing is predictable and cheesy. The action, which the Spider-Man series has been so good at portraying, was jumpy and short-lived. I couldn't believe that the plot had to go in so many directions. It was a bit hard to follow at times and did not lend This movie lost all the fun and interest about it.That's how they're ending the Spider-Man series? The acting is poor. The writing is predictable and cheesy. The action, which the Spider-Man series has been so good at portraying, was jumpy and short-lived. I couldn't believe that the plot had to go in so many directions. It was a bit hard to follow at times and did not lend itself to character development. Although the same writers and directors were employed for this installment, it seemed like they were grasping at air. Take everything that you liked from the previous movies and make it completely over-done. They should have stuck to a single villain because there is not a lot of development of the Sandman character. It also suffers from the success and critical acclaim of the first two movies in that the movie tries to include every good thing but fails miserably in the amalgamation. The previews make it look great and totally appealing but you can really show an extremely lacking plot in a 30 second TV spot. Yes it will make a boatload of money but that can't overrule how utterly disappointing this first summer blockbuster is. Expand
  94. JimboH.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Top flight action, good all around characters and plot.
  95. TedB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    This film was decent. I liked it. It wasn't too bad, it had tidbits of good humor, as well as a good cast, and action. All around good, enjoyable film.
  96. ChrisA.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Powerfully gripping, and touching film, and Harry Osborn was actually good in this film. Too bad the Eddie Brock character seemed inconsistent, and the plot seemed rushed. Haydn Church was great in the bit role as the down on his luck, the good-hearted but criminally Sandman, and this film was awesome. Good storyline, and buddy buddy film.
  97. Snortch
    May 5, 2007
    1
    This movie has about as appealing as freshly mowed over dog poop. I love SM and I enjoyed the first 2, but this one was really a waste. My eyes about rolled to the back of my head in several scenes...especially the contrived spidey swinging in slow motion in front of the American flag...as if to say that Venom and Sandman are the terrorists...was surprised that the Proud to be American This movie has about as appealing as freshly mowed over dog poop. I love SM and I enjoyed the first 2, but this one was really a waste. My eyes about rolled to the back of my head in several scenes...especially the contrived spidey swinging in slow motion in front of the American flag...as if to say that Venom and Sandman are the terrorists...was surprised that the Proud to be American song didnt make it in there. Guhhh...what a waste! Expand
  98. ChuckB.
    May 5, 2007
    3
    Predicable story and film school dialogue
  99. DavidR.
    May 5, 2007
    2
    I was generous with this high of a rating. The movie was awful!! I went to see an action film not a stupid comedy. Putting a huge american flag behind spider man is ridiculous!! Venom is a beast in the comics but he is merely a witty Topher Grace in this one. DO NOT see this movie if you like the first 2. Like X-Men they ruined the whole serious in one shot.
  100. BigRed
    May 5, 2007
    6
    Who would have thought that I would actually want to leave a Spider-Man movie?
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. The wow factor works overtime with state-of-the-art effects sequences that often are as beautiful as they are astonishing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    A sense of strain envelops the proceedings this time around. One can feel the effort required to suit up one more time, come up with fresh variations on a winning formula and inject urgency into a format that basically needs to be repeated and, due to audience expectations, can't be toyed with or deepened very much.
  3. 75
    Overly long and complicated, it's packed with crowd-pleasing moments and satisfactorily wraps up the trilogy - without quite capturing the magic of the first two installments.