User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 981 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulT.
    May 4, 2007
    6
    A bit too long and I would of prefered a more good vs evil movie, with at least one bad guy from start to finish. But still nice to look at and a laugh at times.
  2. BenS.
    May 4, 2007
    1
    A train wreck of a film. The super-generic misunderstanding that leads to a rift between Peter and MJ seems like something out of the worst episode of the worst soap opera ever. The overdone action scenes made up less than 10% of the film, and were terribly paced. The only thing that held me from walking out was the in-theater response. I normally burn with rage when people even whisper A train wreck of a film. The super-generic misunderstanding that leads to a rift between Peter and MJ seems like something out of the worst episode of the worst soap opera ever. The overdone action scenes made up less than 10% of the film, and were terribly paced. The only thing that held me from walking out was the in-theater response. I normally burn with rage when people even whisper in a theater, but my theater seemed like one of the better episodes of Mystery Science Theater 3000. I laughed harder at this movie than I do for most comedies. Dialog wise, this movie should go down in history next to Plan Nine From Outer Space. I wouldn't recommend this movie to my worst enemy. Expand
  3. KenC.
    May 4, 2007
    5
    Playstation 2 is to Playstation 3 as Spider-Man 2 is to Spider-Man 3: highly anticipated, completely overdone, and definitely disappointing.
  4. NormaS.
    May 4, 2007
    3
    Boring, Boring, Boring. I thought it would never end. The story was weak, the filming was awful and the special effects were amateur. In addition to this I had to sit there for over 2 hours. The only thing that saved this movie is that it appealed to my 10 year old son, though he despised the kissing scenes.
  5. ShabbirK.
    May 4, 2007
    4
    As a Spiderman fan and a look at trailers coming out of Sony, my expectations were crushed. The movie should have been called "Spidy, Goblin and MJ love story". A truly disapointing experince, the worst was the audience broke in to conversation often during the film, that show film failing to involve them.
  6. BrianA.
    May 4, 2007
    3
    A real mess of a film, at least compared to the first two movies. I think things started going downhill towards the tail end of the second movie, and here, we see the Spider-Man franchise nose dive. The story is clunky and boring (episodes of "Days of Their Lives" have more interesting story arcs), and even the action sequences aren't that amazing. And as Parker turns into the black A real mess of a film, at least compared to the first two movies. I think things started going downhill towards the tail end of the second movie, and here, we see the Spider-Man franchise nose dive. The story is clunky and boring (episodes of "Days of Their Lives" have more interesting story arcs), and even the action sequences aren't that amazing. And as Parker turns into the black Spider-Man, the movie almost turns into some sort of strange slapstick. Really should be a disappointment to anyone - and a huge disappointment to franchise fans. Expand
  7. Jmon
    May 4, 2007
    5
    Cheesy and riddled with plot holes, but not as bad as the "red" reviews make it out to be. Granted I'm not a devoted spiderman fan (this applies to the comics as well as the first two movies), and expected at best a corny but diversionary Hollywood CGI fest. There are a number of genuinely funny scenes (the parade and Venom Toby come to mind) and the plot moves fast enough that it is Cheesy and riddled with plot holes, but not as bad as the "red" reviews make it out to be. Granted I'm not a devoted spiderman fan (this applies to the comics as well as the first two movies), and expected at best a corny but diversionary Hollywood CGI fest. There are a number of genuinely funny scenes (the parade and Venom Toby come to mind) and the plot moves fast enough that it is difficult to become too bored or to dwell on the illogical plot and overrall triteness. This quick pace is also the movie's main failing, as, has been stated, there is simply too much crammed into the film, making it kindof a grabbag of two dimensional sublots- sandman, for instance, was unneeded and detracted from the more interestin venom and harry plots. however, the film (credit toby and kirsten in particular) maintains the overrall charm and breeziness of the first two installments and, despite its cliche moralizing, avoids the insensitivies and meanspiritedness of most movies of its ilk. Expand
  8. AtomK.
    May 5, 2007
    2
    God this movie sucked, I was checking my watch 1/3 the way through, and at the 3/4 mark I'm wondering if there is going to be any plot showing up. The first fight scene is some really great adrenalin filled action. The movie looks good and that's about it. I don't want an EMO spidy.
  9. JonahH.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    After reading all the incredibly negative reviews I was expecting this to be one of the worst letdowns since the almost unwatchable Jar Jar Binks/Star Wars trilogy. Turns out the movie is actually really good, its only main issue being a bit too long and slow in some parts. They could have cut about 15 minutes from it and it would have been fine. I'm not sure what people were After reading all the incredibly negative reviews I was expecting this to be one of the worst letdowns since the almost unwatchable Jar Jar Binks/Star Wars trilogy. Turns out the movie is actually really good, its only main issue being a bit too long and slow in some parts. They could have cut about 15 minutes from it and it would have been fine. I'm not sure what people were expecting but I find this Spiderman to be on the same high-level as the other two, and I have to laugh at the doom and gloom reviews that many of the major critics have taken, they are really way off the mark this time. This movie has laughs, sad moments, and some excellent action scenes. Well worth the wait. Expand
  10. SatyamC.
    May 5, 2007
    5
    The movie is decent but as a huge spider man fan, it just doesnt cut it. Great action but the director ruined the movie by making Parker seem like a fool. Also poor acting by Parker as he can't cry and takes away the seriousness from the movie. At key moments we as audience tend to laugh instead of actually feel bad. Also to easy to predict.
  11. JamesP.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Obviously those who are reviewing this movie have never read the books they are based on. Spider-Man 3 was far superior to the clich'e events that took place in Spider-Man 2. The execution of 3 was perfect. It was well paced and the characters were all very well defined. I'm sure it was no easy task fitting 40 years of comic book history into three, two and a half hour movies, Obviously those who are reviewing this movie have never read the books they are based on. Spider-Man 3 was far superior to the clich'e events that took place in Spider-Man 2. The execution of 3 was perfect. It was well paced and the characters were all very well defined. I'm sure it was no easy task fitting 40 years of comic book history into three, two and a half hour movies, but Raimi pulls it off with precision. The movie touched on many emotions. The only flaw I found with this movie was in Venom's character. A. Venom has razor webbing. B. Speaks of himself as "We' as apposed to "I". C. No hinting to the creation of the character "Carnage". Expand
  12. DougG.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie with a great message that more young people need to learn!
  13. PammieB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Absolutly amazing movie. pure masterpiece. great suspence, many turns, and a very unexpected ending. DONT MISS!!!
  14. JaredB.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    I just saw this film last night. At first, I really didn't know what I was in for. By the end of the movie, I was glad I chose to go. Aside from a corny and convoluted love story, this was the best of the trilogy. And, I didn't think they could do any better than they did with spiderman 2. I loved it!!!!!
  15. JosephG.
    May 5, 2007
    2
    My wife and I stared at each other in disbelief during Peter's dance scene. The film's tone is completely inconsistent. Special effects are underwhelming. Spidey's costume still looks too glossy and doesn't look like Tobey M.'s figure. Scenes seem to repeat themselves. Other scenes feel like outtakes from SM2. The first time Venom spoke, I laughed. He's My wife and I stared at each other in disbelief during Peter's dance scene. The film's tone is completely inconsistent. Special effects are underwhelming. Spidey's costume still looks too glossy and doesn't look like Tobey M.'s figure. Scenes seem to repeat themselves. Other scenes feel like outtakes from SM2. The first time Venom spoke, I laughed. He's supposed to have a fearsome, rough, grumbly voice, not sound just like Eric Forman. The film is so long, but it feels as if nothing happens. What a waste! Expand
  16. MelvinG.
    May 5, 2007
    2
    That was awful. Very poor acting, story and editing. This franchise is done... "Spiderman Begins" anyone?
  17. AMovieCritic
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Once again, I'm going to have to disagree with the critics on this one. This movie was better than the 1st one, and it completely BLOWS AWAY the tear-filled, slow paced 2nd installment. This movie re-captures the feel of the first Spider-Man and mixes it with the improved effects from Spider-Man 2 (and really tops those as well) to create a nearly perfect Spider-Man movie. Best Once again, I'm going to have to disagree with the critics on this one. This movie was better than the 1st one, and it completely BLOWS AWAY the tear-filled, slow paced 2nd installment. This movie re-captures the feel of the first Spider-Man and mixes it with the improved effects from Spider-Man 2 (and really tops those as well) to create a nearly perfect Spider-Man movie. Best superhero movie I've ever seen. I was really into it. And after spending the entire 2nd movie sulking and lacking any redeeming qualities, Harry really is brought back in the 3rd movie as a very likable character. The scenes involving him and Peter are where the movie's at its best. Then there's the dark Spider-Man, also really high point of the movie, and there's the awesome Venom.... There's just too much great stuff to count. It does seem a little convoluted at first but it eventually evens itself out and ends up creating a very fun, action-packed movie that definitely outdoes the first 2 in almost every way imaginable. Definitely worth seeing. Would have been a perfect 10 if the script was edited...just slightly. Please keep superhero movies at under 2 hours, guys.... Expand
  18. StevenS.
    May 5, 2007
    3
    Really bad. All the themes and ideas are fine, but the execution lacks any sense of emotional reality. The action sequences are predictable in their pacing by the end and the story itself is a flimsy skeleton to hang them on. I loved Spiderman 2, so to me, they really screwed this one up.
  19. SegioC.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Really cool, action, history, good effects.
  20. Liz
    May 6, 2007
    8
    Loved this Spiderman movie! My favorite out of the three.
  21. Czar
    May 6, 2007
    2
    Complete crap, the story was beyond stupid, the fight sequences were so lame. I know its a comic and everything but make the things that are happening at least slightly believable or in line with the laws of physics. Way too much animation and it was way too obvious. 45 minutes into the movie I was looking at my watch waiting to get out.
  22. Warmonger
    May 6, 2007
    8
    I thought it was a very good movie, except for a couple of scenes, that didn't really belong in this film, for instance, "dark" Peter Parker strutting his stuff before entering the cafe. All that was missing was the Bee Gee's singing staying alive! and of course the infamous dance scene at the cafe....what we're they thinking?!! I don't mind a little corn but this went I thought it was a very good movie, except for a couple of scenes, that didn't really belong in this film, for instance, "dark" Peter Parker strutting his stuff before entering the cafe. All that was missing was the Bee Gee's singing staying alive! and of course the infamous dance scene at the cafe....what we're they thinking?!! I don't mind a little corn but this went way beyond corny,it was just plain embarrassing!.... the rain drops keep falling on my head scene in the second movie pales in comparison!! I really hope they omit these scenes on the DVD. Expand
  23. KenR.
    May 6, 2007
    5
    Too Many repeat elements from the previous films, too many cookie cutter villians, no development where it was needed and overdevelopment in the emotional side of characters which we already know very well, a lot of repeat themes from the previous films too, how many times will spidey doubt his abilities?, how many times will mary jane be a flake in her personal life? and the most Too Many repeat elements from the previous films, too many cookie cutter villians, no development where it was needed and overdevelopment in the emotional side of characters which we already know very well, a lot of repeat themes from the previous films too, how many times will spidey doubt his abilities?, how many times will mary jane be a flake in her personal life? and the most interesting villian is apparently destroyed in the end, it simply wasnt what it could have been. Sometimes 2 is good enough. Expand
  24. DanielJ.
    May 6, 2007
    8
    It wasn't as good as the second one and the first was still a little better, but 3 is still good. On the pro side, it was definitely the deepest of the trilogy and had the best character development in Peter, MJ, and Harry. On the con side, there was too many coincidences (the sympiote falling next to MJ and Peter, Marko stumbling into the particle physics experiment) and Sandman It wasn't as good as the second one and the first was still a little better, but 3 is still good. On the pro side, it was definitely the deepest of the trilogy and had the best character development in Peter, MJ, and Harry. On the con side, there was too many coincidences (the sympiote falling next to MJ and Peter, Marko stumbling into the particle physics experiment) and Sandman wasn't developed enough. I feel that Venom and Harry were, though. The focus of Venom was more on Eddie Brock and his gradual hatred for Spidey/Peter until it consumed him fully. Harry was juxtaposed to Brock to show forgiveness despite his hate. One last thing that bugged me a little was Sandman himself. Green Goblin and Ock were introduced in a way that seemed scientifically possible, while Sandman's creation was kinda ridiculous and was left unexplained. Spider-Man 3 was definitely good, but it sags at a few times under its characters' own weight. Expand
  25. Matt
    May 6, 2007
    10
    Ok...maybe it doesn't deserve a 10... but it definately DOESNT DESERVE A ZERO! ... we love the characters...and this is a great continuation of the story. ...to call it bad is just Sour Grapes over the depth of the last one. ...the thing that pissed me off is the Stan Lee cameo, and some far fetched things. Still a must see.
  26. Bigpapasteve
    May 6, 2007
    9
    I really enjoyed it. It wasn't perfect, thus the nine. I liked the fact that it had three villains, but I thought sand-man and harry should've died the first time, that way, he could focus on venom. In my opinion, it was right up there with the other two. I actually enjoyed emo peter. It was pretty funny stuff. In the end, you really should go and see what you think. I can sit I really enjoyed it. It wasn't perfect, thus the nine. I liked the fact that it had three villains, but I thought sand-man and harry should've died the first time, that way, he could focus on venom. In my opinion, it was right up there with the other two. I actually enjoyed emo peter. It was pretty funny stuff. In the end, you really should go and see what you think. I can sit here and tell you about it, but you should go out and make your opinion. (you need the exercise anyway) It's at least worth a rent when it comes out on dvd. Expand
  27. Andrew
    May 6, 2007
    8
    Entertaining comic book hero kind of stuff. My only regret is the ending, just a touch sad. Otherwise, if you are a spidey fan, then you have to see it.
  28. Kris
    May 6, 2007
    2
    Topher Grace as "Venom" is like Jack Black as "The Crow", totally miscast! Guess I'll have to wait for the next "Batman" in order to se a great hero film. So long, Spidey, it was good while it lasted.
  29. Wolfiefish
    May 6, 2007
    5
    A chore and a bore. And I'm a Spidey fan. Read the onion review I totally agree. It was OTT. yes I know it's a superhero film. When Parker "became bad", why did he adopt a Hitler hairstyle? He also looked like the lead singer of Placebo. Whats going on? Bruce Campbell stole the film. Campbell for Inspector Clouseau. (If thats how you spell his name)
  30. KirkD.
    May 6, 2007
    4
    What hurts the most about this movie is the failure to meet expectations. Don
  31. BrendanO.
    May 6, 2007
    2
    Very disappointing. Cheesy dialogue, ridiculous musical scenes. You could tell the actors didn't buy into the script. People in the audience were actually laughing out loud during serious emotional scenes. I guess it wasn't a horrible film, just really really bad, and considering that it followed two brilliant predecessors with Spiderman 1 and 2, that made it all the more Very disappointing. Cheesy dialogue, ridiculous musical scenes. You could tell the actors didn't buy into the script. People in the audience were actually laughing out loud during serious emotional scenes. I guess it wasn't a horrible film, just really really bad, and considering that it followed two brilliant predecessors with Spiderman 1 and 2, that made it all the more disappointing. I did actually like Topher Grace as Venom and Bruce Campbell's short scene was very funny. I really hope they don't make a fourth. Batman & Robin anyone? Expand
  32. KentP.
    May 7, 2007
    7
    OK, I read the user reviews prior to going to the movie, so I was expecting the worst to begin with...It wasn't as bad as the "red" votes would have you believe...sure there was some sappy garbage at the end of the movie....sure there was some overly drawn-out parts in the beginning that could have been editted out...but for the most part the movie was quite enjoyable...people here OK, I read the user reviews prior to going to the movie, so I was expecting the worst to begin with...It wasn't as bad as the "red" votes would have you believe...sure there was some sappy garbage at the end of the movie....sure there was some overly drawn-out parts in the beginning that could have been editted out...but for the most part the movie was quite enjoyable...people here talked about the pacing being poorly executed...I thought it was ok....people here hated the humor...I thought it was great - (and funny).....what's wrong with that anyway ?....The action sequences were very cool - fast and destructive - full marks there, in my opinion......I actually liked the transition to cocky Peter Parker with the dark suit on underneath - that was very VERY funny to watch - and the whole John Travolta strut, with the Jazz dancing stuff was also funny.....hey, it made me laugh - it wasn't "that" bad, people.....This is not supposed to be "dark" is it ?.....This is not Batman......In any event, sure - they could have made it better by tweaking a few things here and there, but overall it was enjoyable - (and I am a harsh critic)......By the way, I saw this in a so-called IMAX theater.....I did not see what the big deal was with IMAX - it looked almost the same as any other regular wide screen theater - save your money on the ticket price and see it in a regular theater....Ciao ! Expand
  33. MichaelB.
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Great flick. I'm pretty surprised at the number of people who were unhappy with this movie. They cover a ton of major story elements, there's non-stop action, and plenty of awesome special effects. Not as good as the 2nd movie, but definitely worth seeing.
  34. RayM.
    May 7, 2007
    5
    None of the heart of the previous 2 movies. Felt sterile and pieced together. Very disappointing, especially coming off of the greatest comic book movie ever made (Spiderman 2).
  35. JohnnyS.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Amazing Movie! Compelling story, great battle scenes, tight villians. i believe its the best of the series. the only problem is that there are a few too many emotional love scenes or sad battle scenes.
  36. ToddS.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Enjoyable, intriguing, great mix of effects and emotion.
  37. AaronN.
    May 7, 2007
    4
    There were a few decent action scenes or this movie would have earned a 2. God awful acting almost all around (Topher and Bruce being notable exceptions). some truly cringe inducing scenes w/ Toby strutting down the streets of NYC. they spent a quarter of a billion dollars on a movie but didn't bother buying a decent script.. too many villians each poorly developed. * the edittingThere were a few decent action scenes or this movie would have earned a 2. God awful acting almost all around (Topher and Bruce being notable exceptions). some truly cringe inducing scenes w/ Toby strutting down the streets of NYC. they spent a quarter of a billion dollars on a movie but didn't bother buying a decent script.. too many villians each poorly developed. * the editting was horrendous, the movie felt an hour too long. See it at the cheap theater :( Expand
  38. PaulY.
    May 7, 2007
    7
    Too busy. Three villains is too many, especially when the first two movies worked really well with one villain each. Venom was especially underused, basically appearing in only one scene and coming across as laughable with a sinister creature spouting the voice of Eric Forman. On the plus side, visuals, acting, fight sequences, etc were all as top-notch as the first two installments of Too busy. Three villains is too many, especially when the first two movies worked really well with one villain each. Venom was especially underused, basically appearing in only one scene and coming across as laughable with a sinister creature spouting the voice of Eric Forman. On the plus side, visuals, acting, fight sequences, etc were all as top-notch as the first two installments of the series. It was those storytelling aspects that kept Spdey 3 from reaching its full potential. Expand
  39. KyleB.
    May 8, 2007
    2
    Most often dull. They waited to long to gte to Venom, a character who could fill an entire movie on his own
  40. JohnC.
    May 8, 2007
    8
    Honestly i thougt it was good. There have been a lot of expectations surrounding the film, but it was solid. Not as good as the second, but i judge movies on their own merits, whether they are alone or are ina trilogy. A good end to a great trilogy. worth your time.
  41. AlL
    May 8, 2007
    4
    My first reaction was 'not as good as the first or second spidey movies'. Then I watched them again and realised that they were never that good to begin with, and this one is no better. Everything that was cheesy, annoying or nonsensical about the previous outings were repeated AND enhanced in this one- here's a few of my favourites: 1- Aunt May will always tell a long, My first reaction was 'not as good as the first or second spidey movies'. Then I watched them again and realised that they were never that good to begin with, and this one is no better. Everything that was cheesy, annoying or nonsensical about the previous outings were repeated AND enhanced in this one- here's a few of my favourites: 1- Aunt May will always tell a long, meandering and wholly pointless anecdote about the past before making an utterly redundant point. 2- People who become warped super-villains will always blame Spiderman for everything, instead of realising that their predicament is their own stupid fault. 3. Peter Parker is a supremely confident super-athlete ONLY with his spider-suit on. While in street-clothes, and without a full-face mask to obscure his vision, he will become a totally hapless prat-falling doe-eyed goofball. 4- Mary-Jane handles disappointments, minor setbacks and commitment issues like a four-year old. 5- Harry Osborne is a brainless weepy idiot, who wouldn't know genuine affection if he was xxxxxxx xxx from behind. 6- Despite the fact that Peter Parker's secret identity is his most precious asset, he'll pull his mask off before, during or after a fight in front of others at least twice in each movie. 7. New York Police Officers and Firemen are happy to stand idly spectating while a vigilante makes them look stupid. 8- None of the award-winning journalists who work with Peter Parker are smart enough to even wonder how he gets aerial panoramic shots of Spiderman spot-fighting crime at least seven times a week. 9- Mary-Jane will still scream wide-eyed at the ground for minutes at a time despite being hung from something steel a mile up about 6 times now, but boy can she catch herself in a fall, and 10- Bruce Campbell is the most criminally overlooked actor of all time. Further, it also seems that the Osborne's butler is so senile that he doesn't notice the friction between Harry and his best friend until they have a fight which destroys an entire wing of the Osborne mansion, we as an audience are so utterly cow-eyed stupid we need TWO (badly-acted) news anchors spouting purile exposition to tell us that the hero is in trouble while he's being pounded by a 12-story sand golem, action sequences that are so kinetic you can't tell what's going on are now compulsory by law, and most incredible of all, Alien symbiotes have a unique property that causes the most stultifyingly unlikely coincidences to occur in their immediate vicinity ALL THE TIME. 3 of these 4 stars are for the scene where the sandman is reborn. Genuinely touching stuff. The rest- meh. Expand
  42. AlanJ.
    May 9, 2007
    6
    Great special effects. Interesting characters and storyline, but characters and story lines were fully developed. Overall, the movie was a bit on the long side.
  43. AnonymousMC
    May 9, 2007
    9
    Holy crap! You guys take this movie too seriously. It's a blast. Unless your one of those creepy guys who have seen every movie known to man and try to show their intellect by b*tching about how superhero movies A: are slightly different than the comics or B: are too much like the comics, you'll like this. The first sandman scene is the most beautiful special effects I'veHoly crap! You guys take this movie too seriously. It's a blast. Unless your one of those creepy guys who have seen every movie known to man and try to show their intellect by b*tching about how superhero movies A: are slightly different than the comics or B: are too much like the comics, you'll like this. The first sandman scene is the most beautiful special effects I've ever seen by the way. Expand
  44. Sam
    May 9, 2007
    10
    Gorgeous, spectacular, and almost unbearably great, I loved every minute of it (save for the bridge scene).
  45. Amjad
    Jun 12, 2007
    8
    I liked it, full of action and strong villains and yet has a sense of comedy and "coolness", GREAT MOVIE!
  46. PhilO.
    Jun 8, 2007
    5
    Spidey 3 provides mesmerizing special effects; however, that is its only saving grace. Audiences will be inundated with an esoteric and complicated storyline, partly because of the addition of three new villains, which are not sufficiently delved into and which thereby dilutes their dangerous dispositions. This strategy employed by the writers and producers makes Spidey 3 eerily similar Spidey 3 provides mesmerizing special effects; however, that is its only saving grace. Audiences will be inundated with an esoteric and complicated storyline, partly because of the addition of three new villains, which are not sufficiently delved into and which thereby dilutes their dangerous dispositions. This strategy employed by the writers and producers makes Spidey 3 eerily similar to the disastrous Batman movies that had two or three major villains vying for the hero's demise. In the midst of its overlong plot and storyline, S3 is nonetheless basic, rough and unprocessed. Unfortunately, S3 gets tangled up in its own web. Expand
  47. ThomasE.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Finally got around to seeing this in IMAX. Sweeet! Great graphics, lots of humor, intense action, great summer flick! Loved it!
  48. AllisonS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Great movie! If you didn't see it in theaters (which is pretty silly of you), rent it as soon as it comes out on DVD.
  49. jackb
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    I thought this movie was good, the movie had no plot, but the villains, battles, and special effects were awesome, especially Venom.
  50. Nick
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    Disappointing, but still fun.
  51. JasonE.
    Aug 13, 2007
    6
    I yearn for the day that sequels prefer scaling back in lieu of the Overstuff. Villain on top of villain - tone change outside of tone change - poor Mary Jane is regarded with the same nonchalance...bouncing to and from the same 2 men. Raimi invests 15 minutes into the Sandman's backstory then drops him as a character til Venom requires a tag partner. One moment Tobey's got roid I yearn for the day that sequels prefer scaling back in lieu of the Overstuff. Villain on top of villain - tone change outside of tone change - poor Mary Jane is regarded with the same nonchalance...bouncing to and from the same 2 men. Raimi invests 15 minutes into the Sandman's backstory then drops him as a character til Venom requires a tag partner. One moment Tobey's got roid rage, the next he's strutting like Tony Manero from Flatbush. Poor flick requires a valium. Thankfully, admist all the schizo ambitions, there are pleasures. The menace of the 'venom' is both well-realized as a possessory and malicious source. Tobey glides through the material with his usual effusive ease. Villainy is far more suited to Topher's lizard eyes...and the special effects, especially the disintegrating grains of the Sandman. If only there was some tonal coherence and a singular commitment. Expand
  52. Yourmother
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    This movie was, by far the best spider man I've ever seen.
  53. scottwhetton
    Aug 19, 2007
    6
    Good story and good action but all to crammed in to a mess. All that could of been fixed, if they just took the time in the story telling and made two movies out of this one. This would of aload for more action and story instead of a mess. What was done with venom was harable! They should of had a whole movie devoted to that badie. Instead they move hime aside as fast as he comes. Its aGood story and good action but all to crammed in to a mess. All that could of been fixed, if they just took the time in the story telling and made two movies out of this one. This would of aload for more action and story instead of a mess. What was done with venom was harable! They should of had a whole movie devoted to that badie. Instead they move hime aside as fast as he comes. Its a shame they could of ended up with a clissic movie. Expand
  54. SujanS.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    this was the best movie i ever watched. it has everything from action to comedy. plus the graphics are better than ever, so is the fighting it is fast and intense, and the story line for the movie follows the comic amazing spider man very well. not to mention that the black suit looks much better than it was originally depicted.
  55. CraigAS
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    I am so glad I didn't pay money to see this revisionist, sloppy dreck.
  56. MiKE
    Jan 12, 2008
    7
    I actually enjoyed watching this movie. Sure there are numerous stuip things, but just ignore them like they were not there and enjoy the rest the movie. The special effects are excellent! and the movie is loaded with them, I also found the story to be well writen as well. Once again afew lose ends. Overall this is the 2nd best Spiderman movie.
  57. JesseS.
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    Cramming over twenty years of comic history into a single hour of a movie won't help with storyline or plot, but it'll definitely help sales. One of the main problems of the movie is that the storyline rushes and moves too fast. Scenes skip around to the point where you have to be paying close attention to what's going on, or you'll miss important plot points. Having Cramming over twenty years of comic history into a single hour of a movie won't help with storyline or plot, but it'll definitely help sales. One of the main problems of the movie is that the storyline rushes and moves too fast. Scenes skip around to the point where you have to be paying close attention to what's going on, or you'll miss important plot points. Having said that, I'll talk about individual processes. Topher Grace's performance of Venom is less-than-spectacular. Venom is a character who's the pure essence of evil. He originally had a distorted, screech-like voice, but now it's only slightly deepened by Grace's. The abundance of bad lines that Grace has don't help his performance, either. "I like being bad. It makes me happy." That was one of the lines that made the movie feel like a big, unimportant joke. I did like the special effects of the Sandman and Thomas Hayden Church's performance. The parts of Venom could've been cut out to save for another movie and this would've been great. Weak subplots and overly-fast pacing put the third film as bad as Fantastic 4 : Rise of the Silver Surfer. Expand
  58. DevonC
    May 29, 2008
    4
    Spider-man 3 is very disappointing. Raimi did so well with the first two. But look at this crap, it deserves no awards. It has one really good scene, which I will not identify, but every other scene was either off, cheesy, bizarre, over the top, weak, or just simply bad or stupid.
  59. JP
    Jun 8, 2008
    1
    Words cannot adequately describe how bad this movie is. Flat acting performances, cringe-inducing and often pointless dialogue, ridiculous action scenes, an plot that's both overstuffed and riddled with holes, and don't get me started on the Spiderman 'dance' scenes. I'm also still trying to figure out who was behind a couple of the casting decisions (Topher Grace Words cannot adequately describe how bad this movie is. Flat acting performances, cringe-inducing and often pointless dialogue, ridiculous action scenes, an plot that's both overstuffed and riddled with holes, and don't get me started on the Spiderman 'dance' scenes. I'm also still trying to figure out who was behind a couple of the casting decisions (Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Really guys?) and the handling of the Peter Parker/MJ 'relationship' (if that's what you can call what went on in this movie). Avoid at all costs. Expand
  60. CatherineN.
    Oct 17, 2009
    7
    Spider Man could be a good teaching material for children, especially the Episode One. Spider Man
  61. ljh
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    The action sequences in this film are pretty impressive, and the narrative works well too. But there are some moments that are just cringe-worthy. When a film actually includes the line 'he seems to have appeared from no where, just when all hope seemed lost', that's when it makes you want to gag. Plus watching a talented actor like Toby McGuire being wasted on trying to The action sequences in this film are pretty impressive, and the narrative works well too. But there are some moments that are just cringe-worthy. When a film actually includes the line 'he seems to have appeared from no where, just when all hope seemed lost', that's when it makes you want to gag. Plus watching a talented actor like Toby McGuire being wasted on trying to portray a 'badass' Spidey is just embarrassing. What makes this point worse is that when Harry (another central character) goes through his evil phase as the new Goblin, it's a lot more convincing and interesting. Don't get me wrong, it's not that I didn;t enjoy the film, it just took the whole 'cheesey' factor way too far. Expand
  62. dude
    Nov 20, 2007
    3
    WHY DOES HE TURN EMO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOVIE? He even does the hair thing! And that stupid jazz dance scene, what the fuck was that?? The graphics were great, the dialogue, I'm sorry, just can't be taken seriously. Why was he dancing in the streets and giving the thumbs up like a jackass?
  63. Buck
    Nov 24, 2007
    2
    As a big Sam Rami fan I cant believe what a big pile of manure Spiderman 3 is.I can understand going away from the books on the origin fo the symbiont suit, explaining the secret wars to people theat don't read comic books would be pretty tough.I could even understand putting the sandman in the film.I might even have been ae to accept harry becoming goblin Jr. but when he canged theAs a big Sam Rami fan I cant believe what a big pile of manure Spiderman 3 is.I can understand going away from the books on the origin fo the symbiont suit, explaining the secret wars to people theat don't read comic books would be pretty tough.I could even understand putting the sandman in the film.I might even have been ae to accept harry becoming goblin Jr. but when he canged the single greatest spiderman villain from a middle aged reporter to a whiney little Emo kid Venom also always referred to itself as us and we thats where he really lost me. In fact the only redeeming thing in the movie is Bruce Campbell playing the French Maitre'De.Sam couldn't have made this movie any worse if he tried which makes me believe that idiotic studio executives had more to do with making this huge pile of elephant dung than Sam Rami did. Expand
  64. PeterJ.
    Nov 24, 2007
    7
    Good solid movie and very entertaining. Not the best Spiderman film, but those giving this movie 1's and 2's are absolute morons.
  65. UncleDougBigelow
    Nov 26, 2007
    1
    Sandman killed this movie. The only reason it doesn't get a zero is because Parker smacked M.J.
  66. JeffG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    Whining, complaining, and soap opera cliches fill up a movie with two good fight scenes. Compared to the comics, my favorite character, Venom, is castrated. Something happens with some guy that turns into sand, and the Green Goblin bores everyone to death. All that in over two hours. I got this movie for free, and I regret it dearly.
  67. JesseRakusin
    Dec 8, 2007
    0
    sucks.. what a waste of 300 million dollars.. Sam Rami went ego insane. A movie full of cliche's but in no way a spiderman movie. Horrible. The action scene at the begining with parker and goblin2 was cool besided that it's horrible. i mean eric from the 70's show is a fine actor but he's not f'n Venom. Venom is supposed to be a bad ass. This was almost as bad assucks.. what a waste of 300 million dollars.. Sam Rami went ego insane. A movie full of cliche's but in no way a spiderman movie. Horrible. The action scene at the begining with parker and goblin2 was cool besided that it's horrible. i mean eric from the 70's show is a fine actor but he's not f'n Venom. Venom is supposed to be a bad ass. This was almost as bad as giving superman a kid. Complete crap worse than I expected and I was was expecting bad. Expand
  68. Mike
    May 11, 2007
    8
    I don't know why everybody thought Spider-Man 2 was so great, but they don't like this one. Maybe I'm just biased because Venom is one of my favorite characters in the Marvel universe. Yeah, it has its corny parts...guess what...so did the first two! Yeah, it tries too hard to be emotional and funny at the same time...guess what...so did the first two! This installment was I don't know why everybody thought Spider-Man 2 was so great, but they don't like this one. Maybe I'm just biased because Venom is one of my favorite characters in the Marvel universe. Yeah, it has its corny parts...guess what...so did the first two! Yeah, it tries too hard to be emotional and funny at the same time...guess what...so did the first two! This installment was actually my favorite of the three. It doesn't exactly improve on the first two, but I disagree with the notion that it's any worse than the others. Expand
  69. AndyA.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    What
  70. BarryC.
    May 13, 2007
    9
    Almost perfect. The way they display Spidey's agility is the way I saw him in my mind while reading the comics. The audience at my theatre applauded when the Movie was finished. We all wanted more. I can't wait until the next ISSUE!!!! Bring on Namor, Thor, StarLord....I wanna see them all!!
  71. StephenC.
    May 13, 2007
    8
    The movie is beyond excelence. Action sequences were amazing. My one problem was too much love story.
  72. ZinoD.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Has all the elements I liked from the first two Spiderman films, but also had a great script with forgiveness as its theme. If you're just into this for the effects, they're still good... but it's great to have something deeper to keep my attention when all that web-stuff just starts to take over. I loved the scenes with Parker under the influence of the dark suit, like his Has all the elements I liked from the first two Spiderman films, but also had a great script with forgiveness as its theme. If you're just into this for the effects, they're still good... but it's great to have something deeper to keep my attention when all that web-stuff just starts to take over. I loved the scenes with Parker under the influence of the dark suit, like his musical number in MJ's bar, his tantrum with the landlord, and his pimp moves stylin down broadway or 5th Ave or whatever. The pans that don't think this movie's perky enough just aren't able to string words together. The photojournalist that becomes a monster isn't a riot? The sand guy just trying to protect his little girl isn't a great metaphor for all the mistakes a father makes? These tinhorn critics just ain't gettin it. Expand
  73. MarkD.
    May 15, 2007
    8
    I think some negative reviews are OTT. It ain't as perfect as the other 2 films but it's not far off. In terms of action and special effects it's actually the most spectacular of the 3 films. This isn't to say it forgets the human side that made this series what it is. The action (as good as it is) still plays second fiddle to the relationships and troubles of Peter I think some negative reviews are OTT. It ain't as perfect as the other 2 films but it's not far off. In terms of action and special effects it's actually the most spectacular of the 3 films. This isn't to say it forgets the human side that made this series what it is. The action (as good as it is) still plays second fiddle to the relationships and troubles of Peter Parker. It's to the writers credit that you find yourself caring more about the personal peoblems of Peter, Mary and Harry then whether Sandman trashes the city. Performances from all main protagonists are solid. Special mention to Thomas Haden Church's understated Sandman and James Franco who excells now that he's given a more substantial role. Any problems with this film seem to lie with the confused direction of Sam Raimi. Half way through Spidey dons the black suit, changes character and goes on a rampage. Things start to get interesting. This is completly spoiled as Raimi goes overboard on the "comedy". The bits with Parker strutting down the street, eyeing up girls and dancing like a cross between john Travolta and David Brent just made me cringe. There's a paradox here and it doesn't work; Is this meant to be a darker Spiderman film (as the pre film hype would have us believe) or a comedy? Is the black Spiderman meant to be nasty and dangerous with attitude or a pervy village idiot? It's as if Raimi wanted to make a darker, grittier Spiderman but chickened out half way through. Another black mark against Yankee Doodle Raimi is yet more shamefully blatent flag waving near the end of the film. Yes, we know Spiderman's American we don't need it shoving in our faces. So, in conclusion this is an entertaining yet flawed film but not as bad as some people say. Expand
  74. IsaacG.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    This movie was awesome. I know many people are griping because Venom died, and it didn't follow the story exactly, however, none of the other movies did. Not to mention, Spider-man 2.. we all know if Spider-man had managed to hit Doc-Ock in the comic it would knock him out.. the difficulty with hitting him stemmed from his extra arms. No one had a problem with this, but they had This movie was awesome. I know many people are griping because Venom died, and it didn't follow the story exactly, however, none of the other movies did. Not to mention, Spider-man 2.. we all know if Spider-man had managed to hit Doc-Ock in the comic it would knock him out.. the difficulty with hitting him stemmed from his extra arms. No one had a problem with this, but they had problems with Venom and Sandman? For what it was, it was done well. Expand
  75. PhoebeT.
    May 16, 2007
    6
    Spiderman 3 didn't hold a candle with the previous spiderman movies... Although it's not a really bad movie but after watching the previous two it's kinda obvious that you should be expecting something more from the third installment. Alas, it certainly was lacking. Some parts of the movie were certainly dragging but as usual the fighting scenes were great. But I hated it Spiderman 3 didn't hold a candle with the previous spiderman movies... Although it's not a really bad movie but after watching the previous two it's kinda obvious that you should be expecting something more from the third installment. Alas, it certainly was lacking. Some parts of the movie were certainly dragging but as usual the fighting scenes were great. But I hated it when they too fast to fully enjoy them. Maybe the wrong thing they did is putting all 3 villains in the movie. The characters of venom and sandman were cetainly lacking in the development part of the film. The writers should have done is maybe have sandman & green goblin as the villain for the movie maybe a hint of venom at the end so that they will give something for the audience to think about. Or maybe only have venom as the villain, he certainly enough for a problem for Sipderman. Collapse
  76. AlexT.
    May 19, 2007
    4
    Bleh. One big sob-fest sandwiched between predictable action scenes. The worst thing is that if you've seen the cinematic trailers, you know the basic plot of the film to a T. Venom is severly underused, Sandman is severely overused, and any attempt of coherence falls flat. And whoever thought it would be a good idea to set a fight scene between two of the main characters in the Bleh. One big sob-fest sandwiched between predictable action scenes. The worst thing is that if you've seen the cinematic trailers, you know the basic plot of the film to a T. Venom is severly underused, Sandman is severely overused, and any attempt of coherence falls flat. And whoever thought it would be a good idea to set a fight scene between two of the main characters in the trilogy to an upbeat piece of jazz percussion should be fired. Expand
  77. Drew
    May 24, 2007
    4
    I specifically went for Venom. I got it...in the last 10 minutes. What a tornado of sappiness and terrible acting.
  78. GeorgeA.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Best movie of the year. Action-packed, but with characters you care about. Nice capper to the trilogy. Now bring on 4!!!
  79. Nik
    May 26, 2007
    6
    There's some top-notch action here; but the filmmakers tried a little to hard to pack a punch with the third Spider-Man film that they end up just making a huge mess out of things. They put too mucyh into it, and didn't focus enough on the good parts of the plot. Not to mention a few disrespects towards the original Spider-Man comics that comic book nerds are sure not to be too There's some top-notch action here; but the filmmakers tried a little to hard to pack a punch with the third Spider-Man film that they end up just making a huge mess out of things. They put too mucyh into it, and didn't focus enough on the good parts of the plot. Not to mention a few disrespects towards the original Spider-Man comics that comic book nerds are sure not to be too happy about. Expand
  80. TomB
    May 26, 2007
    4
    I could write a long synopsis of this movie, but I won't. When those two kids yell "awesome" and "wicked cool" when the giant Sandman goes down, it was corny, poorly acted and stupid beyond belief. Which pretty much sums up this movie. Sam Raimi should be blackballed from Hollywood.
  81. Chaz
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Doesn't disappoint! Packed with humor, action and fun.
  82. AdamA.
    May 27, 2007
    5
    The movie wasn't that bad until the ending, which left an awful taste in my mouth. What is it with hollywood writers that they can make a decent movie and destroy it with a cheesy, slapshod, horribly written ending?
  83. JonM.
    May 29, 2007
    0
    I really liked the first Spider-Man. The sequel I liked even more. Characters were more fleshed out, grew more, and developed more so that by the time the loose ends from the first film ended, there were entirely new threads to deal with for the third movie. Needless to say, I had high expectations. I was sorely disappointed. The dialogue was awful. Don't give me comic book cheesy. I really liked the first Spider-Man. The sequel I liked even more. Characters were more fleshed out, grew more, and developed more so that by the time the loose ends from the first film ended, there were entirely new threads to deal with for the third movie. Needless to say, I had high expectations. I was sorely disappointed. The dialogue was awful. Don't give me comic book cheesy. The first two movies had plenty of comic book cheese that I enjoyed as much as the next person. This movie was just poorly written, poorly thought out. There was no chemistry between Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst. To top it all off, the poorly written lines were given even worse delivery by the actors. The Sand Man effects were good, the Venom effects not so much. A complete miscast in Topher Grace for Eddie Brock/Venom. The only two scenes worth anything were: the Bruce Campbell cameo scene. While expected, it was highly amusing, and the very seventies Saturday Night Fever scene where the new "dark" Peter Parker tries to be cool and fails abysmally. And when did "dark and not very good" equate to emo? Everything from the darker, eye covering hair to eye-liner screamed emo punk. With such high expectations and such a big let down, I can't justify giving this movie any score. Expand
  84. MarkB.
    May 31, 2007
    7
    A religious tract that I very recently spotted in a men's room, not shy about being up-to-the-minute on pop culture zeitgeist but apparently reluctant to use Captain Jack Sparrow as a role model, drew a pertinent analogy between living the Christian life and being everyone's favorite web-slinger. The pamphlet's thesis was that to truly serve the Lord, Christians have to say A religious tract that I very recently spotted in a men's room, not shy about being up-to-the-minute on pop culture zeitgeist but apparently reluctant to use Captain Jack Sparrow as a role model, drew a pertinent analogy between living the Christian life and being everyone's favorite web-slinger. The pamphlet's thesis was that to truly serve the Lord, Christians have to say goodbye to those things in the world they love, just as Peter Parker, in order to effectively fight crime and save the world (or at least New York City), must give up his beloved Mary Jane. Since great drama often involves having to make impossible Sophie's choices like this, the first Spider-Man movie still stands as the cream of Sam Raimi's trilogy. It tells us that you can't fulfill your destiny and STILL have MJ's love at the same time; Spider-Man 2, seen by most critics and fans as the apex of the series, counters that you CAN. Spider-Man 3's thesis is that, yes, it IS possible...but it's tough work. All the debate about whether this installment is overlong, overstuffed and/or has two or three villains too many has obscured the fact that, even more than Spideys 1 and 2, Spidey 3 is a relationship movie front and center; lose the action sequences, colorful costumes and mysterious black goo, and you've got a bigger chick flick than Pretty Woman. The ups and downs of Peter's and MJ's romance are discussed at great length and in great detail, with not one but two third parties around to provide dramatic conflict...and, most revealingly of all, the movie's final shot is NOT of Spidey in action but of...well, see for yourself. Co-scenarist Alvin Sargent's previous credits (Ordinary People, Julia) clearly show that he knows his way around material like this, but the occasionally forced results, such as an extended restaurant sequence in which MJ (Kirsten Dunst) tries to share a heartbreaking professional setback with Peter (Tobey Maguire) and every contrivance in the world including a Clouseau-like head waiter combines to keep the message uncommunicated, show that Sargent isn't quite working at his peak here. (And in regards to another subplot, someone should remind Sargent and co-writers Sam and Ivan Raimi that amnesia, short-term memory or whatever you want to call it, was officially outlawed by Congress after it was used in a Gomer Pyle episode in 1967.) More successful is the movie's depiction of Peter's increasingly excessive pride in being Spider-Man, which morphs into hubris and then egomania. This is depicted powerfully enough that the comic-book McGuffin (a spiny, tar-like substance from the skies with characteristics common to the Alien, the Beast with Five Fingers and the Id Monster) doesn't seem entirely necessary to explain it. Whether three villains in one movie is or isn't a case of oversplat is best left discussed elsewhere, but it is what it is, and Thomas Haden Church, Topher Grace and James Franco are more than satisfactory, with Church very affectingly haunted as Sandman; all three have interesting and convincing dimensions and motivations, but then Spider-Man's nemeses have always had more gray areas than a shelf full of Jodi Picoult novels. Special effects are more than worth your ten bucks (Sandman's transformation in particular is memorably majestic and tragic) and the climactic punch-and-spin-out over the city delivers the goods, even if the unnecessary inclusion of reporters telling us what we're already seeing is hokey enough for a 1940s serial but has no place here. Spidey 3 isn't perfect, and yes, it is overall the weakest of the three, but it's interestingly offbeat and ambitious. In The Summer Of The Third Part That's Less Than The Other Two (Either Together Or Individually), if you have to choose to spend your entertainment dollars on either Spidey or Sparrow, far better to get bitten on the hand than stabbed in the back. Expand
  85. DarylB.
    May 31, 2007
    2
    I enjoyed the action sequences. The rest was terrible. Absolutely and unequivocally terrible. Cheesy to the extreme. I cringed through the disco street scene and a lot of the dialogue.
  86. PaulC.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Spidey 3 was very good, but not great. We all know that we were waiting for Venom!! I was left feeling a little 'ripped-off' in this area. I had no emotion for Sandman or his situation whatsoever; I felt that the characters story was crammed in, there was no need for his story. The screen time and money could have been better off spent on Venom's story! The introduction of Spidey 3 was very good, but not great. We all know that we were waiting for Venom!! I was left feeling a little 'ripped-off' in this area. I had no emotion for Sandman or his situation whatsoever; I felt that the characters story was crammed in, there was no need for his story. The screen time and money could have been better off spent on Venom's story! The introduction of the symbioent left me thinking Expand
  87. JoeS
    Jul 22, 2008
    2
    Horrible compared to the first two, this was more of a chick flick
  88. AnonymousMC
    Jun 18, 2009
    7
    Spider-Man 3 is just a huge disappointment. There are some things I loved about the film and things I disliked about the film and things I just downright hated about the film. Not a terrible movie at all, not in the slightest. I had fun with it in some places and I liked its message, so I'm gonna be nice and give it a seven. By no means a bad movie, but definitely a disappointmentSpider-Man 3 is just a huge disappointment. There are some things I loved about the film and things I disliked about the film and things I just downright hated about the film. Not a terrible movie at all, not in the slightest. I had fun with it in some places and I liked its message, so I'm gonna be nice and give it a seven. By no means a bad movie, but definitely a disappointment compared to the first two films. Expand
  89. SS
    Aug 19, 2009
    2
    The worst sequel I've ever seen to a good movie. What was Raimi on when he made this piece of crap?! Its like all the actors forgot how to act, all the writers forgot how to write! This travesty reduces the glory of Spider-Man, one of the greatest superheroes of all time, to a streaming pile of dog droppings. When you see Tobey, fresh from his emo stupor sway dancing through the The worst sequel I've ever seen to a good movie. What was Raimi on when he made this piece of crap?! Its like all the actors forgot how to act, all the writers forgot how to write! This travesty reduces the glory of Spider-Man, one of the greatest superheroes of all time, to a streaming pile of dog droppings. When you see Tobey, fresh from his emo stupor sway dancing through the crowds midway through the picture, that should be a good indication to leave the theater, if you haven't done so already. Expand
  90. PeterP.
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Hey, Christopher P. (below) get a grip man, it was a comic book movie!! If you want reality, go watch a documentary! This movie was entertaining and fun to watch. Venom deserved his own movie though! Keep making em' big Raimi and I can't wait for part 4 starring Carnage and Reptile!!
  91. AcidM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    1
    Wow. After seeing the villains in this one, I propose, that in "Spider-Man 4," they have Spider-Man fight a T-Rex with a laser beam, a flying shark with a tiger's head, a 90-foot tall Hitler, and the 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  92. JamesF.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    How's the Spider-Man 3? Soo good.
  93. KoryN.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    This movie is a joke. It made me wish that movies had commercial interruptions. I liked the part where there was some swinging around and punching and kicking and stuff up in the sky and some kid goes "Awesome!" and another kid goes "Wicked cool!!!" That part was totally rad! This movie made me want to stick some of those orange circus peanut candies up my nose and fire/blow them at the This movie is a joke. It made me wish that movies had commercial interruptions. I liked the part where there was some swinging around and punching and kicking and stuff up in the sky and some kid goes "Awesome!" and another kid goes "Wicked cool!!!" That part was totally rad! This movie made me want to stick some of those orange circus peanut candies up my nose and fire/blow them at the television screen so that they would stick to spider-man's face. Expand
  94. BrandonCavnar
    Dec 14, 2007
    3
    Has Spidey gone EMO with his new do and black ensemble? They dilligently attempted to screw this movie royally. All cliches aside, why so many characters and no development? It's dizzying with everyone crying and pissing about self-empowerment. This sequel should put spidey out of his sensitive misunderstood misery. I want my money back!
  95. ChristopherP.
    Dec 24, 2008
    1
    Insensible, hollow, soulless crap, even moreso if compared to the previous chapter. Nothing about it works like it should. There are plot illogicalities that will make absolutely anyone ask themselves, "Huh?" For starters, why did Parker think it was a good idea to make out with that new girl in front of everyone, then follow up with a planned proposal to his official girlfriend? Was he Insensible, hollow, soulless crap, even moreso if compared to the previous chapter. Nothing about it works like it should. There are plot illogicalities that will make absolutely anyone ask themselves, "Huh?" For starters, why did Parker think it was a good idea to make out with that new girl in front of everyone, then follow up with a planned proposal to his official girlfriend? Was he oblivious that she just might be there watching the whole time? Then, when the girl shows up out of nowhere and talks about how she kissed Spider-Man, it never seems to register in him that something's not right then. So then, after it's proven that Parker's a douche, we immediately are given a sad scene with Parker crying as we learn Sandman was his uncle's killer. Uh, okay, I thought the movie wanted me to feel resentment for Parker's overt arrogance for a second there, but this sad music wants me to feel sympathetic for something else? Also, I know a romantic subplot is necessary, and I expected it completely, but most of this movie was a soap opera, one for which I wasn't rooting for the main angst figure that is Parker. Parker does stupid, insensitive things the entire film. When he's not making us hate him by hurting everyone's emotions (and, in Harry's case, detonating a grenade next to his face), he's trying to do it by being a whiny little bitch who doesn't seem to understand why any of it's happening. The soap opera factor reaches critical mass, though, when Harry tells Parker he's "the other guy" that MJ is after, right after MJ tells him in tears that it's over while he pulls out his engagement ring, also in tears. I understand some amount of drama is to be expected in this movie, but we're so relentlessly bombarded with histrionic drivel and sad piano music it's impossible not to get sick of it long before it's over. I mean, for Christ's sake, we get an -AMNESIA- plot device, one that's become a parody for TV dramas in itself. Further, one of my main reasons for going into the theater was to see Venom kick some ass. Unfortunately, while the romantic subplot was unfolding, and something which I guess is supposed to resemble comic relief in the infamous "emo-Parker" sequences, I spent the first two-thirds of the movie asking myself, "Where the Hell is Venom?" When he finally got on, we get nothing at all worth watching. Also, referring back to the grenade exploding a few inches by Harry's face, if anyone didn't notice, that same grenade that managed to cause just a burn completely obliterated Venom. Nothing else really comes together to redeem it. The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and trite, the special effects are overproduced to oblivion and silliness, and the best parts involved the news station comedy bits. Don't even get me started on the emo-Parker comic relief scene, which could not possibly have been more over-the-top inappropriate. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to be laughing, or if it was some kind of message about Parker still being a spiteful jerk. I saw no good reason to feel bad for him while he cold-heartedly caused every event of his own miserable luck. Crushingly disappointing after the ridiculously awesome previous entry. Just abysmal. Expand
  96. May 9, 2014
    4
    Spider-Man 3 is a disappointment for me. With X-Men 3: The Last Stand it was a different director but this is the same team. There are so many great ideas in here for a Spider-Man movie but the decision to use all of them at once rather than just use one or two results in a messy movie that lacks any sort of real focus and some elements of the film are not as fleshed out as they could haveSpider-Man 3 is a disappointment for me. With X-Men 3: The Last Stand it was a different director but this is the same team. There are so many great ideas in here for a Spider-Man movie but the decision to use all of them at once rather than just use one or two results in a messy movie that lacks any sort of real focus and some elements of the film are not as fleshed out as they could have been or as much as I would have liked to have been. So many great ideas were in this movie that I was excited to see through various trailers and ads such as Gwen Stacy and the Black Suit and their handling was not what I wanted at all. But even with a messy story the film still could have been decent or mediocre but the film his hurt by some bad writing. The film spends excessive time on a poorly written romance and makes Peter unlikeable resulting in some parts of this film that are painful to watch. This is hard for me because I love Spider-Man and really want to like this movie but I love Spider-Man so much that I’m willing to get upset when a film about him is done wrong. It is so disappointing especially considering how good of a job Raimi did on the first two. Its sad because you can see the sparks of brilliance yet the execution is sloppy. If you are interested in seeing this film check out as its not all bad as there are some cool action scenes and this film has a mixed reaction with everyone having their own variations of how much they like it. However, lower your expectations as this a poorly put together film from someone who is capable of making good movies. The pieces are there I just wish they were put together properly. Expand
  97. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    A good movie, not great, not brilliant, a good movie, a good Spider Man movie! The introduction to Venom, the black suited Spidey, and Sandman were all great. The actors did an "alright" job at portraying the characters, and all of that (the music, sound effects, ect.) were okay. The costumes were great and the special effects are outstanding with true Spidey battles. But like the otherA good movie, not great, not brilliant, a good movie, a good Spider Man movie! The introduction to Venom, the black suited Spidey, and Sandman were all great. The actors did an "alright" job at portraying the characters, and all of that (the music, sound effects, ect.) were okay. The costumes were great and the special effects are outstanding with true Spidey battles. But like the other two movies, there isn't much screen time of Spider man as there should be, along with too many story lines (for one movie) and a failed love triangle attempt, this movie leaves me with mixed feelings. But it's still worth watching and buying the DVD when released. Go Spidey, Go... Expand
  98. Jan 27, 2011
    3
    Not the best Spider-man movie in the series, but the action scenes were probably the best n the series out of all the other Spider-man films. The only letdown for this film is the story I didn't particular like the story to this film, I thought the story was all over the place and a bit rushed.
  99. Apr 22, 2014
    6
    The final movie in the trilogy, while not as bad as some make out, is certainly the weakest. Much of the action and comedy is still there but by pitting Spider-Man against three enemies (rather just one as in the first two movies) the film loses its focus. Each of the enemies back stories are developed in too much detail and the web-slinger comes close to being a guest in his own movieThe final movie in the trilogy, while not as bad as some make out, is certainly the weakest. Much of the action and comedy is still there but by pitting Spider-Man against three enemies (rather just one as in the first two movies) the film loses its focus. Each of the enemies back stories are developed in too much detail and the web-slinger comes close to being a guest in his own movie that is arguably trying to be too ambitious. Expand
  100. Jul 16, 2012
    4
    I loved the first two, but this was a HUGE disappointment. The action and the visual effects were the best in the series, but the acting was soooo unconvincing and many of the sub-plots in this movie were just cliched and silly. The jazz club has to be one of the stupidest scenes I've ever watched. Venom had so much possibility for Spider-Man 4 (before Sony scrapped it) they shouldn't haveI loved the first two, but this was a HUGE disappointment. The action and the visual effects were the best in the series, but the acting was soooo unconvincing and many of the sub-plots in this movie were just cliched and silly. The jazz club has to be one of the stupidest scenes I've ever watched. Venom had so much possibility for Spider-Man 4 (before Sony scrapped it) they shouldn't have killed him off! I wanted Spider-Man 4 to be better, but Sony seemed to think that a reboot would be better than a sequel that made up for the atrocities of this film. PATHETIC! Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. The wow factor works overtime with state-of-the-art effects sequences that often are as beautiful as they are astonishing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    A sense of strain envelops the proceedings this time around. One can feel the effort required to suit up one more time, come up with fresh variations on a winning formula and inject urgency into a format that basically needs to be repeated and, due to audience expectations, can't be toyed with or deepened very much.
  3. 75
    Overly long and complicated, it's packed with crowd-pleasing moments and satisfactorily wraps up the trilogy - without quite capturing the magic of the first two installments.