Spider-Man 3

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1242 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    To be honest, I didn't what was so bad about this movie! I've heard complaints about Venom, too many villains, etc. Well, whatever! I don't care for any of that! As long as I'm entertained, that's all that matters for me!
  2. HaroonAwan
    May 19, 2007
    7
    Amazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the Black Suit? No, that only happened for about an hour... Fight Venom? Still no; that was for around 15 minutes... (Next time we should see more of the uberAmazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the Black Suit? No, that only happened for about an hour... Fight Venom? Still no; that was for around 15 minutes... (Next time we should see more of the uber villain) And what in tarnation did Maguire do to his hair half way through? Back to basics with the next one (if there will be) please. Collapse
  3. May 11, 2012
    8
    With this Spider-Man you have a story that is different from its predecessors. Now there are multiple villains. It may seem like a lot to handle in one film, but somehow the action and story work out in the end. This is the most tragic Spider-Man of them all.
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    Spider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that it works too hard with way too many villans. First of all, if your gonna go ahead with spidey 3 then keep in mind that,ll you either be blown away or damnSpider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that it works too hard with way too many villans. First of all, if your gonna go ahead with spidey 3 then keep in mind that,ll you either be blown away or damn right disappointed. Mixed reviews are everywhere on the internet so watch with an open mind. First of all the fight scenes are amazing! oh and there's action! Real action with mind blowing CGI. However though, the film spins a messy plot going to the next character and then to the next one. It's also to note that once spidey goes bad, the film even try's to be funny showing a dance scene with peter ( no! you read that right!) a dance scene! You may just be mad with laughter or myble you,ll come across the WTF factor. Either way though despite the films flaws, spider-man 3 has a darker tone and message then the other two films and also has the beatiful message of forgiveness and choices in the film which to me, was what i found to be the best part of the film. The film wraps the triogly up greatly and by doing so changes the wall clawers orgin story. A riskly move i know and some people thought wrong of this but i for one thought that it payed off as it makes peter grow up more with forgiveness in his heart rather then revenage. Something that are own hearts lack and need to be taught with as well. We always have a choice to do the right thing and its why that this film has the best theme in all of three spider-man films. Spider-man 3 may not live up to spider-man 2 which is a true fact but bear in mind though that it has more heart then spider-man 2 and message. that even the best of us need to learn. Venom was myble a pointless figure in the film but to be honest i just think that venom was a relection of what peter could of become and also what we could become if we live with revenage in our own hearts forever. Don't expect venom to great in the film, let alone be that much in the film either but Raimi didn't even want this guy in the film but instead used him to tell the next story of peter parker. Oh and there's also a death in the film as well, two deaths actualy ( one a villian by no surprise since this a spider-man film) and one is just another message as well. A message that shows even if we can redeem are are selfs from bad choices, we,ll stay have to pay for what we chose to dofor making the wrong choice's in life. To sum it all up, spider-man 3, depsite it's faults, is the best spider-man film with a heart and message. Despite not reaching the level of spider-man 2, the final film has bearth taking CGI and finsh's off the triogy on level. Say what you what about this film, love it or hate it, people say only fans who read the comics only know how this is a bad film. Well guass what? This is coming from a big spider-man who loves the comics and also loves this film as well! There's troll's every where on the internet who rip this film to shreds but i don't care. There's more postive then negative reviews on this site, user's put a more postive reviews here which has out-weighed the bad ones so i know that there's other people who think the same as i do. It's not a bad film but a damn good fllm in it's own light. Besides, despite that spider-man 4 may be cancelled, spider-man 3 wrapped the franise up greatly and it did a damn fine job to end one of the most loved super-hero series ever to come. Expand
  5. May 31, 2012
    9
    Spider-man 3 was an epic superhero adventure. Everyone will love this movie. With intense violence, a great plot, and Marvel's coolest superhero, you can't help but like Spider-man 3.
  6. NathanC.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping poignancy shows that it is a brilliant underrated film of the DECADE!!! Also, Tobey Maguire was brilliant when he started to go bad, because it shows that A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping poignancy shows that it is a brilliant underrated film of the DECADE!!! Also, Tobey Maguire was brilliant when he started to go bad, because it shows that people should take on moral responsibility and shouldn't hold grudges. Expand
  7. JackB
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with friends and loved ones from the start. His character is developing and more so in this film than the previous 2. I'm not a fan of the comics, so im I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with friends and loved ones from the start. His character is developing and more so in this film than the previous 2. I'm not a fan of the comics, so im not sure about the history etc and can understand some fans anger, however purely as someone new to the film/series, i enjoyed it overall. I enjoyed seeing something a bit different. What irritated me was the lack of explanation, what on earth was that evil black thing? SPOLIER - When Harry pinned Mary Jane up against the wall then she dumped Peter, what was actually said there? The film however does provide some answers. Combine a decent script with a mega budget, plenty of action and a good cast and you're set. A good film to watch on a Saturday night with the family or a few mates...or the girlfriend. Personally i watched it alone and that was fine too! Expand
  8. Sep 27, 2015
    7
    First of all, who cares if there are too many villains? That just makes it more awesome! And although it takes a while for Venom to finally show up, it's all worth it in the end just for his very appearance in the trilogy! It was fun and action-packed, which is what we want to see in super hero movies, right?
  9. Apr 7, 2012
    7
    As much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception of Topher Grace, casting was spot on. It's a fun filled ride but it isn't as fun as the first two were. still it's a worthy addition to your movieAs much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception of Topher Grace, casting was spot on. It's a fun filled ride but it isn't as fun as the first two were. still it's a worthy addition to your movie collection, especially blu-ray. Expand
  10. Nov 7, 2010
    8
    wasn't as good as the first two movies, but its visuals were still great
  11. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    "Spider man 3" is very impressive and astounding; Sam Raimi manages to give the obvious fresh joy and humor from the previous sequels and even throws in more villains. The Result? Perfect.
  12. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2007
    10
    The goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out. The worst the goo does to Peter is turn him into a finger-snapping hipster recalling the Buddy Love character in The Nutty Professor (both the JerryThe goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out. The worst the goo does to Peter is turn him into a finger-snapping hipster recalling the Buddy Love character in The Nutty Professor (both the Jerry Lewis and Eddie Murphy versions). But Raimi knows we'll never buy Peter as a dick. So he uses the scene for comic effect -- babes laugh at his cool act -- and in the process liberates Maguire from the goody-goody goo that Peter wears like a second skin. The worst thing Peter does is use Gwen to make MJ jealous. And in a typical Raimi touch, the director finds time to show Gwen apologize to MJ for letting herself be a pawn in a man's game.

    Spider-Man 3 is full of Raimi nuances. But the attack dogs are out in force. They see the film's budget (a reported $250 million) and the huge box-office take of the first two installments ($1.6 billion) as evidence that the filmmakers are in it for the money. Now there's a shock. Internet wags point out that Raimi, from a conservative Michigan family of Polish Jews, contributed $900 to Dubya's reelection campaign in 2004. What's next? Did Raimi phone in votes for Sanjaya? The third chapter in the Spidey saga (a fourth is in the planning stages) is uneven, ungainly and frayed at the edges but there's lively mischief in it still. My guess is that when the summer blockbuster season finishes pummeling us with formula, Spider-Man 3 is going to look like one of the few that was touched by human hands.
    Expand
  13. CallumHunter
    May 19, 2007
    8
    i really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in the film was. i think so many people thought less of it because they were expecting this uber gritty and dark film, but thats just not how the spidermani really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in the film was. i think so many people thought less of it because they were expecting this uber gritty and dark film, but thats just not how the spiderman films have ever worked. sure it was a little cheesy but i loved every secong of it Expand
  14. JohnWashington
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This film is a masterpiece. Just ask the critics and the IMDB fans. This division is what creates nothing short of brilliance. If you want, you can disagree with it. But no one can argue that this movie certainly is entertaining, and that it has a heart to it and is a gripping tale of bitter humanity.
  15. ChrisHerbst
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    Not as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngest to see this one. Venom and his screams would give him nightmares. Still the best, by far, superhero movies ever. This one is the 2nd best of the three.Not as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngest to see this one. Venom and his screams would give him nightmares. Still the best, by far, superhero movies ever. This one is the 2nd best of the three. If I were to think about it a few more days, I may even move it up a bit more. Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    I understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only real problem w/ the movie is how little screen time Venom got. Raimi should have moved him to the 4th movie and kept the Sandman as the main villain. I feelI understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only real problem w/ the movie is how little screen time Venom got. Raimi should have moved him to the 4th movie and kept the Sandman as the main villain. I feel the Venom saga deserves its own movie. In conclusion, this is a good movie with a few problems. Expand
  17. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    best one in the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. TylerGreene
    May 7, 2007
    10
    I thought this movie was the best in the series. I loved every Spider Man movie and this one was my fave. I don't understand why everyone is downing it so much. I was just like the other Spider Man's. This movie had great action, great story, and great dialogue, i loved everything about this movie. It was funny but also serious. This movie pulled off everything. Easy 10.
  19. JohnSturdivant
    May 4, 2007
    10
    this was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was way better than 2 and a little better than 1 not that much. but ff2: rise of the silver surfer will be better. i know it. so im done. i love the film andthis was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was way better than 2 and a little better than 1 not that much. but ff2: rise of the silver surfer will be better. i know it. so im done. i love the film and sm2 was shit. Expand
  20. ChrisVillegas
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever, idont know why people despyes so much this movie, the story is soo cool, and the fight scenes, why do they say that is exagerated? is spiderman, not batman, i mean, come on, its a super hero story, or did you wanted to see another superman returns version? that really sucked!! give spidey a chance.
  21. EddieB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    The best comedic/action flick according to date, in the year of 2007. The theme of humanity and forgiveness is beautiful. Learn to love and stop hating from within.
  22. Iamnotacritic
    May 4, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie more than any other spider-man movie or maybe even any other comic book movie or maybe even my children. kthx go see it i like spider-man.
  23. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Just like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantastic story with much Oscar-worthy finesse (Sandman's creation, anyone?).

    One of my favourite movies and I hope The Amazing Spider-Man 2 can live up to
    Just like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantastic story with much Oscar-worthy finesse (Sandman's creation, anyone?).

    One of my favourite movies and I hope The Amazing Spider-Man 2 can live up to this amazing trilogy.
    Expand
  24. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    lol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don't know if its just me but the ending brought me to near tears; lol a great movie definantly; I would recommend anyone to just go in, watch the movie,lol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don't know if its just me but the ending brought me to near tears; lol a great movie definantly; I would recommend anyone to just go in, watch the movie, and watch it on your own behalf; just because someone here said the movie was bad doesn't mean its bad; vice versa for good; lol

    the only problem I had with this movie was that venom didn't get enough spotlight; sandman got more attention than venom and venom didn't get enough development; also the guy who played venom didn't really fit the persona of what I pictured venom to be; I always pictured venom to be this big buff guy that bullied peter parker but this actor failed to pull off that image lol still I suppose I he did a decent job of being venom lol he did get the cockiness of venom down pretty well lol

    solid 8, great movie!
    Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    Se daño un poco la saga sin embargo tiene su encanto de Hombre araña que demuestra en la primera y segunda parte, De un modo Peter Parker saca su lado oscuro de una forma no muy chevere tal vez al ponerle mas accion se perdio el hombre araña que habia antes
  26. Jun 6, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie isn't as bad as it seems, according to most of the Spider Man spectators. There were many villains in it and the plot twists during the movie don't follow a specific story-line. Despite of it, the denouement was impressive and I really appreciated it. Expand
  27. PabloE.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Sandman was a brilliant and worthy character in the Spiderman movies, but all of the supervillains got shortchanged by being crammed in the allotted time slot. Still, all of them showed a human side that shows us that we as human beings can choose to be good or evil, to repent, and to do good things in our daily lives.
  28. TomK.
    May 6, 2007
    8
    The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't explore the characters to the deep; but it's already done in the previous films, most of the characters are the same, so nothing would get you a The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't explore the characters to the deep; but it's already done in the previous films, most of the characters are the same, so nothing would get you a new information about the characters. The end of the movie turned down to be the weakest part of the movie, but when you remember the other parts of the movie you see how it was an excellent way to end this trilogy. Expand
  29. StuC.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Had a great time at this flick! Favorite movie of the year, and my favorite Spiderman movie. The action and effects can't be beat, and much more enjoyable to me than Shrek 3 or POTC 3. This one furthers the character plotlines established in the previous 2. Great time at the movies!
  30. KirbyD.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    This movie was excellent on all counts: story, action, effects, development, and continuity with the other 2. These low scores are atrocious, people are being way to over critical. Sit back and enjoy 2.3 hour's of top notch entertainment.
  31. EddieM.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    First of all, the action in this movie was breathtaking, and second of all they took the comedy too far yes, but it was supposed to be funny, Sam Raimi did a phenomanal job with this movie and it does deserve alot more credit than it actually does. Ben Brown, im the sheriff in these parts.
  32. CharlieB.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Hell Yeah!! Everything I want in a Spider-Man movie. Chock full of action, humor, and pathos. Is it a perfect film? Maybe not. But it is a perfect COMIC BOOK MOVIE. As Harry Osborne says to the waitress, "It's Sooo GOOOD!"
  33. CarsonK.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    I thought that the effects were amazing and the villains were tremendous. When everything is sort of o.k. and mellow for Peter the story is a little less interesting, but this is still my favorite spiderman movie.
  34. JimD.
    May 4, 2007
    8
    If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't deny that fact. Expand
  35. M.Lee
    May 4, 2007
    7
    It's not as bad a some make it out to be. There's nowhere as much character development as in 1 and 2. Why should there be? You've seen these characters for 5 hours on film already, why do you need that much more? There's a lot more action, and as a side-effect, too much CGI. I think this film has become a victim of too much hype, and too much footage already released It's not as bad a some make it out to be. There's nowhere as much character development as in 1 and 2. Why should there be? You've seen these characters for 5 hours on film already, why do you need that much more? There's a lot more action, and as a side-effect, too much CGI. I think this film has become a victim of too much hype, and too much footage already released in trailers and "sneak peeks". Venom looked AWESOME. Just wish he had more than just 30 mins or so. It's better than 2, not a good as 1. It's a film that you'll like more and more, the more you see it. There's too many smaller nuances that you miss in one viewing with all the action. The biggest flaw was not enough JK Simmons. He always steals the movie, and he just isn't in this one enough. Expand
  36. JimD.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't If i were to say this movie was bad...i'd be lying to myself... because it was great solid entertainment by the characters we love. ...i must admit it lost a little of it's deep edge that came from spiderman 2... much emotional impact was lost and there was some very...uh...unintentionally funny moments... ...however, i had an over-all good time. I enjoyed it... and i can't deny that fact. Expand
  37. JimboH.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Top flight action, good all around characters and plot.
  38. TedB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    This film was decent. I liked it. It wasn't too bad, it had tidbits of good humor, as well as a good cast, and action. All around good, enjoyable film.
  39. ChrisA.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Powerfully gripping, and touching film, and Harry Osborn was actually good in this film. Too bad the Eddie Brock character seemed inconsistent, and the plot seemed rushed. Haydn Church was great in the bit role as the down on his luck, the good-hearted but criminally Sandman, and this film was awesome. Good storyline, and buddy buddy film.
  40. BenjaminB.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    The problem with this movie are that there are too many unneccessary scenes. do you want to see how MJ and Harry are cooking, do you want to see how peter is dancing to express his evil character traits, or do you want to see how he tries to be a macho? I don't want. Maybe they were ment to be ironic, but they were too normal to be ironic and too stupid to be normal. the other moviesThe problem with this movie are that there are too many unneccessary scenes. do you want to see how MJ and Harry are cooking, do you want to see how peter is dancing to express his evil character traits, or do you want to see how he tries to be a macho? I don't want. Maybe they were ment to be ironic, but they were too normal to be ironic and too stupid to be normal. the other movies had no ironie in it, so no one in the cinema got that it was (maybe) ment to be ironic. without these stupid scenes and a little bit more fighting-action I would give it a 10. Expand
  41. AMovieCriticYo
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Riveting, touching, brilliant. This divisiveness is what spurs on greatness. Every great underrated action cannot go without being in question. The film delivered on its promise. It brings humanity into its superheroes, and delivers with its comedic and dramatic potential and fulfills it. It is like Arrested Development meets Superman 2. An overall superb film. Also, Harry Osborn finally Riveting, touching, brilliant. This divisiveness is what spurs on greatness. Every great underrated action cannot go without being in question. The film delivered on its promise. It brings humanity into its superheroes, and delivers with its comedic and dramatic potential and fulfills it. It is like Arrested Development meets Superman 2. An overall superb film. Also, Harry Osborn finally gets to show that he is a likeable character, and not whiny, and his part in the movie was incredible as a homicidal maniac-on and off again crazy best friend, who becomes an amnesiac, fights, and later, grows a conscience. The Green Goblin cooks, and paints. This is hillarious. Also, Venom was a dousche, but a convincing one at that. Lay off, haters. Expand
  42. TomW.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    This movie may have had alot more cheesy lines than the first two, but it's still an epic Spidey adventure like them also. I can tell many of these people commenting obviously did not watch or understand the movie. It was hinted throughout the entire movie that Flint was a good person. He didn't suddenly become good in the end. Talor P. obviously has to go back and watch the This movie may have had alot more cheesy lines than the first two, but it's still an epic Spidey adventure like them also. I can tell many of these people commenting obviously did not watch or understand the movie. It was hinted throughout the entire movie that Flint was a good person. He didn't suddenly become good in the end. Talor P. obviously has to go back and watch the movie again. Expand
  43. MattW.
    May 6, 2007
    9
    I liked it. As a stand alone movie, its great. Its funny, action packed, and a lot better than most super hero movies.
  44. LeeH.
    May 6, 2007
    9
    A fantastic movie suffering from inevitable hype and high expectations. Yes it crams a lot in the time it has, but how many other movies could still do it as well as it does? Not perfect but lots of fun, bringing three villians (or are they?) into the mix as well as the romance and laughs. If this were the last in the series I would be far from disappointed - everything is concluded well A fantastic movie suffering from inevitable hype and high expectations. Yes it crams a lot in the time it has, but how many other movies could still do it as well as it does? Not perfect but lots of fun, bringing three villians (or are they?) into the mix as well as the romance and laughs. If this were the last in the series I would be far from disappointed - everything is concluded well given how much it has to do. Thank you Marvel, thank you Sony, thank you Sam! Expand
  45. Easky
    May 6, 2007
    7
    This one may not be as good as last 2,however,it's a deeper one.
  46. Alex
    May 6, 2007
    7
    As far as some franchise/superhero movies go, Spiderman 3 isn't bad. its entertaining enough to keep a Monster-addicted high-schooler (me) watching happily for the two hour running time. unfortunately, there are some departments where it just falls short. the movie has a tendancy to skip around a bit, making it midly difficult to follow, and some of the acting (especially on TobyAs far as some franchise/superhero movies go, Spiderman 3 isn't bad. its entertaining enough to keep a Monster-addicted high-schooler (me) watching happily for the two hour running time. unfortunately, there are some departments where it just falls short. the movie has a tendancy to skip around a bit, making it midly difficult to follow, and some of the acting (especially on Toby McGuire's part) just plain sucks. and then there was Venom. quite simply, he could not have been more poorly excecuted. he just came off as an evil, power hungry version of spiderman with bad teeth and black webs who wanted to exact revenge because he lost his job. Venom is one of my favorite bad guys, but after this movie, i'm not sure i can still say the same thing. but, i guess, in the end, it was still a fairly good movie. could have been better, but its still worth a good rental, or even a buy. overall, 7 out of 10. Expand
  47. Rick
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Funny, amazing, incredible, goofy, all around great movie. The thing I like about the Spiderman movies is the villians. In all three movies the villian is not just evil to be evil but a person who has taken a few wrong turns. [***SPOILER***] Green Goblin had this moment of good at the end same for the Doc is Spiderman 2 and continued with Harry and Sandman in 3. Nothing is as simple as Funny, amazing, incredible, goofy, all around great movie. The thing I like about the Spiderman movies is the villians. In all three movies the villian is not just evil to be evil but a person who has taken a few wrong turns. [***SPOILER***] Green Goblin had this moment of good at the end same for the Doc is Spiderman 2 and continued with Harry and Sandman in 3. Nothing is as simple as good and evil especially when dealing with people. Expand
  48. KairiS.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Great flick. Good pacing. Just enough mix of humor, action, and fun. 2 thumbs up.
  49. KenJ.
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Overall it was ok, the ending just didn't make any sense. [***SPOILERS***] The villians become these big soft wussies. They killed off the enemy way too quickly(Venom). Yes lots of cheesy moments but it is after all a movie that was based off of the comics which were just as cheesy and the first two films had corny scenes as well. It tends to get a bit confusing with all the Overall it was ok, the ending just didn't make any sense. [***SPOILERS***] The villians become these big soft wussies. They killed off the enemy way too quickly(Venom). Yes lots of cheesy moments but it is after all a movie that was based off of the comics which were just as cheesy and the first two films had corny scenes as well. It tends to get a bit confusing with all the characters being introduced at once, they probably should have just stuck with venom and the new goblin. The "depressed" peter parker was a joke, wasnt necessary. The fight scenes were pretty good, sandman appears about 10 mins in the movie just like venom...the fight at the end is about the best part of the movie, not the best movie but not the worst either, if you can live through the corny lines and all the lovey dovey bullsh.t. Expand
  50. NickP.
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Overall this movie was great, but it did have a couple flaws. [***SPOILER***] Harry dying at the end and little bit of time that you see Venom in there were some causes for concern. Also when things were going down nobody explained anything to anyone, like MJ breaking up with Peter and Peter not telling MJ about Harry, oh and don't forget the butler holding his breath until after Overall this movie was great, but it did have a couple flaws. [***SPOILER***] Harry dying at the end and little bit of time that you see Venom in there were some causes for concern. Also when things were going down nobody explained anything to anyone, like MJ breaking up with Peter and Peter not telling MJ about Harry, oh and don't forget the butler holding his breath until after Peter and Harry beat the hell out of each other. I'm a fan of the series, but the fourth one needs to explain everything so the fans can have some closure. Expand
  51. Giga
    May 7, 2007
    8
    A very entertaining comic-movie with marvelous special effects, naive plot and funny little jokes. What else do you need to relax a bit?
  52. MarkS
    May 8, 2007
    8
    In opposition to most of the other reviewers I felt that 2 was a let-down from the excellence of the first film. In my mind this was much better than the weak, repetitive second installment. While it still has problems (it sometimes feels like they had two ideas for the film, but neither would be long enough so they were grafted together, a number of George Lucas caliber bad "romantic" In opposition to most of the other reviewers I felt that 2 was a let-down from the excellence of the first film. In my mind this was much better than the weak, repetitive second installment. While it still has problems (it sometimes feels like they had two ideas for the film, but neither would be long enough so they were grafted together, a number of George Lucas caliber bad "romantic" moments, and some scenes that feel forced) it was a worthy sequel. So, considering that I liked the first one, felt the second was weak, and am a long-time comic fan (though, not generally a big reader of super-hero fare) this came out as the second-best in the series and a great way to spend a few hours. Expand
  53. TravisC.
    May 8, 2007
    8
    People sure seem to be expecting quite a bit from a movie basically made for children. It's a fun way to spend two and a half hours and just as good as the first two.
  54. WilliamB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    8
    Good action combined with several laughs made it a fun time all around.
  55. kurtc
    Jul 13, 2008
    7
    A pretty good film, though not really a magnificent one. In the comics Venom is muscular and cool. In here, he's some skinny wimp.
  56. AnonymousMC
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Compared to predecessors, Spidey three is a little choppy, but that doesn't prevent it from being entertaining. the "bad" peter is an absolute blast to watch, from his more outspoken behavioral qualities to his ferocious spidey fighting. Sandman's an awesome villain, and the arc with the three friends was wrapped up nicely.
  57. JohnM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    So sue me, I loved it! Action-packed and full of fun. That's what I look for in a movie.
  58. DavidC.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Excellent dazzling a 4 star opera.
  59. BillD.
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Best of the trilogy. Very successful management of multiple complex characters.
  60. BrutusO.
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Everyone is being little over-critical here. Yes, it isn't as good as the last one. Yes, Harry and Mary Jane have outstayed their welcome. Yes the exposition of the story is a tad too complicated. But if you are a SpiderMan fan, this is still pretty good. For one thing, Venom is done brilliantly. And the Sandman comes in a close second. And Peter Parker is as hapless and nerdy as in Everyone is being little over-critical here. Yes, it isn't as good as the last one. Yes, Harry and Mary Jane have outstayed their welcome. Yes the exposition of the story is a tad too complicated. But if you are a SpiderMan fan, this is still pretty good. For one thing, Venom is done brilliantly. And the Sandman comes in a close second. And Peter Parker is as hapless and nerdy as in the comic. And there are lots of good supporting perormances eg J Jonah Jameson, and Robbie Robertson, and Betty, and Gwen Stacey isnt all that bad either. Should be films be made for broad audiences, or for the fan base? Decide for yourself, however the fans are not ill-served here. A little too long (hardly unusual these days), but a blockbuster anyway.An honourable attempt to keep the franchise going. When does Carnage hit the screen? I will go to the next one. Expand
  61. PaulI.
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Spider-Man is back! And in black? Anyways, this movie is extremely enjoyable with memorable villains, battle scenes and drama. But the movie, just like any other movie, has its downsides.
  62. MatthewK.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Actually i'd give it an 8.5 but whatever. this film was flawed, yes. but was by no means a bad movie, i have seen bad movies (fantastic 4, x-men: laststand, daredevil) and this is not a bad film at all. it's as good as part 1 if not a little better. not nearly as convulted as i had thought it's be. it's pacing was all wacky and wrong in the last 45 minutes but otherwiseActually i'd give it an 8.5 but whatever. this film was flawed, yes. but was by no means a bad movie, i have seen bad movies (fantastic 4, x-men: laststand, daredevil) and this is not a bad film at all. it's as good as part 1 if not a little better. not nearly as convulted as i had thought it's be. it's pacing was all wacky and wrong in the last 45 minutes but otherwise it was insanely entertaining. amazing, amazing special effects. this is pretty much the return of the jedi of the trilogy; good but still has its problems. Expand
  63. FilmFella
    May 4, 2007
    8
    Though the movie is a bit long and a bit slow at times, this will easily be one of the best movies of the summer and most fun movies of the year. Smarter and Funnier than the previous movies help 3 find its niche in the Marvel Hall of Heros.
  64. Andrewfidel1ty
    May 4, 2007
    7
    I enjoy this movie. It is interesting and cinematic.
  65. TheoC.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Powerfully gripping, and touching film, and Harry Osborn was actually good in this film. Too bad the Eddie Brock character seemed inconsistent, and the plot seemed rushed. Haydn Church was great in the bit role as the down on his luck, the good-hearted but criminally Sandman, and this film was awesome. Venom was great in the two halves, and as Eddie Brock, but I didn't think they Powerfully gripping, and touching film, and Harry Osborn was actually good in this film. Too bad the Eddie Brock character seemed inconsistent, and the plot seemed rushed. Haydn Church was great in the bit role as the down on his luck, the good-hearted but criminally Sandman, and this film was awesome. Venom was great in the two halves, and as Eddie Brock, but I didn't think they linked up well together. Just my opinion. Good storyline, and buddy buddy film. Expand
  66. JosephO.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    The people who don't understand the brooding apparently didn't understand the mechanics of the material that came from the meteorite. It ENHANCES emotions/powers, so when he is in the black suit, ALL of his emotions are enhanced...
  67. JimA.
    May 4, 2007
    8
    I don't really know why critics rate this movie so low and I am totally opposed to that. The movie was good but it could be better if it had a much more better end!!
  68. MikeH.
    May 4, 2007
    9
    this film is so much damn fun. very formulaic and cliche heavy, but when you have a budget in excess of 300 million, why the hell would you want to be edgy. almost anyone who walks into the cinema knows what they're going to get. don't expect to be challenged, just enjoy it.
  69. DwightM.
    May 4, 2007
    7
    I give this a 7 because in grade-school, a 70 is a C for average. I felt that this movie was average when compared to what we've already seen from this franchise. I was expecting lots more but received even less. I am sorry to see these characters go like this. Alas.
  70. RonJ.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Clever and unconvential, this sort of film applies to independent film students, college kids, but not your average elderly crowd or for the entire family. Still it provides raucous laughter, and despite this division, it is necessary because even though it creates controversy, it is needed to show that everyday people are not one-dimensional people, and that not everything is so Clever and unconvential, this sort of film applies to independent film students, college kids, but not your average elderly crowd or for the entire family. Still it provides raucous laughter, and despite this division, it is necessary because even though it creates controversy, it is needed to show that everyday people are not one-dimensional people, and that not everything is so cut-and-dry. Their message hits this home, and this is why this film is so powerful. Expand
  71. JohnB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    I went to the theater expecting to be entertained and I was. It has just as much "soul" as the others and actually pushes more boundaries than anyone could expect it to. One thing that was a little weird was Peter Parker's double chin. Oh well.
  72. MatthewM.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Sure its no Spider-man 1 or 2, but its nonetheless fantastic. CGI at a all time high. Acting most impressive. Definetly a must-see.
  73. GeoffP.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    Cheesy plot and dialogue aside, the acting was very good, the humor was decent, and overall good enough action to keep me entertained.
  74. LukeA.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    This is far from perfect, but it still is a fun and exciting installment into the spider-man franchise. It has plenty of action, laughs as well as serious moments. Its campy and cheesy at times but thats because its a comic book movie. Go in wanting to have fun and not to critique every little detail.
  75. PerroD.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    I thought the movie was great. If you go in expecting it to be as great as the first sequel then you might be a bit dissapointed. there are some solid performances from the cast especially from Thomas Haydn Church as Marko Flint and from James Franco as Harry Osborn/The New Goblin. this one is also alot funnier than the other two movies with peter parker taking on a much more emo/goofy I thought the movie was great. If you go in expecting it to be as great as the first sequel then you might be a bit dissapointed. there are some solid performances from the cast especially from Thomas Haydn Church as Marko Flint and from James Franco as Harry Osborn/The New Goblin. this one is also alot funnier than the other two movies with peter parker taking on a much more emo/goofy persona at about halfway through the movie. the effects were better this time around and even provided for a few jumps out of my seat. my only beef with this installment is that the ending was kind of awkward and somber and left much to be desired. but besides that the movie was fantastic and will probably be the best movie of the season. Expand
  76. PeterRollingO.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    In my opinion, the 2nd Spiderman was one of the best superhero movies ever made. It had the perfect balance of character development and action, and flowed smoothly. Because of that lasting impression, I went into the 3rd one with extremely high expectations - and therein lies the problem. If you took this movie by itself, and you had never seen the first two, you might think this was an In my opinion, the 2nd Spiderman was one of the best superhero movies ever made. It had the perfect balance of character development and action, and flowed smoothly. Because of that lasting impression, I went into the 3rd one with extremely high expectations - and therein lies the problem. If you took this movie by itself, and you had never seen the first two, you might think this was an incredible flick. And it is... when you compare it to most other comic-based films. But, rather annoyingly, there is a tendency to compare entries of a franchise with each other. In terms of what could have been better about it, it's not that the film is too long (I love long movies, like Lord of the Rings and Braveheart); it's that, in the time allotted, so much is being crammed that you kind of want the filmmakers to do one of two things: (1) either make this into two separate movies, or (2) make it 3 hours long and smooth out the rough edges. It seemed that a lot was left on the cutting room floor in an attempt to keep this under 3 hours. I told the guy sitting next to me that I could have sat another 30 minutes, because the best thing about this series is that the characters are so likeable. Sure, some scenes were dragged out a bit too long (e.g. when Parker has a 'bad'-itude and is strutting his stuff), but that really didn't bother me, because those scenes were funny (this is by far the funniest of the 3 movies). Like I said, it just seemed like the editor got a little "scissors-happy" and, as a result, the film seems choppy at times. Again, this could have been made into 2 phenomenal films or been turned into a "Return of the King-ish" guilty pleasure. Regardless, it was worth my money and I would like to see it again, just to determine if my opinion about it changes after a second helping. A masterpiece it is not, but it does make for a decent superhero movie, and I hope the 4th one gets made. Expand
  77. JohnnyP.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    A damn good film that exceeded my expectations. Reading from the reviews, I didn't expect much, but hey, it was well worth my time, and I say it's worth more than one viewing.
  78. AnonymousMC
    May 5, 2007
    9
    It really ashame the critics are really messing this up.The film has a dark side alot like the comic. I'm so glad that this film doesn't put a warm and fuzzy in everyones heart.It's not suppose to ..A really under appreciated film..Maybe Fantastic 4 is more for the critics liking ....a really well crafted film..Nice to see the old Sam ways of story telling ..Thank you SamIt really ashame the critics are really messing this up.The film has a dark side alot like the comic. I'm so glad that this film doesn't put a warm and fuzzy in everyones heart.It's not suppose to ..A really under appreciated film..Maybe Fantastic 4 is more for the critics liking ....a really well crafted film..Nice to see the old Sam ways of story telling ..Thank you Sam Rami....... Expand
  79. LewisB.
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with characters that matter? The comedy works, the emotion works, the action works. Everything Raimi tries comes off. The set pieces are particularly astounding, ranging from an out of control crane to Spidey's numerous battles with the meaty villains on show. Like others, I think this is by far the best of the three (though I loved the first two as well). It's a modern-day classic, an enrapturing fantasy that exhibits all that's best in modern movie making. An experience not to be missed. Expand
  80. LeeS.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    Deeply flawed masterpeice. I think Sam Raimi didn't have the time needed to give this movie the edit that it needed. With a better cut Raimi could easily remove the worse scenes and improve the poorer and more contrived story elements. However it will never be as good as Spider-man 2, which was pretty much perfect. There are some really great scenes and amazing action sequences, and Deeply flawed masterpeice. I think Sam Raimi didn't have the time needed to give this movie the edit that it needed. With a better cut Raimi could easily remove the worse scenes and improve the poorer and more contrived story elements. However it will never be as good as Spider-man 2, which was pretty much perfect. There are some really great scenes and amazing action sequences, and the stellar cast help make the movie fun despite a few bad scenes, bad pacing and forced plot elements. Expand
  81. MicS.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    It was pretty good. Not as good as 2 and 1, and somewhat of a let down only because we've seen it all before. Venom did feel a tiny bit rushed and thrown in at the end. I think it would've benefitted from just having the Sandman. Harry could've stayed. Other than that, was cool.
  82. SteveA.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    There were a few flaws. However, this movie had too much heart to dislike. I can picture Raimi not being one of the cool kids in school (that was probably someone like Michael Bay or James Cameron). Instead, he was probably the sweet, goofy kid with a ton of talent and heart.
  83. ChesterJ>
    May 5, 2007
    9
    The special effects are top-notch, absolutely, but it's the amazing camera works and the beautifully interwoven story that gives Spider-Man 3 it's infallible greatness.
  84. HalB.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    More fun than I thought it would be. Yes, it focuses more on emotion than action at times, but what's wrong with that? There are a couple scenes that fall flat, but the overall story arc moves along nicely, the special effects are good (but don't dominate the film) and the acting is decent. People who give this anything below a 5 are way harsh. The cameo by Bruce Campbell is More fun than I thought it would be. Yes, it focuses more on emotion than action at times, but what's wrong with that? There are a couple scenes that fall flat, but the overall story arc moves along nicely, the special effects are good (but don't dominate the film) and the acting is decent. People who give this anything below a 5 are way harsh. The cameo by Bruce Campbell is excellent. And who knew that Dunst cold actually sing? or that Toby could dance a bit? Expand
  85. AndrewC
    May 5, 2007
    9
    This Movie in my opinion is the best of the trilogy, It has new exciting villians which overpower the villians of the last two installments. There are however a few moments in the movie where you wonder why Raimi twists the story. Other than that, Spider Man gives off a new personality that pleased me throughout the movie. Overall, Spider Man 3 keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting This Movie in my opinion is the best of the trilogy, It has new exciting villians which overpower the villians of the last two installments. There are however a few moments in the movie where you wonder why Raimi twists the story. Other than that, Spider Man gives off a new personality that pleased me throughout the movie. Overall, Spider Man 3 keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more from the from the screen, and hopefuly, more installments of the series from Sam Raimi. Expand
  86. CamD.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Almost flawless. This was absolutely amazing and I am completely lost as to how anyone could have disliked this movie. This is pure gold. I will never forget this movie in my life, simply because the story was surprising, fun, funny, and unpredictable, as well as the fight scenes were the best I have ever seen in any superhero movie let alone any movie. And let's not forget when Almost flawless. This was absolutely amazing and I am completely lost as to how anyone could have disliked this movie. This is pure gold. I will never forget this movie in my life, simply because the story was surprising, fun, funny, and unpredictable, as well as the fight scenes were the best I have ever seen in any superhero movie let alone any movie. And let's not forget when spider-man fights with his best friend. Have we all forgotten what these movies are about? Absolutely amazing. I paid 15 bucks for advanced tickets to IMAX, and I would have paid 30. Expand
  87. JamesA.
    May 6, 2007
    7
    The flaws of the movie were that it doesn't follow the comic. Venom himself should have been Hulk appearence (not size). The major flaw was that 3 enemies divided the action and no major battles occured unlike Spider-man 2. I say go and see it, the movie was enjoyable.
  88. CalebC.
    May 6, 2007
    9
    The Best of the trilogy. Its exciting, thrilling, dramatic, a bit funny, and weird. The Weird comes from things that the other spiderman movies haven't done. It takes on a different look into comic book films and its set apart from them in a tremendous way.
  89. AlisaH.
    May 6, 2007
    9
    This movie was really good, the acting, humor, action, and the romance. It made you feel and hope this guy makes it through to the end, you go oh crap when peter says something stupid to mj or other things. The only problem I had with the movie was that Venom came in to late. Otherwise, I give kudos and wait anxiously for the next installment.
  90. MikeC.
    May 6, 2007
    7
    If you go into this movie expecting nothing but flare and glare, then I can understand how you were disappointed. To me, the movie was about the hardships that Peter Parker as a person had to experience. I think they should have followed the cartoon for the Symbiote. It seemed to..random. Harry's "amnesia" served no real purpose in the plot, and cramming Venom into the last 15 If you go into this movie expecting nothing but flare and glare, then I can understand how you were disappointed. To me, the movie was about the hardships that Peter Parker as a person had to experience. I think they should have followed the cartoon for the Symbiote. It seemed to..random. Harry's "amnesia" served no real purpose in the plot, and cramming Venom into the last 15 minutes was extremely disappointing. I think the directors had so many ideas for scenes, that when it came to putting it together, they lost focus on where the story was supposed to be in the end. The first hour+ felt slow-moving, and the last 30+ felt extremely rushed. Very X-Men 3-ish... :/ Expand
  91. NateC.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    Better than the last two. You've got the black suit, Sandman, the New Green Goblin, Gwen Stacey, and Venom. Topher Grace as Venom was awesome. I loved it and hope it is not the last.
  92. AnonymousMC
    May 6, 2007
    8
    Not as good as the first 2 but still is worth seeing. Tries to mix too many sub-plots, too many characters, and in the end gives solutions that either ar in ahurry or not so convincing. But the humorous stuff are good (even McGuire behaving as jerk makes u laugh but THAT s the intention, people!), the drama that ALWAYS was there (check the previous Spideys) is here too and action inNot as good as the first 2 but still is worth seeing. Tries to mix too many sub-plots, too many characters, and in the end gives solutions that either ar in ahurry or not so convincing. But the humorous stuff are good (even McGuire behaving as jerk makes u laugh but THAT s the intention, people!), the drama that ALWAYS was there (check the previous Spideys) is here too and action in nevetheless awesome. I expected MORE of course. but to call this a bad movie is WAY out of line... Expand
  93. RichardH.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Honestly, a lot of people just didn't get this movie, the fact of the matter is, the first two spiderman films came out of nowhere, no one thought they would be good, and they blew everyone away because there was so little expectation, now that this film had so much hype everyone is suddenly hyper critical of it. The nay sayers can shove off quite frankly, this is a clever, funny, Honestly, a lot of people just didn't get this movie, the fact of the matter is, the first two spiderman films came out of nowhere, no one thought they would be good, and they blew everyone away because there was so little expectation, now that this film had so much hype everyone is suddenly hyper critical of it. The nay sayers can shove off quite frankly, this is a clever, funny, action packed, all round excellent film. It shocks me that people are picking holes in the funny parts of the film for being too cheesy, when that's exactly what they were supposed to be. Honestly, too many morons went out to see this film because of the hype, and that's the only reason a lot of the reviews have been poor. Because the film is anything but. Expand
  94. MostafaF.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I saw the movie, and I really think it deserves a 9 out of 10. Even though there are scenes not included in the movie (included in the trailers only and other scenes would have been better if included). Ultimatley, this is the best movie in its trilogy, in terms of its story,effects,acting and the amount of effort and heart that has been put to this movie (two and half years in the I saw the movie, and I really think it deserves a 9 out of 10. Even though there are scenes not included in the movie (included in the trailers only and other scenes would have been better if included). Ultimatley, this is the best movie in its trilogy, in terms of its story,effects,acting and the amount of effort and heart that has been put to this movie (two and half years in the making). I really hope that it gets Academy Awards in Effects (Visual and Sound), Editing. For people who haven't seen the movie yet, I highly recomend it and thank you for the readers for your time to read this, I appreciate it. Expand
  95. AndyH.
    May 7, 2007
    7
    I can only describe this film as a missed opportunity. It could have been an epic, and indeed completed an epic trilogy, possibly one of the best super hero movie series of all time. But it was not. There was no lack of substance, everything needed was there to create the movie it should have been. However there was also a lot more than was needed, and it was poorly put together. I do not I can only describe this film as a missed opportunity. It could have been an epic, and indeed completed an epic trilogy, possibly one of the best super hero movie series of all time. But it was not. There was no lack of substance, everything needed was there to create the movie it should have been. However there was also a lot more than was needed, and it was poorly put together. I do not have a problem with long films, but this should have been shorter. The writers seemed to feel the need to tie up every loose end, which I do not think is necessary or compelling, whether there is to be a sequel or not. Purely from observation it seems there was conflict on what the writers wanted this film to be, which is a shame. All though it is not my place to say how it could be improved, I think the removal of at least one villain would have been a start. Complicated films are good, but they should not be complicated due to an overflow of content, and this type of film should be simple if you wish to view it in such a light. Spider-man 3 is complicated in all the wrong ways. Expand
  96. JosephA.
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Superb. This movie does a fantastic job of blowing you away with amazing action, giving you a good laugh, and touching your heart all @ the same time. It was an excellent finish that beautifully satisfies the story that started in the first film by bringing Peter full circle. I can't for the life off me understand why anyone is complaining or putting the movie down, seriously. It was Superb. This movie does a fantastic job of blowing you away with amazing action, giving you a good laugh, and touching your heart all @ the same time. It was an excellent finish that beautifully satisfies the story that started in the first film by bringing Peter full circle. I can't for the life off me understand why anyone is complaining or putting the movie down, seriously. It was brilliiant. I'm so glad they didnt mess this up. A perfect trilogy with possibility for amendment. It's definitely my favorite of the 3. Definitely see it!! Expand
  97. JeffH.
    May 7, 2007
    8
    I went with some very critical friends who really disliked the musical scenes and thought Parker's antics with the dance number were totally unnecessary. My brother and friends hinted that the movie tried to involve or cover too many threads of different characters and such. Did they read or hear about other people's thoughts after opening night? I could have done without the I went with some very critical friends who really disliked the musical scenes and thought Parker's antics with the dance number were totally unnecessary. My brother and friends hinted that the movie tried to involve or cover too many threads of different characters and such. Did they read or hear about other people's thoughts after opening night? I could have done without the dance scene and pelvis thrust myself, but the combat and special effects were astounding. Yes, there were a few characters to keep track of, but there was just enough background story to give the origin of these characters some substance rather than just throwing up some new villians out of nowhere. I think Sam Raimi could have done a better(different) way of showing Parker's vengeful side, but all in all the movie was pretty good. Keep in mind people - this movie is based upon a comic book character. Comics aren't exactly known for their extraordinary plots. Expand
  98. PaulD.
    May 8, 2007
    8
    Spider-Man 3 is going to split audiences. Personally, I love it. It has a tremendous blend of humor (Including great inside jokes), action, drama and special effects. However, some people will find certain aspects too cheesy, or miss certain jokes (I was the only person in the packed theatre who reacted to the appearance of Stan Lee for example). I sincerely hope that the reaction is not Spider-Man 3 is going to split audiences. Personally, I love it. It has a tremendous blend of humor (Including great inside jokes), action, drama and special effects. However, some people will find certain aspects too cheesy, or miss certain jokes (I was the only person in the packed theatre who reacted to the appearance of Stan Lee for example). I sincerely hope that the reaction is not unjustly bad - it is my favourite of all 3, though I am almost certainly in the minority - as it's no secret that everyone wants a Spider-Man 4. Expand
  99. Ryan"TheMan"K.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Though not as superior as it's predecessor "SPIDER-MAN 2" and while it's definitely (in my opinion) better than "SPIDER-MAN", this third installment is exciting, suspenseful and dazzling with more villains, better special F.X and some fresh elements. I enjoyed it alot and it should be viewed by many fans of the series!!!
  100. BlatherscyteBlunderbuss
    May 8, 2007
    8
    Spider Man 2 should have been called Doctor Octopus 1. Where the prior sequel's villain overshadowed the supposed protagonist's weak story arc, in Spider Man 3 the story is all about Parker -- as it should be, IMO. If you want to see deep and fleshed-out villains, this is not the sequel for you. If you want to see Spider Man, it's nearly as good as the first film!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. The wow factor works overtime with state-of-the-art effects sequences that often are as beautiful as they are astonishing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    A sense of strain envelops the proceedings this time around. One can feel the effort required to suit up one more time, come up with fresh variations on a winning formula and inject urgency into a format that basically needs to be repeated and, due to audience expectations, can't be toyed with or deepened very much.
  3. 75
    Overly long and complicated, it's packed with crowd-pleasing moments and satisfactorily wraps up the trilogy - without quite capturing the magic of the first two installments.