Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 3, 2002
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 957 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
854
Mixed:
67
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Jun 21, 2011
This, along with X-Men from 2000, paved the way to the great comic book movie renaissance of the 2000s. A true masterpiece that will be remembered by many Spider-Man fans all over the world.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 2, 2013
Before the "Amazing" era began, there was another Spider-Man outing with Sam Raimi at the helm, leaving behind his horror roots to try his hand at the superhero craze that was sweeping Hollywood, and bring the webbed creature to the bigBefore the "Amazing" era began, there was another Spider-Man outing with Sam Raimi at the helm, leaving behind his horror roots to try his hand at the superhero craze that was sweeping Hollywood, and bring the webbed creature to the big screen, and he did so in a big way.
We get an origin tale with a light-hearted tone to show how Peter Parker, played by Tobey Maguire, gets bitten to the an infected spider and starts to develop superhuman abilities such as web swinging and strength, something he keeps secretive from everybody else, his aunt, his best friend Harry James Franco) and the "girl next door" Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst).
But with every hero comes a villain, and the perfect storm is brewing I'm the form of Norman Osborn (Willem Dafoe), father to Harry and an almost father to Peter, a man obsessed with bettering the human condition, something he does to himself by administering a powerful drug which unleashes another side to the man, and not a very good side.
The concept of Spider-Man was always interesting as the likes of Norman Osborn being a primary villain played very close to the heart, he knows the people he is hurting, making the the pacing of the film much more personal and relevant. Each character has a connection and relationship with the next person and it feels much more fluid for this.
The film itself is a visual marvel, with the scenes of Spidey swinging through the city quite a delight to watch, and this is blended in with a humorous opening that takes a much more mellow and less serious approach which is a welcome change, they have colourful characters including the undeniable brilliance of J.K. Simmons playing J. Jonah Jameson, his wit, loudness and larger than life personality are standout moments of the film, Tobey Maguire also delivers a convincing performance as our masked spider, he is like a little child at Christmas bouncing around the screen, giving a different feel to the average superhuman.
But with the light tone there does come a sense of it being very cartoon-like, with a musical score that reflects this, but there is plenty to be said about the the emotional punch the film has to pack, with very quotable and heart-wrenching dialogue throughout.
It's a real kickstarter to a very successful story, and perhaps one of the benchmarks to the overwhelming craze of superhero films today.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJan 28, 2011
Many people do not know the true impact of Spider-Man. However, it is revolutionary to the comic book industry. It keeps enough of the comic book feel with the characters and story, which are both excellent. Spider-Man also entertains, makesMany people do not know the true impact of Spider-Man. However, it is revolutionary to the comic book industry. It keeps enough of the comic book feel with the characters and story, which are both excellent. Spider-Man also entertains, makes us laugh, has a powerful script with emotional scenes, excellent stars, and awesome action. This is a comic book movie at it's finest. This is the gift, the revolution. What is it? It's Spider-Man! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaJun 9, 2012
In light of the release of its reboot ( a little bit too soon though), the original Spider-Man paves the way for super heroes to be portrayed (spandex and all) as accurate as possible on the silver screen. It has uneven special effects inIn light of the release of its reboot ( a little bit too soon though), the original Spider-Man paves the way for super heroes to be portrayed (spandex and all) as accurate as possible on the silver screen. It has uneven special effects in comparison to what you have these days (it did come out 10 years ago), but Spider-Man encapsulates the best of the super hero genre: heart felt, action packed, pulse pounding. You'll laugh as Peter Parker discovered his powers for the first time. You'll cringe when he was beaten to a pulp by the goblin in its finale. It paved the way for the new Batman trilogy by Chris Nolan and other Marvel Studios films. A classic. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
dante_finnJul 5, 2013
A ultimate movie.......................................................................................................................................
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989May 26, 2013
The original Spider-Man in my eyes and while its probably been overshadowed now by the remake I still really enjoyed this one. A little corny perhaps but in a way that simply works thanks to the actors and characters in the film they play.The original Spider-Man in my eyes and while its probably been overshadowed now by the remake I still really enjoyed this one. A little corny perhaps but in a way that simply works thanks to the actors and characters in the film they play. Maguire plays a respectable Peter Parker and gives the character a likability that other actors would not have given. It's a great storyline also that moves well with a villain that was actually pretty creepy. Overall a solid comic book film with good sequels! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MalevolentJun 4, 2013
Sam Raimi did a good job. Tobey was great as Peter Parker/Spider-Man and James Franco was great as Harry Osborn. The Green Goblin reminded me very much of the Joker although his suit was a little silly. Some of the dialogue was cheesy but itSam Raimi did a good job. Tobey was great as Peter Parker/Spider-Man and James Franco was great as Harry Osborn. The Green Goblin reminded me very much of the Joker although his suit was a little silly. Some of the dialogue was cheesy but it doesn't matter. I liked the Stan Lee cameo even though they're all great. Its a really good Spider-Man movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SuckmybigdickAug 23, 2013
GreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttGreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 20, 2013
One of the best superhero movies out there, Spider-man delivers the kind of summer blockbuster punch that movie junkies are looking for without all the extra bull**** that some big-budget movies tend to do nowadays.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BiljanaJ.Jul 6, 2004
I loved it. Tobey is very sweet as Peter Parker and utterly sexy as Spiderman.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KatieFeb 26, 2003
This movie was the greatest. Tobey Maguire kicked butt and was really cute! :) Kirsten Dunst was so cool and did a great job as Mary Jane. Willem Dafoe was sooo scary as the Green goblin! The other members of the cast were fantasic. The This movie was the greatest. Tobey Maguire kicked butt and was really cute! :) Kirsten Dunst was so cool and did a great job as Mary Jane. Willem Dafoe was sooo scary as the Green goblin! The other members of the cast were fantasic. The fight scenes rocked and the story was so exciting. This is a movie that you will want to see over and over! If not, something is worng with your brain! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Geek gets bitten by "special" spider, gets spider powers, in love with mates girlfriend, mate has rich weird dad, look out here comes the Spiderman.
Very good Superhero flick with fast-paced action & big effects. Decent cast & Willem Dafoe is
Geek gets bitten by "special" spider, gets spider powers, in love with mates girlfriend, mate has rich weird dad, look out here comes the Spiderman.
Very good Superhero flick with fast-paced action & big effects. Decent cast & Willem Dafoe is as good as he usually is.
Shame they had to ruin all the good work by playing the thoroughly dreadful Nickelback at the end.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
Having been bitten by a radioactive spider nerdy teen Peter Parker suddenly finds himself endowed with spider-like abilities. Able to sense danger and cling to walls he uses these powers to stop crime around New York City.

The story of
Having been bitten by a radioactive spider nerdy teen Peter Parker suddenly finds himself endowed with spider-like abilities. Able to sense danger and cling to walls he uses these powers to stop crime around New York City.

The story of Spiderman is of course well known amongst comic and movie fans and the first in the trilogy deals with Peter Parkers attempts to deal with his new found abilities whilst fighting off the unwanted attentions of The Green Goblin. The movie is of course action packed featuring some breathtaking scenes but director Sam Raimi also brings the humorous dialogue from his days working on Xena: Warrior Princess making for a thoroughly enjoyable watch.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Nov 6, 2011
Like I need to tell you but Spider-Man tells the story of Peter Parker, A relatively normal kid who gets bitten by a genetically enhanced spider which turns him into part human, part spider. He discovers he now possesses the ability to shootLike I need to tell you but Spider-Man tells the story of Peter Parker, A relatively normal kid who gets bitten by a genetically enhanced spider which turns him into part human, part spider. He discovers he now possesses the ability to shoot webs, to scale walls and a 6th sense when it comes to danger. That being said there are obvious growing pains and Spider-Man handles them with beauty and heart with characters you really care about starting with Parker, who is played to perfection by Tobey Maguire. The rest of the cast also shines with Kirsten Dunst and Rosemary Harris standing out as the women in Peters life. The direction is everything you expect from a popcorn flick but is also incredibly unique with Spidermans movements through the air looking majestic while completely realistic (considering the story). In fact there are very few flaws to Spiderman with it showing that everyone has put their all into the film. If I was forced to pick a problem it would be the slightly disappointing end fight between Spiderman and the Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe) but even that is clutching at straws. Overall as origin stories go this ones got real class. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 22, 2011
Good movie. It has a great way of telling the story, even though it is slow in some parts. I wish that there could have been more action though. It is a good superhero movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Night_Hawk_2012May 18, 2012
Spider-Man was fantastic the story was well written and the characters were amazing. The acting was superb Tobey Maguire was the perfect Peter Parker, and Kirsten Dunst shined in her role as Mary Jane Watson. The Green Goblin was playedSpider-Man was fantastic the story was well written and the characters were amazing. The acting was superb Tobey Maguire was the perfect Peter Parker, and Kirsten Dunst shined in her role as Mary Jane Watson. The Green Goblin was played fantastically by Willem Dafoe, and Rosemary Harris as Aunt May was terrific.

This was defiantly the best movie of the original Spider-Man movies in my opinion. And perhaps the best film version of a comic series.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticJul 27, 2014
With an even pace, above average action scenes, and genuine emotional depth, it'll be enjoyable throughout the whole two hours. A thoughtful story about a man who becomes a superhero, and tries to win the heart of his longtime crush. ThereWith an even pace, above average action scenes, and genuine emotional depth, it'll be enjoyable throughout the whole two hours. A thoughtful story about a man who becomes a superhero, and tries to win the heart of his longtime crush. There were so many ways to f**k this up, and Sam Raimi didn't do that here. Here, he succeeded admirably. I still think Kirsten Dunst is annoying. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DaEagleNov 15, 2013
An instant classic for superhero movies, succeeding with it's emotionally engaging and strong story, clever dialogue and well developed characters. Even the humor is extremely well done. Spider-Man is a great movie (Final Score: 8.65)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JullTheAmazingOct 25, 2013
Uno de los comienzos más galardonados de una trilogía. Esta película dio orígen a lo que sería una gran época dorada para Spider-man, un film espectacular que da gusto ver y ver sin un día que te canses.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MortimerJan 17, 2014
Tobey played Peter Parker Spider-Man perfectly and Norman Osborn / Green Goblin half nutty and very charismatic. Love fine line between Parker and Mary Jane. The special effects are good, but the story is good. All the main characters inTobey played Peter Parker Spider-Man perfectly and Norman Osborn / Green Goblin half nutty and very charismatic. Love fine line between Parker and Mary Jane. The special effects are good, but the story is good. All the main characters in this film are losing loved ones. The film is funny, cool, interesting, and not where it is not sagging. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90May 13, 2015
One of favorite movies when I was a kid! Always been a fan of Spider-Man and the comics. Alot of the story and premises of Spider-Man the movie are very superb and the cast, mainly Tobey Maguire give a good performance.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MetaCrypticApr 21, 2014
Everything in this movie was done right. The story , the iconic lines, the characters. Tobey Malgory couldnt have done it any better, his humble role as the underdog teen felt realy perfect with this movie, making the audiance realy support him.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TimeOfTheChimpsSep 5, 2014
This was the most defining moment in Marvel movie history. The action scenes between the Goblin and Spidey are unmatched even today, 12 years after its release. Spider-Man is an epic superhero film with terrific acting and amazing fightThis was the most defining moment in Marvel movie history. The action scenes between the Goblin and Spidey are unmatched even today, 12 years after its release. Spider-Man is an epic superhero film with terrific acting and amazing fight sequences; it's a real treat to big time Spider-Man fanatics, like myself.
10/10.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJul 26, 2014
I have seen this movie when i was little i was amazed that the talent Toby Maguire had as Spider man/ peter parker and the cast also Willem Dafoe as the posessed Villon . Any movie that has talent that a director who knows the story andI have seen this movie when i was little i was amazed that the talent Toby Maguire had as Spider man/ peter parker and the cast also Willem Dafoe as the posessed Villon . Any movie that has talent that a director who knows the story and tells the story from not his or her version but based on a writers version of it thats what tim burton has or any director. I have seen Sam Raimi's work on evil dead trilogy, darkman, drag me to hell. He creates characters like example Ash who knows what hes doing he's a hero that kicks ass he risks everything that a hero would do. hero or a villian that had a good side or a bad side. thats what classics heros do like batman or superman , or whatever hero that had a bad time like in the past or whatever. thats what Raimi Created a ultimate classic by Raimi. Grade A Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesJul 5, 2014
Tobey Maguire is a great Spidey and Kirsten Dunst is not hard to look at. This is a classic and a good one, I highly recommend it for the fans of the webslinger.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BronsonApr 27, 2014
Sam Raimi's 2002 movie "Spider-Man" is a testament on how a good superhero movie is done. This also paved the way for future superhero movies with it's groundbreaking effects (for it's time) and likeable cast with Tobey Maguire as PeterSam Raimi's 2002 movie "Spider-Man" is a testament on how a good superhero movie is done. This also paved the way for future superhero movies with it's groundbreaking effects (for it's time) and likeable cast with Tobey Maguire as Peter Parker, William Dafoe as Norman Osborn, Kristen Dunst as Mary Jane and James Franco as Harry Osborn. Everything just works in this movie. Great villain. Great action. Great storytelling. Just a good movie across the board. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GilbertMulroneycakesDoesWhateverASpiderCan'tNov 27, 2002
Yes, the CGI's a little too shiny, and nowhere near "GREAT CRIKEY MOSES, THAT'S A HUMAN SPIDER! OH MY GOOD GOD! HE'S SWINGING ACROSS BUILDINGS! HE-IS-SWINGING-ACROSS-GOD-DAMN-BUILDINGS!" enough, but in all other respects this Yes, the CGI's a little too shiny, and nowhere near "GREAT CRIKEY MOSES, THAT'S A HUMAN SPIDER! OH MY GOOD GOD! HE'S SWINGING ACROSS BUILDINGS! HE-IS-SWINGING-ACROSS-GOD-DAMN-BUILDINGS!" enough, but in all other respects this is a nummy treat. Especially Willem Dafoe - who has to be literally formed out of compacted rubber. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
Tobey Macguire's excellent performance
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Spiderman" is a movie that flows like a comic; its rough but smooth, has deep character depth with witty dialogue, and most of all its pure fun just to watch your friendly neighborhood swing into widescreen action.
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
One of the greatest movies of our time, "Spider-Man" brings to us a whole new genre of heroism and action. Even in 50 years, this movie will be widely revered like it is today.
10 of 15 users found this helpful
7
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
An alright Spider-man movie. Sam Raimi did a decent job at telling his origin story. However the special effects were a bit sloppy at times and the Green Goblin's costume was just a joke. William Dafoe on the other hand was extremely good asAn alright Spider-man movie. Sam Raimi did a decent job at telling his origin story. However the special effects were a bit sloppy at times and the Green Goblin's costume was just a joke. William Dafoe on the other hand was extremely good as Norman Osborn and really did a great job capturing his mentality (overdoing it a tad at time, but overall a good effort on his part.) Overall: Considering when it came out, it was a very good movie that had allot of minor flaws but it was still enjoyable none the less. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Spider-Man jumps into what seems to be a third-act way too quickly. I want to know more about Peter Parker's past. Who were his parents? How did they die? Though the action is very good, the film seems far to anxious to get to it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
JacobApr 18, 2014
CC: This film is a mixed bag especially given how big a part of my childhood it was. On one end most of the acting is good, the first half of the movie is really good, and the film is fun with a nice feel good atmosphere. At the same time theCC: This film is a mixed bag especially given how big a part of my childhood it was. On one end most of the acting is good, the first half of the movie is really good, and the film is fun with a nice feel good atmosphere. At the same time the film is bogged down by a not as good second half with little supposed, some cheesy dialogue, and some not so great acting. At the end of day though I still have fun watching this movie and prefer it over the reboot. It’s a fun summer blockbuster, which is what it should be and is worth a watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuDec 2, 2012
Spider-Man is a fun superhero movie. It's colorful and has some good fights between hero and villain. Beyond that, there is not much else to say. It's not a masterpiece or anything but Spider-Man does more than enough to entertain throughSpider-Man is a fun superhero movie. It's colorful and has some good fights between hero and villain. Beyond that, there is not much else to say. It's not a masterpiece or anything but Spider-Man does more than enough to entertain through it's running time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Tall_But_ShortJul 4, 2012
Sam Raimi's orginal Spider-Man was a great film, but not without flaws. Tobey Maguire is a great choice for the science nerd, Peter Parker. As Spider-man though, sometimes he does fall flat though because Spidey is supposed to be eccentricSam Raimi's orginal Spider-Man was a great film, but not without flaws. Tobey Maguire is a great choice for the science nerd, Peter Parker. As Spider-man though, sometimes he does fall flat though because Spidey is supposed to be eccentric delivering witty one-liners as he whacks bad guys. I would have loved to seen more of this in the movie, but it still doesn't take away from the overall value of the film. The origin story of Spider-man is amazingly well done in this movie but in some parts the movie falls apart. There are some cheesy moments in the film which didn't impress me at all such as the entire scene when the Green Goblin appears and the NYC parade float. These scenes do take away from the movie, which is a true shame. Kirsten Dunst was an excellent choice for Mary Jane Watson as was James Franco for Harry Osborn and Williem Dafoe as Norman Osborn. The build up to Peter discovering his powers is brilliant executed especially the bully scene during the beginning. Overall, Spider-man is a much more solid film than the newer reboot, The Amazing Spider-man, with Andrew Garfield. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tobey McGuire leads this talented cast on an adaptation of the classic Marvel series of the same name. Heart wrenching in some scenes, such as the death of Uncle Ben and very good action scenes made this movie a true success, along with its screenwriting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksDec 2, 2013
A decent starting point in the Spider-Man franchise which is only weakened by some Sam Raimi cheesiness and the worst Green Goblin costume ever featured.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RobobobAug 5, 2016
Before superhero movies got all dark and gritty, there was Spider-man. A movie that showed that being a hero could be fun, though.. of course... with Great Power... well you know the rest. It's a blast watching Peter Parker discover hisBefore superhero movies got all dark and gritty, there was Spider-man. A movie that showed that being a hero could be fun, though.. of course... with Great Power... well you know the rest. It's a blast watching Peter Parker discover his powers and decide how to use them. The villain in the Green Goblin might be a little "one note" and crazy for the sake of being crazy, but it doesn't detract from the film too much. But seriously, the ability to shoot webs and swing through the skyscrapers of New York City is one of the most original and ingenious super powers and it's just so much fun to watch it come to life. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
A SPIDER-MAN movie had been in the making for years. In the eighties, the schlockmeisters at Cannon Films threatened to make a low-budget feature film (which at one time was rumoured to star Bob Hoskins as Doc Ock) before the company wentA SPIDER-MAN movie had been in the making for years. In the eighties, the schlockmeisters at Cannon Films threatened to make a low-budget feature film (which at one time was rumoured to star Bob Hoskins as Doc Ock) before the company went under. Considering what they did with SUPERMAN IV: THE QUEST FOR PEACE, and what Menahem Golan did with CAPTAIN AMERICA & THE FANTASTIC FOUR, we should be grateful this project never came to fruition.
Throughout the nineties, James Cameron was attached to direct a big-budget version, with Leonardo Di Caprio rumoured to star. For one reason or another, this never happened. In 2000, Bryan Singer's X-MEN demonstrated that a credible, non-cartoony superhero film could be made, and would have crossover appeal beyond comic-book fans, opening the floodgates, from which the SPIDER-MAN series emerged.

Thus, in 2002, a SPIDER-MAN film finally hit the big-screen. Sam Raimi, director of THE EVIL DEAD series (not to mention DARKMAN- a nifty superhero film in it's own right) was on-board to direct, and Tobey Maguire, a low-key actor known for his work in films like THE CIDER HOUSE RULES and WONDER BOYS was signed to play the title role. At the time, he casting was ridiculed in the same way Michael Keaton being signed for BATMAN was over a decade earlier. Like BATMAN, a trailer was enough to change peoples' minds, and SPIDER-MAN opened amid a white-hot fury of hype, broke box-office records, and was well-received by fans and critics.

Ten years later, the first SPIDER-MAN holds up relatively well, although I'd wager that it loses some of it's luster in hindsight only due to the fact that later superhero entries (X2, BATMAN BEGINS, THE DARK KNIGHT, IRON MAN, THE AVENGERS and SPIDER-MAN 2) proved just how good a superhero film really could be.

In a way, the first SPIDER-MAN is like a rough draft for all the superhero films to follow. A good deal of time is spent establishing the character of Peter Parker, and Tobey Maguire absolutely anchors the film with a role he seems to have been born to play. In fact, Maguire is so good both in and out of the Spidey suit that he's still struggling to emerge from the typecasting that's linked him so closely to the part. The first section of the film is really good, establishing his sweet relationship with Aunt May, and Uncle Ben (beautifully played by Cliff Robertson in one of his final roles). Once he gets bitten, Maguire's (real) physical transformation is startling, as the usually gangly and weak-seeming Maguire was able to pack on pounds of muscle and instantly transform himself into a big-screen hero.
For me, the weaker parts of SPIDER-MAN mostly have to do with his relationship with Mary-Jane. I always liked Kirsten Dunst in the part, but other than the steamy rain-soaked upside-down kiss, I always felt the relationship came across as shallow. Sure, Parker is in love with her, but why? Because she's hot- that's why. And of course, Mary-Jane won't give him the time of day until he's absolutely ripped after the mid-way point, and her final confession of love to Parker seems unearned and phony, although Raimi takes the unusual step of ending the film without them together. Of course, that would all change later in the franchise, and the second film does indeed make the relationship a little more credible.

As Parker's best pal, we get James Franco, who was just coming off the amazing FREAKS & GEEKS. Franco's always been the kind of actor who can either knock your socks off or be as boring as watching paint dry. I always thought he was phoning it in as Harry Osborn, and this would actually get worse in each film.

But back to what works. The CGI, for the time, was truly-groundbreaking, and the FX still hold up pretty well, making the web-slinging look convincing, a considerable feat ten years ago (just look at how bad THE HULK looks in a film that was made a year later). Most importantly, SPIDER-MAN feels like a real “A-picture” meaning that all involved took it seriously, and didn't turn it into a campy ride, like what happened with the nineties post-Burton Batman movies. There's a reason SPIDER-MAN was a smash and crossed-over to a mainstream audience, and it's that- warts and all, it's quite a good film.

In his first outing as Spider-Man, Tobey Maguire is just great. Obviously he knew this role had the potential to make him a star, and he clearly threw himself into the role, giving a performance that compares favourably to the parts that helped him break-out in the nineties.

Willem Dafoe as Norman Osborn/ The Green Goblin. With the Goblin's suit is a bit dumb, Dafoe is excellent, striking exactly the right balance between the relatively sympathetic, weak Norman, and the evil incarnate of Green Goblin. The final moment, before he dies, when he says “Peter” in Norman's voice is one of the more affecting moments of the series.

Overall it's quite a good film.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
YoonC.Sep 21, 2003
A cockroach of a movie. The TV cartoon series of the 70s was far darker, more complex, atmospheric, noirish, and thrilling than this sappy tiresome exercise in lame CGI effects. Tobey Maguire is bland as Peter Parker and Willem Defoe as A cockroach of a movie. The TV cartoon series of the 70s was far darker, more complex, atmospheric, noirish, and thrilling than this sappy tiresome exercise in lame CGI effects. Tobey Maguire is bland as Peter Parker and Willem Defoe as Green Goblin is embarassing. There is however one truly inspired scene when Parker fights a bully in highschool, a real triumph of quasi-psychedelic filmmaking. And, Kirsten Dunst is irresistible in a clean sexy way. However, it's a sad case when live-action movie turns out to be even more cartoonish than the cartoon it's based on. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
I.M.BoredMay 5, 2002
Boring, slow moving, bad dialogue, predictable and (gasp) there could be a sequel.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CoryBNov 1, 2002
Tobey Maguire was the only thing that saved this movie from getting a big zero. The Green Goblin was an absolute joke. What's the point of making a $120 million movie with such a lame Goblin?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
BarneyOnMTJan 6, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The character of Peter Parker is relatively well established and the ending is excellent, the cast are generally great too. But truly this film's best feature is how well it stays true to the comics, it feels like a comic bookWHAT I LIKED: The character of Peter Parker is relatively well established and the ending is excellent, the cast are generally great too. But truly this film's best feature is how well it stays true to the comics, it feels like a comic book film more than any other.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: This is one of the cheesiest films in the history of comic book films, and the green goblin feels odd and is hard to take seriously. It also lacks focus on character, or even humour, which it feels like it needs in places to lift the cheesy tone and make fun out of itself a little.
VERDICT: Not a bad attampt at establishing Spider Man on the big screen, but this film does little else in terms of plot or excitement. It's very cliched and thus takes itself too seriously.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
StrangeLoveSep 6, 2002
Spider man eats my ass, a truly epic piece of crap.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
6
OfficialNov 11, 2013
"Spider-Man" is a fun comic-book movie, but quite a lot of the acting is pretty cheesy and unreal too. It has good fight scenes between the hero and villain, that's probably all I can say about the film. The movie just doesn't feel satisfying"Spider-Man" is a fun comic-book movie, but quite a lot of the acting is pretty cheesy and unreal too. It has good fight scenes between the hero and villain, that's probably all I can say about the film. The movie just doesn't feel satisfying when it's over. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
seiferJan 5, 2011
ok... but could be a lot better and some of you state this is one of the greatest movies of all time! Well... how old are you 6?! it's a 3 from me and there shouldn't be a rating higher!
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
5
ShawnL.May 30, 2005
Predictable and corny at times, this movie has good special effects and the concept is original. However, that concept is more than 40 years old and this movie's plot looked like a direct translation from comic-to-script. This might Predictable and corny at times, this movie has good special effects and the concept is original. However, that concept is more than 40 years old and this movie's plot looked like a direct translation from comic-to-script. This might please comic book or spiderman purists, but it doesn't make for a legendary movie. It's still entertaining and worth viewing, but don't expect it to change your outlook on life. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MessiahL.Dec 4, 2007
Like Spiderman 3, Spidey 1 is atrocious. The 2nd is a masterpiece of the art form. Don't listen to individuals who didn't get at least a Bachelor's. Americans without such a degree are, by and large, retarded and, Like Spiderman 3, Spidey 1 is atrocious. The 2nd is a masterpiece of the art form. Don't listen to individuals who didn't get at least a Bachelor's. Americans without such a degree are, by and large, retarded and, unfortunately... easily entertained. Nostalgia and first-impressions over content depth. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful
0
Gamer44Dec 5, 2012
How did spider-man get such good reviews let's face it this movie is terrible.The acting is just awful some of the worst acting I have ever seen.Toby Maguire is definitely the worst choice for the role of spider-man his acting sucks and andHow did spider-man get such good reviews let's face it this movie is terrible.The acting is just awful some of the worst acting I have ever seen.Toby Maguire is definitely the worst choice for the role of spider-man his acting sucks and and he goes on and on like a baboon.The storyline there is no word to describe how terrible and awful it is.If I had to review this movie in 2002 I would have given it a perfect 10.As I did not know the difference between a good film and a terrible film.Having seen it again on TV yesterday I can with pride know the difference between a good film and and a terrible one and spider-man is one of the worst films in history.It is by far not worth a 10. spider-man is only worth a 0 and it deserve's the 0 hands down., Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
5
MDiGIaCMar 14, 2013
Spider-Man is an over the top, goofy, misdirected movie. The way that this movie pans out is along a very kid friendly approach with an immature vibe throughout. The relationship between Peter and Mary Jane is not fleshed out at all, thereSpider-Man is an over the top, goofy, misdirected movie. The way that this movie pans out is along a very kid friendly approach with an immature vibe throughout. The relationship between Peter and Mary Jane is not fleshed out at all, there are too many useless, undeveloped characters that do not push the plot forward and only falter specific scenes. The movie's use of CGI is beyond terrible, making movies like Star Wars Episode I look better, even if it had come out years before. The Action scenes aren't believable due to the poor CGI quality and the way these movies tear the comic books to pieces by not following the original plot at all is really disappointing to me. You might get a kick of old nostalgia by watching these movies, but be ready to sit through goofball acting, painful CGI, annoying extras, haltered plot points, and a very poor interpretation of Spider-Man. If you want to really see a good Spider-Man movie, watch "The Amazing Spider Man" directed by Marc Webb. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Comic fans will rejoice.
The highly anticipated Sam Rami hero flick Spider-man depicts practical faults of a special ,but still average young hero. With very dry acting and a very predictable plot; Spider-man simply learns to crawl.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BenH.May 3, 2002
Entertaining to say the least. Raimi spent time establishing Peter to the "comic-ignorant" and revealed how appealing the dream of overcoming mediocracy. Unfortunately, the action scenes, while intense, don't always have a realistic Entertaining to say the least. Raimi spent time establishing Peter to the "comic-ignorant" and revealed how appealing the dream of overcoming mediocracy. Unfortunately, the action scenes, while intense, don't always have a realistic feel. They are too "final fantasy"-ish, but that is a minor detail. Definitely worth a watch, and then another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
J.H.May 6, 2002
Bad special effects; cheesy lines; making good actors look not so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrystanS.Oct 29, 2002
This movie was to me, well, I can't deny this for one moment but it was nothing but great fun! I found this movie to be really one of my top favorite movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherB.May 13, 2002
Bottom line, this movie rocks! Spider-man to the fullest...great start for what I hope to be a great trilogy!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattD.May 15, 2002
Better than I'd expected, if you can stand Maguire's nasal whine of a voice. Whenever he's Spiderman and speaks, it ruins it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IMay 20, 2002
I thought it was the best movie of 2002 so far. Spider-Man has excellent special effects (except some of the jumping from building to building) and a pretty good love story. Some of the dialogue can be cheesy, and the Green Goblin looks like I thought it was the best movie of 2002 so far. Spider-Man has excellent special effects (except some of the jumping from building to building) and a pretty good love story. Some of the dialogue can be cheesy, and the Green Goblin looks like a power rangers reject, but I still recommend you go see it. And wait 'til you see the ending! Very cool movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JinC.May 4, 2002
It's funny how sam raimi's career has boomeranged into getting him to a place where he would be able to make spider-man:the movie. his natural kinetic visual inclinations have always been perfect for a comic book adaptation butIt's funny how sam raimi's career has boomeranged into getting him to a place where he would be able to make spider-man:the movie. his natural kinetic visual inclinations have always been perfect for a comic book adaptation but perhaps his recent forays into more legit dramatic work have stirred within him an eye for honest human drama and must certainly have earned him the clout to get attached to such a big budget fx gig. destiny has guided raimi by the hand to spider-man just as surely as it guided peter parker. the movie is wonderful. the best adaptation of a comic book property since the first superman. yes, it's a comic book movie and a 'first issue' so it has to have an origin story. but whereas other films play their origins like unfortunate obligations, raimi takes the brief* opportunity to really ground the characters, if not in our reality, then at least firmly in our humanity. spider-man is as effective as it is because you really do end up caring about peter and his extended, ersatz family. and what the characters lack in tremendous depth, they make up with being sharply drawn. and no character ends up being cardboard cutouts with nothing substantial to do or say - a tremendous accomplishment that speaks for the filmakers' respect for the heart of the material. * and i say BRIEFLY because raimi/koepp MASTERFULLY cuts out boring parts and very deliberately starts exposition at the very last possible moment. less skilled craftsman would land the school bus in the opening scene at school and would have attempted to develop character/dynamics there. a less skilled team would have created a bloated vfx green goblin attack that would have nevertheless bored us silly instead of swiftly cutting out from the first explosion into graduation caps flying into the air. raimi/koepp wisely and continually cut to the chase. the entire film is a lesson in GREAT CHOICES. how bruce campbell gets to play a small but truly significant cameo, the relationship between green goblin and spidey, green goblin's insanity scenes, the stacatto tempo of the bugle scenes... just sound choices everywhere. dunst is great as always. she brings a heart and reality that is really really surprising to find in a 'comic adaptation'. dafoe is terrific - hands down the best comic book villain on the silver screen yet. and maguire ends up being a really great choice to play spider-man. he's always come off as being a bit wooden to me but it is a deliberate facade, i think, that he manipulates - always to proper effect and no less so here. it's funny, it's sweet(!), it's moving, it's exciting. just like the hero, spider-man swings in without pomp, pageantry or self importance, but it doesn't fail to deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IanR.Jul 4, 2002
The last 20 minutes redeem it to a level approaching average. The acting is uniformly poor (except for the always worthwhile Willem Dafoe), the script is awful (especially the exchanges between Peter and his "love" interest) and the special The last 20 minutes redeem it to a level approaching average. The acting is uniformly poor (except for the always worthwhile Willem Dafoe), the script is awful (especially the exchanges between Peter and his "love" interest) and the special FX are mostly no more than passable but become embarrassingly unconvincing during moments such as the bit where he's jumping between rooftops. Compare these with the more than 3 years older "Matrix" you'll find that there is no comparison. "I knew that the FX needed to look real or the audience just wouldn't buy it"(Sam Raimi). Wrong matey, it appears that they have bought it. As for the action, well let's just say that it reminds me of Power Rangers but with bigger explosions and expensive polystyrene balconies. The devices used to move on the story and convey the inner workings of Norman Osborn/Green Goblin are cringe-worthy and resplendent with cackling straight out of a fairground Ghost Train. I can't begin to say how hugely disappointed I was by this film and can only live in hope that the 2 planned sequels improve things or better still don't bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JerkGuyOct 2, 2007
A great film, Spiderman is the perfect example of how to make changes to a comic book sagas original story correctly and subtly to serve it so that it can be told as accurately and smoothly as possible in its movie feature form without the A great film, Spiderman is the perfect example of how to make changes to a comic book sagas original story correctly and subtly to serve it so that it can be told as accurately and smoothly as possible in its movie feature form without the film running for 9 hours. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSNov 14, 2002
It was totally AWESOME!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackD.Nov 3, 2002
Fun, but the action scenes lack real energy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RafaelS.Dec 10, 2002
Spider man was okay but the green goblin really sucked and mary jane was to much of a drama queen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KaninchenOct 29, 2002
Geh. I'm sorry, but this was not worthy of the comic book. I've read the comic book and enjoyed it, and it was far superior to this movie. The acting was all so cheesy, I found myself wondering if they were TRYING to suck. If so, Geh. I'm sorry, but this was not worthy of the comic book. I've read the comic book and enjoyed it, and it was far superior to this movie. The acting was all so cheesy, I found myself wondering if they were TRYING to suck. If so, change my rating to 4; they suck at trying to suck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredMay 10, 2002
Simply the best comic book adaptation ever. The movie follows the comic book storyline almost perfectly, and where it deviates, it does so with style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimpsonS.May 3, 2002
Better than the average movie out there and visually very well done but the relation between the characters was awkward. Toby is a good actor but I don't think this was one of his better roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerW.May 3, 2002
These reviews are pretty accurate, except the ones that slam the CGI work for making the action scenes "fail." Whatever. Dramamine should come with your ticket, and the final battle is brutal in ways that would make Stallone's Rocky These reviews are pretty accurate, except the ones that slam the CGI work for making the action scenes "fail." Whatever. Dramamine should come with your ticket, and the final battle is brutal in ways that would make Stallone's Rocky wince. I just feel bad that the movie has such great reviews on acting and direction, but no one is willing to give it much higher than 7 rating because of the story and its "comic roots." The story is great fantasy material all-around, period. I agree that the out-of-suit stuff passes for headier cinema, but why knock the rest? I know critics need to wear respectful faces and review respectful things, but I've got greater praise for critics who have the courage to take in the WHOLE movie beyond lesser-respected labeling of "comic-book fare" and see what it was created for in the first place.... ENTERTAINMENT. That's true respect to the media. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]May 3, 2002
Sam Raimi did a fantastic job, he was the perfect choice for this picture. His energetic camera movements along with other sly touches help make this one of the best comic book adaptations. A real good time. And for those who have been Sam Raimi did a fantastic job, he was the perfect choice for this picture. His energetic camera movements along with other sly touches help make this one of the best comic book adaptations. A real good time. And for those who have been complaining about the film kiss off, it rocks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillieP.May 3, 2002
Very cool movie, stayed true to its comic roots but still adapted itself to film nicely. Tobey Maguire was excellent as was the rest of the cast. My one complaint is I could have stood the plot to have been satretched out a bit more, maybe a Very cool movie, stayed true to its comic roots but still adapted itself to film nicely. Tobey Maguire was excellent as was the rest of the cast. My one complaint is I could have stood the plot to have been satretched out a bit more, maybe a half hour longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlancoA.May 4, 2002
Maguire and Dunst were perfectly cast. The fact that they used plain old "New York" instead of some futuristic, artificial, idiotic "Gotham" or "Metropolis" made the movie much more accessible. This is clearly the best comic-to-film Maguire and Dunst were perfectly cast. The fact that they used plain old "New York" instead of some futuristic, artificial, idiotic "Gotham" or "Metropolis" made the movie much more accessible. This is clearly the best comic-to-film conversion since Bluntman & Chronic. Yes, the Green Goblin was less-than-impressive, but that's what sequels are for. The theme song from the original T.V. show, which plays toward the end of the credits, is a real treat. It brings back memories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.May 4, 2002
A MUST see! The storyline is WONDERFUL. The acting is superb. The action sequences where Spiderman is in battle will BLOW YOU AWAY! Nothing phony about this movie. You will want to go again & again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VishenM.May 5, 2002
Spiderman is the most entertaining action movie to come out since the Matrix. But the movie is particularly unique because the action scenes are almost overshadowed by the scenes of common human emotions. Like a Shakespearian drama; the Spiderman is the most entertaining action movie to come out since the Matrix. But the movie is particularly unique because the action scenes are almost overshadowed by the scenes of common human emotions. Like a Shakespearian drama; the movie weaves a complex storyline around a colorful web of characters, all remarkable well-acted. The chemistry between Maguire and Dunst is amazing and provides the plot a solid and credible backbone. This is by far one of the most enjoyable and memorable movies I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.May 9, 2002
The movie was great. It had a great basic story that then developed extremely well with good plot twist. The characters were amazing as was the action. The best part of this film is that it is not just an action flick. It had a great story The movie was great. It had a great basic story that then developed extremely well with good plot twist. The characters were amazing as was the action. The best part of this film is that it is not just an action flick. It had a great story as well. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GwenM.Jun 8, 2002
I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpideyWebJul 11, 2002
Intense movie! Kristen is pure sexy! If i was Spiderman, I would go cha ching cha ching with her first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonD.Jul 10, 2002
I waited for ten years to see this baby, and it was worth it. Sam Raimi captured the angst and thrill of webslinging that is Peter Parker, and Tobey Maguire was perfectly cast as the tortured hero. The source material is near perfect, and I waited for ten years to see this baby, and it was worth it. Sam Raimi captured the angst and thrill of webslinging that is Peter Parker, and Tobey Maguire was perfectly cast as the tortured hero. The source material is near perfect, and the film did well to not vary far from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaP.Jul 7, 2002
Absolutely brilliant. The effects were amazing and the "superman" saving "the pretty lady" acting is very sweet. Tobey and Kristen sure make a great couple ( in movies of course)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalJ.Aug 20, 2002
I wanted to make it a 15 but I cant, this movie is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamE.Jan 10, 2003
A very cool and entertaining film. Unfortunately the green goblin's costume was a bit sh.tty. A good adaptation of the commics anyhow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnT.Mar 1, 2003
Best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveC.Jul 16, 2003
A an unashamedly silly superhero movie. One that would seem cliched on paper but is utterly sincere on screen. Maguire, Dafoe and Dunst and all of the cast are excellent. Action scenes are fast and furious and silly moments like when Peter A an unashamedly silly superhero movie. One that would seem cliched on paper but is utterly sincere on screen. Maguire, Dafoe and Dunst and all of the cast are excellent. Action scenes are fast and furious and silly moments like when Peter pulls open his shirt to reveal his Spiderman costume only add to the fun. This is a rare thing. A popcorn movie with genuine heart and much MUCH better than Bryan Singer's flat, dull and dumb adaptation of X-Men. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisH.Mar 2, 2004
I do like this movie but the more i watch it, the less i enjoy it. This is because the flaws that i notice as a fan of the comics become more apparent. The largest of these flaws is the goblin costume which sucked, was dull and bland needed I do like this movie but the more i watch it, the less i enjoy it. This is because the flaws that i notice as a fan of the comics become more apparent. The largest of these flaws is the goblin costume which sucked, was dull and bland needed more color (ie some purple here and there)and the looke ridiculous in some scenes, particulary the scene in which the goblin tried to get Spiderman to join him. Moving on from the costume there scene that really irritates me. The one in which Flash Thompson attempts to beat up young parker and while dodging Flash's punches Peter does a double/triple somersault that is so ridiculous in it gravity defying manner it should be impossible. Wouldn't someone have found this a little odd!!!!!. Putting this aside i do have some postive things to say about the movie, mainly its the cast who save this movie, the majority (ie not harry osborn) play the party well enough, although i think on some level most were miscast. Toby maguire was great as Peter Parker but not the best casting, no!!, in my opinion the best performance was given by JK. Simmons as J. Jonah Jameson. So in conclusion i feel that although the film was (at least) knee deep in flaws it still had the heart of the comic/character to see it through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaerA.Mar 20, 2004
I really loved Spider Man. It had everything in a movie. It even had some really sad parts toward the end of the movie. It was a really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinJ.Jul 2, 2004
IT ROCKS!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanK.Aug 6, 2004
Spider-Man swings, kicks and nails an A+ action hit, especially with great stars like Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst, this is a film to behold !!! Spider-Man 2 is even better with a tougher, yet furious villain: Doc Ock and manages to score Spider-Man swings, kicks and nails an A+ action hit, especially with great stars like Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst, this is a film to behold !!! Spider-Man 2 is even better with a tougher, yet furious villain: Doc Ock and manages to score an A-, which means a great sequel comes fast & furious. Spider-Man 3 is rumored to be out May 4, 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Joeg.Aug 10, 2006
A modern day classic about one of the greatest fantasy characters of all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Nov 1, 2002
This is my favorite movie next to the Fellowship of the Ring. I've seen it 5 times, litterally. Not only was this movie romantic, it was romantic in a way that didn't involve sex or nudity, thank God. It was very touching as well. This is my favorite movie next to the Fellowship of the Ring. I've seen it 5 times, litterally. Not only was this movie romantic, it was romantic in a way that didn't involve sex or nudity, thank God. It was very touching as well. One person said there was a scene where MaryJane was running in a white blouse in the rain, and they did this on purpose so when it was wet you could see her...nevermind. But whoever said that wasn't too observent. MaryJane was wearing a PURPLE tank top thank you very much! And the only low neckline shirt she ever wore was in the beginning of the movie. My favorite thing that I loved and became obsessed with about this movie, was sweet Tobey Maguire, who made a sweet Peter. Kudos to you, Tobey! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurDec 1, 2002
Its amazing how many recent movies have sucked. This is the first decent one to come by in a while but it is incredible. When the screen isn't lighted up with great action, it still grips the viewer with an incredible sense of suspense. Its amazing how many recent movies have sucked. This is the first decent one to come by in a while but it is incredible. When the screen isn't lighted up with great action, it still grips the viewer with an incredible sense of suspense. The entire storyline is thought out so perfectly that it adds all sorts of twists without becoming unbelievable in the slightest. If you missed this in the theaters or you're coming back for a second look, don't hesitate to pick this one up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaptainStarrMay 12, 2002
The movie was quite good but it was not entirely true to the comic book. For example, the method that Spiderman shoots his webbing is different from the comic version. Mary Jane was never a classmate of Peter Parker. The portrayal of how The movie was quite good but it was not entirely true to the comic book. For example, the method that Spiderman shoots his webbing is different from the comic version. Mary Jane was never a classmate of Peter Parker. The portrayal of how Uncle Ben is killed has been changed and there are a number of little nuances for someone like me. Now this isn't to say that this was not a great movie. In fact, I am going to see it again. The action sequences were great and the story line is good. The special effects are simply out of this world. There is very little too to criticize. If you haven't seen it as yet - go and be amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertH.May 12, 2002
I thought I was watching two different movies. The first half was pretty good and interesting. The second half seemed to drag. Overall the movie was okay but I did not leave the theater thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikolasP.May 12, 2002
This movie should only be watched by people who are free from giddiness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianD.May 13, 2002
Lots of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KathryyyS.May 17, 2002
Rather boring. I'm not sure why it's making so much money - the American public needs to wake up and realize it's a bad movie. Boring, stupid, bad love story - and I was so looking forward to it! Great review on Rather boring. I'm not sure why it's making so much money - the American public needs to wake up and realize it's a bad movie. Boring, stupid, bad love story - and I was so looking forward to it! Great review on www.reconstructedbellybutton.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelMay 20, 2002
YES, there special effects shots were somewhat cheesey, particularly after Peter Parker first gets his powers. YES, the Green Goblin would have looked better with a mobile mask. BUT, Willem Defoe is absolutely perfect as the Goblin, and YES, there special effects shots were somewhat cheesey, particularly after Peter Parker first gets his powers. YES, the Green Goblin would have looked better with a mobile mask. BUT, Willem Defoe is absolutely perfect as the Goblin, and Tobey Maguire lends a sincerity to the role of Peter Parker it might not have had with any other actor. The hardest thing for me to believe was Kristen Dunst as a red-head...Overall, a funny movie with a smart, modern take on the legend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMay 3, 2002
It's no masterpiece, but it's a good time at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeMay 3, 2002
I give it a 9: It kicks some serious a**.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.May 3, 2002
This was one of the greatest movie's I have ever seen, up there with Fellowship of the Ring, and Empire Stikes Back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.May 3, 2002
Dazzling! The best superhero movie of the past 10 years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.May 4, 2002
Wow, this is an awesome movie. The plot is a little thin at times (aside from the love story). Tobey Maguire IS Spider-man. Spider-man is, quite possibly, the best comic book/superhero movie I've seen. It ranks right up there with the Wow, this is an awesome movie. The plot is a little thin at times (aside from the love story). Tobey Maguire IS Spider-man. Spider-man is, quite possibly, the best comic book/superhero movie I've seen. It ranks right up there with the first Batman. This movie will break records, as Bonesaw Mc Graw would say "Oh yeah!!!!!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossW.May 4, 2002
This movie is great. I dont understand how anyone could hate this movie. Willem dafoe's acting as the green goblin is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful