User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 558
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This, along with X-Men from 2000, paved the way to the great comic book movie renaissance of the 2000s. A true masterpiece that will be remembered by many Spider-Man fans all over the world.
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Before the "Amazing" era began, there was another Spider-Man outing with Sam Raimi at the helm, leaving behind his horror roots to try his hand at the superhero craze that was sweeping Hollywood, and bring the webbed creature to the big screen, and he did so in a big way.
    We get an origin tale with a light-hearted tone to show how Peter Parker, played by Tobey Maguire, gets bitten to the
    Before the "Amazing" era began, there was another Spider-Man outing with Sam Raimi at the helm, leaving behind his horror roots to try his hand at the superhero craze that was sweeping Hollywood, and bring the webbed creature to the big screen, and he did so in a big way.
    We get an origin tale with a light-hearted tone to show how Peter Parker, played by Tobey Maguire, gets bitten to the an infected spider and starts to develop superhuman abilities such as web swinging and strength, something he keeps secretive from everybody else, his aunt, his best friend Harry James Franco) and the "girl next door" Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst).
    But with every hero comes a villain, and the perfect storm is brewing I'm the form of Norman Osborn (Willem Dafoe), father to Harry and an almost father to Peter, a man obsessed with bettering the human condition, something he does to himself by administering a powerful drug which unleashes another side to the man, and not a very good side.
    The concept of Spider-Man was always interesting as the likes of Norman Osborn being a primary villain played very close to the heart, he knows the people he is hurting, making the the pacing of the film much more personal and relevant. Each character has a connection and relationship with the next person and it feels much more fluid for this.
    The film itself is a visual marvel, with the scenes of Spidey swinging through the city quite a delight to watch, and this is blended in with a humorous opening that takes a much more mellow and less serious approach which is a welcome change, they have colourful characters including the undeniable brilliance of J.K. Simmons playing J. Jonah Jameson, his wit, loudness and larger than life personality are standout moments of the film, Tobey Maguire also delivers a convincing performance as our masked spider, he is like a little child at Christmas bouncing around the screen, giving a different feel to the average superhuman.
    But with the light tone there does come a sense of it being very cartoon-like, with a musical score that reflects this, but there is plenty to be said about the the emotional punch the film has to pack, with very quotable and heart-wrenching dialogue throughout.
    It's a real kickstarter to a very successful story, and perhaps one of the benchmarks to the overwhelming craze of superhero films today.
    Expand
  3. BiljanaJ.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I loved it. Tobey is very sweet as Peter Parker and utterly sexy as Spiderman.
  4. Katie
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    This movie was the greatest. Tobey Maguire kicked butt and was really cute! :) Kirsten Dunst was so cool and did a great job as Mary Jane. Willem Dafoe was sooo scary as the Green goblin! The other members of the cast were fantasic. The fight scenes rocked and the story was so exciting. This is a movie that you will want to see over and over! If not, something is worng with your brain!
  5. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Many people do not know the true impact of Spider-Man. However, it is revolutionary to the comic book industry. It keeps enough of the comic book feel with the characters and story, which are both excellent. Spider-Man also entertains, makes us laugh, has a powerful script with emotional scenes, excellent stars, and awesome action. This is a comic book movie at it's finest. This is theMany people do not know the true impact of Spider-Man. However, it is revolutionary to the comic book industry. It keeps enough of the comic book feel with the characters and story, which are both excellent. Spider-Man also entertains, makes us laugh, has a powerful script with emotional scenes, excellent stars, and awesome action. This is a comic book movie at it's finest. This is the gift, the revolution. What is it? It's Spider-Man! Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    A ultimate movie.......................................................................................................................................
  7. May 26, 2013
    8
    The original Spider-Man in my eyes and while its probably been overshadowed now by the remake I still really enjoyed this one. A little corny perhaps but in a way that simply works thanks to the actors and characters in the film they play. Maguire plays a respectable Peter Parker and gives the character a likability that other actors would not have given. It's a great storyline also thatThe original Spider-Man in my eyes and while its probably been overshadowed now by the remake I still really enjoyed this one. A little corny perhaps but in a way that simply works thanks to the actors and characters in the film they play. Maguire plays a respectable Peter Parker and gives the character a likability that other actors would not have given. It's a great storyline also that moves well with a villain that was actually pretty creepy. Overall a solid comic book film with good sequels! Expand
  8. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Sam Raimi did a good job. Tobey was great as Peter Parker/Spider-Man and James Franco was great as Harry Osborn. The Green Goblin reminded me very much of the Joker although his suit was a little silly. Some of the dialogue was cheesy but it doesn't matter. I liked the Stan Lee cameo even though they're all great. Its a really good Spider-Man movie.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    GreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttGreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
  10. GilbertMulroneycakesDoesWhateverASpiderCan't
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    Yes, the CGI's a little too shiny, and nowhere near "GREAT CRIKEY MOSES, THAT'S A HUMAN SPIDER! OH MY GOOD GOD! HE'S SWINGING ACROSS BUILDINGS! HE-IS-SWINGING-ACROSS-GOD-DAMN-BUILDINGS!" enough, but in all other respects this is a nummy treat. Especially Willem Dafoe - who has to be literally formed out of compacted rubber.
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Geek gets bitten by "special" spider, gets spider powers, in love with mates girlfriend, mate has rich weird dad, look out here comes the Spiderman.
    Very good Superhero flick with fast-paced action & big effects. Decent cast & Willem Dafoe is as good as he usually is.
    Shame they had to ruin all the good work by playing the thoroughly dreadful Nickelback at the end.
  12. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Having been bitten by a radioactive spider nerdy teen Peter Parker suddenly finds himself endowed with spider-like abilities. Able to sense danger and cling to walls he uses these powers to stop crime around New York City.

    The story of Spiderman is of course well known amongst comic and movie fans and the first in the trilogy deals with Peter Parkers attempts to deal with his new found
    Having been bitten by a radioactive spider nerdy teen Peter Parker suddenly finds himself endowed with spider-like abilities. Able to sense danger and cling to walls he uses these powers to stop crime around New York City.

    The story of Spiderman is of course well known amongst comic and movie fans and the first in the trilogy deals with Peter Parkers attempts to deal with his new found abilities whilst fighting off the unwanted attentions of The Green Goblin. The movie is of course action packed featuring some breathtaking scenes but director Sam Raimi also brings the humorous dialogue from his days working on Xena: Warrior Princess making for a thoroughly enjoyable watch.
    Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Like I need to tell you but Spider-Man tells the story of Peter Parker, A relatively normal kid who gets bitten by a genetically enhanced spider which turns him into part human, part spider. He discovers he now possesses the ability to shoot webs, to scale walls and a 6th sense when it comes to danger. That being said there are obvious growing pains and Spider-Man handles them with beautyLike I need to tell you but Spider-Man tells the story of Peter Parker, A relatively normal kid who gets bitten by a genetically enhanced spider which turns him into part human, part spider. He discovers he now possesses the ability to shoot webs, to scale walls and a 6th sense when it comes to danger. That being said there are obvious growing pains and Spider-Man handles them with beauty and heart with characters you really care about starting with Parker, who is played to perfection by Tobey Maguire. The rest of the cast also shines with Kirsten Dunst and Rosemary Harris standing out as the women in Peters life. The direction is everything you expect from a popcorn flick but is also incredibly unique with Spidermans movements through the air looking majestic while completely realistic (considering the story). In fact there are very few flaws to Spiderman with it showing that everyone has put their all into the film. If I was forced to pick a problem it would be the slightly disappointing end fight between Spiderman and the Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe) but even that is clutching at straws. Overall as origin stories go this ones got real class. Expand
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Good movie. It has a great way of telling the story, even though it is slow in some parts. I wish that there could have been more action though. It is a good superhero movie.
  15. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    In light of the release of its reboot ( a little bit too soon though), the original Spider-Man paves the way for super heroes to be portrayed (spandex and all) as accurate as possible on the silver screen. It has uneven special effects in comparison to what you have these days (it did come out 10 years ago), but Spider-Man encapsulates the best of the super hero genre: heart felt, actionIn light of the release of its reboot ( a little bit too soon though), the original Spider-Man paves the way for super heroes to be portrayed (spandex and all) as accurate as possible on the silver screen. It has uneven special effects in comparison to what you have these days (it did come out 10 years ago), but Spider-Man encapsulates the best of the super hero genre: heart felt, action packed, pulse pounding. You'll laugh as Peter Parker discovered his powers for the first time. You'll cringe when he was beaten to a pulp by the goblin in its finale. It paved the way for the new Batman trilogy by Chris Nolan and other Marvel Studios films. A classic. Expand
  16. May 18, 2012
    10
    Spider-Man was fantastic the story was well written and the characters were amazing. The acting was superb Tobey Maguire was the perfect Peter Parker, and Kirsten Dunst shined in her role as Mary Jane Watson. The Green Goblin was played fantastically by Willem Dafoe, and Rosemary Harris as Aunt May was terrific.

    This was defiantly the best movie of the original Spider-Man movies in my
    Spider-Man was fantastic the story was well written and the characters were amazing. The acting was superb Tobey Maguire was the perfect Peter Parker, and Kirsten Dunst shined in her role as Mary Jane Watson. The Green Goblin was played fantastically by Willem Dafoe, and Rosemary Harris as Aunt May was terrific.

    This was defiantly the best movie of the original Spider-Man movies in my opinion. And perhaps the best film version of a comic series.
    Expand
  17. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    With an even pace, above average action scenes, and genuine emotional depth, it'll be enjoyable throughout the whole two hours. A thoughtful story about a man who becomes a superhero, and tries to win the heart of his longtime crush. There were so many ways to f**k this up, and Sam Raimi didn't do that here. Here, he succeeded admirably. I still think Kirsten Dunst is annoying.
  18. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    One of the best superhero movies out there, Spider-man delivers the kind of summer blockbuster punch that movie junkies are looking for without all the extra bull**** that some big-budget movies tend to do nowadays.
  19. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    An instant classic for superhero movies, succeeding with it's emotionally engaging and strong story, clever dialogue and well developed characters. Even the humor is extremely well done. Spider-Man is a great movie (Final Score: 8.65)
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Uno de los comienzos más galardonados de una trilogía. Esta película dio orígen a lo que sería una gran época dorada para Spider-man, un film espectacular que da gusto ver y ver sin un día que te canses.
  21. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    Tobey played Peter Parker Spider-Man perfectly and Norman Osborn / Green Goblin half nutty and very charismatic. Love fine line between Parker and Mary Jane. The special effects are good, but the story is good. All the main characters in this film are losing loved ones. The film is funny, cool, interesting, and not where it is not sagging.
  22. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Everything in this movie was done right. The story , the iconic lines, the characters. Tobey Malgory couldnt have done it any better, his humble role as the underdog teen felt realy perfect with this movie, making the audiance realy support him.
  23. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    This was the most defining moment in Marvel movie history. The action scenes between the Goblin and Spidey are unmatched even today, 12 years after its release. Spider-Man is an epic superhero film with terrific acting and amazing fight sequences; it's a real treat to big time Spider-Man fanatics, like myself.
    10/10.
  24. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    I have seen this movie when i was little i was amazed that the talent Toby Maguire had as Spider man/ peter parker and the cast also Willem Dafoe as the posessed Villon . Any movie that has talent that a director who knows the story and tells the story from not his or her version but based on a writers version of it thats what tim burton has or any director. I have seen Sam Raimi'sI have seen this movie when i was little i was amazed that the talent Toby Maguire had as Spider man/ peter parker and the cast also Willem Dafoe as the posessed Villon . Any movie that has talent that a director who knows the story and tells the story from not his or her version but based on a writers version of it thats what tim burton has or any director. I have seen Sam Raimi's work on evil dead trilogy, darkman, drag me to hell. He creates characters like example Ash who knows what hes doing he's a hero that kicks ass he risks everything that a hero would do. hero or a villian that had a good side or a bad side. thats what classics heros do like batman or superman , or whatever hero that had a bad time like in the past or whatever. thats what Raimi Created a ultimate classic by Raimi. Grade A Expand
  25. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Tobey Maguire is a great Spidey and Kirsten Dunst is not hard to look at. This is a classic and a good one, I highly recommend it for the fans of the webslinger.
  26. Apr 27, 2014
    8
    Sam Raimi's 2002 movie "Spider-Man" is a testament on how a good superhero movie is done. This also paved the way for future superhero movies with it's groundbreaking effects (for it's time) and likeable cast with Tobey Maguire as Peter Parker, William Dafoe as Norman Osborn, Kristen Dunst as Mary Jane and James Franco as Harry Osborn. Everything just works in this movie. Great villain.Sam Raimi's 2002 movie "Spider-Man" is a testament on how a good superhero movie is done. This also paved the way for future superhero movies with it's groundbreaking effects (for it's time) and likeable cast with Tobey Maguire as Peter Parker, William Dafoe as Norman Osborn, Kristen Dunst as Mary Jane and James Franco as Harry Osborn. Everything just works in this movie. Great villain. Great action. Great storytelling. Just a good movie across the board. Expand
  27. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Tobey Macguire's excellent performance
  28. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    "Spiderman" is a movie that flows like a comic; its rough but smooth, has deep character depth with witty dialogue, and most of all its pure fun just to watch your friendly neighborhood swing into widescreen action.
  29. AdamB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest movies of our time, "Spider-Man" brings to us a whole new genre of heroism and action. Even in 50 years, this movie will be widely revered like it is today.
  30. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    An alright Spider-man movie. Sam Raimi did a decent job at telling his origin story. However the special effects were a bit sloppy at times and the Green Goblin's costume was just a joke. William Dafoe on the other hand was extremely good as Norman Osborn and really did a great job capturing his mentality (overdoing it a tad at time, but overall a good effort on his part.) Overall:An alright Spider-man movie. Sam Raimi did a decent job at telling his origin story. However the special effects were a bit sloppy at times and the Green Goblin's costume was just a joke. William Dafoe on the other hand was extremely good as Norman Osborn and really did a great job capturing his mentality (overdoing it a tad at time, but overall a good effort on his part.) Overall: Considering when it came out, it was a very good movie that had allot of minor flaws but it was still enjoyable none the less. Expand
  31. YoonC.
    Sep 21, 2003
    3
    A cockroach of a movie. The TV cartoon series of the 70s was far darker, more complex, atmospheric, noirish, and thrilling than this sappy tiresome exercise in lame CGI effects. Tobey Maguire is bland as Peter Parker and Willem Defoe as Green Goblin is embarassing. There is however one truly inspired scene when Parker fights a bully in highschool, a real triumph of quasi-psychedelic A cockroach of a movie. The TV cartoon series of the 70s was far darker, more complex, atmospheric, noirish, and thrilling than this sappy tiresome exercise in lame CGI effects. Tobey Maguire is bland as Peter Parker and Willem Defoe as Green Goblin is embarassing. There is however one truly inspired scene when Parker fights a bully in highschool, a real triumph of quasi-psychedelic filmmaking. And, Kirsten Dunst is irresistible in a clean sexy way. However, it's a sad case when live-action movie turns out to be even more cartoonish than the cartoon it's based on. Expand
  32. I.M.Bored
    May 5, 2002
    2
    Boring, slow moving, bad dialogue, predictable and (gasp) there could be a sequel.
  33. CoryB
    Nov 1, 2002
    3
    Tobey Maguire was the only thing that saved this movie from getting a big zero. The Green Goblin was an absolute joke. What's the point of making a $120 million movie with such a lame Goblin?
  34. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    Spider-Man jumps into what seems to be a third-act way too quickly. I want to know more about Peter Parker's past. Who were his parents? How did they die? Though the action is very good, the film seems far to anxious to get to it.
  35. StrangeLove
    Sep 6, 2002
    0
    Spider man eats my ass, a truly epic piece of crap.
  36. Jan 5, 2011
    3
    ok... but could be a lot better and some of you state this is one of the greatest movies of all time! Well... how old are you 6?! it's a 3 from me and there shouldn't be a rating higher!
  37. ShawnL.
    May 30, 2005
    5
    Predictable and corny at times, this movie has good special effects and the concept is original. However, that concept is more than 40 years old and this movie's plot looked like a direct translation from comic-to-script. This might please comic book or spiderman purists, but it doesn't make for a legendary movie. It's still entertaining and worth viewing, but don't Predictable and corny at times, this movie has good special effects and the concept is original. However, that concept is more than 40 years old and this movie's plot looked like a direct translation from comic-to-script. This might please comic book or spiderman purists, but it doesn't make for a legendary movie. It's still entertaining and worth viewing, but don't expect it to change your outlook on life. Expand
  38. MessiahL.
    Dec 4, 2007
    0
    Like Spiderman 3, Spidey 1 is atrocious. The 2nd is a masterpiece of the art form. Don't listen to individuals who didn't get at least a Bachelor's. Americans without such a degree are, by and large, retarded and, unfortunately... easily entertained. Nostalgia and first-impressions over content depth.
  39. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    CC: This film is a mixed bag especially given how big a part of my childhood it was. On one end most of the acting is good, the first half of the movie is really good, and the film is fun with a nice feel good atmosphere. At the same time the film is bogged down by a not as good second half with little supposed, some cheesy dialogue, and some not so great acting. At the end of day though ICC: This film is a mixed bag especially given how big a part of my childhood it was. On one end most of the acting is good, the first half of the movie is really good, and the film is fun with a nice feel good atmosphere. At the same time the film is bogged down by a not as good second half with little supposed, some cheesy dialogue, and some not so great acting. At the end of day though I still have fun watching this movie and prefer it over the reboot. It’s a fun summer blockbuster, which is what it should be and is worth a watch. Expand
  40. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Spider-Man is a fun superhero movie. It's colorful and has some good fights between hero and villain. Beyond that, there is not much else to say. It's not a masterpiece or anything but Spider-Man does more than enough to entertain through it's running time.
  41. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    How did spider-man get such good reviews let's face it this movie is terrible.The acting is just awful some of the worst acting I have ever seen.Toby Maguire is definitely the worst choice for the role of spider-man his acting sucks and and he goes on and on like a baboon.The storyline there is no word to describe how terrible and awful it is.If I had to review this movie in 2002 I wouldHow did spider-man get such good reviews let's face it this movie is terrible.The acting is just awful some of the worst acting I have ever seen.Toby Maguire is definitely the worst choice for the role of spider-man his acting sucks and and he goes on and on like a baboon.The storyline there is no word to describe how terrible and awful it is.If I had to review this movie in 2002 I would have given it a perfect 10.As I did not know the difference between a good film and a terrible film.Having seen it again on TV yesterday I can with pride know the difference between a good film and and a terrible one and spider-man is one of the worst films in history.It is by far not worth a 10. spider-man is only worth a 0 and it deserve's the 0 hands down., Expand
  42. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    Sam Raimi's orginal Spider-Man was a great film, but not without flaws. Tobey Maguire is a great choice for the science nerd, Peter Parker. As Spider-man though, sometimes he does fall flat though because Spidey is supposed to be eccentric delivering witty one-liners as he whacks bad guys. I would have loved to seen more of this in the movie, but it still doesn't take away from the overallSam Raimi's orginal Spider-Man was a great film, but not without flaws. Tobey Maguire is a great choice for the science nerd, Peter Parker. As Spider-man though, sometimes he does fall flat though because Spidey is supposed to be eccentric delivering witty one-liners as he whacks bad guys. I would have loved to seen more of this in the movie, but it still doesn't take away from the overall value of the film. The origin story of Spider-man is amazingly well done in this movie but in some parts the movie falls apart. There are some cheesy moments in the film which didn't impress me at all such as the entire scene when the Green Goblin appears and the NYC parade float. These scenes do take away from the movie, which is a true shame. Kirsten Dunst was an excellent choice for Mary Jane Watson as was James Franco for Harry Osborn and Williem Dafoe as Norman Osborn. The build up to Peter discovering his powers is brilliant executed especially the bully scene during the beginning. Overall, Spider-man is a much more solid film than the newer reboot, The Amazing Spider-man, with Andrew Garfield. Expand
  43. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    Spider-Man is an over the top, goofy, misdirected movie. The way that this movie pans out is along a very kid friendly approach with an immature vibe throughout. The relationship between Peter and Mary Jane is not fleshed out at all, there are too many useless, undeveloped characters that do not push the plot forward and only falter specific scenes. The movie's use of CGI is beyondSpider-Man is an over the top, goofy, misdirected movie. The way that this movie pans out is along a very kid friendly approach with an immature vibe throughout. The relationship between Peter and Mary Jane is not fleshed out at all, there are too many useless, undeveloped characters that do not push the plot forward and only falter specific scenes. The movie's use of CGI is beyond terrible, making movies like Star Wars Episode I look better, even if it had come out years before. The Action scenes aren't believable due to the poor CGI quality and the way these movies tear the comic books to pieces by not following the original plot at all is really disappointing to me. You might get a kick of old nostalgia by watching these movies, but be ready to sit through goofball acting, painful CGI, annoying extras, haltered plot points, and a very poor interpretation of Spider-Man. If you want to really see a good Spider-Man movie, watch "The Amazing Spider Man" directed by Marc Webb. Expand
  44. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tobey McGuire leads this talented cast on an adaptation of the classic Marvel series of the same name. Heart wrenching in some scenes, such as the death of Uncle Ben and very good action scenes made this movie a true success, along with its screenwriting. Expand
  45. Dec 2, 2013
    7
    A decent starting point in the Spider-Man franchise which is only weakened by some Sam Raimi cheesiness and the worst Green Goblin costume ever featured.
  46. BenH.
    May 3, 2002
    7
    Entertaining to say the least. Raimi spent time establishing Peter to the "comic-ignorant" and revealed how appealing the dream of overcoming mediocracy. Unfortunately, the action scenes, while intense, don't always have a realistic feel. They are too "final fantasy"-ish, but that is a minor detail. Definitely worth a watch, and then another.
  47. J.H.
    May 6, 2002
    5
    Bad special effects; cheesy lines; making good actors look not so good.
  48. TrystanS.
    Oct 29, 2002
    9
    This movie was to me, well, I can't deny this for one moment but it was nothing but great fun! I found this movie to be really one of my top favorite movies!
  49. ChristopherB.
    May 13, 2002
    10
    Bottom line, this movie rocks! Spider-man to the fullest...great start for what I hope to be a great trilogy!!
  50. MattD.
    May 15, 2002
    7
    Better than I'd expected, if you can stand Maguire's nasal whine of a voice. Whenever he's Spiderman and speaks, it ruins it.
  51. I
    May 20, 2002
    9
    I thought it was the best movie of 2002 so far. Spider-Man has excellent special effects (except some of the jumping from building to building) and a pretty good love story. Some of the dialogue can be cheesy, and the Green Goblin looks like a power rangers reject, but I still recommend you go see it. And wait 'til you see the ending! Very cool movie.
  52. JinC.
    May 4, 2002
    8
    It's funny how sam raimi's career has boomeranged into getting him to a place where he would be able to make spider-man:the movie. his natural kinetic visual inclinations have always been perfect for a comic book adaptation but perhaps his recent forays into more legit dramatic work have stirred within him an eye for honest human drama and must certainly have earned him the cloutIt's funny how sam raimi's career has boomeranged into getting him to a place where he would be able to make spider-man:the movie. his natural kinetic visual inclinations have always been perfect for a comic book adaptation but perhaps his recent forays into more legit dramatic work have stirred within him an eye for honest human drama and must certainly have earned him the clout to get attached to such a big budget fx gig. destiny has guided raimi by the hand to spider-man just as surely as it guided peter parker. the movie is wonderful. the best adaptation of a comic book property since the first superman. yes, it's a comic book movie and a 'first issue' so it has to have an origin story. but whereas other films play their origins like unfortunate obligations, raimi takes the brief* opportunity to really ground the characters, if not in our reality, then at least firmly in our humanity. spider-man is as effective as it is because you really do end up caring about peter and his extended, ersatz family. and what the characters lack in tremendous depth, they make up with being sharply drawn. and no character ends up being cardboard cutouts with nothing substantial to do or say - a tremendous accomplishment that speaks for the filmakers' respect for the heart of the material. * and i say BRIEFLY because raimi/koepp MASTERFULLY cuts out boring parts and very deliberately starts exposition at the very last possible moment. less skilled craftsman would land the school bus in the opening scene at school and would have attempted to develop character/dynamics there. a less skilled team would have created a bloated vfx green goblin attack that would have nevertheless bored us silly instead of swiftly cutting out from the first explosion into graduation caps flying into the air. raimi/koepp wisely and continually cut to the chase. the entire film is a lesson in GREAT CHOICES. how bruce campbell gets to play a small but truly significant cameo, the relationship between green goblin and spidey, green goblin's insanity scenes, the stacatto tempo of the bugle scenes... just sound choices everywhere. dunst is great as always. she brings a heart and reality that is really really surprising to find in a 'comic adaptation'. dafoe is terrific - hands down the best comic book villain on the silver screen yet. and maguire ends up being a really great choice to play spider-man. he's always come off as being a bit wooden to me but it is a deliberate facade, i think, that he manipulates - always to proper effect and no less so here. it's funny, it's sweet(!), it's moving, it's exciting. just like the hero, spider-man swings in without pomp, pageantry or self importance, but it doesn't fail to deliver. Expand
  53. IanR.
    Jul 4, 2002
    4
    The last 20 minutes redeem it to a level approaching average. The acting is uniformly poor (except for the always worthwhile Willem Dafoe), the script is awful (especially the exchanges between Peter and his "love" interest) and the special FX are mostly no more than passable but become embarrassingly unconvincing during moments such as the bit where he's jumping between rooftops. The last 20 minutes redeem it to a level approaching average. The acting is uniformly poor (except for the always worthwhile Willem Dafoe), the script is awful (especially the exchanges between Peter and his "love" interest) and the special FX are mostly no more than passable but become embarrassingly unconvincing during moments such as the bit where he's jumping between rooftops. Compare these with the more than 3 years older "Matrix" you'll find that there is no comparison. "I knew that the FX needed to look real or the audience just wouldn't buy it"(Sam Raimi). Wrong matey, it appears that they have bought it. As for the action, well let's just say that it reminds me of Power Rangers but with bigger explosions and expensive polystyrene balconies. The devices used to move on the story and convey the inner workings of Norman Osborn/Green Goblin are cringe-worthy and resplendent with cackling straight out of a fairground Ghost Train. I can't begin to say how hugely disappointed I was by this film and can only live in hope that the 2 planned sequels improve things or better still don't bother. Expand
  54. JerkGuy
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    A great film, Spiderman is the perfect example of how to make changes to a comic book sagas original story correctly and subtly to serve it so that it can be told as accurately and smoothly as possible in its movie feature form without the film running for 9 hours. I
  55. JS
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    It was totally AWESOME!!
  56. JackD.
    Nov 3, 2002
    6
    Fun, but the action scenes lack real energy.
  57. RafaelS.
    Dec 10, 2002
    5
    Spider man was okay but the green goblin really sucked and mary jane was to much of a drama queen.
  58. Kaninchen
    Oct 29, 2002
    5
    Geh. I'm sorry, but this was not worthy of the comic book. I've read the comic book and enjoyed it, and it was far superior to this movie. The acting was all so cheesy, I found myself wondering if they were TRYING to suck. If so, change my rating to 4; they suck at trying to suck.
  59. Fred
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Simply the best comic book adaptation ever. The movie follows the comic book storyline almost perfectly, and where it deviates, it does so with style.
  60. SimpsonS.
    May 3, 2002
    8
    Better than the average movie out there and visually very well done but the relation between the characters was awkward. Toby is a good actor but I don't think this was one of his better roles.
  61. RogerW.
    May 3, 2002
    10
    These reviews are pretty accurate, except the ones that slam the CGI work for making the action scenes "fail." Whatever. Dramamine should come with your ticket, and the final battle is brutal in ways that would make Stallone's Rocky wince. I just feel bad that the movie has such great reviews on acting and direction, but no one is willing to give it much higher than 7 rating because These reviews are pretty accurate, except the ones that slam the CGI work for making the action scenes "fail." Whatever. Dramamine should come with your ticket, and the final battle is brutal in ways that would make Stallone's Rocky wince. I just feel bad that the movie has such great reviews on acting and direction, but no one is willing to give it much higher than 7 rating because of the story and its "comic roots." The story is great fantasy material all-around, period. I agree that the out-of-suit stuff passes for headier cinema, but why knock the rest? I know critics need to wear respectful faces and review respectful things, but I've got greater praise for critics who have the courage to take in the WHOLE movie beyond lesser-respected labeling of "comic-book fare" and see what it was created for in the first place.... ENTERTAINMENT. That's true respect to the media. Expand
  62. [Anonymous]
    May 3, 2002
    9
    Sam Raimi did a fantastic job, he was the perfect choice for this picture. His energetic camera movements along with other sly touches help make this one of the best comic book adaptations. A real good time. And for those who have been complaining about the film kiss off, it rocks.
  63. WillieP.
    May 3, 2002
    8
    Very cool movie, stayed true to its comic roots but still adapted itself to film nicely. Tobey Maguire was excellent as was the rest of the cast. My one complaint is I could have stood the plot to have been satretched out a bit more, maybe a half hour longer.
  64. BlancoA.
    May 4, 2002
    8
    Maguire and Dunst were perfectly cast. The fact that they used plain old "New York" instead of some futuristic, artificial, idiotic "Gotham" or "Metropolis" made the movie much more accessible. This is clearly the best comic-to-film conversion since Bluntman & Chronic. Yes, the Green Goblin was less-than-impressive, but that's what sequels are for. The theme song from the original Maguire and Dunst were perfectly cast. The fact that they used plain old "New York" instead of some futuristic, artificial, idiotic "Gotham" or "Metropolis" made the movie much more accessible. This is clearly the best comic-to-film conversion since Bluntman & Chronic. Yes, the Green Goblin was less-than-impressive, but that's what sequels are for. The theme song from the original T.V. show, which plays toward the end of the credits, is a real treat. It brings back memories. Expand
  65. MarkS.
    May 4, 2002
    10
    A MUST see! The storyline is WONDERFUL. The acting is superb. The action sequences where Spiderman is in battle will BLOW YOU AWAY! Nothing phony about this movie. You will want to go again & again.
  66. VishenM.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    Spiderman is the most entertaining action movie to come out since the Matrix. But the movie is particularly unique because the action scenes are almost overshadowed by the scenes of common human emotions. Like a Shakespearian drama; the movie weaves a complex storyline around a colorful web of characters, all remarkable well-acted. The chemistry between Maguire and Dunst is amazing and Spiderman is the most entertaining action movie to come out since the Matrix. But the movie is particularly unique because the action scenes are almost overshadowed by the scenes of common human emotions. Like a Shakespearian drama; the movie weaves a complex storyline around a colorful web of characters, all remarkable well-acted. The chemistry between Maguire and Dunst is amazing and provides the plot a solid and credible backbone. This is by far one of the most enjoyable and memorable movies I have ever seen. Collapse
  67. ChrisK.
    May 9, 2002
    10
    The movie was great. It had a great basic story that then developed extremely well with good plot twist. The characters were amazing as was the action. The best part of this film is that it is not just an action flick. It had a great story as well. Great movie.
  68. GwenM.
    Jun 8, 2002
    10
    I loved this movie.
  69. SpideyWeb
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    Intense movie! Kristen is pure sexy! If i was Spiderman, I would go cha ching cha ching with her first.
  70. JasonD.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    I waited for ten years to see this baby, and it was worth it. Sam Raimi captured the angst and thrill of webslinging that is Peter Parker, and Tobey Maguire was perfectly cast as the tortured hero. The source material is near perfect, and the film did well to not vary far from it.
  71. JessicaP.
    Jul 7, 2002
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. The effects were amazing and the "superman" saving "the pretty lady" acting is very sweet. Tobey and Kristen sure make a great couple ( in movies of course)
  72. SalJ.
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    I wanted to make it a 15 but I cant, this movie is the best.
  73. AdamE.
    Jan 10, 2003
    7
    A very cool and entertaining film. Unfortunately the green goblin's costume was a bit sh.tty. A good adaptation of the commics anyhow.
  74. ShawnT.
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    Best movie ever.
  75. DaveC.
    Jul 16, 2003
    8
    A an unashamedly silly superhero movie. One that would seem cliched on paper but is utterly sincere on screen. Maguire, Dafoe and Dunst and all of the cast are excellent. Action scenes are fast and furious and silly moments like when Peter pulls open his shirt to reveal his Spiderman costume only add to the fun. This is a rare thing. A popcorn movie with genuine heart and much MUCH better A an unashamedly silly superhero movie. One that would seem cliched on paper but is utterly sincere on screen. Maguire, Dafoe and Dunst and all of the cast are excellent. Action scenes are fast and furious and silly moments like when Peter pulls open his shirt to reveal his Spiderman costume only add to the fun. This is a rare thing. A popcorn movie with genuine heart and much MUCH better than Bryan Singer's flat, dull and dumb adaptation of X-Men. Expand
  76. ChrisH.
    Mar 2, 2004
    6
    I do like this movie but the more i watch it, the less i enjoy it. This is because the flaws that i notice as a fan of the comics become more apparent. The largest of these flaws is the goblin costume which sucked, was dull and bland needed more color (ie some purple here and there)and the looke ridiculous in some scenes, particulary the scene in which the goblin tried to get Spiderman to I do like this movie but the more i watch it, the less i enjoy it. This is because the flaws that i notice as a fan of the comics become more apparent. The largest of these flaws is the goblin costume which sucked, was dull and bland needed more color (ie some purple here and there)and the looke ridiculous in some scenes, particulary the scene in which the goblin tried to get Spiderman to join him. Moving on from the costume there scene that really irritates me. The one in which Flash Thompson attempts to beat up young parker and while dodging Flash's punches Peter does a double/triple somersault that is so ridiculous in it gravity defying manner it should be impossible. Wouldn't someone have found this a little odd!!!!!. Putting this aside i do have some postive things to say about the movie, mainly its the cast who save this movie, the majority (ie not harry osborn) play the party well enough, although i think on some level most were miscast. Toby maguire was great as Peter Parker but not the best casting, no!!, in my opinion the best performance was given by JK. Simmons as J. Jonah Jameson. So in conclusion i feel that although the film was (at least) knee deep in flaws it still had the heart of the comic/character to see it through. Expand
  77. SaerA.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    I really loved Spider Man. It had everything in a movie. It even had some really sad parts toward the end of the movie. It was a really good movie.
  78. JustinJ.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    IT ROCKS!!
  79. RyanK.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    Spider-Man swings, kicks and nails an A+ action hit, especially with great stars like Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst, this is a film to behold !!! Spider-Man 2 is even better with a tougher, yet furious villain: Doc Ock and manages to score an A-, which means a great sequel comes fast & furious. Spider-Man 3 is rumored to be out May 4, 2007.
  80. Joeg.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    A modern day classic about one of the greatest fantasy characters of all.
  81. MichelleP.
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    This is my favorite movie next to the Fellowship of the Ring. I've seen it 5 times, litterally. Not only was this movie romantic, it was romantic in a way that didn't involve sex or nudity, thank God. It was very touching as well. One person said there was a scene where MaryJane was running in a white blouse in the rain, and they did this on purpose so when it was wet you could This is my favorite movie next to the Fellowship of the Ring. I've seen it 5 times, litterally. Not only was this movie romantic, it was romantic in a way that didn't involve sex or nudity, thank God. It was very touching as well. One person said there was a scene where MaryJane was running in a white blouse in the rain, and they did this on purpose so when it was wet you could see her...nevermind. But whoever said that wasn't too observent. MaryJane was wearing a PURPLE tank top thank you very much! And the only low neckline shirt she ever wore was in the beginning of the movie. My favorite thing that I loved and became obsessed with about this movie, was sweet Tobey Maguire, who made a sweet Peter. Kudos to you, Tobey! :) Expand
  82. Arthur
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    Its amazing how many recent movies have sucked. This is the first decent one to come by in a while but it is incredible. When the screen isn't lighted up with great action, it still grips the viewer with an incredible sense of suspense. The entire storyline is thought out so perfectly that it adds all sorts of twists without becoming unbelievable in the slightest. If you missed this Its amazing how many recent movies have sucked. This is the first decent one to come by in a while but it is incredible. When the screen isn't lighted up with great action, it still grips the viewer with an incredible sense of suspense. The entire storyline is thought out so perfectly that it adds all sorts of twists without becoming unbelievable in the slightest. If you missed this in the theaters or you're coming back for a second look, don't hesitate to pick this one up. Expand
  83. CaptainStarr
    May 12, 2002
    9
    The movie was quite good but it was not entirely true to the comic book. For example, the method that Spiderman shoots his webbing is different from the comic version. Mary Jane was never a classmate of Peter Parker. The portrayal of how Uncle Ben is killed has been changed and there are a number of little nuances for someone like me. Now this isn't to say that this was not a great The movie was quite good but it was not entirely true to the comic book. For example, the method that Spiderman shoots his webbing is different from the comic version. Mary Jane was never a classmate of Peter Parker. The portrayal of how Uncle Ben is killed has been changed and there are a number of little nuances for someone like me. Now this isn't to say that this was not a great movie. In fact, I am going to see it again. The action sequences were great and the story line is good. The special effects are simply out of this world. There is very little too to criticize. If you haven't seen it as yet - go and be amazed. Expand
  84. RobertH.
    May 12, 2002
    7
    I thought I was watching two different movies. The first half was pretty good and interesting. The second half seemed to drag. Overall the movie was okay but I did not leave the theater thinking about it.
  85. NikolasP.
    May 12, 2002
    10
    This movie should only be watched by people who are free from giddiness.
  86. BrianD.
    May 13, 2002
    8
    Lots of fun.
  87. KathryyyS.
    May 17, 2002
    4
    Rather boring. I'm not sure why it's making so much money - the American public needs to wake up and realize it's a bad movie. Boring, stupid, bad love story - and I was so looking forward to it! Great review on www.reconstructedbellybutton.com
  88. Michael
    May 20, 2002
    8
    YES, there special effects shots were somewhat cheesey, particularly after Peter Parker first gets his powers. YES, the Green Goblin would have looked better with a mobile mask. BUT, Willem Defoe is absolutely perfect as the Goblin, and Tobey Maguire lends a sincerity to the role of Peter Parker it might not have had with any other actor. The hardest thing for me to believe was Kristen YES, there special effects shots were somewhat cheesey, particularly after Peter Parker first gets his powers. YES, the Green Goblin would have looked better with a mobile mask. BUT, Willem Defoe is absolutely perfect as the Goblin, and Tobey Maguire lends a sincerity to the role of Peter Parker it might not have had with any other actor. The hardest thing for me to believe was Kristen Dunst as a red-head...Overall, a funny movie with a smart, modern take on the legend. Expand
  89. Sam
    May 3, 2002
    8
    It's no masterpiece, but it's a good time at the movies.
  90. Mike
    May 3, 2002
    9
    I give it a 9: It kicks some serious a**.
  91. ChrisS.
    May 3, 2002
    10
    This was one of the greatest movie's I have ever seen, up there with Fellowship of the Ring, and Empire Stikes Back.
  92. RyanM.
    May 3, 2002
    10
    Dazzling! The best superhero movie of the past 10 years!
  93. MikeM.
    May 4, 2002
    9
    Wow, this is an awesome movie. The plot is a little thin at times (aside from the love story). Tobey Maguire IS Spider-man. Spider-man is, quite possibly, the best comic book/superhero movie I've seen. It ranks right up there with the first Batman. This movie will break records, as Bonesaw Mc Graw would say "Oh yeah!!!!!"
  94. RossW.
    May 4, 2002
    10
    This movie is great. I dont understand how anyone could hate this movie. Willem dafoe's acting as the green goblin is excellent.
  95. Shootsy
    May 5, 2002
    3
    Despite very few entertaining moments, this movie is plain boredom. Worse are the visualFX, the 3d characters are badly design, awfully animated and compositing is way below average. Amateur work for blinds.
  96. Rhys
    May 5, 2002
    4
    Most of the "wow" type comments are taken, so instead of harking on about how great a movie this is (and it is a great movie) I'll instead try to answer a few points made below..... 1# The Two Towers is different from the books. Yes. It is. And thank goodness for that. No movie will ever capture the full scope and history of the books without making one movie per chapter and being as Most of the "wow" type comments are taken, so instead of harking on about how great a movie this is (and it is a great movie) I'll instead try to answer a few points made below..... 1# The Two Towers is different from the books. Yes. It is. And thank goodness for that. No movie will ever capture the full scope and history of the books without making one movie per chapter and being as boring as hell. Don't get me wrong, the books are great, but what works for a book will not always work for a movie. PJ always said that of the three movies, TTT was going to depart the most from the books - but it's all for good reason. He is making a movie, and that means altering things to fit. I loved seeing Arwen as she glimpsed her own future, and what it would cost her... and for her to play a meaningful part in the movie, those who haven't read the books needed to see just what being with Aragorn means for her future. 2# The Two Towers is missing bits! To put any more in a movie already 3hours long would have been folly. Some of what was left out will be in the extended version, so I'm hanging out for that. But actually most of the "cut" matarial has been moved over to 'Return of the King'. The reason is that the third book is about one third as long as the other two, most of it's pages going to the large appendix at the back... I for one am glad for such forsight, least the Fallowship turn up in movie three with nothing more to do. And yes, "she" will be in the third movie. 3# It's not as good/deep as Fellowship Actually, yes it is... in fact it IS Fellowship. Remember that this is one huge movie and , being the start of the movie, Fellowship got a lot of the the character building. But in TTT we have well established characters and the movie is about what happens to them, not the characters themselves. Return of the King will, as will as offer the finial part of the story, give us a chance to look at how far our friends have come, and see how they have been changed. It's all rather silly that every section of a movie must contain the same elements all the way through, and TTT is just one part of a much larger 3 hour picture. My last word will be to say that the best way to watch The Two Towers is to watch it stright after watching the extended version of Fellowship of the Ring.... togeather like they were made, and meant to be. Expand
  97. MichaelF.
    May 5, 2002
    6
    The Good: Really fun, good SFX, nicely shot, good job by almost everyone, especially BRUCE CAMBELL!! The Bad: Willem Dafoe had too much fun, The screenplay, I was a tiny bit disappointed by the action scenes, not enough of this cool slo-mo thing that they did in the beginning. And The Ugly: The dialouge was almost unbearable, some really stupid scenes.
  98. PipaB.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    Spiderman is the best superhero in the story of the comic. Beeeennnnnn.
  99. RyderA.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    This movie was just AWESOME. The cast was perfect and delivered great performances (especially Tobey) and the special effects were certainly top-notch and thrilling (let's face it, CGI is NOT perfect people). Spider-Man is one captivating movie for everyone - it's a lot of fun, and is definitely my favorite comic book movie (or any kind of movie for that matter) of all time. GoThis movie was just AWESOME. The cast was perfect and delivered great performances (especially Tobey) and the special effects were certainly top-notch and thrilling (let's face it, CGI is NOT perfect people). Spider-Man is one captivating movie for everyone - it's a lot of fun, and is definitely my favorite comic book movie (or any kind of movie for that matter) of all time. Go see it! nuff' said. Expand
  100. GabeT.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    Beautifully realized. This may be the best adaptation of a comic book ever done. Look out for JK Simmons' "J. Jonah Jameson."
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. There's a particular upside-down, half-masked kiss that instantly becomes one of movie history's more memorable smooches. It's the kiss to send any teenaged boy on a spinning high, as well as launching the new age of arachnophilia.
  2. Spider-Man may look like an action comic come to life, but its best feature is its romance comic heart. It's that rare cartoon movie in which the villain is less involving than the love story.
  3. Despite all the computer-generated effects and highflying superhero theatrics, this roughly $120 million movie is, with few exceptions, remarkable only in its small human touches.