Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,239
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
KumarG.Apr 2, 2010
You might think otherways, but anyhow, i am not a fan of anime and manga. So, I think, this movie is a bit overrated. There are a hell lot of movies in which transformation from childhood to adulthood is depicted. So there's nothing You might think otherways, but anyhow, i am not a fan of anime and manga. So, I think, this movie is a bit overrated. There are a hell lot of movies in which transformation from childhood to adulthood is depicted. So there's nothing new, even the animation was poor, considering its contemporaries. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
DesmondLJun 16, 2010
The film was okay, but didn't not attract me at all. First at all, the characters were unlikeable (expect Haku), the story was boring (because the plot didn't not give any sense) and mostly it didn't not scary!! I don't The film was okay, but didn't not attract me at all. First at all, the characters were unlikeable (expect Haku), the story was boring (because the plot didn't not give any sense) and mostly it didn't not scary!! I don't know why the reviewer so over-hyping and gave it over 90 or 100. Expand
5 of 25 users found this helpful
4
OliverW.Jan 18, 2009
Unlike just about everybody else, I do believe that films are supposed to make sense. For example, the characters must have reasons for their actions. And the very presence of a character must be necessary to the story. Don't get me Unlike just about everybody else, I do believe that films are supposed to make sense. For example, the characters must have reasons for their actions. And the very presence of a character must be necessary to the story. Don't get me wrong -- I have no problem with metaphor and fantasy worlds, I only ask that the storyteller lay the ground rules and follow them. Unfortunately, there is no rhyme or reason to this story. It's as if Miyazaki dropped acid one day and wrote everything down. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because his world, though disturbing and nonsensical, is so compellingly original. But watching it was a bit like chewing tinfoil. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
4
Trev29Feb 8, 2013
Quite possibly the most overrated film by both the critics and the audience. Was it unique and interesting at first? Yes, but it manages to turn into a bizarrely random movie that makes you don't feel any emotion in the end. The metaphors inQuite possibly the most overrated film by both the critics and the audience. Was it unique and interesting at first? Yes, but it manages to turn into a bizarrely random movie that makes you don't feel any emotion in the end. The metaphors in this movie must be hidden very well, cause I can't point them at all. Expand
3 of 27 users found this helpful324
All this user's reviews
5
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
I spent most of the time going, "What?" and "Huh?" and "Not in America..." The plot is somewhat fascinating, but when you realize that very little will be revealed you can't help but feel abandoned.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DalekOct 3, 2014
Spirited Away is great in terms of it's weird, imaginative characters, and somewhat confusing storyline but the voice acting (English dub) is just really cheesy, and bad.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
juliankleissJan 31, 2011
A little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none ofA little girl called Chihiro falls into a surreal world, from which she tries to save her parents. At first most characters appear to be bad-tempered or even evil. Nevertheless, along the way they all turn out rather nice. Therefore, none of the characters are categorizable into the typical archetypes of good or bad. This "realness" of the characters' personalities, however, makes the movie's storytelling very unusual to the habits and expectations of us western moviegoers. Moreover, one might miss a sense of having learned a lesson over the course of the film, for the parents do not rethink their piggishness, and Chihiro, despite many experiences and therefore many opportunities, does not appear to have grown much out from her childish vulnerability and dependence either. For these reasons, and despite its vivid imagination, Spirited Away (has great potential, but) might not satisfy everyone. However, the viewer might learn a lesson of freeing oneself from expectations and opening up for the unconventional. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
westbrook21Jun 29, 2013
Decent movie worth a watch, with a strong storyline and a good script. However, I am not a fan of the animation, it reminds me too much of Pokemon and the typical Japanese cartoons.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews