Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1571 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,440
Mixed:
39
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ErinL.Jun 15, 2003
This was a wonderful moving! I watched it over and over again and it never got boring. I sure hope they are planning a sequel, because there are still some things I am dying to know what happens!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseA.Jun 15, 2003
Absolute greatness, tied with iron giant as the best animated movie of all time, and in my opinion, t-4th greatest movie of all time with iron giant behind 12 Angry Men, To Kill A Mockingbird, and The Green Mile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesHJun 15, 2003
Incredible, Masterpiece, Greatness. I dont know what it is about that train sequence, but it is one of the most haunting animation sequences in the history of motion picture. As the spanish would say, Increible`
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickW.Jun 22, 2003
This is an intelligent, deep, thoroughly well crafted epic for those who are willing to use their imaginations. My favorite movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Jun 25, 2003
This is one of the most amazing movies I have seen in my entire life, and also one of my all-time favorites. I hate anime (and I mean hate it), but Miyazaki is a wonderful director. This film trumps "Mononoke," "Totoro," and "Kiki's," This is one of the most amazing movies I have seen in my entire life, and also one of my all-time favorites. I hate anime (and I mean hate it), but Miyazaki is a wonderful director. This film trumps "Mononoke," "Totoro," and "Kiki's," and it also trumps almost every movie ever made. No person on the planet should miss this epic masterpiece. No movie is perfect, but although there are a few movies I like more, and a few movies I think are better (here, I'm thinking "Godfather" and the like), this movie is the closest to perfect that I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyM.Jun 26, 2003
Definitely a 10. a touching movie which i watch over and over again. =)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshK.Jul 14, 2003
Miyazaki's done it again! This movie is so incredible, that it's impossible to do it justice with any amount of words. The only thing that tops the sounds and visuals is the the story! This movie has everything a good movie is made Miyazaki's done it again! This movie is so incredible, that it's impossible to do it justice with any amount of words. The only thing that tops the sounds and visuals is the the story! This movie has everything a good movie is made of. The characters are amazing, from the anxious Chihiro, to the stealy Haku, to the materialistic Yubaba. The story is vivid and imaginative, and the sets are amazing. This film not only rivals other animes and cartoon type movies, but every movie there has ever been! On my list, it's in the top five out of all movies, ever. And guess what? It's number 1! I give this movie a ten, but slightly resent it. I feel it is to of low a score. So really, instead of ten, I'm gonna give it an infinant! Eat my dust Richard and Ebert! Anyway, I urge anyone who hasn't seen it at least 6 times to go see it now! Wait, I've only seen it three! To the DVD player! *Runs off* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HipeopleJul 17, 2003
I think this is a magical movie. This is the best movie I have seen in my life. I love this movie so much! It is the greatest. I think this the greatest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RabA.Aug 15, 2003
Inspirational. Best Animated movie that you may ever see. maybe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WanderingSpiritAug 25, 2003
[***SPOILERS***] In response to Alisa W. questions (Spoiler warning!): 1)At the end Haku said, "I'm going to tell Yubaba that I quit being her apprentice. I'm fine, I got my name back", do you remember that? If so, that'll[***SPOILERS***] In response to Alisa W. questions (Spoiler warning!): 1)At the end Haku said, "I'm going to tell Yubaba that I quit being her apprentice. I'm fine, I got my name back", do you remember that? If so, that'll answer you're questions on whether Haku escaped or not and what exactly happened to him. 2)You just have to assume that Haku and Chihiro did meet again. This wasn't meant to be a mystery. 3)No, there will not be a Spirited Away sequel. Miyazaki refuses to make sequels, which I understand. Sequels usually don't have the depth that the first one had and are usually made just to make money. That is not the type of director Miyazaki is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnimeDuchessSep 27, 2003
I love the movie it is moving and has wonderful characters. I only watched it 4 times but that's because I had to take it back to blockbuster... I think I rent it again this weekend. Yoon C. Maybe you should know what you're going I love the movie it is moving and has wonderful characters. I only watched it 4 times but that's because I had to take it back to blockbuster... I think I rent it again this weekend. Yoon C. Maybe you should know what you're going to see before you watch it but hey you are entitled to your opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alecNov 24, 2004
BEAUTIFUL!!! One of the best films ever. Great job Miyazaki!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliA.Jan 13, 2004
Shame about the cuts Disney felt were necessary, but otherwise a masterpiece. Brimming with imagination. Miyazaki's best work to date - and to think he made it AFTER he 'retired'!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AstoniaW.Nov 4, 2004
This is the best movie I have ever watched! I have never actually like to watch movies but this one was an expection. The moment Haku came into the scene I fell in love with him. He's totally cute and handsome! I wonder how the director This is the best movie I have ever watched! I have never actually like to watch movies but this one was an expection. The moment Haku came into the scene I fell in love with him. He's totally cute and handsome! I wonder how the director actually draws him. I don't know how to explain my feelings towards Haku. That sort of sad but romantic feeling, I love you Haku! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamH.Nov 6, 2004
This film is perfect! Can't think of any way to improve it! Except... maybe to add some monkies. Monkies kick ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.Jan 17, 2004
This is a really good movie. i think you have to see it a few times to appreciate really how good it is though. the story, the character developement, the animation, the music were all phenominal. it takes a while to realize it though. i haveThis is a really good movie. i think you have to see it a few times to appreciate really how good it is though. the story, the character developement, the animation, the music were all phenominal. it takes a while to realize it though. i have to admit, the first time i saw this movie it wasnt a 10. it's weird and somewhat confusing. but after a few more time watching it, the true genius of this movie came out. as i sed before, this really is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JLNov 8, 2004
This is brilliant, one of my most favorite. The wierdness and the things left hanging are all of the typical things that a great "artwork" achieves. It leaves the audience to accept an interpretation of their own that truly makes the film a This is brilliant, one of my most favorite. The wierdness and the things left hanging are all of the typical things that a great "artwork" achieves. It leaves the audience to accept an interpretation of their own that truly makes the film a personal experience. I personally gave it an eight because this movie was not better than Princess Mononoke in my opinion. The score was awesome, but I felt that the film in between animations were somewhat rushed. Overall though, this movie is a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KungfooDec 5, 2004
The Greatest animated movie EVER!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertA.Jan 26, 2004
no doubt. 10. inspiring beyond your greatest dreams. jumping to the sky with wishful magnificance. never going to die. never going to fall. brillant. artistically grand. perfection on its heels. sound.story.movie. 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OziF.Dec 7, 2004
My toddlers are still singing "Welcome the rich man he pretty hard to miss, his butt keep getting bigger so there is plenty there to kiss" (ok so I'm embarrassed but it's soo cute. My teenager suddenly became unjaded for about 2 My toddlers are still singing "Welcome the rich man he pretty hard to miss, his butt keep getting bigger so there is plenty there to kiss" (ok so I'm embarrassed but it's soo cute. My teenager suddenly became unjaded for about 2 hours... (a look of wonderment? no way! yes!) My friends have suddenly realized why I spend hours going through bad anime to have my mind blown by a devilishly trippy piece of work. This movie lines up Lewis Carrol, Frank Braum, and Jonathan Swift gives them Three Stooges slap!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.S.Apr 17, 2004
For people who say this is a bad movie and that there are better anime like Akira (pfft), you dont know what true anime is. you are only interested in modern anime which doesnt capture the imagination as all the other studio ghibli movies. a For people who say this is a bad movie and that there are better anime like Akira (pfft), you dont know what true anime is. you are only interested in modern anime which doesnt capture the imagination as all the other studio ghibli movies. a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoonLightMay 26, 2004
I don't understand why some people gave it a 1 or 0. They probably don't know a good movie when they see one. I feel sorry for them. They must be real miserable people. Spirited Away is the best movie ever created. One of the top I don't understand why some people gave it a 1 or 0. They probably don't know a good movie when they see one. I feel sorry for them. They must be real miserable people. Spirited Away is the best movie ever created. One of the top reasons I like it so much is because Haku is so hot & cute. Lucky Chihiro. Another reason is because the movie is so full of imagination, not even my imagination can reach as far as that. If I could I would rate the movie 100+. I'm so glad I got to watch such fantastic movie. All I can say is... A masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AeriesM.Jun 21, 2004
My advice to you moronic idiot retards out there who rate this move low, STHU! It's a great movie, and if you don't like it, DON'T RATE IT! Im sick of you people! BTW, I loved this movie. Definately one of the best I have ever My advice to you moronic idiot retards out there who rate this move low, STHU! It's a great movie, and if you don't like it, DON'T RATE IT! Im sick of you people! BTW, I loved this movie. Definately one of the best I have ever seen. I love Haku! LOVE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariahK.Jul 11, 2004
This Movie is one of my Favorite movies! Some parts of this movie will make u laugh and some parts will make u cry. This movie touch my heart and really made a point. It makes u think about how this little scared girl grows up so fast and This Movie is one of my Favorite movies! Some parts of this movie will make u laugh and some parts will make u cry. This movie touch my heart and really made a point. It makes u think about how this little scared girl grows up so fast and gets so brave so quickly. I watch this movie over and over. Ill never get tired of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DemonicAngelAug 13, 2004
Wonderful. Miyazaki's films never cease to amaze me, but he's really outdone himself with this one, an enchanting fantasy which easily (and rather ironically) eclipses any and all of the sugary-sweet "adaptations" that Disney has Wonderful. Miyazaki's films never cease to amaze me, but he's really outdone himself with this one, an enchanting fantasy which easily (and rather ironically) eclipses any and all of the sugary-sweet "adaptations" that Disney has ever produced. I say ironically, because it was Disney who released it. ;) The animation, as with all Studio Ghibli releases, is outstanding, and the English dub is very nicely done, although purists will obviously prefer the Japanese. The story is fairly simple, but very well told. Look, just go watch it already. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Enchanting and magnificent, but why can't I shake the feeling that this is a kids movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SangHeeJ.Jan 29, 2005
A simply beautifully done film. A movie that the whole family will love. Adored in Japan for it's wonderful story line and unforgettable characters, it is now one of the most popular animated films, in my opinion. I recommend this to A simply beautifully done film. A movie that the whole family will love. Adored in Japan for it's wonderful story line and unforgettable characters, it is now one of the most popular animated films, in my opinion. I recommend this to anyone, young or old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachL.Jul 21, 2005
A masterpiece. If someone gave it a 0, they are just stupid. How could he make this AND Princess Mononoke?! This guy is a modern-day genious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaoXuJan 18, 2006
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyM.Mar 21, 2006
wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki doesn't believe in them. But over all this was one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shetaMar 23, 2006
My fav besides "Princess Monokoki."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewJun 23, 2007
If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaS.Jul 17, 2007
I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with the help of Haku. I recommend this to anyone; no matter who you are, I believe there's a good chance that you'll like it. And to Louis H., who said that this movie is a Japanese version of Alice in Wonderland: With all due respect, the basis of this movie differs completely from Alice in Wonderland. Alice in Wonderland is a satirical view of Victorian England and it's many irrationalities from the point of view of a logical, unbiased observer, i.e. a child, Alice. Spirited Away deals with an average, somewhat spoiled 10-year-old child, Chihiro, who is forced to mature when faced with a slightly more traditional culture where she has to work to get what she needs, which in this case is her parents. So while at a glance, Spirited Away may look like an Alice in Wonderland rip-off, anyone who has actually taken the time to watch even five minutes Spirited Away and has read Alice in Wonderland can easily tell the difference, and I am truly sorry that you don't have the maturity or even the respect for a work as great as Alice in Wonderland or Spirited Away to try to find something slightly more fitting to compare this movie to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaL.Sep 25, 2007
I think is the best movie I have seen. It involves courage,magic and love all in one fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichCDec 26, 2008
The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense world-wide acclaim before Disney contracted to dub and distribute it in the US. Beautiful artwork, complex and engaging characters, and significance in the details. Those closed to the experience of traditional Japanese mythology/spiritualism may be uncomfortable, but the effort is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AimeeD.Jul 24, 2008
The best picture ever! it is about a new world inside our reality, crazy, allucinated and wonderful, the music is incredible. Is a must!l
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerW.Aug 11, 2008
Incredible picture animation very hard work went into this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaTDec 23, 2009
Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every character here is shown in a scale of gray, from the seemingly monstrous Yubaba to even the Slime Monster in the middle who turns out to be a gentle river spirit along with the seemingly gentle at first No-Face, emanating a strict sense of the importance of perception in ones life. I rate this highly as one of the best movies I have ever seen, totally worth its rating here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Aug 26, 2009
I can't even remember how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LinniW.Nov 14, 2002
I thought that this was an awesome movie in japanese but in english it sucked like hell! the girls voice sounded like a 2 year old. (this vote is for the japanese version) if i were to rate the english, it would be 0!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewC.Nov 16, 2002
A work of art. Have not seen a more imaginative (but much more fun!) film since, 'Mulholland Drive". Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesP.Nov 23, 2002
This movie a the best money from Disney. Too bad disney didn't make it and wants to suppress this movie. Because it is better than any movie disney made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisA.Nov 24, 2002
When I saw this movie one year before its U.S. release, even though it was a badly done Japanese camcorder bootleg with bad subtitling, I knew that it was something special. When it had its Japanese DVD release, I was one of the few (and When I saw this movie one year before its U.S. release, even though it was a badly done Japanese camcorder bootleg with bad subtitling, I knew that it was something special. When it had its Japanese DVD release, I was one of the few (and proud) individuals that imported this fine gem. This isn't just a great movie to watch once with the kids, but it's a movie for the whole family that can be played over and over for many years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alan_lightman25Dec 18, 2002
This is the kind of movie disney is incapable of doing. it will definitely bomb out in the US box office- too intelligent for American audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeikodelacruzDec 18, 2002
This one must win the Oscars! the rest of the animated features released this year looked moronic compared to this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneDec 22, 2002
Truly Amazing! Miyazaki's masterpiece embodies what animated films strive to be yet on the most part cannot attain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetP.Nov 13, 2003
I have seen Spirited Away millions of times and i still feel as if i was in the cinema. i loved the plot because it wasn't over the top but instead it was an every day thing, i hope they make a spirited away 2. I think anyone who gave I have seen Spirited Away millions of times and i still feel as if i was in the cinema. i loved the plot because it wasn't over the top but instead it was an every day thing, i hope they make a spirited away 2. I think anyone who gave this movie less than 7 is either STUPID or CRAZY this movie is my NO1 favourite. The Characters were brilliant because they were not big strong atheletic people but ordinary boys and girls, my favourite Characters are Chihiro and Haku. Well done Miyazaki! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronMJF.Dec 16, 2003
I consider this to be Hayao Miyazaki's Magnum Opus! Top marks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Marie-ÈveF.Dec 26, 2003
This movie was even better than I expected. Igive it 101%. Anybody who didnt like it must be crazy! Perfect job, Mr. Hayao Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.M.Dec 26, 2003
It was a good, family filled movie. My sister and i LOVED it. And i know i'm speaking for most of the fans when i say, Chihiro and Hakaku are such a CUTE couple!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MathieuB.Nov 28, 2004
This movie is like my favorite movie all times. There is nothing bad to say about it. It's just perfect in every way. Everytime again I got suprised by another amazing new event. The persons that worked on this movie were mastermindes This movie is like my favorite movie all times. There is nothing bad to say about it. It's just perfect in every way. Everytime again I got suprised by another amazing new event. The persons that worked on this movie were mastermindes and I hope they will create more of these wonderful movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Nov 11, 2005
Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Nov 23, 2005
I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal with it. If you don't like themes like this then why were you watching it in the first place. Secondly, the characters have many layers in this film. They are complex and interesting, so it annoys me when people criticise them for not being black and white. Just because your small minds can't get over the fact that they aren't wholly good or evil doesn't mean they're bad! Zaniba was dangerous but you can be dangerous and kind, no one said she was evil. Yubaba was ruthless but she had a good heart underneath it all. This is a clever reflection on real people for noone is truly good or evil, everyone has a different side to them. For comments on the simplicity of the plot, I would like to remind you that it is essentially a kid's film just like Harry Potter is kid's book, yet critics and adults enjoy themselves with it never the less. As for the animation, it's stunning - the drawings, the graphics and the design all work together to produce a wonderful cartoon that should be enjoyed by all. Also, the little details that are so subtle you barely notice them make this movie watchable again and again, like Chihiros's hair band flashing magically at the end to signify that she will live happily ever after. If don't like anime, fantasy, complex characters or things that "freak you out" then don't watch it and save us all the trouble of listening to you go on about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateDec 26, 2005
This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say WHAT!!??!!??!! it's class, not only for kids but for adults like me too. i really can't find any other word to describe it other than class!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenL.Nov 22, 2008
Great movie with great animation. If i was younger when i first saw this is would be one of if not my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanP.Dec 29, 2008
It was an amazing movie that was completely creative and interesting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
Although I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although atAlthough I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although at times the storyline does not hold up to Toy Story etc. Not that this is really a problem, it is really the dream like quality of all the spirit beings that drives it through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
If "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into anotherIf "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into another world filled with imagination and absurdity following the misadventures of main character Sen as she tries to understand and adjust to the world around her, a perfect allegory for coming of age. It easily ranks among the best animated features of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fuschia-SwimSep 20, 2010
May I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' ofMay I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' of this gorgeously animated film, is that it is the adventure that is important. Chihiro comes out of it with independence, and a deeper insight into the responsibilities of the adult, preparing her for the difficult period of starting a new life, and what friendship + love mean. In essence, it is a 'coming of age' film of sorts. A preperation for adult life. A learning curve. You may notice that her first bouquet of flowers may be an little allusion to the coming future?

I for one, consider it among my Top 5. It is a pure and beautiful take on one girl's experience, that those from all walks of life can relate to. And even if you can't understand the inner-workings, can't you just enjoy a film? Sometimes you can't explain attachment. You can't choose who you love. Yadayada...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation isThis is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation is such that they are almost completely different genres. I found 'Spirited Away' very relaxing and meaningful. The animation was superb, the storyline was unique and heartfelt and the characters were a lot of fun, especially the superbly animated Yubaba. It will go down in history as one of the best animated films of all time, and was a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best animated movie from all times with an original fantasy nice story, a movie for all family , i recommend ''walking castle'' from same director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NKOASNov 17, 2012
The only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in theThe only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in the states by Disney (because it was better than any animated film they'd put out in a while), Spirited Away proved to be a beautiful film for any age, without even being in 3-D. Who woulda thought? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iusaneimeFeb 20, 2011
Unbelievable movie. The artwork was by far the most beautiful I've ever seen. The story is heart-warming and tear-jerking. Incredibly imaginative and great character development. If you don't like this movie you should kill yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KendylKlownfishApr 22, 2011
Another Miyazaki classic that is both enchanting and innovative. Pros: Visually and imaginatively breathtaking. Cons: It's sure to scare the pants off of its younger demographic with some nightmarish imagery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
I'm not a fan of anime movies but this is something special. The script is very amazing and quite intriguing. Emotionally, I can connect to them and I love the fact that the story gets deeper and deeper and deeper until I get the whole idea.I'm not a fan of anime movies but this is something special. The script is very amazing and quite intriguing. Emotionally, I can connect to them and I love the fact that the story gets deeper and deeper and deeper until I get the whole idea. Hayao Miyazaki once again proved to us that he is the master of Japanese animation........ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BlogDog123Feb 10, 2012
Spirited Away is a fantastic film that deserves all the high ratings and attention it gets. The story sucks you in, and the animation is excellent. Characters are vivid and well thought-out. It's easily one of the best animated films ever toSpirited Away is a fantastic film that deserves all the high ratings and attention it gets. The story sucks you in, and the animation is excellent. Characters are vivid and well thought-out. It's easily one of the best animated films ever to grace the movie industry, let alone the planet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeSep 5, 2011
Spirited Away is a deep and memorable Japanese masterpiece. The animation is some of the best that has ever come out of Japan, the characters are very original and the story unique. This is a movie that must be watched several times toSpirited Away is a deep and memorable Japanese masterpiece. The animation is some of the best that has ever come out of Japan, the characters are very original and the story unique. This is a movie that must be watched several times to discover its depth and originality. Highly Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heloheJan 13, 2012
I watched the japanese version which was amazing. Miyazaki is a grand-master of animation. Every detail is nicely done and very beautiful. I would give the disney version 2 points less because I didn't like the english synchronisation at all.I watched the japanese version which was amazing. Miyazaki is a grand-master of animation. Every detail is nicely done and very beautiful. I would give the disney version 2 points less because I didn't like the english synchronisation at all. Much better to watch it in japanese, with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReaganSmash1994Feb 4, 2012
I have taken the time to read the reviews of users who gave it lower than a '3' and their views baffle me. Spirited Away is the best animated films I have seen since Lion King. It is one of my favorite films from a Studio that always createsI have taken the time to read the reviews of users who gave it lower than a '3' and their views baffle me. Spirited Away is the best animated films I have seen since Lion King. It is one of my favorite films from a Studio that always creates a magical and wonderful experience. The animation is utterly sublime for 2001. The Characters are so complex yet simple that it makes them enthralling to both kids and adults. The voice acting is tremendous, both the Japanese and English dub. The story is beautifully unique, which is rare in a Studio Ghibli film which often re-tell classics. Whoever said it is like Alice in wonderland is wrong. The story is an eloquent and beautiful creation.

There is so much I could say about this film, it is simply one of the greatest animated films to be made. Exactly why it is the only non-american film to win an Oscar for best animated picture. It shows that not only Disney and Pixar can animate, but Japan and Studio Ghibli have been doing it since before Pixar was born.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 9, 2011
Being a fan of Japanese animations since a very young age, I was expecting to be really entertained by "Spirited Away". But Hayao Miyazaki surpassed my highest expectations by leading me into a such breathtaking, exciting and unforgettableBeing a fan of Japanese animations since a very young age, I was expecting to be really entertained by "Spirited Away". But Hayao Miyazaki surpassed my highest expectations by leading me into a such breathtaking, exciting and unforgettable tale of friendship and bravery. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky1230Oct 6, 2011
Awesome movie and anyone who says otherwise is either blind, a communist, or hates puppies. No movie has effected me this much since Toy Story. Love it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
reaperff7Nov 10, 2011
this movie got me through both middle and high school. words cannot express how much this film has help me over the years. i must have seen it over 50 times by now lol. +solid visuals
+solid voice acting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cainscrueltyDec 8, 2011
In the movie Spirited Away, we are transported into one of director Hayao Miyazakiâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZegilgameshMay 25, 2013
In a hacky, derivative, and sequel-filled world, Spirited Away is a stunningly original masterpiece that is rarely seen, and sets new standards for animation as an art form.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nero97Jan 9, 2012
Not much to say. Fantastic movie, the best cartoon movie of all time by far and a masterpiece in cinema's history. Once again Miyazaki made a memorable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IskaaaJan 18, 2012
Probably one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen - everything from the amazingly detailed world to the wonderful characters are perfect. Miyazaki manages to bring out the true potential of anime, establishing an amazing story andProbably one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen - everything from the amazingly detailed world to the wonderful characters are perfect. Miyazaki manages to bring out the true potential of anime, establishing an amazing story and keeping everything in the movie relevant to it. I'm not a hardcore anime or manga fan, I've only read a few books and watched a few shows. When I first heard about this movie from a few friends, I was quite skeptical - till I finally watched it. Even though it was slightly long compared to an average movie, I don't regret a single second of watching it. The only bad part about it was that it ended.

I definitely recommend this movie to any age. If you're not an anime fan or slightly skeptical about the idea of watching the movie, I urge you to do it - you won't be disappointed. Perfect 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sirky004Feb 2, 2012
It's a great movie to watch. I love the scene in the train with no face, that one touches me (really). Others hate it because in their mind anime are like naruto or others, but it's not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ILHMFeb 1, 2013
Prepare yourself for a magical journey in SPIRITED AWAY, the acclaimed Japanese animation by renown director Hayao Miyazaki. Chihiro finds herself lost in the spirit world after her parents are transformed into pigs by a malevolent witch, andPrepare yourself for a magical journey in SPIRITED AWAY, the acclaimed Japanese animation by renown director Hayao Miyazaki. Chihiro finds herself lost in the spirit world after her parents are transformed into pigs by a malevolent witch, and she must gather her strength and courage if she hopes to save them! SPIRITED AWAY transports us to a fantasy world that is filled with strange and magnificent creatures who are brought to life through Miyazaki's captivating animated style. Chihiro's journey is a timeless story of self-discovery and the coming of age, where a young girl first discovers love and compassion by acting outside herself. Miyazaki uses traditional storytelling techniques to paint a unique new fairy tale that children of all ages can relate to, while keeping with its Japanese origins. The sometimes horrifying creatures that Chihiro encounters each represent a stage of childhood that she must overcome, and bring with them valuable lessons that she will use in her budding adolescence. SPIRITED AWAY provides childlike wonder for kids and adults alike, and is a masterpiece of modern animation. -Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
riskyMay 17, 2012
Spirited Away is a mindblowing, genuine and compelling experience. The themes of loss, adolescence, good and evil leaves a certain feeling lingering all the way through the ending credits. What I like most about this movie is that it'sSpirited Away is a mindblowing, genuine and compelling experience. The themes of loss, adolescence, good and evil leaves a certain feeling lingering all the way through the ending credits. What I like most about this movie is that it's genuinely japanese. It's proud in a way that is not **** It incorporates japanese culture, sense for details, scenery and conversation in a way that is very much graspable for westerners unexperienced with japanese culture. The plot contains suggestive elements which makes it a pleasure to watch over, and over again. This is the first Ghibli I experienced and I can't help but compare how close other animes make me feel in contrast to this picture, as if it were the ultimate of animated movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AnnatarYoungSep 11, 2014
A truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, aA truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, a touching story, a fantastically avant garde artistic direction, a rather obscure look in to Japanese folklore and culture and many strong moral undertones throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelFeb 11, 2013
"Spirited Away" is the mountain high, the kind of movie we all wish to be able to make. The honest sensibility, gentle and simple storytelling that reincarnates on-the-fly into states of being beyond imagination-all of that supported by"Spirited Away" is the mountain high, the kind of movie we all wish to be able to make. The honest sensibility, gentle and simple storytelling that reincarnates on-the-fly into states of being beyond imagination-all of that supported by amazing yet nostalgic hand-drawn animation constitute one of the most important aesthetic achievements of the 21-th century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lordpainSep 12, 2013
At first I was skeptical about watching a movie with a 10 year old girl as the protagonist, but I'm glad I did watch it, it was truly a great movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moonman1994Nov 20, 2013
Beautifully drawn and beautifully scored. Spirited Away is intriguing and innovative and can definitely stand strong not only in the animated film genre but against all films in general. It's plainly a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InspectorJApr 7, 2015
The most original film I have ever seen, 'Spirited Away' is a beautiful animation that truly delivers unique and memorable characters, a wondrous animation style and a plethora of themes that are still relevant to this day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 2, 2014
O mundo de Chihiro fantásticamente fabuloso, com seus seres exóticas, uma história fascinante e uma trilha sonora de arrancar suspiros, um dos melhores de Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hardkor33Jul 23, 2013
An easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful aboutAn easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful about this movie, from the story, to the music, rightdown to the artwork itself. I mean the attention to detail in this movie is quite amazing. Thanks to the wonderful and brilliant mind of Hayao Miyazaki, this beautiful art work of a film will forever hold a special place in my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Dec 23, 2014
I will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures forI will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures for the kiddies, and a simple enough story for the "mom and dads" to enjoy.

However, the movie is just to overpraised for what it is. A colorful simple folktale.

If it wasn't for the notoriety this movie has in the anime community, I might have been more lenient. But this movie is clearly riding on Studio Ghibli's reputation and doing everything it can to look and act the part. Which is a shame as it clearly could have been allot more if released from Ghibli's formulaic storytelling.

Overall:
Spirited Away is still charming and fun to watch. But don't expect some marvel in storytelling. Just expect a Studio Ghibli film. In that regard it succeeds in every category.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nirishan9Jan 12, 2013
Fantastic movie. Hayao Miyazaki's true masterpiece. Fruitful and exciting from beginning to end. An array of creative characters and beautiful music to accompany it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
A wondrous childhood pleasure for all the senses. The darkness becomes a fever dream that you enjoy in vivid detail. The characters keep the movie going through the unique responses. It is a great coming of age/ adventure movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kevinhooksJan 19, 2013
Words cannot describe the visual designs and art direction of this amazing film. Hayao Miyazaki has made a film with an impressive plot followed by characters who he (unsurprisingly) manages to develop deeply. I would highly recommend thisWords cannot describe the visual designs and art direction of this amazing film. Hayao Miyazaki has made a film with an impressive plot followed by characters who he (unsurprisingly) manages to develop deeply. I would highly recommend this film to any fans of animation, and even to adults out there. This has the making of one of the best animated spectacles of the century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SebastianRRJun 26, 2013
Esta película resalta entre las demás ya que cada minuto que corre es la puerta a una nueva forma de ver la película en si. Entre brujas, monstruos y fantasmas lo que demuestra es que dentro de una caben todas.
Una de las mejores películas
Esta película resalta entre las demás ya que cada minuto que corre es la puerta a una nueva forma de ver la película en si. Entre brujas, monstruos y fantasmas lo que demuestra es que dentro de una caben todas.
Una de las mejores películas animadas, aunque aveces se tornaba confusa, pero siempre salia a una historia brillante que crece a cada paso.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
emalaFeb 18, 2013
This is my favorite one of Hayao Miyazaki's films, and I've seen almost all of them. It's unique and interesting and kept me intrigued throughout the entire thing when I first watched it in elementary school. And I was easily distracted then.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shpreaJun 27, 2013
It's hard to explain why, but Spirited Away is just amazing. There's a certain magic that comes from Miyazaki's creative and thrilling spirit world. Every character has depth, every scene is interesting, and the characters all undergo growthIt's hard to explain why, but Spirited Away is just amazing. There's a certain magic that comes from Miyazaki's creative and thrilling spirit world. Every character has depth, every scene is interesting, and the characters all undergo growth throughout the movie. Really, it is a must see movie.

10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 12, 2013
I was looking for some good anime last week... i found this and when i watched it, i felt the magic in the room. This is the ONLY MOVIE that made me feel relaxed, sad, strange, great, happy at the same time! It just can't be explained if youI was looking for some good anime last week... i found this and when i watched it, i felt the magic in the room. This is the ONLY MOVIE that made me feel relaxed, sad, strange, great, happy at the same time! It just can't be explained if you haven'y seen it. I felt like i'm going through another dimension. I bought the original DVD the next day by accident. So "Spirited Away" gets my full 10/10! Thank you Miyazaki Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KPHooksMar 29, 2013
Hayao Miyazaki has created a film that captures a beautiful world filled with colorful and bizarre creatures. He places a young girl into this world vulnerable to her surroundings who develops into a daring heroine. This film is a masterpieceHayao Miyazaki has created a film that captures a beautiful world filled with colorful and bizarre creatures. He places a young girl into this world vulnerable to her surroundings who develops into a daring heroine. This film is a masterpiece in story and visual imagery. Miyazaki has done it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RBJCApr 7, 2013
Great movie, probably in my top 5 animation movies.
The characters are a little bit weird ("no face", "the putrid spirit", etc), but at the end it is perfect because it contributes to the fantasy world of the movie. This was one of the first
Great movie, probably in my top 5 animation movies.
The characters are a little bit weird ("no face", "the putrid spirit", etc), but at the end it is perfect because it contributes to the fantasy world of the movie. This was one of the first Studio Ghibli movies I watched, and after watching some others (that are all high quality) I can tell this is the best one in my opinion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
uGrooveApr 11, 2013
A soothing yet compelling movie for all age groups. By far I have been most fond of the times in Miyazaki's movies where the pacing was slow, with "Kiki's Delivery Service" as my prime example of a perfect slow-paced movie. "Spirited away"A soothing yet compelling movie for all age groups. By far I have been most fond of the times in Miyazaki's movies where the pacing was slow, with "Kiki's Delivery Service" as my prime example of a perfect slow-paced movie. "Spirited away" did not only accomplish in that, but also did some thrilling action scenes which were "just the right amount", so they didn't distract from the reality which was happening here. The characters were lovable and interesting, the story and the ethics of the movie were simple yet suggestive, the animation was just what you are looking for; the perfect balance of kitche as portrayed "Howl's Moving Castle" and his other movies, which were not as so determined in making us feel blown away, but rather "sucked" into the story, and the movie as a whole was an experience with many memorable moments I'll be sure to be returning to many times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CarlJohnsonJun 8, 2013
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BenjaminCerdaMay 20, 2013
La mejor película de animación,al mismo tiempo que la mejor película de la década y del realizador japones,Hayao Miyazaki.La película consigue muy bien llevarte a ese mundo de magia y fantasía basándose en las tradiciones japonesas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NitishSep 30, 2014
oh dear god, what the man has created..!! i feel high watching this more than i do feel when i smoke weed, it's magical..!! This movie is a whole new world of imagination and still so beautiful and simple ..!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews