Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1373 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,265
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
Except the beautiful animation (like with every Miyazaki film) there really is nothing here for me to like
2 of 19 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
3
night4Apr 5, 2016
I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.

However, it so blatantly and bluntly denounces "greed" that it loses all credibility. I know, it's meant for children. But the message seems to be if you have, want, or somehow acquire ANY money, ever, you're evil.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
LeoB.Feb 12, 2003
Too bad, boring and disgusting.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
2
KJHJun 22, 2010
When I saw the movie, it was way too scary. It was more of a nightmare than a movie.
0 of 13 users found this helpful
2
JohnnnieP.Jun 21, 2006
I have not seen one review that addresses the exact themes that are woven into the film, throughout. remember the wolf in little red riding hood. all dressed up with nowhere to go, waiting for a free meal in grandmas bed well.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
Louis'sbrotherMar 21, 2007
With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Mar 22, 2007
I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would have fried my brain if I knew! Absoulute 0. Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful
1
LeventeS.Jun 25, 2009
Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone? These are all massive problems, and though there are probably more, I hate them so much I can't even remember them. This movie is terrible and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone older than five (though said five year old may wet his pants and have nightmares about it). Expand
6 of 53 users found this helpful