Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1367 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,259
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JaredA.Apr 26, 2010
This is the movie to watch. Awesome story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickMay 17, 2007
Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not ALL that stupid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KrisS.Mar 23, 2008
The most wonderful animated film I've watch in 30 years, and one of the greatest movies period. Incredibly moving, wildly imaginative, for kids and adults alike.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MichaelAAug 21, 2009
Spirited Away isn't usual, but that's why it's amazing, vivid animation, endearing characters, great story & music, it's simply perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joehJan 8, 2010
It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically pleasing moments I have ever seen, both real or imagined. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LaughingOutLoudJun 3, 2010
@Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? @Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone?"" I loved how you try to rationalize a movie about imagination, mythology, and a different world. and i don't see why there must be deceit, that's the problem with the world...people like you who have built in "feed me plot, feed me deceit, feed me treachery?" Why cant the world of a animation be filled with fairy tales and good creatures who are simply misunderstood? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JamieSOct 3, 2005
I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than Fantasia 1 and 2 or Allegro non Troppo. The music is haunting and evocative. The graphics are colorful and beautiful and fascinating. (Wait until you see the transformations of people into animals and vice-versa, then you'll see how an animation can be fascinating). The story and characters are imaginative and sympathetic. The whole thing is incredibly imaginative and well done, for example Spider Grandfather was brilliant and the witch when her fingers started to creep up the side of Chiharo's body like a spider crawling slowly up a piece of meat ... creepy, spooky, chilling, and wow what a way to set a mood , intimate motivaton, and generate tension ... see this and understand why japanimation is the best in the world. "Spirited Away" was how I felt too while I was watching it. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JunK.Sep 6, 2005
I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start (ex. "Will we meet again?" " i'm sure we will." "Promise?" "Promise."). Well, you have to see this movie if you haven't yet. HAKU IS SOOOO SEXY!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
C.D.Feb 6, 2006
What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as she tries to stomp the evil slug, to the little creatures reenacting the heroic moment a few minutes later. I can't believe no one else here saw any similarities to Never Ending Story, though. World of weirdness to which a young hero/heroine escape, a rideable furry dragon, etc. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JHighFeb 8, 2006
When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure she sees this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, and in so doing the film sometimes crosses over from fantasy to phantasmagoria. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JH.Jan 1, 2008
The most imaginative film to come from Miyazaki. This film was an absolute joy to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JohnnySApr 14, 2008
One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one of the classics! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Nov 8, 2009
all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because if movie had to be real we would find no entertainment once so ever!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanelRAug 10, 2009
Spirited away is simply wonderful. Its enchanted and astonishing. And I really hope Hayao Miyazaki will decide to make a sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EusebioP.Sep 7, 2009
Marvelous script (Fantasy, friendship, tenderness and some horror), stunning animation and the best music score. Disney is at millions light years of this masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VelimirR.Feb 8, 2010
Indeed a real masterpiece!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TaylorHMay 27, 2010
This is one of the best films I have ever seen AND it is the best animated film I have ever seen. It appears to be for children, but the themes of the story are much deeper and darker than most children will get. Well worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertSJun 19, 2010
One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own studio one day with several collaborators that are forming ideas with me. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
SusanJ.Nov 2, 2005
Spirted Away is an emotional and touching story of a young girl in a search for her family. It's amazing how an aminated feature could connect so much to all age groups. One of the best aminated movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 1, 2006
This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing up, and the childlike curiosity that is within us all. We can see that with Chihiro's parents, too, and it becomes the irony of the story that Chihiro takes charge and becomes an adult herself, all within the confines of one film. This is Miyazaki's masterpiece. If ever he achieves a feat higher, then I'll wet my pants, and that's a promise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SangheeJ.Apr 9, 2006
a beautiful film and original plot. I only saw the dubbed version, but it captured my heart. there was an original plot and an ordinary herione. Its a beautiful movie and I suggest any one of any age to look into it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TheElusivePossomMay 9, 2006
[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the backseat of the family saloon, we are drawn into another world. This world is sustained by first rate animé-tion and truly breath-taking artwork, culminating in a visual feast. The characters we meet are typically bizarre and wonderfully imaginative without straying too far into an intangible dreamland; you have to remember, we're viewing a cartoon caricature of Japanese culture here, and this is beautifully reflected in the (often grotesque) spirits of the world. The plot is imaginative, lacking cliché and laced with tension, and we actually care about the characters thanks to excellent voice-acting. Stand-out examples of this are found in the characters of Lin and Haku, who are multi-dimensional and emotive. This really is the kind of film that would appeal to anyone, though it requires a perhaps more mature mind to appreciate the effort behind it. So where does it fall short? Well, it is successful in pretty much every aspect: we immediately feel comfortable in adapting to this new and visually overwhelming world, and decide that we would happily spend 3 hours watching Chihiro explore it. Unfortunately, we only just get past two. It's the PACING of this movie that makes us feel like we are facing a framed work of art, but are told we can only stare at the middle section of it. The film's entrance is a lulling experience (Chihiro and her family take a good 15 minutes just to discover the spirit plane, and remember, that's about 1/8th of the movie already). The ending, contrary to this, is inexplicably and unfortunately rushed: *SPOILERS* By the time our heroine is given train tickets to see Zeniba, she has amassed a cute collection of comrades to join her, and so we expect another hour or so of narrow escapes from dangerous situations while they realise how important they are to each other, and the fuzzy Disney allegory is complete; after all, this is meant to be an adventure. However, the train journey and the trip through the swamp are ENTIRELY uneventful. On reaching Zeniba, the troupe enjoy tea together (and as a pointless sideline, No-Face decides to stay with Zenoba to help her) and then Haku arrives, providing the remaining "adventurers" an equally uneventful trip home. This is, of course, until Chihiro randomly remembers Haku's name and breaks the spell binding him to work for the repulsive Obaba. The plot now flies along faster than the viewer feels confortable with, and the "final test" promised by Obaba turns out to be one question, which Chihiro immediately answers, though her method is never explained. So all is well, Chihiro hurredly rejoins her parents, who of course don't remember a thing of the spirit world, and the movie aruptly ends on a "I-should-be-ok-for-the-first-day-of-school-as-I've-just-survived-the-most-magical-journey-ever" dynamic. *SPOILERS END* This disappointingly mellow and rushed ending marrs what is otherwise a masterpiece. Thus, it falls short of a respectable 9, but to give it a 7 (a grade I usually reserve for mindless but enjoyable action flicks) would undervalue its achievement. An 8 it is then. I would recommend seeing this beautiful film, but ask if you don't mind leaving wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YashiraM.Jul 27, 2006
I love this move! I saw it once and I fell in love with it! I actually told my mom to buy it for me and she is looking for it every where.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JTJul 20, 2006
Loved it. Best animated movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
Fantastic, watch it once properly, then again to laugh at how funny it is... you should watch the other gibli ones too... in my opinion this wasn't the best one, they were all supreme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanS.Jan 1, 2007
An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I was impressed. I myself have watched "Princess Mononoke" and many other anime series'. I found the plot in this movie intruiging as well as uncomplicated and the characters rather easy to relate to (no I'm not 10, but I still feel they are more like 'us' as people). I would have to agree with some that there are certain aspects of the film that could be better and explained in more detail, for example: No-face's apparent mood swings and everybody's belief that Zeniba is (or was) evil when she obviously proved not to be. I do not think it is fair to compare this movie to one of Miyazaki's other films, "Princess Mononoke". The two films are (in essence) very different and are not meant to relate to each other. "Spirited Away" is a fantasy story that shows how a little 10-year old girl can have the courage to overcome her own fears and the greatest of obstacles, while still managing to find some semblance of love in a twisted and unfamiliar world. Rating 9 and a half to 10! Over-all a great story with very good animation. Enchanting, captivating, imaginative and true to the audience. I give it two thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked first grade and can't tell the simple plot of a movie or you fell asleep during the movie and obviously didn't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ECAug 5, 2007
This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside the box. It's like snow white, you can call it a stupid movie, with not much of a plot, but when you think about it, the meaning behind it all is very important (which I hope you will someday understand). Anyways, Spirited Away was an excellent movie, but as someone hs previously mentioned, the ending was too rushed. I had expected a longer adventure to Granny's house, or at least a peek to the later years, where one would expect Chihiro to be reunited with Haku. Basically this caused a great flaw in this movie. However, I still recommend it to anyone who hasn't watched it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jamieo.Sep 30, 2007
I'm almost sorry I've watched it because I'll never get to watch it for the first time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Feb 14, 2008
Even if you've never heard of this movie and are curious as to why it's on this top 10 list, you have reason enough to see it. You'll thank yourself later.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeccaW.Feb 27, 2008
This movie was perfect. I could watch it over and over again. Please make a number 2!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendenS.Jul 24, 2008
Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I can't think of another Anime, much less an animated movie that even comes close to this one. It is a modern day Alice in Wonderland, that has something for everyone. Adults and children, critics and average viewers, anime lovers and anime haters will find something in this movie that grabs them deep down and drags them along through the whole thing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulienT.Oct 22, 2009
A wonderful story in an amazingly complex universe where magic is everywhere but often comes with a price. This is, I believe, the common recipe for a Miyasaki anime. But I cannot get enough of it! This one is especially moving, thanks to A wonderful story in an amazingly complex universe where magic is everywhere but often comes with a price. This is, I believe, the common recipe for a Miyasaki anime. But I cannot get enough of it! This one is especially moving, thanks to its characters and the feeling of a childhood summer you wished had never ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantR.Jan 27, 2009
This film is amazing. Definately my favourite. I do not understand how people can write reviews here that say it has terrible animation because quite frankly this is the best written and animated Japanese film out there. It has stunning This film is amazing. Definately my favourite. I do not understand how people can write reviews here that say it has terrible animation because quite frankly this is the best written and animated Japanese film out there. It has stunning locations which insite wonder and fasination and has amazing and fantastical characters and creatures which amuse and entertain the audience. The English voice acting is superbly done and matches the Japanese-made animation incredibly well. The story can be slightly confusing at first but what you have to remember is that this film was made by Japanese for a Japanese audience so us obnoxious Westeners are just going to have to accept that it is a different culture with different myths and the story is built around those. This film is bloody amazing and should not be missed by anyone. Studio Ghibli's best film ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LoganRMar 6, 2009
This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect movie that everybody much watch! Another great from Hayao Miyazaki!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Aug 19, 2009
One of those few animated movies that just bring out the imagination in us and take along with it on a winding and enchanting journey with sweeping music and lovable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.ToadJan 30, 2010
I really can't give it less than a ten.... one of the most enchanting films I've ever seen. Now first things first, if you are the kind of person that absolutely needs a coherent plot, then you might not digest the film easily. I I really can't give it less than a ten.... one of the most enchanting films I've ever seen. Now first things first, if you are the kind of person that absolutely needs a coherent plot, then you might not digest the film easily. I have to admit, on a lot of films I tend to get fustrated too if things don't make sense. However Spirited Away has such catchy visuals and an AMAZING soundtrack you feel completely absorbed. If you want to get enchanted by something else than disney, watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Feb 4, 2010
Amazing, simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyT.May 8, 2003
This movie is a phenomenon. The animation is so beautiful that one can hardly describe it in words. Some of the characters may seem strange, but that's what makes the story so enchanting. I highly enjoyed it and could have given it a This movie is a phenomenon. The animation is so beautiful that one can hardly describe it in words. Some of the characters may seem strange, but that's what makes the story so enchanting. I highly enjoyed it and could have given it a rating of a hundred billion if I could. Japanese anime has never let me down. Each background scene is so gorgeous that it puts the dull real world in shame. I don't feel that the movie is at all forced-up at all. The characters are very natural (Chihiro and Haku are so cute!), and there are a lot of attention to the details (e.g. the times when Chihiro trips). If you hate this film, it just shows much about your close-mindedness, doesn't it? (Well, maybe I'm being a bit too stereotypical) Anyone who has a young heart and who is full of imagination would appreciate this work greatly. I was simply mesmerized by the movie. (Bring a box of tissue paper when you watch this movie.. It can get quite emotional at times.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StarV.Apr 22, 2004
There is no other way to describe this movie but GREAT!!! WOW might work but great is the only way to describe this great movie!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EmilyW.Sep 27, 2005
This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these opinions of other people around the world who also share my view on the film. My family think that because This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these opinions of other people around the world who also share my view on the film. My family think that because it is an animated film then it will be immature and just for children, when really it can be just as enjoyable for adults to watch, if some of them weren't so prejudiced all the time. (i'm not trying to affend anyone, but if i have i'm sorry). For an animated film, the wold and the characters where so complex, that you don't normally get in animated films like Disney for example. Some of the things that chihiro went through and the things and type of people she encountered i felt i could relate to, so that in a way made be feel more moved by the story. It is truly a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The story was beautilful and the world in which chihiro came across was so vast and imaginative, i was completely blown away. The music was perfect along with the casting of actors!!! SUPERB!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KHNov 3, 2006
I don't know how this film can denied from any list of the greatest movies ever. You know you have a real treasure when an anime can take home an Oscar for best picture! (However, I am fully aware that a film winning an Oscar means I don't know how this film can denied from any list of the greatest movies ever. You know you have a real treasure when an anime can take home an Oscar for best picture! (However, I am fully aware that a film winning an Oscar means about nothing, except the actors get paid more.) This movie is so imaginative and out there. Someone who gave it a bad review wrote that no one commented on the themes, but I was going to comment on them before I read them: You shouldn't be greedy is one of them. You also really take something from the ending because the heroine succeeds by growing and using what she's learned - no fancy ending battle! Watch the movie, you'll like it if you have any heart and a well-sized imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelD>Jan 2, 2006
I dont see how anybody can hate this film its awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KelleyG.Feb 3, 2006
I thought this was oine of the most heartfelt, enchanting movies i have ever seen. Never before has an animated movie captured my heart this way. this is one of my all time favorite movies EVER. I heard that there will be no sequels, and i I thought this was oine of the most heartfelt, enchanting movies i have ever seen. Never before has an animated movie captured my heart this way. this is one of my all time favorite movies EVER. I heard that there will be no sequels, and i dont know whether to be happy or sad, many times sequels are dumb and pointless, and couldnt hold a candle to the original and end up making me think less of the original, but ever time i watch Spirited Away i just want to see the connection and love between Chihiro and Haku grow. However all-in-all i LOVED this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlyssaD.Feb 5, 2006
this movie is the best no matter how many times i see it i cry it was the best. i mean there should there be a sequel taking haku in the human world which chihiri is a high scholler and a new guy transfer to her school which should be haku this movie is the best no matter how many times i see it i cry it was the best. i mean there should there be a sequel taking haku in the human world which chihiri is a high scholler and a new guy transfer to her school which should be haku since it's been so long that they haven't seen each other but only haku recognizes her he must then find a way to make here remember and while things are happening bad things happen like chihiro's boyfriend is a monster trying to get haku out of her system well thats what i think but it should definetly have a sequel no matter what. this is the greatest movie of all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvanMar 24, 2006
Best animated movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlikaW.Apr 26, 2006
This movie is till to this day the best example of Fantasy and Reality combined. True, the movie is pointed toward children, but the essence of Miyazaki's work is what is to be acknowledged. Also, if your saying thats it's bad This movie is till to this day the best example of Fantasy and Reality combined. True, the movie is pointed toward children, but the essence of Miyazaki's work is what is to be acknowledged. Also, if your saying thats it's bad because the movie is too much of a child's story. Grow up, learn to think outside the box and appreciate what's really going on here. This is an anime of legendary proportion. A+ quality, without a doubt. End of story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachP.Aug 30, 2006
This film has everything an animated film should have: great voices (Suzanne Pleshette giving two very different characters two very different voices), cutting-edge animation (in a world of computer animation, its hand drawn beautifully), This film has everything an animated film should have: great voices (Suzanne Pleshette giving two very different characters two very different voices), cutting-edge animation (in a world of computer animation, its hand drawn beautifully), and best of all: an amazing, and innovative story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LornaH.Jan 18, 2007
It made me cry..... the way she's gone into a life changeing world and then leaves just like that. After she falls in love and everything. And then on top of all that Haku tells her not to look back. It makes me mad! I had to watch it It made me cry..... the way she's gone into a life changeing world and then leaves just like that. After she falls in love and everything. And then on top of all that Haku tells her not to look back. It makes me mad! I had to watch it over and over because it was just so amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NielsW.Dec 6, 2007
"Spirited Away" is one of the first animated films I have seen that really had some thing to say. The classic animation as we know it from Disney's films, have created a image of animated film as movies for children only. Although their "Spirited Away" is one of the first animated films I have seen that really had some thing to say. The classic animation as we know it from Disney's films, have created a image of animated film as movies for children only. Although their universes can be called seductive and fascinating especially for kids of young age, there isn't any challenge watching them. At least if you are an adult. Don't get me wrong, Disney have my deepest respect. Their are a great and fun to experience the basic human feelings like love and hate, good and evil. But at the same time they don't seem to be able to put anything else into the films. They always use stereotypes so one can't get confused about their intentions and they also idealize everything, all this for the children to enjoy. This have created the tendency of animation films as children's films. Miyazaki's film isn't like that. The little Chihiro is a typical girl of the modern age and like Alice in Wonderland she enters a parallel universe. Here she finds a world of long forgotten spirits and gods that sees the humans as dirty and as creatures not to be trusted. She has to go through several challenges and have to chose the right choices so she and her parents can come back to the "real" world. As observers we get a much more nuanced idea of who she really is and what emotions she has to deal with. This is just one of many examples where Miyazaki differs from the classic animation. Although there is more to think about it can still be watched by smaller children! (It can be quite scary, though) It is a Great film! Enjoy it. Niels Wee Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AiN.May 23, 2007
I thought this was a really good movie. At first I was like "I'm never gonna watch that" but then the commercials caught my eye and I was instantly spellbound. I really liked the artwork and attention to detail in this movie as well as I thought this was a really good movie. At first I was like "I'm never gonna watch that" but then the commercials caught my eye and I was instantly spellbound. I really liked the artwork and attention to detail in this movie as well as the playful and carefree plotline with learning experiences for the main character. ^_^ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GemmaM.May 24, 2007
This movieis one of myfavourites of all time. I must say, when I was about 10 I got a DVD with this on it, and was pretty dismissive of it. But after I sat down and watched it, I had to watch it over and over again. It's so beautiful This movieis one of myfavourites of all time. I must say, when I was about 10 I got a DVD with this on it, and was pretty dismissive of it. But after I sat down and watched it, I had to watch it over and over again. It's so beautiful and evocative in its nature of the story. It's a love story more than anything, and it is beautifully written and acted. The part of Chihiro is so in tune with a 10 year old it is unreal. The film is also about growing up and at the end of the film it seems that she has changed from a silly little girl to a very mature young person. She realises that she has to work in life. I do admit that some aspects could've been improved in the movie, but it is the most wonderful film that I have ever come across and it sold me completely on Japanese anime, especially Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki, who is the ultimate god of anime and one of the most beautiful and gifted directors of our time. 10 out of 10 definitely, go see it, it'll change you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigglesJul 12, 2007
Simply the best film I have ever seen, imbued with the sense of magic and awe a child feels on his first exploration of the garden. The celluloid equivalent of Okami.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarryP.Aug 22, 2007
This is a beautiful masterpiece. When i watched this for the first time i felt like i was a kid again, and it was kind of like my imagination had been put into this film. It's magical, it's quite funny, it's graphically This is a beautiful masterpiece. When i watched this for the first time i felt like i was a kid again, and it was kind of like my imagination had been put into this film. It's magical, it's quite funny, it's graphically beautiful and the storyline is intense and touching. The best cartoon-anime ever created, better than any Disney movie at least. Definitely in my top 10 movies of all time. Amazing Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PaoloPAug 26, 2007
Louis and Louis's Brother! You two are @55h0les! This is a respected movie in Japan and even in many parts of the world. You two probably did not have money to buy or rent or even download the movie. Fiick the two of you!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HunterHSep 5, 2007
This film is a complete masterpiece, combining gorgeous animation and a beautiful plot. It is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and it will always go down in my book as classical. To those who hated it, I have the utmost respect for This film is a complete masterpiece, combining gorgeous animation and a beautiful plot. It is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and it will always go down in my book as classical. To those who hated it, I have the utmost respect for your opinions, but you don't have to go and make up pathetic excuses like how it has a weak plot. Appreciate a masterpiece like a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ElisaS.Nov 9, 2008
A truly beautiful piece! The animation is flawless, the characters fascinating, and the story very touching. The artwork especially blew me away, as did Chihiro's maturation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NatalieK.Feb 16, 2008
Great film! I am very moved after watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanN.Mar 20, 2008
Incredible. It presents the world in a compact bathhouse with the good people that help thegirl and the bad that coexist peacefully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IxatA.May 11, 2008
Deeply moving. The characters are very likable, I find myself wanting more of No Face in years to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BettyK.Oct 5, 2009
Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible shame they seem to have to have everything pre-digested and spoon fed. How could anyone lack the ability to delight in Miyazaki's incredible sense of fantasy? Astounding....and not in a good way. This film is a total delight. It is intricate and marvelous, touching and intelligent. Miyazaki's lovely characters interact on the stage of his breathtaking landscapes with a little of the sinister, a touch of the bizarre, and a lot of the just plain fascinating. It's a delightful ride from beginning to end. No need to sweat any details, just enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristosMMar 18, 2009
Hayao Miyazaki is a genius!The diversity of the enchanted world he creates is astonishing!It's a fine example of virtuous,untamed fantasy and powerful stoty -telling,a genre defining masterpiece.Breath taking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyR.Jun 23, 2009
This is a masterpiece, a truly timeless epic, a well woven heart wrenching tale of love, trust, compassion, breathtaking animations and elegance. this a must watch for anyone who like serenity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thuyAug 18, 2009
I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in life n in magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelGJun 25, 2010
The most enchanting film I've ever seen. An emotionally, intellectually, and spiritually complex masterpiece that defies categorization.
6 of 8 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Enchanting and magnificent, but why can't I shake the feeling that this is a kids movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DelysidAug 29, 2005
Everything Miyazaki does has at least a touch of genius, but "Spirited Away" is his triumph -- pure brilliance on every level. Beautiful animation, compelling characters, set in a fantastic world as layered, convincing, and magical as "Lord Everything Miyazaki does has at least a touch of genius, but "Spirited Away" is his triumph -- pure brilliance on every level. Beautiful animation, compelling characters, set in a fantastic world as layered, convincing, and magical as "Lord of the Rings", but with a vastly different flavour. I know little about Japanese mythology, but I suspect there's a lot of it in this film, yet its appeal is universal and immediate. This is a film well worth buying the DVD for, as it will reward repeated viewings in a way few other films can match. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YaoXuJan 18, 2006
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmenDec 17, 2006
I do not have the gift of prose, but I do know that this was one of the best films I have ever seen. Animate or Non-Animated. It draws you in and takes you to another world, another realm, another universe. many movies claims to do that, I do not have the gift of prose, but I do know that this was one of the best films I have ever seen. Animate or Non-Animated. It draws you in and takes you to another world, another realm, another universe. many movies claims to do that, this one just does. Please see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AmyM.Mar 21, 2006
wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki doesn't believe in them. But over all this was one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shetaMar 23, 2006
My fav besides "Princess Monokoki."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AosS.Apr 26, 2006
The very best film animation.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EvangelineT.Jan 11, 2007
Studio Ghibly never ceases to amaze me with its wondrous animation and beautiful stories. Those who say that this plot is ridiculous or weak, they are wrong. It would only seem like that to those who truly have not embraced childhood and Studio Ghibly never ceases to amaze me with its wondrous animation and beautiful stories. Those who say that this plot is ridiculous or weak, they are wrong. It would only seem like that to those who truly have not embraced childhood and imagination, those who have grown up and are 'lost' in the adult world. How amazing it is that Miyazaki can relate so well to a 10-year-old. The animation and gestures and movements and dialogue even have subtly yet effectively captured Chihiro's liveliness and courageousness. Chihiro shows us how indepth and underestimated that children really are. Now, it's not to say that this movie does not have any faults. Sure, sometimes, its logic is a bit abnormal, but the abnormalcy isn't always bad. Fantasy is just like that, and it usually adds a touch of amusement or a touch up to the project itself. All in all, this is a movie that everyone is sure to remember, by its wonderful and relateable characters, by its amazing and breathtaking imagery and lastly, the one I will remember most, the message that Life is bittersweet, and you may have obstacles to overcome, but you mustn't be afraid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DrewJun 23, 2007
If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaS.Jul 17, 2007
I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with the help of Haku. I recommend this to anyone; no matter who you are, I believe there's a good chance that you'll like it. And to Louis H., who said that this movie is a Japanese version of Alice in Wonderland: With all due respect, the basis of this movie differs completely from Alice in Wonderland. Alice in Wonderland is a satirical view of Victorian England and it's many irrationalities from the point of view of a logical, unbiased observer, i.e. a child, Alice. Spirited Away deals with an average, somewhat spoiled 10-year-old child, Chihiro, who is forced to mature when faced with a slightly more traditional culture where she has to work to get what she needs, which in this case is her parents. So while at a glance, Spirited Away may look like an Alice in Wonderland rip-off, anyone who has actually taken the time to watch even five minutes Spirited Away and has read Alice in Wonderland can easily tell the difference, and I am truly sorry that you don't have the maturity or even the respect for a work as great as Alice in Wonderland or Spirited Away to try to find something slightly more fitting to compare this movie to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickTJul 27, 2007
Hey Louis and Louis's Brother, I find it funny that two kids with the IQ of a squirell have the nerve to criticize a movie that you are clearly too stupid to understand. Miyazaki is a master. If you don't appreciate Miyazaki, go Hey Louis and Louis's Brother, I find it funny that two kids with the IQ of a squirell have the nerve to criticize a movie that you are clearly too stupid to understand. Miyazaki is a master. If you don't appreciate Miyazaki, go watch some crap that you understand: Deuce Bigalow, License to Wed, Superbabies. Don't worry there are plenty of fart jokes to enjoy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariaL.Sep 25, 2007
I think is the best movie I have seen. It involves courage,magic and love all in one fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichCDec 26, 2008
The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense world-wide acclaim before Disney contracted to dub and distribute it in the US. Beautiful artwork, complex and engaging characters, and significance in the details. Those closed to the experience of traditional Japanese mythology/spiritualism may be uncomfortable, but the effort is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AimeeD.Jul 24, 2008
The best picture ever! it is about a new world inside our reality, crazy, allucinated and wonderful, the music is incredible. Is a must!l
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerW.Aug 11, 2008
Incredible picture animation very hard work went into this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaTDec 23, 2009
Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every character here is shown in a scale of gray, from the seemingly monstrous Yubaba to even the Slime Monster in the middle who turns out to be a gentle river spirit along with the seemingly gentle at first No-Face, emanating a strict sense of the importance of perception in ones life. I rate this highly as one of the best movies I have ever seen, totally worth its rating here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Aug 26, 2009
I can't even remember how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Nov 11, 2005
Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Nov 23, 2005
I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal with it. If you don't like themes like this then why were you watching it in the first place. Secondly, the characters have many layers in this film. They are complex and interesting, so it annoys me when people criticise them for not being black and white. Just because your small minds can't get over the fact that they aren't wholly good or evil doesn't mean they're bad! Zaniba was dangerous but you can be dangerous and kind, no one said she was evil. Yubaba was ruthless but she had a good heart underneath it all. This is a clever reflection on real people for noone is truly good or evil, everyone has a different side to them. For comments on the simplicity of the plot, I would like to remind you that it is essentially a kid's film just like Harry Potter is kid's book, yet critics and adults enjoy themselves with it never the less. As for the animation, it's stunning - the drawings, the graphics and the design all work together to produce a wonderful cartoon that should be enjoyed by all. Also, the little details that are so subtle you barely notice them make this movie watchable again and again, like Chihiros's hair band flashing magically at the end to signify that she will live happily ever after. If don't like anime, fantasy, complex characters or things that "freak you out" then don't watch it and save us all the trouble of listening to you go on about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateDec 26, 2005
This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say WHAT!!??!!??!! it's class, not only for kids but for adults like me too. i really can't find any other word to describe it other than class!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenL.Nov 22, 2008
Great movie with great animation. If i was younger when i first saw this is would be one of if not my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanP.Dec 29, 2008
It was an amazing movie that was completely creative and interesting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
Although I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although atAlthough I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although at times the storyline does not hold up to Toy Story etc. Not that this is really a problem, it is really the dream like quality of all the spirit beings that drives it through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
If "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into anotherIf "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into another world filled with imagination and absurdity following the misadventures of main character Sen as she tries to understand and adjust to the world around her, a perfect allegory for coming of age. It easily ranks among the best animated features of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fuschia-SwimSep 20, 2010
May I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' ofMay I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' of this gorgeously animated film, is that it is the adventure that is important. Chihiro comes out of it with independence, and a deeper insight into the responsibilities of the adult, preparing her for the difficult period of starting a new life, and what friendship + love mean. In essence, it is a 'coming of age' film of sorts. A preperation for adult life. A learning curve. You may notice that her first bouquet of flowers may be an little allusion to the coming future?

I for one, consider it among my Top 5. It is a pure and beautiful take on one girl's experience, that those from all walks of life can relate to. And even if you can't understand the inner-workings, can't you just enjoy a film? Sometimes you can't explain attachment. You can't choose who you love. Yadayada...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TubieNov 2, 2010
My second favorite animated movie of all time. I loved this movie so much i wished it was a series or that somehow it never ended. That is a good sign that you are watching something special. I can describe it all with one word: beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation isThis is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation is such that they are almost completely different genres. I found 'Spirited Away' very relaxing and meaningful. The animation was superb, the storyline was unique and heartfelt and the characters were a lot of fun, especially the superbly animated Yubaba. It will go down in history as one of the best animated films of all time, and was a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
defOct 12, 2010
This is so not as good as Totoro. Or Graveyard of the Fireflies. I have no idea why this movie is always rated higher than Totoro other than it was marketed heavily in the US and Totoro was not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
a Hayao Miyazaki version of Alice in Wonderland and its so incredible!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best animated movie from all times with an original fantasy nice story, a movie for all family , i recommend ''walking castle'' from same director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NKOASNov 17, 2012
The only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in theThe only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in the states by Disney (because it was better than any animated film they'd put out in a while), Spirited Away proved to be a beautiful film for any age, without even being in 3-D. Who woulda thought? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
When I put Spirited Away into my DVD player it was already facing a tough critic as I hate Japanese Animation, but for the most part it won me over. That isn't to say I loved it, as I found the dialogue rather infantile in parts and at timesWhen I put Spirited Away into my DVD player it was already facing a tough critic as I hate Japanese Animation, but for the most part it won me over. That isn't to say I loved it, as I found the dialogue rather infantile in parts and at times the movie became to sappy, but overall the animation and Alice in Wonderland feel offers a lot for the palate and will in turn offer viewers an exciting display in Japanese Animation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
iusaneimeFeb 20, 2011
Unbelievable movie. The artwork was by far the most beautiful I've ever seen. The story is heart-warming and tear-jerking. Incredibly imaginative and great character development. If you don't like this movie you should kill yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
steveexplodesJan 12, 2014
Unbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showingUnbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showing little vignette-like moments that pace unbelievably well. Aside from one little nitpick that is dwarfed by the rest of the movie, this is my favorite film of all time. The only negative is that it has made every movie after it a slight disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews