Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,232
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JaredA.Apr 26, 2010
This is the movie to watch. Awesome story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickMay 17, 2007
Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not Louis' brother, first off, you can't criticize acting in a CARTOON. Second, the plot was creative and beat typical plots of today. Third, I offer my condolences for your inability to give a "-100,000,000" rating, but we're not ALL that stupid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KrisS.Mar 23, 2008
The most wonderful animated film I've watch in 30 years, and one of the greatest movies period. Incredibly moving, wildly imaginative, for kids and adults alike.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MichaelAAug 21, 2009
Spirited Away isn't usual, but that's why it's amazing, vivid animation, endearing characters, great story & music, it's simply perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
joehJan 8, 2010
It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically It is more than just a film, it is a canvas of cinematography that boasts passion in every frame. I cannot describe in words how wonderful this movie is, all I can say is the train scene alone is one of the most atmospheric and asthetically pleasing moments I have ever seen, both real or imagined. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LaughingOutLoudJun 3, 2010
@Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? @Levente S ""Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone?"" I loved how you try to rationalize a movie about imagination, mythology, and a different world. and i don't see why there must be deceit, that's the problem with the world...people like you who have built in "feed me plot, feed me deceit, feed me treachery?" Why cant the world of a animation be filled with fairy tales and good creatures who are simply misunderstood? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JamieSOct 3, 2005
I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than I saw the first fifteen minutes of this movie in Chinese and was totally spellbound. I then refused to watch the rest until I could find it in English - it took me one year. It's the best animated film I have ever seen, better than Fantasia 1 and 2 or Allegro non Troppo. The music is haunting and evocative. The graphics are colorful and beautiful and fascinating. (Wait until you see the transformations of people into animals and vice-versa, then you'll see how an animation can be fascinating). The story and characters are imaginative and sympathetic. The whole thing is incredibly imaginative and well done, for example Spider Grandfather was brilliant and the witch when her fingers started to creep up the side of Chiharo's body like a spider crawling slowly up a piece of meat ... creepy, spooky, chilling, and wow what a way to set a mood , intimate motivaton, and generate tension ... see this and understand why japanimation is the best in the world. "Spirited Away" was how I felt too while I was watching it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JunK.Sep 6, 2005
I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start I loved this movie!!! I could relate to Chihiro so much. I have to admit, she was abit annoying in the beginning, but she got better as the movie went on. I'm not sure if Miyazaki will make a sequel, but he has plenty of places to start (ex. "Will we meet again?" " i'm sure we will." "Promise?" "Promise."). Well, you have to see this movie if you haven't yet. HAKU IS SOOOO SEXY!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
C.D.Feb 6, 2006
What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as What a movie. A true visual feast, a journey to another world. Every little detail is in its perfect place, from the waves sloshing over No-Face -- you can almost feel them moving you -- to the girl's realistic, childlike frustration as she tries to stomp the evil slug, to the little creatures reenacting the heroic moment a few minutes later. I can't believe no one else here saw any similarities to Never Ending Story, though. World of weirdness to which a young hero/heroine escape, a rideable furry dragon, etc. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JHighFeb 8, 2006
When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure When I discovered this was a Disney film, I was not surprised. It Envelopes the viewer's senses, making even this 30 yead old tough guy feel like a kid again. When my daighter gets to the age she'll understand it, I will make sure she sees this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, What Spirited Away lacks in continuity, it makes up for in ingenuity. Miyazaki's imagination is hard to top, and the visuals are often beautiful. The story wanders about in much the same fashion that the main character wanders about, and in so doing the film sometimes crosses over from fantasy to phantasmagoria. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JH.Jan 1, 2008
The most imaginative film to come from Miyazaki. This film was an absolute joy to watch.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JohnnySApr 14, 2008
One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one One of the greatest animated movie movies I've ever seen! This isn't just a animation it has substance and character, fully captivating from the first scene to the last. "Spirited Away" was an absolute joy to watch, it's one of the classics! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Nov 8, 2009
all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because all though the plot may confuse the small brained people of our times I did see the greatness in it and I do understand the movie I do agree around the middle I started wondering why but then I remembered a movie is a different world because if movie had to be real we would find no entertainment once so ever!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanelRAug 10, 2009
Spirited away is simply wonderful. Its enchanted and astonishing. And I really hope Hayao Miyazaki will decide to make a sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EusebioP.Sep 7, 2009
Marvelous script (Fantasy, friendship, tenderness and some horror), stunning animation and the best music score. Disney is at millions light years of this masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VelimirR.Feb 8, 2010
Indeed a real masterpiece!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TaylorHMay 27, 2010
This is one of the best films I have ever seen AND it is the best animated film I have ever seen. It appears to be for children, but the themes of the story are much deeper and darker than most children will get. Well worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertSJun 19, 2010
One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own One of the best films I've ever seen. By far the best animated film. Infact, I'd go as far to call this my favorite film of all time. This goes with saying I'm a huge fan of film making in general, and hope to start my own studio one day with several collaborators that are forming ideas with me. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
SusanJ.Nov 2, 2005
Spirted Away is an emotional and touching story of a young girl in a search for her family. It's amazing how an aminated feature could connect so much to all age groups. One of the best aminated movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.Feb 1, 2006
This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing This is indisputably one of the best animated features ever to grace any screen. In my own fantasy land--if the oscars were an indication of anything--films like this would be recognized for being glaring statements on the process of growing up, and the childlike curiosity that is within us all. We can see that with Chihiro's parents, too, and it becomes the irony of the story that Chihiro takes charge and becomes an adult herself, all within the confines of one film. This is Miyazaki's masterpiece. If ever he achieves a feat higher, then I'll wet my pants, and that's a promise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SangheeJ.Apr 9, 2006
a beautiful film and original plot. I only saw the dubbed version, but it captured my heart. there was an original plot and an ordinary herione. Its a beautiful movie and I suggest any one of any age to look into it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TheElusivePossomMay 9, 2006
[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the[**SPOILERS**] This film I found hard to rate. Let me clear up any misconceptions perhaps generated by that comment: make no mistake, this is a masterpiece. From the moment we follow Chihiro's lazy gaze at the passing townscape from the backseat of the family saloon, we are drawn into another world. This world is sustained by first rate animé-tion and truly breath-taking artwork, culminating in a visual feast. The characters we meet are typically bizarre and wonderfully imaginative without straying too far into an intangible dreamland; you have to remember, we're viewing a cartoon caricature of Japanese culture here, and this is beautifully reflected in the (often grotesque) spirits of the world. The plot is imaginative, lacking cliché and laced with tension, and we actually care about the characters thanks to excellent voice-acting. Stand-out examples of this are found in the characters of Lin and Haku, who are multi-dimensional and emotive. This really is the kind of film that would appeal to anyone, though it requires a perhaps more mature mind to appreciate the effort behind it. So where does it fall short? Well, it is successful in pretty much every aspect: we immediately feel comfortable in adapting to this new and visually overwhelming world, and decide that we would happily spend 3 hours watching Chihiro explore it. Unfortunately, we only just get past two. It's the PACING of this movie that makes us feel like we are facing a framed work of art, but are told we can only stare at the middle section of it. The film's entrance is a lulling experience (Chihiro and her family take a good 15 minutes just to discover the spirit plane, and remember, that's about 1/8th of the movie already). The ending, contrary to this, is inexplicably and unfortunately rushed: *SPOILERS* By the time our heroine is given train tickets to see Zeniba, she has amassed a cute collection of comrades to join her, and so we expect another hour or so of narrow escapes from dangerous situations while they realise how important they are to each other, and the fuzzy Disney allegory is complete; after all, this is meant to be an adventure. However, the train journey and the trip through the swamp are ENTIRELY uneventful. On reaching Zeniba, the troupe enjoy tea together (and as a pointless sideline, No-Face decides to stay with Zenoba to help her) and then Haku arrives, providing the remaining "adventurers" an equally uneventful trip home. This is, of course, until Chihiro randomly remembers Haku's name and breaks the spell binding him to work for the repulsive Obaba. The plot now flies along faster than the viewer feels confortable with, and the "final test" promised by Obaba turns out to be one question, which Chihiro immediately answers, though her method is never explained. So all is well, Chihiro hurredly rejoins her parents, who of course don't remember a thing of the spirit world, and the movie aruptly ends on a "I-should-be-ok-for-the-first-day-of-school-as-I've-just-survived-the-most-magical-journey-ever" dynamic. *SPOILERS END* This disappointingly mellow and rushed ending marrs what is otherwise a masterpiece. Thus, it falls short of a respectable 9, but to give it a 7 (a grade I usually reserve for mindless but enjoyable action flicks) would undervalue its achievement. An 8 it is then. I would recommend seeing this beautiful film, but ask if you don't mind leaving wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YashiraM.Jul 27, 2006
I love this move! I saw it once and I fell in love with it! I actually told my mom to buy it for me and she is looking for it every where.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JTJul 20, 2006
Loved it. Best animated movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
Fantastic, watch it once properly, then again to laugh at how funny it is... you should watch the other gibli ones too... in my opinion this wasn't the best one, they were all supreme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanS.Jan 1, 2007
An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I An interesting story. I am a big anime fan, but when this movie came out in cinemas I took one look at it and thought... "No way will I watch that". I took it out on DVD after hearing it was actually a pretty good success and I must say I was impressed. I myself have watched "Princess Mononoke" and many other anime series'. I found the plot in this movie intruiging as well as uncomplicated and the characters rather easy to relate to (no I'm not 10, but I still feel they are more like 'us' as people). I would have to agree with some that there are certain aspects of the film that could be better and explained in more detail, for example: No-face's apparent mood swings and everybody's belief that Zeniba is (or was) evil when she obviously proved not to be. I do not think it is fair to compare this movie to one of Miyazaki's other films, "Princess Mononoke". The two films are (in essence) very different and are not meant to relate to each other. "Spirited Away" is a fantasy story that shows how a little 10-year old girl can have the courage to overcome her own fears and the greatest of obstacles, while still managing to find some semblance of love in a twisted and unfamiliar world. Rating 9 and a half to 10! Over-all a great story with very good animation. Enchanting, captivating, imaginative and true to the audience. I give it two thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked first grade and can't tell the simple plot of a movie or you fell asleep during the movie and obviously didn't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ECAug 5, 2007
This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside This is a magnificent movie. It was the first anime movie i had ever watched and I was completely hooked. To those who do not understand the hidden meanings behind this film: It is not difficult to understand, you must simply think outside the box. It's like snow white, you can call it a stupid movie, with not much of a plot, but when you think about it, the meaning behind it all is very important (which I hope you will someday understand). Anyways, Spirited Away was an excellent movie, but as someone hs previously mentioned, the ending was too rushed. I had expected a longer adventure to Granny's house, or at least a peek to the later years, where one would expect Chihiro to be reunited with Haku. Basically this caused a great flaw in this movie. However, I still recommend it to anyone who hasn't watched it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jamieo.Sep 30, 2007
I'm almost sorry I've watched it because I'll never get to watch it for the first time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful