Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1386 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,278
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NatalieK.Feb 16, 2008
Great film! I am very moved after watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanN.Mar 20, 2008
Incredible. It presents the world in a compact bathhouse with the good people that help thegirl and the bad that coexist peacefully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IxatA.May 11, 2008
Deeply moving. The characters are very likable, I find myself wanting more of No Face in years to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BettyK.Oct 5, 2009
Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible shame they seem to have to have everything pre-digested and spoon fed. How could anyone lack the ability to delight in Miyazaki's incredible sense of fantasy? Astounding....and not in a good way. This film is a total delight. It is intricate and marvelous, touching and intelligent. Miyazaki's lovely characters interact on the stage of his breathtaking landscapes with a little of the sinister, a touch of the bizarre, and a lot of the just plain fascinating. It's a delightful ride from beginning to end. No need to sweat any details, just enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristosMMar 18, 2009
Hayao Miyazaki is a genius!The diversity of the enchanted world he creates is astonishing!It's a fine example of virtuous,untamed fantasy and powerful stoty -telling,a genre defining masterpiece.Breath taking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyR.Jun 23, 2009
This is a masterpiece, a truly timeless epic, a well woven heart wrenching tale of love, trust, compassion, breathtaking animations and elegance. this a must watch for anyone who like serenity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thuyAug 18, 2009
I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in life n in magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Enchanting and magnificent, but why can't I shake the feeling that this is a kids movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaoXuJan 18, 2006
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyM.Mar 21, 2006
wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki doesn't believe in them. But over all this was one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shetaMar 23, 2006
My fav besides "Princess Monokoki."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewJun 23, 2007
If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaS.Jul 17, 2007
I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with the help of Haku. I recommend this to anyone; no matter who you are, I believe there's a good chance that you'll like it. And to Louis H., who said that this movie is a Japanese version of Alice in Wonderland: With all due respect, the basis of this movie differs completely from Alice in Wonderland. Alice in Wonderland is a satirical view of Victorian England and it's many irrationalities from the point of view of a logical, unbiased observer, i.e. a child, Alice. Spirited Away deals with an average, somewhat spoiled 10-year-old child, Chihiro, who is forced to mature when faced with a slightly more traditional culture where she has to work to get what she needs, which in this case is her parents. So while at a glance, Spirited Away may look like an Alice in Wonderland rip-off, anyone who has actually taken the time to watch even five minutes Spirited Away and has read Alice in Wonderland can easily tell the difference, and I am truly sorry that you don't have the maturity or even the respect for a work as great as Alice in Wonderland or Spirited Away to try to find something slightly more fitting to compare this movie to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaL.Sep 25, 2007
I think is the best movie I have seen. It involves courage,magic and love all in one fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichCDec 26, 2008
The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense world-wide acclaim before Disney contracted to dub and distribute it in the US. Beautiful artwork, complex and engaging characters, and significance in the details. Those closed to the experience of traditional Japanese mythology/spiritualism may be uncomfortable, but the effort is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AimeeD.Jul 24, 2008
The best picture ever! it is about a new world inside our reality, crazy, allucinated and wonderful, the music is incredible. Is a must!l
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerW.Aug 11, 2008
Incredible picture animation very hard work went into this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaTDec 23, 2009
Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every character here is shown in a scale of gray, from the seemingly monstrous Yubaba to even the Slime Monster in the middle who turns out to be a gentle river spirit along with the seemingly gentle at first No-Face, emanating a strict sense of the importance of perception in ones life. I rate this highly as one of the best movies I have ever seen, totally worth its rating here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Aug 26, 2009
I can't even remember how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Nov 11, 2005
Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Nov 23, 2005
I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal with it. If you don't like themes like this then why were you watching it in the first place. Secondly, the characters have many layers in this film. They are complex and interesting, so it annoys me when people criticise them for not being black and white. Just because your small minds can't get over the fact that they aren't wholly good or evil doesn't mean they're bad! Zaniba was dangerous but you can be dangerous and kind, no one said she was evil. Yubaba was ruthless but she had a good heart underneath it all. This is a clever reflection on real people for noone is truly good or evil, everyone has a different side to them. For comments on the simplicity of the plot, I would like to remind you that it is essentially a kid's film just like Harry Potter is kid's book, yet critics and adults enjoy themselves with it never the less. As for the animation, it's stunning - the drawings, the graphics and the design all work together to produce a wonderful cartoon that should be enjoyed by all. Also, the little details that are so subtle you barely notice them make this movie watchable again and again, like Chihiros's hair band flashing magically at the end to signify that she will live happily ever after. If don't like anime, fantasy, complex characters or things that "freak you out" then don't watch it and save us all the trouble of listening to you go on about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateDec 26, 2005
This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say WHAT!!??!!??!! it's class, not only for kids but for adults like me too. i really can't find any other word to describe it other than class!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenL.Nov 22, 2008
Great movie with great animation. If i was younger when i first saw this is would be one of if not my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanP.Dec 29, 2008
It was an amazing movie that was completely creative and interesting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
Although I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although atAlthough I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although at times the storyline does not hold up to Toy Story etc. Not that this is really a problem, it is really the dream like quality of all the spirit beings that drives it through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
If "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into anotherIf "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into another world filled with imagination and absurdity following the misadventures of main character Sen as she tries to understand and adjust to the world around her, a perfect allegory for coming of age. It easily ranks among the best animated features of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fuschia-SwimSep 20, 2010
May I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' ofMay I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' of this gorgeously animated film, is that it is the adventure that is important. Chihiro comes out of it with independence, and a deeper insight into the responsibilities of the adult, preparing her for the difficult period of starting a new life, and what friendship + love mean. In essence, it is a 'coming of age' film of sorts. A preperation for adult life. A learning curve. You may notice that her first bouquet of flowers may be an little allusion to the coming future?

I for one, consider it among my Top 5. It is a pure and beautiful take on one girl's experience, that those from all walks of life can relate to. And even if you can't understand the inner-workings, can't you just enjoy a film? Sometimes you can't explain attachment. You can't choose who you love. Yadayada...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation isThis is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation is such that they are almost completely different genres. I found 'Spirited Away' very relaxing and meaningful. The animation was superb, the storyline was unique and heartfelt and the characters were a lot of fun, especially the superbly animated Yubaba. It will go down in history as one of the best animated films of all time, and was a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best animated movie from all times with an original fantasy nice story, a movie for all family , i recommend ''walking castle'' from same director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NKOASNov 17, 2012
The only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in theThe only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in the states by Disney (because it was better than any animated film they'd put out in a while), Spirited Away proved to be a beautiful film for any age, without even being in 3-D. Who woulda thought? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews