Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: From the legendary director Hayao Miyazaki ("Princess Mononoke"), this film follows the fanciful adventures of a ten-year-old girl named Chihiro, who discovers a secret world when she and her family get lost and venture through a hillside tunnel. (Walt Disney Studios)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    Miyazaki is the Pied Piper -- see Spirited Away and you'll follow him anywhere.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    100
    Serenely stunning.
  3. It is plainly, though not simply, a masterpiece from an acknowledged master of contemporary animation, and a wonderfully welcoming work of art that's as funny and entertaining as it is brilliant, beautiful and deep.
  4. Wondrously strange and just plain wonderful.
  5. 90
    A very nutty fruitcake, Spirited Away is characterized by wonderfully detailed animation, packed with incident and populated by all manner of comic creatures.
  6. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  7. Has the power to transport us to a different place. The spark of special anime magic here is unmistakable and hard to resist.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 453
  1. Drew
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
  2. SusanJ.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Spirted Away is an emotional and touching story of a young girl in a search for her family. It's amazing how an aminated feature could Spirted Away is an emotional and touching story of a young girl in a search for her family. It's amazing how an aminated feature could connect so much to all age groups. One of the best aminated movies! Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  4. EusebioP.
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    Marvelous script (Fantasy, friendship, tenderness and some horror), stunning animation and the best music score. Disney is at millions light Marvelous script (Fantasy, friendship, tenderness and some horror), stunning animation and the best music score. Disney is at millions light years of this masterpiece. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Simply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fillsSimply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fills you with awe. The journey is filled with wise quotes and characters that you care about. The music was fantastic, the animation was superb, the story line, out of this world. Expand
  6. LoganR
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect movie that everybody much watch! Another great from Hayao Miyazaki! Expand
  7. Louis'sbrother
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand

See all 453 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.