Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: A young girl, Chihiro, becomes trapped in a strange new world of spirits. When her parents undergo a mysterious transformation, she must call upon the courage she never knew she had to free herself and return her family to the outside world. [Walt Disney Studios]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    A visual masterpiece about a scared little girl's breathtaking journey of self-discovery. All of the fun is getting there.
  2. 100
    Does full honor to Miyazaki’s teeming and often unsettling landscape, and to the conflicted complexity of his characters: Not a single frame was cut, and the voice casting and performances are uniformly excellent.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    Director Hayao Miyazaki treats his audience as imaginative and intelligent human beings, rather than catering to kids with rote displays of silliness, stunts and scares.
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    100
    Serenely stunning.
  5. 90
    The towering, lost dreaminess at the heart of the film is an unmistakable obsession of this director.
  6. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  7. A lovely, evocative tour de force. So why does it seem we should be enjoying it more?

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 457
  1. AndieV.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. this is the kind of movie you can watch over and over for the rest of your life, then share it with your children, and your grandchildren. for those of you who gave it a zero, you must be really stupid or really cruel. either you flunked first grade and can't tell the simple plot of a movie or you fell asleep during the movie and obviously didn't get it. Expand
  2. JohnG.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  4. BettyK.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible shame they seem to have to have everything pre-digested and spoon fed. How could anyone lack the ability to delight in Miyazaki's incredible sense of fantasy? Astounding....and not in a good way. This film is a total delight. It is intricate and marvelous, touching and intelligent. Miyazaki's lovely characters interact on the stage of his breathtaking landscapes with a little of the sinister, a touch of the bizarre, and a lot of the just plain fascinating. It's a delightful ride from beginning to end. No need to sweat any details, just enjoy. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    I love this movie, it is classic and brilliant, I remember watching it all the time as a kid. one of the best movies ever created and willI love this movie, it is classic and brilliant, I remember watching it all the time as a kid. one of the best movies ever created and will always be so. Expand
  6. LoganR
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect movie that everybody much watch! Another great from Hayao Miyazaki! Expand
  7. Louis'sbrother
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand

See all 457 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.