Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: A young girl, Chihiro, becomes trapped in a strange new world of spirits. When her parents undergo a mysterious transformation, she must call upon the courage she never knew she had to free herself and return her family to the outside world. [Walt Disney Studios]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    A visual masterpiece about a scared little girl's breathtaking journey of self-discovery. All of the fun is getting there.
  2. 100
    Does full honor to Miyazaki’s teeming and often unsettling landscape, and to the conflicted complexity of his characters: Not a single frame was cut, and the voice casting and performances are uniformly excellent.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    Director Hayao Miyazaki treats his audience as imaginative and intelligent human beings, rather than catering to kids with rote displays of silliness, stunts and scares.
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    100
    Serenely stunning.
  5. 90
    The towering, lost dreaminess at the heart of the film is an unmistakable obsession of this director.
  6. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  7. A lovely, evocative tour de force. So why does it seem we should be enjoying it more?

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 459
  1. Drew
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
  2. EmilyW.
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these This is my favourite animated film of all time, the Lion King will have to move to 2nd Place (sorry!) It's nice to read all these opinions of other people around the world who also share my view on the film. My family think that because it is an animated film then it will be immature and just for children, when really it can be just as enjoyable for adults to watch, if some of them weren't so prejudiced all the time. (i'm not trying to affend anyone, but if i have i'm sorry). For an animated film, the wold and the characters where so complex, that you don't normally get in animated films like Disney for example. Some of the things that chihiro went through and the things and type of people she encountered i felt i could relate to, so that in a way made be feel more moved by the story. It is truly a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The story was beautilful and the world in which chihiro came across was so vast and imaginative, i was completely blown away. The music was perfect along with the casting of actors!!! SUPERB!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  4. BettyK.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible shame they seem to have to have everything pre-digested and spoon fed. How could anyone lack the ability to delight in Miyazaki's incredible sense of fantasy? Astounding....and not in a good way. This film is a total delight. It is intricate and marvelous, touching and intelligent. Miyazaki's lovely characters interact on the stage of his breathtaking landscapes with a little of the sinister, a touch of the bizarre, and a lot of the just plain fascinating. It's a delightful ride from beginning to end. No need to sweat any details, just enjoy. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    In case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, IIn case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, I bought it for me! I disagree with anyone who thinks of it as just a movie for children. From the beginning, I could see my daughter in the character of Chihiro (Sen) so vividly that it tore me apart to feel her terror and confusion. Then to see her coming to terms with her new environment and struggle to regain her identity gave me a sense of pride. I see all this in my daughter as she has grown up and learned to deal with life. I finally let her see the movie and it's one of her favorites as well. I agree with those who talk about how real the characters are and how the emotions and story line are portrayed in such a beautiful fashion. I think this movie is anything but predictable. Perhaps those who don't understand it may be too used to simplistic modern movie fare where everything is handed to you on a platter. Spirited Away can be approached on many levels which, to me, just made it all the more interesting and enjoyable. I'd have to say it is definitely one of my favorite movies. Expand
  6. ElisaS.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    A truly beautiful piece! The animation is flawless, the characters fascinating, and the story very touching. The artwork especially blew me A truly beautiful piece! The animation is flawless, the characters fascinating, and the story very touching. The artwork especially blew me away, as did Chihiro's maturation. Expand
  7. Louis'sbrother
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand

See all 459 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.