Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1068 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: From the legendary director Hayao Miyazaki ("Princess Mononoke"), this film follows the fanciful adventures of a ten-year-old girl named Chihiro, who discovers a secret world when she and her family get lost and venture through a hillside tunnel. (Walt Disney Studios)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    Miyazaki is the Pied Piper -- see Spirited Away and you'll follow him anywhere.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    100
    Serenely stunning.
  3. It is plainly, though not simply, a masterpiece from an acknowledged master of contemporary animation, and a wonderfully welcoming work of art that's as funny and entertaining as it is brilliant, beautiful and deep.
  4. Wondrously strange and just plain wonderful.
  5. 90
    A very nutty fruitcake, Spirited Away is characterized by wonderfully detailed animation, packed with incident and populated by all manner of comic creatures.
  6. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  7. Has the power to transport us to a different place. The spark of special anime magic here is unmistakable and hard to resist.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 435
  1. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    May I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' of this gorgeously animated film, is that it is the adventure that is important. Chihiro comes out of it with independence, and a deeper insight into the responsibilities of the adult, preparing her for the difficult period of starting a new life, and what friendship + love mean. In essence, it is a 'coming of age' film of sorts. A preperation for adult life. A learning curve. You may notice that her first bouquet of flowers may be an little allusion to the coming future?

    I for one, consider it among my Top 5. It is a pure and beautiful take on one girl's experience, that those from all walks of life can relate to. And even if you can't understand the inner-workings, can't you just enjoy a film? Sometimes you can't explain attachment. You can't choose who you love. Yadayada...
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    I have taken the time to read the reviews of users who gave it lower than a '3' and their views baffle me. Spirited Away is the best animated films I have seen since Lion King. It is one of my favorite films from a Studio that always creates a magical and wonderful experience. The animation is utterly sublime for 2001. The Characters are so complex yet simple that it makes them enthralling to both kids and adults. The voice acting is tremendous, both the Japanese and English dub. The story is beautifully unique, which is rare in a Studio Ghibli film which often re-tell classics. Whoever said it is like Alice in wonderland is wrong. The story is an eloquent and beautiful creation.

    There is so much I could say about this film, it is simply one of the greatest animated films to be made. Exactly why it is the only non-american film to win an Oscar for best animated picture. It shows that not only Disney and Pixar can animate, but Japan and Studio Ghibli have been doing it since before Pixar was born.
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    An easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful about this movie, from the story, to the music, rightdown to the artwork itself. I mean the attention to detail in this movie is quite amazing. Thanks to the wonderful and brilliant mind of Hayao Miyazaki, this beautiful art work of a film will forever hold a special place in my heart. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This is, without doubt, one of the best movies I have ever seen! Animation at its best. Spirited Away is another masterpiece from Hayao Miyazaki, and it does not disappoint. I've watched this movie countless times, and it's never boring. Tears, every time. Collapse
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    Spirited Away is a fantastic film that deserves all the high ratings and attention it gets. The story sucks you in, and the animation is excellent. Characters are vivid and well thought-out. It's easily one of the best animated films ever to grace the movie industry, let alone the planet. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I have ever seen. So bad it makes Cars 2 look good. It gave me nightmare cause it was so bad. I liked Ponyo but this was the worst of his career. Worst movie of the century. Expand

See all 435 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.