Spirited Away

Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: A young girl, Chihiro, becomes trapped in a strange new world of spirits. When her parents undergo a mysterious transformation, she must call upon the courage she never knew she had to free herself and return her family to the outside world. [Walt Disney Studios]

Where To Watch

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    A visual masterpiece about a scared little girl's breathtaking journey of self-discovery. All of the fun is getting there.
  2. 100
    Does full honor to Miyazaki’s teeming and often unsettling landscape, and to the conflicted complexity of his characters: Not a single frame was cut, and the voice casting and performances are uniformly excellent.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    Director Hayao Miyazaki treats his audience as imaginative and intelligent human beings, rather than catering to kids with rote displays of silliness, stunts and scares.
  4. 90
    The towering, lost dreaminess at the heart of the film is an unmistakable obsession of this director.
  5. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  6. A lovely, evocative tour de force. So why does it seem we should be enjoying it more?

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 474
  1. Drew
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  3. AdityaT
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every character here is shown in a scale of gray, from the seemingly monstrous Yubaba to even the Slime Monster in the middle who turns out to be a gentle river spirit along with the seemingly gentle at first No-Face, emanating a strict sense of the importance of perception in ones life. I rate this highly as one of the best movies I have ever seen, totally worth its rating here. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    Chihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at aChihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at a very young age, I was certainly a little confused by the plot, not being to comprehend it fully, as it is quite symbolic and profound. But, after re-watching it several years later, I can only say that this certainly is Miyazaki's best work.

    It offers everything - a brilliant story, that precise Miyazaki-specific animation we all love, a profoundly magical atmosphere, meaningful symbolism and a an unforgettable experience that will draw you into a magical world where you can enjoy the full potential of human imagination. Miyazaki truly is a master and 'Spirited Away' truly is a master-piece in every aspect.

    The topics it analyzes through it's symbolism are practically endless and you can find a series of interesting topics for you to analyze and debate. There is nothing you can actually complain about this magical world, an innocent adventure that defies boundaries in such a manner that could only be narrated through the story of a child. As it is the case with almost all of Miyazaki's characters, they are exceptionally likable and you will certainly grow fond of them as you watch the movie.

    To conclude, 'Spirited Away' is sure to amaze you in every aspect and it is certainly a movie that will both bring out that specific nostalgia and make you want to watch it again and again.
    Expand
  5. BrendenS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I can't think of another Anime, much less an animated movie that even comes close to this one. It is a modern day Alice in Wonderland, that has something for everyone. Adults and children, critics and average viewers, anime lovers and anime haters will find something in this movie that grabs them deep down and drags them along through the whole thing. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This is one of the great movies in Japan. I moved the state which Chihiro hang on working for getting her parents back. Good picture, goodThis is one of the great movies in Japan. I moved the state which Chihiro hang on working for getting her parents back. Good picture, good story... Everything is good. Expand
  7. May 30, 2016
    0
    An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
    Except the beautiful animation (like
    An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
    Except the beautiful animation (like with every Miyazaki film) there really is nothing here for me to like
    Expand

See all 474 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.