Spirited Away Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: From the legendary director Hayao Miyazaki ("Princess Mononoke"), this film follows the fanciful adventures of a ten-year-old girl named Chihiro, who discovers a secret world when she and her family get lost and venture through a hillside tunnel. (Walt Disney Studios)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    Miyazaki is the Pied Piper -- see Spirited Away and you'll follow him anywhere.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    100
    Serenely stunning.
  3. It is plainly, though not simply, a masterpiece from an acknowledged master of contemporary animation, and a wonderfully welcoming work of art that's as funny and entertaining as it is brilliant, beautiful and deep.
  4. Wondrously strange and just plain wonderful.
  5. 90
    A very nutty fruitcake, Spirited Away is characterized by wonderfully detailed animation, packed with incident and populated by all manner of comic creatures.
  6. It's a movie full of bewitching images and timeless fun and beauty.
  7. Has the power to transport us to a different place. The spark of special anime magic here is unmistakable and hard to resist.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 449
  1. Drew
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
  2. JohnG.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of Hayao Miyazaki . I have seen it over 7 times and I think it deserves a 10/10. All I can say is a epic movie it is great .
  4. NickR.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I can't even remember how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old.
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Spirited Away is just magical. In this magic fest, we fallow the story of Shihiro, a typical nagging 9 year old or so on her move to a new house, while her dad takes a wrong turn and end up lost in an abandoned amusement park, it is all up to Shihiro to save her family and get out after being sucked into a word where monsters live in a bathing house. If it wasn't for Coraline (2009), this would've been my favorite movie of all time. The movie is most obviously masterfully crafted, it is filled with magical color scheme, powerful characters and just overall this is one of the most strongest/epic/magical and unforgettable movies ever made, I just love this movie. Expand
  6. LoganR
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest movie ever! From a great plot, to excellent animation, to originality, to the awesome music, this movie is the perfect movie that everybody much watch! Another great from Hayao Miyazaki! Expand
  7. Louis'sbrother
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand

See all 449 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.