Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 31, 2008
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
7
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
MikeSFeb 17, 2009
Ok, this is good, very good in almost all respects, and yes effects are very good- even groundbreaking. But, uh, was Hershey's one of the main investors of this film? And are we all supposed to ignore the fact that this "blood" that Ok, this is good, very good in almost all respects, and yes effects are very good- even groundbreaking. But, uh, was Hershey's one of the main investors of this film? And are we all supposed to ignore the fact that this "blood" that they used was obviously chocolate syrup? It seems they did use some coloring in the syrup on the gas station window, but most of it was just plain chocolate. I get it, ok, it's a nod to the masters of horror, bach when they used black and white film, and it worked very good on B&W, but color film- it just doesn't work and it ruins the effect. Come on, am I the only one who is going to say anything about the brown blood? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Apr 25, 2009
I'm not giving this an average score for brown blood, although there was some present. this movie just wasn't that good. it wasn't bad either. although the monster was original (if you discount "the thing"), it didn't get I'm not giving this an average score for brown blood, although there was some present. this movie just wasn't that good. it wasn't bad either. although the monster was original (if you discount "the thing"), it didn't get the proper respect. it left me wanting more monster, as the choppy editing only allowed you to see flashes, bits, and pieces. i had great expectations from the same house (magnet) that brought out "let the right one in". Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisKApr 25, 2009
Pretty Decent Scary Movie, Not a bit cheezy and very original. Don't pass us this non mainstream movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHApr 5, 2009
Surprisingly suspenseful, the director skillfully keeps from going over the top. The dialogue is fresh and convincing, as is the acting. Good score. Fine special effects. Sometimes the camerawork is a bit annoying, but overall a great effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KPJul 22, 2009
This movie was excellent for the genre. I loved this one, period!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelGJul 17, 2009
of the recent horror movies to come out on dvd this year, this is really good horror film...amongst the vast sea of awful horror movies, this one stands out. its got a interesting "monster" , cool special effects (reminds people what you can of the recent horror movies to come out on dvd this year, this is really good horror film...amongst the vast sea of awful horror movies, this one stands out. its got a interesting "monster" , cool special effects (reminds people what you can actually accomplish without CGI) and characters relatable enough that you can care what happens to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyliadNov 13, 2011
Not spectacular at all but smart, simple original: a very interesting movie. All horror fans will apreciate, mainly for its very nice creatures. Great discovery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Feb 15, 2013
A badass flick right here. It definitely leaves the generic scary movies in the dust. Fantastic writing, fantastic plot, fantastic acting. The best scary movie I've seen coming from this generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lambofgod008Jul 23, 2012
I don't understand, with the plethora of cheesy, bad acted, horribly directed horror films that have come out recently, why films such as this do not get their deserved respect. Many complaints I have heard about this movie are pretty petty,I don't understand, with the plethora of cheesy, bad acted, horribly directed horror films that have come out recently, why films such as this do not get their deserved respect. Many complaints I have heard about this movie are pretty petty, considering the achievements the director and actors have made, with an obviously lower than blockbuster budget. I am a die-hard fan of old horror and sci-fi, and miss the days when directors could set a mood, a feeling of dread, without resorting to jump in your face scare tactics and relying on special effects to compensate for a sub-par plot and acting. Although this movie DOES have some jump in your face moments, and has the monster on display, quite a bit in my opinion, it also leaves much to the imagination, which can be a lot creepier in my opinion. It doesn't upset me at all that the monster is not just thrust in your face the entire movie. This director, and actors both did an excellent job of building their characters, and making me care for them, unlike so many other horror flicks. Give credit where credit is due, and learn to appreciate these little gems, when they do pop up. Definitely worth a watch if you're into a good horror flick, with surprisingly good acting to boot! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
oliver1hJun 25, 2013
"B" movie all the way, with a low budget. If you want to see a cheesy infection/zombie movie with rather bad acting, unbelievable characters, not much suspense: do watch this. If you want to watch a quality movie watch something else. I do no"B" movie all the way, with a low budget. If you want to see a cheesy infection/zombie movie with rather bad acting, unbelievable characters, not much suspense: do watch this. If you want to watch a quality movie watch something else. I do no understand the good reviews, some kind of double standard is applied to these low budget, indie-horrors, but this does not make it a good movie in reality. Honestly you will not see anything new here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeOct 16, 2016
The acting wasn't bad, the practical effects were well made and the story was interesting. Splinter may have some clich├ęs here and there, it may be a little bit too silly and it may be a little bit too predictable, it's still an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews