Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 20, 2017
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
4
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PenguinManJan 20, 2017
Most of the negative reviews I see about this movie aren't about the movie itself; one guy was lacking sleep and blamed the movie for falling asleep during it and left a review about the movie while they clearly wouldn't have seen the movieMost of the negative reviews I see about this movie aren't about the movie itself; one guy was lacking sleep and blamed the movie for falling asleep during it and left a review about the movie while they clearly wouldn't have seen the movie if he was sleeping?. Only see this movie if you enjoy thrillers with that little bit of mystery. Everything about this movie is deep, and don't expect to be told everything. This is what I love about the movie. The ending, some people didn't like because it felt 'unfinished' but I suggest not thinking to much into it, because the ending (no spoilers) is meant to leave you thinking about it; not everything needs to be shown to you. I think they did a very good job with character development, and my god, James McAvoy played the different people very well, so well that you could tell he was someone else with a simple facial movement. Again, a negative reviewer complained about how they say he has 23 personalities, and they didn't show all of them. I dont think the point of the movie was to show all of them, I dont think the movie would have been as interesting if they had James play every single personality. They had the ones they needed, and who knows, maybe they filmed more personalities, but having to many characters, as we all know, can make a movie feel like a mess. I love the small cast. It really is a small cast, but it feels like there were so much more people because of how well James played the different characters. I really want to stress that this movie is meant to get you thinking, and not going to tell you everything. There is deeper meanings within the movie that made me and my girlfriend cry. Give this movie a chance before thinking about boycotting. It isn't a bad 'view' on people with this disorder. I think they gave a lot of respect to those with the disorder actually. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJan 20, 2017
The movie doesn't end in the best possible way, but the mood and the set-up are superior to most everything he's done in recent years. McAvoy is amazing, as is the indelible Betty Buckley. Loved her in "8 is Enough" - can't believe she'sThe movie doesn't end in the best possible way, but the mood and the set-up are superior to most everything he's done in recent years. McAvoy is amazing, as is the indelible Betty Buckley. Loved her in "8 is Enough" - can't believe she's still kicking so much ass. Joy is also really good - her career seems to be off to an amazing start. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2017
After making numerous amount of failures, Split breaks the line and it's unusual for Shyamalan to make such a big returning point in movie careering from terrible movies to great movies. Forget the fact that this is horror bait, it's actuallyAfter making numerous amount of failures, Split breaks the line and it's unusual for Shyamalan to make such a big returning point in movie careering from terrible movies to great movies. Forget the fact that this is horror bait, it's actually a welcome back sign for M. Night Shyamalan. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
AxeTJan 20, 2017
Went to this red carpet gala last November at the world famous Chinese Theatre for AFI Fest. Despite the famous director and cast being present in the theatre I still wound up falling asleep! Well it was a late screening that night.Went to this red carpet gala last November at the world famous Chinese Theatre for AFI Fest. Despite the famous director and cast being present in the theatre I still wound up falling asleep! Well it was a late screening that night. However if a movie is good, really good, it will override any fatigue. "Ghost" did that for me at a late show in the summer of 1990 in Honolulu (not that this thing was made by same people). Was fall down exhausted, yet it was so good I stayed wide awake. This thing not only couldn't keep me awake, but sadly is yet another example of the further unraveling of one hit wonder genius writer-director M. Night. James McAvoy good an actor as he is really can't help this latest sham. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
9
TryASummersaultJan 20, 2017
4.5/5 M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN IS BACK IN HIS SIGNATURE STYLISH THRILLER FASHION! I know that M. Night lost his stride in the mid to late 2000's with some major failures, but he is definitely back in full stride as one of the most creative and4.5/5 M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN IS BACK IN HIS SIGNATURE STYLISH THRILLER FASHION! I know that M. Night lost his stride in the mid to late 2000's with some major failures, but he is definitely back in full stride as one of the most creative and clever thriller directors around. I can assure you that this is the best film he's put out since Signs imo. This is a drama thriller thats intertwined and wound within 2 character's personal mental struggles/battles/memories coming to the surface to the highest degree and intensity. It's as thoughtful as it is visceral and he captures what it's like to fight mental disorders almost perfectly through a myriad of different emotions and versions of one's self/selves. James McAvoy was absolutely stunning and versatile in his portrayals of several different personalities, and covered almost every angle of emotion he could in about 13 various intricate identities with immense variety abound. I'm willing to say that his acting was some of the best I've seen in years and he should be awarded for it. The tone and delivery of M Night's direction and writing was his classic brilliant twist style that harkens back to his glory days of the Sixth Sense/Unbreakable/Signs era in full effect. The twists will leave you flabbergasted and perplexed. Easily one of my favorite thrillers of all time and a must see. I know many people gave up on M Night, but I'm telling you his genius never left and this film proves it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
dissy182Jan 21, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I suppose if you're a big fan of the director (Shyamalan) you might find this movie entertaining. I am not. I found The Sixth Sense beyond my ability to believe and I have never had the patience to watch Unbreakable, which is sort of a pre-requisite to get all the details of this movie. The director seems to believe the way to scare us, is with sudden, loud noises, I however am not a puppy dog. It moves slowly and ponderously through most of the movie. It doesn't require a lot of intellect to detect what is going on. If you like comic book type movies or the slightly supernatural, you may enjoy more than I did. In fairness, there were several good pieces of acting in the film. This guy needs to watch Kubrick, The Shinning, to learn how direct. Kubrick - he ain't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gatts_77Jan 21, 2017
Lets start with the basic question, is it worth it? yes it is!, is not amazing, is not going to blow your head, but it is definitely a great thriller, i greatly appreciated that MNS dont try to force over your throat another "wait till theLets start with the basic question, is it worth it? yes it is!, is not amazing, is not going to blow your head, but it is definitely a great thriller, i greatly appreciated that MNS dont try to force over your throat another "wait till the end" over the top twist and rather build it consistently through the narrative of the movie, it feels much more of a mature movie than The Visit for example, and give McAvoy the Oscar already, what a performance!, could have been from good to great with a better story telling around Casey, felt like a wasted opportunitty Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Brent_MarchantJan 22, 2017
A positively awful movie and a sad cinematic commentary on the career of someone who was once one of Hollywood's shiny rising stars. Despite James McAvoy's admirable attempt at putting lipstick on this celluloid pig, as well as some allegedlyA positively awful movie and a sad cinematic commentary on the career of someone who was once one of Hollywood's shiny rising stars. Despite James McAvoy's admirable attempt at putting lipstick on this celluloid pig, as well as some allegedly lofty efforts at trying to elevate the tone of the narrative above its derivative, unsettling nature, there's nothing here to make the picture memorable, insightful or, at times, watchable. Keep those hard-earned dollars in your wallet. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
Rebecca31Jan 20, 2017
Starring James McAvoy as the terrifying Kevin with “23 distinct personalities” now I don’t know where M. Night Shyamalan learned to count but 23 personalities turns out to be about 9 personalities rotated on a loop. Don’t get me wrong, IStarring James McAvoy as the terrifying Kevin with “23 distinct personalities” now I don’t know where M. Night Shyamalan learned to count but 23 personalities turns out to be about 9 personalities rotated on a loop. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind that it’s only 9 sure that’s a lot for one person but don’t advertise 23 with a possible 24th, that’s false advertising and I don’t appreciate it. So one of McAvoy’s personalities abducts three girls and they’re determined to escape with the hope of using some of the “many” personalities to help them. Oh don’t worry if you find yourself confused because you’ll get a nice little explanation every 20 minutes as to exactly what is happening.
Let’s face the hard truth that Shyamalan is not a good film maker but rather one who distracts us with shocking twists and good actors (for the most part). And wow is McAvoy spectacular in this, the 6/10 is for his performance alone as he carries the entire movie. Recommended because despite its flaws I was entertained.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GameRateReviewJan 22, 2017
Wow!
What a great movie. In my opinion one of M. Nights best. The performances and direction of this movie are something to marvel at. Please go see this movie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Richard21Jan 21, 2017
This movie was absolutely amazing, it starts off slow, and gets really good towards the end. M. Night is back, and better than ever. The acting was great across the board, and overall, I really enjoyed this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
hakai124Jan 20, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is honestly the best film Shyamalon has made in years. It perfectly captures a blend of comedy, horror, and suspense with surprisingly good storytelling. There are some clunky lines and obvious exposition dumps at times though the film remains entertaining and engaging. There are definitely some shortcomings in the film such as "The Beast" actually being a thing and some bad CG being involved, the ending where it turns out it was all inspired by a zoo where the DID victim works, and the aforementioned exposition dumps/clunky lines. The good though is the lead's performances; McAvoy in particular is fantastic with switching between roles while being absolutely maniacal and Taylor-Joy does a great job as well considering her character's backstory and motivations. The biggest drawback on the movie though is the ambiguous ending as to what will happen as well as an awkward tie-in to Unbreakable which seemed odd and out of place to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RuslanDZEJan 22, 2017
I do not like Shyamalan. Really. I know his best movie is The Sixth Sense. And I was not really impress by that movie. But after I watched trailer for his latest flick "Split" I was intrigued. Firstly, because I like multiple identitiesI do not like Shyamalan. Really. I know his best movie is The Sixth Sense. And I was not really impress by that movie. But after I watched trailer for his latest flick "Split" I was intrigued. Firstly, because I like multiple identities topic. Secondly, James McAvoy is a great actor. Well, I was not disappointed by this movie. I liked Mcavoy acting as expected and I did not like acting of two teenage girls which were support actors. Movie feels weird at times. Is not scary movie but it makes you feel weird after some McAvoy's moments. Sometime you are laughing. I just wanna say that you should not expect to see scary movie. It is just interesting story with horror elements. For January flick is a great film and I think one of the best Shyamalan's movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
harryjcJan 22, 2017
M. Night is back, and I'm glad. This is a return to form. He's created something that rivals The Sixth Sense. This movie is creepy, and mysterious. Surprising. The best psychological thriller I've ever seen. But I won't get into details aboutM. Night is back, and I'm glad. This is a return to form. He's created something that rivals The Sixth Sense. This movie is creepy, and mysterious. Surprising. The best psychological thriller I've ever seen. But I won't get into details about it, because it will spoil it. Just go out, and watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadJan 21, 2017
Split! First off, Split is going o earn a ton of movie as I saw this in a 3:45PM showing at my theater on Saturday and the theater was nearly full (299 seats)! This movie was my most anticipated movie of January and boy was I happy when ISplit! First off, Split is going o earn a ton of movie as I saw this in a 3:45PM showing at my theater on Saturday and the theater was nearly full (299 seats)! This movie was my most anticipated movie of January and boy was I happy when I left. James McAvoy delivers one of the best performances ever (probably his best) as he portrays Kevin's 24 identities. Anya Taylor-Joy was also really good in this film as well as the other two girls and Betty Buckley. M Night Shyamalan delivers once again a unique, fun, interesting thriller. Split had some very good scenes (although sadly, some of them were shown in the trailer), as well as some memorable ones. Split also has a ton of humor, which works incredibly well. However, there were some flaws with movie, one of which was the thriller aspect. The movie had a ton of incredibly well acted scenes, but the film lacked suspense in some ways, which slightly disappointed me. Also, I thought the trailer gave a bit too much, so some good scenes were already spoiled. That being said, Split still delivered a great plot and a satisfying ending. I thought the film length was just about right, which is very rare. Split was a major improvement over The Visit and James McAvoy delivered an Oscar-worthy performance. I recommend everyone to go see this film. Also, for some reason, I can't seem to get Split out of my head, due to the amazing well-told story, which is why I'm giving it a high score. (94.5/100) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews