Spring Breakers

  • Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. According to Merritt, a WASP-wanna-be from the Midwest, Angie possesses "a criminal mind"(a subtle dig at her friend's Italian heritage), and indeed, all her talk about "cutting corners" to save money on their Florida trip in Where the Boys Are, does evoke Goodfellas, when Henry Hill gives us the nuts and bolts of mafia life. Far from hijacking trucks, the caper that Angie proposes is a "steak-out", described by the brunette as follows: you order the meat, you eat half, and then you bring the other half back to the $22/a night motel room that they share with two other girls. Thoroughly modern Merritt, despite being the class spokesperson for "playing house before marriage", antagonizing her professor in the process after a lecture on "random dating among college freshmen", is in actuality, a virgin, but the blond is progressive, therefore corruptible, so the girl goes "wild", allowing herself to be Angie's partner-in-crime. At a local hangout, we see the Italian on her latest job(with Merritt in-tow), masquerading as paying customers, in which the broke girls nurse complimentary cups of hot water flavored with contraband teabags, while nibbling on bring-your-own-saltines that they shuttle to and fro below the diner countertop in their attempt to escape detection from the greasy spoon's proprietor. For this, hijinks which seem tame compared to, say, armed robbery and first-degree murder, Merritt half-jokingly tells Angie that her scheme will land them in San Quentin. For its era, they were loose, because good girls, as portrayed in the movies, thought about going steady, not going all the way, or "backseat bingo" as Merritt puts it. Whereas Tuggle asks a male hitchhiker, "How big are your feet?" Candy, in Spring Breakers, is less coy, holding up a sign for Brit in a darkened lecture hall that reads: I want penis. More than no guilt sex, or to borrow the professor's formal terminology: premature emotional involvement on a first date, what Brit and her friends really lust after is money. No cutting corners for these toxic princesses; this is a new breed of "kids". To procure a bankroll for their booze-and-drug fueled vacation, they rob a chicken shack, intimidating the customers with squirt guns, hammers, and 'tude. Safe to say, when Brit, sensing apprehension from her partners concerning their felonious plot, tells them to "act like you're in a movie," that movie isn't Where the Boys Are. Although the girls are no angels; they drink and smoke(Tuggle shows a fake I.D. to the barkeep, while Merritt and Melanie puff on cigarettes), and have sex(Melanie has multiple partners, the last one ending in date rape), their debauchery is no match for all the bong hits and alcohol that find passage through the half-naked bodies of these libertine sociopaths. Quite pointedly, the girls in Where the Boys Are dig jazz, dialectic jazz, played by white musicians, akin to Spring Breakers, where Alien, a rapper/drug kingpin, plays hip hop to the sunburnt party people; a white rapper, whose antecedent, Basil, the white leader of a bebop trio, are homologous entities in their appropriation of what is considered to be a black music form. Given the seamless diversity among Larry Clark's Kids, the fluidity in which the contravening cultural group manipulates the expropriated genre on the beachfront stage would seem to be an intentional ploy on the filmmaker's part, since the diegetic music performed by the co-opting musicians in Spring Breakers, accentuates the unexpressed but readily apparent segregation laws that keeps the Ft. Lauderdale of Where the Boys Are uniform with one single skin color. At the outset of the 1960 film, the university campus that the girls attend is inundated with snow, and more importantly, a strong gust; an unintentional, but nevertheless, pointed metaphor about a change in the wind that would beget the Civil Rights Movement. Faced with a remodeling of the social stratum, the girls, conspicuously, head south. Back at the aforementioned diner, a male patron seated next to Merritt, spreads ketchup over a slice of white bread. Contextually speaking, the innocuous act now reads as her indifference to shed blood, the fallout from racial strife. Although Brit and Candy gun down numerous young black men at Alien's arch-rival's compound, their skin color, arguably, is a matter of sheer happenstance. They're post-colonial. The victims could easily have been white. Granted, at a seminar, the BFFs ignore a murder scene photograph of Emmitt Till, the 14-year-old boy whose death spearheaded an activism for social change. And yet, the same girls seem at ease with Alien's crowd, primarily black, at a run-down pool hall. It's Faith, the innocent and sheltered one, cut more from the same cloth as Merritt and her pals, who feels anxious and uneasy in mixed company. Faith is a proxy, a throwback, the good girl interested only in where the white boys are. Expand
  2. Xax
    Apr 10, 2013
    0
    It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies.
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    This film is an enigma. There is so much exploitive female pulchritude that it at times offensive. But there is a compelling story underneath and a quite good performance by Franco as a scumbag trailer trash hood. Also a surprising end
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    Four chicks go to Fla for vaca and end up involved with a very funky gangster (James Franco with braids and gold teeth). There's about 20 minutes of total narrative here. The rest is a montage of college partying (tons of T&A, blunts, booze and blow) and bad arty montages with repetitive VO. Franco is fun to watch as he chews the scenery with those goldies and even goes down on two guns,Four chicks go to Fla for vaca and end up involved with a very funky gangster (James Franco with braids and gold teeth). There's about 20 minutes of total narrative here. The rest is a montage of college partying (tons of T&A, blunts, booze and blow) and bad arty montages with repetitive VO. Franco is fun to watch as he chews the scenery with those goldies and even goes down on two guns, literally. I don't understand how today's short-attention-span audiences can enjoy this, because it's one long, slow Girls Gone Wild music video. I might have enjoyed it as a short, but found it painfully dull and pretentious. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Spring Breakers plays out like a music video, using dialog second to action. But whether it's action or dialog it's always going to have some kind of impact which is why I can appreciate Harmony Korine. A nice change from the norm. Not exactly for cuddling up with your sweetheart but if your girlfriend likes movies like this she's more awesome than most.
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    It's a polarizing film, but it's also brilliant. A new age Taxi Driver on drugs, with multitudes of themes, original cinematography and a commanding performance from James Franco. Don't miss this.

    If you hate this film you're missing the point.
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager after leaving the movie, luckily I wasn't alone and they afforded everyone their money back. What an absolute joke of a film and WITHOUT A DOUBT the worst movieThis was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager after leaving the movie, luckily I wasn't alone and they afforded everyone their money back. What an absolute joke of a film and WITHOUT A DOUBT the worst movie I've ever seen in a theater. Watching someone take a dump would have been better and more entertaining than this film, if you can even call it that. Expand
  8. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    Not one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing wasNot one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing was pretentious, without any sort reason to be so based on merit. People who want to see it for mindless fun and partying will be disappointed, and people who want to see a psychological depiction of the demise into a life of crime will be disappointed as well. It attempts to be both, and the attempts are very obvious. I don't want to see a director or a writer trying. It was like something you'd see in a high school's literary magazine, trying to be deeper than it actually is. Expand
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    This movie was nothing I had expected. I find it very hard to come up with a clear black/white answer about how good the movie was because it was so abstract. Very intense movie made possible by abstract lighting, camera angles, flashbacks, and editing. The pace of the movie was very fast leading up to where the girls went on spring break, which made sense, yet it the pace was constantlyThis movie was nothing I had expected. I find it very hard to come up with a clear black/white answer about how good the movie was because it was so abstract. Very intense movie made possible by abstract lighting, camera angles, flashbacks, and editing. The pace of the movie was very fast leading up to where the girls went on spring break, which made sense, yet it the pace was constantly fast for the rest of the movie, adding to the insanity of the movie. It was definitely more psychologically involved then I could have ever thought, but not necessarily in a good way, just an interesting way that made you uneasy of how messed up these girls are. I don't think it's fair to give this movie a score lower than 3, just because it was quite interesting. However, this movie did have very terrible moments. I'd give James Franco's performance a 4/10. He was mostly convincing, but was playing a terrible character. I'm not bashing his acting, I'm just surprised that he degraded himself to such a stupid character. Too many unneeded raunchy scenes and other party scenes that were repeated through the whole movie really made the movie worse. There is no connection to any character whatsoever. The ending is mixed. While it was too unrealistic, abrupt and should have explained more, the out-of-the-blue effect it has makes it interesting. When you leave this movie you will have a "What did I just watch?" feeling. All in all, I liked it, but just barely. It kept my attention for the most part and was interesting. However, you might not want to waste your money at the movies seeing it. Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have neverI've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a 2012 film directed by Harmony Korine. Film politically incorrect, Spring Breakers can send us a biting social commentary about young people and what they are becoming. The cast was very good but among all the absolute best is definitely James Franco. The only flaw was the ending that was supposed to be different.
  12. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entireThe critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
  13. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    Competent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuffCompetent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuff poetic. If there were more films like it, I would have rated it more harshly (2-3 out of 10)... recommended for people who find beauty everywhere... Expand
  14. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    There is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) CriticsThere is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) Critics liked this film better than did surveyed audience, because the former are on average more intelligent. therefore, I'm not surprised at reading all the audience comments panning it. Expand
  15. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    This film is awful the main thing it relies on is half naked girls and even though there hot there still annoying and it does not make up for the lack of story or poor acting and the end scene is just a joke don't waste your time with the piece of trash no wonder America as problems with guns.
  16. Jun 23, 2013
    1
    Spring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring and repetitive but ridiculous the way the movie unfolds.
  17. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid.
  18. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene. The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  19. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    For a full review go to: http://youngthespian42films.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-breakers.html I highly recommend this movie to anyone passionate about gender politics. This movie is somewhat cerebral in its technique and the meaning and message are both up to interpretation. If you are looking for the next Miami Vice or Fast and the Furious this is not the movie for you. This movieFor a full review go to: http://youngthespian42films.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-breakers.html I highly recommend this movie to anyone passionate about gender politics. This movie is somewhat cerebral in its technique and the meaning and message are both up to interpretation. If you are looking for the next Miami Vice or Fast and the Furious this is not the movie for you. This movie uses so many art house techniques to tell this story that I never had the space to discuss. This movie is just another strong signifier in my mind that we are entering a new New Hollywood era. I can't wait to keep having new and exciting experiences at the cinema. No matter what you think about this movie it is definitely a unique experience and something really different than usual Hollywood schlock. Expand
  20. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer of and I thought to myself, this honestly could be good…if done right. After reading all the reviews of the film, it seemed I was right and it made it to my list of movies I had to see. So that said, when I started watching this movie I had fair
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer of and I thought to myself, this honestly could be good…if done right. After reading all the reviews of the film, it seemed I was right and it made it to my list of movies I had to see. So that said, when I started watching this movie I had fair expectations that this would be at least a pretty good movie. I was wrong. The film stars Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, and Rachel Korine as four college girls who just want to go to Florida to party all day and all night during spring break. Faith (Selena Gomez) seems like the only one with a little moral value because she doesn’t go with the others to rob a chain of stores for money to get to Florida. When the girls get to Florida, they all go crazy doing hard drugs and recklessly partying. The girls soon meet Alien (James Franco) who is basically just a gangster, “hustling” to get his money. The movie focuses quite a lot on Faith in the beginning of the movie and I felt she was the main character but after everything gets out of hand, she takes the bus and goes back to her home town around halfway through the movie. Now the only ones left are Cotty (Rachel Korine), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Brit (Ashley Benson) and they all decide to take upon the life of crime with Alien for no apparent reason and after Faith leaves, there really isn’t a main character any more but the movie starts to focus more on Alien than the girls. The movie tries to be very stylish but ends up getting annoying since it just starts to repeat the same lines over and over again four or five times while they show what the girls and Alien are up to. This happens several times in the movie. The movie honestly has no substance and I felt the story can be condensed into one sentence: “A bunch of college girls go to Florida for Spring Break and then they meet a random gangster and start doing crimes.” It just sounds ridiculous. None of the girls have any moral values whatsoever and they all feel the same, other than Faith but the writers decided to get rid of her for some reason. The only actor I can commend here is Franco who actually does a great job of portraying this crazy hustler who doesn’t care what he does as long as he gets his money. The movie is already just a blur to me and it really isn’t anything now that I actually think about it. There are scenes of nudity and strong sexual content in the film and I think the only reason this movie was made was for all these former Disney-stars prove that they aren’t little babies anymore. I understand that but there are so many ways of doing that than making a crappy movie.
    Expand
  21. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't know how many times I would have to hear James Franco's character and his accent say "Spraaaang Breaaaak." I felt like I had been drugged and asked to sit through a movie with really no plot. This movie was a lead up to a pretty cool action sequence at the end, but the real stars were the slutty girls. They were downright sluts, which is kind of unrealistic, and they really hadI don't know how many times I would have to hear James Franco's character and his accent say "Spraaaang Breaaaak." I felt like I had been drugged and asked to sit through a movie with really no plot. This movie was a lead up to a pretty cool action sequence at the end, but the real stars were the slutty girls. They were downright sluts, which is kind of unrealistic, and they really had zero depth. Needless to say, I wish I had two hours back. Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    One of the most talked about movies of the early spring season is a polarizing one. The cinematography is beautiful, and the film is painted in a flashy surrealism that carries on throughout giving a dreamy feel. Acting and writing are sub par for the most part, though James Franco gives an electric performance when he appears half way through. The film is indulgent and could have doneOne of the most talked about movies of the early spring season is a polarizing one. The cinematography is beautiful, and the film is painted in a flashy surrealism that carries on throughout giving a dreamy feel. Acting and writing are sub par for the most part, though James Franco gives an electric performance when he appears half way through. The film is indulgent and could have done with some sharper editing at times. Still, it is an original experience at the cinema, and that is very rare in these times. Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I'm not criticize this thing from its terrible story telling skill, bad acting, pointless character, useless movement, annoying sound effect and discrimination on female. I'm not criticize this movie from its continuous display of naked body, drug use, crime for no reason. I just want everyone to ask themselves a simple question after they finish watching this thing, and that question isI'm not criticize this thing from its terrible story telling skill, bad acting, pointless character, useless movement, annoying sound effect and discrimination on female. I'm not criticize this movie from its continuous display of naked body, drug use, crime for no reason. I just want everyone to ask themselves a simple question after they finish watching this thing, and that question is "what actually is this movie want to told me?". Is this movie, or thing because I do not think it is a movie, want to tell me that being a student is boring because you go to the same place everyday and do the same thing? Or it just want to tell me that to be myself, I need to kill others who just hurt my friend and the reason is we mess up with them first? Or it just want to tell me if your religion or body against you to become yourself then you should give up yourself? Or it just want to tell me that the reason of common people become to criminals is because they get kick out of school? Or it just want to tell me that money rocks because it can get anything you want and make your dream come true? Or it just tell me NOTHING because the director does not want to tell me ANYTHING! Maybe he is filming some weird homemade sex tape but somebody saw it so the director said "Oh no, we are actually making a movie". Then he get some jerks who look cool but actually are cowards and then copy some stories from those emo kids on the Internet and then we get this thing call Spring Breakers. I wish the true meaning of this thing is NOTHING or then I will curse the director and I might fight him on the street. Seriously, I swear that other people are laughing from begin to end when I am watching this movie because it is ridiculous! If you believe that this movie is trying to help people find their real identity and the truth of the world around them, and you like it. Then you need to watch The Truman Show for damn sure. Expand
  24. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    4 bad girls rob a store to go on spring break (they REALY wanna go u know). There are lots of nice scenes where scantily clad (or not) girls get drunk or do drugs. It's all good fun till they get their bikini asses thrown in the slammer only to get bailed out by a white rastafarian rapper (Franco) with whom they happily descend into a more criminal existence. It all sounds more exiting4 bad girls rob a store to go on spring break (they REALY wanna go u know). There are lots of nice scenes where scantily clad (or not) girls get drunk or do drugs. It's all good fun till they get their bikini asses thrown in the slammer only to get bailed out by a white rastafarian rapper (Franco) with whom they happily descend into a more criminal existence. It all sounds more exiting than it realy is. The film feels like a trancy video commercial for T&A spring breaks. Best watched intoxicated to better relate to the characters. Expand
  25. Apr 1, 2014
    1
    Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed toWow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
  26. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Lets glorify criminal activities by putting good looking girls in bikinis and Mr. Franco to the movie. Lets add some cool music too...Yeah because crime is fun and cool right? No it is not....
  27. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This film contained visually enticing cinematography with a oddly hypnotic aura. Seeing the neon glows fused with the gritty score of Cliff Martinez and Skrillex's party anthems made Spring Breakers that much better. If that does not hook you on, then James Franco's entertaining performance will.
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land whereI didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land where responsibility does not exist... The only question is who and how. For that answer you have to watch this alternative treat. Just be sure to leave the kiddos at home this movie should be rated nc-17. Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It could have been literally no better than garbage, but it's artfully told and James Franco gives an Oscar-worthy performance. The ending rings a little false, but the film contains the greatest use of a Britney Spears song, so all is forgiven.
  30. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    The only thing that kept this movie from being a disaster of a party move? James Franco. His performance was highly entertaining that made me wish the movie was about him in an intriguing storyline instead of a wasteful, crappy, party movie. Seriously, how many more party movies are we going to see? Ever since The Hangover, party movies have been coming out at an extreme rate. None ofThe only thing that kept this movie from being a disaster of a party move? James Franco. His performance was highly entertaining that made me wish the movie was about him in an intriguing storyline instead of a wasteful, crappy, party movie. Seriously, how many more party movies are we going to see? Ever since The Hangover, party movies have been coming out at an extreme rate. None of them, except The Hangover, were any good, and you can throw this one in the box that is labeled, "Horrible party movie". Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.