A24 | Release Date: March 15, 2013
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 414 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
210
Mixed:
83
Negative:
121
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
WormowMar 17, 2013
Easily one of the worst films I had ever seen, one might ask on why talents such as James Franco decided on a disastrous film like this? Had high hopes for the film and found it extremely trashy, disgraceful and just terrible. The mainEasily one of the worst films I had ever seen, one might ask on why talents such as James Franco decided on a disastrous film like this? Had high hopes for the film and found it extremely trashy, disgraceful and just terrible. The main marketing for the film are the star actresses in the film but other than that, the film is terrible. Expand
17 of 30 users found this helpful1713
All this user's reviews
0
marktukOct 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
maxremoDec 26, 2013
This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film wouldThis film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
blur95Apr 15, 2014
Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the sameHarmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Viper8787May 18, 2014
A god awful movie. I didn't enjoy any part of this movie except for the acting of James Franco, who I have always liked as an actor. This movie was just about partying, drugs and stealing nothing interesting at all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
tonnuMay 15, 2014
i registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put oni registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put on to try and be cool, and that's what this movie achieved. the whole thing is vacuous and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. like really bad. the sequence where franco starts reciting his "poems" were among the worst dialogues ever written in cinematic history. and god the girls were HOT HOT HOT, but even that cannot save this BS. no plot, no characters (the girls don't have names even?), no nothing. what a waste of hot chicks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RanielMay 28, 2014
This is the worst movie that i've ever seen, it's like a porno!! And Selena Gomez is the worst actress that the world ever seen!!!!!!! It's Terrible!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ryan_carr772Mar 28, 2013
The plot was very poorly drawn out. The characters were very hard to relate to. There were a few interesting camera angles and sequences on occasion, but most of it was the same, slow motion sequences of people drinking and partying.
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722Jul 19, 2013
The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has noThe critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jul 1, 2013
Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing,Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
KivaJul 6, 2013
Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a hugeSpring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
mbeckfordApr 7, 2013
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be intriguing. This was the most
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be
intriguing.

This was the most tedious, redundant and gratuitous movie I've seen in
a very long time. I expected the gratuitous it opened with an
extended "Girls Gone Wild" sequence. But then it showed that sequence
again, and again and again, then again, and again and again!

This would be a "one-star" without James Franco. Once he is introduced
you are captivated by his transformation into a wannabe gangsta rapper,
especially given his tame, Disney-esque acting in "Oz, the Great and
Powerful."

But then the tedious redundancy corrupted even his performance. The
cinematography is interesting but with little plot and the unrelenting
repetitiveness, even that became another irritant. If they removed all
of the redundant scenes I think the movie would have been 30 minutes
long.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
nsmnavidMar 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst “movie” I have ever seen. This movie was a pile of terrible directing, bad editing, average acting, and worst of all screen play. This movie could have been an average short movie, since most of the movie consisted of repeating the same shot over and over again in slow motion with gun voice effects in between each shot, At the same time topping it off with completely useless shots with no relation to the story of the movie. As far as acting goes, it was average and it was more because of terrible screen play that it looked terrible. In general, this movie is consisted of 70 minutes of girls in bikini jumping around in slow motion, really bad softporn, and slow motion of shots where the actors were posing for the camera. The other 20 percent is each character’s two line that keeps repeating over and over and over again, and jumping between scenes that somehow manage to tell the week story of this movie. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
3
TrishpMar 22, 2013
Horrible! I was expecting more but was so turned off by the lack of depth and gratuitous soft porn type shots. I was bored and wanted to leave half way into it (a couple sitting in front of me did). I only stayed to see if it could redeemHorrible! I was expecting more but was so turned off by the lack of depth and gratuitous soft porn type shots. I was bored and wanted to leave half way into it (a couple sitting in front of me did). I only stayed to see if it could redeem itself ....unfortunately it did not. Can't believe this was actually made!....this is a definite insult to my intelligence. Completely unbelievable .......these college girls could suddenly turn into killers, robbers....no big reaction to getting thrown in jail?....don't waste your money! Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
0
l30NITAMar 23, 2013
I can honestly say worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Dragged on way too long and im still confused as to what the plot even was. I've never walked out on a movie before until i seen this one, too bad to finish.
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
0
jete26Mar 24, 2013
This was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager afterThis was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager after leaving the movie, luckily I wasn't alone and they afforded everyone their money back. What an absolute joke of a film and WITHOUT A DOUBT the worst movie I've ever seen in a theater. Watching someone take a dump would have been better and more entertaining than this film, if you can even call it that. Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelDNMar 30, 2013
Not one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to theNot one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing was pretentious, without any sort reason to be so based on merit. People who want to see it for mindless fun and partying will be disappointed, and people who want to see a psychological depiction of the demise into a life of crime will be disappointed as well. It attempts to be both, and the attempts are very obvious. I don't want to see a director or a writer trying. It was like something you'd see in a high school's literary magazine, trying to be deeper than it actually is. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
XaxApr 10, 2013
It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
SpangleApr 1, 2014
Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that reallyWow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Chipper12345Apr 11, 2013
This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous andThis has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous and unbelievable. The acting in universally bad, and you do not feel for any character. Just awful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Aug 3, 2013
The worst movie of the year. James Franco has officially gotten on my last nerve. Does Slena Gomze think she can act. It made me want to puke it was so vile and gross.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
BobLeeSwaggerJul 22, 2013
Just plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. MaybeJust plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. Maybe they're afraid people will think they didn't get it. If that's the case then call me ignorant, but this movie had 0 substance. Its as big a pile of trash as the characters it displays. I would say about 15 minutes of this whole movie advanced some sort of plot. The rest is useless flash forwards, flash backs, and just plain flashes. I suppose there was some attempt at social commentary, but it was poorly developed. The worst part is that the acting wasn't bad and it was shot in a way that had it actually had a good story, it could have been a phenomenal film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MoeCimMar 31, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first and will most likely be the only time that I experience anything so horrifically bad that I am compelled to write a user review of it. This is literally the worst movie that I have ever seen. This movie is actually so atrociously bad that showing it to detainees ranks as torture under the Geneva Conventions.
A far more apt title for this movie would be “Stupid Sluts Meet Weird James Franco and Play with Guns”. The movie is 94 minutes long but probably only contains about 45 minutes of original scenes while the rest of the movie is a repeat of these scenes with different filters and effects. The audio is even more unoriginal, with the same words being repeated for 5 minute stretches before the voice-over “actor” gets bored and switches to a different, unrelated phrase. There is no coherent plot to speak of, and any scenes that have a semblance of contiguity are ultimately ruined by piss-poor acting and glaring plot holes. I like to think that the big-name actors associated with this movie were tricked into participating by bizarre psychological techniques, because there is no possible way that anybody could read the screenplay and “script” (same 10 phrases repeated for the whole movie) and say “Yes, this is something that I would like to be involved in and have my name and reputation associated with.”
This movie was reviewed as “stinging social commentary”, but there is no moral to be seen, no attempt at a real resolution and absolutely no positive characteristics. It is superficial and it is wrong that people are actually making money from creating this atrocity. All the beautiful eye candy in the world could not bring this movie to anywhere close to watchable, but it feels like the director tries to bribe the audience into watching more of his cruel social experiment with naked, writhing women.
I would do anything, except watch “Springbreakers” a second time, to get these 94 minutes and $9.75 of real currency, which could be spent on something infinitely more worthwhile, like jawbreakers, a puppy or bamboo splinters to shove under my fingernails, back. I genuinely feel like I have made a terrible mistake in my life because I was convinced to go see this movie and sat through the whole thing. Please, please, please do not go see this movie and instead do something more meaningful like watch grass grow or beat your head against a wall or even just burn the cash you would spend on seeing “Springbreakers”.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
scoleyApr 6, 2013
This film is awful the main thing it relies on is half naked girls and even though there hot there still annoying and it does not make up for the lack of story or poor acting and the end scene is just a joke don't waste your time with theThis film is awful the main thing it relies on is half naked girls and even though there hot there still annoying and it does not make up for the lack of story or poor acting and the end scene is just a joke don't waste your time with the piece of trash no wonder America as problems with guns. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
Shawnhan93Mar 27, 2013
I'm not criticize this thing from its terrible story telling skill, bad acting, pointless character, useless movement, annoying sound effect and discrimination on female. I'm not criticize this movie from its continuous display of naked body,I'm not criticize this thing from its terrible story telling skill, bad acting, pointless character, useless movement, annoying sound effect and discrimination on female. I'm not criticize this movie from its continuous display of naked body, drug use, crime for no reason. I just want everyone to ask themselves a simple question after they finish watching this thing, and that question is "what actually is this movie want to told me?". Is this movie, or thing because I do not think it is a movie, want to tell me that being a student is boring because you go to the same place everyday and do the same thing? Or it just want to tell me that to be myself, I need to kill others who just hurt my friend and the reason is we mess up with them first? Or it just want to tell me if your religion or body against you to become yourself then you should give up yourself? Or it just want to tell me that the reason of common people become to criminals is because they get kick out of school? Or it just want to tell me that money rocks because it can get anything you want and make your dream come true? Or it just tell me NOTHING because the director does not want to tell me ANYTHING! Maybe he is filming some weird homemade sex tape but somebody saw it so the director said "Oh no, we are actually making a movie". Then he get some jerks who look cool but actually are cowards and then copy some stories from those emo kids on the Internet and then we get this thing call Spring Breakers. I wish the true meaning of this thing is NOTHING or then I will curse the director and I might fight him on the street. Seriously, I swear that other people are laughing from begin to end when I am watching this movie because it is ridiculous! If you believe that this movie is trying to help people find their real identity and the truth of the world around them, and you like it. Then you need to watch The Truman Show for damn sure. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hMar 24, 2013
Lets glorify criminal activities by putting good looking girls in bikinis and Mr. Franco to the movie. Lets add some cool music too...Yeah because crime is fun and cool right? No it is not....
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Jun 23, 2013
Spring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring andSpring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring and repetitive but ridiculous the way the movie unfolds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
WolfmazterApr 2, 2013
I haven't yet seen it, but I do work at the concession stand at a move theater. In a period of 3 hours 4 customers told me the movie was terrible (one of those 4 was a friend). Not only terrible, but so much so that 3 of those 4 customersI haven't yet seen it, but I do work at the concession stand at a move theater. In a period of 3 hours 4 customers told me the movie was terrible (one of those 4 was a friend). Not only terrible, but so much so that 3 of those 4 customers didn't even stay to finish the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
zepoxiMay 5, 2013
Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco'sProbably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco's performance is astonishing other then to try and rate this terrible movie higher then it should be.

I'd like to give this a 3, maybe 4 but some give it a 10, in order to counter that it'll be 0
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
kaiser-oneMay 13, 2013
Worst movie I've ever seen. The movie is literally a 2 hours music video with boobs, drugs and asses everywhere. I left the the Theater after 30 minutes of this
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews