A24 | Release Date: March 15, 2013
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 394 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
196
Mixed:
79
Negative:
119
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
WormowMar 17, 2013
Easily one of the worst films I had ever seen, one might ask on why talents such as James Franco decided on a disastrous film like this? Had high hopes for the film and found it extremely trashy, disgraceful and just terrible. The mainEasily one of the worst films I had ever seen, one might ask on why talents such as James Franco decided on a disastrous film like this? Had high hopes for the film and found it extremely trashy, disgraceful and just terrible. The main marketing for the film are the star actresses in the film but other than that, the film is terrible. Expand
17 of 30 users found this helpful1713
All this user's reviews
10
HipsteranMar 15, 2013
I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special,I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
19 of 38 users found this helpful1919
All this user's reviews
5
JrAgujaIsAGleekOct 7, 2013
This movie was a total disappointment.
The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I
This movie was a total disappointment.
The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
madamsApr 16, 2013
Pretty much exactly what I would expect from a "Mainstream" Harmony Korine film. Not much going on in the film. Painfully slow. Only thing saving this one is James Franco's fantastic performance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
marktukOct 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
maxremoDec 26, 2013
This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film wouldThis film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
blur95Apr 15, 2014
Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the sameHarmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Viper8787May 18, 2014
A god awful movie. I didn't enjoy any part of this movie except for the acting of James Franco, who I have always liked as an actor. This movie was just about partying, drugs and stealing nothing interesting at all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
tonnuMay 15, 2014
i registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put oni registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put on to try and be cool, and that's what this movie achieved. the whole thing is vacuous and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. like really bad. the sequence where franco starts reciting his "poems" were among the worst dialogues ever written in cinematic history. and god the girls were HOT HOT HOT, but even that cannot save this BS. no plot, no characters (the girls don't have names even?), no nothing. what a waste of hot chicks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RanielMay 28, 2014
This is the worst movie that i've ever seen, it's like a porno!! And Selena Gomez is the worst actress that the world ever seen!!!!!!! It's Terrible!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ryandiamandisAug 23, 2014
I don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn'tI don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing on the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ryan_carr772Mar 28, 2013
The plot was very poorly drawn out. The characters were very hard to relate to. There were a few interesting camera angles and sequences on occasion, but most of it was the same, slow motion sequences of people drinking and partying.
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
5
StevieGJDMar 31, 2013
This film is an enigma. There is so much exploitive female pulchritude that it at times offensive. But there is a compelling story underneath and a quite good performance by Franco as a scumbag trailer trash hood. Also a surprising end
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722Jul 19, 2013
The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has noThe critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jul 1, 2013
Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing,Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
KivaJul 6, 2013
Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a hugeSpring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
mbeckfordApr 7, 2013
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be intriguing. This was the most
This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling
short description of the movie, instead of making that short
description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be
intriguing.

This was the most tedious, redundant and gratuitous movie I've seen in
a very long time. I expected the gratuitous it opened with an
extended "Girls Gone Wild" sequence. But then it showed that sequence
again, and again and again, then again, and again and again!

This would be a "one-star" without James Franco. Once he is introduced
you are captivated by his transformation into a wannabe gangsta rapper,
especially given his tame, Disney-esque acting in "Oz, the Great and
Powerful."

But then the tedious redundancy corrupted even his performance. The
cinematography is interesting but with little plot and the unrelenting
repetitiveness, even that became another irritant. If they removed all
of the redundant scenes I think the movie would have been 30 minutes
long.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryMar 29, 2013
Four chicks go to Fla for vaca and end up involved with a very funky gangster (James Franco with braids and gold teeth). There's about 20 minutes of total narrative here. The rest is a montage of college partying (tons of T&A, blunts, boozeFour chicks go to Fla for vaca and end up involved with a very funky gangster (James Franco with braids and gold teeth). There's about 20 minutes of total narrative here. The rest is a montage of college partying (tons of T&A, blunts, booze and blow) and bad arty montages with repetitive VO. Franco is fun to watch as he chews the scenery with those goldies and even goes down on two guns, literally. I don't understand how today's short-attention-span audiences can enjoy this, because it's one long, slow Girls Gone Wild music video. I might have enjoyed it as a short, but found it painfully dull and pretentious. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
nsmnavidMar 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst “movie” I have ever seen. This movie was a pile of terrible directing, bad editing, average acting, and worst of all screen play. This movie could have been an average short movie, since most of the movie consisted of repeating the same shot over and over again in slow motion with gun voice effects in between each shot, At the same time topping it off with completely useless shots with no relation to the story of the movie. As far as acting goes, it was average and it was more because of terrible screen play that it looked terrible. In general, this movie is consisted of 70 minutes of girls in bikini jumping around in slow motion, really bad softporn, and slow motion of shots where the actors were posing for the camera. The other 20 percent is each character’s two line that keeps repeating over and over and over again, and jumping between scenes that somehow manage to tell the week story of this movie. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
3
TrishpMar 22, 2013
Horrible! I was expecting more but was so turned off by the lack of depth and gratuitous soft porn type shots. I was bored and wanted to leave half way into it (a couple sitting in front of me did). I only stayed to see if it could redeemHorrible! I was expecting more but was so turned off by the lack of depth and gratuitous soft porn type shots. I was bored and wanted to leave half way into it (a couple sitting in front of me did). I only stayed to see if it could redeem itself ....unfortunately it did not. Can't believe this was actually made!....this is a definite insult to my intelligence. Completely unbelievable .......these college girls could suddenly turn into killers, robbers....no big reaction to getting thrown in jail?....don't waste your money! Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
0
l30NITAMar 23, 2013
I can honestly say worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Dragged on way too long and im still confused as to what the plot even was. I've never walked out on a movie before until i seen this one, too bad to finish.
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
0
jete26Mar 24, 2013
This was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager afterThis was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager after leaving the movie, luckily I wasn't alone and they afforded everyone their money back. What an absolute joke of a film and WITHOUT A DOUBT the worst movie I've ever seen in a theater. Watching someone take a dump would have been better and more entertaining than this film, if you can even call it that. Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelDNMar 30, 2013
Not one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to theNot one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing was pretentious, without any sort reason to be so based on merit. People who want to see it for mindless fun and partying will be disappointed, and people who want to see a psychological depiction of the demise into a life of crime will be disappointed as well. It attempts to be both, and the attempts are very obvious. I don't want to see a director or a writer trying. It was like something you'd see in a high school's literary magazine, trying to be deeper than it actually is. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
GatorZeroMar 24, 2013
This movie was nothing I had expected. I find it very hard to come up with a clear black/white answer about how good the movie was because it was so abstract. Very intense movie made possible by abstract lighting, camera angles, flashbacks,This movie was nothing I had expected. I find it very hard to come up with a clear black/white answer about how good the movie was because it was so abstract. Very intense movie made possible by abstract lighting, camera angles, flashbacks, and editing. The pace of the movie was very fast leading up to where the girls went on spring break, which made sense, yet it the pace was constantly fast for the rest of the movie, adding to the insanity of the movie. It was definitely more psychologically involved then I could have ever thought, but not necessarily in a good way, just an interesting way that made you uneasy of how messed up these girls are. I don't think it's fair to give this movie a score lower than 3, just because it was quite interesting. However, this movie did have very terrible moments. I'd give James Franco's performance a 4/10. He was mostly convincing, but was playing a terrible character. I'm not bashing his acting, I'm just surprised that he degraded himself to such a stupid character. Too many unneeded raunchy scenes and other party scenes that were repeated through the whole movie really made the movie worse. There is no connection to any character whatsoever. The ending is mixed. While it was too unrealistic, abrupt and should have explained more, the out-of-the-blue effect it has makes it interesting. When you leave this movie you will have a "What did I just watch?" feeling. All in all, I liked it, but just barely. It kept my attention for the most part and was interesting. However, you might not want to waste your money at the movies seeing it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGoer14Jun 29, 2013
Spring Breakers is a pleasant surprise despite being uneven, in some parts silly and outrageous, but most of Spring Breakers being first rate art-direction with charming performances especially coming from James Franco, it isn't everyone'sSpring Breakers is a pleasant surprise despite being uneven, in some parts silly and outrageous, but most of Spring Breakers being first rate art-direction with charming performances especially coming from James Franco, it isn't everyone's cup of tea, but still it is worth checking out. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraApr 23, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. According to Merritt, a WASP-wanna-be from the Midwest, Angie possesses "a criminal mind"(a subtle dig at her friend's Italian heritage), and indeed, all her talk about "cutting corners" to save money on their Florida trip in Where the Boys Are, does evoke Goodfellas, when Henry Hill gives us the nuts and bolts of mafia life. Far from hijacking trucks, the caper that Angie proposes is a "steak-out", described by the brunette as follows: you order the meat, you eat half, and then you bring the other half back to the $22/a night motel room that they share with two other girls. Thoroughly modern Merritt, despite being the class spokesperson for "playing house before marriage", antagonizing her professor in the process after a lecture on "random dating among college freshmen", is in actuality, a virgin, but the blond is progressive, therefore corruptible, so the girl goes "wild", allowing herself to be Angie's partner-in-crime. At a local hangout, we see the Italian on her latest job(with Merritt in-tow), masquerading as paying customers, in which the broke girls nurse complimentary cups of hot water flavored with contraband teabags, while nibbling on bring-your-own-saltines that they shuttle to and fro below the diner countertop in their attempt to escape detection from the greasy spoon's proprietor. For this, hijinks which seem tame compared to, say, armed robbery and first-degree murder, Merritt half-jokingly tells Angie that her scheme will land them in San Quentin. For its era, they were loose, because good girls, as portrayed in the movies, thought about going steady, not going all the way, or "backseat bingo" as Merritt puts it. Whereas Tuggle asks a male hitchhiker, "How big are your feet?" Candy, in Spring Breakers, is less coy, holding up a sign for Brit in a darkened lecture hall that reads: I want penis. More than no guilt sex, or to borrow the professor's formal terminology: premature emotional involvement on a first date, what Brit and her friends really lust after is money. No cutting corners for these toxic princesses; this is a new breed of "kids". To procure a bankroll for their booze-and-drug fueled vacation, they rob a chicken shack, intimidating the customers with squirt guns, hammers, and 'tude. Safe to say, when Brit, sensing apprehension from her partners concerning their felonious plot, tells them to "act like you're in a movie," that movie isn't Where the Boys Are. Although the girls are no angels; they drink and smoke(Tuggle shows a fake I.D. to the barkeep, while Merritt and Melanie puff on cigarettes), and have sex(Melanie has multiple partners, the last one ending in date rape), their debauchery is no match for all the bong hits and alcohol that find passage through the half-naked bodies of these libertine sociopaths. Quite pointedly, the girls in Where the Boys Are dig jazz, dialectic jazz, played by white musicians, akin to Spring Breakers, where Alien, a rapper/drug kingpin, plays hip hop to the sunburnt party people; a white rapper, whose antecedent, Basil, the white leader of a bebop trio, are homologous entities in their appropriation of what is considered to be a black music form. Given the seamless diversity among Larry Clark's Kids, the fluidity in which the contravening cultural group manipulates the expropriated genre on the beachfront stage would seem to be an intentional ploy on the filmmaker's part, since the diegetic music performed by the co-opting musicians in Spring Breakers, accentuates the unexpressed but readily apparent segregation laws that keeps the Ft. Lauderdale of Where the Boys Are uniform with one single skin color. At the outset of the 1960 film, the university campus that the girls attend is inundated with snow, and more importantly, a strong gust; an unintentional, but nevertheless, pointed metaphor about a change in the wind that would beget the Civil Rights Movement. Faced with a remodeling of the social stratum, the girls, conspicuously, head south. Back at the aforementioned diner, a male patron seated next to Merritt, spreads ketchup over a slice of white bread. Contextually speaking, the innocuous act now reads as her indifference to shed blood, the fallout from racial strife. Although Brit and Candy gun down numerous young black men at Alien's arch-rival's compound, their skin color, arguably, is a matter of sheer happenstance. They're post-colonial. The victims could easily have been white. Granted, at a seminar, the BFFs ignore a murder scene photograph of Emmitt Till, the 14-year-old boy whose death spearheaded an activism for social change. And yet, the same girls seem at ease with Alien's crowd, primarily black, at a run-down pool hall. It's Faith, the innocent and sheltered one, cut more from the same cloth as Merritt and her pals, who feels anxious and uneasy in mixed company. Faith is a proxy, a throwback, the good girl interested only in where the white boys are. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
XaxApr 10, 2013
It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
SpangleApr 1, 2014
Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that reallyWow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Chipper12345Apr 11, 2013
This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous andThis has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous and unbelievable. The acting in universally bad, and you do not feel for any character. Just awful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Aug 3, 2013
The worst movie of the year. James Franco has officially gotten on my last nerve. Does Slena Gomze think she can act. It made me want to puke it was so vile and gross.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews