• Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 338 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    the contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and enter
  2. Jan 24, 2015
    6
    Summary: Spring Breakers is a strange flick about promiscuous teenagers, drug dealers, guns and sex. 60/100 [C+]

    Directed by Harmony Korine, Spring Breakers tells the story of four attractive students planning to raise money for the spring break trip stealing a fast food stand. But that's just the beginning. During a party night the girls are arrested with drug charges. Hungover and
    Summary: Spring Breakers is a strange flick about promiscuous teenagers, drug dealers, guns and sex. 60/100 [C+]

    Directed by Harmony Korine, Spring Breakers tells the story of four attractive students planning to raise money for the spring break trip stealing a fast food stand. But that's just the beginning. During a party night the girls are arrested with drug charges. Hungover and dressed just with their bikinis, they see a judge, but they are unexpectedly liberated by Alien (James Franco), a rare local thug which takes the girls to his home and they have the craziest spring vacations of their lives. All the girls are very happy with him, except one girl called "Faith" (Selena Gomez) she does not trust in Alien at all.

    This movie wasn't as good as I thought. The first half was quite enjoyable and crazy, but the second half is darker, slow and violent. Also, the last 30 minutes of the movie were very awkward to watch. Moving on, all the choices and decisions of the characters in Spring Breakers felt genuine, but there was not enough plot in the film; it was boring and uninteresting to me. You don't care about the characters, because most of them are stupid and annoying. I also want to add that since the departure of Gomez in the second half of the movie, the film became in a disgusting pornographic mess, filled with bizarre sex scenes and repetitive dialog.

    On the upside, the whole cast did a great job. James Franco's performance was astonishing, he nailed it. However, Spring Breakers is basically 94 minutes of strange pornography to me. Yes, I enjoyed some moments of this pornographic mess, the first act is somewhat enjoyable and funny at times, but most of the movie is just uncomfortable. Maybe you will enjoy it more, I don't know. If you like movies about drugs, teenagers acting like prostitutes, guns and sex, Spring Breakers is your best choice. If you expect an entertaining film about some likable girls in their vacations, you'll be disappointed. This is just a strange crime flick.

    It has a well-known cast. Vanessa Hudgens was good, but her character was unlikable and dull. Seriously, watching the film I was like... who cares about this whore? Nobody! Also, she just said two lines in the whole movie. Good job, screenwriter! Another one is Ashley Benson, she's beautiful, what else can I say? Well... at least her role was a little bit more interesting. Another girl is performed by Rachel Korine. I think that Rachel is way too old for her character, and she was actually the only one who showed her breasts. Finally, the most decent character and the most engaging performance was Faith (Selena Gomez), she was smart and believable.

    It's a slow film that boasts an original plot, a talented cast and a bunch of crazy moments. My favorite moment in the movie was a scene between Selena Gomez and James Franco, their performances were excellent. The message of the film is also very thought-provoking and sincere. It shows how some teens just want to have fun, no matter what. In conclusion, most of Spring Breakers is odd and boring, but I still recommend it if you like movies about parties, guns, sex and drug dealers. Do not see it if you expect lots of entertainment or friendly characters. It is just a movie about promiscuous teenagers. The ending was quite good though. [C+]
    Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    this film is magnificent, life magic.The END is MAGIC !!! it is perfect and innocent side..because of faith. innocence, evil, drugs... we have little innocence in the world and it shows in the film. evil..
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "Spring Breakers" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

    The Good: James Franco. His performance as Alien, a rapper and criminal, makes the film at least watchable for stretches. At one point, close to the middle of the film, it becomes decent before spiraling back into being awful again. The Bad: The film is mostly about Spring Break debauchery and over half of the film revolves around
    "Spring Breakers" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

    The Good: James Franco. His performance as Alien, a rapper and criminal, makes the film at least watchable for stretches. At one point, close to the middle of the film, it becomes decent before spiraling back into being awful again.

    The Bad: The film is mostly about Spring Break debauchery and over half of the film revolves around lengthy scenes of people dancing, drinking, doing drugs, and having sex. It was like one long MTV special. I understand that they wanted to portray what goes on down there during Spring Break, but it seemed to be the main focus of the film and wasn't entertaining at all. I also had zero feelings towards the main characters of the film, who are four college girls who rob a fast food place to get the cash for their trip ... and then fall in with a criminal. I just didn't care about any of them and there wasn't much characterization. They were four random irresponsible college girls and nothing more.
    Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Perfect actresses, perfect story, perfect direction, for this, that's all **** perfect hahaha! I really miss movies like that in theaters.. the only problem is that doesn't came to brazilian theaters :/
  6. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing onI don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing on the film. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    Look, many people here have tried to convey how truly awful this movie was but still haven't been believed, so I will describe my own feeling as deeply as possible in order to discourage the unwary from witnessing a spectacle that will leave them forever traumatised and mind-raped : THIS MOVIE IS A CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY !!!
    I am a dog-lover, and if I thought my beloved hound's canine
    Look, many people here have tried to convey how truly awful this movie was but still haven't been believed, so I will describe my own feeling as deeply as possible in order to discourage the unwary from witnessing a spectacle that will leave them forever traumatised and mind-raped : THIS MOVIE IS A CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY !!!
    I am a dog-lover, and if I thought my beloved hound's canine brain was comprehending, for a microsecond, any of the mind-altering senselesness of any of the scenes in this movie, I would SHOOT HIM IN THE HEAD immediately, without hesitation, out of sheer pity, just as you would put a rabid dog out of its misery.
    No-one deserves to watch this movie - not Pol Pot, not Hitler, not Newt Gringrich - least of all any James Franco fans who thought be had any semblance of talent or taste.
    Expand
  8. May 28, 2014
    0
    This is the worst movie that i've ever seen, it's like a porno!! And Selena Gomez is the worst actress that the world ever seen!!!!!!! It's Terrible!!!!!!!!!!
  9. May 25, 2014
    6
    This movie is just so ridiculous but entertaining at the same time. Four girls on spring break end up turning hardcore what makes it so funny is the girls seeing them in this then seeing them in some of their other work makes this movie even more of a joke. James Franco was the whole reason i wanted to see this his character looked so "pimpin" well of course i also watched for AshleyThis movie is just so ridiculous but entertaining at the same time. Four girls on spring break end up turning hardcore what makes it so funny is the girls seeing them in this then seeing them in some of their other work makes this movie even more of a joke. James Franco was the whole reason i wanted to see this his character looked so "pimpin" well of course i also watched for Ashley Benson she is just too gorgeous.

    Overall i give it a 6.0 the movie had me laughing the whole time even though it's not a comedy but take it as you will this movie is just absurd
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2014
    3
    A god awful movie. I didn't enjoy any part of this movie except for the acting of James Franco, who I have always liked as an actor. This movie was just about partying, drugs and stealing nothing interesting at all.
  11. May 15, 2014
    2
    i registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put on to try and be cool, and that's what this movie achieved. the whole thing is vacuous and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. like really bad. the sequence wherei registered to metacritic specifically to review this film. it sucks. it's a piece of turd. the film is as superficial as the subject it tries to explore--i don't mind the nudity and the violence--but i do mind the empty poses people put on to try and be cool, and that's what this movie achieved. the whole thing is vacuous and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. like really bad. the sequence where franco starts reciting his "poems" were among the worst dialogues ever written in cinematic history. and god the girls were HOT HOT HOT, but even that cannot save this BS. no plot, no characters (the girls don't have names even?), no nothing. what a waste of hot chicks. Expand
  12. May 6, 2014
    6
    First off this was a weird movie. I thought I would hate it. Sort of do but at the same time it surpassed my expectations. There's a lot of voice-over with conversations said in the future while showing something different. Kind of confuses you a little. There are a lot of boobs in this movie. I would say thats a plus but at the same time, it takes away from the gritty realism that theFirst off this was a weird movie. I thought I would hate it. Sort of do but at the same time it surpassed my expectations. There's a lot of voice-over with conversations said in the future while showing something different. Kind of confuses you a little. There are a lot of boobs in this movie. I would say thats a plus but at the same time, it takes away from the gritty realism that the movie seems to try to achieve. Girls don't take their tops off in public and not by the dozens, at least from my experience. There were many porny shots that didn't seem necessary. I know why they were there. Without them I most people would have lost interest in this movie. It lacks depth and character development. 45 minutes into the movie and the I didn't feel like I knew any of the main cast except for Selena Gomez's character. She ends up leaving which leaves you with the other terrible 3.
    The characters are very hate-able. Selena Gomez looks like shes 12 so it kind of bothers me seeing her in this kind of environment. Though she is the only character with some moral standards. The other 3 are skanks and I personally cannot stand them or other girls who are like them. James Franco does a pretty good job. I'll give it a 6. It wasn't wonderful to watch, it was weird, but at the same time it was a lot better than I was expecting.
    Expand
  13. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
    I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting
    Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
    I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks.
    Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2014
    1
    Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed toWow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    how can anybody like this movie? I saw it twice, once in theaters with several friends and once in class and everybody around agreed that it was terrible. the "action" scenes in it are just horrendous, and the rest of the movie is boring. This is the worst movie i have ever seen
  16. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Spring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was orSpring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was or what he had done before... Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    I went to this movie admittedly with low expectations and what I got was a slightly pleasent surprise. The film had a deeper meaning that it hinted at that I never thought would be there. The Flimmaking had far more art to it than I thought it would and the ting that made the movie a great experience was the overpowering performance by James Franco as Alien. A tattoo loving and gunI went to this movie admittedly with low expectations and what I got was a slightly pleasent surprise. The film had a deeper meaning that it hinted at that I never thought would be there. The Flimmaking had far more art to it than I thought it would and the ting that made the movie a great experience was the overpowering performance by James Franco as Alien. A tattoo loving and gun carrying drug dealer/ Rapper that steals the show everytime he is on screen. Franco's Character hinted at someting far deeper and his range surprised me so much His peromance turned this movie form an unsatisfying artistic fail into a slightly above average pleasent film. Expand
  18. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it.
  19. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    this movie is nothing but a disappointment. besides being a superfiacial movie the performances are terrible. not all that glitters is gold and this movie is proof of that.
  20. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Oh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was aOh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was a good movie. Expand
  21. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise meThis film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  22. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    There is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) CriticsThere is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) Critics liked this film better than did surveyed audience, because the former are on average more intelligent. therefore, I'm not surprised at reading all the audience comments panning it. Expand
  23. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    Competent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuffCompetent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuff poetic. If there were more films like it, I would have rated it more harshly (2-3 out of 10)... recommended for people who find beauty everywhere... Expand
  24. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Spring Breakers might be my favorite film of the year. Never before has a film made me tear up because of how masterfully beautiful it was done. A haunting and moving experience.
  25. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, withI recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  26. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
  27. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene. The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  28. Oct 6, 2013
    2
    I couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plot jumpy and difficult to follow but maybe that was because I stopped paying attention or caring. I did like the artsy look to it but the characters andI couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plot jumpy and difficult to follow but maybe that was because I stopped paying attention or caring. I did like the artsy look to it but the characters and the plot were crap and a half. Expand
  29. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Spring Breakers plays out like a music video, using dialog second to action. But whether it's action or dialog it's always going to have some kind of impact which is why I can appreciate Harmony Korine. A nice change from the norm. Not exactly for cuddling up with your sweetheart but if your girlfriend likes movies like this she's more awesome than most.
  30. Sep 17, 2013
    1
    Not much of a story line, it wasn't exciting and thrilling like they said it would be... I also think the actors could have been chosen better, something to spice it up a little, Bland
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.