• Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 286

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
    I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting
    themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    1
    Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    how can anybody like this movie? I saw it twice, once in theaters with several friends and once in class and everybody around agreed that it was terrible. the "action" scenes in it are just horrendous, and the rest of the movie is boring. This is the worst movie i have ever seen
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Spring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was or what he had done before... Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    I went to this movie admittedly with low expectations and what I got was a slightly pleasent surprise. The film had a deeper meaning that it hinted at that I never thought would be there. The Flimmaking had far more art to it than I thought it would and the ting that made the movie a great experience was the overpowering performance by James Franco as Alien. A tattoo loving and gun carrying drug dealer/ Rapper that steals the show everytime he is on screen. Franco's Character hinted at someting far deeper and his range surprised me so much His peromance turned this movie form an unsatisfying artistic fail into a slightly above average pleasent film. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it.
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    this movie is nothing but a disappointment. besides being a superfiacial movie the performances are terrible. not all that glitters is gold and this movie is proof of that.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Oh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was a good movie. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    There is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) Critics liked this film better than did surveyed audience, because the former are on average more intelligent. therefore, I'm not surprised at reading all the audience comments panning it. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    Competent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuff poetic. If there were more films like it, I would have rated it more harshly (2-3 out of 10)... recommended for people who find beauty everywhere... Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Spring Breakers might be my favorite film of the year. Never before has a film made me tear up because of how masterfully beautiful it was done. A haunting and moving experience.
  13. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  14. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
  15. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major
    point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  16. Oct 6, 2013
    2
    I couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plot jumpy and difficult to follow but maybe that was because I stopped paying attention or caring. I did like the artsy look to it but the characters and the plot were crap and a half. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Spring Breakers plays out like a music video, using dialog second to action. But whether it's action or dialog it's always going to have some kind of impact which is why I can appreciate Harmony Korine. A nice change from the norm. Not exactly for cuddling up with your sweetheart but if your girlfriend likes movies like this she's more awesome than most.
  18. Sep 17, 2013
    1
    Not much of a story line, it wasn't exciting and thrilling like they said it would be... I also think the actors could have been chosen better, something to spice it up a little, Bland
  19. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Enjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experience that much greater it really shows how diverse his acting skills are.
  20. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    Schlechtester Film, welchen ich diesen Monat gesehen hab.
    Zuerst handelt er von erotisch präsentierten Frauen bis die Handlung zu einer Freundschaft mit einem Gangster führt. Das Ende ist zudem noch miserabel.
  21. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    A shallow, uninteresting and self-indulgent film. The story didn't make sense. The cast was weak. Nothing about this movie was worth talking about. I had to force myself to finish it for the sake of being fair.
  22. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    A 4/10 is the score I'm giving this movie as a placeholder. I'm not sure if I really liked it or found it ridiculous. The soundtrack was really excellent, the opening montage was really sick, but everything else... we'll see.
  23. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer of and I thought to myself, this honestly could be good…if done right. After reading all the reviews of the film, it seemed I was right and it made it to my list of movies I had to see. So that said, when I started watching this movie I had fair
    expectations that this would be at least a pretty good movie. I was wrong. The film stars Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, and Rachel Korine as four college girls who just want to go to Florida to party all day and all night during spring break. Faith (Selena Gomez) seems like the only one with a little moral value because she doesn’t go with the others to rob a chain of stores for money to get to Florida. When the girls get to Florida, they all go crazy doing hard drugs and recklessly partying. The girls soon meet Alien (James Franco) who is basically just a gangster, “hustling” to get his money. The movie focuses quite a lot on Faith in the beginning of the movie and I felt she was the main character but after everything gets out of hand, she takes the bus and goes back to her home town around halfway through the movie. Now the only ones left are Cotty (Rachel Korine), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Brit (Ashley Benson) and they all decide to take upon the life of crime with Alien for no apparent reason and after Faith leaves, there really isn’t a main character any more but the movie starts to focus more on Alien than the girls. The movie tries to be very stylish but ends up getting annoying since it just starts to repeat the same lines over and over again four or five times while they show what the girls and Alien are up to. This happens several times in the movie. The movie honestly has no substance and I felt the story can be condensed into one sentence: “A bunch of college girls go to Florida for Spring Break and then they meet a random gangster and start doing crimes.” It just sounds ridiculous. None of the girls have any moral values whatsoever and they all feel the same, other than Faith but the writers decided to get rid of her for some reason. The only actor I can commend here is Franco who actually does a great job of portraying this crazy hustler who doesn’t care what he does as long as he gets his money. The movie is already just a blur to me and it really isn’t anything now that I actually think about it. There are scenes of nudity and strong sexual content in the film and I think the only reason this movie was made was for all these former Disney-stars prove that they aren’t little babies anymore. I understand that but there are so many ways of doing that than making a crappy movie. Expand
  24. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    The worst movie of the year. James Franco has officially gotten on my last nerve. Does Slena Gomze think she can act. It made me want to puke it was so vile and gross.
  25. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    4 bad girls rob a store to go on spring break (they REALY wanna go u know). There are lots of nice scenes where scantily clad (or not) girls get drunk or do drugs. It's all good fun till they get their bikini asses thrown in the slammer only to get bailed out by a white rastafarian rapper (Franco) with whom they happily descend into a more criminal existence. It all sounds more exiting than it realy is. The film feels like a trancy video commercial for T&A spring breaks. Best watched intoxicated to better relate to the characters. Expand
  26. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    nice bobbies, nice booties, but horrible story line, confusing, in all honestly this was a waste of time. would not recommend to see this. VERY disappointing!
  27. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't get the appeal of this movie and i never well. For starters they did a few things well... Cinematography was good and Jame's Franco's characters was well played and interesting. On the flip side the movie was oddly paced and had a bunch of unnecessary scenes with awkward dialogue. It just followed no formula at all that makes a movie good.. Character development was pretty bad and the ending was completely ridiculous. Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't know how many times I would have to hear James Franco's character and his accent say "Spraaaang Breaaaak." I felt like I had been drugged and asked to sit through a movie with really no plot. This movie was a lead up to a pretty cool action sequence at the end, but the real stars were the slutty girls. They were downright sluts, which is kind of unrealistic, and they really had zero depth. Needless to say, I wish I had two hours back. Expand
  29. Jul 22, 2013
    1
    Just plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. Maybe they're afraid people will think they didn't get it. If that's the case then call me ignorant, but this movie had 0 substance. Its as big a pile of trash as the characters it displays. I would say about 15 minutes of this whole movie advanced some sort of plot. The rest is useless flash forwards, flash backs, and just plain flashes. I suppose there was some attempt at social commentary, but it was poorly developed. The worst part is that the acting wasn't bad and it was shot in a way that had it actually had a good story, it could have been a phenomenal film. Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.