Spring Breakers

  • Studio:
  • Release Date:
Spring Breakers Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 390 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    100
    In Spring Breakers [Mr. Korine] bores into a contested, deeply American topic — the pursuit of happiness taken to nihilistic extremes — but turns his exploration into such a gonzo, outrageously funny party that it takes a while to appreciate that this is more of a horror film than a comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    A candy-colored fever dream is the most unforgettable movie of the year so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Full credit to Korine, who sustains this act of creative vandalism right through to the finish. Spring Breakers unfolds as a fever dream of teenage kicks, a high-concept heist movie with mescal in the fuel tank.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Midnight movie programmers of the future will undoubtedly give it a long life years after it’s gone from first-run theaters.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    As Alien, a gun-crazy Florida drug dealer with tats, beaded cornrows and a grill any rapper would envy, Franco is a bug-f--k blast. Too bad the movie itself is rarely as outrageous as he is.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Am I crazy, or are Spring Breakers and "Oz the Great and Powerful" essentially the same movie? James Franco stars in both - a tattooed, gun-totin' gangsta in one, a charlatan magician in the other (you figure out which is which), and, in both, he's encircled by a bevy of Hollywood babes determined either to get witchy on him, or get that other witchy-rhyming word on him.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    12
    How on earth is it possible for one film to be so tiresome? Spring Breakers isn’t deadly dull despite all the nudity and violence, but because of it.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 108
  2. Negative: 42 out of 108
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. TheI've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. MPB
    Mar 26, 2013
    10
    To be honest, I think, that it should be played in every school to show young teenagers, what can happen at simple spring break. This movie isTo be honest, I think, that it should be played in every school to show young teenagers, what can happen at simple spring break. This movie is revolutionary, visionary... and I can't wait to see it again. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    If your a Harmony Korine fan you will not be disappointed. Spring Breakers brings performances that are out of this world by actresses youIf your a Harmony Korine fan you will not be disappointed. Spring Breakers brings performances that are out of this world by actresses you would have never of guessed be so good. James Franco in my opinion had an oscar-worthy performance. The beauty of this will was how fun the party is and how amazing the violence can get. SPRING BREAK! Collapse
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Pretty much exactly what I would expect from a "Mainstream" Harmony Korine film. Not much going on in the film. Painfully slow. Only thingPretty much exactly what I would expect from a "Mainstream" Harmony Korine film. Not much going on in the film. Painfully slow. Only thing saving this one is James Franco's fantastic performance. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one longSeriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    1
    Just plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. ItJust plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. Maybe they're afraid people will think they didn't get it. If that's the case then call me ignorant, but this movie had 0 substance. Its as big a pile of trash as the characters it displays. I would say about 15 minutes of this whole movie advanced some sort of plot. The rest is useless flash forwards, flash backs, and just plain flashes. I suppose there was some attempt at social commentary, but it was poorly developed. The worst part is that the acting wasn't bad and it was shot in a way that had it actually had a good story, it could have been a phenomenal film. Expand
  7. May 5, 2013
    0
    Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say,Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco's performance is astonishing other then to try and rate this terrible movie higher then it should be.

    I'd like to give this a 3, maybe 4 but some give it a 10, in order to counter that it'll be 0
    Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.
  3. DVD Release Calendar: July 2013

    DVD Release Calendar: July 2013 Image
    Published: June 26, 2013
    Gt a complete list of home video releases (including movies and TV shows) for the month of July, including Orphan Black, Spring Breakers, 42, Trance, and more.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 22, 2013
    Get a good look at next week's "Stoker" as well as new trailers for "Spring Breakers," "Beyond the Hills," and "Kiss of the Damned," and catch up on the week's major film news.