• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    100
    In Spring Breakers [Mr. Korine] bores into a contested, deeply American topic — the pursuit of happiness taken to nihilistic extremes — but turns his exploration into such a gonzo, outrageously funny party that it takes a while to appreciate that this is more of a horror film than a comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    A candy-colored fever dream is the most unforgettable movie of the year so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Full credit to Korine, who sustains this act of creative vandalism right through to the finish. Spring Breakers unfolds as a fever dream of teenage kicks, a high-concept heist movie with mescal in the fuel tank.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Midnight movie programmers of the future will undoubtedly give it a long life years after it’s gone from first-run theaters.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    As Alien, a gun-crazy Florida drug dealer with tats, beaded cornrows and a grill any rapper would envy, Franco is a bug-f--k blast. Too bad the movie itself is rarely as outrageous as he is.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Am I crazy, or are Spring Breakers and "Oz the Great and Powerful" essentially the same movie? James Franco stars in both - a tattooed, gun-totin' gangsta in one, a charlatan magician in the other (you figure out which is which), and, in both, he's encircled by a bevy of Hollywood babes determined either to get witchy on him, or get that other witchy-rhyming word on him.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    12
    How on earth is it possible for one film to be so tiresome? Spring Breakers isn’t deadly dull despite all the nudity and violence, but because of it.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 94
  2. Negative: 38 out of 94
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    nice bobbies, nice booties, but horrible story line, confusing, in all honestly this was a waste of time. would not recommend to see this. VERY disappointing! Expand
  5. May 18, 2014
    3
    A god awful movie. I didn't enjoy any part of this movie except for the acting of James Franco, who I have always liked as an actor. This movie was just about partying, drugs and stealing nothing interesting at all. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
  7. Xax
    Apr 10, 2013
    0
    It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.