• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    100
    In Spring Breakers [Mr. Korine] bores into a contested, deeply American topic — the pursuit of happiness taken to nihilistic extremes — but turns his exploration into such a gonzo, outrageously funny party that it takes a while to appreciate that this is more of a horror film than a comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    A candy-colored fever dream is the most unforgettable movie of the year so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Full credit to Korine, who sustains this act of creative vandalism right through to the finish. Spring Breakers unfolds as a fever dream of teenage kicks, a high-concept heist movie with mescal in the fuel tank.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Midnight movie programmers of the future will undoubtedly give it a long life years after it’s gone from first-run theaters.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    As Alien, a gun-crazy Florida drug dealer with tats, beaded cornrows and a grill any rapper would envy, Franco is a bug-f--k blast. Too bad the movie itself is rarely as outrageous as he is.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Am I crazy, or are Spring Breakers and "Oz the Great and Powerful" essentially the same movie? James Franco stars in both - a tattooed, gun-totin' gangsta in one, a charlatan magician in the other (you figure out which is which), and, in both, he's encircled by a bevy of Hollywood babes determined either to get witchy on him, or get that other witchy-rhyming word on him.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    12
    How on earth is it possible for one film to be so tiresome? Spring Breakers isn’t deadly dull despite all the nudity and violence, but because of it.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 97
  2. Negative: 39 out of 97
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. My friends and I saw this movie at a film festival and that was extremely grateful for us. But I must say this film shocked me. I've never seen a film by Harmony but after this I must check out his work. Selena sheds her good girl image and gets a little bad in her sadly SPOILER ALERT, she left when things got real bad so she was only in a very small amount of the film. Other then that she really stepped up in this. Vanessa since her movie Bandslam, Beastly, and Sucker Punch I have no longer looked at her as the cheesy High School Musical character I see her as a young, beautiful, and talented actress. In this she got really down and dirty, and some might think its slutty. But there all playing college girls on Spring Break they wont sit around and watch TV they will party there asses off. The pairing of Ashley and Vanessa was a good combo. Rachel the directors wife I believe I think made her acting debut superb. James eh. Just James a good actor came in on his A-Game. Skrillex scored the amazing soundtrack. And when I say amazing I mean it. The film is stylish from pink-blue-neon-glow in the dark everything colorful. To the fans who write comments like 'This is slutty or bad for them', you are one of the main reasons they do it. If I were on Disney what 4-6 years and Im 24 I wouldn't want people saying stop your a Disney Robot go back to HSM. No I want to be seen as more then that an actress (Baby V Shines). This is a movie ment for the 16-29 year old target.
    Amazing film only thing missing was a few more scenes to show more Selena.
    If you love movies with great parties, music, entertaining, takes you on a ride, dark, little comedy, good acting, near-exceptional writing, Xceptional FILMING. Then this is a must see.
    Collapse
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story
    a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
  7. Xax
    Apr 10, 2013
    0
    It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.