• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    100
    In Spring Breakers [Mr. Korine] bores into a contested, deeply American topic — the pursuit of happiness taken to nihilistic extremes — but turns his exploration into such a gonzo, outrageously funny party that it takes a while to appreciate that this is more of a horror film than a comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    A candy-colored fever dream is the most unforgettable movie of the year so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Full credit to Korine, who sustains this act of creative vandalism right through to the finish. Spring Breakers unfolds as a fever dream of teenage kicks, a high-concept heist movie with mescal in the fuel tank.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Midnight movie programmers of the future will undoubtedly give it a long life years after it’s gone from first-run theaters.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    As Alien, a gun-crazy Florida drug dealer with tats, beaded cornrows and a grill any rapper would envy, Franco is a bug-f--k blast. Too bad the movie itself is rarely as outrageous as he is.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Am I crazy, or are Spring Breakers and "Oz the Great and Powerful" essentially the same movie? James Franco stars in both - a tattooed, gun-totin' gangsta in one, a charlatan magician in the other (you figure out which is which), and, in both, he's encircled by a bevy of Hollywood babes determined either to get witchy on him, or get that other witchy-rhyming word on him.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    12
    How on earth is it possible for one film to be so tiresome? Spring Breakers isn’t deadly dull despite all the nudity and violence, but because of it.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 88
  2. Negative: 34 out of 88
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story
    a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    1
    Not much of a story line, it wasn't exciting and thrilling like they said it would be... I also think the actors could have been chosen better, something to spice it up a little, Bland Expand
  7. Xax
    Apr 10, 2013
    0
    It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.