Dimension Films | Release Date: August 7, 2002
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 72 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
24
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ClaireB.Dec 1, 2002
It was an awesome movie i thought that Mathew was a HOTTIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossW.Aug 8, 2002
Dear god! its beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomB.Sep 20, 2002
How can Antonio Banderas act in this goofy movie! He should quit, the action sequence was terrible, kids shouldn't act anymore. Waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SamB.Mar 1, 2003
This movie sucks.end of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaS.Mar 8, 2003
This is a cool movie very very cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Aug 16, 2005
More kid fluff, but the people sure know how to do effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NateM.Aug 7, 2002
Just took my little brother and sister to see this movie. It was less than painful, but certainly a poor waste of time. The mutants, and grandparents stole the show from the main characters. How could this movie get so many good reviews? The Just took my little brother and sister to see this movie. It was less than painful, but certainly a poor waste of time. The mutants, and grandparents stole the show from the main characters. How could this movie get so many good reviews? The jokes were poorly-written. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
B.S.Feb 27, 2003
This is what happens when writers get a good idea but runoutof bear and write something pothic while sobber.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DAVIDY.Jun 7, 2003
I thought the stunts they did were awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jul 7, 2003
Sam b lost his mind.i liked the movie.alexa is pretty in sk2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HSApr 8, 2005
Best moive ever!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Aug 10, 2002
By enlisting Alan Cummings and Tony Shalhoub for cameo duty, the filmmakers seem to be conceeding that their current story isn't interesting enough to stand by itself. What made the original "Spy Kids" so winning was how Mr. Rodriguez By enlisting Alan Cummings and Tony Shalhoub for cameo duty, the filmmakers seem to be conceeding that their current story isn't interesting enough to stand by itself. What made the original "Spy Kids" so winning was how Mr. Rodriguez gave equal play to both, the special effects and a childhood neurosis we could reflect back and relate with. Juni's lack of self-esteem, and how being a secret agent gave him confidence was the film's soul. In "Island of Lost Dreams", the writers had their neurosis; puberty, a goldmine of humor and pathos, which they deal with only briefly. Instead of having a rival brother and sister team, the writers should've lost the little girl and have the boy fly solo and allowed him to camp it up as a heartthrob. Carmon could've switched sides and create some welcome tension since they get along too well in this sequel. Alexa Vega should've shouldered the load here, not the men (and women) in charge of the miniature animals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardAug 14, 2002
Surprisingly enjoyable, not only for the Ray Harryhausen homage but also for the sly performances all around. Colorful, witty, and good-natured fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnieS.Dec 20, 2002
I absolutely loved it! Matt O'Leary is such a hottie! I liked it much more than the original. Great Movie! *for anyone that might wonder, it comes out on video/dvd on feb. 18, u can bet i'll buy it on the first day.*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
wasn't as good as the original, but its very entertaining
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BathmatJan 26, 2011
The movie was meh. I don't feel like doing a full review, but the special effects deserve a mention. A guy who's not really into computers could do a better job. It looked SO fake and there was still green around the characters. Not nearly asThe movie was meh. I don't feel like doing a full review, but the special effects deserve a mention. A guy who's not really into computers could do a better job. It looked SO fake and there was still green around the characters. Not nearly as good as the original where the special effects were actually GOOD. So, yeah. Spy Kids 2 A la Meh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
Nothing's really changed in "Spy Kids 2" compared to its predecessor. In other words, its manageable.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
I did not like as much as the previous one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jfrotylpe532Dec 22, 2012
It still is fun however it wasn't as visually entertaining and the creatures looked idiotic. On the bring side it had a better plot than the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ThegodfathersonNov 17, 2013
Spy Kids 2 is way crazier than the first one. That's it. One word describes this film. CRAZIER. Alexa Vega was better in this sequel but the whole island thing- I didn't appreciate. Everything was gross out and weird, with horrible CGI, thatSpy Kids 2 is way crazier than the first one. That's it. One word describes this film. CRAZIER. Alexa Vega was better in this sequel but the whole island thing- I didn't appreciate. Everything was gross out and weird, with horrible CGI, that makes it works. Fun but corny, Spy Kids 2 is just a step down from the excellent film itself. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
It's lost a little bit of energy and fun from the original, but Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams will be a welcome summer treat for kids of all ages and their families.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
the is like unexplained to me . but there in a deserted island risking there jobs is 9 % worthless and 80 % suckish . Watch Robert Rodriguez's other action pack films
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 7, 2015
The sequel to our favorite spy guys on a mission on an island , it has to be a good idea to autonomy and almost illogical to create more when they are commanded by Robert Rodriguez but it was very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Inferior to the original Spy Kids, but with Island of Lost Dreams, you could call the original a stickup. In fact, I would make a stickup to anyone who dares to give at least one of the great movies a negative rating or one of the terribleInferior to the original Spy Kids, but with Island of Lost Dreams, you could call the original a stickup. In fact, I would make a stickup to anyone who dares to give at least one of the great movies a negative rating or one of the terrible ones a positive rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyFeb 19, 2017
Spy Kids 2: Island of Lost Dreams doesn't quite reach the same level of quality as the original, but its still pretty good. The characters have grown up a bit and are more interesting, there is the addition of some new characters and funSpy Kids 2: Island of Lost Dreams doesn't quite reach the same level of quality as the original, but its still pretty good. The characters have grown up a bit and are more interesting, there is the addition of some new characters and fun gadgets, new locations, and a whole new adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews