Miramax Films | Release Date: July 25, 2003
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 95 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
28
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ReviewCriticDec 31, 2011
Spy Kids gets worse and worse with every new installment: the acting, the plot, the dialogue. The only thing that gets better is the special effects. Apparently, that is all people care about anymore.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The idea of 3-D is wisely used for "Spy Kids 3-D", but the other components, such as the story or acting, kinda lowered the bar for this film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Aug 1, 2003
Sylvester Stallone isn't Eddie Murphy, or Peter Sellers, that's for sure. It should've been fun to see Rocky stretch, but Stallone is neither convincing, nor funny, playing multiple characters. Unfortunately, he seems to have Sylvester Stallone isn't Eddie Murphy, or Peter Sellers, that's for sure. It should've been fun to see Rocky stretch, but Stallone is neither convincing, nor funny, playing multiple characters. Unfortunately, he seems to have the same amount of screen time as Alexa Vega; sadly, under-utilized here. Since Antonio Banderas appeared in some of Pedro Almodovar's earlier films, Vega's coma felt like a homage to "Talk to Her". As for the film, "Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over" doesn't feel like a sequel because the kids don't get to be spies. It's preferable to the last installment because "Game Over" isn't really competing with the brilliant original. Get rid of the real world sequences that brackets the video game section, and you got yourself a spiffy short film. The 3-D images are great but they look less impressive out in the Texas exteriors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlB.Aug 4, 2003
We took our six y.o. daughter to see this, and while *I* enjoyed it greatly, she didn't, and was even a bit afraid of the 3D stuff. I disagree with those who didn't see any 3D - perhaps your glasses were broken, or didn't fit We took our six y.o. daughter to see this, and while *I* enjoyed it greatly, she didn't, and was even a bit afraid of the 3D stuff. I disagree with those who didn't see any 3D - perhaps your glasses were broken, or didn't fit right, or perhaps your theater's projectors were out of focus. I thought the 3D was well done. Not a great movie by any means - but at the same time, it wasn't 90 minutes of "When will this thing end?", which is my usual reaction to bringing our daughter to the theater to see a "kids" film. Some funny lines for the adults as well, which caught me by surprise. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CmeyerAug 20, 2003
My 9 yr old niece and i went to this movie looking for a good time ... and for the MOST part we had a decent time. BUT ... the 3-D really was bad. It made me dizzy and my niece's eyes hurt throughout the whole movie and a few times we My 9 yr old niece and i went to this movie looking for a good time ... and for the MOST part we had a decent time. BUT ... the 3-D really was bad. It made me dizzy and my niece's eyes hurt throughout the whole movie and a few times we had to remove the glasses and just watch it as is. the story and all was fine and the ideas and imagination was wonderful. But overall, the film let us down. If it WOULDNT have been 3-D an would have been done w/CGI it would have been a wonderful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BonehoC.Mar 3, 2004
If this movie wasn't in 3D it would get a big fat 0. The story really sucks. It can also be really corny. The 3D effects are really good, but most of the time the 3D glasses don't work. They also hurt your eyes. They did mention If this movie wasn't in 3D it would get a big fat 0. The story really sucks. It can also be really corny. The 3D effects are really good, but most of the time the 3D glasses don't work. They also hurt your eyes. They did mention Halo though, and that's cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Apr 6, 2004
It burnt my eyes and wasn't much fun. Seriously, how did anybody enjoy the 3D aspect of the film, it is jarring and it makes all the potentialy pretty colors thinner and nasty looking. I do have some desire to see if the film is good It burnt my eyes and wasn't much fun. Seriously, how did anybody enjoy the 3D aspect of the film, it is jarring and it makes all the potentialy pretty colors thinner and nasty looking. I do have some desire to see if the film is good looking at all on the 2D DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EricG.Jun 29, 2006
Yeah, there were some good action sequences and all, but mostly, this movie was uneventful and, maybe between you and me, slightly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatrickD.Aug 23, 2005
THe main thing that ruined the movie was the THey have a lot of lines such as "If you win, I get bonus points." It's following the same trail as JAWS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
UtharW.Sep 16, 2004
Insulting to the video game industry. The creators of this film have obviously never played Half-Life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelDMar 13, 2011
The movie wasn't funny or gripping. But I don't hate the movie which is why I'm gonna give the film a 4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
It's bad .. it really is ... GAME OVER.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Klaww25Feb 8, 2016
Horrible this movie is almost as bad as the Alex Rider film. Terrible acting way too much cgi and not many real actors. I mean compared to the first films this one falls apart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 22, 2015
"Spy Kids 3- D Game Over" was a film entirely regulated by the visual and special effects , especially the 3-D vision was to overcome but it was not, even as we are left to wonder 8 years that was the last of the saga of Spy -Kids ?.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeApr 17, 2016
This Spy Kids repeatedly loses lives before it even get started, leaving itself with a game over, forcing us to replay it a second time, instantly to a third time, etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MasterRileyFeb 19, 2017
Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over is a pretty weak film in comparison to the first two movies. The premise of the movie is kinda cool, but it is ruined by the poor CGI environments and effects. I realize they are supposed to be in a video game, but theSpy Kids 3-D: Game Over is a pretty weak film in comparison to the first two movies. The premise of the movie is kinda cool, but it is ruined by the poor CGI environments and effects. I realize they are supposed to be in a video game, but the graphics are so bad that it makes the movie hard to keep watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews