Lionsgate | Release Date: January 15, 2010
2.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
15
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
DelatedBesireJul 2, 2015
Easily his worst film he made in Hollywood. I wonder if he just made this for a paycheck or to appeal to children but I'm pretty sure it's the former. After all he did say he needed money to make Armour of God 3 and he's even admitted toEasily his worst film he made in Hollywood. I wonder if he just made this for a paycheck or to appeal to children but I'm pretty sure it's the former. After all he did say he needed money to make Armour of God 3 and he's even admitted to hating most of his Hollywood movies. So go figure. No wonder this was so terrible. Miley Cyrus' dad was in this, what more needs to be said? Expand
12 of 12 users found this helpful120
All this user's reviews
5
HappymonkJan 24, 2012
I should be giving this film a 3/10 based purely on the fact that it's pants. But I find that adding Jackie Chan to a film (no matter of it's quality) makes it better. He seems to bring a certain amount of fun to what would otherwise be aI should be giving this film a 3/10 based purely on the fact that it's pants. But I find that adding Jackie Chan to a film (no matter of it's quality) makes it better. He seems to bring a certain amount of fun to what would otherwise be a very bad (rather boring) film. It's the worst film I've seen with Jackie Chan in it though. I should hate it but I can't! Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
4
CreviewerFeb 23, 2011
This is a horribly written movie with horrible acting and a horrible plot. The bad guy is hard to understand his motive confusing and so are the good guy. The plot *cough*almost*cough* twist are poorly set up and amount to very little. TheThis is a horribly written movie with horrible acting and a horrible plot. The bad guy is hard to understand his motive confusing and so are the good guy. The plot *cough*almost*cough* twist are poorly set up and amount to very little. The whole movie is illogical and unreasonable and throwing in a few *cough*almost*cough* stars didn't help. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
4
LordOFlibertYJan 21, 2012
WHY JACKIE DID YOU HAVE TO TAKE THIS **** ROLE AND RUIN YOUR REPUTATION. this movie was garbage, so many forced comedy lines and stupid useless characters
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
4
MaricaAug 31, 2014
"Can your mommy do that?" - Bob Ho

A family comedy..but not as i expect..what can i say..Jackie Chan ain't no star anymore...

**********************
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticJun 15, 2014
Jackie Chan, in truth, has no real acting talents. And this shows his constant repetition in action comedy movies with enough emotion to make you reel over the edge of your seat and gag, but make sure to do this only if you are on the lastJackie Chan, in truth, has no real acting talents. And this shows his constant repetition in action comedy movies with enough emotion to make you reel over the edge of your seat and gag, but make sure to do this only if you are on the last seat of the aisle. Otherwise, try to hold it down. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
k-CJun 20, 2011
wow..i never know that a movie can be so torturing.watching this was like getting my tooth pulled out..the storyline is so predictable.even my 10 year old sister can predict what happens next.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
0
Wolfland09Apr 8, 2012
A cheap rip off version of The Pacificier( Vin Diesel) not worth the time. I believe this was a way to say goodbye to the career of a figure like Jackie Chan
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
1
LansdenrsJun 3, 2013
Sucked!!! No better way to put it. It's so sad that they would even make this movie. I feel bad for anyone that was a apart of this movie. Should have never been made.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
EggyG.Jan 18, 2010
Really silly & mindless plot...but surprisingly entertaining. It's like reading a funny comic book. Perfect popcorn movie for whole family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jan 15, 2010
Bob(Jackie Chan) and Jillian(Amber Valetta) are an item, lovers, to the utter dismay of the divorced woman's children, who complain that their neighbor is "boring", a "geek". To them, the mother could do a lot better, since this Bob(Jackie Chan) and Jillian(Amber Valetta) are an item, lovers, to the utter dismay of the divorced woman's children, who complain that their neighbor is "boring", a "geek". To them, the mother could do a lot better, since this suburban mom is a total milf, and obviously, "so far above [Bob]." Conspicuous in its absence, as the kids read Jillian the riot act concerning her latest beau, is any mention of Bob's ethnicity. Since they don't address the very pertinent fact about this bespectacled man being Chinese, the moviegoer is left to interpret their bias against Bob as either being racially-motivated or not, since the "The Spy Next Door" is too innocuous to acknowledge this rupture in the film text. "The Spy Next Door" treats Bob's Chinese heritage like a secret identity, like Clark Kent keeping Superman under wraps until the time is right to tell Lois Lane. Chan, sporting black horn-rimmed glasses, in fact, resembles Kent, and quite pointedly, during a dinner scene with Jillian, takes them off when he attempts to tell her about his secret life as a spy. Also, this moment doubles as a reflexive move for the moviegoer, because it alludes to Chan's past glory as an action hero(practically a superhero of sorts to his fellow countrymen), a persona that eventually emerges from the trappings of this domestic comedy. It's no accident that Bob reveals himself at a Chinese restaurant, in which Jillian's kids are explicitly confronted by his true identity as a spy, and minority. Earlier in the film, they go through Bob's personal belongings at his home, but find nothing that addresses his otherness. The DVDs, the clothes, the overall decor of Bob's lair, confirm his "boring"-ness, and the post-colonial construct of the screenplay is preserved, for the time being. As a romantic lead, Chan does nothing more than trade chaste kisses and a brotherly hug with Valetta, which has the effect of making Bob seem vaguely asexual. Jillian's actions, are like the children's actions, which seem to be quietly dictated by Bob's nationality. The kids can't hate him because he's Chinese, and also, Jillian can't really kiss Bob for the very same reason. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
grandpajoe6191Oct 15, 2011
This is it. Jackie Chan ain't no star anymore. "The Spy Next Door" says it all.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
The Spy Next Door is nothing more than a forgettable, poorly-written movie that wastes its talent. Jackie Chan might as well be Danny Glover in "Lethal Weapon", because he's "too old for this s**t".
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
DarkCriticSep 8, 2010
What were they thinking putting Jackie Chan in a horrible movie,to be as a spy and protecting those annoying children like this? It's like raping the master of kung-fu for putting as a spy and making fun of him with lousing slapsticks. TheWhat were they thinking putting Jackie Chan in a horrible movie,to be as a spy and protecting those annoying children like this? It's like raping the master of kung-fu for putting as a spy and making fun of him with lousing slapsticks. The scenes are too cheap for the visual effects and a waste of the script,the characters are annoying,too many plot points,the jokes are not that funny,and very insulting for putting Jackie Chan in it. Come on people,it's Jackie Chan,the greatest martial arts master who fights and leaps on the poles,and making him downsize for his acting and hurting him so purpose. Even why George Lopez plays as a villain for taking over the world? He really needs to fire his agent! And why they put a teenager girl who finds this older boy so attractive and the older boy fights Jackie Chan? I don't why they make this movie so bad and please the fans will probably like it,but come one what bad movie for putting Jackie Chan on it and it's not entertaining family film for the kids! Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
minhJan 16, 2010
I do not know what's wrong with you critics. You critics are boring. The movie is very enjoyable, funny and the plot is predictable but so what? It was made to make you laugh, to forget your stressful day and in that sense the movie I do not know what's wrong with you critics. You critics are boring. The movie is very enjoyable, funny and the plot is predictable but so what? It was made to make you laugh, to forget your stressful day and in that sense the movie succeeds in every way. Oh don't lie i bet you all laughed your a** off watching it. Probably the job of criticism is too stressful that you can't enjoy a lighthearted movie. Take off your mask! Jackie Chan is awesome, the youngest kid (Alina Foley) is too adorable. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RustySJan 19, 2010
This movie had a lot of potential. And it lived up to it. Great job!
1 of 5 users found this helpful
7
LordKnightmareMar 5, 2014
It wasn't his greatest film of all time. But its comedy, its not meant to be taken seriously. I thought it was pretty funny. Had some goofy plot points and there was enough action to keep me captivated. Reminds me of Dragons Forever andIt wasn't his greatest film of all time. But its comedy, its not meant to be taken seriously. I thought it was pretty funny. Had some goofy plot points and there was enough action to keep me captivated. Reminds me of Dragons Forever and Wheels on meals kind of comedy. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
russiangamerFeb 12, 2017
Уж лучше большинства комедий по шаблону.
Первая половина фильма довольно посредственна, раздражающие дети, не смешной юмор. Но вторая половина вполне неплоха. Появляются забавные шутки, крутой экшен в стиле Джеки Чана. Итог: можно посмотреть
Уж лучше большинства комедий по шаблону.
Первая половина фильма довольно посредственна, раздражающие дети, не смешной юмор. Но вторая половина вполне неплоха. Появляются забавные шутки, крутой экшен в стиле Джеки Чана. Итог: можно посмотреть разок, вполне средний фильм.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLonelyCriticJun 28, 2016
The fact that the positive reviews here spend more time shaming the critics than saying what's good about the movie shows what a great fan-base this movie has. But why don't they spend that time praising the movie's good points? BECAUSE THEREThe fact that the positive reviews here spend more time shaming the critics than saying what's good about the movie shows what a great fan-base this movie has. But why don't they spend that time praising the movie's good points? BECAUSE THERE AREN'T ANY!!! So what's wrong with this movie? Well Billy Ray Cyrus is in it.......I could end the review just with that. There are way more problems than that though. Bland and obvious story, jokes that could be seen from miles away and appealing to it's key demographic so desperately it makes the Oogieloves look subtle. If you value your brain cells, make like a spy and stealthily, quickly get the hell away from this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews