Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: October 10, 2014
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 193 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
149
Mixed:
40
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LamontRaymondOct 11, 2014
It's refreshing seeing Melissa McCarthy playing it straight - the woman certainly can play serious roles. Bill Murray is at the top of his game here, and the kid is MUCH better than I thought he'd be. Only Naomi Watts is an awkward fit withIt's refreshing seeing Melissa McCarthy playing it straight - the woman certainly can play serious roles. Bill Murray is at the top of his game here, and the kid is MUCH better than I thought he'd be. Only Naomi Watts is an awkward fit with the Russian accent and the pregnancy. She's fun and provides some comic relief, so I'm glad she's there. The film actually brought multiple tears to my eyes, which says something - heartwarming. I'll just say that I expected more, but what is there is highly worth seeing. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasOct 25, 2014
The best kind of movies are the ones which make you laugh and cry. Bill Murray has discovered another great new writer/director to follow. The movie makes you care about all the characters: the troubled, grouchy old man who does kind deeds,The best kind of movies are the ones which make you laugh and cry. Bill Murray has discovered another great new writer/director to follow. The movie makes you care about all the characters: the troubled, grouchy old man who does kind deeds, the Russian pregnant prostitute, the adopted son with the divorcing parents and the priests who are told why the mother couldn't get pregnant is absolutely hilarious. It's a touching story and very well written and laid out. This is why we go to the movies! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryOct 24, 2014
"St. Vincent" stars Bill Murray, Jaeden Lieberher, Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts in this beautiful film written and directed by Theodore Melfi. Mr. Murray outperforms his previous best works and displays his skill as an actor that few will"St. Vincent" stars Bill Murray, Jaeden Lieberher, Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts in this beautiful film written and directed by Theodore Melfi. Mr. Murray outperforms his previous best works and displays his skill as an actor that few will be able to surpass. The film also represents the cinematic debut of a young actor named Jaeden Lieberher who will capture the hearts and minds of the audience as he displays his remarkable talent. He’s just really good and a pleasure to watch and experience. Set in a middle class Brooklyn neighborhood, Mr. Melfi brings to the screen a "feel good" film that will surprise many who may have never quite connected with the in your face style of Ms. McCarthy. She needs to play more serious roles for she is really good when she does them and she is outstanding in this one in particular. I give this film an 8.0 and recommend it to viewers of all ages for joyous and heart warining stories know no labels or boundaries. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeOct 19, 2014
A surprisingly deep and fascinating look into growing up at all ages. Bill Murray is in top-form along with his easy-to-love cast. St. Vincent will make you laugh, cry and inspired.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
BshopOct 28, 2014
Great movie, touching and funny.
Bill Murray was great, Melissa McCarthy was alright (smaller role) and the kid (new, this is his debut movie) was outstanding!
Reminded me of Groundhog Day (Bill Murray's character) in mannerisms and
Great movie, touching and funny.
Bill Murray was great, Melissa McCarthy was alright (smaller role) and the kid (new, this is his debut movie) was outstanding!
Reminded me of Groundhog Day (Bill Murray's character) in mannerisms and attitude.
In summary, see in theaters and definitely worth a rent. Would see again if able.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Jan 25, 2015
What a great film. I was not expecting this film to be as strong as it was when I watched the first half hours but once I got deep it really wowed me. St. Vincent is up there with the best films of 2014 and is also an underrated one. BillWhat a great film. I was not expecting this film to be as strong as it was when I watched the first half hours but once I got deep it really wowed me. St. Vincent is up there with the best films of 2014 and is also an underrated one. Bill Murray plays a role that we know he does so well and he shines. He is both funny and mysterious and really the of the cast matches him. Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts (who does an excellent Russian accent) were both great as well as the young boy Jaeden Lieberher. St. Vincent is good for a few laughs but it is also dramatic which I wasn't expecting and it has an ending that you can see coming for a mile away but it is just as potent. This is great for anyone who enjoys the work of Bill Murray. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
pesho_oneNov 29, 2014
Seriously good movie. The plot has nice pace and good order of events. All the cast is well selected. The actors have natural chemistry and they feel light and comfortable. The movie has really funny moments and gets a bit on the heavy sideSeriously good movie. The plot has nice pace and good order of events. All the cast is well selected. The actors have natural chemistry and they feel light and comfortable. The movie has really funny moments and gets a bit on the heavy side after the middle. But most importantly it will make you care. And if this is not the definition of a good story telling, I don't know what is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AcaciaDec 7, 2014
"St. Vincent" is a quiet little movie that packs such a great feel good punch. Bill Murray (Vincent) is looking way old as a reckless, unfriendly curmudgeon who ends up having a young boy thrust upon him by a harried and hassled neighbor"St. Vincent" is a quiet little movie that packs such a great feel good punch. Bill Murray (Vincent) is looking way old as a reckless, unfriendly curmudgeon who ends up having a young boy thrust upon him by a harried and hassled neighbor lady he doesn't even know. The relationship that develops and grows between Vincent and the boy (Oliver) is wonderful to watch. Each one learns from the other and Melissa McCarthy, in a very subdued role for a change, is believable as the shocked Mom as she learns Vincent is taking her son to the horse track and teaching him how to bet. But there are things going on in his life that no one has any idea about. We learn how Vincent gets his saintly title and that is very touching. Kleenex alert! This movie has been out for a while. If you haven't seen it, make plans to see it right away so you don't miss it. It is a delight! Bill Murray is so fun to watch, and his improv as the credits roll kept us entertained until the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DavidV293Mar 2, 2015
It's great in every way. Bill Murray did an awesome job playing as an old grumpy **** It kept me cheered up throughout the whole film like i wanted more and more and it delivers what you want. Definitely on my top 10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
lenny68Oct 24, 2014
I'll watch pretty much anything with Bill Murray in it but I went to see this with lowish expectations having read some lukewarm reviews. It just goes to show you shouldn't be influenced too much by reviews. This is a great film IMHO,I'll watch pretty much anything with Bill Murray in it but I went to see this with lowish expectations having read some lukewarm reviews. It just goes to show you shouldn't be influenced too much by reviews. This is a great film IMHO, possibly one of Murray's best. The whole cast is great and while it may be a bit mawkish and predictable it hits all the right notes with both the comedy and the drama.

Highly recommended.
Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
MrInkyOct 25, 2014
I had some time to kill and decided upon the movies, after reviewing to reviews I thought this movie had possibilities and for a change I really loved it.. It was a feel good movie will Bill Murray really having a good time with his role..I had some time to kill and decided upon the movies, after reviewing to reviews I thought this movie had possibilities and for a change I really loved it.. It was a feel good movie will Bill Murray really having a good time with his role.. You will not be disappointed. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
fantasyOct 29, 2014
Run don't walk to see this wonderful movie. Bill Murray's acting should earn him an Oscar nomination for Best Actor as it may be his finest work ever! If you are coming to see Bill Murray doing strictly comedy then this isn't for you. HeRun don't walk to see this wonderful movie. Bill Murray's acting should earn him an Oscar nomination for Best Actor as it may be his finest work ever! If you are coming to see Bill Murray doing strictly comedy then this isn't for you. He does have deadpan comedic lines in his performance but this is not what this story is about. Murray plays a Senior Citizen where life has beaten him to a pulp. As a result, he's turned his back on humanity. He's a totally broke down on his luck gambler, alcoholic, deadbeat, liar, buys sex, thief, and is short tempered. Not exactly your typical Saint. But underneath this complex man, with all his failings, lies the still beating heart of a warrior. He befriends a small boy who is acted superbly in this masterpiece. He teaches him about life and never to settle for ordinary. Murray's character hides a secret which explains why he's become this miserable old person. Melissa McCarthy plays it straight as the mother of Oliver {the boy}. She is outstanding in a supporting role as she demonstrates she can really act besides just doing comedy. The entire ensemble cast is just terrific. The movie continues to build until it finally reaches its crescendo. If you have blood pumping thru your heart you should really enjoy this movie. This is Murray's showcase movie. Go see and enjoy! Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinOct 24, 2014
It’s always a pleasant surprise to walk out of a movie thinking, “That was a lot better than I thought it would be,” and that was my reaction to “St. Vincent”.

I am not a fan of Bill Murray and it didn’t help that once again he was playing
It’s always a pleasant surprise to walk out of a movie thinking, “That was a lot better than I thought it would be,” and that was my reaction to “St. Vincent”.

I am not a fan of Bill Murray and it didn’t help that once again he was playing a curmudgeon and that It didn’t help from the first shot most of the audience laughed at everything he said and did, even when not funny! I don’t remember at what point it happened but all of a sudden he stopped playing Bill Murray and became Vincent.

Along with being negative about going into a movie starring Bill Murray I was also hesitant about seeing Melissa McCarthy once again playing a loud mouth, vulgar woman doing anything for a laugh but from her first appearance on the screen she is playing a true character, Maggie, a about to be divorced mother who is doing what she can to take care of her son, Oliver, played by Jaeden Lieberher.

Lieberher, an 11 year old, underweight, is bullied his first day in a new school and, due to the screenplay, is put together with Vincent. Okay you get a precocious young boy and an old curmudgeon you know where this movie is heading but Lieberher almost steals “St. Vincent” from Vincent!

As a teacher priest, Brother Geraghty, (Chris O’Dowd) , a bookie Zucko, (Terrace Howard), Daka (Naomi Watts), a ‘lady of the night’ and paid friend of Vincent’s who is pregnant, Sandy, (Donna Mitchell), from Oliver’s classmates to all the extras every part is perfectly cast, with the exception of Watts accent, and her being Russian, doesn’t add to the film though she does.

The screenplay by Theodore Melfi holds no surprises, but his direction of the actors and their inherit talent is spot on, and will get the tears where he wants them.

In all probability Murray will/should get starring award nominations as might McCarthy will get supporting nominations and Jaeden Lieberher certainly deserves accolades in his role as Oliver and a future career in movies.

“St. Vincent”, and Bill Murray, were a lot better than I thought they would be!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
UnKn0wN_DiSeAsEFeb 27, 2015
This is a wonderful movie with a great story which is very un-Hollywood. This is not a mainstream movie and went under the radar due to it's limited release.

It has amazing acting in which Bill Murray never looked so perfect for a role as
This is a wonderful movie with a great story which is very un-Hollywood. This is not a mainstream movie and went under the radar due to it's limited release.

It has amazing acting in which Bill Murray never looked so perfect for a role as this. He plays ever aspect of his character well.

This is a great character driven movie as well with spectacular supporting actors who you would not expect.

Simply put an amazing movie which had me in tears at the end because for me this was a real storie and I was vested in those characters.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryOct 27, 2014
If it weren't for Bill Murray in the title role, the clichés that abound around this movie would doom it quickly. He plays a crusty old man who becomes the after-school caretaker for a young boy next door. As predictability would have it,If it weren't for Bill Murray in the title role, the clichés that abound around this movie would doom it quickly. He plays a crusty old man who becomes the after-school caretaker for a young boy next door. As predictability would have it, their charms rub off on each other and they develop a sweet relationship. Melissa McCarthy tones down her comic broadness to be the sympathetic mom and Jaeden Lieberher (as the son) is fine without being especially captivating. The dialogue isn't that funny and the "outrageous" adventures aren't that scandalous, so it's all up to Murray's personality to give the movie any special appeal. If you don't mind the mindless formula and the blatant jab at the heartstrings, you might find yourself tearing up at the end. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
ismacinefiloNov 3, 2014
Que? Vaya mierda de película, normalmente me gustan las películas de Bill, pero esta, sincermanete a pesar de su crítica aprobada tanto de críticos como de usuarios no lo veo normal, y menos ese 8,7 que tiene de usuarios, para nada. Por esoQue? Vaya mierda de película, normalmente me gustan las películas de Bill, pero esta, sincermanete a pesar de su crítica aprobada tanto de críticos como de usuarios no lo veo normal, y menos ese 8,7 que tiene de usuarios, para nada. Por eso la puntuo con un 0 a pesar de que tampoco merezca un 0, si no un 5 como mucho 6, pero si pongo este 0 es porque me parecen mucho mejor las peliculas "Gone girl" y "Nightcrawler" que no esta. Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
8
greggaJan 1, 2015
A perfectly watchable movie. Bill Murray conveys himself seamlessly as usual; the role could also (arguably) suit Jack Nicholson, although Bill Murray has the ability to play out the "sad old man" moments a little better in my opinion.A perfectly watchable movie. Bill Murray conveys himself seamlessly as usual; the role could also (arguably) suit Jack Nicholson, although Bill Murray has the ability to play out the "sad old man" moments a little better in my opinion. There's nothing new about films starring grumpy people who have a heart of gold despite being hopelessly lost in themselves, and this picture is no less generous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 20, 2015
The drama elements are definitely familiar, but the comedy and cast are both excellent enough to keep things strong. Bill Murray is at the top of his game as the crotchety old guy and McCarthy goes out of her comfort zone to play aThe drama elements are definitely familiar, but the comedy and cast are both excellent enough to keep things strong. Bill Murray is at the top of his game as the crotchety old guy and McCarthy goes out of her comfort zone to play a straight-laced mother who's trying hard to just keep things together. It's a refreshing change of pace from her typical foul-mouthed work.

The dialog flows well and adds some oomph to the humor. Jaeden Lieberher delivers it well. His sort of wise beyond his years talk is the perfect companion to Murray's grumpy, sarcastic jokes. First time writer/director Theodore Melfi shows remarkable talent.

It's funny alright, but it's attempt to pull at your heart-strings isn't going to get everyone. This is because we've all sort of seen it before. We know how Vincent is going to touch the kid's life, we know how the events are going to out, and we know what lessons will be learned. That doesn't particularly hurt it because it's still sweet, but some of the weight there is lost.

It's a great movie. One that's very funny. You'll get a lot of laughs and maybe you'll find it to be moving. No matter what though it's one worth watching and not just for Bill Murray. There's real talent displayed all throughout the movie to compliment the well-loved actor's skills.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GuruChazNov 1, 2014
I'm glad I listened to the User Reviews rather than the Critic Reviews and went to see this movie. I thoroughly enjoyed "St Vincent". Bill Murray and all the cast were excellent in their roles. The story, the attitude, and the dialogueI'm glad I listened to the User Reviews rather than the Critic Reviews and went to see this movie. I thoroughly enjoyed "St Vincent". Bill Murray and all the cast were excellent in their roles. The story, the attitude, and the dialogue makes this a movie you really don't want to miss. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
displeasedNov 23, 2014
Stereotypical characters, tired recycled plot. I know we're all supposed to like Bill Murray, but the emperor has no clothes. His accent is a laughable unconvincing failure, his character is 2 dimensional. Goes for likeable jerk, but onlyStereotypical characters, tired recycled plot. I know we're all supposed to like Bill Murray, but the emperor has no clothes. His accent is a laughable unconvincing failure, his character is 2 dimensional. Goes for likeable jerk, but only succeeds at the jerk part because we know so little about him. McCarthy is completely misused, she has mostly dramatic straight lines. The plot goes nowhere major, the characters learn nothing important, and we don't care, because once again, we have no idea who these characters are; there are no normal, everyday slice-of-life moments shown. They don't feel human. Gets depressing early on and then gets worse and worse, with an empty, unsatisfying attempted recovery at the end. If this is comedy, it's the worst-feeling comedy ever. Pessimism magnified. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
8
AxgrinderNov 30, 2014
One of the better movies I’ve seen this year. It’s a feel good movie. It has a several laugh out loud moments and a couple of tear jerker moments, too. It’s a curmudgeon movie. Bill Murray’s Boston accent takes a bit of getting used to.One of the better movies I’ve seen this year. It’s a feel good movie. It has a several laugh out loud moments and a couple of tear jerker moments, too. It’s a curmudgeon movie. Bill Murray’s Boston accent takes a bit of getting used to. Is it a bit predictably? Yes, but this is not a thriller, so it doesn’t diminish the fun. Is the story original? Yes, it didn’t remind me of a bunch of other movies I’ve already seen. Is it a kid’s movie? Nope. The themes are mostly adult. Is it vulgar? The humor is ribald at times, but the movie avoids the kind of blatantly crude, shock humor you see in today’s typical comedy. Why didn’t it get higher ratings from the critics? It’s the kind of movie that professional critics find uninteresting. It doesn’t break new ground. It’s not epic. There is no unusual cinematography. It doesn’t contain any biting social commentary. It’s not about our dystopian future. It’s doesn’t contain senseless violence and a tragic ending. This one is pure enjoyment. Unless you're crankier than Bill Murray's character, it's hard not to be entertained by this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
pthilNov 13, 2014
This should be a Bill Murray classic. His character is like Nicholson in "As Good As It Gets", bad guy has some good qualities. The 'kid' is great, love him from the first line. Love the: "woman who works at night?". There's some cheesinessThis should be a Bill Murray classic. His character is like Nicholson in "As Good As It Gets", bad guy has some good qualities. The 'kid' is great, love him from the first line. Love the: "woman who works at night?". There's some cheesiness at times, but not overwhelming. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AnalyticCriticNov 8, 2014
The film St.Vincent is about Vincent who is a broke old man with gambling, drinking, and smoking issues. When a new neighbor Maggie moves in with her young son Oliver, Vincent starts babysitting him. Over time he starts forming a relationshipThe film St.Vincent is about Vincent who is a broke old man with gambling, drinking, and smoking issues. When a new neighbor Maggie moves in with her young son Oliver, Vincent starts babysitting him. Over time he starts forming a relationship with Oliver which could change him.

Now from just the trailers to me it resembled something like that of last year's Bad Grandpa which worried me a little as that was not really funny. I am glad to say that this movie really surprised me. For the first half of it the film focuses on the comedy aspect of then for the second half shifts to a more drama type of film. What is neat about this is while it shifted the movie never completely lost it's comedy, it was always present. The drama was actually very interesting. The movie never got boring, it either had interested drama, funny comedy, or both.

Bill Murray who plays Vincent is very good in his role. He really sells the character and steals the show. Mellisa McCarthy who is Maggie also does an excellent job. Jaeden Lieberher who is Oliver actually does a good job. Usually I am not a big fan of kid actors, but Jaeden Lieberher has quite the performance.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
02summitNov 22, 2014
This film is unrealistic and is full of contrived scenes. Yes Bill is past his prime but he continues to perform. If you want to kill some time and not feel too cheated go and see the movie and you won't be disappointed.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
LynMar 7, 2015
This one's strictly for Bill Murray fans. Well, I am one, too, but this felt like an indulgent vehicle for Murray as he pivots around various cliches. It also felt like a Brooklyn version of "About a Boy" (Hugh Grant, Toni Collette) only theThis one's strictly for Bill Murray fans. Well, I am one, too, but this felt like an indulgent vehicle for Murray as he pivots around various cliches. It also felt like a Brooklyn version of "About a Boy" (Hugh Grant, Toni Collette) only the latter film had more edge and a brighter, more engaging boy (Nicholas Hoult). Besides Murray, I did enjoy Melissa McCarthy in a role with more heart & less buffoonery than usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Dec 31, 2014
St. Vincent has all the qualities of a good movie with its humor, solid acting and charm. It was an enjoyable movie with believable characters, especially Naomi Watts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jan 4, 2015
An irresistibly pleasing movie filled with interesting humorous characters. Of course it is predictable, but it is able to remain an enjoyable and touching film the entire way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 3, 2015
Though St. Vincent is not the most original film ever made and is quite safe on the whole, it is still very well made and quite entertaining. Featuring a stellar performance from Bill Murray, St. Vincent is quite a charming little film thatThough St. Vincent is not the most original film ever made and is quite safe on the whole, it is still very well made and quite entertaining. Featuring a stellar performance from Bill Murray, St. Vincent is quite a charming little film that manages to be both funny and moving as we watch the relationship between this jaded old man and a young kid come together. Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts are also both pretty good here. There is not a ton to say on this, because as I said, it does break much new ground when it comes to sentimental dramedies, other than to say that this one is quite well made and extremely entertaining. While not original, it does not stop it from being a good film featuring a great performance from Murray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dinojay2May 22, 2015
Bill Murray at his best - understated, dry, ambiguous. The perfect type of movie for his considerable talents. All in all, it hit a lot of different tones and did them all well. The kind of movie almost everyone will find something they like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubJun 6, 2015
It´s warm, there are good actors in it, it is kind of different and definitely fun to watch... until the last part when really tired cliches almost ruin it. A too sugar-coated ending. Could have been better. A 6 or a 7 out of 10. But due toIt´s warm, there are good actors in it, it is kind of different and definitely fun to watch... until the last part when really tired cliches almost ruin it. A too sugar-coated ending. Could have been better. A 6 or a 7 out of 10. But due to the ending I give it a 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticMar 4, 2015
Though most of the characters in the film are unlikeable, the film itself was likeable enough. The film is fairly dramatic with a few spots of well placed comedy. Overall this film is solid, but not spectacular. B
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dierregiMay 25, 2015
This is a good option for anybody in the mood for some uplifting comedy not targeted to teens, Bill Murray is a grumpy man (not much of a stretch from previous movies), who is forced to babysit his new neighbor's son. He is a ratherThis is a good option for anybody in the mood for some uplifting comedy not targeted to teens, Bill Murray is a grumpy man (not much of a stretch from previous movies), who is forced to babysit his new neighbor's son. He is a rather disgraceful person, with some redeeming qualities. The plot is quite predictable, but sometimes it is pleasant to follow a simple movie, without too many twists and turns. Besides, I like Bill Murray in most of his movie and I enjoyed this one, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
manofthemoonJan 13, 2015
The basic premise may have been done a thousand times before, but that doesn't stop "St. Vincent" being an amusing, funny, touching film. Bill Murray is a pleasure to watch, making even the most seemingly disagreeable character somebody thatThe basic premise may have been done a thousand times before, but that doesn't stop "St. Vincent" being an amusing, funny, touching film. Bill Murray is a pleasure to watch, making even the most seemingly disagreeable character somebody that we warm to. Naomi Watts as Vincent's pregnant, Russian stripper girlfriend is also fun value. Worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
googolendtimesFeb 19, 2015
This role is an ideal fit for Bill Murray, arguably the best character actor of his generation. His turn in "St. Vincent" is an excellent showcase for both his impeccable comic timing and dramatic nuance. But as well as his star power, theThis role is an ideal fit for Bill Murray, arguably the best character actor of his generation. His turn in "St. Vincent" is an excellent showcase for both his impeccable comic timing and dramatic nuance. But as well as his star power, the film has some stellar supporting work from Melissa McCarthy, Naomi Watts and Jaden Lieberher, as well as being well-written, funny, and moving, even if it is a bit predictable. For Bill Murray fans, it's a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscFeb 13, 2015
I thought this movie was going to suck, but i am wrong. I laughed so many times,when Bill Murray's character says something funny. Writer and Director Theodore Melfi knows how to make a good comedy also an excellent drama story. Bill MurrayI thought this movie was going to suck, but i am wrong. I laughed so many times,when Bill Murray's character says something funny. Writer and Director Theodore Melfi knows how to make a good comedy also an excellent drama story. Bill Murray proves at age 64 he still got the skills, but i wasn't sure if Melissa McCarthy was good in a drama movie i always loved her as a vulgar fail mouth character. People thought she was gonna suck since her dreadful film "tammy" but she nails it! as Maggie a single mother. Jaeden Lieberher is funny also cool as Oliver. I am gonna give this movie an A Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CherryxldApr 11, 2015
St. Vincent es una comedia dramática que resulta bastante agradable y también con un buen poder refrexivo.

Esta película nos ofrece una historia sobre un abuelo amargado y alcohólico, y un niño con curiosidad que casualmente se conocen, y
St. Vincent es una comedia dramática que resulta bastante agradable y también con un buen poder refrexivo.

Esta película nos ofrece una historia sobre un abuelo amargado y alcohólico, y un niño con curiosidad que casualmente se conocen, y el resultado logra llegar a ser satisfactorio consiguiendo abarcar en buena forma los temas familiares y también entregándonos momentos cómicos que ayudan a este largometraje a ser más abundante y admirable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DAL1960Dec 1, 2014
There;s nothing really original in this movie,
It's occasionally funny. It pulls on the usual heart strings.
But what I really loved about this movies were performances, especially Melissa McCarthy. I'm convinced with that she could be a
There;s nothing really original in this movie,
It's occasionally funny. It pulls on the usual heart strings.
But what I really loved about this movies were performances, especially Melissa McCarthy.
I'm convinced with that she could be a great dramatic actress. In the movie, there was nothing false about performance.
Bill Murray was great as well as man who has way too many problems. His character Vin is not a likable, but everyone loves him. I loved him.
Naomi Watts is one of the sexiest women on the screen today and once again she left me wanting more of her, Her Russian accent was pedestrian,and frankly could have did a French accent I would have went home with her. Terrence Howard had a small role as bookie and frankly I was amazed how good he was. He's a great actor who needs more work.
And the young actor,Jaeden Lieberher was just ok. He didn't add anything, but he wasn't a distraction. One thing I kept thinking was, man he looks like the Caulkin brother that no one talks about he. He bares a strong resemblance to Rory.

"St, Vincent" was never boring.
I
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HaithamBNov 15, 2014
St. Vincent features good chemistry between Bill Murray, Naomi Watts, Melissa McCarthy and Jaeden Lieberher. It is a good hearted movie, somehow crude, giggly and light tuned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tvnewsguidoNov 15, 2014
Sad, pathetic people making sad, pathetic, and stupid decisions with predictably bad consequences.

The emotional button-pushing ending doesn't change the basic facts - these are not people with whom I want to spend time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
seventhsealDec 7, 2014
Maybe I expected too much and only feel disappointed as a result. The story is dull, the laughs few and far between and the overall experience is like a cheese pizza...what I mean by this is its lacking ingredients that make the experience aMaybe I expected too much and only feel disappointed as a result. The story is dull, the laughs few and far between and the overall experience is like a cheese pizza...what I mean by this is its lacking ingredients that make the experience a BADDABING and ultimately we almost get a BADDAMOVIE...but not entirely.

I would struggle to recommend this or would not like to advise people to look elsewhere. There is something here worth looking into but maybe only if there is nothing else on!

Naomi Watts in this flick nearly made me want to turn this flick off. How annoying the accent is,..it made me angry that's how bad it is! I simply wanted to cut her pointless character out of the film, it would have improved the experience.

Overall I feel this score of 6 outta 10 is bordering on the high.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Red-Opposom-098Dec 4, 2014
One of my favorite movies this year. Most characters are likable, at points the movie was a little predicable. This movie has it all the sad moments the happy moments, it's a must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WJSSep 4, 2015
This film has some great comedic performances from all concerned (new comer Jaeden Lieberher and Naomi Watts are true standouts) and the direction is pretty good. The script, which has some laugh-out-loud moments, is also fun but it does tendThis film has some great comedic performances from all concerned (new comer Jaeden Lieberher and Naomi Watts are true standouts) and the direction is pretty good. The script, which has some laugh-out-loud moments, is also fun but it does tend to try too hard to tug at the heart strings near the end. Overall, it's pretty good family entertainment despite the occasional use of blue language. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DCEdmondsDec 9, 2014
"St. Vincent" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: If Bill Murray doesn't win Best Actor, then it's an absolute crime. Playing the crass title character, Murray was outstanding both comedically and dramatically. The film itself
"St. Vincent" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: If Bill Murray doesn't win Best Actor, then it's an absolute crime. Playing the crass title character, Murray was outstanding both comedically and dramatically. The film itself is well written, amusing, and emotionally satisfying. Naomi Watts was nearly unrecognizable as Vincent's call girl girlfriend, Daka, and Melissa McCarthy was solid in a supporting role, which was surprising since I typically find that she's the same person in all of her films. One of the best films of 2014.

The Bad: At times the film does go a tad overboard on the sentimentality, especially in the last quarter. Murray's Vincent is also at times almost TOO unlikeable and there are a few scenes that were a little too ham-fisted in driving the point home that he's a curmudgeon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DumbCriticDec 9, 2014
I don't think I have ever like Bill Murray more, than in his role as a miserable, self-destructive, curmudgeon in St. Vincent. The film brings us nothing new with his spiralling indulgence but ends up breaking the stereo-type, whileI don't think I have ever like Bill Murray more, than in his role as a miserable, self-destructive, curmudgeon in St. Vincent. The film brings us nothing new with his spiralling indulgence but ends up breaking the stereo-type, while simultaneously staying true to his character. Jaeden Lieberher is massively impressive considering it is his first ever major role. This film will have audiences both laughing and crying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrettBGowenDec 27, 2014
Bill Murray, Melissa McCarthy, and Jaeden Lieberher all killed it in this movie, comedically and dramatically. I found it very refreshing to see Melissa McCarthy portraying a more realistic human being rather than the caricatured person thatBill Murray, Melissa McCarthy, and Jaeden Lieberher all killed it in this movie, comedically and dramatically. I found it very refreshing to see Melissa McCarthy portraying a more realistic human being rather than the caricatured person that her "type" seems to land her in Hollywood. Lieberher delivers his lines and his acting smartly at a young age. And this may be one of Bill Murray's best roles to date. Naomi Watts' character was unlike anything she's ever done before, and it resulted in something a little bit awkward, but completely harmless.

The plot may have fallen flat at certain points, and the script was used as a tool a few times for unnecessary sentimentality and conflict, but overall, the story and the message has resonance and tugs on your heart strings.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shl13132Dec 30, 2014
This movie is very entertaining with Oscar worthy performances from Bill Murray and Melissa McCarthy. St. Vincent delivered a very convincing story with moments where you will be cracking up laughing net moment you will being almost crying.This movie is very entertaining with Oscar worthy performances from Bill Murray and Melissa McCarthy. St. Vincent delivered a very convincing story with moments where you will be cracking up laughing net moment you will being almost crying. St. Vincent has already obtained two nominations for Golden Globe awards and should receive more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ajarias96Jan 8, 2015
St. Vincent is definitely enjoyable and entertaining. Melissa McCarthy returns to form to be in a role that she should be in and not one that demeans her talents. Bill Murray also gives a great performance as the old-man next door Vinny. St.St. Vincent is definitely enjoyable and entertaining. Melissa McCarthy returns to form to be in a role that she should be in and not one that demeans her talents. Bill Murray also gives a great performance as the old-man next door Vinny. St. Vincent is funny and one that everyone should see but it loses points for originality as it is a movie that is definitely predictable and one that you will feel you've seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
royphishoohMar 6, 2015
Outstanding film, with a fine story and excellent performances from the cast. Murray was great and the acting from Jaeden Lieberher was a good deal better than we saw in the vastly over-rated "Boyhood". This film was about real people not aOutstanding film, with a fine story and excellent performances from the cast. Murray was great and the acting from Jaeden Lieberher was a good deal better than we saw in the vastly over-rated "Boyhood". This film was about real people not a Hollywood hack's idea of how people behave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
horizonbtsMar 4, 2015
I picked this movie up thinking it would be middle of the road, WRONG!!! I think this is one of Bill Murray's best works, and as you get into the movie it just gets better and better. Bill Murray is at the top of his game probably his bestI picked this movie up thinking it would be middle of the road, WRONG!!! I think this is one of Bill Murray's best works, and as you get into the movie it just gets better and better. Bill Murray is at the top of his game probably his best work since Caddyshack or Groundhog Day. As you know ahead of time his characters are going to be quirky! Believe me he is quirky, but as the movie progresses you find out there is more to the character he portrays than meets the eye-so true for a lot of us in real life if people take the time to get to know someone!! The movie gives us a lot to think about for all of us, as sometimes things aren't as they seem!! I just can't say enough about the movie and it also gets a boost from Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts! Newcomer Jaeden Lieberher is over the top and I would predict great things for this young actor. If you haven't picked St. Vincent and are hesitant, don't wait any longer, as I can't say enough about this movie in a positive way!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dorightMar 3, 2015
It's formulaic and predictable, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Watching Bill Murray is a joy and for once, they didn't have Melissa McCarthy doing slapstick. She's actually a pretty good actress. The kid is GREAT. I recommend it for familyIt's formulaic and predictable, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Watching Bill Murray is a joy and for once, they didn't have Melissa McCarthy doing slapstick. She's actually a pretty good actress. The kid is GREAT. I recommend it for family movie night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Bill Murray playing a angry, old man that doesn't get a long with nobody, basically Bill Murray.

St. Vincent is about a young boy finds himself lost - but he finds an unlikely ally and friend in his next door neighbor - an abrasive, bawdy
Bill Murray playing a angry, old man that doesn't get a long with nobody, basically Bill Murray.

St. Vincent is about a young boy finds himself lost - but he finds an unlikely ally and friend in his next door neighbor - an abrasive, bawdy war veteran.

The trailers to this movie made it look like one of those cliche story lines : Old man and a little boy that don't get a long very well at the start, but their friendship start's to grow as the film goes a long, but then something really big happens that makes both of them hate each other, until the end were they put their battles a side and become friends again, and everybody is happy and fill with joy and laughter. St. Vincent has some of those cliches, but the movie itself takes a different turn that surprise me.

Bill Murray once again brings a fantastic performance in this movie, as he normally does. He's character is like a moody, A-hole that nobody wants to be around him, but Murray has that likability to him and that fuzzy feeling every time he's on screen that it's hard to hate him if I got to be honest.

This is Theodore Melfi first directed movie and wow he started off great, because Melfi has such passion and energy in this movie and it shows how well driven the movie is. All the cast did great as well, the story had it's different twist and turns which took me by surprise.

The things that didn't in this movie for me is some of the character's were weak and really not that interesting, and the writing was a bit messy in some scenes.

But overall St. Vincent is a fuzzy and well driven movie with a story that took risks with it's twist and turns, and the old man and the little boy back and forward with each other worked really well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 9, 2015
This movie is much worse than I'd thought it'd be. Not really that funny and the movie was just plain boring. The only thing good about this movie was that it was new and original. Melissa McCarthy-stick to funny movies like The Heat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nosmaMar 28, 2016
I enjoyed Melissa McCarthy playing a serious role and bringing humour into it rather than the goofy roles she has played lately where the jokes just fall flat . All the actors are great and believable. Bill Murray is on point and consistentlyI enjoyed Melissa McCarthy playing a serious role and bringing humour into it rather than the goofy roles she has played lately where the jokes just fall flat . All the actors are great and believable. Bill Murray is on point and consistently entertaining to the end. The kid is just adorable. The movie felt like it was based on a true story. Beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
IAmTechJun 18, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bill Murray is back in comedy!! isn't he? well this is almost a comedy I guess, if you discount all the soppy emotional stuff. You know what really amazed me...the films poster, it has Murray strutting a familiar pose whilst smoking a cigarette in full view! Hey this is the politically correct modern era guys, you can't be doing that, think of the children!

So old Bill plays Vincent a Vietnam Veteran who lives alone in Brooklyn with his cat, his wife has Alzheimer's disease and stays in a nursing home which Vincent visits. Due to his age, loneliness and lack of money Vincent is a grumpy, cynical, gambling, boozing, smoking old man that doesn't have the time of day for anyone (accept his sick wife). He owes loan sharks money and his only real friend (of sorts) is a Russian prostitute whom he bangs. Can you feel the comedy here?

Anyway a new neighbour moves in next door who is a single mother (Maggie) raising a young boy (Oliver). Her job creates problems with picking Oliver up from school and looking after him in general so she reluctantly must fall back on Vincent to help out. Naturally Vincent being the kind hearted soul that he is sees this as an opportunity to make some easy money. What follows is the obvious bonding between the pair as Vincent realises there is more to Oliver than just using him for menial tasks whilst Oliver realises there is actually some good left in Vincent.

The main focus of this movie is of course on Murray and the young boy whom he kinda befriends along the way. In all honesty this character wasn't a million miles away from Murray's character in 'Lost in Translation' in the sense that both were lonely, cynical and kinda rude...oh and Murray played them both. Again I gotta be honest Murray's range ain't that great, he can do the sarcastic, deadpan, sneering **** type very well, it suits his comedic style...well that is his comedic style. Unfortunately everything he does kinda feels the same even when he's clearly trying not too, hence this character of Vincent just feels like Murray being Murray as usual.

The plot is dangerously predictable and does end with a real mushy setup. It all kicks off with Vincent being rude and inconsiderate towards Oliver and his mother Maggie (Melissa McCarthy trying to act but failing). Then as things progress Vincent starts to take a shine to the young lad as they go gambling together, visit his wife, going to bars etc...Vincent also helps Oliver to fight and stand up against a school bully. In turn Oliver helps Vincent mature and see things in a different light, helping him with daily chores and generally keeping him company etc...

Eventually it all goes pear shaped mainly because Vincent is being a bad influence despite actually trying to be a good influence or even a reasonable role model. Maggie's other half (a lawyer) restricts young Oliver from seeing Vincent fearing for the well-being of his son and Maggie to a degree. We then get the sequences of despair and emotional distress seeing Vincent at his lowest, running out of money, losing his wife, having a stroke and discovering he misses Oliver recognising they were actually good friends. But we then get the inevitably happy ending sequences where Vincent is nursed back to health with the help of Maggie and Oliver and Vincent kinda comes around. Its very much the stereotypical roller-coaster ride of starting low, the good times, the bad times and then finishing high again.

The story kept me interested but its not really that funny, its way darker and more dramatic than it lets on. Much of the Murray moments are pretty depressing, kinda poignant and basically miserable really, even the sequence where he helps Oliver from getting beaten up by the school bullies is actually a bit disturbing. I was expecting it to be funny but was shocked at how gritty and harsh that sequence was. The only amusing moment that stuck out in my mind (that I can actually remember) is at the start when Murray crashes his car into his own fence and manages to blame some removal men for it when they accidentally bump into his tree. I guess the aim here was to create a crummy, sleazy, no good fraud of a guy who meets a young boy (young family) and gets his life turned around. Sure Vincent is an old miser but deep deep down he has a good heart and the other characters just need to excavate it.

Yep I'm sure that's the angle here but its lost in space, I can see the reason why people are hailing it as a solid movie for Murray but is it really?? Its not comedy, its nothing new and original and worst of all its just Murray being Murray...again, the only difference here being McCarthy NOT being a loud obnoxious cow. The entire Russian prostitute character played by Naomi Watts just left me confused, you could quite easily remove that character from the movie and nothing would change. I still don't get what she was suppose to be there for...and why pregnant? that was never even touched on I do believe, it just made things more awkward.

This is not a bad film don't get me wrong, its a decent emotional ride with solid performances. But in my view it was rather depressing and not overly enjoyable...until the very end with the obligatory weepy finale. Am I being too stern here? maybe but I'm still surprised at how genuinely gloomy this all was. I like Murray and he does a good aging curmudgeon with a sharp tongue...but he's done this type of thing before and usually with more laughs. Hence I still stand by Sofia Coppola's Nippon based story as one of Bill Murray's best characters in crisis.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Heart-warming drama. A boy discovers the man behind the grouch played by Bill Murray. Not funny except in the driest possible way, but entertaining and life-affirming none-the-less
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews