Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 29, 2011
    100
    Bursts with action, ideas and interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    May 4, 2011
    90
    Stake Land is the movie "The Road" should have been.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 21, 2011
    80
    Horror fans will celebrate Stake Land, and future horror-film directors should go to school on it. The flame is still burning -- and it keeps the undead away, at least for a while.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 21, 2011
    80
    This unusually taut sophomore feature from Jim Mickle is more abnormal than most in that its creatures are capable not only of evolving but also of embracing religious fanaticism.
  5. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Apr 19, 2011
    80
    It's thick with a distinct mood-the sadness and exhilaration of having nothing left to lose-and the characters, in their desperation and drive, feel real.
  6. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    Apr 19, 2011
    80
    A highly satisfying low-budget horror-thriller from helmer/co-writer Jim Mickle.
  7. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    This doomed world may feel familiar, but Stake Land remains one of the genre's smartest entries in years.
  8. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 27, 2011
    75
    Director Jim Mickle, who co-wrote the film with his star Nick Damici, has crafted a good-looking, well-played and atmospheric apocalyptic vision.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 28, 2011
    70
    Resourceful writer-director Jim Mickle covers both in his realism-tinged indie Stake Land and shows that a savvy mixture of characterization, atmosphere and gore-eographed suspense can make even the most familiar fright tropes feel vaguely organic again.
  10. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Apr 28, 2011
    70
    Mickle's observation of a devastated working-class America is so sharp that the horror elements, though effectively handled, come to feel like an afterthought.
  11. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Apr 19, 2011
    70
    A gritty, low-key hybrid of horror film and road movie that aptly demonstrates the stylistic flexibility of this undying genre.
  12. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 25, 2011
    65
    Though it has plenty of shocks, the film creates a wasteland that would be compellingly deranged even without vampires pressing insistently at every border. Horror is just the half of it.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 28, 2011
    63
    It is a film of many ploooooches, meaning: stake in the chest? Ploooooch goes the sound effect. Yank it out again: ploooooch. Wipe. Rinse. Repeat.
  14. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 22, 2011
    25
    This genre flat-lined a long time ago. Why won't it stay dead?
  15. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 19, 2011
    20
    The whole movie aches from tired blood.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Stunningly good horror movie - one of the best in a long time. The obvious comparison is that this must be some kind of 'Zombie Land' rip-off, especially with the vampire-tough-guy-escorting-younger-teen-and-coming-of-age storyline. Make no mistake, any parallels do not matter in the least. This movie is excellent and I cannot believe that it has a PG-13 rating! You know you're in for something brutal in the first five minutes when a vampire is encountered in the rafters of a farmhouse chewing on a newborn baby before dangling its corpse by one arm and dropping it to the floor below. Don't get me wrong, I have three kids of my own and I hate scenes like that - but it establishes the dark tone of the movie and how serious the movie-makers were about creating a realistic post-apocalyptic America that doesn't treat the viewers like idiots. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I'm surprised there's so few reviews for this one. I found it to be incredibly enjoyable, the atmosphere, the acting, the action, the suspense. It's all there, and it all works like it should Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I seriously think that this will be a slow burn success like Shawshank.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it held up it's influences
    for all to see - The Road, Kung Fu, The Fellowship of the Ring, Karate Kid, Deliverance, etc - but for a LOW BUDGET FILM it seriously delivered. I was gripped from the first minute. I didn't recognise any of the actors - even Kelly McGillis; what a refreshing change. Zombie Land with brains (... although I've yet to see Zombie Land so apologise where relevant).

    I'm considering buying the OST. *Don't believe the trailer. This is not a non-stop action romp*

    Looking forward to the sequel ...
    Full Review »