User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This is not just a very good zombie movie, it is a very good movie period. Everyone is vulnerable to the walking dead be they baby, nun, or even a pregnant teenager which made this seem more real than any zombie movie I have ever seen. The haunting sound track, a cast of unknowns (except for Kelly McGillis), a very authentic landscape, tightly written dialogue made this film a cut aboveThis is not just a very good zombie movie, it is a very good movie period. Everyone is vulnerable to the walking dead be they baby, nun, or even a pregnant teenager which made this seem more real than any zombie movie I have ever seen. The haunting sound track, a cast of unknowns (except for Kelly McGillis), a very authentic landscape, tightly written dialogue made this film a cut above other films of this genre. It is Road Warrior meets Karate Kid meets The Road meets Zombie Land but still maintains its own personality. Well done. Expand
  2. May 14, 2013
    10
    ''the best vampire movie ive seen in years possibbly the best one over all i had low expectations when i got this movie i didnt really think it was goin to bee that great but i sure was wrong the vampires are more grusome looking scarier and intense the acting was Great The Vampires were exellent and overall i give this film a POWERHOUSE 10 watch it you wont regret it''
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I'm surprised there's so few reviews for this one. I found it to be incredibly enjoyable, the atmosphere, the acting, the action, the suspense. It's all there, and it all works like it should
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    I've never really been a huge vampire fan and I've really disliked almost every vampire movie I've seen, I can't really tell you why but Zombies are where it's at for me. I am proud to say however this is the best vampire movie I've ever seen. It takes on several attributes of Zombie lore, humanity is on the brink of destruction, survivors are looking for a safe haven, gangs of thugs seekI've never really been a huge vampire fan and I've really disliked almost every vampire movie I've seen, I can't really tell you why but Zombies are where it's at for me. I am proud to say however this is the best vampire movie I've ever seen. It takes on several attributes of Zombie lore, humanity is on the brink of destruction, survivors are looking for a safe haven, gangs of thugs seek to take advantage of the week, and all hope seems lost. It kind of feels like the Walking Dead except with vampires, and even though it does borrow a lot from Zombie fiction it still feels like a vampire movie. It takes vampire movies into new territory, and if more vampire movies would do the same we might see them come back on top one day, but until then at least we have this fantastic vampire movie to enjoy. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Stunningly good horror movie - one of the best in a long time. The obvious comparison is that this must be some kind of 'Zombie Land' rip-off, especially with the vampire-tough-guy-escorting-younger-teen-and-coming-of-age storyline. Make no mistake, any parallels do not matter in the least. This movie is excellent and I cannot believe that it has a PG-13 rating! You know you're in forStunningly good horror movie - one of the best in a long time. The obvious comparison is that this must be some kind of 'Zombie Land' rip-off, especially with the vampire-tough-guy-escorting-younger-teen-and-coming-of-age storyline. Make no mistake, any parallels do not matter in the least. This movie is excellent and I cannot believe that it has a PG-13 rating! You know you're in for something brutal in the first five minutes when a vampire is encountered in the rafters of a farmhouse chewing on a newborn baby before dangling its corpse by one arm and dropping it to the floor below. Don't get me wrong, I have three kids of my own and I hate scenes like that - but it establishes the dark tone of the movie and how serious the movie-makers were about creating a realistic post-apocalyptic America that doesn't treat the viewers like idiots. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I seriously think that this will be a slow burn success like Shawshank.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it held up it's influences for all to see - The Road, Kung Fu, The Fellowship of the Ring, Karate Kid, Deliverance, etc - but for a LOW BUDGET FILM it seriously delivered. I was gripped from the first minute. I didn't recognise any of the actors - even Kelly McGillis; what a
    I seriously think that this will be a slow burn success like Shawshank.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it held up it's influences for all to see - The Road, Kung Fu, The Fellowship of the Ring, Karate Kid, Deliverance, etc - but for a LOW BUDGET FILM it seriously delivered. I was gripped from the first minute. I didn't recognise any of the actors - even Kelly McGillis; what a refreshing change. Zombie Land with brains (... although I've yet to see Zombie Land so apologise where relevant).

    I'm considering buying the OST. *Don't believe the trailer. This is not a non-stop action romp*

    Looking forward to the sequel ...
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    This doomed world may feel familiar, but Stake Land remains one of the genre's smartest entries in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    May 4, 2011
    90
    Stake Land is the movie "The Road" should have been.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 29, 2011
    100
    Bursts with action, ideas and interesting characters.