Stake Land

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    The world needs more movies like this- a post apocolyptic world with a realistic feel. The movie doesn't push any one concept to far (relationships, human vs human) but has it all. A very good movie.
  2. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    I've never really been a huge vampire fan and I've really disliked almost every vampire movie I've seen, I can't really tell you why but Zombies are where it's at for me. I am proud to say however this is the best vampire movie I've ever seen. It takes on several attributes of Zombie lore, humanity is on the brink of destruction, survivors are looking for a safe haven, gangs of thugs seekI've never really been a huge vampire fan and I've really disliked almost every vampire movie I've seen, I can't really tell you why but Zombies are where it's at for me. I am proud to say however this is the best vampire movie I've ever seen. It takes on several attributes of Zombie lore, humanity is on the brink of destruction, survivors are looking for a safe haven, gangs of thugs seek to take advantage of the week, and all hope seems lost. It kind of feels like the Walking Dead except with vampires, and even though it does borrow a lot from Zombie fiction it still feels like a vampire movie. It takes vampire movies into new territory, and if more vampire movies would do the same we might see them come back on top one day, but until then at least we have this fantastic vampire movie to enjoy. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I seriously think that this will be a slow burn success like Shawshank.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it held up it's influences for all to see - The Road, Kung Fu, The Fellowship of the Ring, Karate Kid, Deliverance, etc - but for a LOW BUDGET FILM it seriously delivered. I was gripped from the first minute. I didn't recognise any of the actors - even Kelly McGillis; what a
    I seriously think that this will be a slow burn success like Shawshank.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Yes, it held up it's influences for all to see - The Road, Kung Fu, The Fellowship of the Ring, Karate Kid, Deliverance, etc - but for a LOW BUDGET FILM it seriously delivered. I was gripped from the first minute. I didn't recognise any of the actors - even Kelly McGillis; what a refreshing change. Zombie Land with brains (... although I've yet to see Zombie Land so apologise where relevant).

    I'm considering buying the OST. *Don't believe the trailer. This is not a non-stop action romp*

    Looking forward to the sequel ...
    Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Stunningly good horror movie - one of the best in a long time. The obvious comparison is that this must be some kind of 'Zombie Land' rip-off, especially with the vampire-tough-guy-escorting-younger-teen-and-coming-of-age storyline. Make no mistake, any parallels do not matter in the least. This movie is excellent and I cannot believe that it has a PG-13 rating! You know you're in forStunningly good horror movie - one of the best in a long time. The obvious comparison is that this must be some kind of 'Zombie Land' rip-off, especially with the vampire-tough-guy-escorting-younger-teen-and-coming-of-age storyline. Make no mistake, any parallels do not matter in the least. This movie is excellent and I cannot believe that it has a PG-13 rating! You know you're in for something brutal in the first five minutes when a vampire is encountered in the rafters of a farmhouse chewing on a newborn baby before dangling its corpse by one arm and dropping it to the floor below. Don't get me wrong, I have three kids of my own and I hate scenes like that - but it establishes the dark tone of the movie and how serious the movie-makers were about creating a realistic post-apocalyptic America that doesn't treat the viewers like idiots. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This is not just a very good zombie movie, it is a very good movie period. Everyone is vulnerable to the walking dead be they baby, nun, or even a pregnant teenager which made this seem more real than any zombie movie I have ever seen. The haunting sound track, a cast of unknowns (except for Kelly McGillis), a very authentic landscape, tightly written dialogue made this film a cut aboveThis is not just a very good zombie movie, it is a very good movie period. Everyone is vulnerable to the walking dead be they baby, nun, or even a pregnant teenager which made this seem more real than any zombie movie I have ever seen. The haunting sound track, a cast of unknowns (except for Kelly McGillis), a very authentic landscape, tightly written dialogue made this film a cut above other films of this genre. It is Road Warrior meets Karate Kid meets The Road meets Zombie Land but still maintains its own personality. Well done. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    The world has been ravished by despair after a deadly plague has transformed most of the population into bloodthirsty vampires. Martin and his mentor, Mister, set off through dangerous territory in the hopes of reaching the safe haven known as New Eden, but in order to do so, they will have to fight their way through hordes of the undead, let alone an army of crazed religious fanatics thatThe world has been ravished by despair after a deadly plague has transformed most of the population into bloodthirsty vampires. Martin and his mentor, Mister, set off through dangerous territory in the hopes of reaching the safe haven known as New Eden, but in order to do so, they will have to fight their way through hordes of the undead, let alone an army of crazed religious fanatics that have embraced "God's wrath." Nick Damici and Jim Mickle follow up their vastly underrated feature debut, MULBERRY STREET, with another powerful post-apocalyptic vision of hell starring Damici as the mysterious vampire slayer, "Mister." The scope of the picture feels all-encompassing, transforming the entire world into an undead nightmare on a relatively small-scale. Damici creates an excellent new anti-hero in Mister, with his brash behavior and uncaring attitude amounting to a memorable performance overall. Connor Paolo comes as a much bigger surprise, however, as Mister's argil apprentice, Martin. His sincerity and vulnerability are what draw us in to their unfortunate predicament as they race for survival. With the human element already in place, we turn to the unbridled terror of Mickle's vampires. The creatures function on a level of base instinct, and attack with the ferocity of an untamed animal. This makes for many frighteningly intense moments as Mister and Martin find themselves in inescapable situations against overwhelming odds. STAKE LAND succeeds on almost every level, and is a refreshing change of pace for vampire fans. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I'm surprised there's so few reviews for this one. I found it to be incredibly enjoyable, the atmosphere, the acting, the action, the suspense. It's all there, and it all works like it should
  8. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    "Stake Land" has strong characters, a lucid script, plenty of action, and something more substantial which elevates this film from the rest of the pack.

    America is a lost nation. When an epidemic of vampirism strikes, humans find themselves on the run from vicious, feral beasts. Cities are tombs and survivors cling together in rural pockets, fearful of nightfall. When his family is
    "Stake Land" has strong characters, a lucid script, plenty of action, and something more substantial which elevates this film from the rest of the pack.

    America is a lost nation. When an epidemic of vampirism strikes, humans find themselves on the run from vicious, feral beasts. Cities are tombs and survivors cling together in rural pockets, fearful of nightfall. When his family is slaughtered, young Martin ("Gossip Girl's" Connor Paolo) is taken under the wing of a grizzled, wayward hunter (Nick Damici) whose new prey is the Undead.

    Simply known as Mister, the vampire stalker takes Martin on a journey through the locked-down towns of America's heartland, searching for a better place while taking down any bloodsuckers that cross their path. Along the way they recruit fellow travellers, including a nun (Kelly McGillis) who is caught in a crisis of faith when her followers turn into ravenous beasts. This ragtag family unit cautiously moves north, avoiding major thoroughfares that have been seized by The Brethren, a fundamentalist militia headed by Jebedia Loven (Michael Cerveris) that interprets the plague as the Lord's work.

    The film has the feel of "The Walking Dead" with vampires in place of zombies. With limited resources, it is nicely realized and a impressive level of authenticity is achieved. There are no stand out individual performances, but uniformly the cast does a fine job. Nice pacing backed by an equally fine musical score. A refreshingly unique horror film that achieves on all fronts, even if Canada is the final destination.
    Expand
  9. May 14, 2013
    10
    ''the best vampire movie ive seen in years possibbly the best one over all i had low expectations when i got this movie i didnt really think it was goin to bee that great but i sure was wrong the vampires are more grusome looking scarier and intense the acting was Great The Vampires were exellent and overall i give this film a POWERHOUSE 10 watch it you wont regret it''
  10. NFW
    Jun 25, 2015
    8
    You'd expect a movie called STAKE LAND to be a cheesy B-Movie, but it's actually a well acted, tightly written film that is quite emotional at times. It kind of gives off a "The Road" vibe with it's grim atmosphere and violence, which is pretty cool considering "The Road" is one of my favorite books. The only draw back is the length, it's WAY too short. I feel if it was longer then itYou'd expect a movie called STAKE LAND to be a cheesy B-Movie, but it's actually a well acted, tightly written film that is quite emotional at times. It kind of gives off a "The Road" vibe with it's grim atmosphere and violence, which is pretty cool considering "The Road" is one of my favorite books. The only draw back is the length, it's WAY too short. I feel if it was longer then it might have been the masterpiece it wanted to you could tell it wanted to be, but it's still great none the less. Definitely proof you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2016
    7
    I really enjoyed this film. Fair enough the plot could have been slightly better but this is still a strong film that has moments that make you jump out of your seat. The two main characters (Mr and Martin) are played really well especially mister, With mister you kind of get a sense of security and that everything is going to be OK, even though the world is over run with vampires and madI really enjoyed this film. Fair enough the plot could have been slightly better but this is still a strong film that has moments that make you jump out of your seat. The two main characters (Mr and Martin) are played really well especially mister, With mister you kind of get a sense of security and that everything is going to be OK, even though the world is over run with vampires and mad men. If you enjoy horror/Vampire/world falling apart films I would highly recommend this one. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Ethan Gilsdorf
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    This doomed world may feel familiar, but Stake Land remains one of the genre's smartest entries in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    May 4, 2011
    90
    Stake Land is the movie "The Road" should have been.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 29, 2011
    100
    Bursts with action, ideas and interesting characters.