American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: November 22, 1996
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 90 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
11
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JonathanC.Sep 16, 2006
Awesome movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneH.Sep 2, 2006
This movie is Jonathan Frakes' directing at it's best. With the almost Star Wars-like space battles and epic action it is easily one of the best sci-fi movies of the 20th century. The acting talents of the lead characters are This movie is Jonathan Frakes' directing at it's best. With the almost Star Wars-like space battles and epic action it is easily one of the best sci-fi movies of the 20th century. The acting talents of the lead characters are absolutely their best performances. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CharlesS.Jun 2, 2007
This movie brings together everything that is star trek, a rich history, clever story line, and the fate of humanity at stake.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BusterB.May 16, 2008
I'm an original Star Trek series (you know, Kirk, Spock) fan myself, but I can honestly say that this is not only one of the best Star Trek films ever, but this may be one of the best Sci-fi movies ever. Period. Kudos to Jonathan Frakes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CoryB.Mar 15, 2007
Star Trek: First Contact is a good movie, it does however lack here and there, but I think that can easily be ignored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Jul 20, 2006
First Contact takes the battle Jean-Luc had with the Borg in TNG and made the climax into a movie. Finally seeing a Borg offensive is nice, and seeing how cleverly the humans fend them off is pretty entertaining. The movie also gives a First Contact takes the battle Jean-Luc had with the Borg in TNG and made the climax into a movie. Finally seeing a Borg offensive is nice, and seeing how cleverly the humans fend them off is pretty entertaining. The movie also gives a pretty graphic picture of the Borg assimilation process throughout. This movie was most definitely Star Trek, and anyone who liked TNG, the Borg or both will find much to like about First Contact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ItayM.Mar 13, 2008
OK movie, better since Enterprise came out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnHSep 13, 2009
This is an absolutely fabulous movie that everyone should see! I probably liked it even better that the new Star Trek movie in 2009. Great acting, special effects, suspence,etc. Seeeee this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamDec 16, 2005
If there's one thing I can say about this movie, that will state my love for it, one stupid, but frank line, it's "Damn, that was fun!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryP1983Jan 18, 2011
FIRST CONTACT is considered to be the best TNG film. And when you watch it you see why. FIRST CONTACT features the Borg, perhaps the most popular villain in science-fiction history or at least in the Star Trek universe. Picard and crewFIRST CONTACT is considered to be the best TNG film. And when you watch it you see why. FIRST CONTACT features the Borg, perhaps the most popular villain in science-fiction history or at least in the Star Trek universe. Picard and crew return aboard the new Enterprise-E and in order to save the future must travel back in time to 2063 to save the past. At the time FIRST CONTACT was the most successful Star Trek film (world wide) up until J.J.Abrams STAR TREK (2009) film. There are great action sequences, acting (notably Patrick Stewart gives his best performance second only to NEMESIS, as well as Alice Krige as the Borg Queen). Simply put, FIRST CONTACT is one hell of a film! A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CursedKnight187Jul 31, 2012
A surprisingly good Star Trek movie that actually feels like a feature film rather than an extended television episode. Well acted and professionally written. Jonathan Frakes adds his own spice as a director, and the fact that he also acts asA surprisingly good Star Trek movie that actually feels like a feature film rather than an extended television episode. Well acted and professionally written. Jonathan Frakes adds his own spice as a director, and the fact that he also acts as Riker makes him a suitable choice to direct. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Aug 31, 2011
STAR TREK: FIRST CONTACT is great, yes, and certainly fun, even as the eighth entry in the overall film series (and the second based on STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION), but especially for a Star Trek flick, Jonathan Frakes (who playedSTAR TREK: FIRST CONTACT is great, yes, and certainly fun, even as the eighth entry in the overall film series (and the second based on STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION), but especially for a Star Trek flick, Jonathan Frakes (who played Commander Riker in this one), turned what could have been a straightforward, serious masterpiece into a whacked-out, somewhat sickly gross (in its first PG-13 style), science fiction thrill ride. Imagine SAW with aliens instead of Jigsaw and camera cutaways before we can even see the gore we know is coming. There's the apparently new STAR TREK way to create a twisted PG-13 flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spielbrick90Oct 27, 2011
One of the best original Star Trek movies without doubt. The film has a brilliant begginning, a marvelous ending and a fabulous, action packed, Borg filled middle which I am sure all film critics will look for in films. Excellent!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
pauljohnsonNov 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Succeeds, despite its obvious flaws. The time travel story is sketchy a best, and has some considerable loopholes, such as, why don't the Borg do it again? or, why don't they go back into the past 30,000 light years from Earth, where Starfleet couldn't blow the hell out of them, and then go and assimilate Earth?
There are a lot of things in this film that I loved style wise, the new design to the Borg for instance made them extremely menacing, and the Borg attack scenes coupled with Jerry Goldsmith's out and out FANTASTIC score for this film made the fight scenes palpable, suspenseful and great. They did get a bit repetitive after a while, however. The story focus on Picard in this film is definitely good; we have a story of a captain who thus far, has lost two Starships under his command, the second - the Enterprise D - because he wasn't there. You know that Picard is the kind of captain who would wonder if it had been different if he had been there - if his presence had made the difference. Now, he faces losing his newest ship, and to his most hated nemesis - the Borg. We've scene from Family, I, Borg and Descent (as well as the Deep Space Nine pilot) how he feels about the Borg; how he feels personally defeated, violated by them, and now he faces losing his ship and most of his crew to that enemy; making it unthinkable to do so. The big criticism I would direct at this movie is the Borg Queen. A character introduced only because Studio Executives wanted to have a "focal point for the villainy". Well, you got one, and at the cost of making the Borg look ridiculous. The Borg don't have a single leader, we've been told that's why they're so efficient; a single leader would be liable to make mistakes. The Borg Queen was not in any way an embodiment of the Borg Collective, she was seductive, emotional and individualised. I wouldn't have minded if she was something along the lines of Locutus or Seven of Nine (when she was allowed to converse with the Voyager crew in Scorpion Parts 1 and 2). In all, Johnathan Frakes' first outing as a theatrical director is quite impressive, although the film is definitely lacking in its writing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
Alright when I heard there was gonna be a Star Trek movie about the Borg called First Contact I was dreading the thought that it might just be a movie remake of the episode where they had first contact with The Borg. I was relieved to findAlright when I heard there was gonna be a Star Trek movie about the Borg called First Contact I was dreading the thought that it might just be a movie remake of the episode where they had first contact with The Borg. I was relieved to find out this was not the case. Out of all the TNG movies, this is the only one I absolutely loved. The other three TNG movies were mediocre but this one was excellent. Maybe it was because this one was a really dark no BS movie that got to the point of the TNG crew having to confront and deal with their most menacing , dangerous and scary enemy. This movie is also friendly to people who might not be familiar with TNG or the Borg in that there is a human character introduced who also isn't familiar with them and Picard has to explain to her what is going on. While it gets TNG newbies up to speed it's done in a way that isn't cheesy and doesn't ruin the film for us Trekkies/Trekkers. SPOILER ALERT: I like the way this movie actually has Picard acting irrationally because he is psychologically scared from the time in the TV series when he was assimilated, it was realistic.

Excellent movie, I wish all the TNG movies were this good. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Sep 25, 2013
Granted this movie has allot of technical flaws that I'm sure the Trek-Elite will moan about, butI still enjoyed it. Great effects, great character development and a fantastic introduction to the Borg Queen, who i n my opinion was alittle oddGranted this movie has allot of technical flaws that I'm sure the Trek-Elite will moan about, butI still enjoyed it. Great effects, great character development and a fantastic introduction to the Borg Queen, who i n my opinion was alittle odd considering the whole idea behind the Borg, yet I understand why she was created and approve.

I got to say the whole timetravel angle has been done before, but at least it wasn't to the present (late 90s at the time.)

Overall:
I found this to be the most memorable and enjoyable of the series, but not as good as ST2.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews