User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 92
  2. Negative: 25 out of 92
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MacM.
    May 28, 2003
    2
    Utterly forgettable. Not even worthy for an episode of TNG, let alone a movie.
  2. IggyZ.
    Jan 8, 2003
    2
    I love Star Trek and for that alone I gave it 2 points. But with the exception of Data, Warf and Jordy, the rest of the cast appear as if they should be taking Geritol and staying at the Sunshine Space Rest Home. What the hell are they still doing flying around the galaxy? The storyline in Nemesis was lame and totally inept. Can't the writers continue the saga introducing new I love Star Trek and for that alone I gave it 2 points. But with the exception of Data, Warf and Jordy, the rest of the cast appear as if they should be taking Geritol and staying at the Sunshine Space Rest Home. What the hell are they still doing flying around the galaxy? The storyline in Nemesis was lame and totally inept. Can't the writers continue the saga introducing new characters to blend with the three mentioned as it would make for a smooth transistion? Don't let this proud franchise die. What it needs is new creative blood. Expand
  3. RickJ.G.
    Jan 11, 2003
    3
    A two hour Star Trek television episode, and a lame one at that. I think just about every Star Trek cliche got some coverage in this latest, and God help us last, installment in the series. Plenty of Star Trek pseudo-scientific babble. Plenty of aliens who look like humans with Haloween masks on. The Enterprise takes plenty of direct hits, and sparks fly everywhere and everybody has to A two hour Star Trek television episode, and a lame one at that. I think just about every Star Trek cliche got some coverage in this latest, and God help us last, installment in the series. Plenty of Star Trek pseudo-scientific babble. Plenty of aliens who look like humans with Haloween masks on. The Enterprise takes plenty of direct hits, and sparks fly everywhere and everybody has to hold onto their seats to prevent them from being tossed around the command deck. Of course, the shields were weakening near the end once again. We've seen all of this before. Nemesis is a copy of a copy of a copy. About the only thing left to do with this series is to either put it to death or saterize it, and that's already been done with Galaxy Quest. Expand
  4. ChadS.
    Jan 5, 2003
    4
    Fun can be had at "Star Trek: Nemesis" if you rewrite the movie as you watch the latest entry from this tired, but somewhat endearing franchise. In the movie in my head, when Data's twin handles a cat, he eats it. For those of you who saw "Galaxy Quest", how can you watch Patrick Stewart without thinking of Alan Rickman saying, "But I'm a Shakespearian actor." And yes, Stewart Fun can be had at "Star Trek: Nemesis" if you rewrite the movie as you watch the latest entry from this tired, but somewhat endearing franchise. In the movie in my head, when Data's twin handles a cat, he eats it. For those of you who saw "Galaxy Quest", how can you watch Patrick Stewart without thinking of Alan Rickman saying, "But I'm a Shakespearian actor." And yes, Stewart once again lends a gravity to these silly proceedings, making the men and women in the funny costumes look dignified. Is it just me or do you giggle each time when the crew lurches forward each time the Enterprise gets hit? Why don't they use seatbelts? Expand
  5. ScottG.
    Jan 7, 2003
    3
    It wouldn't be worth watching in the theatres if it was free.
  6. DougL.
    Jan 9, 2003
    3
    Scott G. hit the nail on the head. I wouldn't even sneak into this one.
  7. MikeC.
    Dec 16, 2002
    3
    This has to go down as the worst Trek movie in history. The trailers contained the best parts of the movie and the rest was plain filler. Very disappointing.
  8. JeffH.
    Dec 18, 2002
    4
    A matinee for Trek fans only, which with this film, will decrease. WORF and PICARD needed No-Dose at times. Sometimes actors read a script and let their face show the ending of the movie before the character should be aware of his fate. One character did THIS to an extreme. For those who think Trek is dying, know instead Rick Berman is the problem. Fresh blood will work wonders. By the A matinee for Trek fans only, which with this film, will decrease. WORF and PICARD needed No-Dose at times. Sometimes actors read a script and let their face show the ending of the movie before the character should be aware of his fate. One character did THIS to an extreme. For those who think Trek is dying, know instead Rick Berman is the problem. Fresh blood will work wonders. By the by, ENTERPRISE THE SERIES is MUCH better than DS9 and some seasons of VOY and NXGEN. Expand
  9. AmberP.
    Dec 31, 2002
    2
    Love Star Trek from its original inception. This is a very bland weak installment of the popular series. Based on what I saw, it is time for The Next Generation to self destruct. Very disappointing.
  10. Notatrekkie
    Jan 12, 2003
    3
    The tenth time around for the Star Trek franchise and they haven't figured out that a doomsday weapon ought to be able to fire in seven seconds, like death ray from the Death Star in Star Wars, instead of seven minutes. And the Star Trek make-up department still hasn't figured out how to create aliens who like like humans with Haloween constumes on. They could use a lesson or The tenth time around for the Star Trek franchise and they haven't figured out that a doomsday weapon ought to be able to fire in seven seconds, like death ray from the Death Star in Star Wars, instead of seven minutes. And the Star Trek make-up department still hasn't figured out how to create aliens who like like humans with Haloween constumes on. They could use a lesson or two from the crew that created the orcs in the Lord of Rings movies. I bought a ticket for Nemesis in the hope that its camp would make me laugh, like Galaxy Quest, but it didn't even do that much for me. I mean not even the campiness of the scene where they run around in a dune buggy on some planet for a while was funny. Expand
  11. GalaxyQuest
    Jan 15, 2003
    3
    Chad S. is correct about the fun a viewer can have while watching these silly movies. I certainly couldn't take any of it seriously. It all led me to long for another journey of the crew in "Galaxy Quest II," and I would like for them to really get down the way the crew gets jerked around command deck of the ship. I want people flying all over the place and doing back flips. Seat Chad S. is correct about the fun a viewer can have while watching these silly movies. I certainly couldn't take any of it seriously. It all led me to long for another journey of the crew in "Galaxy Quest II," and I would like for them to really get down the way the crew gets jerked around command deck of the ship. I want people flying all over the place and doing back flips. Seat Belts, Chad? How about arming the Enterprise, and the Romulan fleet, with nuclear torpedos? I mean this was a weapon that was first developed in 1945! This only adds to my incredulity while watching these movies. Here are civilizations fighting for Galatic domination, can hop across the galaxy at will on starships and beam matter from place to place, but they deploy warships that have all the fire power of a plane used by the Red Barron in World War I. LOL! I think the best suggestion for continuing the series comes from Roger Ebert. It's time for Star Trek to take a bold leap 1,000 years into the future, to a time when the future doesn't remind you of '60s television camp. Expand
  12. L.Zimmer
    Jan 7, 2003
    1
    A tepid space fare, at best. Should've stayed in drydock a few more years for repairs and retooling.
  13. KenK.
    Dec 14, 2002
    2
    Predictable. Terrible script. Lame plot. Very disappointing. Couldn't wait for it be over. A new low for Star Trek (and I didn't think that was possible!).
  14. MelA.
    Dec 15, 2002
    1
    A sad, sad day for Star Trek. Not only is Enterprise dragging down the TV side of things into hackneyed mediocrity, now NEMESIS comes along and does the same for The Next Generation. A very poor attempt. Are they TRYING to kill off Star Trek?
  15. ThomasJefferson
    Dec 16, 2002
    3
    Hated it! Can't give it a 1 because Insurrection and Final Frontier are worse, but come on... who writes this stuff? They have officially killed the franchise.
  16. FantasyL.
    Dec 17, 2002
    1
    Nemesis was so bad and juvenile that I cringed during the showing. The dialogue and acting was a complete joke. Patrick Stewart must be puking after wathcing his own performance in this DREK? Gene has to be turning over in his grave with Capt. Kirk probably grateful that he is already in his. Even the writing for Data has been done before in earlier ST movies but with Mr. Spock. What were Nemesis was so bad and juvenile that I cringed during the showing. The dialogue and acting was a complete joke. Patrick Stewart must be puking after wathcing his own performance in this DREK? Gene has to be turning over in his grave with Capt. Kirk probably grateful that he is already in his. Even the writing for Data has been done before in earlier ST movies but with Mr. Spock. What were the screenwriters thinking of?... It is time for all ST fans to abandon ship! Just terrible. Expand
  17. Mike
    Mar 25, 2003
    3
    As many have put it, Dr. Evil and the Fishheads vs the crew of the enterprise. They promoted this basically as *THE* trek movie that would make Wrath of Khan look like childs play, etc. Yet its no better than Insurrection on many levels, Insurrection had more exciting moments I believe as far as space battles, etc. I agree with many others, I think Star Trek as we knew it 1996 to 1966 is As many have put it, Dr. Evil and the Fishheads vs the crew of the enterprise. They promoted this basically as *THE* trek movie that would make Wrath of Khan look like childs play, etc. Yet its no better than Insurrection on many levels, Insurrection had more exciting moments I believe as far as space battles, etc. I agree with many others, I think Star Trek as we knew it 1996 to 1966 is a thing of the past and the franchise is way off course. Its gone from good sci-fi story telling to the typical 90s and 21st century hype and glitter effects with a splash of sex and drama here to get the simple folk to come and see it. Star Trek is dying due to over saturation, if they are smart they'll cut their losses and let it be a part of history instead of an ongoing boring blab of an aging baby boomer who just won't die! Expand
  18. NedD.
    Dec 16, 2002
    2
    Calling Mr. Spock? I mean Dr. Kevorkian. After watching this lame mess I don't want to live long and prosper anymore. Time for this series to self destruct.
  19. MajorTrekkie
    Dec 19, 2002
    1
    This movie was horribly written. The effects were not even new, the movie was a total bomb. I am a major Trekkie and i don't think I will ever watch it again. As I said the writing was horrible, it did not include enough of the crew; Worf, Crusher, Troi, Riker, even Jordi, they where all side notes. It was too much with Picard and Shraka. Rick Berman must be trying his hardest to This movie was horribly written. The effects were not even new, the movie was a total bomb. I am a major Trekkie and i don't think I will ever watch it again. As I said the writing was horrible, it did not include enough of the crew; Worf, Crusher, Troi, Riker, even Jordi, they where all side notes. It was too much with Picard and Shraka. Rick Berman must be trying his hardest to kill the entire franchise, between Nemesis and this new series Enterprise, he is bringing down the entire franchise. I was not impressed and if I were not the trekkie that I am I would give up on the series all together. Expand
  20. Jan 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Star Trek is best when it gets its Characters to do compelling, interesting things in the face of existential, moral, or even philosophical threats and dilemmas. Lacking that, which this movie certainly does, a tightly constructed good vs. evil showdown makes a passable substitute, as worked so well in the Wrath of Kahn, or The Undiscovered Country, which incorporated several elements to craft a great film.

    In this film we watch them drive dune buggys around a planet they shouldn't be on to find Datas developmentally challenged replacement. We see a villain suffering from constipation bent on destroying the Federation and watch as the Enterprise fails at every turn to be sufficiently capable, in spite of being the greatest ship Starfleet has to offer, to even dent the enemy ship. We've certainly seen this before.

    As this disaster wheezes to an end, we find Data gone, most of the rest of the crew tired from making sure to be as ordinary and unremarkable as possible, and ourselves wishing that they had just stopped after 9, or, better yet, 8 movies if they weren't even going to try.
    Expand
  21. Jan 24, 2012
    1
    Quite simply, the worst film in the franchise. Far too much is wrong with this film for me to write in one review. 5,000 characters isn't close to enough, it'd have to be an entire series of video responses for me to detail all of this movie's faults.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 60
    Nemesis never feels true to itself, its energy never fully engaged. Even with Earth on the line in its climactic space battle, the film seems embarrassed that it couldn't have found a better way to work through its issues.
  2. 40
    Nemesis, by comparison, is about as exciting as a Tribble on Vicodin.
  3. Plays like a greatest-hits remix; like "Die Another Day," it's bent on resurrecting a moribund franchise by recalling all the things you used to love about it till you grew into big-boy pants.