User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 93
  2. Negative: 25 out of 93
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StazanS.
    Jan 3, 2003
    7
    Better than the bland whitebread of Insurrection, but no Khan. Can't a major character die, without replacing him with himself before the movie is half over?
  2. MarkC.
    Apr 7, 2004
    8
    I liked this film. The characters, effects, set work and staunchy Picard make for a good time. I've often wondered, however, why the writers can't figure out that a significant alien threat is better than a sneaky plan, and that watching huge battles is better than a couple of ships beating each other up. Also, Star Trek writers should get the idea to install a cloaking device I liked this film. The characters, effects, set work and staunchy Picard make for a good time. I've often wondered, however, why the writers can't figure out that a significant alien threat is better than a sneaky plan, and that watching huge battles is better than a couple of ships beating each other up. Also, Star Trek writers should get the idea to install a cloaking device on the next Enterprise upgrade. Expand
  3. SamP.
    Dec 14, 2002
    6
    This film looks only mediocre! Mr. Cardwell read my "Ice Age" review!!~!!!
  4. MacM.
    May 28, 2003
    2
    Utterly forgettable. Not even worthy for an episode of TNG, let alone a movie.
  5. SimonD.
    Jun 26, 2003
    7
    A reasonably entertaining film, but one with a good number of odd plot holes and with little to offer anyone who is not a Trekkie. Excellent work by Patrick Stewart and Bent Spiner carries the film towards a conclusion that is actually a bit surprising. There is also a sense that too many studio-enforced eidts strip the film of some needed plot elements. If this is the end, it's not A reasonably entertaining film, but one with a good number of odd plot holes and with little to offer anyone who is not a Trekkie. Excellent work by Patrick Stewart and Bent Spiner carries the film towards a conclusion that is actually a bit surprising. There is also a sense that too many studio-enforced eidts strip the film of some needed plot elements. If this is the end, it's not a bad way to wrap up, but it won't make anyone forget First Contact or ST II. Expand
  6. PaulTR
    Jan 25, 2004
    6
    Effects were awesome. Acting wasn't too shabby. So why did it suck? Simple. It had a beginning and an end...with NO middle. I wanted to like this movie. I really did. I wouldn't have even minded the usual Trek formulas, but this was absurd. I mean this was supposed to have been the last of the TNG line and it doesn't even live up to the standard set by "Generations" and Effects were awesome. Acting wasn't too shabby. So why did it suck? Simple. It had a beginning and an end...with NO middle. I wanted to like this movie. I really did. I wouldn't have even minded the usual Trek formulas, but this was absurd. I mean this was supposed to have been the last of the TNG line and it doesn't even live up to the standard set by "Generations" and "First Contact." Compared to those, this felt amateur. There was nothing epic about it. Right down to its tragic climax, which felt forced. May there be a better future for Star Trek, which seems to have lost most of its meaning as of present. Gene Roddenberry must be spinning in his grave. Expand
  7. WilliamG.
    Dec 14, 2002
    7
    "ST:Nemesis" is definitely worth seeing but a bit on the bloodless side. Much of the action is riveting -- as are the Praetor Shinzon (Tom Hardy) and the rare glimpse into the Romulan Empire. Stewart as Picard has never been better and the Enterprise crew is as comfortable as an old sweater, although underutilized. The plot itself harks back to the Original Series with its topicality and "ST:Nemesis" is definitely worth seeing but a bit on the bloodless side. Much of the action is riveting -- as are the Praetor Shinzon (Tom Hardy) and the rare glimpse into the Romulan Empire. Stewart as Picard has never been better and the Enterprise crew is as comfortable as an old sweater, although underutilized. The plot itself harks back to the Original Series with its topicality and handling of a Serious Issue. The special effects are quite good, especially in the final confrontation scene. Still, it all made me feel less engaged than I expected to be and I found myself wishing more were at stake and that the film's sweep had been just a bit grander. NOTE TO FILM CRITICS: Read the NYT's Stephen Holden to see how it's done. If you don't like sci-fi, fine. If you're unfamiliar, fine. If you're lazy, give up reviewing. Most of the reviews have been the embarrassing efforts they make the film out to be. Serving up caustic remarks, unfunny monologues, and childish malice is not reviewing -- it's mental flatulence. Expand
  8. JeremyS.
    Dec 14, 2002
    7
    The foundation for a truly great story was in here somewhere, but it got lost among the generic hand-to-hand combat scenes where people crouch in cooridors and shoot at each other. All that's left is a pretty entertaining movie that has a few great ship battle moments and Picard-Shinzon showdowns. Looks like First Contact will remain the king of the rather underwhelming Next Gen movies.
  9. Banshee
    Jan 18, 2003
    8
    Silly boy... The use of massive destruction weapons in STAR TREK is prohibited since the Khitomer and Algeron agreements. But for sure, only a real fan knows all these facts. In Europe the movie gets much higher marks than on your side. It is definitely no blockbuster but a pretty good piece of film. Sure, the script has plenty of holes but it makes fun and has very intensive moments. I Silly boy... The use of massive destruction weapons in STAR TREK is prohibited since the Khitomer and Algeron agreements. But for sure, only a real fan knows all these facts. In Europe the movie gets much higher marks than on your side. It is definitely no blockbuster but a pretty good piece of film. Sure, the script has plenty of holes but it makes fun and has very intensive moments. I can not understand why the whole world is kicking onto a franchise that already lies on the ground. Who knows what it's revenge coold look like when it rises again... It was always better than good old Kindergarten Wars. And it will exist even when the LotR-Trilogy is almost forgotten. Not that I would not like Tolkien but I prefer the books. STAR TREK rulez... Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    I give it an 8. The plot an action were superb. Definitely deserves more than a 4.8, felt I needed to boost the score.
  11. Sam
    Oct 24, 2005
    7
    A movie shouldn't be loved if your a fanboy of the movie series, it should be loved for the quality. Not ot say I hated this movie, the plot is a good Idea, but the action scenes are getting to tiresome, and the special effects are great, but all of the other star trek movies (except for the first) are better, and i'm not saying that as a fanboy, but as a movie buff.
  12. AnthonyE.
    Jun 27, 2005
    8
    More memorable than SW III, but too similar to Isurrection (secondary strand of sub-species). Not enough DS9 continuity, not as satisfactory as it should have been, but it makes up for it with eerie moments like Shinzon ordering tea like Picard.
  13. JimmyC.
    Dec 18, 2002
    7
    I did not think it was the best star trek film but not as bad as everyone says it was. yes it was predictable. but none the less i enjoyed it.
  14. VictorHugo
    Dec 22, 2002
    7
    Why is there the need to have space battles on most Trek movies, this is Star TREK, not WARS. Star Trek should be like Jackes Cousteau on outer space, not merely people killing enemies and saving the universe. BTW, Where is the BABYLON 5 movie?
  15. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    NEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-Luc Picard and Tom Hardy as the evil villain Praetor Shinzon. We for the first time in the Star Trek universe get to explore the Romulan Senate, political structure, the twin world Remus and see for the first time the Remans. While there are great actionNEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-Luc Picard and Tom Hardy as the evil villain Praetor Shinzon. We for the first time in the Star Trek universe get to explore the Romulan Senate, political structure, the twin world Remus and see for the first time the Remans. While there are great action sequences the main heart of NEMESIS is Shinzons struggle for his identity over Picard. This is a must see for fans of philosophical dramas as well as those who love science fiction. A must see! Expand
  16. JoeyK.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Visually awesome. Philosophically intriguing. Emotionally dramatic. I loved it, as a Trek film and as even a regular movie, and I really don't understand why people didn't like it. I'd give it a 9, but I'm giving it a 10 because it deserves better than it got.
  17. LordP.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    NEMESIS, a generation's final journey is exactly that and more. Finally a Next Generation feature that stands well on its own and offers a fitting finale for a crew that began their onscreen voyages in 1987. Much has happened since but this series' achievements should not be underestimated from the oversaturation that came later, and this movie is a magnificent coda to the crew NEMESIS, a generation's final journey is exactly that and more. Finally a Next Generation feature that stands well on its own and offers a fitting finale for a crew that began their onscreen voyages in 1987. Much has happened since but this series' achievements should not be underestimated from the oversaturation that came later, and this movie is a magnificent coda to the crew and cast of the Starship Enterprise. Very few things could have been done to make it even etter, and as such I rate NEMESIS a full 9. Expand
  18. CurtS.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    A Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings could have happened with in the last 10 minutes that you just didn't know which one it was going to be. The only thing predictable about this movie is that ...... Although the movie does not throw in any events from the tv series, the story moves wellA Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings could have happened with in the last 10 minutes that you just didn't know which one it was going to be. The only thing predictable about this movie is that ...... Although the movie does not throw in any events from the tv series, the story moves well from event to event. I was amazed at the resemblance of the android b-4 and data. I was waiting for someone to say he lookd just like data's brother from the tv series (who's name i have forgotten). This is the movie making makeup that goes along with most movies. Not everyone has seen the episoeds and this is generally the best way to keep things rolling with a new audience. Being a fan of star trek, and not the other star.... star something moive, I liked this film. I did the best i could to not throw in any spoilers so get to the movies and see how the end of a generation starts your weekend. Expand
  19. EricB.
    Jan 12, 2003
    8
    It's a very good movie that brings back memories of the best classic Star Trek moments. Sure, it's plot has a bunch of holes, but so did The Wrath of Khan, and that never stood in it's way.
  20. PattieB.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    One of the BEST!! But, it can't be the last!!
  21. BrandonS.
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Excellent movie, and a satisfying end to the Next Generation stories. I am now and probably always will be baffled by the negative critical response to this one. It's not quite "Wrath of Khan," but I put it just a little behind "First Contact" as one of the great Trek movies.
  22. tngownz
    Dec 14, 2002
    9
    The best TNG movie yet! *Almost* as good as TWOK.
  23. DevinB.
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    Great movie. A must for any sci fi lover. Great story and evern better visual effects, especially the Enterprise raming the Scimitar.
  24. DouglasN.
    Dec 17, 2002
    7
    It was a good Star Trek movie on the same bar as First Contact (probably the best of the Picard Treks in my mind). Slightly less on the laughs, although there are a few - a well-acted enemy, better than most - and more action than the CGI scenes at the beginning of First Contact, whichs makes this stand out as more of an action movie. I'd give this a higher rating than those who It was a good Star Trek movie on the same bar as First Contact (probably the best of the Picard Treks in my mind). Slightly less on the laughs, although there are a few - a well-acted enemy, better than most - and more action than the CGI scenes at the beginning of First Contact, whichs makes this stand out as more of an action movie. I'd give this a higher rating than those who tanked it, but it's just what Trek people continue to ask for: A good Trek movie with action, suspense and ingenuity - while moving the Trek story forward into new areas just enough to warrant a movie. Expand
  25. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    Here you can see that the TNG crew is getting a little tired and stale. It was better than Insurrection, but not by much. I did find the premise interesting but it's execution felt a little underwhelming and flat.

    Overall:
    It is a decent movie that could have been better. If I had to some it up in one word: Underwhelming.
  26. IggyZ.
    Jan 8, 2003
    2
    I love Star Trek and for that alone I gave it 2 points. But with the exception of Data, Warf and Jordy, the rest of the cast appear as if they should be taking Geritol and staying at the Sunshine Space Rest Home. What the hell are they still doing flying around the galaxy? The storyline in Nemesis was lame and totally inept. Can't the writers continue the saga introducing new I love Star Trek and for that alone I gave it 2 points. But with the exception of Data, Warf and Jordy, the rest of the cast appear as if they should be taking Geritol and staying at the Sunshine Space Rest Home. What the hell are they still doing flying around the galaxy? The storyline in Nemesis was lame and totally inept. Can't the writers continue the saga introducing new characters to blend with the three mentioned as it would make for a smooth transistion? Don't let this proud franchise die. What it needs is new creative blood. Expand
  27. RickJ.G.
    Jan 11, 2003
    3
    A two hour Star Trek television episode, and a lame one at that. I think just about every Star Trek cliche got some coverage in this latest, and God help us last, installment in the series. Plenty of Star Trek pseudo-scientific babble. Plenty of aliens who look like humans with Haloween masks on. The Enterprise takes plenty of direct hits, and sparks fly everywhere and everybody has to A two hour Star Trek television episode, and a lame one at that. I think just about every Star Trek cliche got some coverage in this latest, and God help us last, installment in the series. Plenty of Star Trek pseudo-scientific babble. Plenty of aliens who look like humans with Haloween masks on. The Enterprise takes plenty of direct hits, and sparks fly everywhere and everybody has to hold onto their seats to prevent them from being tossed around the command deck. Of course, the shields were weakening near the end once again. We've seen all of this before. Nemesis is a copy of a copy of a copy. About the only thing left to do with this series is to either put it to death or saterize it, and that's already been done with Galaxy Quest. Expand
  28. ChadS.
    Jan 5, 2003
    4
    Fun can be had at "Star Trek: Nemesis" if you rewrite the movie as you watch the latest entry from this tired, but somewhat endearing franchise. In the movie in my head, when Data's twin handles a cat, he eats it. For those of you who saw "Galaxy Quest", how can you watch Patrick Stewart without thinking of Alan Rickman saying, "But I'm a Shakespearian actor." And yes, Stewart Fun can be had at "Star Trek: Nemesis" if you rewrite the movie as you watch the latest entry from this tired, but somewhat endearing franchise. In the movie in my head, when Data's twin handles a cat, he eats it. For those of you who saw "Galaxy Quest", how can you watch Patrick Stewart without thinking of Alan Rickman saying, "But I'm a Shakespearian actor." And yes, Stewart once again lends a gravity to these silly proceedings, making the men and women in the funny costumes look dignified. Is it just me or do you giggle each time when the crew lurches forward each time the Enterprise gets hit? Why don't they use seatbelts? Expand
  29. ScottG.
    Jan 7, 2003
    3
    It wouldn't be worth watching in the theatres if it was free.
  30. DougL.
    Jan 9, 2003
    3
    Scott G. hit the nail on the head. I wouldn't even sneak into this one.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 60
    Nemesis never feels true to itself, its energy never fully engaged. Even with Earth on the line in its climactic space battle, the film seems embarrassed that it couldn't have found a better way to work through its issues.
  2. 40
    Nemesis, by comparison, is about as exciting as a Tribble on Vicodin.
  3. Plays like a greatest-hits remix; like "Die Another Day," it's bent on resurrecting a moribund franchise by recalling all the things you used to love about it till you grew into big-boy pants.