Star Trek: Nemesis

Star Trek: Nemesis Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Federation is about to encounter its greatest challenge -- The Romulans want peace. Conceived in the regal senate halls of Romulus and forged in the dilithium mines of Remus, comes a nemesis bent on destroying Picard and the Federation...exactly in that order. (Paramount Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Familiarity and continuity are what the success of this series has always been about. We've been here before, and we like the neighborhood.
  2. This is a better movie than the vacuous "Insurrection," thanks largely to a sympathetic screenwriter, longtime "Trek" fanatic John Logan ("Gladiator"), and a crew (headed by Patrick Stewart's Capt. Jean-Luc Picard and Brent Spiner's android Data) determined to go out in glory.
  3. 63
    The venerable series is looking outmoded and outdated. Media saturation and age have taken their toll.
  4. An amiably klutzy affair whose warm, fuzzy heart emits intermittent bleats from the sleeve of its gleaming spacesuit.
  5. 50
    Star Trek is over for me. I've been looking at these stories for half a halftime, and, let's face it, they're out of gas.
  6. An offering so endearingly lame it seems to have missed the past 10 years' worth of special-effects breakthroughs.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 50
  2. Negative: 19 out of 50
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    NEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-LucNEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-Luc Picard and Tom Hardy as the evil villain Praetor Shinzon. We for the first time in the Star Trek universe get to explore the Romulan Senate, political structure, the twin world Remus and see for the first time the Remans. While there are great action sequences the main heart of NEMESIS is Shinzons struggle for his identity over Picard. This is a must see for fans of philosophical dramas as well as those who love science fiction. A must see! Expand
  2. CurtS.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    A Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings couldA Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings could have happened with in the last 10 minutes that you just didn't know which one it was going to be. The only thing predictable about this movie is that ...... Although the movie does not throw in any events from the tv series, the story moves well from event to event. I was amazed at the resemblance of the android b-4 and data. I was waiting for someone to say he lookd just like data's brother from the tv series (who's name i have forgotten). This is the movie making makeup that goes along with most movies. Not everyone has seen the episoeds and this is generally the best way to keep things rolling with a new audience. Being a fan of star trek, and not the other star.... star something moive, I liked this film. I did the best i could to not throw in any spoilers so get to the movies and see how the end of a generation starts your weekend. Expand
  3. JoeyK.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Visually awesome. Philosophically intriguing. Emotionally dramatic. I loved it, as a Trek film and as even a regular movie, and Great movie. Visually awesome. Philosophically intriguing. Emotionally dramatic. I loved it, as a Trek film and as even a regular movie, and I really don't understand why people didn't like it. I'd give it a 9, but I'm giving it a 10 because it deserves better than it got. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The final showdown for the next generation crew and FINALLY the Romulans get a chance to shine. Thing is they are overshadowed and pushed to the side by the Remans, guess the Romulans had to wait for the reboot.

    Sooo here we are again, Earth in danger from an alien race and Picard is also being abused by another alien race, again. First he's assimilated now he's being mentally tortured by his power crazed clone who wants his blood...literately, some days huh.

    I must admit I can't get my head around film responses at times, I've read this was looked upon negatively. Why? its actually a pretty good Trek adventure and possibly the slickest of the next generation films, maybe the best of the four. Certainly better than 'Insurrection' and 'Generations' and much more open for everyone instead of just the Trekkies, which is probably for the best if you think about it.

    Plot wise this is total Star Trek, exactly as you would expect with overblown ideas and fantastic notions of sci-fi. Its not original and its not gonna surprise you but at the end of the day it does the job and entertains for the run time. Hardy is the bad guy dressed in shiny black armour (and am I the only one who forgot all about him being in this?! I was like...hey that's Tom Hardy!), He's bald, he sounds like David Thewlis and he's unpredictable with bouts of sulky anger down to his young age, I presume that was intended. Put simply he was a darn good villain (finally) who was perfectly slimy enough to get under your skin, just what the franchise needed.

    The rest of the bad guys all look really decent too. The Reman makeup/prosthetics are excellent in fact, first really good Star Trek aliens I've seen to be truthful. OK they do look like a race of Nosferatu, in fact a bit too close really, almost a complete rip- off, but I must admit they look damn good, highly aggressive and imposing visually, kudos.

    Actually the bad guys in this film coupled with the nice makeup and regal work/designs on the Romulans completely steal the show from the Enterprise crew. We all know the next gen crew are dull but they pale in comparison to the villainy on screen here, I actually wanted the bad guys to win this, would of been much more interesting.

    It was also weak to see they finally got the balls to kill off one of the next gen crew (Data) only to basically have him survive on by introducing an earlier model. I could see that coming miles away, and of course Data conveniently manages to upload all his personal 'data' into the earlier model before he sacrifices himself. So basically Data was killed but low and behold the replica earlier model takes his place complete with all Data's personal memories and attributes, as if he had never left *groan*.

    As I said earlier this is easily the best looking of the next gen films, probably all the Trek films. Production values look high with pretty much everything in the film, all sets look quite swish with depth and a solid appearance. Picard and his crew look as boring as ever in their grey uniforms but as I said before both the Romulans and Reman outfits all look superbly crafted and border more on Star Wars quality.

    Space sequences look delicious as they tend to in these films but this time the starships look much better than before. Its mainly CGI as usual but clearly much sharper and with some good looking weight to them, still not quite up to Mr Lucas' spaceships but getting close, the cloaking effect still looks a bit dodgy. Must mention the rather sweet looking cityscape on Romulus at the start of the film, very much on form with another certain popular sci-fi fantasy, dare I say quite Naboo-ish. A big kudos to the death sequence of the Romulan Imperial Senate also at the start. The infection and fast decay shown is some of the best CGI mixed with real time model work I've seen. These effects really put the film in good stead showcasing a newer sexier Trek offering.

    I guess you could say this one film is merely an action film in Star Trek clothes and not exactly what Star Trek is all about. Where has all the exploration gone? the seeking out of new worlds and new civilisations etc...There is definitely more bias towards fighting, death, multiple laser blasting and even the obligatory action film 'car chase' sequence. But its hard to win with Star Trek, either its too flashy and gun-ho, not Trekkie enough for the core fans. Or its too dull and slow for everyone like some of the older Trek films or its too in depth for non core fans and more of a Trekkie treat fan film.

    Its not very original and is pretty much a cookie cutter production but what do you expect with Star Trek. Plenty of decent action in space and a bit on land with a moon buggy chase, some of the best effects so far (about time), great visual designs throughout with the usual high caliber imagination but maybe it loses the true Star Trek essence along the way?

    Entirely predictable to the last minute but ultimately very enjoyable like most of the good Trek adventures. Another good franchise bookend, this time for the next generation crew. It hasn't been as memorable as the classic crew films in my opinion but a valiant effort none the less.
    Expand
  5. Sam
    Oct 24, 2005
    7
    A movie shouldn't be loved if your a fanboy of the movie series, it should be loved for the quality. Not ot say I hated this movie, the A movie shouldn't be loved if your a fanboy of the movie series, it should be loved for the quality. Not ot say I hated this movie, the plot is a good Idea, but the action scenes are getting to tiresome, and the special effects are great, but all of the other star trek movies (except for the first) are better, and i'm not saying that as a fanboy, but as a movie buff. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    Here you can see that the TNG crew is getting a little tired and stale. It was better than Insurrection, but not by much. I did find theHere you can see that the TNG crew is getting a little tired and stale. It was better than Insurrection, but not by much. I did find the premise interesting but it's execution felt a little underwhelming and flat.

    Overall:
    It is a decent movie that could have been better. If I had to some it up in one word: Underwhelming.
    Expand
  7. FantasyL.
    Dec 17, 2002
    1
    Nemesis was so bad and juvenile that I cringed during the showing. The dialogue and acting was a complete joke. Patrick Stewart must be Nemesis was so bad and juvenile that I cringed during the showing. The dialogue and acting was a complete joke. Patrick Stewart must be puking after wathcing his own performance in this DREK? Gene has to be turning over in his grave with Capt. Kirk probably grateful that he is already in his. Even the writing for Data has been done before in earlier ST movies but with Mr. Spock. What were the screenwriters thinking of?... It is time for all ST fans to abandon ship! Just terrible. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked

    These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 19, 2016
    We rank every film in the Star Trek franchise by Metascore.
  2. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.