User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1272 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    We were pleasantly surprised with this well polished and incredibly entertaining instalment of movie genius. Great casting and stunning visuals a real treat on the big screen. Love the character development and it stayed true to the original series but was easily enjoyed by those that aren't all that familiar with the Star Trek format. Top notch work and a must see!
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Star Trek is actually a really good action sci-fi film and I feel really bad with myself that I haven't watched this excellent film these years. It has great action and really good special effects and even though I saw the film in my computer the it felt like I was at the cinema which was a great experience for me. I've never watched before Star Trek and my first impression is reallyStar Trek is actually a really good action sci-fi film and I feel really bad with myself that I haven't watched this excellent film these years. It has great action and really good special effects and even though I saw the film in my computer the it felt like I was at the cinema which was a great experience for me. I've never watched before Star Trek and my first impression is really positive. I liked the characters and the actors were great too. J.J.Abrams made a really good film after Lost which was a great tv show and I'm really looking forward watching the sequel of that film and I hope that it's even better than this film which was really good. A must-watch! Expand
  3. GodComplex
    May 7, 2009
    10
    It's amazing! The writers have balls! Finally the reset button is hit and all that cannon can start over!
  4. MichaelF.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    In a word: perfect. And I feel the need to point out that I'm -not- a Trekkie, and I -am- a really harsh critic. I know that sounds lame, but go see this and say I'm wrong.
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    now for jj abrhams the guy who was involved in my worst movie ever seen . that movie being Cloverfield i was very suprised at how well he did with this film . now im not a big treky i did enjoy star trek the next gen , and have seen some of the original films with shatner and most of the original series . so im not hardcore enough to where some are mad at him altering the whole story linenow for jj abrhams the guy who was involved in my worst movie ever seen . that movie being Cloverfield i was very suprised at how well he did with this film . now im not a big treky i did enjoy star trek the next gen , and have seen some of the original films with shatner and most of the original series . so im not hardcore enough to where some are mad at him altering the whole story line . which i think even if i was he did it in away that made sense and if they did a sequel it would be new and interesting (hopefully) . its the branching time line deal where some thing was changed in the past that follows the original star trek time line and creates a new one and thats the one we are now following . i thought eric bana did a good job as the romulan captin . as well as most of the other actors who did the main roles of the crew of the enterprise . its not great acting but it was good enough . this new plot line makes us wonder more not ever being sure whats gona happen next . it has some nice visuals and some pretty decent story telling . so old JJ redeams himself alittle for that abombinashon known as cloverfield . so if this is the future of the series then i say all ahead warp factor 8. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    7
    Star Trek is, generally speaking, a good movie that appeals to both established fans and outsiders alike. The acting is enjoyable, the actors are very well cast for their iconic roles, the special effects are great, the score is rousing, and there are tons of great little details only long time Star Trek fans will notice. Unfortunately the biggest problem this movie has is that it is aStar Trek is, generally speaking, a good movie that appeals to both established fans and outsiders alike. The acting is enjoyable, the actors are very well cast for their iconic roles, the special effects are great, the score is rousing, and there are tons of great little details only long time Star Trek fans will notice. Unfortunately the biggest problem this movie has is that it is a reboot of the series and as such disregards much of the established lore and history. While it goes about this in an interesting way in the end it opts to stand apart from almost fifty years of Star Trek rather then adding to the universe millions have come to love. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    May 7, 2009
    9
    A thrilling ride from start to finish. An outstanding ensemble cast embarks on an epic mission paired with superb special effects and numerous laugh out loud moments. 2 things bothering me: physics got flushed down the toilet and the new alternative universe.
  8. TS
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    If you're looking for just good entertainment and no more, that's what it delivers. Entertaining, occasionally exciting, but completely forgettable. Any episode of Battlestar Galactica is as exciting AND 100 times more memorable and resonant.
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Impressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much more spectacular than usually we may see any other fantastic tale!
  10. RobertH
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    The best Star Trek movie yet! Even without the Borg, this movie was well written and well-executed through and through! Bravo!!
  11. SuzetteM.
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Just: wow. I think this one finally beats the StarTrek movie-grail "Wrath of Khan" (which gets a *winkwink* shout-out in this film, chock-full of such tasty tidbits). It's great because it's not just geek-friendly -- tho sure, they'll be out in force -- it also opens a huge door for others to (re-)discover this legend. Like StarWars, LOTR and HarryPotter, I hope this will Just: wow. I think this one finally beats the StarTrek movie-grail "Wrath of Khan" (which gets a *winkwink* shout-out in this film, chock-full of such tasty tidbits). It's great because it's not just geek-friendly -- tho sure, they'll be out in force -- it also opens a huge door for others to (re-)discover this legend. Like StarWars, LOTR and HarryPotter, I hope this will spawn a boom in the shared mythology that is StarTrek. And the great part is, the seriously FEW ticks at which you might quibble, let you feel superior while still enjoying the be-whatzis out of the rest of this fantastic ride! Get a LARGE popcorn, WITH butter. What are you waiting for?? GO! Expand
  12. DanL
    May 7, 2009
    9
    I was lucky enough to get tickets to an early preview screening of this movie on Tuesday and I can wholeheartedly recommend it to Trekkies and regular moviegoers alike. I usually only review films that are so bad I have no choice but to go online and rant about their crappiness. Star Trek, however, delivered the goods :) This is the Star Trek movie that the franchise sorely needed and I was lucky enough to get tickets to an early preview screening of this movie on Tuesday and I can wholeheartedly recommend it to Trekkies and regular moviegoers alike. I usually only review films that are so bad I have no choice but to go online and rant about their crappiness. Star Trek, however, delivered the goods :) This is the Star Trek movie that the franchise sorely needed and blows all the others away with the exception of Kahn. The casting is spot on for pretty much every major character. Pegg, I was dubious of at first, but he actually did a great job. Every actor pulled off their respective characters superbly, in particular, Pine as Kirk as I believe he had the hardest task of reviving Kirk while not "doing a Shatner". Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Scotty etc. all put in excellent performances. Oh, Bana's very good too as Nero. The visual effects are beautiful and the look of the movie manages to remain true to the old series as does the script but in a fresh, modern way. Not everyone will get all of the Trek references throughout the film (which by the way, somehow manage to avoid being cheesy at all and are often very funny). That being said, the film is full of humour that everyone will appreciate anyway as the dialogue is snappy and very funny at times. The story is compelling and manages to introduce the characters and establish their roles and relationships with each other in a convincing and meaningful way and they all get their moment in the sun. Action-wise you've got fisticuffs, space battles, shootouts, explosions and plenty more so there's no excuse for people sending up Z's during the flick ;) Okay so to sum up; spot on casting, good story, great performances, lots of action, sharp dialogue and plenty of laughs. What are you waiting for? See it. PS: I just saw that two users gave this a really low score. I Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    This is an outstanding reboot of the classic sci-fi series we all know and love, partly because it introduces new and fresh ideas into the series while still paying homage to the original films.
  14. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!!
  15. FaytH.
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    I'm not a sci-fi person and I rarely enjoy this genre but Star Trek convinces me otherwise. With surprisingly great acting and solid (but enjoyable) plot, they managed to pull it off with such dominance I have to name it Best Film of 2009. Now waiting for the sequel.
  16. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Star Trek is intelligent, funny, witty, visually dazzling, surprisingly well acted, and the story is told with a surprising amount of depth. It benefits from its mesmerizing action and true heart. I give this movie 89%.
  17. CharlesT.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Had all the heart and soul of the original series!
  18. LondonAntonio
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Story, action, cassic lines cleverly inserted without cheesiness all make for a wonderful eye-candied amazing movie.
  19. ChristopherG
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Absolute masterpiece - saw it at IMAX and would have happily walked straight back in and watched it again.
  20. KevD.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic film, not only does it have classic nods to the orignal and does not over do them, but it focuses on the relationship between Spock and Kirk in a new interesting way. The CGI is fantastic and it looks like the film has been made made trekkies as they seem to have looked at what was cheesy and moved away from it. The rapport between Kirk and Spock is fantastic and the This is a fantastic film, not only does it have classic nods to the orignal and does not over do them, but it focuses on the relationship between Spock and Kirk in a new interesting way. The CGI is fantastic and it looks like the film has been made made trekkies as they seem to have looked at what was cheesy and moved away from it. The rapport between Kirk and Spock is fantastic and the film is very pacey. I think the best film of the year. Expand
  21. AtticusD
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the most satisfying films ever, not to mention the best prequel I've ever seen.
  22. BryanW.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best films I've seen in the past few years - non stop action, accessible for everyone, and everyone left the screening beaming with joy and happiness - the way a great movie should leave you feeling. Even after seeing it early, Ill be the first in line to see it again tonight when it opens.
  23. AdamC.
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Loved it, but i didnt feel it epic enough on the battle scenes it felt more of a pilot for a series tbh still great though
  24. Moche
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Pine really is a revelation as Kirk. Not a slavish homage, but a fresh look that capture the spirit and some of the manerisms. Quinto is awesome as Spock and the whole cast shines in a whipcrack paced fun film. This is what Bond should be doing after the dull Quantum; embrace what made the series famous and run with it. Done well there is no need to be ashamed of its roots.
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Kirk is Star Trek and in this movie they not only get you fired up about him you know it's in his genes. I've seen plenty of movie's where the opening sequence was brilliant. Casino Royale sans Craig, The Fifth Element, Mission Impossible, to name a few but none have taken the Hero call to this level. The tone from the start is exactly what Roddenberrry's vision was all about, the crusadeKirk is Star Trek and in this movie they not only get you fired up about him you know it's in his genes. I've seen plenty of movie's where the opening sequence was brilliant. Casino Royale sans Craig, The Fifth Element, Mission Impossible, to name a few but none have taken the Hero call to this level. The tone from the start is exactly what Roddenberrry's vision was all about, the crusade of hegemony into space and how that construct behaved with alien contact. This movie has it all and then updates everything. You don't have to be a Star Trek freak to enjoy this rocket ship into the future. Expand
  26. TomG
    May 7, 2009
    9
    As many trek fans knew, this film was not going to follow the same path as other trek films however even the most biased trekkies can relate to JJ's Star Trek. The cast are absolutely superb with Karl Urban standing out for me and Chris Pine doing an excellent job of adding his own spin to Kirk Michael Ginacchio's score is perhaps the biggest let down for me, while still an As many trek fans knew, this film was not going to follow the same path as other trek films however even the most biased trekkies can relate to JJ's Star Trek. The cast are absolutely superb with Karl Urban standing out for me and Chris Pine doing an excellent job of adding his own spin to Kirk Michael Ginacchio's score is perhaps the biggest let down for me, while still an excellent soundtrack for the film it fails to add that epic, majestic feeling former trek films have had. the film was also too short in all the wrong places with the climatic battle ending far too swiftly, regardless this film is still up to or on par with the Wrath of Khan, even better than First Contact and one definately not to miss by stubborn trekkers. JJ has a fantastic little set up here and the next film should be mind blowing. Expand
  27. PatrickT.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely thrilling! Star Trek left me in awe as I left the theater; I was completely blown away by the epic scale of this incredible masterpiece.
  28. EJA
    May 12, 2009
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] First off this movie is really fun and exciting to watch. The writing is plenty passable and the acting was fine. The only issues were someof the logic in the plot. Just a couple things: 1) Nero would probably attempt to warn the romulans of the future then get all hell bent on revenge for something not even done yet. 2) Why does spock have to pod kirk to an unhospitable[***SPOILERS***] First off this movie is really fun and exciting to watch. The writing is plenty passable and the acting was fine. The only issues were someof the logic in the plot. Just a couple things: 1) Nero would probably attempt to warn the romulans of the future then get all hell bent on revenge for something not even done yet. 2) Why does spock have to pod kirk to an unhospitable ice planet just for being disobedient? And I saw that planet, its HUGE. What a coincidence he runs into spock's cave of all places to further the plot. 3) Lastly, a gigantic drill that goes into a planet? why didn't the vulcans send one tiny spacecraft to shoot the lengthy thin drilling device down? thats all young spock did to stop the drilling. Hell any modernday jet could have torpedo'ed the drill apart to prevent the drilling. But hey, its summer, and its fun so enjoy the ride Expand
  29. DennisM.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Until know - for me the best Action Movie in 2009! Brilliant, really, I love it... also for poeple who didnt liked Star Trek until now - watch it, it's absolutely awesome!
  30. PdMemeo
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived coincidences, rushed expositions), but it's all forgiven. Great adventure flick, and totally and utterly Star Trek. The cast nailed the character in a way I Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived coincidences, rushed expositions), but it's all forgiven. Great adventure flick, and totally and utterly Star Trek. The cast nailed the character in a way I couldn't think possible, and the production values are superb. Excellent musical score. A fast-paced trip into the wonderful unknown, gut-wrenching but at the same time incredibly satisfying. JJ Abrams is my new hero. Wow. Expand
  31. BrianA.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, it's the greatest prequel ever made. Visually stunning, great story, and above all, pitch perfect acting. See this film (and see it in IMAX if you can - it's worth a longer drive and/or paying more).
  32. DorisB.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    It is one of the best i have seen this should get an Oscar.
  33. MikeS
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year. There was a sense of "family" that I loved. They took a risk with a sci-fi film and they've succeeded.
  34. MichealO.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Awesome movie, the cast is very good!
  35. DonaldW.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely love this movie. Its a MUST see or any trekkie. This unbelievable movies will leave you begging for more.
  36. BrandonS.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    I'll keep this short. A long-time fan, I went in skeptical and left a believer. Great movie. The flaws are vastly overshadowed by the virtues.
  37. BenL
    May 15, 2009
    9
    GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to take place right along side it! Expand
  38. Bret
    May 15, 2009
    10
    I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought it interesting how in normal timeline Romulus is destroyed, in new timeline Vulcan is destroyed.. two sides of a mirror. I can't say enough how I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought it interesting how in normal timeline Romulus is destroyed, in new timeline Vulcan is destroyed.. two sides of a mirror. I can't say enough how good the casting was. Expand
  39. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    All thanks to this movie...now star trek is truly worthy of calling itself THE rival of star wars...no doubt its the best prequel made by anyone for any movie....
  40. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    I don't know too much about the Star Trek series but i found the movie very enjoyable with its stunning visuals and decent story. Star Trek might be forgettable but it was good while it last.
  41. May 22, 2013
    10
    Perfect, everything was perfect.
    It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly to very beautiful.
    I hate all martial arts movies, and gun battle movies, movies like The Expendables 2, Jason Statham movies, The Dark Knight Rises,
    Perfect, everything was perfect.
    It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly to very beautiful.
    I hate all martial arts movies, and gun battle movies, movies like The Expendables 2, Jason Statham movies, The Dark Knight Rises, but I loved hand to hand combat and stunt scenes from Star Trek.
    I also don't like people with too much muscles. I want Star Wars to be like this Start Trek, I want Star Wars to have many hand to hand combat, street fight like how Kirk did. and many stunt scenes.
    I specially liked Spock, Spock prime, Kirk, warp drive, story, music, heartwarming scenes. But there were things I felt missing, I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes, not ships battle scenes. I wanted to see some small Aliens like from Cloverfield and Metro 2033.
    Expand
  42. JohnO.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    The movie was excellent!! I just walked in the house from seeing the movie and I am going to have trouble sleeping, because of the excitement. Everyone did an fantastic job of pulling off the characters. There was no need for a super mind-twisting plot (for some reason, the few naysayers must have a "Memento" type plot twist). Lots of action, funny moments, and a bit of "that sucks for The movie was excellent!! I just walked in the house from seeing the movie and I am going to have trouble sleeping, because of the excitement. Everyone did an fantastic job of pulling off the characters. There was no need for a super mind-twisting plot (for some reason, the few naysayers must have a "Memento" type plot twist). Lots of action, funny moments, and a bit of "that sucks for him" moments. If you don't know about Star Trek, you don't need to. A great job of introducing the characters and what Starfeet is about. The only downfall of the movie: is that it had to end!!! You are either going to love it or like it. ;) Treat yourself and go watch this movie! Expand
  43. MichaelR.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    "OUT OF THIS WORLD" The starting of a new story line for more Star Trek movies.
  44. JeanK.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    It answers the questions you didn't know you had! WOW what a ride!
  45. EricO.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Just absolutely fantastic! Rarely has a movie that I have anticipated SO much lived up to the anticipation and expectation. What a way to reboot Star Trek. Thank you Mr. Abrams.
  46. BrunoT.
    May 8, 2009
    7
    This is as good of a resurrection as one could reasonably expect, but it does border on overly cheesy at times. Still, it has superb moments, in particular the first 20-30 minutes is particularly riveting and a near perfect way to reopen this franchise. Some of the action and time travel plot points are unoriginal (every Star Trek villain will forever pale next to Khan), and the entire This is as good of a resurrection as one could reasonably expect, but it does border on overly cheesy at times. Still, it has superb moments, in particular the first 20-30 minutes is particularly riveting and a near perfect way to reopen this franchise. Some of the action and time travel plot points are unoriginal (every Star Trek villain will forever pale next to Khan), and the entire Spock-on-Ice-Planet-Hoth sequence is overly contrived, but it's overall solid. Expand
  47. Bob
    May 8, 2009
    8
    Fine direction, great effects, and a story executed well enough that you almost don't notice it's mostly a rehash of a premise already seen in both the original series and previous films in the series. Several of the actors, especially the two leading men, are amazing in their ability to embody the physicality and even subtle mannerisms of previous actors while making the roles Fine direction, great effects, and a story executed well enough that you almost don't notice it's mostly a rehash of a premise already seen in both the original series and previous films in the series. Several of the actors, especially the two leading men, are amazing in their ability to embody the physicality and even subtle mannerisms of previous actors while making the roles feel their own. The film is hampered, however, by some plotting that relies heavily on nearly impossible coincidences, including a rescue from a monster that simply makes no logical sense if you think about it. For a while it seems that the entire universe must only consist of about two dozen people who keep bumping into each other. The only other shortcoming: Simon Pegg is terribly miscast as Scottie, distractingly unable even to maintain a Scottish accent without occasionally wandering into Yorkshire or even the Midlands, and his alien sidekick looks like one of George Lucas's bad ideas. All in all, it's probably the best summer movie Hollywood is likely to muster this year, and it handles the many difficult tasks of a prequel with aplomb. Thoroughly enjoyable, but not quite the perfect undertaking many fans will insist it is. Expand
  48. MariaA.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    the movie rocked it! action beginning to end, characters dead on and insider jokes hilarious!
  49. JeanneR.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    This movie was fantastic. My husband and I have followed Star Trek since day one. I was a bit leary, wondering if we were going to be able to believe the new younger actors playing our favorite characters. But we were pleasantly surprised and even our 12 yr old daughter was enthralled with it. None of us wanted to see the movie end. We are eagerly looking forward to perhaps the next one.
  50. TheBaron
    May 8, 2009
    7
    When I first left this movie, I felt a certain confusion. How did I feel about this remake. Was it truly one of the best Star Treks? What I can say is that it's the BEST of the odd numbered Treks. It's also way better than the abomination STX. Is it better than TWOK? No. Is it better than TVH? No. Is it better than TUC or FC? No. STXI is a really good film. It brings the When I first left this movie, I felt a certain confusion. How did I feel about this remake. Was it truly one of the best Star Treks? What I can say is that it's the BEST of the odd numbered Treks. It's also way better than the abomination STX. Is it better than TWOK? No. Is it better than TVH? No. Is it better than TUC or FC? No. STXI is a really good film. It brings the characters together, gives us some shock scenes that we'd never think to see, and has great character interaction. Some plot holes, but a great feeling that future Treks will be well handled. I'm not sure it will bring in hordes of new fans, but it's a positive step to a star trek rebirth. Expand
  51. ChadS.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] "Star Trek" was never cool, until now. The prologue is rousing stuff, but it's not until we hear the Beastie Boys blaring over the soundtrack that this shrewd reboot irreparably distances itself from the campy original, as Kirk(Chris Pine), a rebel without a cause, sends his vehicle careening over a cliff(perhaps, a subtle nod to the 1955 film [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] "Star Trek" was never cool, until now. The prologue is rousing stuff, but it's not until we hear the Beastie Boys blaring over the soundtrack that this shrewd reboot irreparably distances itself from the campy original, as Kirk(Chris Pine), a rebel without a cause, sends his vehicle careening over a cliff(perhaps, a subtle nod to the 1955 film directed by Nicholas Ray). Painting Kirk as a lost child with suicidal tendencies repositions William Shatner's lecherous take on the captain as being symptomatic of overcompensation. Finally, Kirk becomes relatable to the masses, and breaks the filmic text wide open. Enlistment with the Star Fleet makes all the sense in the world; he has nowhere else to go. In the original series, the viewer never gets a sense that the Enterprise crew members had lives outside of the ship. Never has an origin story been this crucial, or game for self-invention. The film's masterstroke, no doubt, is its reimagining of Kirk and Spock(Zachary Quinto) as rivals. You always took their friendship for granted. The way Leonard Nimoy played the half-breed alien, Spock was always so cool and collected, like he was on a perpetual Quaalude high. The fiery temper that the Vulcan displays here is a revelation. So many unknown scenarios, death-causing scenarios, could have arisen once Spock jettisons Kirk off the ship. His dislike for the future captain nearly makes a murderer out of him. This Spock is no celibate. This Spock kicks ass. As does the film. For a refreshing change, it presents military service in a positive light, completely free of the nihilism found in Paul Verhoeven's "Starship Troopers". Nero(Eric Bana) is given a choice; the violence that comes down on the Romulans isn't senseless. Expand
  52. Moe
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing! Need I say more?
  53. PeterK.
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Star Trek is back and better than ever! Loved this! Great casting and more than plausible plot kept the audience riveted!
  54. Cathie
    May 11, 2009
    8
    Check out the big issue website. Star Trek director JJ Abrahams and Simon 'Scotty' Pegg talk about relaunching the Enterprise: http://www.bigissuescotland.com/features/view/57
  55. JasonL.
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing feeling. want to watch it again.
  56. KatieB
    May 12, 2009
    9
    The personal reviews have got me laughing. Trekkies calling this story improbable and hard to follow!? Three words: Star Trek IV. Anyone remember Kirk and crew going back in time to get some WHALES? Not saying I didn't enjoy it, but the time travel was not explained well, and why the crap was the monolith looking for whales by destroying the atmosphere? Comparatively, this movie made The personal reviews have got me laughing. Trekkies calling this story improbable and hard to follow!? Three words: Star Trek IV. Anyone remember Kirk and crew going back in time to get some WHALES? Not saying I didn't enjoy it, but the time travel was not explained well, and why the crap was the monolith looking for whales by destroying the atmosphere? Comparatively, this movie made time travel look possible and probable. I really enjoyed it. It was fun, and laid a firm ground for the next movie. This was a reboot; understand it on those terms, and I think you will appreciate it more. It does what it set out to do, and presented some great new actors. Expand
  57. JimS
    May 13, 2009
    9
    Solid in every aspect. The acting is better than the original series, excluding Leonard Nimoy who is/was always very good. An excellent story that is weaved together so well it underscores what is best about Star Trek. Kudos to the writers and director.
  58. E.igor
    May 10, 2009
    10
    I have never even liked star trek... but this movie was incredible.
  59. MichaelB.
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic, i went to see Star Trek having the gut feeling it was going to be a childish space journey but was thrilled to find it was an action packed movie filled with great story, wit and characters.
  60. WillG.
    May 10, 2009
    9
    A bold, daring and fresh reboot that grabs hold of you from the first minutes into the film -- and I saw it dubbed in Italian. Like many, I'm a lifelong Trek fan and I was dubious at the outset of this project. Many of the carping comments here remind me of the criticism of the prior major reboot, The Next Generation. All isn't how I would've done it but it's not my A bold, daring and fresh reboot that grabs hold of you from the first minutes into the film -- and I saw it dubbed in Italian. Like many, I'm a lifelong Trek fan and I was dubious at the outset of this project. Many of the carping comments here remind me of the criticism of the prior major reboot, The Next Generation. All isn't how I would've done it but it's not my vision. It's J.J. Abrams' vision and he's done a terrific job, particularly in casting. The cast is just about pitch-perfect and I had no trouble accepting them in their roles. Hard-core fans, like me, will have some pangs over some of the developments, especially surrounding Spock. Zachary Quinto merits special mention for an uncanny performance that never once veers into imitation. I particularly love how Abrams took hints from ST:TOS about the characters and explored them. Like others before me, I would remind some of the fan critics of a few cogent points: This is an *alternate* reality and some events from ST:TOS have changed. Vulcans -- and Romulans -- have 250 year life expectancies. We are not told at what point Spock Prime (and Nero) exited the main ST timeline but it clearly was much later than the ST:TNG period and tech undoutedly had advanced. Wesley Crusher was a prodigy and it was implied in TOS that Chekhov was also. TOS episode "Mirror, Mirror" was one of the best. So relax, don't let the best be the enemy of the good, and enjoy a great new Trek adventure. The Trek universe is more than big enough to hold an alternate storyline or two. Expand
  61. DaveJ.
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Great movie! very exciting with some laughs I wasn't expecting. Overall like the story line very much and mixing the old star trek with the new.
  62. JohnH
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Amazing! Great cast. McCoy, Spalk, Kirk, Lahurra, Chekov, Scotty, Sulu, and all of them. Great special affects. The plot was pretty good but was unrealistic at times, but as I have said many times, the great characters made up for it. Everyone should see this marvelous outstanding movie. I cannot wait till they make a sequal, which I think they are planning on doing. See this movie!
  63. TDKinDallas
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Incredible! I recommend it to anyone, emphatically! See it on the biggest screen you can find. Cinemark's XD3 screen is unbelievable...like a widescreen IMAX!
  64. TimB
    May 7, 2009
    10
    BEST PREQUEL ever, Abrams gets my lucas money from now on.
  65. AndrewW.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Exciting, funny, thrilling and moving! Star Trek is a fantastic movie and a loving tribute to this enduring franchise.
  66. DrewS.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is excellent, no matter how you look at it. It
  67. RickB.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    A total reset of the Star Trek mythos but with familiar characters... loved it and look forward to this new timeline!
  68. JosephM.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    Wow. This was an impressive use of the J.J. Abrams style of cinematography, character depth, and pure graphics. It was like a mix between the excitement of "Cloverfield", and the mystery of "Lost". Not to mention that J.J. Abrams actually directed this film. This is by far his best work, using the full potential of visual effects, humor, and pure style. The characters are so familiar, but Wow. This was an impressive use of the J.J. Abrams style of cinematography, character depth, and pure graphics. It was like a mix between the excitement of "Cloverfield", and the mystery of "Lost". Not to mention that J.J. Abrams actually directed this film. This is by far his best work, using the full potential of visual effects, humor, and pure style. The characters are so familiar, but as such only through the chemistry these actors create. One of the coolest things I found was the immediate understanding of Spock given to the audience by an extremely able cast built around his character. Expand
  69. ShawnR.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I attended the midnight showing of this incredible movie. I made a point of not researching and went in with an open mind. I was a little concerned at the beginning as I started to notice some deviation from the original series when I finally "caught" what Abrams had done. Time travel that changed the space time continuum!!! What a stroke of genius!!!! After I realized what he had done I attended the midnight showing of this incredible movie. I made a point of not researching and went in with an open mind. I was a little concerned at the beginning as I started to notice some deviation from the original series when I finally "caught" what Abrams had done. Time travel that changed the space time continuum!!! What a stroke of genius!!!! After I realized what he had done and where he was going it was a great trip and I was literally hanging on the edge of my seat. What better way to change up the story line and still stay true to the essence that is Star Trek. I for one am looking forward to this...... trilogy??? I think it has great potential. Expand
  70. PaulK.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    The prequel killed it. see this at all costs. worth the price of getting a sitter, if you have to.
  71. RafaR.
    May 8, 2009
    8
    Damn good movie. This film really isn't perfect, but its so much fun. The quibbles I have about this film are so minor, it didn't tarnish the viewing experience. This is what Star Trek has been missing for years... great characters, action, humor... can't wait to see it again
  72. AndrewZ.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    As a 53 yr old self professed Star Trek fan from the original series, I have to say I was stunned and delighted watching Star Trek not once tonight, but TWICE! I loved watching this perfectly cast new group of young actors slip comfortably into the characters made famous in the 1st go round. It reminded me of how neatly the new James Bond slipped into the shoes worn by Sean Connery. What As a 53 yr old self professed Star Trek fan from the original series, I have to say I was stunned and delighted watching Star Trek not once tonight, but TWICE! I loved watching this perfectly cast new group of young actors slip comfortably into the characters made famous in the 1st go round. It reminded me of how neatly the new James Bond slipped into the shoes worn by Sean Connery. What a BLAST! I can't wait for the next installment. Live long and prosper JJ Abrams!! Now if he could just end LOST next year on such a strong note that would also be appreciated! Expand
  73. KenR.
    May 8, 2009
    8
    Great job fleshing out most of the characters, laying the groundwork for a new series of Captain Kirk/Spock/Bones.... movies.
  74. ChrissieJ.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I was not disappointed, it met all my expectations as a Trek fan of 40 years. The best Star Trek movie ever.
  75. JohnL.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I dont even like star trek nor did i get the ''inside'' jokes but i had a blast watching this movie!!! easily one of the best movies of the year and the reason i like going to the theater..so grab some popcorn and enjoy it for what it is.
  76. ChrisS.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Best movie of the year. Action Packed, the overall developing of the characters is Excellent.. Well Done! Interesting to see how the stories will change regarding the time line.. When is the next one!
  77. JanewayOut
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie. Saw it on IMAX and was very impressed.!
  78. JohnM.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    This movie has given the Star Trek franchise new life, gone are the endless and pointless technobabble scenes. Orion babes are back, the genuine humor of the Original Series has been captured perfectly and the storyline is better than Wrath of Kahn by far. This is what Star Trek should be!!! It grabs you from the first scene and does not let you go until the end.
  79. JoanG.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    For Trekkies and, I suspect, non-Trekkies alike, a joy from start to finish. I had come to the conclusion that the people who were most recently running the Star Trek franchise (before Abrams) held the fans in contempt -- thinking that any deviation from a decades-old style of storytelling would be rejected. But the series was cutting-edge when it started 40 years ago, and the only way to For Trekkies and, I suspect, non-Trekkies alike, a joy from start to finish. I had come to the conclusion that the people who were most recently running the Star Trek franchise (before Abrams) held the fans in contempt -- thinking that any deviation from a decades-old style of storytelling would be rejected. But the series was cutting-edge when it started 40 years ago, and the only way to respect that spirit is to remain cutting-edge today. Thank god that Abrams, the writers, and this phenomenal cast have finally brought this beloved sci fi universe into the 21st century. Expand
  80. ReginaN.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Awesome. This movie has something for everyone from the most seasoned Trek fan to the new viewer. It is the best prequel ever.
  81. JamieE.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    I had High expectations. This film exceeded them!
  82. LuluH.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    Good trek movies even for non trek fans. Good pace and action
  83. SteveM.
    May 8, 2009
    7
    Star Trek has returned. JJ Abrams directs a movie that is designed to reboot a franchise. After over 40 years and at least one generation it needed some renewal. After watching and enjoying another reboot Battlestar Galactica my simple conclusion is that the film is very entertaining but it falls short in small but noticed places. All the parts are great. The early life of Kirk and Spock Star Trek has returned. JJ Abrams directs a movie that is designed to reboot a franchise. After over 40 years and at least one generation it needed some renewal. After watching and enjoying another reboot Battlestar Galactica my simple conclusion is that the film is very entertaining but it falls short in small but noticed places. All the parts are great. The early life of Kirk and Spock was well done. The part with the Romulans and Spock was also great. etc The casting was excellent. There are action scenes that are worth the price of admission. Yet when you merge all the parts the whole package looks not quite right. Like a painting repainted you can see where one artist has painted over the original. The story is about another universe that has been changed by a vengeful Nero. (aka JJ Abrams ) Spock tried to stop the inevitable but failed. How he meets Kirk and advises him. This creates the first hole. It is here the script falls short. The plot is a nice work throughout but it has it's weak parts. JJ Abrams directs like someone in a hurry . One we get all the parts right we have to put it all together. This left this reviewer feeling as if this film is for a new generation. I may have have seen the future of a franchise but I will not be going there. The movie goers who ever they may be will decide. My generation saw the franchise start and watched it slowly age. The reboot was needed but if it is successful I doubt it will bring more than one generation of fans a long. I have seen it once and will keep in mind to check out any sequel. Of all the Star Trek movies it is somewhere in the middle. From the Wrath of Khan to Nemeisis JJ. Abrams should have taken a little more time to perfect the plot and to develop the characters. Where the plot looks joined together and the speed of the film is where most of the marks were lost. Expand
  84. StormC.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    They have completely revitalized the franchise. I went to the first showing opening night and turned right around and went to the next showing as well! Something I've never done before. All I can say is I want more!
  85. LeahT.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    What wins this movie props is the fantastic casting. Every character seemed fresh and new and yet the same as those we've loved for years. Will be seeing it again in cinemas.
  86. LindaT.
    May 8, 2009
    9
    I loved this movie and I have been a fan since it premiered in 1966. JJ and his team did a magnificent job of revitalizing the franchise. Chris Pine IS Captain Kirk and was a brilliant casting choice. I can't imagine anyone else in that role (except a 35 year old William Shatner). Great humor, fun and non stop action. I have seen it twice and plan on going back for thirds.
  87. MaxB.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    There probably won't be a better "summer blockbuster" action flick this year. It moves fast and feels more like a 90-minute film rather than a 2-hour one; this is a good thing. Awe-inspiring visuals, very good sound effects (and soundtrack), completely solid actors and characters coupled with the entertaining story make Star Trek a hit. A near perfect approach to the There probably won't be a better "summer blockbuster" action flick this year. It moves fast and feels more like a 90-minute film rather than a 2-hour one; this is a good thing. Awe-inspiring visuals, very good sound effects (and soundtrack), completely solid actors and characters coupled with the entertaining story make Star Trek a hit. A near perfect approach to the action-drama/popcorn genre. Expand
  88. AdamO.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    A perfect two hour "f u" to the obsessive nerds of Star Trek. Keeping a common theme of self parody as it fills itself with just as many plot holes, lame explosions and shaky camera shots as the classic series. I can't wait for the sequel of the new and improved Star Trek.
  89. Kilon
    May 9, 2009
    10
    I am like most of people around here a huge Start Trek fan. I watch the trailers and even though the graphics look very good it looked more like an action film than a real Star Trek. It looked good but it did not look Star Trek. Cause behind Star Trek is whole philosophy , it is not a Star Wars fairy tale , because it tries to predict the Future , even though some exaggeration is added I am like most of people around here a huge Start Trek fan. I watch the trailers and even though the graphics look very good it looked more like an action film than a real Star Trek. It looked good but it did not look Star Trek. Cause behind Star Trek is whole philosophy , it is not a Star Wars fairy tale , because it tries to predict the Future , even though some exaggeration is added for the sake of drama. It is however one of the very few if not the Only , serious SCI FI. So as many Trekkie out there feared that this film will disappoint me greatly. Another reason is that unlike many people out there I am not a JJ ABRAMS fan. LOST does not excite me , even though I must admit is well made. And his last film COVERFIELD even though I am a big fan of moster movies , I found it TERRIBLE. But when I went to see this movie I was blown away. Ok Let say I understand the fact that his movie has the most AMAZING Effects I have ever seen in any MOVIE in my LIFE TIME. IT blows away any other movie in its path. OK let us say that I felt comfortable that the movie respects the Star Trek Philosophy , and vaporates all my fears. But HOW, HOW ON EARTH did he take a cast of inexperienced actors and turn them to EXACT replicates of the original crew??? I was blow away , not because JJ Abrams clones the unclonable but also expands the characters in ways unthinkable. For example is the FIRST time that all the crew plays an important role. In most other movies only Bones, Kirk and Spok take the biggest part of the movie , in this one , every character is polished and ready to perform its best. Second , how on earth did manage to tell us so much about SPOK? Why the previous movies did not do it and this one does? Ok now let say What I did not like. First , the central theme of the movie is Boring. I am tried of the time machine stories that have been polluting Star Trek for so long. It is old , tried many many times and for all trek fan nothing original. Of course the Scenario is very well done, it is probably one of the best Start Trek scenarios out there, and makes you forget the boring theme and concentrate on what really happens which is so carefully crafted as a story and character interaction that you cannot escape its enchantment. My second objection is the BAD GUY, Nero. Dont get me wrong he is a fine actor, but surprisingly he never gets enough time to develop his character. There is mostly the original star trek crew. The movie makes us understand his motives , but we never have time to understand who he really is. The previous start trek movie was not like this one but he had a bad guy the alter ego of picard that really sends us deep into the dark side of picard and made probably the best Villain (or almost the best if you count the Khan, In Warth OF Kahn or the evil Klingon general in Undiscovered country ). But in this one , the bad guys play only a tiny role in the movie. However the movie is awesome, it rates as high as the last Batman, with wonderful performance, excellent art, amazing directing and a very solid yet complex Story line that fully respects and dare expand the Star Trek ethos. Even women did like it !!! and this hard to do in my country. (Greece). It pains me that the Theater was only half full, but here we are no big Sci fi or Star Trek fans. Well, they missed something amazing. So After the movie the only question remains --->I am sure there is going to be a sequel to this , but When are we going to see the new series on TV with this new cast mr Abrams ? Expand
  90. GaryN.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Very well conceived and executed. A Star Trek movie that will re-ignite the franchise and bring a lot of new fans
  91. JoeyK.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Fantastic. It did everything right that it needed to. The characters were done perfectly, and the modern-redoing of the look worked, because it blended modern and nostalgic styles successfully. It was far more action-packed than Star Trek ever is, and it did not venture into any true sci-fi territory. But to those who fault the film for that, I'd like to remind you that only the best Fantastic. It did everything right that it needed to. The characters were done perfectly, and the modern-redoing of the look worked, because it blended modern and nostalgic styles successfully. It was far more action-packed than Star Trek ever is, and it did not venture into any true sci-fi territory. But to those who fault the film for that, I'd like to remind you that only the best Star Trek episodes were real Sci-Fi. If you didn't like the movie because it wasn't sci-fi enough, then there's a whole lot of Star Trek that you must have hated. Either that, or you have a very strong aversion to fun. Expand
  92. AlexB.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Excellent space romp. Truly luscious visuals complemented by some excellent acting and good humour. All the catchphrases making a return. Yet through all this they bring a new life back to the franchise, all of the actors add something to the original role. The story is not overpoweringly excellent but its very very solid. Anyway blows most of the recent action filler out of the window.
  93. DarylP.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Words cannot describe how amazing this movie movie is. Seldom times does a movie come out that not only lives up to the hype, but also lives up to the heavy $12 one time view asking price. I'm not a Trekkie, and there once was a time when i said i would never become one, but this movie was so good, im on the verge of eating my own words. Suffice to say, this wasn't your Words cannot describe how amazing this movie movie is. Seldom times does a movie come out that not only lives up to the hype, but also lives up to the heavy $12 one time view asking price. I'm not a Trekkie, and there once was a time when i said i would never become one, but this movie was so good, im on the verge of eating my own words. Suffice to say, this wasn't your traditional Star Trek movie. It was good. They kept the sci-fi lingo, over the top dialog, and boring conversations, to a minimum. What they lacked in a traditional boring trek movie, they made up for with drama, comedy, even romance. You don't need to watch a Star Trek film to understand whats going on, as its a prequel, but it makes wonderful reference work of the greater films in the series (of which Ive only seen one). I'm not going to tell you to see this, but if you decide to see it, i can more then guarantee you wont be disappointed. Expand
  94. BillB.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Saw it yesterday in IMAX. My first reaction, WOW. After it was over, I said to my wife "we are going to have to see it again and buy it on DVD when it comes out. This is the best of the Star Trek movies.
  95. IgorA.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Perfect. Simple storyline returning some of the original cast, fast moving, interesting. The cast is hot, acting is realistic and the camera is unusual but cool.
  96. DavidM.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    See it twice best star trek fil ive seen ( got the others on dvd ) took the wife the second time she enjoyed it very much and she is not a fan
  97. JoshuaH.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    It is so refreshing to have a good sci-fi movie released. It was well cast and just a joy to watch.
  98. RolandN.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece, it is a must see movie, if you are a star trek fan you will love it, unless you are a fanatical old school star trek fan then you might have something bad about it. But for me, i loved it totally and completely they successfully revived star trek into glorious blockbuster, i can't wait for future star trek movies of this caliber. you will instantly recognize each Masterpiece, it is a must see movie, if you are a star trek fan you will love it, unless you are a fanatical old school star trek fan then you might have something bad about it. But for me, i loved it totally and completely they successfully revived star trek into glorious blockbuster, i can't wait for future star trek movies of this caliber. you will instantly recognize each character and person from the old ones, each one is played to hold their special personalities perfectly. If you love sci fi and haven't seen this yet, shame on you, it is one hell of a great movie! :D Expand
  99. Topsao
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    Great movie. Not exactly like the original, but in fact star trek needed a new look to attract the new generations. It's a very entertaining film, very good cast, and you can see some of star trek's common themes (like offering help to defeated enemys...). I look forward for another movie.
  100. Kevin
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Anyone who thinks this movie sucks is still a 40-year-old virgin. And no not the funny Steve Carell version in the movie.. the one who drives a creeper van and stares at middle school children. If you don't believe me then look at the major reviews and box office numbers. This Star Trek movie was the only good one and the only one that made a considerable amount of money at the box Anyone who thinks this movie sucks is still a 40-year-old virgin. And no not the funny Steve Carell version in the movie.. the one who drives a creeper van and stares at middle school children. If you don't believe me then look at the major reviews and box office numbers. This Star Trek movie was the only good one and the only one that made a considerable amount of money at the box office. Maybe fans of the original will hate it but it's not like anyone went to see the other Star Trek movies anyways... Batman Begins was to Batman what JJ Abrams Star Trek is to Star Trek... enough said. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Paced at warp speed with spectacular action sequences rendered brilliantly and with a cast so expert that all the familiar characters are instantly identifiable.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Blasting onto the screen at warp speed and remaining there for two hours, the new and improved Star Trek will transport fans to sci-fi nirvana.
  3. 75
    Ultimately, when the end credits roll, we're left with the sense that Star Trek represents a good beginning. As a film tasked with getting all the characters together, re-booting a timeline, and finding a way to return a veteran actor to his beloved role, Star Trek works.