Star Trek

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1368 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. GodComplex
    May 7, 2009
    10
    It's amazing! The writers have balls! Finally the reset button is hit and all that cannon can start over!
  2. MichaelF.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    In a word: perfect. And I feel the need to point out that I'm -not- a Trekkie, and I -am- a really harsh critic. I know that sounds lame, but go see this and say I'm wrong.
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Star trek 2009, as I call it, Star Trek: the MOVING Picture is a fast paced thrill ride that leaves it brain at the door. Donâ
  4. May 24, 2016
    8
    Who: Chris Pine, Sylar, Gary King, Pam Dawson, The 2003 Hulk, and Kyle Reese as Pavel Chekov
    What: A fantastic re-branding of an already fantastic franchise
    Where: The Final Frontier When (Can I watch again): Whenever you need proof J.J. Abrams is god Why: Even if your somehow not a fan of the franchise this is a perfect adventure blockbuster that you can completely get sucked into
    Who: Chris Pine, Sylar, Gary King, Pam Dawson, The 2003 Hulk, and Kyle Reese as Pavel Chekov
    What: A fantastic re-branding of an already fantastic franchise
    Where: The Final Frontier
    When (Can I watch again): Whenever you need proof J.J. Abrams is god
    Why: Even if your somehow not a fan of the franchise this is a perfect adventure blockbuster that you can completely get sucked into while forgetting about all of life's problems.
    Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    May 7, 2009
    9
    A thrilling ride from start to finish. An outstanding ensemble cast embarks on an epic mission paired with superb special effects and numerous laugh out loud moments. 2 things bothering me: physics got flushed down the toilet and the new alternative universe.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    We were pleasantly surprised with this well polished and incredibly entertaining instalment of movie genius. Great casting and stunning visuals a real treat on the big screen. Love the character development and it stayed true to the original series but was easily enjoyed by those that aren't all that familiar with the Star Trek format. Top notch work and a must see!
  7. TS
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    If you're looking for just good entertainment and no more, that's what it delivers. Entertaining, occasionally exciting, but completely forgettable. Any episode of Battlestar Galactica is as exciting AND 100 times more memorable and resonant.
  8. RobertH
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    The best Star Trek movie yet! Even without the Borg, this movie was well written and well-executed through and through! Bravo!!
  9. SuzetteM.
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Just: wow. I think this one finally beats the StarTrek movie-grail "Wrath of Khan" (which gets a *winkwink* shout-out in this film, chock-full of such tasty tidbits). It's great because it's not just geek-friendly -- tho sure, they'll be out in force -- it also opens a huge door for others to (re-)discover this legend. Like StarWars, LOTR and HarryPotter, I hope this will Just: wow. I think this one finally beats the StarTrek movie-grail "Wrath of Khan" (which gets a *winkwink* shout-out in this film, chock-full of such tasty tidbits). It's great because it's not just geek-friendly -- tho sure, they'll be out in force -- it also opens a huge door for others to (re-)discover this legend. Like StarWars, LOTR and HarryPotter, I hope this will spawn a boom in the shared mythology that is StarTrek. And the great part is, the seriously FEW ticks at which you might quibble, let you feel superior while still enjoying the be-whatzis out of the rest of this fantastic ride! Get a LARGE popcorn, WITH butter. What are you waiting for?? GO! Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Star Trek is actually a really good action sci-fi film and I feel really bad with myself that I haven't watched this excellent film these years. It has great action and really good special effects and even though I saw the film in my computer the it felt like I was at the cinema which was a great experience for me. I've never watched before Star Trek and my first impression is reallyStar Trek is actually a really good action sci-fi film and I feel really bad with myself that I haven't watched this excellent film these years. It has great action and really good special effects and even though I saw the film in my computer the it felt like I was at the cinema which was a great experience for me. I've never watched before Star Trek and my first impression is really positive. I liked the characters and the actors were great too. J.J.Abrams made a really good film after Lost which was a great tv show and I'm really looking forward watching the sequel of that film and I hope that it's even better than this film which was really good. A must-watch! Expand
  11. DanL
    May 7, 2009
    9
    I was lucky enough to get tickets to an early preview screening of this movie on Tuesday and I can wholeheartedly recommend it to Trekkies and regular moviegoers alike. I usually only review films that are so bad I have no choice but to go online and rant about their crappiness. Star Trek, however, delivered the goods :) This is the Star Trek movie that the franchise sorely needed and I was lucky enough to get tickets to an early preview screening of this movie on Tuesday and I can wholeheartedly recommend it to Trekkies and regular moviegoers alike. I usually only review films that are so bad I have no choice but to go online and rant about their crappiness. Star Trek, however, delivered the goods :) This is the Star Trek movie that the franchise sorely needed and blows all the others away with the exception of Kahn. The casting is spot on for pretty much every major character. Pegg, I was dubious of at first, but he actually did a great job. Every actor pulled off their respective characters superbly, in particular, Pine as Kirk as I believe he had the hardest task of reviving Kirk while not "doing a Shatner". Spock, McCoy, Uhura, Scotty etc. all put in excellent performances. Oh, Bana's very good too as Nero. The visual effects are beautiful and the look of the movie manages to remain true to the old series as does the script but in a fresh, modern way. Not everyone will get all of the Trek references throughout the film (which by the way, somehow manage to avoid being cheesy at all and are often very funny). That being said, the film is full of humour that everyone will appreciate anyway as the dialogue is snappy and very funny at times. The story is compelling and manages to introduce the characters and establish their roles and relationships with each other in a convincing and meaningful way and they all get their moment in the sun. Action-wise you've got fisticuffs, space battles, shootouts, explosions and plenty more so there's no excuse for people sending up Z's during the flick ;) Okay so to sum up; spot on casting, good story, great performances, lots of action, sharp dialogue and plenty of laughs. What are you waiting for? See it. PS: I just saw that two users gave this a really low score. I Expand
  12. Mar 25, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it does destroy fifty years of canon with time-travel mumbo jumbo, J.J. Abrams' 'Star Trek' is nevertheless a brilliant origin story with great performances and direction.

    Simon Pegg is still as funny as ever, and Leonard Nimoy returns as a callback to the show in the form of 'Old Spock', which is great.

    But 'Star Trek' is not without flaws; the villain is underdeveloped and has some nonsense plan about drilling holes in planets or something like that, and as I said above, it deems the show non-canon with a confusing plot about time travel.

    But in short, 'Star Trek', although not without flaws, is a great origin story to one of the most popular science-fiction shows of all time.
    Expand
  13. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Impressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much more spectacular than usually we may see any other fantastic tale!
  14. FaytH.
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    I'm not a sci-fi person and I rarely enjoy this genre but Star Trek convinces me otherwise. With surprisingly great acting and solid (but enjoyable) plot, they managed to pull it off with such dominance I have to name it Best Film of 2009. Now waiting for the sequel.
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!!
  16. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Star Trek is intelligent, funny, witty, visually dazzling, surprisingly well acted, and the story is told with a surprising amount of depth. It benefits from its mesmerizing action and true heart. I give this movie 89%.
  17. CharlesT.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Had all the heart and soul of the original series!
  18. LondonAntonio
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Story, action, cassic lines cleverly inserted without cheesiness all make for a wonderful eye-candied amazing movie.
  19. ChristopherG
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Absolute masterpiece - saw it at IMAX and would have happily walked straight back in and watched it again.
  20. KevD.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic film, not only does it have classic nods to the orignal and does not over do them, but it focuses on the relationship between Spock and Kirk in a new interesting way. The CGI is fantastic and it looks like the film has been made made trekkies as they seem to have looked at what was cheesy and moved away from it. The rapport between Kirk and Spock is fantastic and the This is a fantastic film, not only does it have classic nods to the orignal and does not over do them, but it focuses on the relationship between Spock and Kirk in a new interesting way. The CGI is fantastic and it looks like the film has been made made trekkies as they seem to have looked at what was cheesy and moved away from it. The rapport between Kirk and Spock is fantastic and the film is very pacey. I think the best film of the year. Expand
  21. AtticusD
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the most satisfying films ever, not to mention the best prequel I've ever seen.
  22. BryanW.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best films I've seen in the past few years - non stop action, accessible for everyone, and everyone left the screening beaming with joy and happiness - the way a great movie should leave you feeling. Even after seeing it early, Ill be the first in line to see it again tonight when it opens.
  23. AdamC.
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Loved it, but i didnt feel it epic enough on the battle scenes it felt more of a pilot for a series tbh still great though
  24. Moche
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Pine really is a revelation as Kirk. Not a slavish homage, but a fresh look that capture the spirit and some of the manerisms. Quinto is awesome as Spock and the whole cast shines in a whipcrack paced fun film. This is what Bond should be doing after the dull Quantum; embrace what made the series famous and run with it. Done well there is no need to be ashamed of its roots.
  25. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    This is an outstanding reboot of the classic sci-fi series we all know and love, partly because it introduces new and fresh ideas into the series while still paying homage to the original films.
  26. Sep 23, 2010
    7
    Star Trek is, generally speaking, a good movie that appeals to both established fans and outsiders alike. The acting is enjoyable, the actors are very well cast for their iconic roles, the special effects are great, the score is rousing, and there are tons of great little details only long time Star Trek fans will notice. Unfortunately the biggest problem this movie has is that it is aStar Trek is, generally speaking, a good movie that appeals to both established fans and outsiders alike. The acting is enjoyable, the actors are very well cast for their iconic roles, the special effects are great, the score is rousing, and there are tons of great little details only long time Star Trek fans will notice. Unfortunately the biggest problem this movie has is that it is a reboot of the series and as such disregards much of the established lore and history. While it goes about this in an interesting way in the end it opts to stand apart from almost fifty years of Star Trek rather then adding to the universe millions have come to love. Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2015
    7
    don't know too much about the Star Trek series but i found the movie very enjoyable with its stunning visuals and decent story. Star Trek might be forgettable but it was good while it last
  28. TomG
    May 7, 2009
    9
    As many trek fans knew, this film was not going to follow the same path as other trek films however even the most biased trekkies can relate to JJ's Star Trek. The cast are absolutely superb with Karl Urban standing out for me and Chris Pine doing an excellent job of adding his own spin to Kirk Michael Ginacchio's score is perhaps the biggest let down for me, while still an As many trek fans knew, this film was not going to follow the same path as other trek films however even the most biased trekkies can relate to JJ's Star Trek. The cast are absolutely superb with Karl Urban standing out for me and Chris Pine doing an excellent job of adding his own spin to Kirk Michael Ginacchio's score is perhaps the biggest let down for me, while still an excellent soundtrack for the film it fails to add that epic, majestic feeling former trek films have had. the film was also too short in all the wrong places with the climatic battle ending far too swiftly, regardless this film is still up to or on par with the Wrath of Khan, even better than First Contact and one definately not to miss by stubborn trekkers. JJ has a fantastic little set up here and the next film should be mind blowing. Expand
  29. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    now for jj abrhams the guy who was involved in my worst movie ever seen . that movie being Cloverfield i was very suprised at how well he did with this film . now im not a big treky i did enjoy star trek the next gen , and have seen some of the original films with shatner and most of the original series . so im not hardcore enough to where some are mad at him altering the whole story linenow for jj abrhams the guy who was involved in my worst movie ever seen . that movie being Cloverfield i was very suprised at how well he did with this film . now im not a big treky i did enjoy star trek the next gen , and have seen some of the original films with shatner and most of the original series . so im not hardcore enough to where some are mad at him altering the whole story line . which i think even if i was he did it in away that made sense and if they did a sequel it would be new and interesting (hopefully) . its the branching time line deal where some thing was changed in the past that follows the original star trek time line and creates a new one and thats the one we are now following . i thought eric bana did a good job as the romulan captin . as well as most of the other actors who did the main roles of the crew of the enterprise . its not great acting but it was good enough . this new plot line makes us wonder more not ever being sure whats gona happen next . it has some nice visuals and some pretty decent story telling . so old JJ redeams himself alittle for that abombinashon known as cloverfield . so if this is the future of the series then i say all ahead warp factor 8. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Kirk is Star Trek and in this movie they not only get you fired up about him you know it's in his genes. I've seen plenty of movie's where the opening sequence was brilliant. Casino Royale sans Craig, The Fifth Element, Mission Impossible, to name a few but none have taken the Hero call to this level. The tone from the start is exactly what Roddenberrry's vision was all about, the crusadeKirk is Star Trek and in this movie they not only get you fired up about him you know it's in his genes. I've seen plenty of movie's where the opening sequence was brilliant. Casino Royale sans Craig, The Fifth Element, Mission Impossible, to name a few but none have taken the Hero call to this level. The tone from the start is exactly what Roddenberrry's vision was all about, the crusade of hegemony into space and how that construct behaved with alien contact. This movie has it all and then updates everything. You don't have to be a Star Trek freak to enjoy this rocket ship into the future. Expand
  31. PatrickT.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely thrilling! Star Trek left me in awe as I left the theater; I was completely blown away by the epic scale of this incredible masterpiece.
  32. EJA
    May 12, 2009
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] First off this movie is really fun and exciting to watch. The writing is plenty passable and the acting was fine. The only issues were someof the logic in the plot. Just a couple things: 1) Nero would probably attempt to warn the romulans of the future then get all hell bent on revenge for something not even done yet. 2) Why does spock have to pod kirk to an unhospitable[***SPOILERS***] First off this movie is really fun and exciting to watch. The writing is plenty passable and the acting was fine. The only issues were someof the logic in the plot. Just a couple things: 1) Nero would probably attempt to warn the romulans of the future then get all hell bent on revenge for something not even done yet. 2) Why does spock have to pod kirk to an unhospitable ice planet just for being disobedient? And I saw that planet, its HUGE. What a coincidence he runs into spock's cave of all places to further the plot. 3) Lastly, a gigantic drill that goes into a planet? why didn't the vulcans send one tiny spacecraft to shoot the lengthy thin drilling device down? thats all young spock did to stop the drilling. Hell any modernday jet could have torpedo'ed the drill apart to prevent the drilling. But hey, its summer, and its fun so enjoy the ride Expand
  33. DennisM.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Until know - for me the best Action Movie in 2009! Brilliant, really, I love it... also for poeple who didnt liked Star Trek until now - watch it, it's absolutely awesome!
  34. PdMemeo
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived coincidences, rushed expositions), but it's all forgiven. Great adventure flick, and totally and utterly Star Trek. The cast nailed the character in a way I Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived coincidences, rushed expositions), but it's all forgiven. Great adventure flick, and totally and utterly Star Trek. The cast nailed the character in a way I couldn't think possible, and the production values are superb. Excellent musical score. A fast-paced trip into the wonderful unknown, gut-wrenching but at the same time incredibly satisfying. JJ Abrams is my new hero. Wow. Expand
  35. BrianA.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, it's the greatest prequel ever made. Visually stunning, great story, and above all, pitch perfect acting. See this film (and see it in IMAX if you can - it's worth a longer drive and/or paying more).
  36. DorisB.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    It is one of the best i have seen this should get an Oscar.
  37. MikeS
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year. There was a sense of "family" that I loved. They took a risk with a sci-fi film and they've succeeded.
  38. MichealO.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Awesome movie, the cast is very good!
  39. DonaldW.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely love this movie. Its a MUST see or any trekkie. This unbelievable movies will leave you begging for more.
  40. BrandonS.
    May 9, 2009
    9
    I'll keep this short. A long-time fan, I went in skeptical and left a believer. Great movie. The flaws are vastly overshadowed by the virtues.
  41. BenL
    May 15, 2009
    9
    GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to take place right along side it! Expand
  42. Bret
    May 15, 2009
    10
    I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought it interesting how in normal timeline Romulus is destroyed, in new timeline Vulcan is destroyed.. two sides of a mirror. I can't say enough how I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought it interesting how in normal timeline Romulus is destroyed, in new timeline Vulcan is destroyed.. two sides of a mirror. I can't say enough how good the casting was. Expand
  43. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    Star Trek is one of my favorite movies of the last decade. I can see it many times, and never get bored and this is for a number of reasons. Every scene is handled very well, and all is accompanied by a beautiful classic composition that really sets a perfect flow to everything it tries to portrayed. The characters, specially James T. Kirk and Spock are developed with tons of depth, andStar Trek is one of my favorite movies of the last decade. I can see it many times, and never get bored and this is for a number of reasons. Every scene is handled very well, and all is accompanied by a beautiful classic composition that really sets a perfect flow to everything it tries to portrayed. The characters, specially James T. Kirk and Spock are developed with tons of depth, and the rest of the crew are given unique personalities that are all very entertaining to watch. There´s action here, and very cool action, but this is a movie about characters, and their impact on the story. In fact this whole movie is an effort to accommodate an acceptable alternate universe to a series that has been running for way too much time. J.J Abrams did a fantastic job, it accommodated everything perfectly, and in the process it has created a very enjoyable film that has perfect pacing, and never gets boring. Expand
  44. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Very entertaining, excellent casting. Showed another dimension to the franchise by updating it, but still paying homage to the original. Excellent work. My only quibble was with its predictability, but hey, you can't have everything. See it on big screen if possible.
  45. May 12, 2013
    8
    So overall I really liked Star Trek. While it does not offer much in terms of ideology or great films it is a lot of fun. It has the same characters you know and love with a little twist, it is fast paced, has some good action, and is a lot of fun to watch. This is a film that will appeal to both casual movie goers and Star Trek fans alike. If you have not seen the movie yet check it outSo overall I really liked Star Trek. While it does not offer much in terms of ideology or great films it is a lot of fun. It has the same characters you know and love with a little twist, it is fast paced, has some good action, and is a lot of fun to watch. This is a film that will appeal to both casual movie goers and Star Trek fans alike. If you have not seen the movie yet check it out because I think that you will really like it. Star Trek (2009) is a great film that does a good job setting up the characters and I cannot wait to see what happens to them in Star Trek Into Darkness. When the film ended I wanted to see more of these characters and thankfully after four years of waiting the sequel is finally coming out. Abrams you have a really good first film under your belt and if you screw up the sequel I will be really pissed off. Hopefully Star Trek (2009) is the start of a great new franchise of Star Trek films. Expand
  46. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Star Trek is a fantastic reboot of the age-old franchise. The action scenes and effects are top notch but it's the relationships between the characters that really sell things here. The friction between Kirk and Spock is super fun to watch. The only downer; not enough of Karl Urban's Bones.
  47. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    This is a good movie. If you're interested in sitting down and watching an exciting film with a lot of great actors and action, you won't be disappointed. Also, if you're a fan of Star Trek, it doesn't leave you in the dust, either. It maintains some great fan service elements, including seeing all of your old, favorite characters as kids, seeing the Enterprise, and some other classicThis is a good movie. If you're interested in sitting down and watching an exciting film with a lot of great actors and action, you won't be disappointed. Also, if you're a fan of Star Trek, it doesn't leave you in the dust, either. It maintains some great fan service elements, including seeing all of your old, favorite characters as kids, seeing the Enterprise, and some other classic aspects of the old series. It's nice to see a franchise that had fallen so hard with The Next Generation movies pull up out of the dirt.

    Still, the film is not perfect. There are an abundance of plot holes and the action and the climactic elements are undercut at times. The film has such an exciting, fast-paced development that you may not notice these, and more likely than not, you wouldn't care anyways. This film wasn't designed to be completely consistent or solid, but meant to bring you in for a fast, enjoyable ride and make you think of Star Trek fondly (whether you're a nerd or not). And it does just that. Definitely go see it.

    http://thotsforthot.blogspot.com/2011/02/star-trek-2009-successes-and.html
    Expand
  48. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    All thanks to this movie...now star trek is truly worthy of calling itself THE rival of star wars...no doubt its the best prequel made by anyone for any movie....
  49. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    One of the strongest films in the franchise! The film is expertly cast, with Urban playing Dr. Bones McCoy perfectly. Arguments can be made for every cast member! Within the first 10 minutes, the audience is blast into intense action and is met with a heartbreaking introduction. As we see each character make their appearance throughout the film, there is one above all that steals the show,One of the strongest films in the franchise! The film is expertly cast, with Urban playing Dr. Bones McCoy perfectly. Arguments can be made for every cast member! Within the first 10 minutes, the audience is blast into intense action and is met with a heartbreaking introduction. As we see each character make their appearance throughout the film, there is one above all that steals the show, and oddly enough, it's a cameo! Live long and prosper for veteran and new fans alike! Expand
  50. May 28, 2011
    9
    I hate Star Trek and I loved this movie. It even overcame a terrible a villain - Eric Bana's bad guy just didn't make sense... story arc = miner on mining vessel to insane planet destroyer?... right.... - but even with that huge flaw, I loved this film. Kirk, Spock, the Russian kid, Scotty, Harold (from Harold and Kumar) and Captain Pike all rocked and oh my god Ohura you sexyI hate Star Trek and I loved this movie. It even overcame a terrible a villain - Eric Bana's bad guy just didn't make sense... story arc = miner on mining vessel to insane planet destroyer?... right.... - but even with that huge flaw, I loved this film. Kirk, Spock, the Russian kid, Scotty, Harold (from Harold and Kumar) and Captain Pike all rocked and oh my god Ohura you sexy linguistics overachiever you - keep wearing that skirt with your clever self. Expand
  51. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    Reinvigorates the Star Trek franchise in more ways than one!
    Plenty of Trekkies will have a Klingon Rage at this while some will settle back with some Romulan Ale and toast the success the collective minds of Orci, Kurtzman and Abrams.have had in re-establishing Star Trek as a Mainstream, Pop Culture Franchise..
    Characters are needing a bit more fleshed out storylines and the story needs
    Reinvigorates the Star Trek franchise in more ways than one!
    Plenty of Trekkies will have a Klingon Rage at this while some will settle back with some Romulan Ale and toast the success the collective minds of Orci, Kurtzman and Abrams.have had in re-establishing Star Trek as a Mainstream, Pop Culture Franchise..

    Characters are needing a bit more fleshed out storylines and the story needs to be decent for the Sequel but otherwise a healthy movie, worth its praise! TREKKIE OPINION....
    As a Star Trek Film and Origin Story for a reboot of the franchise I think it does excellently. Plenty of Trekkies are gonna have issues with it and do. But for me its a great franchise reboot and one that Star Trek Badly needed!!
    Expand
  52. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    I never grew into this whole Star Trek fandom or never even bothered but this movie really hooked me up on the franchise. It was well done and great, I can't wait for a sequel (or prequel)!
  53. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    Star Trek - The IMAX Experience One Line review!

    Star Trek - IMAX gets a B+ - Fast paced action, every Trek cliche included. Glaring plotholes at the end excluded, solid sci-fi adventure.
  54. Dec 24, 2011
    8
    Unluckily, I have never watched any movie of this franchise before, but I doubt this film may let you down. Speedy, but well-constructed, "Start Trek" offers dazzling visuals, exciting entertainment and a delicious nostalgic tone of early sci-fi movies.
  55. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    "Star Trek" gets the ultimate reboot as J.J. Abrams brings the old, rustic star trek series back to its energetic space-travel roots with some shiny visuals, excellent casting, and a pulsating storyline.
  56. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    This film is quite surely, a surprising piece of sci-fi entertainment. It did bore me sometimes, but the characters themselves were extremely interesting to watch - especially the way the actors portrayed the characters as they did in the 60's. This is particularly on terms with Chris Pine playing James T. Kirk, even trying a bit of overacting as William Shatner did. I also loved SimonThis film is quite surely, a surprising piece of sci-fi entertainment. It did bore me sometimes, but the characters themselves were extremely interesting to watch - especially the way the actors portrayed the characters as they did in the 60's. This is particularly on terms with Chris Pine playing James T. Kirk, even trying a bit of overacting as William Shatner did. I also loved Simon Pegg's accent as he played Scotty. The development of the characters are quite possibly the key part of this film, but they are the most significant element that I praise. I just love how characters get on with each other.
    Often, it is difficult when doing remakes, because it depends on the success of the original. The interior designs of the spaceships were well done and the graphics of space itself were beautifully fascinating. Overall, this film provides some good entertainment and mainly very good character development. I just think the pacing needs a little tweaking, as sometimes it skipped forward or dragged on for a while. Still, I enjoyed it. Can't wait for the sequel, which I hope will be just as good or even better.
    Expand
  57. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Given that the sequel is now out, and I'm about to draft a review for that, it's probably time to get the review for this one up. I've always been a Star Trek fan. Not one of the rabid ones, one of the die-hard eats-lives-breathes Trek fans (the superstereotypical Trekkies), but a fan nevertheless. Given that reboots are now dominating Hollywood to the point that one begins to wonder howGiven that the sequel is now out, and I'm about to draft a review for that, it's probably time to get the review for this one up. I've always been a Star Trek fan. Not one of the rabid ones, one of the die-hard eats-lives-breathes Trek fans (the superstereotypical Trekkies), but a fan nevertheless. Given that reboots are now dominating Hollywood to the point that one begins to wonder how many original ideas are making it through the producer deflector screen. Thankfully, this reboot is one of the few that makes you glad that you spent the money to see it in the theater. Let's talk Star Trek. This is an out-and-out reboot, forget everything that came before except Star Trek: Enterprise (which was generally forgettable on its own for the most part). This gives the movie an amazing degree of latitude, freedom that it uses to exceptional benefit. Consider for a moment the fact that we're talking about established characters known to the entire world, and now we're plugging new actors into them. This is actor hell. Sure, you're being given a shot at a major screen role, probably bigger than anything that's ever come before, but you're going up against the yardstick of your predecessor. That said, the entire...ENTIRE...cast deserves congratulations on jobs very well done. Not a single actor failed in any way to render a believable, moving, and memorable performance. More on that in a few seconds. Scriptwriting is bang-on, featuring a coherent plot with enough twists to make it interesting, enough levity to keep it from being depressing, and outstanding character development and progression. They didn't fall into the trap of trying to redevelop characters along the lines they followed in the original storylines; they went in new directions, all of which were rewarding. Action is plentiful because, well, that's what audiences today demand (Star Trek: The Motion Picture would never fly in today's market...it barely flew in any case). Even so, the action is well choreographed and is a sensible part of the story rather than merely action for the sake of action. Set design was beautiful and well-designed; everything had a function. And to address something many people have made noise about, yes, this Enterprise looks a lot more advanced than the one in the original series. That's the POINT. This movie follows Star Trek: Enterprise. The original series, Next Generation, all of that never happened. Thus, this Enterprise is a logical progression from the one in ST:E. Even the overall story is, frankly, a brilliant fusion of old and new timelines to create an exceptional reboot. But, as promised, back to the cast. Chris Pine is a very good Kirk...at the risk of infuriating legions of Trek fans, actually better in many ways than Shatner was (his deliveries are better, blocking is smoother, and he is able to project an ego without being a walking one). Zachary Quinto may not be Leonard Nimoy, but who is? Quinto's Spock is a fantastic portrayal of a beloved character, and one that lives up to the lofty standards set by Nimoy. Zoe Saldana's Uhura is every bit the groundbreaker that Nichelle Nichols was. Everybody, from John Cho as Sulu to Anton Yelchin's Chekov, are believable parts of the crew and fit perfectly into the story's universe. Karl Urban in particular deserves commendation; at long last, he's found his calling and has developed a perfect interpretation of McCoy. And Simon Pegg as Scotty? Pegg's interpretation is easily believable as the younger Montgomery Scott, with the same genius and exuberance. I also must make mention of Leonard Nimoy (of course): it would be so easy for Nimoy to overpower the entire film, but (and here's the mark of a truly great actor) he doesn't. He's every bit a part of the narrative as every other character, which is why I'm so glad Shatner stayed out of this one. (He would've wrecked it. Shatner's Kirk is dead. Done, full stop. Forget the fact that he resurrected his own character in his novels. Sorry, Shatner-Kirk is cashed out; it's time for Pine-Kirk.) Oh! And the score? The anthem of this new incarnation of Trek is so worthy of the mantle of Trek...Michael Giacchino seems intent on vaulting into the neighborhood of John Williams, and he just might. In short, much as I tried to find fault with this reboot, I just can't. There are a few tiny plot holes, but every film has and can be forgiven for a couple minor ones. Star Trek is an excellent film and promises to sprout a crop of new Trek fans for a new generation of Trek. As long as they can keep this up, it's going to be a good one. A very rare 10 for the sci-fi gem of Star Trek. Boldly go. Expand
  58. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    With JJ Abrams at the helm, this was a blockbuster that we guessed would be loud, explosive, and armed with enough action to rival any blockbuster. It doesn't disappoint.
    Acting as a reboot or prequel to all the other Trek movies, and the TV show for that matter, we see see the birth of James Kirk, tragedy, however, surrounds his birth, and this sets up the events which unfold later in
    With JJ Abrams at the helm, this was a blockbuster that we guessed would be loud, explosive, and armed with enough action to rival any blockbuster. It doesn't disappoint.
    Acting as a reboot or prequel to all the other Trek movies, and the TV show for that matter, we see see the birth of James Kirk, tragedy, however, surrounds his birth, and this sets up the events which unfold later in the movie surrounding Nero (Eric Bana) and his planet, Romulus.
    Chris Pine steps into the shoes of the now grown-up Captain Kirk, who is, well, a egotistical, jerk. His arrogance keeps him on the wrong side of the law on many occasions, but this somehow lands him enlisting in Starfleet Academy, where he becomes friends with Dr Leonard McCoy (Karl Urban).
    Told as two separate stories until they meet each other, we see a young Spock fighting after quips about his human mother are made by other boys, later on in his life, his mother is again shown to be the cause of him joining Starfleet, and here we see the introduction of Kirk and Spock, and its further from what you might believe.
    Abrams has rejuvenated the franchise, top to bottom, and has developed the characters to the point of truly getting to know their backstory, why they are there and what exactly their purpose is aboard the Starfleet, the ensemble cast also includes Simon Pegg as the humorous Scotty, John Cho as Sulu and Zoe Saldana (having a good year as she also starred in Avatar) as Nyota Uhura.
    We also see one of the best extended cameos/small supporting role in film, Leonard Nimoy, in what can only be described as a pivotal and significant part, not a blink-and-you'll-miss-it role.
    The chemistry between the characters is exceptional, the actors have clearly researched their roles but at the same time have brought their own charisma and uniqueness to them, not attempting to copy the originals, but simply base their performances on them.
    The action is a-plenty, but nothing short of spectacular, whether it be the enormous sets used at the Academy, or even the battles in space, from the glorious interiors of the Enterprise to the massive achievements of other planets, its all beautiful to see.
    This is definitely a step in the right path for Star Trek, its stripped its long-winded universe down to the bare essentials to start off, and this has worked like magic, with a sequel not far away, it can only get better, beam yourself up to see this movie.
    Expand
  59. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    This is bound to be one of the best movies of the year. In my book, it definitely is.

    I am not to be mistaken for a Trekkie fan, although after seeing this movie, I'll probably have to go and check out the other movies and the TV show. So, I'm reviewing this movie as someone who barely knows anything about Starfleet or the world surrounding this movie. The cast is well-chosen, I
    This is bound to be one of the best movies of the year. In my book, it definitely is.

    I am not to be mistaken for a Trekkie fan, although after seeing this movie, I'll probably have to go and check out the other movies and the TV show. So, I'm reviewing this movie as someone who barely knows anything about Starfleet or the world surrounding this movie.

    The cast is well-chosen, I think. Everyone was acting well, and they fit their characters, so to speak. After following Zachary Quinto in "Heroes", it was nice to see some other work from him as well, and I was far from disappointed; his Spock was very good. The bone-headed, young James Kirk is definitely annoying and makes a lot happen in his life: he knows what he wants, and is going to get it, one way or another. Sometimes his wit is outrun by his temper, but luckily there are good friends to keep him alive through that. Karl Urban's Bones worked very well with him.

    Other than the spectacular visual and special effects, the music that was there but not disturbingly so (which means the score did exactly what it should), and the overall magnificence of the plot, one thing must be mentioned: the humor.

    One big, notable thing about this movie is that it is deadly funny. And it is funny without taking one bit away from all the action and drama that is going on. The balance between the three is perfected in this movie.

    This is a movie worth seeing for Trekkie fans and those who just enjoy good drama and sci-fi. I'm sure that for those who have followed Star Trek, there are a lot of hidden goodies in this movie that I couldn't find. But nonetheless, I truly, deeply, loved this one!
    Expand
  60. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    Oh my, time travel? Again? Rather than actually have to work at creating the Star Trek universe from the past JJ Abrams has opted for the lazy route; to retcon everything with the mentioned time travel plot. That said the film is surprisingly decent. The cast are good, Chris Pine pulls off Kirk well and it would of been a lesser film without him. He takes the main facets of Kirk;Oh my, time travel? Again? Rather than actually have to work at creating the Star Trek universe from the past JJ Abrams has opted for the lazy route; to retcon everything with the mentioned time travel plot. That said the film is surprisingly decent. The cast are good, Chris Pine pulls off Kirk well and it would of been a lesser film without him. He takes the main facets of Kirk; Intelligence, emotion, empathy, equality, imagination and ego and makes his own Kirk, as apposed to just trying to copy Shatner. Kudos to him. Like I said, I wasn't keen on the plot but I liked the motivation for the villains. I also liked Eric Banner's mix of matter of fact casual attitude mixed with acute hate and rage. I liked that the villains were former miners and their ship was an actual mining vessel, rather than them being trained soldiers on a warship etc. The pacing is decent and the action sequences are exciting and filmed well. There are some nice nods to fan boys also such as the Kosbayashi Maru test scene. Some moments in the film however just seem too self aware and winky though. All in all I thought it was a good film, not lazy in personality but lazy in conception. Expand
  61. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    J.J. Abrams' STAR TREK will certainly be appreciated by those who have enjoyed the original show as a classic series. And as an action film, it certainly delivers. I thought the film was...disposable. But anyone age 30 and on praises it enormously, so I must have been born a decade or so too late.
  62. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    In my opinion, Star Trek was never quite as cool as Star Wars and I remember some of the feature films being particularly poor. J.J Abrams does his best to equal things up by giving the much-loved franchise a much needed modern update with this 2009 reboot.

    By setting the action in the infancy of the Enterprise (a prequel to the original TV series), the writers are not only able to
    In my opinion, Star Trek was never quite as cool as Star Wars and I remember some of the feature films being particularly poor. J.J Abrams does his best to equal things up by giving the much-loved franchise a much needed modern update with this 2009 reboot.

    By setting the action in the infancy of the Enterprise (a prequel to the original TV series), the writers are not only able to base the story around familiar characters but younger, more energetic versions of those seen before. No doubt slightly unpopular with Star Trek die-hards, this results in a film that will attract younger viewers to the franchise. This is summed up by the scene where Kirk is shown in bed with a scantily clad busty green alien at the academy, a scene unlikely to have appeared in any previous Star Trek film. However, Abrams gives enough props to the franchise with some finer details like the transporting CGI and sound effects and Spock using a Vulcan death grip without giving in to the clichéd catchphrases that I had expected.

    The film itself is a fast paced action-er with an enjoyable plot, and would be capable of being a decent space action film without all that being a Star Trek film brings to it. Chris Pine's Kirk is **** but likeable and his rivalry with the young Spock is a source of some of the films funnier moments. I loved Zachary Quinto in Heroes and he is superbly cast as the legendary Spock, who finds himself confused between his Vulcan upbringing and human emotions.

    It was great to see Leonard Nimoy make more than a cameo appearance as the older Spock, but as often the case with action film villains, it was shame that Eric Bana wasn't really given much to work as Nero.
    Expand
  63. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    In short, the film is an action-packed and glorious adventure. Not having watched the original series, I thought that the first film in the reboot is fantastic. The cast was great, the acting was solid, it's funny in several places, and everything is evenly-balanced.
  64. May 21, 2012
    8
    Untrue to the original series, but still a thoroughly enjoyable film. The number one consideration with this film was, "How can I take Star Trek and make it accessible to a modern audience?", and in that, this film succeeds massively.
  65. May 29, 2012
    10
    I am giving this movie a 10 only because other ratings are so low. The film is a great achievement in mastering the re-imagination of an old idea and bringing it new life. Sure we would love to put Shatner, Kelley and Nimoy on the silver screen again in prime condition - and to try to recapture that would tug the presentation in the wrong direction. This movie has a fair plot - aI am giving this movie a 10 only because other ratings are so low. The film is a great achievement in mastering the re-imagination of an old idea and bringing it new life. Sure we would love to put Shatner, Kelley and Nimoy on the silver screen again in prime condition - and to try to recapture that would tug the presentation in the wrong direction. This movie has a fair plot - a terrible villain and a mountain to climb in criticism. The acting is fabulous. The filming is out of this world. Expand
  66. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    While I think that maybe the original cast is missed by most star trek fans, I think the cast selection, conversion, and the alternate reality could have had some problems I find that it was done seamlessly and the new cast fit in beautifully. I liked this movie a lot.
  67. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    J.J Abrams out did himself here. I was never a fan of Star Trek and to be honest I do not think I will ever enjoy the older movies and programmes but as a stand alone film, this has to be considered the best blockbuster of the summer. It has everything you could possibly want in a film and the pacing is fantastic especially when considering how long this film actually is.The chemistryJ.J Abrams out did himself here. I was never a fan of Star Trek and to be honest I do not think I will ever enjoy the older movies and programmes but as a stand alone film, this has to be considered the best blockbuster of the summer. It has everything you could possibly want in a film and the pacing is fantastic especially when considering how long this film actually is.The chemistry between all the characters is also great and I do love how they seem to have actually taken their time over the storyline in order to get it 100% correct. I was shocked at how much I enjoyed this film. Expand
  68. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    I've been a fan of Star Trek since I grew up watching the original series as a kid and also watching Star Trek TNG into my late teens (Star Trek TNG is still my favourite TV series of all time!). This was a great reboot of the series, I really enjoyed it! It had lots of funny moments and it was interesting to see today's young actors and actresses put their spin on the characters form theI've been a fan of Star Trek since I grew up watching the original series as a kid and also watching Star Trek TNG into my late teens (Star Trek TNG is still my favourite TV series of all time!). This was a great reboot of the series, I really enjoyed it! It had lots of funny moments and it was interesting to see today's young actors and actresses put their spin on the characters form the original series. Much more entertaining than the couple of mediocre TNG movies released before it.

    Note: I originally gave this a 10/10 but after reading other reviews I have realized something some negative reviews have said that I absolute agree with. Most Star Trek movies have been very intellectual. Look at Star Trek the Motion Picture, Star Trek the Undiscovered Country, Star Trek IV the Voyage Home, etc. Also, being intellectual was the staple of the entire TNG series and all of the TNG movies. The original Star Trek series was also very intellectual with just enough fist fights and battles thrown in to keep the network happy. But now here comes the "Star Trek" reboot in which we get cliche versions of the original Star Trek series characters used mainly as comedic devices, and a plot that really isn't intellectual at all. Yes, the movie is funny and entertaining. If you take this movie on its own it is a good movie, a 10/10. But when taken in context against the whole Star Trek franchise, you realize that this movie has the potential to destroy the spirit of the Star Trek franchise forever by doing away with all of the intellectual stuff in an attempt to appeal to a wider audience. I really don't know why Star Trek spin-offs and movies are always trying so hard to appeal to non-Star Trek fans, It didn't work with the Enterprise spin-off series, it didn't work with Star Trek Nemesis, why can't they just accept the huge, monumental cult following they have by their loyal fans and be happy rather than tone it down for non-fans who are not as interested? This movie could quite possibly be the movie that kills the Star Trek franchise for good, time will tell. For this reason I have knocked a couple of points off my score.
    Expand
  69. May 20, 2013
    10
    This movie appeals to a broader audience than just Trekkies. It takes everything that was great from the old series and puts it into a large budget film of the current day. Finally, Star Trek is on par with Star Wars in the special effects department! Great film, a must see!!!
  70. May 9, 2013
    8
    I watched this at least 5 times. The CGI was top notch. The plot unraveled at a breakneck pace, and the characterization was fabulous. What fascinated me was that there was a story to be told, and that's why the movie was made, and not just to make loads of money on a trash plot. Kirk was definitely the best character. Bana portrayed the psychotic Nero very well. The rest of the crew alsoI watched this at least 5 times. The CGI was top notch. The plot unraveled at a breakneck pace, and the characterization was fabulous. What fascinated me was that there was a story to be told, and that's why the movie was made, and not just to make loads of money on a trash plot. Kirk was definitely the best character. Bana portrayed the psychotic Nero very well. The rest of the crew also delivered engaging performances. This has to be one of my favorite space movies. The movie succeeded in reviving a dying franchise. Expand
  71. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic! I know nothing about the previous Star Trek films or shows so I do not know where this film fits or whether or not it does justice to the saga, but regardless....this film was great. One of the best of 2009!
  72. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    To be fair. I though this was decent reboot. I really love how all the die-hard fans are hatin this for not following ST-lore to the letter. It's a reboot, the whole point was to give it a fresh start, using something familiar.

    But them aside, effect were good, Pine is a better Kirk than Shatner (my opinion, so relax, and NO! I will not change it!) Zachary Quinto does a far better
    To be fair. I though this was decent reboot. I really love how all the die-hard fans are hatin this for not following ST-lore to the letter. It's a reboot, the whole point was to give it a fresh start, using something familiar.

    But them aside, effect were good, Pine is a better Kirk than Shatner (my opinion, so relax, and NO! I will not change it!)

    Zachary Quinto does a far better job at being Spock than I expected, nowhere near as good as Nimoy, but I doubt anyone could be.

    John Cho as Sulu? While I will always prefer Takei, Cho is a decent choice but I was surprised.

    Simon Pegg is too high profile to be Scotty. He plays the part well enough, but it's really hard to not see him as Shaun of the Star Trek.

    Anton Yelchin is a VERY different Chekov, but, to be honest, I prefer this Chekov to the old one. He's adorable.

    Sadana more or less is a modern Uhura. Not really very compelling and tends to be a bit too up-to-date in terms of her personality. But, she plays the part well, and how she plays Uhura fits with this universe's Star Trek.

    The movie is a little too slow at times and a little too fast in others, so pacing is a bit uneven. Story is interesting and does open up the ST franchise to countless new possibilities.

    Overall:
    For a reboot, it is one of the better ones and the new Star Trek universe is an interesting one. I look forward to future installment and hope someone decides to do another TV show in THIS universe.
    Expand
  73. May 11, 2013
    8
    I've seen Star Trek a few times now yet it still doesn't really grab me as a great film. While I like it, and it's got great characters and an interesting storyline I do find myself getting just a little bored also. I'm not a trekkie, or a nerd when it comes to sci-fi films so perhaps this is why. Having said all this I still think it's a solid film, especially visually with great specialI've seen Star Trek a few times now yet it still doesn't really grab me as a great film. While I like it, and it's got great characters and an interesting storyline I do find myself getting just a little bored also. I'm not a trekkie, or a nerd when it comes to sci-fi films so perhaps this is why. Having said all this I still think it's a solid film, especially visually with great special effects, and there is enough here to make for an enjoyable viewing, and I am looking forward to the sequel! Expand
  74. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Good entertainment all round and it was a reasonable prequel to the movies. I liked the bad guy Banner. the young Kirk was also well cast, and you gotta love the Doc!
  75. May 17, 2013
    9
    Never, never had a special interest in this series, because it has never had a story, which in my opinion was not worth seeing. but really this movie it looked appealing, so I found the opportunity to see this work.
    I've heard that this film is the restart of the story. I felt relieved because as I've never heard of this series, thanks to this film I do not miss anything. Really remain
    Never, never had a special interest in this series, because it has never had a story, which in my opinion was not worth seeing. but really this movie it looked appealing, so I found the opportunity to see this work.
    I've heard that this film is the restart of the story. I felt relieved because as I've never heard of this series, thanks to this film I do not miss anything. Really remain surprised, just seen a true masterpiece.
    the story is very good, the action scenes were filmed very well, the drama was more than good and the special effects and photography are outstanding and spectacular.
    In proceedings highlights the Spock (Zachary Quinto), which from what little I've vistol original series, mimics the original Leonard Nimoy (which incidentally appears in the film). For the rest of the cast, although some costs recognize them convincing.

    Certainly, a blockbuster that will appeal to all audiences, both lovers of science fiction (there are clear references to gender) and those who enjoy the adrenaline.
    My Score: 9.3
    Expand
  76. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    A fantastic thrill ride that is great because of the cast. The casting in this film is pitch perfect and director J.J. Abrams makes a Star Trek film not just for Star Trek fans but fans of any good sci-fi films.
  77. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Great story, lots of action, all of the characters are all there, i can easily consider this the absolute best Star Trek movie since Star Trek First Contact
  78. May 4, 2013
    10
    And a fantastic film, full of action, humor, good performances, the own Gene Roddenberry, was creating the series today, he would like, not to mention that the film pod please even the most demanding fans, as the public casual
  79. May 22, 2013
    10
    Perfect, everything was perfect.
    It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly to very beautiful.
    I hate all martial arts movies, and gun battle movies, movies like The Expendables 2, Jason Statham movies, The Dark Knight Rises,
    Perfect, everything was perfect.
    It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly to very beautiful.
    I hate all martial arts movies, and gun battle movies, movies like The Expendables 2, Jason Statham movies, The Dark Knight Rises, but I loved hand to hand combat and stunt scenes from Star Trek.
    I also don't like people with too much muscles. I want Star Wars to be like this Start Trek, I want Star Wars to have many hand to hand combat, street fight like how Kirk did. and many stunt scenes.
    I specially liked Spock, Spock prime, Kirk, warp drive, story, music, heartwarming scenes. But there were things I felt missing, I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes, not ships battle scenes. I wanted to see some small Aliens like from Cloverfield and Metro 2033.
    Expand
  80. May 17, 2013
    9
    While pleasing old fans, and introducing a new generation to a timeless franchise, 'Star Trek' lives up to the name. With jaw dropping special effects, an excellent story, and some on point acting, the new 'Star Trek' is one of the best sci-fi films and reboot/remake in recent memory.
  81. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Very impressive, action packed, Hollywood blockbuster- that will keep you entertained throughout the whole film. the acting is good and CG I is astonishingly brilliant. the film is not just aimed a star trek fans, but a whole manner of people. this film is made great by the balance of action; acting, something you don't normally see when the CG I is as big as this.
  82. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This was an excellent movie, and no one else can convince me otherwise.
    it was a great addition to the Star Trek Franchise, but it was phenomenal in its own light.
    By and large, it was a sci-fi epic. Excellent graphics (such a gorgeous movie to look at- I was mesmerized by the outer space scenes. But more than that- I loved the recast. Despite what critical fans may say, this movie and
    This was an excellent movie, and no one else can convince me otherwise.
    it was a great addition to the Star Trek Franchise, but it was phenomenal in its own light.
    By and large, it was a sci-fi epic.
    Excellent graphics (such a gorgeous movie to look at- I was mesmerized by the outer space scenes. But more than that- I loved the recast.
    Despite what critical fans may say, this movie and its actors impressed me.
    Overall, it was so excellent and I love watching it frequently.
    Expand
  83. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    An interesting different approach to the new Star Trek. A more "shoot first and ask questions later" feel. And I very much so enjoyed it. A much faster pace which is much preferred in my mind and excellent special effects and a brilliant casting. Good to see Simon Pegg in there as Scotty! The only letdown is the lens flare which can be off putting at times. But a thrilling storyAn interesting different approach to the new Star Trek. A more "shoot first and ask questions later" feel. And I very much so enjoyed it. A much faster pace which is much preferred in my mind and excellent special effects and a brilliant casting. Good to see Simon Pegg in there as Scotty! The only letdown is the lens flare which can be off putting at times. But a thrilling story nonetheless with a fantastic villain and it seems this is the benchmark for the next generation of Star Trek. Expand
  84. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed this film! There was action, there were great special effects, there was humour, and a lot of nostalgia for those familiar with the original series. All the characters were entertaining, although some could have been developed a bit more (Eric Bana was excellent as Nero, I wish we could have seen more of him).
    The plot was nothing too complicated, making it easy for all
    I really enjoyed this film! There was action, there were great special effects, there was humour, and a lot of nostalgia for those familiar with the original series. All the characters were entertaining, although some could have been developed a bit more (Eric Bana was excellent as Nero, I wish we could have seen more of him).
    The plot was nothing too complicated, making it easy for all to follow. Even if you had never seen a Star Trek film/episode before, you could still find this film a good sci-fi adventure. If, on the other hand, you loved the original Star Trek, then I can't see how you could not like this film. Zachary Quinto did justice to the character of Spock, and there were loads of inside jokes and references that will appeal to the avid fans. Not to mention that we finally hear Uhura's first name mentioned on screen!
    Go see the film!
    Expand
  85. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    As someone who despised the earlier television and film series, this was a worthy re-imagining that works amazingly well. This film benefits from J.J. Abrams fantastic direction and its outstanding character interaction. Chris Pine as Kirk is very well cast and Zachary Quinto as Spock is just flawless. The visuals are beautiful to look at and are extremely well choreographed. All of theseAs someone who despised the earlier television and film series, this was a worthy re-imagining that works amazingly well. This film benefits from J.J. Abrams fantastic direction and its outstanding character interaction. Chris Pine as Kirk is very well cast and Zachary Quinto as Spock is just flawless. The visuals are beautiful to look at and are extremely well choreographed. All of these attributes are followed up with a very well written script that manages to be original and entertaining! Whether you enjoyed the Star Trek in the past or not, Star Trek '09 will fascinate you to infinity! Expand
  86. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    A very stylish film done with elegance and creative vision, then add on top of that a great script, well done acting, eye popping visuals and you have this major hit! Great, great film and a great restart to this beloved series.
  87. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I admire it's noir tone to the classic and cult sci fi series, and it's lead men are very charismatic and 'vulcan'. The story could have been a little simpler, but otherwise a movie I could watch more than twice.
  88. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    If I had a coffee bean, I'd extract the elixir of life from it in the Post-It note, I'd stand in the rain with it in the gravy-boat... My trenchcoat is really a diesel-powered basking shark.
  89. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Star Trek (2009) on Blu-Ray is a fantastic film running 126 minutes long.The film is a new take on an existing series, it does suffer from consistency issues with the Star Trek series. Nothing that will hurt the movie if you can look beyond that though. With that said, the movie is paced well, with the entire story being important to the outcome of the film. Throughout the movie, we haveStar Trek (2009) on Blu-Ray is a fantastic film running 126 minutes long.The film is a new take on an existing series, it does suffer from consistency issues with the Star Trek series. Nothing that will hurt the movie if you can look beyond that though. With that said, the movie is paced well, with the entire story being important to the outcome of the film. Throughout the movie, we have an opportunity to explore a number of landscapes, ice worlds, space, and earth. This Star Trek though is beginning of the journey, prior to the original Star Trek series, and as such is a perfect entry into the Star Trek world for both new and old. The story is a tightly nit tale of retribution, coming of age, and desire. The screenplay was well written, the characters were confident and fun, and as a whole it was a great experience. There were some pieces of this which may make it inappropriate for younger audiences depending on family rules. There is some kissing, women in underwear, and some crude humor. There is also some profanity spread throughout as well as characters who are intoxicated. Overall though, I would say for most families and children this movie would be fine for anyone over the age of 10-12.

    The video itself is fantastically done in 1080P with a light grain. Fleshtones are correct, and correctly reflect the lighting for the different environments, even when some of this is done in CG. The blacks throughout the film were deep and textured, an important piece of a film like this. The darker ships were well textured and differentiated from the depths of space behind them. Overall, the film is an excellent representation of what a video can look like and will be a great way to showcase the power of your home theater display.

    The audio is presented in Dolby TrueHD (5.1 I believe) and is engulfing in every way. The soundtrack features powerful LFE (low frequency extension bass from the subwoofer), such as when the ships jump to warp, but it's important to realize that the entire dynamic range (low to high volume levels) is compressed in comparison to a more common action movie. The movie takes advantage of the full 360º area and creates a soundstage filled with detail and direction that will allow you to stay fully engrossed in the movie.

    Overall this is a fantastic movie with strong video and audio aspects. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  90. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    A Wonderful Space Adventure Movie !!!

    ** Star Trek ** * This movie is more than just science fiction because it has a great story in its lead in which you gain a good excitement and thrilling adventure not only that its has lot lots of humor for your amusement and also good action sequence! this movie is quite enjoyable and a great treat !! . * This movie gives you the good
    A Wonderful Space Adventure Movie !!!

    ** Star Trek **

    * This movie is more than just science fiction because it has a great story in its lead in which you gain a good excitement and thrilling adventure not only that its has lot lots of humor for your amusement and also good action sequence! this movie is quite enjoyable and a great treat !! .

    * This movie gives you the good knowledge about the distant future ! they cover everything about the technologies , people , vehicles, different planets and alien races etc.. it has science and knowledge even though its a fictional story ! that gives this movie a great credibility . It has great scripting , screen play and character development that make this movie great !.

    * The story in this movie did not leave any confusions or errors since its done perfectly it also has multiple story within itself that the defines the whole story .This story is complicated yet they did a spectacular job of doing right by giving correct amount of attributes and updates .

    * The characters were given so much of importance and development because it was a main back bone features for this movie !.There were not a single character in this movie that are like not used , mismatched and not needed . Each and every characters had an important role to play in this movie and they were all perfect and like-able These features gave this movie the praise and appreciation that it receives right now .

    *The Screen play in this movie is amazing it had an heart of its own giving us the essence of excitement and enjoyment !!.

    *The Actors performance were amazing each had their job full filled with good acting and great performance they made their respective characters like-able they should get applauded for their work !! .

    * They utilized visual effects and made this movie more entertaining it gave clarity to the entire movie with such perfection !! every screen play we see sparkles with light effects which are utilized to a full extent to make this movie to be colorful in all perspective !! .

    * These Credits also goes to the director of this movie J.J. Abrams for making such wonderful movie !! .

    * Overall this movie is a great entertainer with lots of action, adventure and also humor !!! .

    * Star Trek : **********

    (10/10)
    Expand
  91. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    An excellent film with an amazing cast. This revised vision of the Star Trek films taught the film industry how to reboot a franchise. Unfortunately now there will be dozens following suit.
  92. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Star Trek reignites the its franchise with a style. Crisp cinematography, good acting, deft directing and a good soundtrack contributes to raise the movie's bar.
  93. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    I hated what Mike Pillar, Rick Berman and Brannon Bragga did to the franchise (Voyager, DS9, Enterprise). They eventually ground the whole thing into the ground. Then J. J. Abrams, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman come a long with a flippin great idea that resurrects the franchise in one fell swoop. Well, it probably wasn't all that easy, but it worked as in great masterpiece scifi actionI hated what Mike Pillar, Rick Berman and Brannon Bragga did to the franchise (Voyager, DS9, Enterprise). They eventually ground the whole thing into the ground. Then J. J. Abrams, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman come a long with a flippin great idea that resurrects the franchise in one fell swoop. Well, it probably wasn't all that easy, but it worked as in great masterpiece scifi action adventure. Casting was fabulous. I'm still watching this... over and over. Got a few 'dead in the heart' low score trolls here that probably ought to take up a new hobby... like law bowling... might fit their personality a bit better. The rest of us... XD Expand
  94. Feb 10, 2014
    7
    I really enjoyed this movie. Eric Bana steals every scene he's in as Nero. The dialogue is sometimes a little too cheesy but it certainly doesn't damage the movie too much. It's a fun, action-packed movie that never really takes itself too seriously which I think is pretty rare nowadays. If you want to experience a fun movie then I would recommend it, just don't expect and Oscar contending movie.
  95. May 3, 2014
    9
    Not liking Star treks' old series and movies, surprisingly I loved this film. Its Star Trek for the modern era no doubt. The film is faster more intense and worked out really well JJ takes this film in a great direction and I found myself blown away by Chris Pine and James Kirk and Zachary Quinto as Spock. Whether you liked the previous star trek franchise or not you will most likely enjoyNot liking Star treks' old series and movies, surprisingly I loved this film. Its Star Trek for the modern era no doubt. The film is faster more intense and worked out really well JJ takes this film in a great direction and I found myself blown away by Chris Pine and James Kirk and Zachary Quinto as Spock. Whether you liked the previous star trek franchise or not you will most likely enjoy this film. Expand
  96. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    Star Trek reignites the its franchise with a style. Crisp cinematography, good acting, deft directing and a good soundtrack contributes to raise the movie's bar.
  97. Jan 1, 2016
    9
    The whole black hole turns into a space-time continuum bit was very well done and convincing.
    Having Leonard Nimoy in the film was brilliant, and the guy who portrayed new Spock did a convincing job. .
  98. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    This is just what the Star Trek franchise needed, someone who could take a look at it from a new perspective and creatively re-imagine the whole thing. JJ Abrams made the best Star Trek movie in an incredibly long time and was able to do it while keeping all the trekkies happy. The visual effects are some of the best I've seen, the plot is wonderful, the acting is superb, there's so muchThis is just what the Star Trek franchise needed, someone who could take a look at it from a new perspective and creatively re-imagine the whole thing. JJ Abrams made the best Star Trek movie in an incredibly long time and was able to do it while keeping all the trekkies happy. The visual effects are some of the best I've seen, the plot is wonderful, the acting is superb, there's so much that could be said. This is a movie that appeals to all ages whether you like Star Trek or not. Expand
  99. Jul 29, 2015
    8
    Star Trek is a surprisingly good reboot with a great cast and performances I really loved the development the characters got while also delivering some great action sequences Star Trek is a clear example of when the person who loves the material makes a re- imagining it turns out fantastically my only flaws with the film is that there was one plot hole and that the Leonard Nemoy cameo feltStar Trek is a surprisingly good reboot with a great cast and performances I really loved the development the characters got while also delivering some great action sequences Star Trek is a clear example of when the person who loves the material makes a re- imagining it turns out fantastically my only flaws with the film is that there was one plot hole and that the Leonard Nemoy cameo felt forced other than that its a great movie
    8.5/10
    Expand
  100. May 3, 2015
    9
    very fun movie! I never liked star trek until this movie! its made for the new generation and it is fantastic! Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto are fantastic!
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 17, 2015
    80
    The movie is fun, it's smart and there's plenty of action. There are enough knowing nods to old-school fans to satisfy them, but the nods don't get in the way. In fact - and a feel for this kind of thing is what makes Abrams so good - they're perfect, nice accents that won't slow down the uninitiated.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Shannon
    Dec 17, 2015
    75
    This is easily the best “Trek” movie since “Khan,” giving the rebooted franchise ample reason to proceed at warp speed.
  3. Reviewed by: Aubrey Day
    Dec 17, 2015
    80
    Buoyant, buffed and with the promise of even better to come, this is the freshest Trek in decades.