Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 7, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1444 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,187
Mixed:
121
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DennisM.May 7, 2009
Until know - for me the best Action Movie in 2009! Brilliant, really, I love it... also for poeple who didnt liked Star Trek until now - watch it, it's absolutely awesome!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
KenE.May 7, 2009
The first 20 minutes are an absolute disaster--laughably bad acting, obvious and failed attempts at establishing an emotional connection with the audience. from there, things get a little better, but the fast pacing that the reviewers point The first 20 minutes are an absolute disaster--laughably bad acting, obvious and failed attempts at establishing an emotional connection with the audience. from there, things get a little better, but the fast pacing that the reviewers point out (ha, warp speed, get it?) was self-sabotaging. All of the characters stay two dimensional, plot is thrown in buckets (and we're supposed to care), and mildly entertaining fights between the Enterprise crew and middle aged European males with tattoos play out as you'd expect. I really, really didn't care about anything that was going on. I did cry, but that happened during a failed attempt to hold back laughter during the final five minutes. A wholly 'eh' film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PdMemeoMay 7, 2009
Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived Through tears and fire and darkness, the future is reborn. Excellent movie. Just one two hours-long adrenaline rush. I'm still exhilarated at the pure awesomeness of it. Some nitpick here and there (manic editing, contrived coincidences, rushed expositions), but it's all forgiven. Great adventure flick, and totally and utterly Star Trek. The cast nailed the character in a way I couldn't think possible, and the production values are superb. Excellent musical score. A fast-paced trip into the wonderful unknown, gut-wrenching but at the same time incredibly satisfying. JJ Abrams is my new hero. Wow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KnightsofniMay 7, 2009
Plot makes no sense. Acting was Ok, effects were good, character motives also made no sense. The film is basically a series of high powered CG explosions. The odd numbered star trek movies have developed a reputation as being bad and this Plot makes no sense. Acting was Ok, effects were good, character motives also made no sense. The film is basically a series of high powered CG explosions. The odd numbered star trek movies have developed a reputation as being bad and this one (as Star Trek XI) certainly adds to that trend. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KarlB.May 8, 2009
Trying to grind old eaten hamburger will not make a good meal. This film reaks of trying to make a buck and the route taken is a failure.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
MeganJ.May 8, 2009
Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his opponent. The script is flimsy and illogical; Nero's motivations make no sense. There is virtually no science fiction element; this is an action film set in space. Very, very poor. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful
10
BrianA.May 8, 2009
I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, it's the greatest prequel ever made. Visually stunning, great story, and above all, pitch perfect I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, it's the greatest prequel ever made. Visually stunning, great story, and above all, pitch perfect acting. See this film (and see it in IMAX if you can - it's worth a longer drive and/or paying more). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TomK.May 9, 2009
All Style and No Substance This movie is short-attention-span theater- if you think about what you're watching for even a minute, you'll notice plot holes and bad story logic, in addition to 1-dimensional characters. I enjoyed it All Style and No Substance This movie is short-attention-span theater- if you think about what you're watching for even a minute, you'll notice plot holes and bad story logic, in addition to 1-dimensional characters. I enjoyed it while I watched it, for the most part. Afterward it left a terrible taste in my mouth because of its don't-change-the-channel! style of storytelling. If you have ADD/ADHD you'll love it. It's a bunch of 'awesome' scenes pasted together from JJ Abrams and the dullards who wrote Transformers. There's definitely nothing re-watchable about it. The Metascore of 84 has to be a case-in-point against the quality of modern movie criticism. Sweet CGI and a franchise reboot should not give you 40 bonus points. The score should be somewhere in the yellow, maybe 44. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DorisB.Feb 2, 2010
It is one of the best i have seen this should get an Oscar.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeSDec 9, 2009
One of the best pictures of the year. There was a sense of "family" that I loved. They took a risk with a sci-fi film and they've succeeded.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DavidD.May 10, 2009
[***SPOILERS***] First off, I will say that I am a huge fan! Not the kind that dresses up and makes a fool of himself, but the kind that loves the in depth stories and Characters that only Star Trek can bring in. I agree with several people [***SPOILERS***] First off, I will say that I am a huge fan! Not the kind that dresses up and makes a fool of himself, but the kind that loves the in depth stories and Characters that only Star Trek can bring in. I agree with several people that they made this into a movie that Young A.D.D people would love. Or that non Star trek fans would like. What Hollywood doesn't realize is that there are plenty of real Star Trek fans that would make them plenty of money if they just knew how to write a good story!! My God, what the hell was this?!! Yes, the acting and the special effects were good but the story was inexcusable!! They just took Star Treks 40 year history and pissed it away in one movie! And what in the hell is up with the camera movement?! Can Hollywood please stop this already!!! And as for all the plot holes? Blowing up Romulus and Vulcan was just idiotic! Killing Spocks mom was just stupid also! There were a 1000 different ways they could have written this without involving time travel. And one drop of red matter can create a planet destroying black hole but a whole crap load of it at the end couldn't suck in a ship?! lol! I think I will leave the rest of the plot holes to Andrew C who said it best. I am just going to pretend this movie is just a stand alone and has nothing to do with the rich history of Star Trek. sigh! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AndrewL.May 11, 2009
Wow... what a disappointment. To be fair, excellent special effects and casting (with 1 or 2 exceptions). But, very weak plot and too many corny moments to mention. This remake was eerily reminiscent of Starship Troopers, but it a bad way. Wow... what a disappointment. To be fair, excellent special effects and casting (with 1 or 2 exceptions). But, very weak plot and too many corny moments to mention. This remake was eerily reminiscent of Starship Troopers, but it a bad way. How X-Men Wolverine gets nailed and Star Trek gets incredibly great press reviews is a mystery. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AramisG.May 10, 2009
Looks great, nice casting... totally retarded and insulting plot holes and illogical science. In other words, more like the original Star Trek, less like anything since Next Generation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GOE42May 11, 2009
I can't understand how this movie is being massively applauded for being utterly predictable and mainstream. The story is the most derivative I have seen so far. A Standard action comedy flick - getting undue attention duw to it's I can't understand how this movie is being massively applauded for being utterly predictable and mainstream. The story is the most derivative I have seen so far. A Standard action comedy flick - getting undue attention duw to it's name. There isn't a shadow of originality in the script. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
sasamMay 11, 2009
Worst star trek movie ever! Mindless trill ride and destroying 30 years of canon! JJ should never direct this, afterall he said by himself is STAR WARS fan.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AramisgjrMay 11, 2009
Do any of these dolts (critics included) realize that this movie ended with a black hole being created right outside of Earth's atmosphere? That means the end of our solar system. This is one of maybe one hundred stupid things that Do any of these dolts (critics included) realize that this movie ended with a black hole being created right outside of Earth's atmosphere? That means the end of our solar system. This is one of maybe one hundred stupid things that happen in this movie that everyone seems to be overlooking. The new Star Trek is one of the sloppiest written sci-fi movies ever. I'm only giving it a 4 for casting and visuals. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EugeneOMay 12, 2009
A huge pile of dumb, similar to the latter-day Star Wars movies. I'd rather play a video game than pay and watch the equivalent in a theater. This 'alternate reality' Star Trek is insulting to anyone reasonably intelligent. I A huge pile of dumb, similar to the latter-day Star Wars movies. I'd rather play a video game than pay and watch the equivalent in a theater. This 'alternate reality' Star Trek is insulting to anyone reasonably intelligent. I paid $15 for an imax experience that achieved in imax-ing the ritalin camerawork, a crap storyline and script, thin character development and shameless product placement (they had 150 mil budget and the producers needed product placement?!). Stay away if you value the themes, humor, and the thoughtful sci-fi of the original and Next Gen series. There must have been an item in the budget to buy critical opinion. No integrity left for critics and these hack filmmakers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JosephB.May 10, 2009
This movie was by far the worst written movie in the franchise history. The timeline makes no sense, the plot lines are forced. The special effects are incredible, but flawed. The back story is silly and extremely flawed. Gene Rodenberry This movie was by far the worst written movie in the franchise history. The timeline makes no sense, the plot lines are forced. The special effects are incredible, but flawed. The back story is silly and extremely flawed. Gene Rodenberry would NEVER have accepted this script. But J.J. does every week on Lost. Pander to the advertisers (Nokia and Bud, only to mention two of many) - distract them with eye candy. This movie is simply lazy writing thrown to a hungry SciFi market. But the producers don't want to hear this. Many of the fans and critics don't want pay any attention to the obvious flaws. And too many of the Trekkies just want their beloved franchise back on the big screen, regardless of the cost to Gene Rodenberry's legacy. I want much, much better! So I'm here to say, at the top of my lungs: "The King has NO cloths." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MichelleNMay 14, 2009
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
HumprtPumMay 15, 2009
Poor Dr. Spock. They´ve made him so stupid. Like the whole movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JackBlackMay 15, 2009
JJ Abrams does it again
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichealO.May 7, 2009
Awesome movie, the cast is very good!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DonaldW.May 7, 2009
Absolutely love this movie. Its a MUST see or any trekkie. This unbelievable movies will leave you begging for more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JCMay 7, 2009
Frenetic series of cliches (Kirk hung impossibly by his fingertips with an enemy above twice) where the camera never rests, the almost all the characters have zero depth and are just irritating and dysfunctional. Even on the Imax screen what Frenetic series of cliches (Kirk hung impossibly by his fingertips with an enemy above twice) where the camera never rests, the almost all the characters have zero depth and are just irritating and dysfunctional. Even on the Imax screen what could have been grand scenes with a big wow factor because of the scale and grandeur where simply dull. It was kind of like Rambo and the worst of the Star Wars series combined. Love Star Trek and scifi and I really wanted to like this, but this just sucked and was a loud and flashy waste of time. One of my least favorite movies ever. Might be good if you have ADHD. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CM.May 8, 2009
Being a Hard Core Star Trek fan - The only thing going for this Movie was the Special Effects and its laughable, story line.... I felt this movie, was too made up and not true to the Original series or story line that made Genes baby come to Being a Hard Core Star Trek fan - The only thing going for this Movie was the Special Effects and its laughable, story line.... I felt this movie, was too made up and not true to the Original series or story line that made Genes baby come to life in the 1960's. Spock was on the Enterprise with Captian Pike - when Kirk was in the Academy.... the list of errors goes from there - MC coy was not the Physian in the first show with Kirk as Captain, etc. It would have been nice, If they would have made it towards - how The Captain & crew of the Enterprise, all met either on the Star Ship or before since many were of Different Ages and on Different ships.... I must face the facts, the original Star Trek, is now somethng to be misused and Non actors - but pretty boys play parts, that take on Han Solo's charectistics....... Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MarcusMay 9, 2009
As this is NOT star trek i have to rate it as 0, it's a generic scifi space move with star trek references. Everything that makes Star Trek Star Trek is missing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AdamB.May 9, 2009
Formulaic, mindless, and poorly written. The only good acting comes from how half the characters perform nearly identically to the original cast. Special effects are laughably over the top but entertaining nonetheless. Fans of the series and Formulaic, mindless, and poorly written. The only good acting comes from how half the characters perform nearly identically to the original cast. Special effects are laughably over the top but entertaining nonetheless. Fans of the series and people who like big explosions and green girls in bikinis will probably overlook it's numerous flaws. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrandonS.May 9, 2009
I'll keep this short. A long-time fan, I went in skeptical and left a believer. Great movie. The flaws are vastly overshadowed by the virtues.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
williamc.Jun 20, 2009
In short, the new Star Trek 2009 captured some of the idiosyncratic magic that made up the original cast of 1960s Star Trek. The story was complex enough for a full-length feature but there are faults to be found in its discriminatory humor In short, the new Star Trek 2009 captured some of the idiosyncratic magic that made up the original cast of 1960s Star Trek. The story was complex enough for a full-length feature but there are faults to be found in its discriminatory humor towards difference and also it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AaronDJun 7, 2009
Simple put, the film is a mess, the camera work is all over the place, never truly building up a scene. The script is sad, it's like they wanted to make a cheesy Hollywood action film...that would make a whole lot more sense. The music Simple put, the film is a mess, the camera work is all over the place, never truly building up a scene. The script is sad, it's like they wanted to make a cheesy Hollywood action film...that would make a whole lot more sense. The music is constant, it sounds like generic Hollywood score...it gets really annoying. This film is created with a formula that has fooled audiences for a long time, this film receiving acclaim is huge @#$% you to film as art, and a pay check for paramount. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AlanSJun 8, 2009
I have almost always been a Star Trek fan, but this 2009 is a real disappointment
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
LarrySJul 1, 2009
A HUGE disappointment! Poor acting, lousy script and the special effects were surprisingly average. The movie was so predictable and so unbelieveable. The tongue in cheek script is best suited to 13 year olds!!! WAY OVERRATED!!! Critics A HUGE disappointment! Poor acting, lousy script and the special effects were surprisingly average. The movie was so predictable and so unbelieveable. The tongue in cheek script is best suited to 13 year olds!!! WAY OVERRATED!!! Critics should be ashamed. This is a poor movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FireA.Sep 21, 2009
If you're not a sci-fi geek do NOT watch it. It's a waste of time and money, and is some piece of shit made just to drag money from sci-fi geeks.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AlexM.Nov 16, 2009
A ufanist pastiche, derived from a society that prides itself from your belic toys and project the hole galaxy speaking the same language, your own.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BenLMay 15, 2009
GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to take place right along side it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BretMay 15, 2009
I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought I was surprised at how good it was. I guess I had low expectations going in but it was simply fabulous. I want to see it again. I liked that Captain Pike (great casting there) survived. I was shocked that they destroyed Vulcan, but thought it interesting how in normal timeline Romulus is destroyed, in new timeline Vulcan is destroyed.. two sides of a mirror. I can't say enough how good the casting was. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
4
NMacMay 22, 2009
Pretty movie, but weak characters and a weaker plot fail to be covered up by horrible action. Some of the most laughable action I've ever seen. And with all that lense flare it felt like a visit to the optometrist. Would not see again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChiKJun 12, 2009
A mass delusion of greatness on this scale hasn't been since last summer...the Dark Knight. My opinions on last year's public darling aside, at least that film seemed to have a brain and apparent artistic aspirations. Are we so A mass delusion of greatness on this scale hasn't been since last summer...the Dark Knight. My opinions on last year's public darling aside, at least that film seemed to have a brain and apparent artistic aspirations. Are we so starved for anything with a faint pulse that we'll lionize a soulless, empty-headed, pre-fab, committee-approved product like this? Hollywood is dead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
keithaSep 26, 2009
Mind-crushingly boring. Im a star trek fan too.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GilbertoJun 26, 2013
Star Trek is one of my favorite movies of the last decade. I can see it many times, and never get bored and this is for a number of reasons. Every scene is handled very well, and all is accompanied by a beautiful classic composition thatStar Trek is one of my favorite movies of the last decade. I can see it many times, and never get bored and this is for a number of reasons. Every scene is handled very well, and all is accompanied by a beautiful classic composition that really sets a perfect flow to everything it tries to portrayed. The characters, specially James T. Kirk and Spock are developed with tons of depth, and the rest of the crew are given unique personalities that are all very entertaining to watch. There´s action here, and very cool action, but this is a movie about characters, and their impact on the story. In fact this whole movie is an effort to accommodate an acceptable alternate universe to a series that has been running for way too much time. J.J Abrams did a fantastic job, it accommodated everything perfectly, and in the process it has created a very enjoyable film that has perfect pacing, and never gets boring. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
plf5403Jan 16, 2011
Very entertaining, excellent casting. Showed another dimension to the franchise by updating it, but still paying homage to the original. Excellent work. My only quibble was with its predictability, but hey, you can't have everything. SeeVery entertaining, excellent casting. Showed another dimension to the franchise by updating it, but still paying homage to the original. Excellent work. My only quibble was with its predictability, but hey, you can't have everything. See it on big screen if possible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 12, 2013
So overall I really liked Star Trek. While it does not offer much in terms of ideology or great films it is a lot of fun. It has the same characters you know and love with a little twist, it is fast paced, has some good action, and is a lotSo overall I really liked Star Trek. While it does not offer much in terms of ideology or great films it is a lot of fun. It has the same characters you know and love with a little twist, it is fast paced, has some good action, and is a lot of fun to watch. This is a film that will appeal to both casual movie goers and Star Trek fans alike. If you have not seen the movie yet check it out because I think that you will really like it. Star Trek (2009) is a great film that does a good job setting up the characters and I cannot wait to see what happens to them in Star Trek Into Darkness. When the film ended I wanted to see more of these characters and thankfully after four years of waiting the sequel is finally coming out. Abrams you have a really good first film under your belt and if you screw up the sequel I will be really pissed off. Hopefully Star Trek (2009) is the start of a great new franchise of Star Trek films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
adhamhanyNov 17, 2013
This is the first time i watched a Star Trek movie, or a Star Trek anything for that matter. The visuals are great. So is the performances. The story is okay; nothing amazing. There is some action and humor from time to time.
So overall, it
This is the first time i watched a Star Trek movie, or a Star Trek anything for that matter. The visuals are great. So is the performances. The story is okay; nothing amazing. There is some action and humor from time to time.
So overall, it was a decently entertaining movie. But nothing awesome.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJul 24, 2013
Star Trek is a fantastic reboot of the age-old franchise. The action scenes and effects are top notch but it's the relationships between the characters that really sell things here. The friction between Kirk and Spock is super fun to watch.Star Trek is a fantastic reboot of the age-old franchise. The action scenes and effects are top notch but it's the relationships between the characters that really sell things here. The friction between Kirk and Spock is super fun to watch. The only downer; not enough of Karl Urban's Bones. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TheVoidFeb 20, 2011
This is a good movie. If you're interested in sitting down and watching an exciting film with a lot of great actors and action, you won't be disappointed. Also, if you're a fan of Star Trek, it doesn't leave you in the dust, either. ItThis is a good movie. If you're interested in sitting down and watching an exciting film with a lot of great actors and action, you won't be disappointed. Also, if you're a fan of Star Trek, it doesn't leave you in the dust, either. It maintains some great fan service elements, including seeing all of your old, favorite characters as kids, seeing the Enterprise, and some other classic aspects of the old series. It's nice to see a franchise that had fallen so hard with The Next Generation movies pull up out of the dirt.

Still, the film is not perfect. There are an abundance of plot holes and the action and the climactic elements are undercut at times. The film has such an exciting, fast-paced development that you may not notice these, and more likely than not, you wouldn't care anyways. This film wasn't designed to be completely consistent or solid, but meant to bring you in for a fast, enjoyable ride and make you think of Star Trek fondly (whether you're a nerd or not). And it does just that. Definitely go see it.

http://thotsforthot.blogspot.com/2011/02/star-trek-2009-successes-and.html
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
paritosh47Mar 10, 2011
All thanks to this movie...now star trek is truly worthy of calling itself THE rival of star wars...no doubt its the best prequel made by anyone for any movie....
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Jul 20, 2011
One of the strongest films in the franchise! The film is expertly cast, with Urban playing Dr. Bones McCoy perfectly. Arguments can be made for every cast member! Within the first 10 minutes, the audience is blast into intense action and isOne of the strongest films in the franchise! The film is expertly cast, with Urban playing Dr. Bones McCoy perfectly. Arguments can be made for every cast member! Within the first 10 minutes, the audience is blast into intense action and is met with a heartbreaking introduction. As we see each character make their appearance throughout the film, there is one above all that steals the show, and oddly enough, it's a cameo! Live long and prosper for veteran and new fans alike! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonAug 22, 2016
Despite the familiar characters JJ Abrams takes Star Trek in a very different direction, a direction that will likely prove off putting to some purists. Taken on its own merits however this is an entertaining piece of sci-fi and a promisingDespite the familiar characters JJ Abrams takes Star Trek in a very different direction, a direction that will likely prove off putting to some purists. Taken on its own merits however this is an entertaining piece of sci-fi and a promising start to this new vision for long running franchise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BobaFett666May 28, 2011
I hate Star Trek and I loved this movie. It even overcame a terrible a villain - Eric Bana's bad guy just didn't make sense... story arc = miner on mining vessel to insane planet destroyer?... right.... - but even with that huge flaw, II hate Star Trek and I loved this movie. It even overcame a terrible a villain - Eric Bana's bad guy just didn't make sense... story arc = miner on mining vessel to insane planet destroyer?... right.... - but even with that huge flaw, I loved this film. Kirk, Spock, the Russian kid, Scotty, Harold (from Harold and Kumar) and Captain Pike all rocked and oh my god Ohura you sexy linguistics overachiever you - keep wearing that skirt with your clever self. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Jaykay85Jun 5, 2011
Reinvigorates the Star Trek franchise in more ways than one!
Plenty of Trekkies will have a Klingon Rage at this while some will settle back with some Romulan Ale and toast the success the collective minds of Orci, Kurtzman and Abrams.have
Reinvigorates the Star Trek franchise in more ways than one!
Plenty of Trekkies will have a Klingon Rage at this while some will settle back with some Romulan Ale and toast the success the collective minds of Orci, Kurtzman and Abrams.have had in re-establishing Star Trek as a Mainstream, Pop Culture Franchise..

Characters are needing a bit more fleshed out storylines and the story needs to be decent for the Sequel but otherwise a healthy movie, worth its praise! TREKKIE OPINION....
As a Star Trek Film and Origin Story for a reboot of the franchise I think it does excellently. Plenty of Trekkies are gonna have issues with it and do. But for me its a great franchise reboot and one that Star Trek Badly needed!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJun 16, 2011
I never grew into this whole Star Trek fandom or never even bothered but this movie really hooked me up on the franchise. It was well done and great, I can't wait for a sequel (or prequel)!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
Star Trek - The IMAX Experience One Line review!

Star Trek - IMAX gets a B+ - Fast paced action, every Trek cliche included. Glaring plotholes at the end excluded, solid sci-fi adventure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Dec 24, 2011
Unluckily, I have never watched any movie of this franchise before, but I doubt this film may let you down. Speedy, but well-constructed, "Start Trek" offers dazzling visuals, exciting entertainment and a delicious nostalgic tone of earlyUnluckily, I have never watched any movie of this franchise before, but I doubt this film may let you down. Speedy, but well-constructed, "Start Trek" offers dazzling visuals, exciting entertainment and a delicious nostalgic tone of early sci-fi movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 27, 2015
"Star Trek" gets the ultimate reboot as J.J. Abrams brings the old, rustic star trek series back to its energetic space-travel roots with some shiny visuals, excellent casting, and a pulsating storyline.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's... very different from previous Trek films. There's some things that stay the same, and a lot that changes. Definitely not gonna replace Wrath of Khan, heh.

The CGI's amazing, of course. That's kinda the most obvious at-a-glance difference. See, this is really hard. My head is swimming with all the crazy stuff that I just saw, but... most of it's gonna be spoilers.

I will say, you should prepare yourself for a lot, I mean a lot of lens flare in this film. It was some sort of cinematic look they were going for, but sometimes the amount of it was just overwhelming. Like, a character will look out of a window, and the sun just pours through the window and completely blots out the screen with yellow flare for a good two to three seconds. That was just kinda "Ok, that's a bit much, thanks."

Yea... the timeline really changes...

They **** DESTROY VULCAN, WITH SIX BILLION VULCANS! AND AMANDA GREYSON! HOLY ****

Which is mind boggling, but I didn't really feel the impact because you're aware of the time travel, so... maybe it's just me, but I felt myself not reacting to the change when it happened because I was sure that they would use the time travel again at the climax to undo what had happened. It seemed really telegraphed. But then they don't do that at all, which was cool. But by then, the emotional impact of Vulcan being gone was uh, gone. It was just a CGI effect. Did anyone else feel this way?

They do show the Kobayashi Maru, which was really really funny. Maybe a bit too over the top, depending on your mood.

I mean, Kirk's **** eating a goddamn apple in the scene... that's just insanely over the top. It does work in a comedic manner, but if you've envisioned it happening a different way since 1982 when Wrath of Khan came out, obviously this is gonna take some getting used to.

Just all throughout the film, there are these callbacks to the old series that we know and love. That was really cute and worked for me. Scotty actually saying "I'm giving it all I've got, Capn!" and uh, Spock uttering "When you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."

We even find out how McCoy got the nickname "Bones."

Not sure how I feel about the new guy playing Spock. It's just really hard to see Spock being played this way. It's much more emotional then we're used to, so that was a shock. And of course, because we actually have Leonard Nimoy playing him too. And the new guy's just got a huge nose. There'd be these closeups of Kirk and Spock eyeing each other, and I'd just focus on how Spock's nose is so much bigger then Kirk's normal sized one. It was just weird.

And yea, it's definitely been a while since I've watched TOS episodes. But I think it's also that when we see Spock being emotional before in TOS, it was usually emotional in a friendly, camaraderie sort of way. Here, he's mostly emotional in an angry way.

Right now I'm looking up who played the Orion girl, cause she was **** hot. You know how Kirk is...

But uh... that's just minor. Now, there is one relationship in this film that was uh... completely out of nowhere, nothing in canon to support it.

Spock and Uhura? Holy **** That totally came out of left field for me. Just uh... WTF. I don't think I was the only one in my audience to react that way, either. Not saying that it's a terrible decision though. Just a shocker cause we'd never seen this before in TOS. We'll have to see how the sequels handle this relationship. Still, right now... it's just a huge seismic change.

Nero's not a great villain. Kinda wasted in the story, I think. Just uh... not very memorable.

And his great villainous ship turns out to be just a mining ship. Which doesn't really jive with it being this sinister spidery juggernaut. Seriously, it dwarfs every other ship... I'd estimate it's somewhere from a half to one Borg Cubes in size. No idea why a mining ship needs to be that big. And the inside of it kinda reminded me a little of V'ger. Just a really crazy layout. Again, not sure why a mining ship would look like that.

Oh, know what I didn't expect? New Chekov's accent got almost unbearably comical to listen to. It's strange, cause I've never blinked at old Chekov's thick accent. But hearing it coming out of this young new actor was really grating. I actually burst out laughing when he first talked. Simon Pegg's Scotty was great, he was funny in that same sorta Jimmy Doohan manner back in the day. Just a joy in every scene. McCoy too, Karl Urban really seemed to have researched Kelly's acting mannerisms. Don't believe he ever said "He's dead, Jim" though.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
EssenceOfSugarJun 13, 2012
This film is quite surely, a surprising piece of sci-fi entertainment. It did bore me sometimes, but the characters themselves were extremely interesting to watch - especially the way the actors portrayed the characters as they did in theThis film is quite surely, a surprising piece of sci-fi entertainment. It did bore me sometimes, but the characters themselves were extremely interesting to watch - especially the way the actors portrayed the characters as they did in the 60's. This is particularly on terms with Chris Pine playing James T. Kirk, even trying a bit of overacting as William Shatner did. I also loved Simon Pegg's accent as he played Scotty. The development of the characters are quite possibly the key part of this film, but they are the most significant element that I praise. I just love how characters get on with each other.
Often, it is difficult when doing remakes, because it depends on the success of the original. The interior designs of the spaceships were well done and the graphics of space itself were beautifully fascinating. Overall, this film provides some good entertainment and mainly very good character development. I just think the pacing needs a little tweaking, as sometimes it skipped forward or dragged on for a while. Still, I enjoyed it. Can't wait for the sequel, which I hope will be just as good or even better.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OxcartJun 9, 2013
Given that the sequel is now out, and I'm about to draft a review for that, it's probably time to get the review for this one up. I've always been a Star Trek fan. Not one of the rabid ones, one of the die-hard eats-lives-breathes Trek fansGiven that the sequel is now out, and I'm about to draft a review for that, it's probably time to get the review for this one up. I've always been a Star Trek fan. Not one of the rabid ones, one of the die-hard eats-lives-breathes Trek fans (the superstereotypical Trekkies), but a fan nevertheless. Given that reboots are now dominating Hollywood to the point that one begins to wonder how many original ideas are making it through the producer deflector screen. Thankfully, this reboot is one of the few that makes you glad that you spent the money to see it in the theater. Let's talk Star Trek. This is an out-and-out reboot, forget everything that came before except Star Trek: Enterprise (which was generally forgettable on its own for the most part). This gives the movie an amazing degree of latitude, freedom that it uses to exceptional benefit. Consider for a moment the fact that we're talking about established characters known to the entire world, and now we're plugging new actors into them. This is actor hell. Sure, you're being given a shot at a major screen role, probably bigger than anything that's ever come before, but you're going up against the yardstick of your predecessor. That said, the entire...ENTIRE...cast deserves congratulations on jobs very well done. Not a single actor failed in any way to render a believable, moving, and memorable performance. More on that in a few seconds. Scriptwriting is bang-on, featuring a coherent plot with enough twists to make it interesting, enough levity to keep it from being depressing, and outstanding character development and progression. They didn't fall into the trap of trying to redevelop characters along the lines they followed in the original storylines; they went in new directions, all of which were rewarding. Action is plentiful because, well, that's what audiences today demand (Star Trek: The Motion Picture would never fly in today's market...it barely flew in any case). Even so, the action is well choreographed and is a sensible part of the story rather than merely action for the sake of action. Set design was beautiful and well-designed; everything had a function. And to address something many people have made noise about, yes, this Enterprise looks a lot more advanced than the one in the original series. That's the POINT. This movie follows Star Trek: Enterprise. The original series, Next Generation, all of that never happened. Thus, this Enterprise is a logical progression from the one in ST:E. Even the overall story is, frankly, a brilliant fusion of old and new timelines to create an exceptional reboot. But, as promised, back to the cast. Chris Pine is a very good Kirk...at the risk of infuriating legions of Trek fans, actually better in many ways than Shatner was (his deliveries are better, blocking is smoother, and he is able to project an ego without being a walking one). Zachary Quinto may not be Leonard Nimoy, but who is? Quinto's Spock is a fantastic portrayal of a beloved character, and one that lives up to the lofty standards set by Nimoy. Zoe Saldana's Uhura is every bit the groundbreaker that Nichelle Nichols was. Everybody, from John Cho as Sulu to Anton Yelchin's Chekov, are believable parts of the crew and fit perfectly into the story's universe. Karl Urban in particular deserves commendation; at long last, he's found his calling and has developed a perfect interpretation of McCoy. And Simon Pegg as Scotty? Pegg's interpretation is easily believable as the younger Montgomery Scott, with the same genius and exuberance. I also must make mention of Leonard Nimoy (of course): it would be so easy for Nimoy to overpower the entire film, but (and here's the mark of a truly great actor) he doesn't. He's every bit a part of the narrative as every other character, which is why I'm so glad Shatner stayed out of this one. (He would've wrecked it. Shatner's Kirk is dead. Done, full stop. Forget the fact that he resurrected his own character in his novels. Sorry, Shatner-Kirk is cashed out; it's time for Pine-Kirk.) Oh! And the score? The anthem of this new incarnation of Trek is so worthy of the mantle of Trek...Michael Giacchino seems intent on vaulting into the neighborhood of John Williams, and he just might. In short, much as I tried to find fault with this reboot, I just can't. There are a few tiny plot holes, but every film has and can be forgiven for a couple minor ones. Star Trek is an excellent film and promises to sprout a crop of new Trek fans for a new generation of Trek. As long as they can keep this up, it's going to be a good one. A very rare 10 for the sci-fi gem of Star Trek. Boldly go. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFFeb 12, 2013
With JJ Abrams at the helm, this was a blockbuster that we guessed would be loud, explosive, and armed with enough action to rival any blockbuster. It doesn't disappoint.
Acting as a reboot or prequel to all the other Trek movies, and the TV
With JJ Abrams at the helm, this was a blockbuster that we guessed would be loud, explosive, and armed with enough action to rival any blockbuster. It doesn't disappoint.
Acting as a reboot or prequel to all the other Trek movies, and the TV show for that matter, we see see the birth of James Kirk, tragedy, however, surrounds his birth, and this sets up the events which unfold later in the movie surrounding Nero (Eric Bana) and his planet, Romulus.
Chris Pine steps into the shoes of the now grown-up Captain Kirk, who is, well, a egotistical, jerk. His arrogance keeps him on the wrong side of the law on many occasions, but this somehow lands him enlisting in Starfleet Academy, where he becomes friends with Dr Leonard McCoy (Karl Urban).
Told as two separate stories until they meet each other, we see a young Spock fighting after quips about his human mother are made by other boys, later on in his life, his mother is again shown to be the cause of him joining Starfleet, and here we see the introduction of Kirk and Spock, and its further from what you might believe.
Abrams has rejuvenated the franchise, top to bottom, and has developed the characters to the point of truly getting to know their backstory, why they are there and what exactly their purpose is aboard the Starfleet, the ensemble cast also includes Simon Pegg as the humorous Scotty, John Cho as Sulu and Zoe Saldana (having a good year as she also starred in Avatar) as Nyota Uhura.
We also see one of the best extended cameos/small supporting role in film, Leonard Nimoy, in what can only be described as a pivotal and significant part, not a blink-and-you'll-miss-it role.
The chemistry between the characters is exceptional, the actors have clearly researched their roles but at the same time have brought their own charisma and uniqueness to them, not attempting to copy the originals, but simply base their performances on them.
The action is a-plenty, but nothing short of spectacular, whether it be the enormous sets used at the Academy, or even the battles in space, from the glorious interiors of the Enterprise to the massive achievements of other planets, its all beautiful to see.
This is definitely a step in the right path for Star Trek, its stripped its long-winded universe down to the bare essentials to start off, and this has worked like magic, with a sequel not far away, it can only get better, beam yourself up to see this movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaAug 25, 2014
This is bound to be one of the best movies of the year. In my book, it definitely is.

I am not to be mistaken for a Trekkie fan, although after seeing this movie, I'll probably have to go and check out the other movies and the TV show. So,
This is bound to be one of the best movies of the year. In my book, it definitely is.

I am not to be mistaken for a Trekkie fan, although after seeing this movie, I'll probably have to go and check out the other movies and the TV show. So, I'm reviewing this movie as someone who barely knows anything about Starfleet or the world surrounding this movie.

The cast is well-chosen, I think. Everyone was acting well, and they fit their characters, so to speak. After following Zachary Quinto in "Heroes", it was nice to see some other work from him as well, and I was far from disappointed; his Spock was very good. The bone-headed, young James Kirk is definitely annoying and makes a lot happen in his life: he knows what he wants, and is going to get it, one way or another. Sometimes his wit is outrun by his temper, but luckily there are good friends to keep him alive through that. Karl Urban's Bones worked very well with him.

Other than the spectacular visual and special effects, the music that was there but not disturbingly so (which means the score did exactly what it should), and the overall magnificence of the plot, one thing must be mentioned: the humor.

One big, notable thing about this movie is that it is deadly funny. And it is funny without taking one bit away from all the action and drama that is going on. The balance between the three is perfected in this movie.

This is a movie worth seeing for Trekkie fans and those who just enjoy good drama and sci-fi. I'm sure that for those who have followed Star Trek, there are a lot of hidden goodies in this movie that I couldn't find. But nonetheless, I truly, deeply, loved this one!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
Oh my, time travel? Again? Rather than actually have to work at creating the Star Trek universe from the past JJ Abrams has opted for the lazy route; to retcon everything with the mentioned time travel plot. That said the film isOh my, time travel? Again? Rather than actually have to work at creating the Star Trek universe from the past JJ Abrams has opted for the lazy route; to retcon everything with the mentioned time travel plot. That said the film is surprisingly decent. The cast are good, Chris Pine pulls off Kirk well and it would of been a lesser film without him. He takes the main facets of Kirk; Intelligence, emotion, empathy, equality, imagination and ego and makes his own Kirk, as apposed to just trying to copy Shatner. Kudos to him. Like I said, I wasn't keen on the plot but I liked the motivation for the villains. I also liked Eric Banner's mix of matter of fact casual attitude mixed with acute hate and rage. I liked that the villains were former miners and their ship was an actual mining vessel, rather than them being trained soldiers on a warship etc. The pacing is decent and the action sequences are exciting and filmed well. There are some nice nods to fan boys also such as the Kosbayashi Maru test scene. Some moments in the film however just seem too self aware and winky though. All in all I thought it was a good film, not lazy in personality but lazy in conception. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012Sep 3, 2012
J.J. Abrams' STAR TREK will certainly be appreciated by those who have enjoyed the original show as a classic series. And as an action film, it certainly delivers. I thought the film was...disposable. But anyone age 30 and on praises itJ.J. Abrams' STAR TREK will certainly be appreciated by those who have enjoyed the original show as a classic series. And as an action film, it certainly delivers. I thought the film was...disposable. But anyone age 30 and on praises it enormously, so I must have been born a decade or so too late. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJun 16, 2012
In my opinion, Star Trek was never quite as cool as Star Wars and I remember some of the feature films being particularly poor. J.J Abrams does his best to equal things up by giving the much-loved franchise a much needed modern update withIn my opinion, Star Trek was never quite as cool as Star Wars and I remember some of the feature films being particularly poor. J.J Abrams does his best to equal things up by giving the much-loved franchise a much needed modern update with this 2009 reboot.

By setting the action in the infancy of the Enterprise (a prequel to the original TV series), the writers are not only able to base the story around familiar characters but younger, more energetic versions of those seen before. No doubt slightly unpopular with Star Trek die-hards, this results in a film that will attract younger viewers to the franchise. This is summed up by the scene where Kirk is shown in bed with a scantily clad busty green alien at the academy, a scene unlikely to have appeared in any previous Star Trek film. However, Abrams gives enough props to the franchise with some finer details like the transporting CGI and sound effects and Spock using a Vulcan death grip without giving in to the clichéd catchphrases that I had expected.

The film itself is a fast paced action-er with an enjoyable plot, and would be capable of being a decent space action film without all that being a Star Trek film brings to it. Chris Pine's Kirk is **** but likeable and his rivalry with the young Spock is a source of some of the films funnier moments. I loved Zachary Quinto in Heroes and he is superbly cast as the legendary Spock, who finds himself confused between his Vulcan upbringing and human emotions.

It was great to see Leonard Nimoy make more than a cameo appearance as the older Spock, but as often the case with action film villains, it was shame that Eric Bana wasn't really given much to work as Nero.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
OfficialMar 8, 2014
In short, the film is an action-packed and glorious adventure. Not having watched the original series, I thought that the first film in the reboot is fantastic. The cast was great, the acting was solid, it's funny in several places, andIn short, the film is an action-packed and glorious adventure. Not having watched the original series, I thought that the first film in the reboot is fantastic. The cast was great, the acting was solid, it's funny in several places, and everything is evenly-balanced. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MetanarMay 21, 2012
Untrue to the original series, but still a thoroughly enjoyable film. The number one consideration with this film was, "How can I take Star Trek and make it accessible to a modern audience?", and in that, this film succeeds massively.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pumbazMay 29, 2012
I am giving this movie a 10 only because other ratings are so low. The film is a great achievement in mastering the re-imagination of an old idea and bringing it new life. Sure we would love to put Shatner, Kelley and Nimoy on the silverI am giving this movie a 10 only because other ratings are so low. The film is a great achievement in mastering the re-imagination of an old idea and bringing it new life. Sure we would love to put Shatner, Kelley and Nimoy on the silver screen again in prime condition - and to try to recapture that would tug the presentation in the wrong direction. This movie has a fair plot - a terrible villain and a mountain to climb in criticism. The acting is fabulous. The filming is out of this world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ricksrosesJun 22, 2013
While I think that maybe the original cast is missed by most star trek fans, I think the cast selection, conversion, and the alternate reality could have had some problems I find that it was done seamlessly and the new cast fit inWhile I think that maybe the original cast is missed by most star trek fans, I think the cast selection, conversion, and the alternate reality could have had some problems I find that it was done seamlessly and the new cast fit in beautifully. I liked this movie a lot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
dev92Aug 25, 2012
J.J Abrams out did himself here. I was never a fan of Star Trek and to be honest I do not think I will ever enjoy the older movies and programmes but as a stand alone film, this has to be considered the best blockbuster of the summer. It hasJ.J Abrams out did himself here. I was never a fan of Star Trek and to be honest I do not think I will ever enjoy the older movies and programmes but as a stand alone film, this has to be considered the best blockbuster of the summer. It has everything you could possibly want in a film and the pacing is fantastic especially when considering how long this film actually is.The chemistry between all the characters is also great and I do love how they seem to have actually taken their time over the storyline in order to get it 100% correct. I was shocked at how much I enjoyed this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
NecromusDec 29, 2012
I've been a fan of Star Trek since I grew up watching the original series as a kid and also watching Star Trek TNG into my late teens (Star Trek TNG is still my favourite TV series of all time!). This was a great reboot of the series, II've been a fan of Star Trek since I grew up watching the original series as a kid and also watching Star Trek TNG into my late teens (Star Trek TNG is still my favourite TV series of all time!). This was a great reboot of the series, I really enjoyed it! It had lots of funny moments and it was interesting to see today's young actors and actresses put their spin on the characters form the original series. Much more entertaining than the couple of mediocre TNG movies released before it.

Note: I originally gave this a 10/10 but after reading other reviews I have realized something some negative reviews have said that I absolute agree with. Most Star Trek movies have been very intellectual. Look at Star Trek the Motion Picture, Star Trek the Undiscovered Country, Star Trek IV the Voyage Home, etc. Also, being intellectual was the staple of the entire TNG series and all of the TNG movies. The original Star Trek series was also very intellectual with just enough fist fights and battles thrown in to keep the network happy. But now here comes the "Star Trek" reboot in which we get cliche versions of the original Star Trek series characters used mainly as comedic devices, and a plot that really isn't intellectual at all. Yes, the movie is funny and entertaining. If you take this movie on its own it is a good movie, a 10/10. But when taken in context against the whole Star Trek franchise, you realize that this movie has the potential to destroy the spirit of the Star Trek franchise forever by doing away with all of the intellectual stuff in an attempt to appeal to a wider audience. I really don't know why Star Trek spin-offs and movies are always trying so hard to appeal to non-Star Trek fans, It didn't work with the Enterprise spin-off series, it didn't work with Star Trek Nemesis, why can't they just accept the huge, monumental cult following they have by their loyal fans and be happy rather than tone it down for non-fans who are not as interested? This movie could quite possibly be the movie that kills the Star Trek franchise for good, time will tell. For this reason I have knocked a couple of points off my score.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Reality_CheckMay 20, 2013
This movie appeals to a broader audience than just Trekkies. It takes everything that was great from the old series and puts it into a large budget film of the current day. Finally, Star Trek is on par with Star Wars in the special effectsThis movie appeals to a broader audience than just Trekkies. It takes everything that was great from the old series and puts it into a large budget film of the current day. Finally, Star Trek is on par with Star Wars in the special effects department! Great film, a must see!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiMay 9, 2013
I watched this at least 5 times. The CGI was top notch. The plot unraveled at a breakneck pace, and the characterization was fabulous. What fascinated me was that there was a story to be told, and that's why the movie was made, and not justI watched this at least 5 times. The CGI was top notch. The plot unraveled at a breakneck pace, and the characterization was fabulous. What fascinated me was that there was a story to be told, and that's why the movie was made, and not just to make loads of money on a trash plot. Kirk was definitely the best character. Bana portrayed the psychotic Nero very well. The rest of the crew also delivered engaging performances. This has to be one of my favorite space movies. The movie succeeded in reviving a dying franchise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! I know nothing about the previous Star Trek films or shows so I do not know where this film fits or whether or not it does justice to the saga, but regardless....this film was great. One of the best of 2009!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Sep 25, 2013
To be fair. I though this was decent reboot. I really love how all the die-hard fans are hatin this for not following ST-lore to the letter. It's a reboot, the whole point was to give it a fresh start, using something familiar.

But them
To be fair. I though this was decent reboot. I really love how all the die-hard fans are hatin this for not following ST-lore to the letter. It's a reboot, the whole point was to give it a fresh start, using something familiar.

But them aside, effect were good, Pine is a better Kirk than Shatner (my opinion, so relax, and NO! I will not change it!)

Zachary Quinto does a far better job at being Spock than I expected, nowhere near as good as Nimoy, but I doubt anyone could be.

John Cho as Sulu? While I will always prefer Takei, Cho is a decent choice but I was surprised.

Simon Pegg is too high profile to be Scotty. He plays the part well enough, but it's really hard to not see him as Shaun of the Star Trek.

Anton Yelchin is a VERY different Chekov, but, to be honest, I prefer this Chekov to the old one. He's adorable.

Sadana more or less is a modern Uhura. Not really very compelling and tends to be a bit too up-to-date in terms of her personality. But, she plays the part well, and how she plays Uhura fits with this universe's Star Trek.

The movie is a little too slow at times and a little too fast in others, so pacing is a bit uneven. Story is interesting and does open up the ST franchise to countless new possibilities.

Overall:
For a reboot, it is one of the better ones and the new Star Trek universe is an interesting one. I look forward to future installment and hope someone decides to do another TV show in THIS universe.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989May 11, 2013
I've seen Star Trek a few times now yet it still doesn't really grab me as a great film. While I like it, and it's got great characters and an interesting storyline I do find myself getting just a little bored also. I'm not a trekkie, or aI've seen Star Trek a few times now yet it still doesn't really grab me as a great film. While I like it, and it's got great characters and an interesting storyline I do find myself getting just a little bored also. I'm not a trekkie, or a nerd when it comes to sci-fi films so perhaps this is why. Having said all this I still think it's a solid film, especially visually with great special effects, and there is enough here to make for an enjoyable viewing, and I am looking forward to the sequel! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MikeGaleFeb 1, 2013
Good entertainment all round and it was a reasonable prequel to the movies. I liked the bad guy Banner. the young Kirk was also well cast, and you gotta love the Doc!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
forestvilleMay 17, 2013
Never, never had a special interest in this series, because it has never had a story, which in my opinion was not worth seeing. but really this movie it looked appealing, so I found the opportunity to see this work.
I've heard that this film
Never, never had a special interest in this series, because it has never had a story, which in my opinion was not worth seeing. but really this movie it looked appealing, so I found the opportunity to see this work.
I've heard that this film is the restart of the story. I felt relieved because as I've never heard of this series, thanks to this film I do not miss anything. Really remain surprised, just seen a true masterpiece.
the story is very good, the action scenes were filmed very well, the drama was more than good and the special effects and photography are outstanding and spectacular.
In proceedings highlights the Spock (Zachary Quinto), which from what little I've vistol original series, mimics the original Leonard Nimoy (which incidentally appears in the film). For the rest of the cast, although some costs recognize them convincing.

Certainly, a blockbuster that will appeal to all audiences, both lovers of science fiction (there are clear references to gender) and those who enjoy the adrenaline.
My Score: 9.3
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DanteKusagariJun 3, 2013
Great story, lots of action, all of the characters are all there, i can easily consider this the absolute best Star Trek movie since Star Trek First Contact
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ScorpionMay 4, 2013
And a fantastic film, full of action, humor, good performances, the own Gene Roddenberry, was creating the series today, he would like, not to mention that the film pod please even the most demanding fans, as the public casual
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ascoltami86May 22, 2013
Perfect, everything was perfect.
It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly
Perfect, everything was perfect.
It's amazing. I will never ever like old Star Trek, but I love this. Ships, Starfighters, costume, makeup, characters, weapons, story, everything were horrible, but the new one everything became very ugly to very beautiful.
I hate all martial arts movies, and gun battle movies, movies like The Expendables 2, Jason Statham movies, The Dark Knight Rises, but I loved hand to hand combat and stunt scenes from Star Trek.
I also don't like people with too much muscles. I want Star Wars to be like this Start Trek, I want Star Wars to have many hand to hand combat, street fight like how Kirk did. and many stunt scenes.
I specially liked Spock, Spock prime, Kirk, warp drive, story, music, heartwarming scenes. But there were things I felt missing, I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes, not ships battle scenes. I wanted to see some small Aliens like from Cloverfield and Metro 2033.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
charlie_westMay 17, 2013
While pleasing old fans, and introducing a new generation to a timeless franchise, 'Star Trek' lives up to the name. With jaw dropping special effects, an excellent story, and some on point acting, the new 'Star Trek' is one of the bestWhile pleasing old fans, and introducing a new generation to a timeless franchise, 'Star Trek' lives up to the name. With jaw dropping special effects, an excellent story, and some on point acting, the new 'Star Trek' is one of the best sci-fi films and reboot/remake in recent memory. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
turbulentmaniacJun 17, 2013
Very impressive, action packed, Hollywood blockbuster- that will keep you entertained throughout the whole film. the acting is good and CG I is astonishingly brilliant. the film is not just aimed a star trek fans, but a whole manner ofVery impressive, action packed, Hollywood blockbuster- that will keep you entertained throughout the whole film. the acting is good and CG I is astonishingly brilliant. the film is not just aimed a star trek fans, but a whole manner of people. this film is made great by the balance of action; acting, something you don't normally see when the CG I is as big as this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pkmarie10Jun 24, 2013
This was an excellent movie, and no one else can convince me otherwise.
it was a great addition to the Star Trek Franchise, but it was phenomenal in its own light.
By and large, it was a sci-fi epic. Excellent graphics (such a gorgeous
This was an excellent movie, and no one else can convince me otherwise.
it was a great addition to the Star Trek Franchise, but it was phenomenal in its own light.
By and large, it was a sci-fi epic.
Excellent graphics (such a gorgeous movie to look at- I was mesmerized by the outer space scenes. But more than that- I loved the recast.
Despite what critical fans may say, this movie and its actors impressed me.
Overall, it was so excellent and I love watching it frequently.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SamSkNov 26, 2013
An interesting different approach to the new Star Trek. A more "shoot first and ask questions later" feel. And I very much so enjoyed it. A much faster pace which is much preferred in my mind and excellent special effects and a brilliantAn interesting different approach to the new Star Trek. A more "shoot first and ask questions later" feel. And I very much so enjoyed it. A much faster pace which is much preferred in my mind and excellent special effects and a brilliant casting. Good to see Simon Pegg in there as Scotty! The only letdown is the lens flare which can be off putting at times. But a thrilling story nonetheless with a fantastic villain and it seems this is the benchmark for the next generation of Star Trek. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this film! There was action, there were great special effects, there was humour, and a lot of nostalgia for those familiar with the original series. All the characters were entertaining, although some could have beenI really enjoyed this film! There was action, there were great special effects, there was humour, and a lot of nostalgia for those familiar with the original series. All the characters were entertaining, although some could have been developed a bit more (Eric Bana was excellent as Nero, I wish we could have seen more of him).
The plot was nothing too complicated, making it easy for all to follow. Even if you had never seen a Star Trek film/episode before, you could still find this film a good sci-fi adventure. If, on the other hand, you loved the original Star Trek, then I can't see how you could not like this film. Zachary Quinto did justice to the character of Spock, and there were loads of inside jokes and references that will appeal to the avid fans. Not to mention that we finally hear Uhura's first name mentioned on screen!
Go see the film!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
EpiclukoJul 9, 2013
As someone who despised the earlier television and film series, this was a worthy re-imagining that works amazingly well. This film benefits from J.J. Abrams fantastic direction and its outstanding character interaction. Chris Pine as Kirk isAs someone who despised the earlier television and film series, this was a worthy re-imagining that works amazingly well. This film benefits from J.J. Abrams fantastic direction and its outstanding character interaction. Chris Pine as Kirk is very well cast and Zachary Quinto as Spock is just flawless. The visuals are beautiful to look at and are extremely well choreographed. All of these attributes are followed up with a very well written script that manages to be original and entertaining! Whether you enjoyed the Star Trek in the past or not, Star Trek '09 will fascinate you to infinity! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
A very stylish film done with elegance and creative vision, then add on top of that a great script, well done acting, eye popping visuals and you have this major hit! Great, great film and a great restart to this beloved series.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticAug 23, 2013
I admire it's noir tone to the classic and cult sci fi series, and it's lead men are very charismatic and 'vulcan'. The story could have been a little simpler, but otherwise a movie I could watch more than twice.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KabahalyAug 29, 2013
If I had a coffee bean, I'd extract the elixir of life from it in the Post-It note, I'd stand in the rain with it in the gravy-boat... My trenchcoat is really a diesel-powered basking shark.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
R4z3rSep 18, 2013
Star Trek (2009) on Blu-Ray is a fantastic film running 126 minutes long.The film is a new take on an existing series, it does suffer from consistency issues with the Star Trek series. Nothing that will hurt the movie if you can look beyondStar Trek (2009) on Blu-Ray is a fantastic film running 126 minutes long.The film is a new take on an existing series, it does suffer from consistency issues with the Star Trek series. Nothing that will hurt the movie if you can look beyond that though. With that said, the movie is paced well, with the entire story being important to the outcome of the film. Throughout the movie, we have an opportunity to explore a number of landscapes, ice worlds, space, and earth. This Star Trek though is beginning of the journey, prior to the original Star Trek series, and as such is a perfect entry into the Star Trek world for both new and old. The story is a tightly nit tale of retribution, coming of age, and desire. The screenplay was well written, the characters were confident and fun, and as a whole it was a great experience. There were some pieces of this which may make it inappropriate for younger audiences depending on family rules. There is some kissing, women in underwear, and some crude humor. There is also some profanity spread throughout as well as characters who are intoxicated. Overall though, I would say for most families and children this movie would be fine for anyone over the age of 10-12.

The video itself is fantastically done in 1080P with a light grain. Fleshtones are correct, and correctly reflect the lighting for the different environments, even when some of this is done in CG. The blacks throughout the film were deep and textured, an important piece of a film like this. The darker ships were well textured and differentiated from the depths of space behind them. Overall, the film is an excellent representation of what a video can look like and will be a great way to showcase the power of your home theater display.

The audio is presented in Dolby TrueHD (5.1 I believe) and is engulfing in every way. The soundtrack features powerful LFE (low frequency extension bass from the subwoofer), such as when the ships jump to warp, but it's important to realize that the entire dynamic range (low to high volume levels) is compressed in comparison to a more common action movie. The movie takes advantage of the full 360º area and creates a soundstage filled with detail and direction that will allow you to stay fully engrossed in the movie.

Overall this is a fantastic movie with strong video and audio aspects. Highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AssassinationMar 15, 2014
A Wonderful Space Adventure Movie !!!

** Star Trek ** * This movie is more than just science fiction because it has a great story in its lead in which you gain a good excitement and thrilling adventure not only that its has lot lots of
A Wonderful Space Adventure Movie !!!

** Star Trek **

* This movie is more than just science fiction because it has a great story in its lead in which you gain a good excitement and thrilling adventure not only that its has lot lots of humor for your amusement and also good action sequence! this movie is quite enjoyable and a great treat !! .

* This movie gives you the good knowledge about the distant future ! they cover everything about the technologies , people , vehicles, different planets and alien races etc.. it has science and knowledge even though its a fictional story ! that gives this movie a great credibility . It has great scripting , screen play and character development that make this movie great !.

* The story in this movie did not leave any confusions or errors since its done perfectly it also has multiple story within itself that the defines the whole story .This story is complicated yet they did a spectacular job of doing right by giving correct amount of attributes and updates .

* The characters were given so much of importance and development because it was a main back bone features for this movie !.There were not a single character in this movie that are like not used , mismatched and not needed . Each and every characters had an important role to play in this movie and they were all perfect and like-able These features gave this movie the praise and appreciation that it receives right now .

*The Screen play in this movie is amazing it had an heart of its own giving us the essence of excitement and enjoyment !!.

*The Actors performance were amazing each had their job full filled with good acting and great performance they made their respective characters like-able they should get applauded for their work !! .

* They utilized visual effects and made this movie more entertaining it gave clarity to the entire movie with such perfection !! every screen play we see sparkles with light effects which are utilized to a full extent to make this movie to be colorful in all perspective !! .

* These Credits also goes to the director of this movie J.J. Abrams for making such wonderful movie !! .

* Overall this movie is a great entertainer with lots of action, adventure and also humor !!! .

* Star Trek : **********

(10/10)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksDec 21, 2013
An excellent film with an amazing cast. This revised vision of the Star Trek films taught the film industry how to reboot a franchise. Unfortunately now there will be dozens following suit.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
Star Trek reignites the its franchise with a style. Crisp cinematography, good acting, deft directing and a good soundtrack contributes to raise the movie's bar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FilmHackNov 28, 2013
I hated what Mike Pillar, Rick Berman and Brannon Bragga did to the franchise (Voyager, DS9, Enterprise). They eventually ground the whole thing into the ground. Then J. J. Abrams, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman come a long with a flippinI hated what Mike Pillar, Rick Berman and Brannon Bragga did to the franchise (Voyager, DS9, Enterprise). They eventually ground the whole thing into the ground. Then J. J. Abrams, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman come a long with a flippin great idea that resurrects the franchise in one fell swoop. Well, it probably wasn't all that easy, but it worked as in great masterpiece scifi action adventure. Casting was fabulous. I'm still watching this... over and over. Got a few 'dead in the heart' low score trolls here that probably ought to take up a new hobby... like law bowling... might fit their personality a bit better. The rest of us... XD Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Longo12Feb 10, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie. Eric Bana steals every scene he's in as Nero. The dialogue is sometimes a little too cheesy but it certainly doesn't damage the movie too much. It's a fun, action-packed movie that never really takes itself tooI really enjoyed this movie. Eric Bana steals every scene he's in as Nero. The dialogue is sometimes a little too cheesy but it certainly doesn't damage the movie too much. It's a fun, action-packed movie that never really takes itself too seriously which I think is pretty rare nowadays. If you want to experience a fun movie then I would recommend it, just don't expect and Oscar contending movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AaronWasserman2May 3, 2014
Not liking Star treks' old series and movies, surprisingly I loved this film. Its Star Trek for the modern era no doubt. The film is faster more intense and worked out really well JJ takes this film in a great direction and I found myselfNot liking Star treks' old series and movies, surprisingly I loved this film. Its Star Trek for the modern era no doubt. The film is faster more intense and worked out really well JJ takes this film in a great direction and I found myself blown away by Chris Pine and James Kirk and Zachary Quinto as Spock. Whether you liked the previous star trek franchise or not you will most likely enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
adpirtleAug 1, 2016
Star Trek is true enough to its name to provide a satisfying quasi-reboot for the decades-old franchise. The science of this sci-fi action film is very thin, but the heart's still there, in no small part because of the participation ofStar Trek is true enough to its name to provide a satisfying quasi-reboot for the decades-old franchise. The science of this sci-fi action film is very thin, but the heart's still there, in no small part because of the participation of Leonard Nimoy, who has a surprisingly substantial role. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Star Trek reignites the its franchise with a style. Crisp cinematography, good acting, deft directing and a good soundtrack contributes to raise the movie's bar.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
anichelsJan 1, 2016
The whole black hole turns into a space-time continuum bit was very well done and convincing.
Having Leonard Nimoy in the film was brilliant, and the guy who portrayed new Spock did a convincing job. .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
This is just what the Star Trek franchise needed, someone who could take a look at it from a new perspective and creatively re-imagine the whole thing. JJ Abrams made the best Star Trek movie in an incredibly long time and was able to do itThis is just what the Star Trek franchise needed, someone who could take a look at it from a new perspective and creatively re-imagine the whole thing. JJ Abrams made the best Star Trek movie in an incredibly long time and was able to do it while keeping all the trekkies happy. The visual effects are some of the best I've seen, the plot is wonderful, the acting is superb, there's so much that could be said. This is a movie that appeals to all ages whether you like Star Trek or not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffJul 20, 2016
A "Star Trek" movie truly for the next generation, director J.J. Abrams takes on an iconic science fiction franchise and injects it with some fresh, new energy that might even bring in fans not familiar with the legacy of "Star Trek".

The
A "Star Trek" movie truly for the next generation, director J.J. Abrams takes on an iconic science fiction franchise and injects it with some fresh, new energy that might even bring in fans not familiar with the legacy of "Star Trek".

The movie begins where we see the birth of our main hero, James Kirk, as his father, George Kirk (Chris Hemsworth) die during a storm that hits the USS Kelvin. We then see that, as a child, James is a bit of a rebellious daredevil. We also get a glimpse of Spock's background as, in the planet Vulcan, he has been accepted into the Science Academy, even though many see that his father (played by Ben Cross) marrying his "human mother" (Winona Ryder) can be seen as a disadvantage. Instead, Spock decides to join Starfleet.

Meanwhile, we see that Kirk (now played by Chris Pine) has been acquainted by Captain Pike (Bruce Greenwood) of the Enterprise to join the Starfleet Academy. Kirk seems unsure at first, but tags along since he begins to know more and more about what his father did and how he risked his life to spare his own and his mother's.

The main enemy of the film is Captain Nero (Eric Bana), a Romulan villain, who has placed a drill into the planet Vulcan, destroying everything in its path, and costing the many innocent lives there. Determined are our main heroes, Kirk and Spock (Zachary Quinto), they must do everything they can to stop Nero at his tracks.

The film is visually stunning, fast-paced, exhilarating, and surprisingly funny, at times. I will admit that there are many times where the jokes occasionally stall the movie which can be seen as a distraction. It might not be taken as seriously as one might have hoped, but only the occasional joke here and there are misplaced, the rest are timed perfectly.

Actual "Trek" fans may have some issues regarding the film's plot, execution and characters, but you cannot deny that it is great to see J.J. Abrams and screenwriters Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman try to re-invigorate some new life into the aging franchise. Actors, Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana and the rest do a tremendous job of making us believe that they are actual Star Trek characters. Their screen presence is all the more welcoming in that sense. The film might have some pacing issues here and there as well, but it is a thrill-ride from start to finish.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheDude-Jul 29, 2015
Star Trek is a surprisingly good reboot with a great cast and performances I really loved the development the characters got while also delivering some great action sequences Star Trek is a clear example of when the person who loves theStar Trek is a surprisingly good reboot with a great cast and performances I really loved the development the characters got while also delivering some great action sequences Star Trek is a clear example of when the person who loves the material makes a re- imagining it turns out fantastically my only flaws with the film is that there was one plot hole and that the Leonard Nemoy cameo felt forced other than that its a great movie
8.5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews