Star Trek

Star Trek Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evilThe greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind. The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before! [Paramount] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Dec 17, 2015
    100
    This new Star Trek is fast-moving, funny, exciting warp-speed entertainment and, heaven help me, even quite moving - the kind of film that shows that, like it or not, commercial cinema can still deliver a sledgehammer punch.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    In the pop high it delivers, this is the greatest prequel ever made.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    80
    It's a real family film, relatively light on the violence and funny without being overly crude; it even has some touching moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Aubrey Day
    Dec 17, 2015
    80
    Buoyant, buffed and with the promise of even better to come, this is the freshest Trek in decades.
  6. Breathlessly paced bordering on manic, but propulsively entertaining.
  7. 50
    A relatively mindless thrill ride that would have made the old NBC execs grin from ear to ear.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 560
  1. BrianA.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, I had high expectations for the film after seeing all the reviews, and I have to say, they were met and beyond. Like one reviewer said, it's the greatest prequel ever made. Visually stunning, great story, and above all, pitch perfect acting. See this film (and see it in IMAX if you can - it's worth a longer drive and/or paying more). Expand
  2. NDC
    May 17, 2009
    10
    I walked in, really not knowing what to expect... I did not know the actors, except Karl Urban, who played Cupid on Xena. Did not know much I walked in, really not knowing what to expect... I did not know the actors, except Karl Urban, who played Cupid on Xena. Did not know much about the JJ, never watched Lost. And I did not even look into the script writers.... all that mattered was that it is 11th Star Trek movie and I would watch and buy it for my collection. [I am a NG person.] I was shocked. I enjoyed this movie immensely and I plan on seeing it again. They could have really messed this movie up, with all the expectations of what it represents and it does not happen. I enjoy the idea of a time/alternate reality scenario, the idea that there is a chance with bright future in a bright world [light], and the fact that someone understands that there is no sound in space. But what truly what brought this movie together was the cast. They knew how to play off each other [an aspect my mother said was reminiscent of the TV series] and they knew how to be subtle to convey their emotions. They were real people. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job asA very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!! Expand
  4. BenL
    May 15, 2009
    9
    GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the GREAT SHOW! I had no desire to see it, but when I saw that everyone was being blown away I decided to give it a chance. J.J. Abrams has the George Lucas-like potential to revolutionize Hollywood, and he proved it with this film. It was also brilliant how he crafted a way to leave the originals alone for the die-hard Trekkies, and at the same time, craft a brilliant, brand new history to take place right along side it! Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    Impressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much moreImpressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much more spectacular than usually we may see any other fantastic tale! Expand
  6. ceej
    May 18, 2009
    7
    This movie was a pretty good space opera considering there were zero instances of realism. But it was more interesting than the last 3 Star This movie was a pretty good space opera considering there were zero instances of realism. But it was more interesting than the last 3 Star Wars films by far. It wasn't as good as any season of The Wire, but nobody expects it to be that good. Buy some popcorn and enjoy the drama. Also, am I the only one that saw the introduction of Bones and was completely fooled into thinking that Jack Nicholson's disembodied ghost took over his body? Expand
  7. MeganJ.
    May 8, 2009
    0
    Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his opponent. The script is flimsy and illogical; Nero's motivations make no sense. There is virtually no science fiction element; this is an action film set in space. Very, very poor. Expand

See all 560 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked

    These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 19, 2016
    We rank every film in the Star Trek franchise by Metascore.
  2. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  3. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.